Skip to main content

Full text of "The history of Jericho, Vermont;"

See other formats

Tht  History  of 







Cornell  University  Library 
F  59J55  J55 


3   1924  028  838  039 

Cornell  University 

The  original  of  tiiis  book  is  in 
tine  Cornell  University  Library. 

There  are  no  known  copyright  restrictions  in 
the  United  States  on  the  use  of  the  text. 



The  History  of 



Edited  by 

Chauncey  H.  Hayden,  Luther  C.  Stevens, 
LaFayette  Wilbur,  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum 



r\L»J  X"! 


The  Free  Press  Printing  Co. 

Printers  and  Binders 

Burlington,  Vt. 


/  know  my  town  and  I  lote  my  town, 

And  I  teanl  to  help  it  be 
As  great  a  town  to  every  one 

As  it  seems  to  be  to  me  I 
I  praise  my  town  and  I  cheer  my  town. 

And  I  try  to  spread  its  fame; 
And  I  know  what  a  splendid  thing  'twould  be 

If  you  would  do  the  same  I 

I  trust  my  town  and  I  boost  my  town, 

And  I  want  to  do  my  part 
To  make  it  a  town  that  all  may  praise 

From  the  depths  of  every  heart  I 
I  like  my  town  and  I  sing  my  town. 

And  I  want  my  town  to  grow; 
If  I  knocked  my  town  or  blocked  my  town. 

That  wouldn't  be  nice,  you  know  I 


The  editors  respectfully  dedicate  this  History  to  the  citizens 
of  Jericho;  in  grateful  memory  of  the  Honorable  Martin  Chitten- 
den and  the  Honorable  Asahel  Peck,  highly  esteemed  Governors 
of  this  commonwealth  and  citizens  of  Jericho  while  occupying 
that  exalted  position;  also  in  appreciation  of  His  Excellency 
the  Honorable  Charles  W.  Gates,  the  present  Governor,  who  in 
1890  became  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Elizabeth  Hayden 
of  Jericho. 


The  Jericho  Town  Celebration  of  1913  awakened  such  an 
interest  in  Town  Traditions,  that  the  General  Committee  by  vote 
instructed  the  Historical  Committee  to  begin  the  work  of  collect- 
ing material  for  a  History  of  Jericho  in  accordance  with  the  fol- 
lowing recommendation: 

"It  seems  desirable  to  print  a  book,  which  shall,  in  as  inter- 
esting a  manner  as  possible,  treat  of  the  town,  representing  in 
reminiscent  style  the  growth  of  the  town,  its  schools,  churches, 
business  interests,  etc.,  sketching  as  may  be  the  lives  of  prominent 
citizens,  and  treating  also  the  genealogies  of  all  families  so  far  as 
accessible,  thereby  producing  a  volume  of  real  value  to  posterity." 

The  General  Committee  also  directed  a  writeup  of  the  recent 
celebration  of  1913,  which  should  give  a  complete  account  of  each 
day's  program  together  with  the  addresses  in  full,  which  instruc- 
tion has  been  carried  out  in  Part  Second.  The  remaining  parts 
have  been  worked  out  by  the  editors  along  well  defined  lines. 

The  sources  of  our  information  have  been  the  Town  Records, 
the  Church  Records,  and  the  citizens  of  the  town,  especially  the 
older  generation,  and  information  by  them  preserved.  The  proc- 
ess of  gathering  this  material  has  been  slow,  for  busy  men  at 
least ;  that  of  verification  even  more  tedious,  yet  of  supreme  im- 

It  is  not  always  easy  to  spread  traditions  upon  permanent 
records,  nor  yet  to  get  just  the  truth  out  of  the  misty  reports  and 
tales  passed  from  one  generation  to  another. 

Then  again  our  vision  may  have  been  limited,  and  some 
really  important  matters  may  have  been  overlooked,  because  we 
are  living  in  a  different  generation.  We  have  endeavored  to 
record  what  is  true. 

Fully  one  half  the  space  in  this  volume  has  been  devoted  to 
genealogies  or  the  history  of  the  citizens  of  Jericho.  These  have 
been  written  by  different  writers,  and  in  varying  style,  some  con- 
taining much  of  a  biographical  nature,  and  are  often  interspersed 
with  incidents  that  have  the  effect  of  breaking  up  the  monotonous 
succession  of  dates  and  other  facts,  and  rendering  family  history 
readable  and  entertaining. 


We  sincerely  wish  that  the  number  of  illustrations  could 
have  been  larger,  but  due  thought  and  care  have  been  exercised  to 
select  such  scenes  as  will  be  appreciated  for  "The  Old  Associa- 
tions" and  "Memories." 

We  desire,  at  this  time,  to  express  our  appreciation  to  the 
numerous  friends  of  the  History,  especially  to  the  members  of 
the  General  Committee  and  the  Auxiliary  Committee  for  their 
generous  and  able  assistance.  Several  of  the  town's  writers  have 
furnished  articles  upon  matters,  of  which  they  themselves  are 
the  best  authority  obtainable.  It  should  be  said,  in  this  connec- 
tion, that  the  excerpts  from  the  Jericho  Reporter,  appearing  in 
various  parts  of  the  volume,  are  principally  from  the  pen  of  our 
associate  editor,  Mr.  L.  C.  Stevens.  Mr.  L.  F.  Wilbur  also,  who 
began  the  practice  of  law  in  this  town  nearly  60  years  ago,  by 
reason  of  his  intimate  knowledge  of  the  affairs  of  town,  and  his 
still  more  intimate  acquaintance  with  the  people,  as  well  as  by 
reason  of  a  particularly  retentive  memory,  has  contributed  much 
that  is  valuable  to  this  History. 

Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum,  pastor  of  the  Congregational  Church 
at  Jericho  Center,  although  a  resident  of  town  for  only  eight 
years,  has  likewise  rendered  most  valuable  service  as  a  member 
of  the  Historical  Committee.  The  service  thus  rendered  should 
be  highly  esteemed  by  the  citizens  of  our  town,  since  it  has  been 
a  free  service. 

It  will  thus  be  seen  that,  in  reality,  this  history  has  many 
authors,  which  fact,  in  my  opinion  enriches  it  with  a  variety  of 
style  and  substance  that  will  favorably  impress  the  reader. 

Some  duplications  occur,  because  of  the  numerous  writers, 
but  these,  expressed  in  different  language,  serve  the  better  to 
emphasize  the  incident. 

In  our  work  of  research,  we  have  been  led  to  admire  the 
sturdy  characteristics  of  our  ancestors ;  they  were  good  neighbors, 
interested  in  schools,  churches  and  town  institutions. 

Yes,  they  were  noble,  brave  and  true,  and  more,  they  were 
good.  So  our  inheritance  is  rich,  the  homes  they  struggled  so 
hard  to  establish,  the  cattle  upon  the  hills,  the  grain  and  the 
fruit,  and  the  other  wealth  of  the  town;  but  the  priceless  part 
of  that  inheritance  is  the  unaffected,  the  now  almost  old  fashioned 
goodness  of  these  early  generations.  Edgar  A.  Guest  has  written 
verses  especially  appropriate: 


Old-fashioned  folks !  God  bless  'em  all ! 

The  fathers  and  the  mothers, 
The  aunts  an'  uncles,  fat  an'  tall. 

The  sisters  an'  the  brothers. 
The  good  old-fashioned  neighbors,  too, 

The  passing  time  improves  'em. 
They  will  drop  in  to  chat  with  you. 

Whene'er  the  spirit  moves  'em. 
The  simple,  unaffected  folks 

With  gentle  ways  an'  sunny. 
The  brave  and  true 
That  live  life  through 

And  stay  unspoiled  by  money. 

Old-fashioned  folks,  of  solid  worth. 

On  them  a  benediction ! 
The  joy  and  comfort  of  the  earth, 

Its  strength,  without  restriction. 
The  charm  of  every  neighborhood. 

The  toilers  uncomplaining. 
The  men  an'  women,  pure  and  good. 

Of  fine  an'  honest  graining. 
The  plain  and  open-hearted  folks 

That  make  no  fad  a  passion. 
The  kind  an'  fair 
That  do  and  dare 

An'  are  not  slaves  to  fashion. 

Old-fashioned  folks,  that  live  and  love 

And  give  their  service  gladly. 
An'  deem  their  neighbors  worthy  of 

Their  help  when  things  go  badly. 
The  simple  sharers  of  our  joys. 

Sweet  ministers  in  sorrow. 
They  help  the  world  to  keep  its  poise 

An'  strength  for  each  tomorrow. 
The  simple,  unaffected  folks, 

That  live  for  all  about  them, 
God  bless  'em  all, 
This  earthly  ball 

Would  dreary  be  without  'em. 


Along  with  true  narration  of  facts,  proper  sequence  of  hap- 
penings and  exact  statements,  etc.,  there  may  be  woven  into  the 
narrative  itself,  if  there  be  sufficient  skill,  that  which  gives  the 
life-like  touch  of  interest;  so  ever  mindful  of  the  former  re- 
quisites, we  have  not  been  altogether  unmindful  of  the  value  of  a 
joke,  the  exciting  episode  and  the  characteristic  incident.  This 
History,  as  a  book  of  reference,  will  increase  in  value  as  time 
goes  on. 

As  the  History  of  Jericho  is  passed  on  to  the  reader  it  is  with 
the  hope  that  no  one  will  ever  refer  to  its  pages  without  finding 
something  of  interest ;  for  the  many  may  it  prove  what  was  wanted 
and  to  the  citizens  of  Jericho  we  hope  it  will  meet  your  expecta- 
tions. We  wish  the  book  could  have  been  better.  Later  other 
writers  may  add  another  volume  and  so  on  in  perpetuo.  First 
then  to  improve  our  knowledge  of  town  matters,  finally  to  create 
and  maintain  a  healthy  and  united  interest  in  town  institutions, 
and  the  object  of  this  History  will  be  accomplished. 


For  the  Historical  Committee. 

The  other  members  of  the  Historical  Committee  feel  that  it 
is  due  to  Mr.  Hayden,  who  has  written  the  preface  and  made  little 
reference  to  himself,  to  add  that  he  has  not  only  compiled  and 
written  in  his  graceful  style  certain  chapters,  but  as  chairman 
has  given  the  book  a  general  superintendence,  so  that  whatever 
value  it  has  as  a  finished  product  should  be  attributed  very  largely 
to  his  painstaking  and  prolonged  care.  Its  advocacy  at  the  out- 
set, its  arrangement,  its  illustrations,  the  decision  of  a  multitude 
of  little  questions  which  do  not  appear  to  the  reader,  its  supervi- 
sion as  it  has  gone  through  the  press,  have  imposed  a  burden  and 
responsibility  upon  a  busy  man,  who  has  devoted  himself  assidu- 
ously to  what  we  believe  is  a  worthy  project. 

L.  F.  WILBUR, 
S.  H.  BARNUM. 


Part  First — Governors  and  Committeemen. 

Chapter  I.           Portraits  and  sketches  of  the  Governors. .  1 
II.          Portraits  and  sketches  of  the  General  Com- 
mittee and  the  Auxiliary  Committee. .  4 

Part  Second — Jericho's  Great  Celebration. 

Chapter  I.           The  Celebration  of  1841   10 

II.  The  Charter 14 

III.  Citizens  organize   for  the  Celebration  of 

1913    19 

IV.  Exercises  of  August  Third 23 

V.  Exercises  of  August  Fourth 37 

VI.  Exercises  of  August  Fifth    38 

VII.  Exercises  of  August  Sixth 90 

VIII.  Exercises  of  Au^st  Seventh  101 

IX.  Finalities     110 

Part  Third — Historical  Jericho. 

Chapter  I.           Interesting  Facts  from  the  Early  Records.  113 

II.  Schools     126 

III.  Town  Poor   130 

IV.  Temperance   134 

V.  Highways  and  Bridges 137 

VI.  Jericho  Men  as  Soldiers 142 

VII.  Jericho  Township 153 

VIII.  The  Freemen  of  Jericho 156 

Part  Fourth — Churches  of  the  Town. 

Chapter  I.          The  First  Baptist  Church 173 

II.  The  First  Congregational  Church 179 

III.  The  Second  Congregational  Church 205 


IV.  The  Calvary  Episcopal  Church 211 

V.  The  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  Under- 

hill  village  213 

VI.  Methodist  Church,  Jericho  Comers 217 

VII.  The  UniversaHst  Church    219 

Part  Fifth — Professional  Men  from  Jericho. 

Chapter  I.           Ministers    223 

II.  Lawyers   230 

III.  Physicians    233 

IV.  Teachers     238 

V.  Civil  Engineers  242 

VI.  Miscellaneous    244 

VII.  The  Higher  Schools  of  the  Town 250 

Part  Sixth. 

Village  and   Business   Interests  of  the   Town,   Past  and 

Present    261 

Part  Seventh. 

The  Browns   283 

Part  Eighth — Miscellaneous  Subjects. 

Chapter  I.          An  Account  of  the  Flood  of  1914 299 

II.  Jericho  Town  Library 301 

III.  Grand  Army  and  Relief  Corps 304 

IV.  Fraternities    310 

V.  Snow  Beauties 319 

VI.  A  Ramble  about  Town  325 

Part  Ninth. 

Maps    341 

Part  Tenth. 

Genealogies  Arranged  Alphabetically   361 



Governor,  1813-1815. 


By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Chapter  I. 



By  LaFayette  Wilbur. 

Martin  Chittenden  was  the  second  son  of  Thomas  Chitten- 
den, the  illustrious  field  Governor  of  Vermont,  and  was  born  in 
SaHsbury,  Conn.,  March  12th,  1769,  and  graduated  at  Dart- 
mouth College  in  1789.  He  died  Sept.  5th,  1840,  in  his  seventy- 
second  year,  having  been  for  about  thirty  years  employed  in  pub- 
lic service.  He  was  the  eighth  governor  of  Vermont.  He  set- 
tled near  his  brother  Noah,  in  the  south  part  of  Jericho  on  the 
Onion  River  road.  While  a  citizen  of  Jericho,  he  ever  took  a 
leading  part  in  everything  that  pertained  to  the  welfare  of  the 
town.  He  represented  Jericho  in  the  General  Assembly  eight 
years,  was  clerk  of  Chittenden  County  Court  four  years,  Assistant 
Judge  of  the  County  Court  ten  years.  Judge  of  the  Probate  Court 
for  the  District  of  Chittenden  two  years,  delegate  in  the  Con- 
stitutional Conventions  in  1791  and  in  1793,  member  of  Con- 
gress for  ten  years,  from  1803  to  1813,  and  Governor  of  Ver- 
mont two  years,  from  1813  to  1815.  At  the  time  of  both  elec- 
tions the  party  spirit  ran  high  between  the  Federal  and  Repub- 
lican political  parties,  and  in  the  year  1814  there  was  no  election 
by  the  people  and  he  was  made  Governor  by  a  vote  of  the  joint 
Assembly.  The  War  of  1812  to  1815  was  on  between  the 
United  States  and  England  which  made  his  position  a  trying  one. 
He  was  criticised  for  not  giving  his  consent  as  Governor  and 
Captain-General  for  the  Vermont  militia,  as  an  organization,  to 
leave  the  state  for  the  scene  of  action  at  Plattsburg.  He  thought 
he  was  jtistified  in  his  course  as  his  own  state  was  threatened  with 
invasion  by  the  British  army  from  Canada,  but  he  urged  in- 
dividuals to  join  the  forces  at  Plattsburgh  to  resist  the  enemy. 
He  was  a  man  of  great  ability  and  made  a  safe  Governor. 



By  LaFayette  Wilbur. 

Hon.  Asahel  Peck  came  from  a  noble  line  of  ancestors.  He 
was  the  son  of  Squire  and  Elizabeth  Goddard  Peck  and  was  a 
descendant  of  Joseph  Peck,  the  21st  generation  from  John  Peck 
of  Belton,  Yorkshire  County,  England.  He  was  born  in  Royals- 
ton,  Mass.,  in  September,  1803,  and  came  to  Montpelier,  Vt., 
about  1811.  He  prepared  for  college  at  the  Washington  County 
Grammar  School  and  took  his  college  course  at  the  U.  V.  M.  at 
Burlington.  In  his  senior  year  he  left  college  to  take  a  course 
of  study  in  French  in  Canada.  He'  entered  upon  the  study  of 
the  law  in  the  office  of  his  elder  brother,  Nahum  Peck,  of  Hines- 
burgh,  and  soon  after  moved  to  Burlington  where  all  of  his  pro- 
fessional life  was  spent.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  at  the 
March  term  of  the  Chittenden  County  Court  in  1832.  His  up- 
right stand  as  a  man  and  his  sound  legal  judgment  were  so  well 
known  that  he  had  no  lack  of  clients.  His  practice  grew  and  his 
legal  opinions  were  relied  on  as  the  law  of  the  case  in  hand  and 
his  clients  were  seldom  disappointed.  He  continued  his  legal 
practice  until  he  was  chosen  Chief  Judge  of  the  County  Court  for 
the  third  Judicial  Circuit  of  Vermont  in  1851,  that  embraced  the 
counties  of  Chittenden,  Franklin,  Lamoille  and  Grand  Isle,  and 
he  held  that  position  until  1857,  when  a  new  and  different  judicial 
system  was  adopted  by  the  state,  and  he  returned  to  the  practice 
of  the  law  again.  He  was  not  allowed  to  remain  at  the  bar.  The 
people  knew  of  his  superior  legal  ability,  and  the  Joint  Assembly 
of  the  Vermont  Legislature  elected  him  as  one  of  the  judges  of 
the  Supreme  Court  in  1861,  and  he  held  that  position  until  he 
resigned  that  office  on  the  31st  day  of  August,  1874,  and  was 
elected  Governor  of  the  state  the  next  day  and  held  that  office 
for  two  years.  For  several  years  previous  to  his  election  as 
Governor  he  resided  upon  his  farm  located  in  the  south  part  of 
Jericho,  and  wds  a  resident  of  Jericho  until  his  death  May  18th, 
1879.  He  was  buried  in  the  family  lot  at  Hinesburgh.  He  never 
was  married.  His  leading  and  superior  abilities  were  recog- 
nized by  the  educational  institutions  of  the  state.  He  received 
the  degree  of  A.  B.  from  the  University  of  Vermont  and  was 
made  LL.  D.  by  Middlebury  College  in  1874. 


I  ' 

^^^^^o^^Z^  ^ 

QovEBNOE,  1874-1876. 

Gov.  Charles  Winslow  Gates,  1915-1916  and  His  Wife 
Maky  E.  Hayden  Gates. 


Judge  Peck  was  a  man  that  the  younger  members  of  the 
legal  profession  were  accustomed  to  go  to  for  advice  to  aid  them 
to  solve  intricate  questions.  He  was  one  of  the  kindest  of  men 
and  seemed  to  enjoy  talking  with  the  younger  members  of  the 
bar  on  the  questions  of  law  and  practice,  and  had  a  desire  to  help 
them  rather  than  to  block  their  road  to  success. 

The  late  Rufus  Choate,  one  of  the  eminent  lawyers  of  Mas- 
sachusetts, met  Mr.  Peck  as  antagonist  in  a  trial  of  an  important 
case  in  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  United  States,  and  at  its  con- 
clusion was  so  astonished  to  find  "such  a  lawyer  in  Vermont," 
that  he  went  to  Mr.  Peck  and  urged  him  to  remove  to  Boston, 
assuring  him  that  both  fame  and  fortune  would  come  to  him. 
He  did  not  see  fit  to  make  the  change,  but  fame  and  a  consider- 
able fortune  came  to  him  in  Vermont.  Mr.  Peck  represented 
Chittenden  County  in  the  State  Senate  in  1851.  He  was  nomi- 
nated as  Governor  of  Vermont  at  the  Republican  State  Con- 
vention of  1874,  and  duly  elected  for  that  office.  And  the  state 
was  honored  by  electing  him  as  Governor  of  the  state. 

It  is  the  consensus  of  opinion  of  the  people  of  the  state  that 
he  was  one  of  the  best  Governors  that  Vermont  ever  had — 
thoroughly  independent,  prudent  in  every  act,  and  carefully  in- 
specting the  minutest  details  of  every  question  presented  for  his 
official  approval.  He  was  one  of  Vermont's  noblest  citizens,  an 
able  and  upright  judge  and  a  safe  Governor. 


Charles  Winslow  Gates  was  b.  in  Franklin,  Vt.,  Jan.  12, 
1856.  Educated  in  the  public  schools  of  that  town,  graduating 
from  St.  Johnsbury  Academy  in  1880.  He  taught  the  high 
school  of  Franklin  several  years  and  afterwards  engaged  in 
mercantile  business.  On  April  9,  1890  he  married  Mary  E. 
Hay  den,  Jericho,  Vt.  In  1886  he  received  his  first  appointment 
from  the  town  of  Franklin  as  road  commissioner  and  built  a 
piece  of  permanent  highway  that  is  in  excellent  condition  today. 
In  1898  he  represented  his  town  in  the  House,  and  in  1900  his 
county  in  the  Senate.  Mr.  Gates  was  appointed  State  Highway 
Commissioner  in  1904,  which  position  he  occupied  with  con- 
spicuous ability  for  10  years.     In  Nov.,   1914  he  was  elected 


Governor.    June  30,  1915  he  received  from  the  University  of 
Vermont  the  honorary  degree  of  Doctor  of  Laws. 

His  wife  Mary  Elizabeth  Hayden  was  b.  in  Bakersfield, 
Vt.,  Mar.  12,  1860.  Educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Bakers- 
field,  Cambridge  and  Jericho,  graduated  from  St.  Johnsbury 
Academy  in  1882,  and  in  1886  received  the  degree  of  A.  B.  from 
Wellesley  College.  She  taught  school  at  Wheaton  Seminary, 
Moody  School,  Northfield  and  at  Essex  Classical  Institute.  Her 
demise  occurred  May  22,  1913. 

Chapter  H. 


BuEL  H.  Day,  President. 

Mr.  Day  was  b.  in  Jericho  Feb.  13,  1844.  Educated  in 
the  public  schools  of  town.  Underbill  Academy,  later  graduating 
from  Eastman's  Business  College,  Poughkeepsie,  N.  Y.  He 
m.  Mary  B.  Whitcomb  July  3,  1866.  Became  associated  with 
Edward  S.  Whitcomb,  Jr.,  in  business  at  Riverside  in  1865,  was 
selectman  for  6  years,  and  represented  the  town  in  the  Legislature 
of  1872,  and  was  senator  from  Chittenden  Co.  in  1884.  Mr.  Day 
moved  to  New  York  City  in  1888,  and  engaged  in  mercantile 
business,  accumulating  a  goodly  fortune.  In  1910  he  returned  to 
Jericho.  His  business  activities  are  spoken  of  more  fully  in  the 
Day  genealogy. 

Note. — While  the  above  was  being  put  in  type,  occurred  the 
death  of  Mr.  Day  our  honored  President,  Oct.  25,  1915,  having  at- 
tained the  age  of  72  years.  Great  grief  comes  over  his  associates 
as  they  realize  the  loss  sustained  in  his  demise. 

Chauncey  H.  Hayden,  Vice-President  and  Treasurer. 

Mr.  Hayden  was  b.  in  Bakersfield,  Vt.,  Mar.  31,  1857.  Edu- 
cated in  the  public  schools,  and  Spaulding  Academy  and  Essex 

BxJEL  Harwood  Day. 

President  of  General  Committee. 
Chairman  of  Committee  on 
Pageant.  Chairman  Committee 
on  Printing.  Town  Representa- 
tive in  1872.     Senator  in  1884. 

Mary  B.  Day. 

Member  of  Auxiliary  Committee. 
Member  of  Committee  on  Pag- 
eant. Member  of  Children's 

Eugene  B.  Jordan. 

Secretary  of  General  Committee. 
Chairman  Committee  on 
Sacred  Concert.  Town  Repre- 
sentative in  1898.  Town  Clerk 
for  31  years. 

Chauncey  Hoyt  Hayden. 

Vice-President  and  Treasurer  of 
General  Committee.  Chairman 
of  Historical  Committee. 
Chairman  of  Banquet  Com- 
mittee. Town  Representative 
in  1906, 


Classical  Institute.  Graduated  from  the  University  of  Vermont 
in  1883,  receiving  the  degree  of  Master  of  Arts  in  1886.  He  m. 
M.  Alice  Lane,  Nov.  25,  1886. 

Was  principal  of  Underbill  Academy,  Hinesburg  Academy, 
Essex  Junction  Graded  School,  Essex  Classical  Institute  and 
Underbill  Graded  School.  Served  as  superintendent  of  schools  in 
Jericho  for  3  years  and  in  Essex  for  4  years.  Has  also  conducted 
business  interests  since  1894,  general  merchandise  and  undertak- 
ing. Has  been  selectman,  also  lister  and  was  representative  from 
Jericho  in  the  Legislature  of  1906.     (See  Hayden  genealogy). 

Mr.  Eugene  B.  Jordan,  Secretary. 

Eugene  B.  Jordan  was  b.  in  Winooski,  Vt.,  Feb.  27,  1863. 
Educated  in  the  public  schools,  finished  with  a  course  in  the  busi- 
ness college.  Moved  to  Jericho  in  1884,  at  which  time  his  older 
brother  Henry  formed  with  him  a  partnership  under  the  firm  title 
of  Jordan  Bros.,  doing  an  excellent  general  merchandise  business 
until  the  present  time.  Has  held  many  positions  of  responsibility ; 
has  been  town  clerk  since  1884,  a  period  of  32  years.  Mr.  Jordan 
represented  Jericho  in  the  Legislature  of  1898.  (See  Jordan 
genealogy) . 

Mr.  LaFayette  Wilbur. 

Mr.  Wilbur  was  b.  in  Waterville,  May  15,  1834.  Educated 
in  the  public  schools,  attending  the  academies  at  Bakersfield,  Fair- 
fax, Underbill  Center  and  Morrisville.  Taught  school  in  Fairfax, 
Underbill  and  Elmore.  Studied  law  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar 
in  1856.  Commenced  the  practice  of  law  in  Jericho  in  Jan.,  1857. 
With  the  exception  of  a  few  years  spent  in  Burlington  has  since 
resided  in  town.  Has  held  many  positions  of  trust  and  responsi- 
bility. Has  devoted  much  time  in  the  interest  of  the  town 
library.  Has  edited  the  life  of  LaFayette  Wilbur  and  family 
genealogy,  one  volume,  and  the  early  History  o,f  Vermont  in  four 
volumes.  He  m.  Mercy  Jane  Morse,  Jan.  9,  1861.  (See  Wilbur 
genealogy) . 

Mr.  Luther  C.  Stevens. 

Mr.  Luther  C.  Stevens  was  b.  in  Underbill  Jan.  24,  1845,  was 
educated  in  the  public  schools  and  Underbill  Center  Academy, 


afterwards  graduating  from  Burlington  High  School.  As  a 
young  niah  was  always  scholarly  and  greatly  interested  in  edu- 
cational matters.  For  about  30  years  Mr.  Stevens  has  served  as 
a  school  director  in  Jericho,  giving  freely  of  his  time  and  genius, 
and  now  has  the  satisfaction  of  seeing  the  public  school  system 
equal  to  that  in  any  of  the  neighboring  towns.  Mr.  Stevens  is 
also  a  writer  of  ability.     (See  Stevens  genealogy). 

Rev.  Samuel  Horace  Barnum. 

Rev.  Samuel  H.  Barnum  was  b.  in  West  Springfield,  Mass., 
April  7,  1852.  Educated  in  New  Haven,  Conn.,  graduated  at 
Yale  in  1875,  and  at  Yale  Theological  Seminary  in  1879.  He 
was  ordjined  to  the  Christian  ministry,  April  25,  1883.  Mr. 
Barnum  m.,  July  13,  1882,  Miss  S.  Pauline  Little,  dau.  of  Thos. 
D.  and  Susan  Smith  Little  of  Salisbury,  N.  H. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Barnum  settled  in  Jericho  in  1907,  and  he  is 
the  pastor  of  the  First  Congregational  Church  at  Jericho  Center. 
He  is  a  preacher  of  recognized  ability,  an  excellent  pastor  and  an 
exceptionally  clear  and  entertaining  writer.  (See  Barnum 
genealogy) . 

Mr.  Frank  S.  Jackson. 

Mr.  Jackson  was  b.  in  Jericho  Dec.  20,  1859.  Educated  in 
the  public  schools,  attended  Underbill  Academy  and  Essex  Qassi- 
cal  Institute.  Remained  with  his  parents  upon  the  farm  until 
the  demise  of  his  mother  in  1894.  After  this  the  farm  was 
rented  and  Mr.  Jackson  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  in  Mass., 
where  he  continued  until  1912,  when  he  returned  to  the  home 
farm,  which  he  has  since  managed.  Early  in  life  Mr.  Jackson 
held  positions  of  trust,  being  selectman  several  years,  and  in  1914 
was  elected  representative  to  the  Legislature,  in  which  capacity 
he  served  the  town  well.     (See  Jackson  genealogy). 

Rev.  a.  H.  Sturges. 

Mr.  Sturges  was  b.  in  Fairfield,  Vt.,  April  -7,  1864.  Edu- 
cated in  the  public  schools,  the  Select  Schools,  East  Fairfield,  and 
Brigham  Academy,  Bakersfield.  Studied  for  the  ministry  under 
the  direction  of  the  Vermont  Conference  of  the  Methodist  Episco- 


Member  of  General  Committee. 
Member  of  Historical  Com- 
mittee. Chairman  Committee 
on  Markers.  Chairman  Chil- 
dren's Committee  School  Com- 
mitteeman for  a  decade. 

Rev.    Sa:iiuel    Horace    Barnum. 

Member   of   General   Committee. 
Member     of     Historical     Com- 
mittee.      Chairman     of     Com- 
mittee    on     Church    Services. 
Chairman    of    Old    Home    Day 

Rev.  a.  H.  Stx'roes. 

Member  ot  the  General  Com- 
mittee. Member  of  the  Com- 
mittee on  Church  Services. 
Member  of  Old  Home  Day  Com- 

Praxk   S.   Ransom. 

Member  of  the  General  Com- 
mittee. Member  of  Committee 
on  Markers.  Member  of  Com- 
mittee on  Old  Home  Day. 
Town  Representative  in  1912. 

Theodore  Bailey  Williams. 

Member  of  General  Committee.     Member  of  Committee  on  Floats  and 
Pageants.    Member  of  School  Board. 


pal  Church.  He  was  licensed  to  preach  in  1899  and  was  sent 
to  Binghamville,  where  he  remained  seven  years.  His  next 
charge  was  Underhill  and  Jericho,  this  being  the  eighth  year  on 
this  charge.  Few  pastors  have  ever  given  better  satisfaction 
than  Mr.  Sturges.  He  m.  Miss  Alma  F.  McGovern,  Oct.  30, 
1884.     (See  Sturges  genealogy). 

Mr.  Frank  S.  Ransom. 

Mr.  Frank  S.  Ransom  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Jan.  8,  1857.  Edu- 
cated in  the  public  schools  and  Jericho  Academy.  He  is  an 
architect  and  contractor.  Mr.  Ransom  served  as  road  commis- 
sioner for  Jericho  several  years,  was  selectman  for  3  years  and  is 
at  present  lister.  He  represented  the  town  in  the  Legislature  of 
1912.  First  m.  Ida  M.  Doty,  June  2,  1880,  now  deceased.  Mr. 
Ransom  m.  Miss  Mary  L.  Church,  Jan.  20,  1886.  (See  Ransom 
genealogy) . 

Mr.  Theodore  Bailey  Williams. 

Theodore  B.  Williams  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Aug.  14,  1888. 
Educated  in  the  public  schools  and  Essex  Classical  Institute,  and 
graduated  from  the  University  in  1909.  He  has  since  been  as- 
sociated with  his  father  in  the  lumber  business.  Mr.  Williams 
was  elected  school  director  in  1910.  Is  a  young  man  of  great 

Mrs.  Mary  Bass  Day. 

Mary  Bass  Whitcomb  was  b.  in  Fairfax,  Vt.,  Jan.  20,  1846. 
When  two  years  of  age  her  parents  bought  and  moved  to  the 
farm  and  store  in  Jericho.  She  received  her  education  in  the 
public  schools  and  the  Underhill  Academy.  Then  taught  school 
and  assisted  her  parents  until  her  marriage. 

Mrs.  Day  has  a  gift  for  sketching  and  painting  and  several 
of  her  productions  adorn  the  walls  of  her  beautiful  home.  She, 
as  she  often  affirms,  has  found  greater  inspiration  in  caring  for 
the  children,  who  have  come  her  way,  "who  needed  mothering." 
After  her  own  boys,  the  nephews  and  grandchildren,  seven,  who 
had  been  suddenly  bereft  of  their  own  parents  have  thus  found  a 
home  and  mother's  care  with  her  many  years,  because  she  es- 
teemed the  rearing  and  caring  for  children  and  caring  for  their 


immortal  souls  of  far  greater  importance  than  accomplishments 
in  art. 

Mrs.  Sarah  C.  Brown. 

Sarah  C.  Ransom  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Vt.,  March  19,  1859. 
Educated  in  the  public  schools  and  Jericho  Academy.  Was  first 
m.  to  Mr.  Harrison  Packard,  who  d.  Nov.  14,  1906.  July  27, 
1908,  she  m.  Mr.  Oliver  H.  Brown.  Mrs.  Brown  has  always  re- 
sided in  town,  and  has  been  a  tireless  worker  in  church,  mission- 
ary and  other  organizations. 

Mrs.  Jennie  R.  Williams. 

Jennie  Rawson  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Nov.  9,  1856,  was  educated 
in  the  public  schools  and  Underbill  Academy,  afterwards  doing 
special  work  at  Goddard  Seminary.  Oct.  19,  1882,  she  was  m. 
to  Mr.  Enos  Bailey  Williams.  Mrs.  Williams  has  always  lived 
in  town,  and  has  ever  manifested  a  lively  interest  in  community 
affairs,  is  a  capable  musician  and  an  excellent  writer. 

Mrs.  Medora  B.  Schweig. 

Medora  Burdick  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Aug.  31,  1860.  Received 
her  education  in  the  public  schools,  and  the  Underbill  Academy. 
Early  in  life  she  developed  fondness  for  the  drama.  For  years 
she  has  contributed  much  of  her  time  and  ability  to  training  the 
young  people  of  our  town  for  appearance  in  local  plays,  etc. 
She  was  m.  to  Mr.  Ernest.  Gustav  Schweig,  Sept.  27,  1882,  a 
lawyer  of  good  standing  in  New  York  City,  where  he  d.,  Dec.  5th, 

Mrs.  Ethel  Galusha  Hawley. 

Ethel  Galusha  was  b.  May  6th,  1873.  Educated  in  the 
public  schools  of  Jericho,  and  graduated  from  Johnson  Normal 
School  in  1891.  She  afterwards  specialized  at  Vermont  Acad- 
emy, Saxtons  River.  She  taught  school  in  Jericho,  and  became 
united  in  m.  with  Mr.  Burton  C.  Hawley  in  December,  1894. 

Mrs.  Hawley  is  a  fine  soprano  singer,  and  has  the  distinction 
of  being  the  great  great  granddau.  of  Governor  Chittenden,  trac- 
ing her  lineage  back  dually  through  each  of  her  grandfathers. 

Medora  Burdick  EcirwEio. 

Sadie  C.  Brown. 

Member  of  the  Auxiliary  Com-  Member  of  the  Auxiliary  Com- 
mittee. Member  of  the  Com-  mittee.  Chairman  of  the  Com- 
mittee on  Pageant.  Member  of  mittee  on  Dramatic  Entertain- 
•the  Banquet  Committee.  ment.     Member  of  Banquet  Com- 

Jennie  Rawson  Williams. 
Member  of  the  Auxiliary  Committee. 
Member  of  the  Committee  on  Evening  Musical  Entertainment. 

Ethel  Galusha  Hawley.  C!oba  Willet  Chapin. 

Member  of  Auxiliary  Committee.  Member  of  the  Auxiliary  Com- 
Chainaan  of  the  Committee  on  mittee.  Member  of  tbe  Corn- 
Evening  Musical  Entertainment.  mittee  on  Old  Home  Day.  Mem- 
Member  of  Banquet  Committee.  ber  of  Banquet  Committee. 

LiNNiB  Curtis  Buzzell. 
Member  of  Auxiliary  Committee. 

history  of  jericho,  vermont.  9 

Mrs.  Cora  W.  Chapin. 

Cora  M.  Willey  was  b.  in  Sutton,  P.  Q.,  in  1867.  She  went 
to  a  rural  school  in  Canada  until  14  years  of  age,  after  which  she 
attended  the  village  school  two  years.  She  then  attended  "Maple- 
wood  School,"  a  private  school  taught  by  Prof,  and  Mrs.  Thomas ; 
and  afterwards  specialized  in  French  and  music. 

She  taught  school  in  Westford  and  Underbill  with  notable 
success.  In  1892,  she  was  united  with  Mr.  Lucian  H.  Chapin 
in  marriage.  Mrs.  Chapin  has  ever  evinced  a  deep  interest  in 
church  work  and  in  the  schools  of  our  town. 

Mrs.  Harriet  Higgins. 

Harriet  Hovey,  dau.  of  Dr.  Frederick  Freeman  and  Harriet 
Field  Hovey  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Vt.  Educated  in  the  public 
schools,  Barre  Academy,  and  Mt.  Holyoke  Seminary.  She  was 
m.  to  Charles  F.  Higgins  of  Springfield,  Mass.,  where  they  re- 
sided until  his  demise,  since  which  Mrs.  Higgins  has  spent  much 
of  her  time  in  Jericho.  Capable  as  a  musician  and  writer,  Mrs. 
Higgins  has  been  of  great  service  to  the  community. 

Mrs.  Linnie  C.  Buzzell. 

Linnie  Curtis,  dau.  of  Wilson  R.  and  Sophia  Bullock  Curtis, 
was  b.  in  Jericho  in  1882.  She  was  educated  in  the  public  schools, 
specializing  in  music  at  Montreal. 

She  became  united  with  Mr.  Max  A.  Buzzell  in  m.  in  1908. 
Mrs.  Buzzell  is  prominent  in  church  work,  and  has  especial  talent 
as  a  singer. 



By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Chapter  I. 



Mrs.  Homer  Rawson,  an  octogenarian  and  a  lifelong  resident 
of  the  town,  gave  the  editor  of  The  Reporter  the  following  de- 
scription of  that  event,  which  was  pubHshed  in  May,  1913,  from 
which  we  quote. 

"While  we  today  deplore  the  drink  habit,  it  should  be  cheer- 
ing to  us  to  know  that  it  is  not  so  universal  a  custom,  as  it  was  in 
the  early  years  of  the  last  century.  A  perusal  of  the  day-book  of 
a  merchant  in  town,  John  Fassett  by  name,  at  that  period  shows 
that  seventy-five  per  cent,  of  his  sales  were  spirituous  liquors. 
People  who  were  contemporary  of  the  man  whose  fortune  made 
possible  the  two  fine  hospitals  in  our  county,  the  Mary  Fletcher 
and  the  Fanny  Allen,  always  said  that  the  foundation  of  his 
fortune  was  laid  as  a  merchant  in  the  town  of  Essex. 

"In  those  days  the  leading  occupation  was  lumbering.  Ox 
teams  drew  the  great  pines  to  Burlington,  where  they  were 
shipped  down  the  lake  to  Montreal  to  be  converted  into  masts 
for  the  King's  navy.  The  lumbermen's  thirst  was  always 
quenched  at  the  Essex  store,  'where  rum  and  molasses  were  an 
inch  on  the  counter.' 

"Those  conditions  which  were  wide-spread  in  the  land,  led 
to  the  Temperance  Movement,  which  in  1841  was  at  its  zenith. 

"Preparatory  to  the  event  a  liberty  pole  was  raised  on  the 
Congregational  Church  green.  During  the  process  of  its  erec- 
tion by  perspiring  townsmen  Dr.  Secretary  Rawson  walked  by. 
He  was  a  stanch  Democrat  and  inquired,  'Which  end  of  the 


pole  is  Whigery?'  Lawyer  Hill  an  enthusiastic  Whig  replied, 
'The  top —  —  — '  with  much  emphasis.  Accepting  his  ver- 
sion the  old  Doctor  continued  his  way  to  the  post  office.  While 
there  a  violent  thunder  storm  with  a  high  wind  for  a  time  pre- 
vailed, and  on  retracing  his  steps  homeward  he  found  that  the 
wind  had  broken  off  the  top  part  of  the  pole!  It's  needless  to 
say  the  'tables  were  well  turned.' 

"A  new  pole  was  forthcoming  for  the  great  day,  which  was 
inaugurated  by  a  grand  parade.  Col.  Frederick  Fletcher  was  the 
marshal,  and  a  figure  which  awakened  the  keenest  admiration. 
His  mount  was  a  dappled  grey,  and  his  costume  a  blue  coat,  white 
pants,  blue  sash  and  ruffled  shirt,  with  the  high  black  stove-pipe 
hat  then  in  vogue.  There  were  twenty-four  states  at  that  time 
in  the  Union  and  they  were  represented  by  twenty-four  young 
couples:  George  Howe,  Luther  Prouty,  Rollin  Galusha,  Law- 
rence Bliss,  Leet  Bishop,  Elisha  Ford,  Russell  White,  George 
Fennel,  Edgar  Lane,  John  H.  ?  Tower,  Jr.,  and  the  fair  young 
girls:  Rosamond  Howe,  Ellen  Galusha,  Mary  Howe,  Fanny 
Prouty,  Philura  and  Philinda  Ford  were  among  them. 

"The  young  men  were  dressed  in  black  coats,  white  pants 
and  vests,  high  standing  collar  and  stock,  and  the  tall  stove-pipe 
hat  and  their  fair  partners  wore  white  dresses  with  wreaths  on 
their  heads. 

"The  banquet  was  spread  on  tables  built  on  the  church  green, 
where  the  young  men  had  planted  young  trees  cut  in  the  woods 
the  day  previous  and  set  in  rows  to  shade  the  tables.  The  menu 
was  most  bountiful :  roast  pigs,  whole  boiled  hams  and  rice  pud- 
dings so  big  they  filled  sugar  tubs,  were  served  among  other  good 
things.  Fred  Hill,  an  able,  lawyer  of  our  town,  eminently  fitted 
for  the  place,  acted  as  toastmaster,  and  the  post-prandial  exer- 
cises were  responded  to  by  all  the  local  celebrities. 

"The  president  of  the  day  was  Judge  John  H.  Tower  of 
Underbill,  a  notable  character.  He  was  the  possessor  of  the 
most  imposing  physique,  being  over  six  feet  in  height,  quite 
portly,  and  always  dressed  in  shiny  black  broadcloth  and  the 
high  hat.  He  had  held  all  the  offices  his  townsmen  could  bestow, 
having  been  a  Representative  and  side  Judge.  A  whole  volume 
might  have  been  written  of  his  peculiar  use  of  the  King's  Eng- 
lish.     Therefore,  it  was  no  surprise  to  his  friends  that  from  his 


station  in  the  high  pulpit  in  the  old  church  as  he  announced  the 
order  of  the  exercises,  he  should  say,  'Now  we'll  have  sing- 
ing by  the  core !' 

"Ray  Hard,  a  young  law  student  of  Mr.  Hill's,  read  the 
Declaration  of  Independence.  J.  Sullivan  Adams  of  Burlington, 
was  the  leading  orator  of  the  day.  How  eloquent  his  address, 
the  singing  so  grand  by  the  large  choir  led  by  the  wonderful 
tenor,  Arthur  Castle,  who  was  then  in  young  manhood  vigor! 
No  wind  or  stringed  instrument  led  that  band,  but  with  tuning 
fork  in  hand  he  brought  Heaven's  own  harmony  to  earthly  ears." 

Then  the  writer  adds  this  exhortation  respecting  the  ap- 
proaching celebration : 

"If  it  was  possible  for  our  town  when  only  half  its  present 
age,  to  have  a  celebration  that  made  memories  that  lasted 
seventy-two  years,  does  it  not  behoove  us,  their  children  and 
grand-children,  to  do  as  worthily?  The  celebration  in  August  is 
for  no  person's  glory  and  exaltation,  but  the  town's.  And  if  the 
town  is  yours  by  birth  or  adoption,  it  is  your  town.  These  are 
days  when  many  towns  are  celebrating  anniversaries,  and  let  us 
not  be  ashamed  of  our  town's  ISOth  birthday.  There  are  many 
expenses  to  be  met,  which  the  town's  appropriation  will  not 
cover,  and  by  generous  aid  and  patronage  only  can  the  de- 
ficiencies be  met." 

The  following  excerpts  are  from  a  personal  letter  to  myself 
written  by  Dea.  Truman  B.  Barney,  late  of  Ada,  Oklahoma, 
but  for  about  70  years  a  resident  of  Jericho,  respecting  the  same 

"I  was  then  eight  years  old  and  remember  the  celebration 
quite  well.  It  had  become  a  very  common  custom  for  most 
families  to  keep  liquors  in  the  house  and  to  invite  everyone  who 
called  to  take  something  to  drink;  and  even  most  of  the  min- 
isters when  calling  on  their  parishioners  were  in  the  habit  of 
accepting  the  invitation.  By  this  habit  a  great  many  had  ac- 
quired a  strong  love  of  liquors  and  many  formed  the  habit  of 
drinking  to  excess.  Then  some  of  the  best  people  became  aware 
of  the  great  danger  and  began  to  form  Temperance  Societies. 
Some  good  speakers  were  sent  out  and  meetings  were  held  to 
arouse  the  people  generally.^  In  Jericho,  Underbill  and  the  sur- 
rounding towns  there  was  much  interest  manifested.    A  noted 


Temperance  Lecturer  from  New  York  (I  think)  who  called  him- 
self the  'Reformed  Wood  Sawer'  came  and  spoke  to  crowded 
houses.  He  was  a  very  interesting  man  and  had  a  wonderful 
influence  among  the  people  in  stirring  them  up  to  the  Temper- 
ance work.  Societies  were  formed,  pledges  drawn  up,  and  great 
numbers  rescued  from  the  miserable  drink  habit.  I  remember 
the  great  meetings  very  well,  and  just  how  the  Wood  Sawer 
looked,  up  in  that  little  high  pulpit  between  the  front  ends  of 
the  circular  gallery  in  the  brick  church  at  Jericho  Comers.  He 
was  rather  a  stocky  built  man  of  good  appearance,  had  a  fine  clear 
voice  and  a  most  powerful  magnetic  influence  over  his  audience. 
He  said  he  had  followed  the  life  of  a  Wood  Sawer  in  the  city 
for  years,  going  from  house  to  house  to  saw  and  fit  stove  wood, 
and  falling  into  the  general  custom  of  drinking,  became  greatly 
demoralized,  but  was  finally  aroused  to  a  sense  of  his  condition 
and  fully  reformed. 

"Col.  Frederick  Fletcher,  who  was  the  marshal  at  the  great 
meeting,  then  lived  at  Underbill  Flats,  and  owned  a  nice  brick 
house  and  bam  on  the  comer  where  the  brick  store  now  stands. 
He  was  my  father's  cousin  by  marriage  with  the  Chittenden 
family.  Being  quite  rich  he  always  had  a  nice  uniform  and  a 
spirited  horse  and  was  a  splendid  officer.  He  was  Colonel  of  one 
of  our  Vermont  uniformed  militia  regiments,  and  knew  very  well 
how  to  manage  a  large  procession  so  as  to  make  it  appear  to  good 
advantage.  Brigadier  General  Orvill  Shaw,  who  commanded  the 
Vermont  brigade  of  the  uniformed  militia  at  that  time,  was  an- 
other prominent  officer  in  the  great  temperance  meetings.  He 
then  owned  and  lived  on  the  farm  where  Mr.  B.  C.  Hawley  now 
lives.  His  son  John  B.  and  daughter  Ellen  M.  were  about  my 
age  and  schoolmates  for  several  years.  General  Shaw  was  also 
a  splendid  officer.  He  had  command  of  the  troops  called  out  by 
the  governor  to  squelch  the  great  Paddy  rebellion  at  Richmond 
on  the  fourth  of  July  during  the  building  of  the  Vermont  Cen- 
tral R.  R.,  and  succeeded  in  handling  them  so  well  that  no  lives 
were  lost,  although  the  Paddys  made  a  great  show  with  their  shal- 
lalahs  (or  shillalahs),  and  things  looked  rather  dubious  just 
before  the  troops  made  their  charge.  As  they  marched  up  to 
charge  with  fixed  bayonets,  Denison  Monroe,  one  of  the  drum- 
mers of  the  Jericho  and  Underbill  company,  thought  a  drum 


would  be  a  queer  thing  to  fight  a  big  Irishman  and  a  big  shillalah 
with,  and  so  took  a  convenient  position  behind  a  large  tree  and 
was  made  the  butt  of  many  a  joke  for  a  long  time. 

"Judge  David  Fish  of  Jericho  was  also  prominent  in  the 
Temperance  work.  He  had  charge  of  seating  the  people,  and  was 
an  excellent  hand  to  manage  large  gatherings  and  keep  good 
order.  He  knew  every  one  and  knew  just  where  to  place  them. 
The  most  of  the  reformations  under  the  influence  of  the  Wood 
Sawer  were  permanent. 

"Old  Judge  John  H.  Tower,  a  merchant  at  Underbill,  had 
several  barrels  of  liquor  and  cider  in  his  store  cellar,  and  he  de- 
cided he  would  never  sell  another  drop,  nor  sleep  until  he  had 
emptied  it  all  on  the  cellar  bottom.  So  you  see  the  great  temper- 
ance work  of  those  days  was  worth  celebrating  and  is  worth  re- 
membering in  the  town  history." 

It  seemed  very  desirable  to  make  permanent  record  of  so 
important  an  event  as  the  above  described  celebration,  because  of 
its  meaning  to  the  people  of  those  days ;  and  also  in  memory  of 
the  men,  women,  and  families  therein  referred  to,  many  of  whom 
became  very  prominent  in  town  and  county  affairs. 

Chapter  II. 


A  true  copy  of  the  charter,  together  with  the  subscribers  to 
the  same  as  issued  by  Benning  Wentworth,  June  7,  1763,  is  given 


*2 — 33        *Province  of  New-Hampshire. 

Jerico  GEORGE  the  Third, 

P.  S. 

By  the  Grace  of  God,  of  Great-Britain,  France  and 
Ireland,  King,  Defender  of  the  Faith  &c. 


To  all  Persons  to  whom  these  Presents  shall  come. 
Know  ye,  that  We  of  Our  special  Grace,  certain  Knowledge, 
and  meer  Motion,  for  the  due  Encouragement  of  settling  a  New 
Plantation  within  our  said  Province,  by  and  with  the  Advice  of 
our  Trusty  and  Well-beloved  Benning  Wentworth,  Esq;  Our 
Governor  and  Commander  in  Chief  of  Our  said  Province  of 
New-Hampshire  in  New-England,  and  of  our  Council  of  the 
said  Province;  HAVE  upon  the  Conditions  and  Reservations 
herein  after  made,  given  and  granted,  and  by  these  Presents,  for 
us,  our  Heirs,  and  Successors,  do  give  and  grant  in  equal  Shares, 
unto  Our  loving  Subjects,  Inhabitants  of  Our  said  Province  of 
New-Hampshire,  and  Our  other  Governments,  and  to  their 
Heirs  and  Assigns  for  ever,  whose  names  are  entered  on  this 
Grant,  to  be  divided  to  and  amongst  them  into  Seventy  two  equal 
Shares,  all  that  Tract  or  Parcel  of  Land  situate,  lying  and  being 
within  our  said  Province  of  New-Hampshire,  containing  by 
Admeasurement,  23040  Acres,  which  Tract  is  to  contain  Six 
Miles  square,  and  no  more ;  out  of  which  an  Allowance  is  to  be 
made  for  High  Ways  and  unimprovable  Lands  by  Rocks,  Ponds, 
Mountains  and  Rivers.  One  Thousand  and  Forty  Acres  free, 
according  to  a  Plan  and  Survey  thereof  made  by  Our  said  Gover- 
nor's Order,  and  returned  into  the  Secretary's  Office,  and  here- 
unto annexed,  butted  and  bounded  as  follows.  Viz.  Beginning 
at  the  Southerly  or  South  Easterly  Corner  of  Essex  at  the 
Northerly  side  of  Onion  or  French  River  (so  called)  from  thence 
Easterly  up.  said  River  so  far  as  to  make  Six  Miles  on  a  straight 
Line,  allowing  the  same  to  be  Perpendicular  with  the  South 
Easterly  Line  of  said  Essex  from  thence  Northerly  a  Parralell 
Line  with  the  south  Easterly  line  of  said  Essex  six  Miles  from 
thence  Westerly  about  six  Miles  to  the  North  Easterly  corner  of 
said  Essex,  from  thence  southerly  by  the  Easterly  Line  of  said 
Essex  Six  Miles  to  the  place  begun  at — And  that  the  same  be, 
and  hereby  is  Incorporated  into  a  Township  by  the  Name  of 
Jerico  And  the  Inhabitants  that  do  or  shall  hereafter  inhabit 
the  said  Township,  are  hereby  declared  to  be  Enfranchized  with 
and  Intitled  to  all  and  every  the  Priviledges  and  Immunities  that 
other  Towns  within  Our  Province  by  Law  Exercise  and  Enjoy : 
And  further,  that  the  said  Town  as  soon  as  there  shall  be  Fifty 


Families  resident  and  settled  thereon,  shall  have  the  Liberty  of 
holding  Two  Fairs,  one  of  which  shall  be  held  on  the 

And  the  other  on  the 
annually,  which  Fairs  are  not  to  continue  longer  than  the  re- 

following  the  said  and  that  as 

soon  as  the  said  Town  shall  consist  of  Fifty 
Families,  a  Market  may  be*  opened  and  kept  one 
or  more  Days  in  each  Week,  as  may  be  thought  most  *2 — 434 
advantagious  to  the  Inhabitants.  Also,  that  the  first 
Meeting  for  the  Choice  of  Town  Officers,  agreable  to  the  Laws 
of  our  said  Province,  shall  be  held  on  the  14th  July  next  which 
said  Meeting  shall  be  Notified  by  Mr.  John  Burling  who  is  here- 
by also  appointed  the  Moderator  of  the  said  first  meeting,  which 
he  is  to  Notify  and  Govern  agreable  to  the  Laws  and  Customs 
of  our  said  Province;  and  that  the  annual  Meeting  for  ever 
hereafter  for  the  Choice  of  such  Officers  for  the  said  Town, 
shall  be  on  the  second  Tuesday  of  March  annually,  To  Have 
and  to  Hold  the  said  Tract  of  Land  as  above  expressed,  to- 
gether with  all  Priviliges  and  Appurtenances,  to  them  and  their 
respective  Heirs  and  Assigns  forever,  upon  the  following  Con- 
ditions, viz. 

I.  That  every  Grantee,  his  Heirs  or  Assigns  shall  plant 
and  cultivate  five  Acres  of  Land  within  the  Term  of  five  Years 
for  every  fifty  Acres  contained  in  his  or  their  Share  or  Propor- 
tion of  Land  in  said  Township,  and  continue  to  improve  and 
settle  the  same  by  additional  Cultivations,  on  Penalty  of  the 
Forfeiture  of  his  Grant  or  Share  in  the  said  Township,  and  of 
its  reverting  to  Us,  our  Heirs  and  Successors,  to  be  by  Us  or 
Them  Regranted  to  such  of  Our  Subjects  as  shall  effectually 
settle  and  cultivate  the  same. 

II.  That  all  white  and  other  Pine  Trees  within  the  said 
Township,  fit  for  Masting  Our  Royal  Navy,  be  carefully  pre- 
served for  that  Use,  and  none  to  be  cut  or  felled  without  Our 
special  License  for  so  doing  first  had  and  obtained,  upon  the 
Penalty  of  the  Forfeiture  of  the  Right  of  such  Grantee,  his 
Heirs  and  Assigns,  to  Us,  our  Heirs  and  Successors,  as  well  as 


being  subject  the  Penalty  of  any  Act  or  Acts  of  Parliament  that 
now  are,  or  hereafter  shall  be  Enacted. 

III.  That  before  any  Division  of  the  Land  be  made  to  and 
among  the  Grantees,  a  Tract  of  Land  as  near  the  Centre  of  the 
said  Township  as  the  Land  will  admit  of,  shall  be  reserved  and 
marked  out  for  Town  Lots,  one  of  which  shall  be  alloted  to 
each  Grantee  of  the  Contents  of  one  Acre. 

IV.  Yielding  and  paying  therefor  to  Us,  our  Heirs  and 
Successors  for  the  Space  of  ten  Years,  to  be  computed  from  the 
Date  hereof,  the  Rent  of  one  Ear  of  Indian  Corn  only,  on  the 
twenty-fifth  Day  of  December  annually,  if  lawfully  demanded, 
the  first  pa3mient  to  be  made  on  the  twenty-fifth  Day  of  Decem- 
ber, 1763. 

V.  Every  Proprietor,  Settler  or  Inhabitant,  shall  yield  and 
pay  unto  Us,  our  Heirs  and  Successors  yearly,  and  every  Year 
forever,  from  and  after  the  Expiration  of  ten  Years  from  the 
abovesaid  tWenty-fifth  Day  of  December,  namely,  on  the  twenty- 
fifth  Day  of  December,  which  will  be  in  the  Year  of  our  Lord 
1773  One  shilling  Proclamation  Money  for  every  Hundred  Acres 
he  so  owns,  settles  or  possesses,  and  so  in  Proportion  for  a 
greater  or  lessor  tract  of  the  said  Land;  which  Money  shall  be 
paid  by  the  respective  Persons  abovesaid,  their  Heirs  or  Assigns, 
in  our  Council  Chamber  in  Portsmouth  or  to  such  Officer  or 
OfiScers  as  shall  be  appointed  to  receive  the  same ;  and  this  to  be 
in  Lieu  of  all  other  Rents  and  Services  whatsoever. 

In  Testimony  whereof  we  have  caused  the  Seal  of  our 
said  Province  to  be  hereunto  affixed.  Witness  Benning  Went- 
WORTH,  Esq;  Our  Governor  and  Commander  in  Chief  of  Our 
said  Province,  the  Seventh  Day  of  June  In  the  Year  of  our 
Lord  Christ,  One  Thousand  Seven  Hundred  and  Sixty  three 
And  in  the  Third  Year  of  Our  Reign. 

By  His  Excellency's  Command, 
With  Advice  of  Council, 

fT  Atkinson  Junr  Secry 

Prow  New  Hampr  June  7th  1763 

Recorded  According  to  the  Original  Charter  under  the 
Prov^   Seal 

1[  T  Atkinson  Junr  S&cry 



*2— 435  *The  Names  of  the  Grantees  of  Jerico  (Viz) 

Edwd  Burling 
Thos  Burling 
Saml  Burling 
John  Sackett 
John  Sackett  Junr 
John  Wiggins 
Willm  Wiggins 
Willm  Latham 
Lancaster  Burling 
Amos  Dodge  Junr 
James  Jarvis 
Charles  Jarvis 
Philip  Brasher 
Willm  D  Peyster  Junr 
Barnard  De  Forcest 
Amos  Underhill  Junr 
Soloman  Underhill 
Saml  Laurence 
Thos  Grenell 
William  Mercier 
John  Burling 
John  Bowne 
Nichs  H  Bogart 
Jereah  Martine 
Peter  Tetard 
Charles  Davis 
John  Davis 
James  McCreedy 
Henry  Matthews 
CoUo  Saml  Barr 
Dr  John  Hale 

James  Burling 

Walter  Burling 

Benja  Burling 

James  Sackett  Junr 

Danl  Wiggins 

Danl  Wiggins  Junr 

Benja  Wiggins 

Danl  Latham 

Amos  Dodge 

Arthur  Jarvis 

James  Jarvis  Junr 

Benja  Bill 

Abrm  Brasher 

Morris  Earle 

John  Bates 

David  Underhill 

Edmd  Underhill 

James  Laurence 

Thos  Grenell  Junr 

John  Dyer  Mercier 

Philip  Burling 

John  Vermilye 

John  Martine 

John  Guerinaux 

Saml  Gillat 

Stephen  Davis 

James  Davis 

John  Cornell  of  Flushing 

Saml  Averil 

Joseph  Blanchard 

Benja  Jarvis 

Thos  Grenell  Senr; 

Hon  John  Temple,  Theo:  Atkinson,  Mk  H^  Wentworth  Esqrs. 
His  Excellency  Benning  Wentworth  Esqr  a  Tract  of  Land 
to  Contain  Five  Hundred  Acres  as  marked  B — W — in  the  Plan 
which  is  to  be  Accounted  two  of  the  within  Shares,  One  whole 
share  for  the  Incorporated  Society  for  the  Propagation  of  the 
Gospel  in  Foreign  Parts,  One  Share  for  a  Glebe  for  the  Church 


of  England  as  by  Law  Establish'd,  One  Share  for  the  First 
settled  Minister  of  the  Gospel,  &  One  Share  for  the  benefit  of  a 
School  in  said  Town — 

Province  of  New  Hampr  June  7th  1763 

Recorded  according  to  the  Back  of  the  Original  Charter  of 
Jericho  under  the  Vtov  Seal 

If  T  Atkinson  Jun  Secry 

Chapter  III. 



The  Town  Celebration  had  its  inception  in  an  article  in  the 
warning  for  March  meeting  1913,  which  had  been  prepared  by 
the  Town  Clerk,  Hon.  E.  B.  Jordan,  and  which  reads  as  follows : 

"To  see  if  the  Town  will  take  any  action  regarding  the  Cele- 
bration of  the  150th  Anniversary  of  the  granting  of  the  Charter 
of  the  Town." 

After  discussion  it  was  voted  to  celebrate  the  ISOth  An- 
niversary, which  would  occur  June  7,  1913 ;  and  a  committee  of 
ten  voters  was  duly  elected  to  have  general  charge  of  the  ar- 
rangements. They  were  given  power  to  fill  vacancies  in  the 
committee  and  also  to  appoint  sub-committees,  all  to  serve  with- 
out compensation. 

It  was  also  voted  to  authorize  the  selectmen  to  grant  an 
appropriation,  not  to  exceed  $150.00,  for  use  of  the  Committee 
towards  defraying  the  expenses  of  said  celebration.  The  in- 
terim from  March  to  the  time  of  the  celebration  was  utilized  by 
the  General  Committee,  in  meetings  for  discussion  of  the  var- 
ious features  of  the  proposed  celebration  in  making  necessary 
preparations.  Much  interest  developed  respecting  time,  place, 
duration  of  celebration  and  means  for  entertainment.  How  ar- 
dently all  these  matters  were  discussed,  even  to  the  minutest  de- 
tails ! 


Three  villages  in  the  town  and  varying  interests,  change  the 
situation  from  that  of  towns  having  only  one  village  and  a  united 
interest.  At  first  there  were  spirited  debates,  but  soon  selfish 
interests  began  to  yield  to  generous  rivalry  and  fair  play.  A 
better  mood  predominated  in  committee  discussions  and  town 
interests  gained  the  ascendency. 

Not  imitating  other  towns  in  an  extravagant  pageant  or 
in  the  attempt  to  crowd  all  into  a  one  day's  program,  the  com- 
mittee planned  within  their  means,  using  town  resources  and 
native  ability,  with  due  consideration  to  her  various  interests, 
with  results  that  far  exceeded  expectation,  a  schedule  of  events 
covering  five  days  at  the  different  villages  affording  all  who 
participated  great  delight  and  satisfaction. 

Even  at  this  short  range,  the  memories  are  all  exceedingly 
pleasant.  It  was  a  succession  of  choice  events,  admirably  exe- 
cuted, historical,  reminiscent,  and  spectacular.  The  preparation 
had  been  tedious,  the  results  amazing,  and  all  that  need  be 
added  is  that  "This  was  Jericho's  way." 

Following  will  be  found  the  various  committees. 
The  General  Committee.    Elected  by  the  voters. 

Buel  H.  Day,  chairman;  Chauncey  H.  Hayden,  vice-chair- 
man and  treasurer;  Eugene  B.  Jordan,  secretary;  La  Fayette 
Wilbur,  Luther  C.  Stevens,  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum,  Frank  S.  Jack- 
son, Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges,  Frank  S.  Ransom,  Theodore  B.  Wil- 
Auxiliary.     Chosen  by  the  General  Committee. 

Mary  B.  Day,  Sadie  C.  Brown,  Jennie  R.  Williams,  Medora 
Schweig,  Ethel  G.  Hawley,  Cora  W.  Chapin,  Harriet  Higgins, 
Linnie  C.  Buzzell. 
The  Historical  Committee. 

Chauncey  H.  Hayden,  Luther  C.  Stevens,  La  Fayette  Wil- 
bur, and  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum. 
Sub.-Committee  on  Church  Services. 

Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum,  Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges,  Rev.  William  Cash- 
more,  and  Rev.  C.  A.  Nutting. 
Sub-Committee  on  Sacred  Concert. 

Eugene  B.  Jordan,  Mrs.  Ethel  G.  Hawley,  Mrs.  Linnie  C.  Buzzell, 
Fred  A.  Percival,  Rev.  William  Cashmore,  Frank  M.  Hoskins, 
Mrs.  J.  H.  Safford,  Park  H.  Brown,  and  Mrs.  Ira  Thorpe. 


Sub-Committee  on  Dramatic  Entertainment. 

Mrs.  Medora  Schweig,  Chauncey  H.  Hayden,  and  Frank  S. 
Sub-Committee  on  Old  Home  Day. 

Rev'.  S.  H.  Barnum,  La  Fayette  Wilbur,  Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges, 
Eugene  B.  Jordan,  Mrs.  Cora  W.  Chapin,  and  Frank  S.  Ransom. 
Sub-Committee  on  Loan  Exhibits. 

Mrs.  Harriet  H.  Higgins,  Mrs.  Medora  Schweig,  Mrs.  Cora 
W.  Chapin,  Mrs.  Fred  S.  Tomlinson,  Mrs.  M.  Alice  Hayden  and 
Mrs.  M.  C.  Hale. 
Sub-Committee  on  Markers. 

Luther  C.  Stevens,  Chauncey  H.  Hayden  and  Frank  S.  Ran- 
Banquet  Committee. 

Chauncey  H.  Hayden,  Buel  H.  Day,  La  Fayette  Wilbur, 
Frank  S.  Jackson,  Mrs.  Sadie  C.  Brown,  Mrs.  Medora  Schweig, 
Mrs.  Ethel  G.  Hawley,  Mrs.  Cora  W.  Chapin  and  Mrs.  F.  S.  Ran- 
Sub-Committee  on  Floats  and  Pageants. 

Buel  H.  Day,  Luther  C.  Stevens,  Frank  S.  Ransom,  Frank- 
lin S.  Jackson,  Theodore  B.  Williams,  Mrs.  Mary  B.  Day,  Mrs. 
Sadie  C.  Brown  and  Mrs.  Jennie  R.  Williams. 
Children's  Committee.     (Special). 

Luther  C.  Stevens,  Mrs.  Mary  B.  Day  and  Mrs.  Harriet 
H.  Higgins. 
Sub-Committee  on  Evening  Musical  Entertainment. 

Mrs.  B.  C.  Hawley,  Mrs.  Linnie  Buzzell,  Mrs.  Cora  W.  Cha- 
pin, Mrs.  Jennie  R.  Williams  and  Mrs.  Harriet  H.  Higgins. 

B.  H.  Day,  C.  H.  Hayden  and  E.  B.  Jordan. 

Local  Committees  at  Jericho  Center. 
Marshals : 

J.  H.  Safford,  Andrew  Fitzsimonds. 
Reception  Committee: 

B.  G.  Brown  and  wife.  Dr.  M.  O.  Eddy  and  wife,  S.  M. 
Packard  and  wife,  G.  C.  Bicknell  and  wife,  A.  K.  Morse  and 


Information  Bureau : 

Mrs.  J.  W.  Hart,  Emma  Bicknell,  F.  A.  Fuller,  Dr.  C.  G. 
Barnum,  Gertrude  E.  Barnum,  Helen  M.  Chapin. 
Decorations : 

Mrs.  K.  B.  Isham,  W.  J.  Nichols  and  wife,  F.  M.  Hoskins 
and  wife,  Irving  Ballard  and  wife,  Leon  Hall  and  wife,  Mrs. 
C.  Bell,  Lester  Packard. 
Refreshments : 

Mrs.  E.  B.  Jordan,  Mrs.  E.  H.  Smith,  Mrs.  H.  E.  Bates, 
Mrs.  C.  F.  Nealy,  Mrs.  L.  D.  Moulton,  Mrs.  B.  Heywood,  Mary 
Moran,  Helen  Bolger,  Mrs.  Wm.  Millham,  and  Mrs.  L.  Whitte- 
more,  Mrs.  C.  C,  Bicknell,  C.  F.  Nealy  and  F.  A.  Stiles. 
Feeding  Horses: 

C.  C.  Bicknell,  Earl  Hurlburt,  L.  B.  Bolger. 

E.  H.  Smith,  R.  O.  Wilder,  C.  Schillhammer. 
Amusements : 

Mrs.  H.  H.  Higgins,  Florence  Bicknell. 
Ushers : 

H.  P.  Hall,  E.  W.  Fay,  F.  Bliss,  F.  Perrigo. 


Reception  Committee: 

Judge  and  Mrs.  C.  S.  Palmer,  Rev.  and  Mrs.  Cashmore, 
Rev.  and  Mrs.  Nutting,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  L.  F.  Wilbur,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Frank  P.  Percival,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  P.  Byington,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Herbert  Hutchinson,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fred  Tomlinson,  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Frank  K.  Howe,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  L.  C.  Rice,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Warren  Buxton,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  W.  V.  Ring,  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
G.  B.  Hulburd. 
Committee  to  see  that  churches,  streets  and  houses  are  decorated : 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  S.  E.  Curtis,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  C.  C.  Buxton,  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  F.  A.  Percival,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  H.  T.  Chase,  Mr.  R.  B. 
Field,  Miss  Julia  Porter. 
Committee  on  care  of  teams : 

A.  P.  Byington,  F.  K.  Howe,  D.  E.  Rood,  W.  V.  Ring, 
Henry  Desany,  Bert  Gomo,  Mr.  Pettingill. 


Marshals : 

George  Costello,  Andrew  Johnson,  D.  Bissonette,  Charles 
Scribner,  O.  H.  Brown,  James  Saflford,  A.  Fitzsimonds,  B.  C. 
Hawley,  Irving  Irish,  F.  ,S.  Jackson,  Bailey  Brown,  E.  Varney, 
M.  Fitzgerald,  W.  E.  Buxton,  Lloyd  Hulburd. 

Chapter  IV. 

In  commemoration  of  the  150th  year  of  the  charteral  exis- 
tence of  the  town,  the  people  of  Jericho  gathered  in  their  churches 
Sunday,  Aug.  3,  1913,  to  listen  to  special  music  and  historical 
addresses  as  a  suitable  way  to  begin  the  celebration  of  this  im- 
portant event. 

The  service  at  the  Congregational  Church,  Jericho  Center, 
10 :  30  a.  m..  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum,  Pastor,  had  the  following : 

Organ  Voluntary 
Call  to  Worship 
"Holy,  Holy" 

Invocation,  closing  with  Lord's  Prayer 
Hymn  of  Praise 
Responsive  Reading 
Recital  of  Beatitudes 
Gloria  Patri 

Pastoral  Prayer 
Notices  and  Offering 

Historical  Address — ^Rev.  Frank  W.  Hazen 

Closing  Prayer 

The  audience  was  large  and  enthusiastic.  The  historical 
address  is  given  in  full. 


*  *  *  * 


I.  Samuel  12:24.  Only  fear  Jehovah,  and  serve  him  in 
truth  with  all  your  heart ;  for  consider  how  great  things  he  hath 
done  for  you. 

One  hundred  and  fifty  years  are  not  long  in  the  SO  centuries 
of  fairly  authentic  history  by  which  the  progress  of  mankind 
may  be  traced.  Yet  this  last  century  and  a  half  is  of  greater 
moment  in  the  history  of  this  earth,  has  wrought  mightier 
changes  among  men,  has  witnessed  greater  progress  than  the 
preceding  50  centuries. 

One  hundred  and  fifty  years  ago  these  United  States,  of 
which  we  are  so  proud  as  the  greatest  nation  upon  which  the 
sun  shines  or  ever  shone,  had  no  thought  of  ever  being  a  nation, 
they  were  wilderness,  the  abode  of  savage  beast  or  of  red  men, 
or  contented  colonies  of  the  Mother  Country,  England.  One 
hundred  fifty  years  ago  this  beautiful  region  of  the  Green  Moun- 
tains, to  the  human  eye,  had  not  the  slightest  prospect  of  ever 
becoming  an  independent  state,  as  she  became  14  years  later 
for  the  14  years  prior  to  her  admission  into  the  Union  in  1791, 
had  not  the  slightest  prospect  of  becoming  one  of  the  great 
sisterhood  of  states  to  which  she  has  belonged  these  122  years. 

Here  were  the  New  Hampshire  Grants.  The  controversy 
with  New  York  was  just  on  the  verge  of  becoming  acute,  but 
at  that  time  the  settlers  were  in  the  peaceful  possession  of  their 
grants,  and  had  no  thought  of  any  attempt  at  dispossession,  no 
thought  even  of  the  change  of  jurisdiction  from  New  Hampshire 
to  New  York.  This  town,  as  far  as  we  know,  was  unbroken 
wilderness,  without  a  white  man  within  its  limits,  and  with  the 
red  man  having  here  no  settled  habitation,  only  passing  through 
the  forests  to  hunt  or  fish  or  go  on  a  foray.  Mount  Mansfield 
lifted  his  majestic  head  and  kept  his  eternal  watch  at  our  back 
door,  much  as  today.  Bolton  Mountain  acted  as  our  sentinel  to 
the  East.  From  the  summit  of  Birch  Hill  the  Indian,  by  climbing 
a  tree,  might  have  caught  a  glimpse  of  Lake  Champlain,  shimmer- 
ing in  the  light  of  the  setting  sun.  Lee  River,  Brown's  River,  and 
Mill  Brook,  though  known  by  other  names,  if  known  by  name  at 


all,  flowed  as  they  now  flow,  only  with  larger  volumes,  the  Wi- 
nooski  River  alone  presumably  bearing  the  name  by  which  we 
now  know  it,  and  flowing  through  the  southern  part  of  the  town, 
as  described  in  the  charter.     Is  there  anything  else  that  the  pass- 
ing traveler  of  150  years  ago  would  recognize  today?    A  few 
forests  he  might  recall,  but  he  might  not  look  upon  one  tree  that 
was  familiar  to  him  in  the  whole  town.     A  few  weeks  ago  I 
rambled  over  "The  Rocks"  and  looked   for  the  old  oak  tree 
which  we  boys  used  to  climb  and  under  which  we  used  to  play, 
^but  could  find  only  a  decayed  stump.     Over  at  the  old  parsonage 
two  trees  remain,  not  very  different  from  what  they  seemed  35 
years  ago,  but  at  least  one  of  the  older  trees  is  gone,  and  the 
trees  that  were  four  or  five  inches  through  at  that  time  are  grown 
beyond  all  recognition  now,  and  one  has  grown  to  a  good  size 
and  fallen,  and  only  its  stump  is  there.     This  beautiful  park  in 
front  of  the  church,  with  trees  of  considerable  size  today,  was  a 
bare  "Common"  35  years  ago,  with  three  separate  baseball  dia- 
monds, one  in  front  of  the  church  for  the  young  men,  one  in 
front  of  the  store  for  the  middle-sized  boys,  and  one  down  in 
front  of  the  old  parsonage  for  the  small  boys.     One  hundred  and 
fifty  years  ago,  yes  120  years  ago,  the  "Common"  was  not  a  com- 
mon at  all,  it  was  wilderness,  with  not  even  the  stake  set  for  the 
location  of  the  church  building,  and  it  was  not  until  1795,  32  years 
after  the  town  was  chartered,  that  the  town  voted  to  "procure 
four  acres  of  land  for  a  green  around  the  meeting  house  stake," 
and  chose  a  committee  of  three  to  lay  out  the  land  for  a  meeting 
house  green,  and  "voted  that  the  three  heads  of  classes  see  to 
chopping  and  clearing  off  the  land  for  the  public  green  the  pres- 
ent summer."     Within  the  short  space  of  120  years  the  "green" 
has  changed  from  virgin  forest  to  cleared  land  with  a  church  in 
the  center,  to  a  "common"  with  baseball  fields,  and  back  again 
to  a  beautiful  grove.     Not  all  the  forest  land  has  changed  so 
much,  but  it  is  safe  to  say  that  none  of  it  is  quite  as  it  was  150 
years  ago,  and  most  of  the  land  in  the  town  is  entirely  different 
from  what  it  was  then.     Streams  and  springs  the  same,  but  with 
smaller  volume,  hills  the  same,  only  deprived  of  their  virgin 
forests,  plains  and  valleys  the  same,  only  so  different  as  to  be 
unrecognizable  without  their  miles  and  miles  of  unbroken  forest, 
the  skies  the  same,  the  climate  milder,  if  we  are  to  believe  the 


common  judgment  regarding  the  old-fashioned  winters;  every- 
thing changed,  much  for  the  better,  we  are  sure.  The  solitary 
wilderness  has  become  the  pleasant  abode  of  some  1,300  pros- 
perous, contented,  intelligent,  useful  citizens  of  a  great  republic. 
If  it  be  true  that  man  is  the  measure  of  the  universe,  that  the 
worlds  have  value  because  man  gives  value  to  them,  that  this 
earth  was  wrought  out  of  the  void  to  be  the  home  of  man,  then 
making  this  6  square  miles  of  wilderness  into  homes  for  men  was 
simply  continuing  the  great  work  of  creation,  making  the  earth 
bear  the  fruit  it  was  intended  to  bear,  pressing  onward  God's  great 
plan  for  the  world. 

We  are  not  to  recite  today  the  story  of  these  150  years,  we 
shall  listen  to  that  story  from  more  eloquent  lips  next  Tuesday. 
Nor  are  we  today  to  tell  the  story  of  the  122  years  of  organized 
church  life  here.  That  story  is  printed  for  the  first  100  years, 
and  with  the  record  of  the  last  22  years  you  are  more  familiar 
than  the  speaker.  We  are  rather  concerned  today  with  some  les- 
sons which  may  be  gleaned  from  the  story  of  this  church,  we 
are  concerned  with  the  divine  plan  and  purpose  in  the  past  and 
for  the  future.  You  know  it  is  said  history  is  not  completely 
written  until  it  becomes  His  story. 

Two  things  have  deeply  impressed  me  in  my  knowledge  of 
this  church  and  community  as  they  were  a  generation  ago,  as  acr 
cording  to  my  observation  I  believe  they  have  been  since,  as  re- 
viewing the  history  of  the  town  since  its  organization  in  1786 
seems  to  reveal  them.  Some  may  have  difficulty  in  reconciling  or 
explaining  these  two  somewhat  contradictory  elements  in  the 
story ;  nevertheless,  I  think  I  am  right  in  giving  them  as  character- 
istics to  be  observed  here  in  an  uncommon  degree.  They  are  these : 
First,  that  the  dominant  influence  in  this  community  in  all  these 
years  has  been  this  First  Church  of  the  Town  of  Jericho,  and 
second,  that  the  support  of  this  church  has  been  one  long  story 
of  struggle  and  sacrifice,  heroic  struggle  and  heroic  sacrifice. 

First,  then,  this  church  has  dominated,  has  moulded  this  com- 
munity. I  remember  very  well  the  habit  we  boys  had,  when  we 
were  driving  to  Richmond  with'  father,  or  from  Richmond,  of 
looking  back,  or  looking  forward,  from  the  hills  beyond  the  old 
Elliot  farm  for  the  last  glimpse  or  the  first  glimpse  of  the  steeple 
of  this  church.  And  that  habit  has  not  forsaken  me  now.  I  would 


do  the  same  thing  today  if  I  were  to  drive  over  that  road.  About 
three  months  ago  I  rode  on  the  train  from  Essex  to  Cambridge, 
the  first  time  in  a  good  many  years,  and  a  little  above  the  Corners, 
I  looked  out  of  the  car  window  over  in  this -direction.  I  do  not 
know  whether  there  was  in  the  dim  recesses  of  my  memory 
some  faint  recollection  that  it  might  be  so,  or  whether  it  simply 
came  to  me  then  and  there  that  it  might, — ^but  there  was  the  spire 
of  this  church,  the  only  sign  that  there  was  any  village  in  this  di- 
rection, and  it  looked  beautiful  to  me,  and  I  called  the  attention 
of  my  companions  in  the  car  to  it, — as  far  as  I  know  they  had 
never  heard  of  Jericho  Center  before.  Less  than  a  month  ago 
my  brother  Austin  was  taking  the  same  trip,  and  he  told  me  what 
a  surprise  it  was  to  him  that  the  steeple  could  be  seen  from  there. 
He  had  entirely  forgotten  the  fact,  if  he  had  ever  known  it.  Not 
less  surely  has  the  influence  of  this  church  dominated  this  com- 
munity for  the  last  120  years  than  its  beautiful  spire  has  domi- 
nated the  landscape  for  the  last  35.  Some  people  may  seem  to  have 
forgotten  it,  to  their  inestimable  loss,  its  influence  may  not  have 
been  what  it  might  have  been  if  men's  minds  had  all  and  always 
been  set  on  the  things  that  are  true  and  good  and  beautiful,  and 
they  have  not  been,  any  more  than  their  eyes  have  always  been 
open  to  the  beauties  of  the  earth  about  them.  Nevertheless  this 
church  has  been  here,  standing  for  the  things  of  Christ,  and  has 
been  a  perpetual  reminder,  even  to  the  careless,  even  to  those 
who  think  they  have  forgotten  such  things,  or  would  forget  them 
if  they  could,  that  the  divine  life  is  the  true  life  and  is  the  life 
worth  while,  that  the  things  that  are  not  seen,  the  things  that  are 
eternal,  are  the  real  things,  that  God  has  something  great  and  good 
for  his  children  now,  and  something  greater  and  better  for  them 
in  the  greater  future. 

In  the  early  days  the  connection  between  the  town  and  the 
church  may  have  seemed  more  vital  than  it  has  been  since.  Even 
before  the  organization  of  the  church,  which  you  recall  was  in 
1791,  the  town  voted  in  1786,  the  year  of  its  organization,  to  ap- 
point a  committee  for  the  purpose  of  providing  preaching  the  en- 
suing year.  In  1788  the  town  chose  a  committee  to  hire  a  candi- 
date, and  voted  to  raise  money  to  pay  a  candidate  for  preaching 
two  months.  In  April,  1789,  the  town  "voted  to  hold  meetings 
of  public  worship  at  the  usual  places,  viz. :  at  Deacon  Rood's  and 


Capt.  Bartlett's,"  and  in  September  of  the  same  year  "a  town  tax 
was  granted  to  pay  Rev.  Mr.  Parmelee  for  preaching  the  past 
season,  6  pounds  5  shillings,  10  pence."  In  March,  1790,  the 
town  chose  a  committee  to  hire  a  candidate  to  preach  on  proba- 
tion for  settlement,  and  in  September  of  the  same  year  the  town 
voted  to  give  the  candidate  secured,  Ebenezer  Kingsbury,  a  call 
to  settle  in  the  work  of  the  ministry,  and  voted  "200  pounds  law- 
ful money  settlement,  including  the  first  minister's  right  of  land, 
and  35  pounds  lawful  money  salary  for  the  first  year,  and  to  rise 
with  the  list  until  it  amounted  to  80  pounds,"  which  was  to  be 
the  stated  salary.  The  church  was  organized  in  March,  1791, 
and  June  22  of  that  year  a  council  met  to  ordain  Mr.  Kingsbury, 
when  the  church  voted  to  give  Mr.  Kingsbury  a  call  to  settle  in 
the  gospel  ministry,  presumably  because  the  call  by  the  town 
was  not  deemed  by  the  council  sufficient.  But  even  after  the  or- 
ganization of  the  church  the  town  had  the  finances  in  charge. 
In  November,  1791,  the  town  voted  that  "three  pounds  lawful 
money  be  allowed  for  providing  for  the  'Ordaining  Council  last 
June'."  In  the  succeeding  years  a  number  of  votes  of  the  town 
are  recorded  regarding  the  places  for  meeting  for  public  worship 
and  preaching.  In  1794  the  towm  voted  to  build  a  meeting  house, 
and  chose  a  committee  of  five  to  set  a  stake  for  it.  But  that 
church  was  not  paid  for  by  the  town,  for  in  1795  the  town  "voted 
to  build  a  rneeting  house  by  selling  the  pews  at  public  vendue  at 
the  next  adjourned  town  meeting."  Three  weeks  later  that 
meeting  was  held  and  the  pews  bid  off,  those  who  bid,  I  suppose, 
becoming  "the  proprietors"  of  the  meeting  house,  the  progenitors 
of  the  more  modern  "Society."  But  it  is  not  very  clear  just 
what  of  its  rights  the  town  gave  up,  for  a  town  record  in  1800 
reads,  "Opened  a  meeting  of  the  proprietors  of  the  meeting 
house.  Voted  to  sell  the  gallery  pews."  "The  remainder  of  the 
proceedings  of  the  proprietors  of  the  meeting  house  will  be  re- 
corded in  their  clerk's  office."  But  the  town  certainly  used  that 
first  meeting  house  for  all  its  town  meetings,  and  in  1837  by  the 
payment  of  $200  gained  the  right,  a  right  which  it  still  enjoys,  to 
use  for  that  purpose  the  basement  of  the  new  church. 

Did  the  town  at  first  dominate  the  church,  until  the  church 
grew  strong  enough  to  dominate  the  town?  The  fact  that  the 
town  took  such  interest  in  the  church  shows  that  even  then  the 


church  dominated  the  town.  Remember  that  the  church  is  more 
than  the  church  organization,  the  Christian  church  was  here  with 
its  leavening  influence  when  the  first  Christian  man,  Azariah 
Rood,  settled  here  in  1774,  and  it  continued  here  in  all  those  try- 
ing years  before  the  organization  of  the  church  (except  during  the 
Revolution,  when  all  the  inhabitants  had  to  leave).  That  the 
town  voted  so  consistently  for  the  support  of  preaching  is  proof 
enough  that  it  was  dominated  by  Christian  ideals,  that  the  real 
church  was  having  its  say.  The  town  was  a  church.  And  I 
doubt  if  there  has  been  a  time  in  all  these  127  years  since  the  or- 
ganization of  the  town,  whether  there  was  any  church  build- 
ing or  not,  whether  the  church  stood  in  the  center  of 
the  green  or  on  its  northern  edge,  whether  it  had  a  dome  or  a 
spire  or  only  a  plain  unadorned  roof, — I  doubt  if  there  has  been 
a  moment  in  all  these  years  when  the  most  conspicuous  as  well 
as  the  most  mighty  influence  in  this  community  has  not  been  the 
Christian  church.  I  know  it  was  in  the  15  years  of  my  boyhood 
that  were  spent  here.     I  believe  it  was  before  and  has  been  since. 

You  will  think  of  the  school, — and  we  are  glad  to  see  a  bet- 
ter school  than  we  ever  thought  of  seeing  here ;  and  we  will  not 
say  one  word  against  the  influence  of  the  American  public  school. 
It  is  very  great  and  very  good.  But  it  is  not  belittling  that  influ- 
ence to  say  that  the  influence  of  the  church  is  greater  and  better 
and  more  necessary.  Dr.  Hillis  says  you  might  as  well  expect  to 
cleanse  the  water  of  typhoid  germs  by  painting  the  pump  in  har- 
monious colors  as  expect  to  cleanse  the  human  heart  by  culture 
of  the  brain.  Education,  culture,  the  training  given  in  the  schools, 
have  had  a  good  part  in  making  this  community  what  it  is,  but 
not  the  best  part.  It  is  the  church, that  has  held  up  continually 
and  conspicuously  and  mightily  the  high  ideals,  and  been 
the  minister  of  the  power  to  make  those  ideals  effective,  that 
have  redeemed  the  life  of  this  community  and  made  the  name  of 
Jericho  Center  dear  to  so  many  of  us. 

But  we  must  go  on  to  the  second  characteristic  that  we 
named,  that  the  support  of  this  church  has  been  one  long  story 
of  heroic  struggles  and  sacrifice.  It  was  not  easy  for  those 
hardy  pioneers  out  of  their  poverty  to  give  80  pounds  for  the  sup- 
port of  their  first  minister.  It  was  not  easy  for  them  to  raise 
the,  for  that  day,  very  large  sum  of  $4,000  to  pay  for  the  first 


meeting  house.  It  was  not  easy  a  generation  later  to  raise  a  like 
sum  to  build  the  original  brick  church.  Many  of  us  remember 
the  struggles  of  35  years  ago  to  raise  nearly  $5,000  to  remodel 
that  old  brick  church  and  fashion  this  one  which  was  thought 
to  be  very  beautiful  then, — I  remember  hearing  it  often  spoken 
of  as  one  of  the  most  beautiful  of  country  churches,  and  it  is 
beautiful  today. 

It  has  never  been  easy  here  in  this  scattered  community  to 
pay  a  minister  a  living  salary.  In  the  printed  history  of  the 
church  it  is  plainly  stated  regarding  four  of  the  ministers  that 
they. were  dismissed  "for  want  of  proper  support,"  or  because 
"they  could  not  raise  the  salary,"  or  because  "the  salary  paid  is 
not  enough  to  command  the  best  talent  or  help  to  the  best  work, 
and  God's  blessing  cannot  be  expected."  (In  the  manuscript 
copy  of  that  history  my  father  wrote  in  lead  pencil.  "Most  min- 
isters have  left  for  the  same  reason.")  Meagreness  of  the  sal- 
ary and  the  difficulty  of  raising  that  is  undoubtedly  the  cause  of 
the  large  number  of  short  pastorates  here, — ^22  pastors  in  122 
years,  the  three  remaining  longest  being  here  20,  nearly  18,  and 
7  years,  and  the  next  longest,  your  present  pastor,  who  has  been 
here  nearly  6  years.  Do  not  think  that  I  am  casting  it  up  against 
the  church  that  they  have  not  paid  more;  I  am  rather  trying  to 
show  how  hard  the  struggle  has  been.  I  believe  the  church  has 
done  nobly  to  pay  what  it  has  paid. 

It  is  no  disgrace  to  be  poor.  At  Burlington  last  June  Dr. 
Cadman  congratulated  the  University  of  Vermont  on  being  poor. 
I  believe  it  was  Senator  Dolliver  who  declared  a  few  years  ago, 
"If  I  had  $10,000  and  a  boy,  I  should  keep  them  apart."  It  is 
not  the  colleges  who  have  had  most,  nor  the  boys  who  have  had 
most,  that  have  amounted  to  the  most ;  nor  is  it  the  churches  that 
have  had  the  largest  number  of  liberal  givers  and  paid  the  larg- 
est salaries  and.  raised  them  the  easiest  that  are  most  worthy  of 
the  Lord's  words,  "Well  done,  good  and  faithful  servant." 

And  not  all  the  struggle  and  sacrifice  have  been  on  the 
financial  side, — ^that  has  been  the  least  of  it.  Some  years  ago  a 
member  of  a  wealthy  church  was  remarking  upon  how  hard  a 
poorer  church  had  to  work  to  continue  self-support,  and  a  mem- 
ber of  the  poorer  church  replied  "But  we  love  our  church." 
There  is  the  case  in  a  nut-shell.     It  is  human  nature, — or  divine 


human  nature — ,  to  love  that  for  which  we  have  sacrificed.  And 
the  sacrifice  of  luxuries  and  even  comforts  that  the  support  of 
this  church  has  cost  has  been  transformed  into  a  deeper  love  for 
the  church,  and  for  the  Christ  whose  the  church  is.  The  heroic 
devotion  that  has  entered  into  sustaining  the  Sunday  School,  the 
prayer-meeting,  the  missionary  societies,  the  choir,  as  well  as 
the  stated  public  worship  and  the  private  living  of  the  gospel, 
if  it  could  all  be  known,  would  seem  the  larger  element  of  the 
sacrifice.  It  is  this  that  God  sees,  and  it  is  this  that  has  given 
the  church  its  power  in  this  community.  It  is  this  that  has  really 
proved  the  church  Christ's  church,  proved  that  it  stands  for  the 
things  for  which  His  life  stands,  love  and  truth  and  service  and 
sacrifice.  It  is  this  that  proves  that  God  has  been  working  in 
this  community  through  His  church  to  lift  it  out  of  a  selfish 
worldliness,  the  seeking  of  comforts,  enjoyments,  wealth  and 
luxury  for  their  own  sake,  into  the  divine  unworldliness  that 
seeks  to  use  the  kingdoms  of  the  world  and  all  their  glory  for 
the  upbuilding  of  the  divine  character  of  Jesus  Christ  in  the 
community  and  in  the  men  and  women  and  children  of  the  com- 
munity. And  looking  at  the  achievements  of  the  years,  achieve- 
ments through  sacrifice,  who  shall  say  that  one  sacrifice  here 
for  the  church  and  for  the  work  of  God  has  been  in  vain,  has 
been  too  great?  Who  will  not  say  that  the  greatest  glory  of 
these  150  years  has  been  the  sacrifice  made  here  for  the  love  of 
God  and  His  church? 

And  now  a  word  as  to  the  future.  What  of  the  future 
for  this  little  church  and  village  and  community  among  the  hills  ? 
Let  us  come  back  to  the  words  of  our  text,  the  words  of  the  aged 
Samuel  to  Israel  as  they  were  starting  out  in  a  new  and  untried 
way:  "Only  fear  Jehovah,  and  serve  him  in  truth  with  all  your 
(heart ;  for  consider  how  great  things  he  hath  done  for  you."  All 
the  great  things  of  which  the  history  of  these  150  yearg  can  boast 
are  simply  what  God  has  done  for  you  and  through  you.  Can 
you  doubt  that  still  greater  achievements  await  the  descendants 
of  the  fathers,  IF  THEY  BUT  FEAR  THEIR  FATHERS' 
HEART  ?  if  they  keep  the  church,  the  work,  the  kingdom,  the  will 
of  God  dominant  in  the  community,  and  if  they  serve  the  church. 


the  work,  the  kingdom,  the  will  of  God  with  the  same  devotion 
and  sacrifice  that  the  fathers  did? 

As  a  motto  for  the  next  century  and  a  half,  for  church  and 
town,  I  want  to  give  the  burden  of  Joaquin  Miller's  poem,  "Co- 
lumbus," of  course  with  its  deepest  spiritual  implications: 

Behind  him  lay  the  great  Azores, 

Behind  the  gates  of  Hercules ; 
Before  him  not  the  ghost  of  shores. 

Before  him  onlx  shoreless  seas. 
The  good  mate  said:  "Now  must  we  pray. 

For  lo!  the  very  stars  are  gone. 
Brave  admiral,  speak,  what  shall  I  say?" 

"Why,  say.  Sail  on!  sail  on!  and  on!" 

"My  men  grow  mutinous  day  by  day ; 

My  men  grow  ghastly  wan  and  weak." 
The  stout  mate  thought  of  home ;  a  spray 

Of  salt  wave  washed  his  swarthy  cheek. 
"What  shall  I  say,  brave  admiral,  say. 

If  we  sight  naught  but  seas  at  dawn  ?" 
"Why,  you  shall  say  at  break  of  dawn, 

"Sail  on !  sail  on !  sail  on !  and  on !" 

They  sailed.    They  sailed.     Then  spake  the  mate: 

"This  mad  sea  shows  his  teeth  tonight. 
He  curls  his  lip,  he  lies  in  wait. 

With  lifted  teeth,  as  if  to  bite ! 
Brave  admiral,  say  but  one  good  word; 

What  shall  we  do  when  hope  is  gone?" 
The  words  leapt  like  a  leaping  sword : 

"Sail  on!  sail  on!  sail  on!  and  on!" 

Then  pale  and  worn,  he  kept  his  deck 

And  peered  through  darkness.    Ah,  that  night 
Of  all  dark  nights !    And  then  a  speck — 

A  light !    A  light !    A  light !    A  light ! 
It  grew,  a  starlit  flag  unfurled ! 

It  grew  to  be  Time's  burst  of  dawn. 
He  gained  a  world ;  he  gave  that  world 

Its  grandest  lesson :     "On !  sail  on !" 


The  following  quotation  is  made  from  the  Jericho  Reporter: 
"The  regular  morning  service  at  the  First  Congregational 
Church,  at  Jericho  Center,  was  one  of  rare  interest.  The  ser- 
vice was  in  charge  of  the  pastor,  the  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum.  The 
Rev.  Carlton  Hazen  read  the  lesson  and  the  Rev.  Charles  E.  Hay- 
ward  offered  prayer.  The  sermon  was  largely  historical  and  was 
delivered  by  the  Rev.  Frank  W.  Hazen.  Mr.  Hazen  is  a  son  of 
the  Rev.  Austin  Hazen,  pastor  of  the  church  for  20  years.  Hav- 
ing spent  his  boyhood  days  here,  he  was  able  to  recount  many 
early  experiences  and  bring  vividly  before  his  hearers  the  scenes 
and  happenings  of  those  days. 

There  was   another   remarkable  service  at  the   Methodist 
Church,  Riverside,  10 :30  a.  m.     Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges,  pastor. 


The  Apostles'  Creed 
Prayer,  Rev.  W.  E.  Cashmore 

Responsive  Reading 
Gloria  Patri 

Scripture,  Rev.  C.  A.  Nutting 

Historical  Address,  Rev.  E.  J.  Ranslow 
Special  Music 

There  was  an  afternoon  union  service  also  at  the  Baptist 
Church,  Jericho  Comers,  1 :30  p.  m.,  Pastor,  Rev.  C.  A.  Nutting, 
B.  D.,  with  this  order  of  service : 

Scripture,  Rev.  Wm.  Cashmore 
Prayer,  Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges 


Notices  and  OfJfering 


Historical  Address,  Rev.  E.  J.  Ranslow 




It  is  a  personal  regret  that  this  address  of  Mr.  Ranslow's 
cannot  be  printed  in  full.  He  had  agreed  to  rewrite  and  forward 
from  his  home  at  Sea  Breeze,  Florida,  but  illness  and  death  pre- 
vented his  doing  as  contemplated.  All  who  heard  it  will  remem- 
ber it  as  most  inspiring  and  as  highly  patriotic.  The  Reporter 
has  this  to  say  about  Mr.  Ranslow  and  the  memorable 


The  historical  sermons  at  Riverside  and  at  Jericho  Corners 
were  preached  by  the  Rev.  E.  J.  Ranslow,  a  grandson  of  the  Rev. 
Simeon  Parmalee,  for  many  years  a  preacher  in  this  community. 
His  text  was  Proverbs  22-28:  "Remove  not  the  ancient  land- 
marks, which  thy  fathers  have  set." 

Some  of  the  landmarks  which  the  preacher  thought  ought 
not  to  be  removed  are  courage,  reverence  and  the  Bible.  In 
speaking  of  the  efforts  of  our  forefathers  to  maintain  places  of 
divine  worship,  he  made  mention  of  one  small  town  which  ac- 
cording to  town  records  appropriated  $8,000  to  build  a  meeting 
house  and  afterward  made  yearly  appropriations  to  keep  up  ser- 
vices. He  spoke  of  the  deprivations  and  hardships  of  those  early 
times  and  paid  high  tribute  to  the  sturdy  character  thus  developed 
and  tempered  in  Vermont. 

The  grand  finale  of  Sunday's  services  was  a  sacred  concert 
at  Jericho  Center  with  the  following  program : 
Organ  Prelude,  The  Pilgrims'  Chorus.  (Wagner) 

Mrs.  H.  H.  Higgins 

Opening  Chorus.     Praise  Ye  The  Father Full  Chorus 

Scripture  Reading.     Psalms  47 Rev.  Wm.  Cashmore 

Hymn,  No.  662,  Pilgrim  Hymnal 

Chorus  and  Congregation  (Standing) 


O  God,  beneath  Thy  guiding  hand, 

Our  exiled  fathers  crossed  the  sea; 
And  when  they  trod  the  wintry  strand, 

With  prayer,  and  psalm  they  worshipped  Thee. 

Thou  heard'st,  well  pleased,  the  song,  the  prayer ; 

Thy  blessing  came;  and  still  its  power 
Shall  onward,  through  all  ages,  bear 

The  memory  of  that  holy  hour. 

Laws,  freedom,  truth,  and  faith  in  God, 

Came  with  those  exiles  o'er  the  waves ; 
And  where  their  pilgrim  feet  have  trod. 

The  God  they  trusted,  guards  their  graves. 

And  here  Thy  Name,  O  God  of  love. 

Their  children's  children  shall  adore. 
Till  these  eternal  hills  remove, 

And  spring  adorns  the  earth  no  more. 

Solo,  "Let  Us  Have  Peace" Mrs.  B.  C.  Hawley 

Double  Quartet,  "Let  Every  Heart  Rejoice  and  Sing, 

Chorus,  "Exalt  His  Glorious  Name Full  Chorus 

Prayer Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges 

Duet Miss  Eva  M.  Cady 

Mrs.  J.  H.  Safford 
Solo,  "Christ  the  Lord  Is  Risen  Today,  (by  request) 

Mr.  Fred  A.  Percival 

Ladies'  Quartet  "Come  Unto  Me" 

Mrs.  B.  C.  Hawley,  Mrs.  F.  A.  Percival,  Mrs.  L.  C.  Rice,  Miss 
Helen  Cashmore 

Chorus,  "O  Be  Joyful  in  the  Lord"   FuU  Chorus 

Scripture,  Psalm  67 Rev.  C.  A.  Nutting 

Hymn,  No.  684,  Pilgrim  Hymnal 

Chorus  and  Congregation,  (standing) 

Let  children  hear  the  mighty  deeds 
Which  God  performed  of  old; 

Which  in  our  younger  years  we  saw, 
And  which  our  fathers  told. 


He  bids  us  make  His  glories  known, 
His  works  of  power  and  grace ; 

And  we'll  convey  His  wonders  down, 
Through  every  rising  race. 

Our  lips  shall  tell  them  to  our  sons, 

And  they  again  to  theirs. 
That  generations  yet  unborn 

May  teach  them  to  their  heirs. 

Thus  shall  they  learn  in  God  alone 

Their  hope  securely  stands. 
That  they  may  ne'er  forget  His  works. 

But  practice  His  commands. 

Solo,  "Rock  of  Ages" Mrs,  M.  A.  Buzzell 

Male  Quartet,  "Beyond  the  Horizon" 

Messrs.  L.  D.  Moulton,  F.  A.  Percival,  P.  H.  Brown,  Dr.  G.  B. 


Chorus,  "To  Thee  O  Country" Full  Chorus 

Salute  to  the  Flag  (As  the  opening  strains  of  America,  are 
played  on  the  organ,  the  chorus  and  congregation  will  rise 
and  recite  together,  the  pledge  of  allegiance  to  flag  and  coun- 
try, and  remain  standing  until  close  of  service). 
We  pledge  allegiance  to  our  Flag,  and  to  the  Country  for  which 
it  stands.  One  Nation,  indivisible;  with  liberty  and  justice 
for  all. 

National  Hymn.     "America" Chorus  and  Congregation 

Benediction Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum 

Postlude  Mrs.  H.  H.  Higgins 

Ushers — Frank  B.  Brown,  Earl  Kinney,  Earl  Hurlburt,  Harry 

The  writer  wishes  to  add,  that,  while  he  has  listened  to  the 
rendering  of  musical  programs  in  other  gatherings  of  national 
and  even  international  nature,  nothing  has"  ever  given  him  the 
pleasure  and  satisfaction  experienced  in  the  splendid  rendition  of 
this  sacred  concert.  Weeks  of  depressing  drill,  fully  compen- 
sated by  one  short  hour  of  sweet  realization,  under  the  sway  of 
the  magic  wand,  the  fine  art,  music. 


Concerning  the  sacred  concert  the  Jericho  Reporter  has  this 
to  say : 

"In  the  evening  the  whole  town  joined  in  the  rendering  of  a 
sacred  concert  of  very  high  merit.  More  than  300  people  gath- 
ered at  an  early  hour  in  the  church  and  listened  with  rapt  inter- 
est as  one  number  after  another  of  the  program  was  given.  A 
chorus  of  30  voices,  led  by  E.  B.  Jordan  and  F.  A.  Percival,  sang 
several  songs  with  much  expression.  Mrs.  B.  C.  Hawley,  Mrs. 
M.  A.  Buzzell  and  F.  A.  Percival  each  sang  solos.  A  quartette 
of  ladies  and  another  of  gentlemen  sang  selections  which  were 
greatly  enjoyed.  Mrs.  H.  H.  Higgins  and  Miss  Florence  Buxton 
played  the  organ.  In  closing  the  audience  rose  and  joined  in  a 
salute  to  the  flag  and  sang  'America.'  " 

As  the  people  returned  to  their  homes  they  were  drenched 
with  rain,  which  storm  seemed  however  to  clear  the  skies,  and  the 
weather  for  the  week  proved  to  be  ideal. 

Chapter  V. 

Monday  evening,  at  Riverside,  in  the  G.  A.  R.  Hall  was  given 
the  beautiful  drama  "A  Rose  O'Plymouth  Town"  by  the  young 
people  representing  the  following  characters : 
Miles  Standish,  Captain  of  Plymouth,  . . .  Mr.  C.  Harold  Hayden 

Garrett  Foster,  of  Weston's  men Mr.  Carl  E.  Nay 

John  Margeson,  of  the  Plymouth  Colonists  .  Mr.  Ralph  W.  Smilie 
Philippe  de  la  Noye,  of  the  Plymouth  Colonists, 

Mr.  Harlie  F.  Ross 
Miriam  Chillingsley,  Cousin  to  the  Captain  Miss  Hazel  E.  Knight 

Barbara  Standish,  Wife  of  the  Captain Miss  Hope  Scribner 

Resolute  Story,  Aunt  to  the  Captain,  . .  Miss  Madeline  Schweig 
Rose  de  la  Noye,  Sister  to  Philippe Miss  Olive  L.  Hayden 

Place: — Plymouth  in  New  England. 

Period :— 1622-1623. 

This  play  was  repeated  Thursday  night  at  Jericho  Corners 
and  Friday  evening  at  Jericho  Center.  The  play  was  one  of  the 

Madeline  Schweig.  Hazel  B.  Knight. 

Olive  Lucile  Hayden  Janes.  Alma  Hope  Sckibner. 

Lady  Characters  of  "A  Rose  O'Plymouth  Town." 


9.00  a.  m. — Band  Concert 
10:00  a.  m. — Historical  Episodes 
10:30  a.  m. — Exercises  in  the  Church 

Welcome  Address  by  B.  H.  Day 
Historical  Address  by  L.  F.  Wilbur 
12 :00-l  :45 — Intermission  for  dinner 
1 :00 — Band  Concert 
1 :45 — Brief  Speeches  by  former  residents,  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum, 

3 :00 — Address  by  Pres.  G.  P.  Benton  of  the  University  of  Ver- 
The  Westford  Cornet  band  discoursed  the  finest  of  music. 
There  was  a  Loan  Exhibition  at  the  Village  Hall  which  was 
a  genuine  surprise  and  ought  never  to  have  been  dismantled.    Of 
this  and  the  Historical  Episodes  we  quote  Mrs.  Harriet  H.  Hig- 


*  *  *  * 

By  H.  H.  Higgins. 

The  Loan  Exhibition  connected  with  the  Old  Home  Day 
feature  of  the  Jericho  Town  and  Celebration  at  Jericho  Center, 
was  a  great  undertaking  and  also  a  great  success,  adding  much  to 
the  enjoyment  of  the  day.  It  was  visited  by  several  hundred 
people  on  that  day,  and  many  came  on  other  days  of  Celebration 

There  was  a  general  feeling  of  surprise  that  so  many  articles 
of  interest  and  value  could  have  been  brought  together  in  so  short 
a  time.  The  old  Universalist  Church,  now  being  transformed 
into  a  Neighborhood  Hall  by  the  ladies  of  Jericho  Center,  proved 
an  admirable  place  to  display  the  articles  on  exhibition. 

The  committee  having  the  matter  in  charge  was  composed 
of  the  following  members:  Mrs.  Harriet  H.  Higgins,  Mrs. 
Cora  W.  Chapin,  Jericho  Center;  Mrs.  Addie  Tomlinson,  Jer- 
icho; Mrs.  Alice  Hayden,  Mrs.  Medora  Schweig,  Mrs.  M.  C. 
Hale,  Riverside.  They  were  ably  assisted  by  Mrs.  G.  C.  Bick- 
nell,  Mr.  W.  C.  Field,  Miss  Belle  Havens,  and  Mr.  and  Mrs. 


Frank  Brown.  Among  the  many  interesting  things  exhibited 
may  be  noted  two  catalogues  of  the  old  Jericho  Academy,  dated 
about  the  year  1836.  Among  the  names  familiar  to  the  older 
resident  of  the  town,  appeared  that  of  Simeon  Parmelee,  a 
trustee;  Simeon  Bicknell,  teacher;  Torrey  E.  Wales,  Edgar  and 
Lucius  Lane  and  sisters,  Mary,  Lyman  and  Truman  Galusha, 
pupils.  Among  the  military  relics  was  a  sword  carried  in  the 
Battle  of  Lexington  loaned  by  Mrs.  Geo.  B.  Hulburd,  and  a  can- 
non ball  picked  up  after  the  Battle  of  Plattsburg.  Old  miniatures 
and  portraits  were  looked  upon  with  interest,  among  them  being 
one  of  Jedediah  Lane,  the  first  college  graduate  from  the 
town  of  Jericho,  being  a  graduate  of  Dartmouth.  There  were 
also  portraits  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Martin  Barney  and  of  Joseph 
Brown,  wife  and  daughter,  who  were  first  settlers  of  the 
town.  As  illustrating  the  industries  of  our  ancestors  and  the 
works  of  art,  we  would  especially  notice  a  framed  landscape  in 
needlework,  done  by  a  Miss  Rawson  in  1830,  which  attracted 
great  attention. 

There  were  several  collections  of  beautiful  hand  wrought 
laces  in  veils  and  collars,  bead  bags,,  linen  and  hand  woven  silk 
fabrics,  collars  and  muslins  elaborately  embroidered.  Rare  old 
woven  blankets  were  hung  on  the  walls  of  the  hall,  and  two  lines 
of  beautiful  patchwork  quilts  extended  through  the  center.  ■ 
At  one  side  were  new  collections  of  china  and  furniture  and  on 
the  other  household  implements,  the  use  of  many  of  which  is 
entirely  unknown  to  the  younger  generation.  There  were  old 
records,  some  of  which  were  in  the  handwriting  of  Lewis  Cha- 
pin,  the  first  town  clerk,  and  a  book  containing  ear  marks  by 
which  the  cattle  pasturing  on  the  Village  'Green'  were  identified, 
loaned  from  the  present  town  clerk's  office.  There  was  a  fine 
collection  of  pewters,  among  them  being  the  first  communion  ser- 
vice used  in  the  First  Congregational  Church.  A  lovely  Lowe- 
stoft teapot  over  150  years  old,  loaned  by  Mr.  Marcus  Hoskins, 
was  among  a  collection  of  old  china. 

An  old  box  known  to  have  belonged  to  the  family  of  Pere- 
grine White,  the  first  white  child  born  in  New  England,  was 
loaned  by  Mrs.  Kate  B.  Isham,  who  is  a  direct '  descendant. 

A  word  may  be  allowed  regarding  the  historical  scenes  en- 
acted on  the  porch  of  the  hall,  as  a  sort  of  spectacular  opening  of 


In  the  Park. 

Collection  of  Antiques  at  Celebration. 

The  three  ladies  from  left  to  right  are:    Mrs.  Harriet  Higglns,   Mrs. 
Melinda  Hall  Pease,  Mrs.  Adelia  Rice  Bicknell. 


the  Loan  Exhibition,  and  at  the  same  time  giving  a  bit  of  old 
time  coloring  to  the  festivities  of  the  day. 

A  series  of  pantomimes  illustrating  events  in  the  early  his- 
tory of  the  town,  were  arranged  and  carried  out  by  Mrs.  Har- 
riet Higgins  and  her  assistants.  The  first  represented  the 
signing  of  the  deed  given  by  Lewis  Chapin  to  the  town,  convey- 
ing four  acres  of  land  to  the  town  of  Jericho  for  a  "green,"  pro- 
viding the  church  be  located  there,  and  certain  houses  which 
had  been  put  up  near  "Birch  Hill"  be  taken  down  and  removed 
to  this  spot  which  he  deemed  more  suitable  for  a  settlement. 
The  part  of  the  donor  was  taken  by  the  great  grandson  of  this 
Lewis  Chapin,  who  bears  his  name. 

The  second  scene.  The  Country  Doctor,  represented  an  old 
time  living  room  in  which  various  industries,  as  spinning,  winding 
yarn  from  swifts,  churning,  rug  making,  apple  stringing,  piecing 
of  quilts,  etc.,  were  being  carried  on.  A  little  girl  was  taken 
sick  and  the  doctor  was  sent  for  in  haste,  who  came  on  horseback 
with  his  saddle  bags  and  administered  powders  and  pills  in  the 
old-fashioned  way.  A  boy  had  the  toothache  which  was  re- 
lieved by  the  doctor  twisting  out  the  tooth  with  a  turnkey. 

In  the  third  scene,  Capt.  Elon  Lee,  the  first  singing  master 
who  taught  singing  school  in  Jericho,  appeared.  In  addition  to 
the  dozen  people  already  on  the  porch,  three  ancient  dames  drove 
up  to  attend  the  school.  They  were  followed  by  a  lovely  bride 
riding  on  a  pillion  behind  her  husband,  who  also  joined  the  class. 
When  all  were  assembled  the  class  sang  'Cousin  Jedediah,'  which 
was  followed  by  a  duet,  sung  by  Capt.  Elon  Lee  and  Mrs.  Dea- 
con Azariah  Rood,  (Mr.  B.  G.  Brown  and  Mrs.  Adelia  Rice 
Bicknell)  entitled  "When  You  and  I  Were  Young,  Maggie."  An 
old  time  song  was  also  sung  by  Mr.  Marcus  Hoskins. 

After  these  pantomimes  the  Loan  Exhibition  was  thrown 
open  to  the  public.  And  after  all,  among  the  many  pleasant  fea- 
tures of  the  Celebration  the  pleasantest,  and  the  one  whose  fra- 
grance will  be  the  most  enduring  was  the  return  and  reunion  of 
old  friends. 

Among  the  former  residents  of  the  town,  who  were  present 
only  a  few  names  can  be  mentioned,  as  follows :  Joel  Bartlett  of 
Shelburne,  Rev.  Carleton  Hazen  of  Kensington,  Conn.,  Rev. 
Frank  Hazen  of  Johnson,  Rev.  and  Mrs.  C.  E.  Hayward  of  Ben- 


son,  Mrs.  Miriam  Lane  Parker  of  Essex  Junction,  Mrs.  Mira 
Stiles  of  Morrisville,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Noriris  Ransom  of  Brattle- 
boro,  Dr.  Edwin  E.  Graves  of  Penacook,  N.  H.,  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Henry  Hall,  Mrs.  I.  C.  Stone  and  Mrs.  W.  N.  Pierce,  Mrs.  Hat- 
tie  Bixby,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Freeman  Wood  and  Henry  Vancor  of 
Burlington,  Mrs.  Laura  Chapin  Button  of  Royalton,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  J.  B.  Williams  of  Holyoke,  Mass.,  also  Mr.  and  Mrs.  R.  B. 
Williams  of  Holyoke,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arthur  Bradford  of  St.  Al- 
bans, James  E.  Barney  of  Boston,  Mrs.  Dr.  Hopkins  of  Water- 
bury,  Mrs.  Frank  Castle  of  Vergennes,  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Hill  of  Wi- 
nooski,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ralph  Church  of  Rutland,  Byron  Ward  of 
Des  Moines,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  W.  A.  Church  of  Jonesville,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  R.  B.  Galusha  of  Winchester,  Mass.,  Dr.  C.  A.  Pease  of 
Burlington.  The  Register  shows  names  from  Massachusetts, 
Connecticut,  Iowa,  Baltimore,  Florida,  New  York  and  Idaho. 
May  we  have  another  Old  Home  Day  in  the  not  too  distant 

The  address  of  welcome  by  Pres.  Buel  H.  Day  was  most 
fitting  and  appropriate  and  was  much  appreciated  by  the  visi- 
tors. The  historical  address  by  LaFayette  Wilbur  was  a  rich 
contribution  to  the  exercises  of  the  day  and  is  printed  in  full. 

Mr.  President,  and  Ladies  and  Gentlemen : 

The  past  is  great,  and  when  we  forget  it  we  are  unwise ;  we 
need  now  and  then  to  return  to  it  as  the  spent  tide  returns  to  the 
deep,  that  we  may  renew  our  strength  and  gain  fresh  momentum 
for  out  future  work.  As  one  writer  has  said,  "Live  upon  the 
past,  in  the  present,  for  the  future." 

When  we  look  to  the  early  days  of  Jericho  we  see  through 
all  this  region  and  through  all  Vermont,  then  called  the  New 
Hampshire  Grants,  the  little  clearings,  the  small  log  houses  that 
had  been  made  and  erected  by  the  hardy  pioneers.  Those  were 
brave  and  hardy  men  and  true  women  who  left  their  more  com- 
fortable homes  in  Massachusetts  and  Connecticut  and  came  hither, 
then  a  dense  wilderness,  to  subdue  the  forest  and  make  for  them- 
selves homes  and  help  to  establish  the  noble  state  of  Vermont. 
With  all  the  experience  they  had  passed  through,  they  did  not 
know  the  sacrifices  they  would  have  to  make  and  the  dangers  to 


which  they  would  be  exposed,  surrounded  as  they  were  by  hostile 
bands  of  Indians  and  British  foes. 

The  territory  now  known  as  Vermont  was  originally  a  part 
of  the  Province  of  New  Hampshire,  held  and  governed  by  Great 
Britain  during  the  reign  of  King  George  III.  Benning  Went- 
worth,  Esq.,  had  been  commissioned  governor  and  commander- 
in-chief  of  that  province.  Great  Britain,  under  King  George, 
for  the  encouragement  of  settling  a  new  plantation,  with  the  ad- 
vice of  the  provincial  governor,  granted  to  Edward  Burling  and 
65  others  a  parcel  of  land  by  meets  and  bounds  containing  23,040 
acres,  a  tract  of  land  six  miles  square,  and  lying  easterly  of  the 
town  of  Essex ;  and  by  the  grant  it  was  incorporated  into  a  town- 
ship by  the  name  of  Jericho ;  and  by  this  grant  or  charter,  bear- 
ing date  June  7,  1763,  it  was  declared  that  "as  soon  as  the  said 
town  should  consist  of  fifty  families  a  market  might  be  opened 
and  'kept ;  and  the  first  meeting  for  the  choice  of  town  officers 
should  be  called  by  John  Burling  and  should  be  held  on  the  14th 
day  of  July,  1763 ;  and  it  provided  that  the.  annual  meeting  for- 
ever thereafter  for  the  choice  of  such  officers  for  said  town  shall 
be  on  the  second  Tuesday  of  March  annually."  There  is  no 
record  that  said  meeting  was  ever  called  or  held,  and  undoubtedly 
it  never  was. 

It  does  not  appear,  if  it  was  known,  where  the  66  grantees 
resided  at  the  time  the  charter  or  grant  was  issued,  but  evidently 
they  had  in  view  the  making  of  Jericho  their  home,  sometime. 
Down  in  1777  all  the  grants  issued  by  Governor  Wentworth,  west 
of  the  Connecticut  River,  were  called  and  known  as  New  Hamp- 
shire Grants,  such  lands  had  been  occupied  by  Indian  tribes,  and 
then  claimed  by  the  Iroquois  residing  at  the  south  end  of  Lake 
Champlain  and  other  Indian  tribes  living  in  Canada,  as  their  hunt- 
ing grounds.  The  first  settlers  in  Jericho  came  from  the  western 
part  of  Massachusetts  in  1774.  They  were  Roderick  Messenger, 
who  lived  on  Onion  River  near  where  the  highway  leading  from 
Jericho  Corners  intersects  the  Onion  River  road;  Azariah  Rood, 
who  located  on  the  farm  known  now  as  the  Edgar  Barber  place, 
and  Joseph  Brown,  who  located  and  built  his  log  house  near  Un- 
derbill, a  little  south  of  the  river  bearing  his  name,  near  a  high 
bank  east  of  the  highway,  a  few  rods  northeast  of  the  house 
where  Elmer  Irish  now  resides.       These  three  men  and  their 


wives  were  hardy,  brave  pioneers.  It  took  uncommon  fortitude 
and  courage  to  leave  old  neighbors  and  friends  and  go  far  into  a 
wilderness  with  a  family  of  small  children  to  establish  a  home 
and  endure  all  the  fatigues,  privations  and  dangers  incident  to  so 
great  an  undertaking. 

Let  us  look  at  the  dangers  and  difficulties  that  these  pioneers 
had  to  meet.  Brown  had  hardly  begun  to  secure  to  himself  and 
family  the  comforts  of  life  before  the  Revolutionary  War  with 
Great  Britain  was  on,  and  dangers  and  "hardships  multiplied. 
Brown,  with  other  purchasers,  had  received  title  of  their  lands 
through  the  grant  from  Governor  Wentworth.  New  York 
claimed  all  the  land  west  of  the  Connecticut  River  as  belonging 
to  that  state,  and  claimed  that  deeds  and  grants  of  land  that  were 
based  on  the  title  derived  from  Governor  Wentworth  were  in- 
valid, and  sought  to  make  the  owners  pay  for  their  lands  a  second 
time.  New  Hampshire,  on  account  of  the  claim  of  New  York, 
abandoned  the  contest,  and  withdrew  their  protection  of  the  set- 
tlers who  had  paid  for  their  lands  and  left  them  to  contend  with 
New  York  alone.  The  Indians  were  set  on  by  the  British  to 
terrify  the  hearts  of  the  pioneers  and  rob  them  of  their  posses- 
sions. At  the  same  time  the  British  army  then  in  Canada  sought 
to  invade  Vermont  from  the  north.  The  hardships  and  dangers 
to  which  the  pioneers  were  exposed  were  soon  to  be  realized.  In 
1777,  Joseph  Brown  and  his  family  were  captured  by  the  Indians 
and  taken  to  Isle  aux  Noix  at  the  north  end  of  Lake  Champlain 
to  the  British  military  camp,  but  they  were  not  very  closely 
watched  as  prisoners  and  they  made  their  escape  in  about  three 
months  and  returned  to  their  home  in-'Jericho,  and  were  left  un- 
molested for  about  three  years.  On  the  16th  of  October,  1780, 
a  force  of  hostile  Indians  from  Canada  aided  by  the  British  of- 
ficers, made  their  way  up  Onion  River  valley  and  to  Royalton, 
and  laid  in  ashes  the  village  of  that  town  and  burnt  down  the 
houses  and  barns  in  that  vicinity,  and  took  the  defenseless  in- 
habitants prisoners,  both  men  and  women,  and  their  families. 
The  Indians,  on  their  return,  divided  on  Onion  River  in  Bolton; 
one  division  went  down  the  river  to  Lake  Champlain  with  their 
prisoners  and  made  their  way  back  to  Canada,  while  the  other 
division  passed  over  through  Jericho  to  the  residence  of  Joseph 
Brown.     Before  they  found  his  house  and  family,  the  Indians 


captured  one  Gibson  who  had  been  hospitably  entertained  by 
Brown  for  some  time  while  hunting  in  that  section.  This  cow- 
ardly wretch  told  his  captors  that  if  they  would  release  him  he 
would"  lead  them  where  they  could  get  a  whole  family.  The  In- 
dians agreed  to  this  and  were  shown  the  locality  of  Brown's  log 
cabin;  six  savages  entered  the  house  and  took  prisoners  Mr. 
Brown  and  his  wife  and  so  many  of  his  family  as  were  there. 
A  man  by  the  name  of  Old,  residing  with  Brown,  seeing  the  In- 
dians enter  the  house,  jumped  from  a  window  and  escaped  to  the 
family  of  Roderick  Messenger  in  the  south  part  of  the  town. 
At  the  time  the  Indians  reached  the  house  Brown's  two  boys, 
Charles  and  Joseph,  19  and  16  years  old  respectively^  were  not  at 
home,  but  they  returned  at  night  and  were  also  taken  prisoners  by 
the  Indians  who  were  lying  in  wait  for  them.  The  Indians,  after 
securing  their  prisoners,  including  Gibson  who  had  betrayed  the 
Brown  family,  killed  the  cattle,  sheep  and  hogs  belonging  to 
Brown,  set  fire  to  the  house  and  the  meager  furniture,  and  made 
their  way  with  their  prisoners  to  Canada.  On  their  journey 
thither  the  Brown  family  suffered  much  from  harsh  treatment, 
hunger  and  fatigue.  On  their  arrival  at  St.  Johns  they  were  sold 
to  British  officers  at  eight  dollars  a  head  and  were  retained  as 
prisoners  nearly  three  years,  and  were  kept  at  hard  labor  as  ser- 
vants  and  scouts,  and  allowed  but  miserable  fare.  The  two  sons. 
Charles  and  Joseph  escaped  in  the  spring  of  1783,  and  returned  to 
their  home  in  Jericho  where  their  parents  joined  them  after  they 
were  released  on  the  declaration  of  peace  between  Great  Britain 
and  the  United  States.  The  said  Charles  Brown  was  the  father 
of  Zina  and  Luther  Brown  who  lived  in  this  vicinity,  whom  I 
knew.  The  former  became  a  Methodist  minister  and  the  latter 
lived  in  the  brick  house  in  Jericho  now  standing  near  the  ceme- 
tery at  Underbill  Flats.  The  said  Joseph  Brown,  the  brother  of 
Charles,  was  the  grandfather  of  Henry  M.  Brown,  who  now 
lives  near  the  place  where  the  two  boys  were  captured.  The 
mother  of  Buel  H.  Day,  our  President,  was  the  daughter  of  said 
Joseph  Brown. 

At  this  date  the  position  of  the  few  people  who  had  come  to 
Jericho  and  vicinity  to  make  their  homes  was  dangerous  in  the 
extreme,  almost  amounting  to  rashness,  as  an  invasion  by  the 
British  army  from  Canada  was  daily  expected  and  thought  prob- 


able.  Ira  Allen,  one  of  the  leaders  of  the  Green  Mountain  Boys, 
warned  Roderick  Messenger  and  the  other  pioneers  of  their  im- 
minent danger,  and  advised  them  to  remove  to  the  southern  part 
of  the  state  and  leave  vacant  their  lands  and  homes  till  the  danger 
should  be  passed.  Messenger  and  others  heeded  the  advice, 
Messenger  loaded  his  family  and  his  limited  belongings  into 
a  boat  and  went  down  Onion  River  to  the  lake  and  on  to  the 
southern  part  of  the  state. 

In  1776,  when  the  Revolutionary  War  was  on,  forty  men  of 
Capt.  John  Fassett,  Jr.'s,  company,  under  Lieutenant  Mathew 
Lyon,  were  stationed  at  the  Block  House  in  Jericho,  but  they 
abandoned  it  on  the  retreat  of  the  Continental  army  from  Can- 
ada. The  officers  of  the  company,  including  Lyon,  were  accused 
of  cowardice  for  abandoning  the  post  without  orders,  and  were 
tried  by  court  martial  and  convicted  and  cashiered.  This  con- 
viction was  said  to  have  been  unjust.  For  that  small  number 
of  men  to  have  stood  their  ground,  when  our  army  was  retreat- 
ing before  the  British  up  the  lake,  and  meet  the  British  in  battle, 
would  have  been  something  more  than  courage — sheer  foolhardi- 
ness.  It  is  said  that  Lyon's  conviction  did  not  injure  his  reputa- 
tion in  Vermont,  as  he  was  afterwards  made  commissary-general 
and  colonel,  and  twice  elected  to  Congress  in  Vermont. 

As  soon  as  the  Revolutionary  War  was  over,  the  first  three 
families  returned  to  their  homes  that  they  had  been  compelled  so 
unceremoniously  to  leave;  others  began  to  immigrate  hither, 
among  whom  were  Nathaniel  Bostwick  who  located  near  Under- 
bill, now  called  Riverside,  Thomas  D.  Rood  and  Lewis  Chapin 
who  located  south  of  the  center  of  the  town,  Daniel  Hutchinson, 
the  grandfather  of  James  H.  Hutchinson,  David  T.  Stone, 
Gaius  Pease,  George  Butts  and  Jedediah  Lane  who  located  on 
Lee  River,  Abel  Castle,  Daniel  Hale,  Peter  McArthur,  Captain 
Joseph  Hall,  David  Stanton,  Leonard  Hodges,  Benjamin 
Farnsworth,  Jonathan  Castle,  Noah  Chittenden,  John  Lyman, 
Sr.,  Arthur  Bostwick,  Truman  Barney,  Martin  Chittenden  and 
many  others. 

Just  imagine  the  true  state  of  affairs  and  the  condition  of  the 
early  comers  who  had  to  make  a  beginning  by  building  a  rude  log 
house,  for  there  were  no  sawmills  by  which  to  manufacture  lum- 
ber ;  their  houses  and  barns  were  of  the  most  primitive  kind,  the 


crevices  of  which  were  chinked  with  moss  and  clay,  a  stone  fire- 
place, wooden  hinged  doors  with  a  wooden  latch  lifted  by  a  string 
from  the  outside,  and  wooden  hooks  and  pegs  for  the  gun,  and  on 
which  to  hang  hats  and  frocks ;  the  gun  used  to  obtain  wild  meat 
for  the  family;  then  commenced  the  clearing  of  the  land  by  the 
use  of  the  axe;  log  heaps  were  burned  to  clear  a  little  patch 
of  ground  on  which  to  raise  a  little  rye,  corn  and  potatoes.  For 
the  first  few  years  these  immigrants  had  a  hard  struggle  to  live, 
even  if  they  escaped  sickness  and  accidents ;  they  had  no  schools 
or  church  privileges  and  no  mills  in  which  they  could  grind  their 
grain  for  the  family.  For  many  years  lumber,  if  they  obtained  it 
at  all,  had  to  be  hauled  a  long  distance. 

In  1786  a  move  was  made  to  organize  the  town.  Hon.  John 
Fassett,  a  judge  of  the  Supreme  Court,  legally  warned  a  meet- 
ing of  the  freeholders  and  other  inhabitants  of  Jericho  for  March 
22,  1786,  for  the  purpose  of  choosing  town  officers.  At  that 
meeting  James  Farnsworth  was  chosen  moderator  and  justice  of 
the  peace,  and  Lewis  Chapin,  town  clerk;  and  at  an  adjourned 
meeting  held  on  the  13th  of  June,  1786,  selectmen,  treasurer 
and  highway  surveyors  were  chosen. 

One  of  the  first  matters  on  which  the  town  took  action  was 
the  making  and  improving  of  highways.  The  town  voted,  on  Oc- 
tober 4,  1786,  "to  petition  the  Assembly  to  grant  a  tax  on  land  in 
the  town,  to  cut  roads  and  build  bridges,"  and  in  1787,  the  town 
voted  to  accept  the  road  from  Essex  line  to  Underbill  and  also 
the  bridge  by  Mr.  Jedediah  Lane's  house.  In  the  early  days' 
of  the  state  it  was  a  common  practice  for  the  towns  to  build  their 
highways  over  the  hills,  instead  of  avoiding  the  steep  grade  by  go- 
ing around,  as  the  road  built  by  the  town  from  Underbill  village 
nearly  in  a  direct  line  over  by  the  present  dwelling  places  of 
Arthur  H.  Packard  and  Carl  Schillhammer  to  Onion  River, 
shows.  The  town  from  the  first  to  the  present  time  has  shown  a 
commendable  interest  in  laying  out  new  highways  and  in  keeping 
them  in  repair.  In  1786,  the  town  obtained  a  permit  from  the 
Assembly  to  choose  a  member  to  attend  the  Assembly. 

The  people  of  Jericho,  from  the  first,  took  a  deep  interest 
in  the  religious  education  of  her  people,  and  they  did  not  depend 
upon  voluntary  contributions  to  maintain  public  worship.  The 
necessary  funds  were  provided  by  raising  a  tax  on  the  grand  list 


of  the  town.  In  1789,  the  town,  quoting,  "voted  to  draw  the 
money  out  of  the  town  treasury  to  pay  for  what  preaching  we 
had  the  year  past,"  and  also  chose  a  committee  of  three  to  pro- 
vide preaching  in  future.  On  September  7,  1790,  the  town  "voted 
to  have  Ebenezer  Kingsbury  as  their  minister,"  and  voted  as  a 
salary  "35  pounds  for  the  first  year,  and  rise  till  it  shall  amount 
to  80  pounds  per  annum."  And  on  October  4,  1790,  "voted  that 
the  200  pounds  (for  ordination  purposes  and  settlement)  be 
raised  within  one  year  after  his  ordination,  in  neat  cattle  or 
grain  or  material  for  building,  at  the  common  going  price  among 
use" ;  and  "that  the  first  settled  minister  have  forty  cords  of  wood 
delivered  at  his  door,  he  finding  the  wood."  Mr.  Kingsbury  re- 
mained the  pastor  of  the  church  at  the  Center  until  1808.  Evi- 
dently small  inconveniences  did  not  stand  in  the  way  of  attend- 
ing public  worship,  in  those  days,  for  in  March,  1791,  the  town 
"voted  to  meet  for  public  worship  on  the  Sabbath  at  William 
Smith's  barn  for  the  future."  Down  to  1794  no  place  had  been 
selected  on  which  to  build  a  house  for  public  worship,  but  on 
the  2nd  of  October  of  that  year  it  was  voted  "that  every  man 
write  his  place  for  a  meeting  house  and  put  it  into  a  hat."  The 
voters  not  agreeing  they  chose  a  committee  of  three  to  set  a  stake 
for  a  meeting  house,  and  selected  Amos  Brownson  of  Williston, 
Samuel  Bradley  of  Essex  and  Phineas  Loomis  of  Burlington  as 
such  committee.  The  record  is  silent  on  the  action  of  the  com- 
mittee, but  I  infer  they  put  the  stake  on  the  Green  in  front  of 
the  present  Congregational  Church,  for  on  June  3,  1795,  the  town 
"voted  that  the  town  procure  four  acres  of  land  for  a  Green 
around  the  meeting  house  stake."  Subsequently  a  frame  house 
of  public  worship  was  built  on  the  Green  and  was  taken  down  in 
the  year  1835  or  1836  by  Anson  Field,  Sr.,  when  the  present 
brick  church  building  took  its  place.  When  Mr.  Field  took  the 
old  church  building  down  he  cut  out  a  block  from  a  post  of  the 
frame  that  has  been  preserved  as  a  relic  and  is  now  in  the  posses- 
sion of  his  son  Burton.  On  the  block  is  written  in  the  hand  writ- 
ing of  said  Anson  Field,  the  following  record :  "This  piece  of  oak 
is  a  part  of  the  post  in  the  frame  of  the  first  meeting  house  ever 
built  in  the  town  of  Jericho.  Preserved  by  Anson  Field,  Sr., 
who  took  the  frame  down." 


Soon  after  the  organization  of  the  town  in  1786,  immigration 
to  the  town  was  quite  rapid.  There  is  a  long  list  of  men  and  their 
wives  and  families  that  have  contributed  to  the  welfare  of  Jer- 
icho, and  some  of  whom  have  been  prominent  in  conducting  the 
affairs  of  the  town.  Too  much  credit  cannot  be  given,  especially 
to  the  older  residents  who  have  passed  on  to  their  reward,  for  the 
work  they  accomplished  in  coming  hither  and  clearing  their 
farms  and  making  beautiful  homes  that  may  now  be  seen  in  all 
parts  of  the  town.  We  who  in  later  years  have  lived  in  the  midst 
of  plenty  and  modern  surroundings  cannot  adequately  realize  the 
sacrifices  made  by  the  pioneers  of  the  town. 

It  would  be  interesting  to  notice  the  changes  and  improve- 
ments that  have  been  made  in  implements  that  were  in  use  by  the 
people,  both  men  and  women,  in  the  several  industries  in  the  early 
history  of  the  town  and  state.  The  spinning  and  flax  wheel, 
swifts,  reel  and  loom  which  the  wives  and  daughters  in  the 
early  history  of  Jericho  were  compelled  to  use  to  manufacture  the 
wool  and  flax  into  cloth  for  family  use,  have  been  superseded  by 
the  machinery  of  our  factories,  run  by  water  power,  steam,  elec- 
tricity or  other  power.  Instead  of  the  old-fashioned,  unsuitable 
plow,  harrow,  scythe  and  sickle  that  the  early  farmers  were 
compelled  to  use,  the  improved  plow,  harrow,  the  mowing  ma- 
chine and  the  reaper  and  binder  have  taken  their  place.  It  may 
be  a  matter  of  interest  to  the  young  to  know  what  the  elderiy 
men  and  women  of  the  town  have  done.  It  is  a  fact  that  older 
people  know  that  the  cloth  from  which  the  family  was  clothed, 
in  the  early  days  of  Vermont,  was  made  from  material  spun  and 
woven  by  the  wife  and  daughters  of  the  family.  Mr.  Burton 
Field  of  this  town  has  in  his  possession  several  different  pieces 
of  fine  cloth  that  were  spun  and  woven  by  Mrs.  Arthur  Bostwick 
and  her  mother  about  100  years  ago,  and  some  fine  silk  cloth 
made  and  woven  by  them, — silk  from  cocoons  grown  by  them  in 
Vermont.    But  upon  these  topics  I  cannot  dwell. 

An  incident,  in  the  early  days  of  Jericho,  took  place  on  Lee 
River  near  Beartown  (so-called)  that  may  be  of  interest  to  re- 
late. One  Casey  who  had  lived  near  neighbor  to  David  T. 
Stone,  Gains  Pease  and  George  Butts,  pioneers,  for  some  offence 
that  he  claimed  his  son  had  committed,  took  the  son  to  the  woods 
at  night  and  after  a  cruel  whipping  left  him  tied  to  a  tree  until 


his  screams  brought  a  neighbor  to  his  relief.  The  next  day  Billy 
Young  and  a  Mr.  Prouty,  who  appeared  to  Casey  as  the  executors 
of  the  law,  proceeded  with  the  "Beach  Seal"  and  rawhide  well 
laid  on  and  changed  the  spirit  of  Casey  to  a  milder  form.  George 
Butts,  Gaius  Pease  and  David  T.  Stone  stood  near  by  approv- 
ingly, till  they  were  satisfied  that  a  genuine  conversion  had  taken 

On  October  29,  1789,  the  Vermont  Council  concurred  in  an 
act  passed  by  the  General  Assembly  for  holding  the  County  and 
Supreme  Court  at  Jericho,  but  I  do  not  find  these  were  actually 
held  there.  The  United  States  gave  the  people  of  Vermont  no 
postal  or  mail  service  till  1792.  Previous  to  that  all  of  the 
postal  facilities  were  under  the  control  of  the  state  authorities. 
For  a  time,  and  down  to  1792,  the  settlers  of  the  town  had  the 
benefit  of  a  post  rider  from  Clarendon, — ^Jericho  was  the  end  of 
the  mail  route. 

In  1791,  without  an  enabling  act  of  the  legislature,  the  town, 
in  town  meeting,  took  action  to  set  off  a  part  of  the  inhabitants  to 
another  town ;  the  records  say,  "voted  that  the  neighborhood  on 
Onion  River  in  the  south  part  of  this  town  be  immediately  set  off 
to  join  the  southeast  society  in  Williston";  "then  the  question 
was  put,  the  town  viewing  it  reasonable,  that  they  should  be  set 
off  and  considering  them  as  dismissed."  And  in  1792,  it  was 
voted  "to  run  the  line  between  this  town  and  a  certain  grant  of  the 
town  which  has  heretofore  been  set  off  to  the  southeast  society 
in  Williston."  While  such  action  of  the  town  would  not  legally 
change  the  geographical  bounds  of  the  town,  it  evidently  was  the 
purpose  of  the  town  to  relieve  certain  inhabitants  from  paying 
taxes  upon  the  grand  list  of  the  town  and  from  contributing  to 
the  support  for  religious  services  in  town,  (for,  previous  to  this 
action  of  the  town  it  was  voted  in  town  meeting  "that  the  neigh- 
borhood on  Onion  River  in  the  south  part  of  the  town  should  have 
their  money  refunded,  which  they  might  pay  towards  the  settle- 
ment of  Mr.  Kingsbury  over  and  above  what  the  public  rights 
amount  to  at  a  time  when  they  shall  be  legally  set  off  by  author- 
ity to  unite  with  another  society.")  In  the  early  history  of  the 
state  and  of  all  New  England  the  ecclesiastical  power  was  greater 
and  more  arbitrary  than  at  the  present  time.  The  inhabitants  of 
a  precinct  which  belonged  to  some  church  were  not  bound  by 


territorial  limits.  The  parish  was  composed  of  persons  who 
united  under  the  charge  of  a  particular  priest,  clergy  or  minister, 
and  the  church  was  controlled  and  expenses  for  maintaining  it 
were  voted  and  raised  by  the  town  in  town  meeting,  and  the  town 
assumed  the  right  to  set  the  individuals  from  the  society  or  church 
in  one  town  to  another  society  in  another  town  and  release  them 
from  taxation  in  the  town  from  which  they  were  transferred. 

Jericho,  from  the  time  of  its  organization,  has  endeavored 
to  provide  for  its  poor.  The  mode  and  practice  in  caring  for  them 
for  some  time  might  be  regarded  questionable.  Each  year  the 
keeping  and  caring  for  the  poor  was  disposed  of  at  public  sale  and 
struck  off  to  the  lowest  bidder,  and  under  this  way  of  caring  for 
them  they  received  unjust  treatment,  and  the  custom  was  subject 
to  just  criticism.  In  the  year  1860  the  town  united  with  other 
towns  in  the  county  in  a  union  poor  farm  association  where  the 
poor  are  well  treated  and  humanely  provided  for  under  proper 
supervision  at  a  large  farm  located  in  Williston.  In  the  early 
history  of  the  town  it  was  the  practice  that  if  any  person  came  to 
reside  in  town,  whom  the  authorities  thought  might  in  the  future 
become  poor  and  liable  to  be  supported  by  the  town  as  a  pauper, 
he  was  immediately  warned  to  depart  from  the  town  before  he 
had  time  to  gain  a  residence.  The  process  of  the  warning  was 
directed  to  a  sheriff  or  the  constable  and  signed  by  a  selectman, 
and  read  as  follows :  "By  the  authority  of  the  State  of  Vermont 
you  are  commanded  to  warn  (naming  the  person  or  family)  now 
residing  in  the  town  of  Jericho  immediately  to  depart  said  town." 
This  process  was  served  upon  the  person  which  prevented  his 
gaining  such  a  residence  in  town  as  would  make  the  town  liable 
for  the  support  of  the  person  warned  in  case  he  became  pauper. 

In  1794,  under  the  act  of  the  legislature,  the  town  of  Rich- 
mond was  formed  out  of  the  lands  of  Bolton,  Huntington,  Jer- 
icho, and  Williston,  whereby  Jericho  lost  5,000  acres  of  territory. 
The  town  of  Jericho  was  surveyed  into  three  divisions  and  gen- 
erally divided  into  lots  of  100  acres  each,  and  numbered.  Some 
of  the  lots  in  the  third  division  contained  but  thirty  acres  each. 

On  March  27,  1799,  it  was  voted  in  town  meeting  to  divide 
the  town  into  school  districts,  and  subsequently  it  was  divided  in- 
to 15  school  districts;  and  from  an  early  day  the  children  of  the 
town  were  given  a  chance  at  the  common  schools  of  the  town 


conveniently  near  their  respective  residence,  and  such  schools 
were  kept  up  until  the  town  system  took  its  place  in  the  year  of 
1870.  At  Jericho  village  there  is  a  large  and  commodious  graded 
school  building,  also  one  at  the  Center  village  at  present  where 
the  school  is  of  a  sufficiently  high  grade  to  fit  pupils  for  a  collegiate 
course.  The  old  academy  building,  built  in  1825,  now  standing 
on  the  south  side  of  the  Green  at  the  village  at  the  Center,  deserves 
more  than  a  passing  notice.  The  academical  school  in  this  building 
went  into  successful  operation  in  the  spring  of  1827,  when  Simeon 
Bicknell,  A.  M.,  became  the  principal  and  continued  to  be  its  prin- 
cipal for  five  years,  and  he  was  succeeded  by  S.  J.  Marsh,  and 
Marsh  was  followed  by  John  Boynton,  Rev.  Ebenezer  Kingsbury, 
James  T.  Foster,  a  Mr.  Hale  and  others.  The  Academy  build- 
ing and  the  ground,  forty  feet  square  where  it  stands,  was  given 
by  deed  by  Lewis  Chapin  on  the  6th  day  of  September,  A.  D. 
1825,  which  deed  is  recorded  in  Vol.  4,  on  page  500  of  the  land 
records  of  Jericho.  The  deed  does  not  expressly  name  a  grantee, 
but  the  legislature  on  the  28th  day  of  October,  1828,  passed  an 
act  of  incorporation  by  which  Harvey  Smith,  Nathaniel  Blacks 
man,  Wm.  P.  Richardson,  Simeon  Bicknell,  Hosea  Spaulding,- 
Simeon  Parmelee,  Septimus  Robinson  and  Seth  Cole  and  their 
associates  and  corporate,  the  trustees  and  members  of  Jericho 
Academy,  were  empowered  to  hold  property,  real  and  personal, 
including  library. 

It  is  pleasant  to  know  that  there  were  many  men  and  women 
educated  for  life's  duties  there;  men  who  went  out  from  school 
and  town  who  became  eminent  in  business  and  professional  life; 
among  others,  we  can  refer  to  Charles  C.  Parker  who  became  an 
able  preacher;  Aaron  B.  Maynard,  who  became  an  able  lawyer, 
and  located  at  Richmond,  Vt.,  and  later  at  Detroit,  Michigan; 
George  Bliss  of  Jericho,  who  afterwards  was  a  member  of  Con- 
gress from  Ohio ;  Luke  P.  Poland  who  became  Chief  Judge  of  the 
Supreme  Court  of  Vermont  and  United  States  Senator,  and  later 
Member  of  Congress  from  the  2nd  Congressional  district  of  Ver- 
mont ;  John  A.  Kasson,  an  eminent  lawyer  and  statesman  in  Iowa. 
There  were  also  educated  at  this  academy,  Dr.  George  Lee  Ly- 
man, James  and  John  Blackman,  Ada  L.  Lane,  Lucius  L.  and 
Edgar  H.  Lane,  RoUin  M.  Galusha  and  Joel  B.  Bartlett  Jericho 
men ;  Torrey  E.  Wales,  who  for  more  than  25  years  was  a  judge 


of  Probate  Court  for  the.  County  of  Chittenden ;  Professor  Joseph 
S.  Cilley,  who  became  one  of  the  leading  educators  in  Vermont, 
and  was  for  many  years  principal  of  the  academy  at  Underbill 
Center  in  its  most  flourishing  days,  when  I  first  knew  him  as  my 
teacher,  and  afterwards  for  many  years  principal  of  the  academy 
at  Williston,  and  still  later  the  principal  of  the  academy  at"  Bran- 
don, Vt.,  and  closed  his  work  as  teacher  at  the  high  school  build- 
ing at  Jericho  village  in  fitting  pupils  to  enter  college.  All  of 
these  men  made  a  good  and  honorable  record  in  their  various 

As  early  as  1835  and  1836  there  were  many  worthy  women 
educated  at  said  Academy  while  James  T.  Foster  was  principal. 
Among  whom  were  Betsey  M.  and  Lucinda  Bartlett,  Eliza  and 
Mary  Blackman,  Lucy  Crane,  Sarah  S.  Chapin,  Lydia  I.  Galusha, 
Charlotte  B.  Gibbs,  Lorain  and  Lydia  Griffin,  Charlotte  Lyman, 
Lydia  Nash,  Fanny  Prouty,  Mary  Reed  and  Lavilla  and  Sarah 
S.  Stiles.  Those  were  times  when  board  including  room,  wash- 
ing and  lights  were  furnished  to  pupils  attending  the  school  for 
$1  to  $1.25  per  week. 

There  were  other  buildings  which  require  special  notice, 
which  I  will  niention  later.  On  Lee  River,  in  the  eastern  part 
of  the  town,  there  was  a  saw  mill  built  at  an  early  day  in  the  his- 
tory of  the  town,  just  above  where  said  Stone  and  Butts  lived, 
operated  successively  by  Daniel  Hale,  Joseph  Butts,  Samuel  An- 
drews, Edgar  A.  Barney,  Warren  Fellows  and  J.  E.  Burrows, 
which  was  taken  down  in  1908.  And  on  the  said  river,  between 
Jericho  Center  and  the  village  of  Jericho  there  was  a  large  fac- 
tory building  used  for  many  years  by  Ephraim  Styles  as  a  fulling 
mill  and  carding  works,  and  later  occupied  by  Oliver  Whitmarsh 
and  Lyman  Stimson  for  the  manufacture  of  furniture  and 
coffins,  still  later  George  Wright  and  Lyman  and  Stimson  changed 
the  building  into  a  saw  mill  and  a  wheelwright  shop.  Wright 
soon  thereafter  sold  out  his  interest  to  Stimson  who  continued 
the  business  for  many  years,  but  that  building  was  destroyed  by 
fire,  and  Stimson  removed  to  Wisconsin. 

As  the  inhabitants  increased  in  numbers,  a  village  grew  up 
at  Jericho  Center  which  held  its  primary  importance  for  some 
time,  and  is  a  fine  residential  place.  Later  and  for  many  years, 
Jericho  Corners  situated  near  the  western  side  of  the  town  at 


the  falls  on  Brown's  River,  owing  doubtless  to  its  water  power 
facilities,  became  the  largest  and  the  most  flourishing  village  of 
the  town,  in  a  business  line.  There  are  six  fine  water  falls  and 
sites  at  and  near  Jericho  village.  Quite  early  in  the  history  of 
that  village  a  mill  for  carding  wool  and  a  factory  for  the  manu- 
facture of  cloth  were  erected  just  below  the  lower  bridge  that  did 
extensive  business  for  many  years.  The  carding  works  were 
run  mainly  by  Truman  Barney  and  his  sons.  A  distillery  for  the 
distilling  of  whiskey  and  New  England  rum  to  supply  the  trade 
in  those  days  for  the  "pure  article"  was  established  by  Frederick 
Fletcher  and  located  between  the  present  dweUing  house  of 
Charles  K  Percival  and  the  railroad  trestle,  and  was  operated 
for  many  years,  but  the  distilling  of  those  drinks  there  ceased 
more  than  sixty  years  ago.  Below  the  lower  bridge  a  saw  mill 
was  built  about  the  year  1830,  by  Joseph  Sinclair,  and  since  that 
time  it  was  successively  owned  by  eight  different  men,  but  was  re- 
cently swept  away  by  high  water,  and  the  granite  shop  of  Joseph 
Williams  has  taken  its  place.  There  was  a  grist  mill  built  of 
stone  by  John  Bliss  as  early  as  1820,  at  the  falls  on  Brown's 
River  on  the  site  where  Warren  E.  Buxton's  manufacturing  es- 
tablishment of  small  wood  articles  now  stands.  The  mill  was 
greatly  changed  and  improved  and  run  by  John  BUss  and  David 
Oakes,  and  later  it  was  owned  by  John  Bliss,  George  B.  Oakes 
and  Truman  Galusha.  This  was  the  only  grist  mill  in  this  sec- 
tion of  the  country  for  many  years,  to  which  the  people  for  many 
miles  around  brought  their  grain  to  be  ground.  This  mill  was 
afterwards  owned  by  George  B.  and  William  E.  Oakes,  and  run 
by  them  till  about  1870,  when  it  was  changed  into  a  pulp  mill,  and 
later  run  as  a  chair  factory  by  Henry  M.  Field.  At  the  next  mill 
site  above  this  mill  there  was  a  large  factory  and  a  saw  mill 
where  an  extensive  business  in  the  manufacture  of  pumps  and 
tubing  was  carried  on  by  Simon  Davis  and  later  by  Henry  M. 
Field  and  Anson  Field  for  many  years.  Just  above  the  pump 
works,  across  the  river,  another  saw  mill  was  built  at  an  early  day, 
by  David  Oakes  and  later  owned  by  Wm.  E.  Oakes  and  through 
successive  conveyances  came  to  Stephen  Curtis,  the  present  owner. 
At  the  upper  bridge  that  spans  Brown's  River,  at  the  place 
known  as  Benajah  C.  Buxton's  mill  site,  there  was  a  grist  mill, 
oil  mill  and  saw  mill  built  on  the  south  side  of  the  river  about  one 


hundred  and  ten  years  ago  by  Uriah  Howe.  This  grist  mill,  oil 
mill  and  saw  mill,  were  probably  the  first  mills  of  the  kind  that 
were  built  in  town,  and  the  grist  mill  was  conveyed  by  Uriah 
Howe  to  Charles  Howe  and  David  Oakes  in  1808,  and  the  saw 
mill  was  conveyed  to  Brigham  Howe  and  David  Oakes  at  the 
same  time,  and  David  Oakes  conveyed  his  interest  in  the  grist 
mill  to  said  Charles  Howe.  Some  time  previous  to  1819  Howe 
and  Oakes  took  down  the  old  mills  and  rebuilt  the  saw  mill,  but 
not  the  other  mills.  In  1826,  Secretary  Rawson  deeded  one- 
half  acre  of  land  on  the  north  side  of  the  river  below  the  bridge 
where  E.  B.  Williams'  saw  mill  now  stands,  to  Bradley  and  Stev- 
ens, who  built  a  mill  thereon  for  grinding  bark,  later  a  mill  for 
making  tubs  and  other  articles  took  its  place.  These  mills  on 
both  sides  of  the  river,  through  many  intervening  conveyances, 
came  to  Benajah  C.  Buxton,  and  he  after  running  the  saw  mill 
for  about  forty  years,  conveyed  the  same  to  John  Early  and 
James  Gribbin  in  1873,  and  they  put  in  at  one  end  of  the  building 
a  mill  for  grinding  grain,  and  those  mills  were  used  by  them  for 
grinding  grain  and  manufacturing  lumber  for  several  years  and 
conveyed  through  several  conveyances,  to  Fred  W.  and  William 
M.  Buxton,  and  while  they  were  the  owners  of  them  the  floods 
came  in  1892  and  washed  away  the  bridge  and  all  of  the  mills  on 
both  sides  of  the  river,  but  in  1893  they  built  a  new  saw  mill  and 
a  box  factory  on  the  south  side  of  the  river  and  conveyed  the 
same  to  Eugene  W.  Curtis,  but  in  1900  they  were  destroyed  by 
fire  and  they  have  never  been  rebuilt.  About  the  year  1854 
James  H.  Hutchinson,  who  had  returned  from  California  with 
considerable  money,  built  the  present  grist  mill  and  flouring  mill, 
just  above  the  lower  bridge,  and  since  that  time  it  has  beCn  suc- 
cessively run  by  him,  H.  A.  Percival  and  Clark  Wilbur,  L.  B. 
Howe  and  Ferdinand  Beach,  L.  B.  Howe  and  Frank  B.  Howe, 
Moses  S.  Whitcomb,  and  the  present  owner  Charles  F.  Reavy. 
While  this  mill  was  operated  by  L.  B.  and  Frank  B.  Howe,  ma- 
chinery was  put  in  for  making  flour  by  the  roller  process.  It  was 
one  of  the  first  mills  in  New  England  that  manufactured  flour  by 
that  process. 

The  dwelling  house  that  was  owned  by  Homer  Rawson  for 
many  years,  and  where  he  resided  at  his  death  in  1900,  standing  a 
little  east  of  Jericho  village,  should  be  mentioned  as  an  early 


landmark.  It  was  built  by  Uriah  Howe  before  1811  and  pur- 
chased by  Secretary  Rawson  about  the  year  1816,  who  occupied 
it  till  his  death  in  1842  and  has  always  been  kept  in  the  Rawson 
family.  It  had  served  as  a  hotel,  a  place  for  holding  religious 
meetings  before  the  brick  church  was  built,  and  for  pleasure 
parties,  and  farm  house.  There  was  formerly  a  large  hall  in 
the  house  that  was  suitable  for  public  gatherings.  The  house 
has  been  kept  in  a  fine  state  of  repair  to  this  day. 

The  village  of  Jericho  Has  suffered  from  several  disastrous 
fires.  In  the  year  of  1874  the  harness  shop  of  Orlin  Rood  and 
the  old  Beach  &  Howe  store  that  stood  on  the  south  side  of  Main 
Street  were  destroyed  by  fire,  but  the  harness  shop  was  rebuilt 
by  Rood,  arid  a  large  and  commodious  store  was  erected  on  the 
ground  where  the  old  store  stood  by  W.  N.  Pierce.  In  1903, 
the  new  harness  shop  then  owned  by  D.  E.  Rood,  and  the  new 
store  built  by  Pierce,  together  with  the  adjoining  tin  shop  and 
dwelling  house  of  Joseph  Bissonette  were  reduced  to  ashes  and 
have  not  been  rebuilt.  Again,  in  1904,  the  Barney  Tavern,  (so- 
called)  erected  about  100  years  ago,  as  one  of  the  first  buildings 
of  the  village,  and  kept  by  Erastus  D.  Hubbell,  John  Delaware,  a 
Mr.  Stanton,  James  McNasser,  and  others,  and  later  for  a  long 
time  by  Martin  C.  Barney  and  his  brothers,  was  consumed  by  the 
flames  together  with  an  adjoining  grocery  building  and.  the  hotel 
barns  while  owned  by  William  Folsom.  Again,  the  dwelling  of 
Allen  A.  Chesmore  and  his  grocery  store  and  the  post-office  and 
drug  store  of  E.  B.  Williams  just  east  of  the  old  Barney  tavern 
stand,  were  destroyed  by  fire  in  the  year  1906,  and  have  not  been 

Riverside,  and"that  part  of  Jericho  known  as  Underbill  Flats 
deserves  notice.  Arthur  Bostwick,  as  early  as  1825,  built  the 
hotel  that  was  widely  known  as  the  Bostwick  House,  and  was 
kept  by  him  and  later  by  his  son-in-law  Rufus  Brown.  It  was  a 
popular  place  for  travelers  and  teamsters  transporting  freight 
from  Burlington  towards  the  northeastern  part  of  the  state  be- 
fore the  days  of  railroads.  Guests  were  there  welcomed  and 
hospitably  entertained.  Later  it  was  kept  by  L.  M.  Dixon  and 
greatly  enlarged  by  him  and  known  as  Dixon's  Hotel.  It  was 
beautifully  located.  It  was  kept  for  many  years  for  the  accom- 
modation of  summer  guests.     Soon  after  Dixon's  death  in  1886, 


it  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1890  and  not  rebuilt.  A  steam  saw 
mill  for  the  manufacture  of  lumber,  was  built  at  Riverside  about 
the  year  1876,  by  Gilbert  and  Robinson,  but  it  and  another  that 
took  its  place  were  destroyed  by  fire.  The  last  was  burned  in 
1912,  but  has  been  rebuilt  by  H.  H.  Howard.  The  rebuilding  of 
the  mills  shows  the  commendable  enterprise  and  purpose  to  keep 
the  business  running. 

In  1906,  the  Methodist  Church,  which  was  built  in  1850, 
Dr.  W.  S.  Nay's  drug  store  and  a  nearby  dwelling  house  were 
burned,  but  they  have  been  rebuilt.  These  calamities, — dis- 
astrous fires, — show  that  misfortunes  do  not  all  fall  in  one  lo- 
cality or  on  any  one  person.  In  the  year  1887  there  was  built  at 
that  village  in  Jericho,  by  Homer  Thompson,  a  mill  for  grinding 
grain  and  it  is  still  run  for  that  purpose,  but  it  has  changed 
owners  several  times.  There  are  two  church  buildings  at  that 
village  in  Jericho, — a.  Methodist  and  an  Episcopal  Church.  At 
the  Center  there  have  been  two  church  buildings,  the  Congrega- 
tional and  Universalist.  The  Congregational  Church  has  had  a 
prosperous  life  from  the  start.  The  Universalist  Society  for 
many  years  maintained  preaching  and  had  a  prosperous  society, 
but  they  have  not  held  meetings  in  their  church  building  for  sev- 
eral years  and  their  building,  erected  in  1848,  has  been  sold  and 
used  for  other  purposes.  On  the  21st  day  of  April,  1817,  a  branch 
of  the  Baptist  Church  in  Essex  was  set  off  and  organized  as  a 
church  in  Jericho.  Meetings  were  held  one-half  of  the  time  at 
the  Corners  and  the  other  half  at  the  Center,  or  at  the  south  part 
of  the  town.  After  the  Academy  building  was  built  at  the  Center 
in  1825,  the  Baptists  held  meetings  in  the  lower  story  of  that 
building  for  some  time.  In  1843,  thirty-nine  persons  were  set  off 
and  organized  into  a  church  called  the  Second  Baptist  Church  of 
Jericho,  later  known  as  West  Bolton  Church.  The  Baptist 
Church  of  Jericho  that  was  organized  in  1817  had  no  church  edi- 
fice till  1825  or  1826.  The  Free  Will  Baptists  had  an  organiza- 
tion in  town  the  fore  part  of  the  nineteenth  century,  but  they 
had  no  church  edifice,  but  the  spiritual  interests  of  the  people 
were  looked  after  for  many  years  by  Rev.  Edward  Fay. 

The  brick  church  building  standing  on  the  church  common 
at  Jericho  village  has  a  prominent  place  in  the  history  of  the  town. 
It  was  built  in  the  years  1825  and  1826  by  the  Congregational  and 


Baptist  Societies  on  land  given  for  that  purpose  by  Dr.  George 
Howe,  and  from  that  time  it  was.  occupied  by  each  of  those  so- 
cieties on  ahernate  Sabbaths  till  1858,  and  no  other  permanent 
place  for  public  worship  existed  in  that  part  of  the  town  till 
1858,  when  the  Baptist  and  Methodist  Societies  each  erected  a 
building  for  themselves.  Soon  after  this  the  brick  church  build- 
ing became  very  much  out  of  repair,  and  the  Congregational  So- 
ciety in  1876  and  1877  made  extensive  repairs  on  it  at  the  ex- 
pense of  over  $3,000,  and  have  held  and  sustained  religious 
services  therein  ever  since  that  time,  and  the  church  is  in  a  pros- 
perous condition. 

There  are  two  well  cared  for  cemeteries  in  town,  one  at  the 
Center  and  the  other  at  Jericho  Village  and  they  have  been  the 
place  for  the  people  to  bury  their  dead  for  nearly  seventy-five 
years.  The  people  in  both  sections  of  the  town  have  taken  com- 
mendable interest  in  keeping  the  cemeteries  in  a  suitable  con- 
dition, and  in  providing  funds  to  keep  them  so  in  future. 

In  1874  the  town  bonded  in  the  sum  of  $23,000  to  aid  in 
building  the  Burlington  and  Lamoille  railroad  extending  from 
Burlington  to  Cambridge  Junction,  which  was  paid,  and  the  town 
is  free  from  debt. 

Several  qi  the  residents  of  the  town  have  been  honored  by 
the  voters  of  the  county.  John  Lyman,  in  1852,  David  Fish  in 
1858,  Andrew  Warner  in  1862,  and  E.  H.  Lane  in  1878,  were 
elected  and  served  as  assistant  judges  of  county  court.  And 
Jamin  Hamilton  in  1848,  E.  H.  Lane  in  1867,  C.  M.  Spaulding 
in  1876,  Buel  H.  Day  in  1884,  E.  C.  Fay  in  1894,  and  John  E. 
Smith  in  1910  were  elected  and  served  as  county  state  senators. 
Mathew  Cole  was  not  only  the  fourth  Representative  of  the  town 
in  the  Vermont  Legislature,  but  he  was  Probate  Judge  for 
Chittenden  County  for  the  years  1795  and  1796.  Martin  Chit- 
tenden was  not  only  the  first  representative  of  the  town  in  the 
legislature  after  the  state  was  admitted  into  the  Union  ift  1791, 
but  on  Dec.  7,  1790,  he  was  chosen  a  member  for  the  state  con- 
vention to  be  held  at  Bennington  on  the  first  Thursday  of  January, 
1791,  to  take  into  consideration  and  adopt  the  Federal  Constitu- 
tion of  the  United  States.  He  also  was  Governor  of  the  state 
from  1813  to  1815,  and  Judge  of  the  Probate  Court  for  the 
County  of  Chittenden  from  1821  to  1823.     During  the  war  with 


Great  Britain  from  1812  to  1815  he  was  severely  criticized  for  not 
giving  his  permission,  as  governor,  for  the  Vermont  militia,  as  a 
body,  to  leave  the  state  to  join  the  land  forces  at  Plattsburg  in  op- 
posing the  British  army  there.  The  criticism  was  unjust  as  Ver- 
mont was  exposed  to  British  invasion  as  well  as  New  York, 
Noah  Chittenden  not  only  represented  the  town  in  the  Assembly, 
but  was  Judge  of  Probate  for  the  county  in  the  years  of  1811  and 
1812.  Noah  Chittenden  was  also  a  member  of  the  Vermont 
Council  from  1801  to  1812  and  Sheriff  of  Addison  County  in 
1785  when  that  county  extended  to  Canada  line,  and  Sheriff  of 
Chittenden  County  after  that  county  was  created  from  1787  to 
1790,  also  side  judge  of  Chittenden  County  from  1804  to  1811 — 
the  next  oldest  son  of  Gov.  Thos.  Chittenden.  Asahel  Peck  was 
•  one  of  Vermont's  noblest  men.  I  have  been  delighted  to  sit  at 
his  feet  and  hear  him  discourse  upon  the  law  like  as  Paul  was  at 
the  feet  of  Gamaliel.  He  was  judge  of  the  Supreme  Court  of 
Vermont  from  1861  to  August  31,  1874.  He  came  to  reside  on 
his  farm  in  the  south  part  of  the  town  about  the  year  1870  and 
while  residing  in  Jericho  he  was  elected  governor  of  the  state 
September  1,  1874,  and  served  two  years  in  that  office.  He  was  a 
wise  and  conservative  governor. 

The  following  named  lawyers  located  and  practiced  their  pro- 
fession in  Jericho:  Martin  Post  was  the  first  lawyer  who  prac- 
ticed in  Jericho ;  then  Jacob  Maeck,  a  man  small  in  stature,  but  an 
able  lawyer  and  exceedingly  quick  at  repartee.  It  is  said  of  him 
that  while  trying  a  case  his  manner  of  handling  it  was  annoying  to 
the  attorney  opposing  him.  He  finally  said  to  Maeck  that  if  he  did 
not  quit  the  annoyance  he  would  pick  him  up  and  put  him  in  his 
pocket.  Maeck  quickly  replied  that,  "if  you  do,  you  will  have 
more  law  in  your  pocket  than  in  your  head."  Maeck  after  a  few 
years  of  practice  here  removed  to  Burlington.  David  A.  Smalley 
located  and  practiced  his  profession  at  Jericho  for  several  years, 
and  went  from  there  to  Lowell,  Vt.,  and  resided  there  for  a  few 
months,  and  then  moved  to  Burlington.  He  was  a  leading  light 
in  the  Democratic  party,  both  in  the  state  and  nation.  He  not 
only  was  an  able  lawyer,  but  was  appointed  judge  of  the  United 
States  District  Court  for  Vermont  by  President  James  Buchanan, 
Jan.,  1857,  and  held  that  position  for  many  years  and  until  his 
death.    Frederick  G.  Hill  practiced  law  at  Jericho  village  for  sev- 


eral  years  and  then  moved  to  Burlington.  He  had  a  thorough 
knowledge  of  the  law,  but  was  rough  in  his  language  and  de- 
meanor. While  he  was  practicing  law  in  this  town  he  spent  one 
night  at  Williston.and  came  home  in  the  gray  of  the  morning.  On 
his  way  home  he  thought  he  saw  a  deer  in  the  bushes  near  the 
highway.  He  made  use  of  his  rifle  that  he  carried  in  his  car- 
riage and  killed  the  animal,  which  turned  out  to  be  a  calf  that  be- 
longed to  a  man  near  by.  Hill  made  his  peace  with  the  owner 
by  paying  for  the  calf.  E.  R.  Hard  followed  Mr.  Hill  in  the 
practice  of  the  law  here.  Mr.  Hard  was  not  only  an  able  lawyer, 
but  a  successful  practitioner;  he  also  moved  to  Burlington  and 
afterwards  became  state's  attorney  and  state  Senator  for  the 
county.  (I  commenced  the  practice  of  the  law  in  Jericho  in  1857, 
and  have  continued  the  practice  there  ever  since  that  time,  to  , , 
the  present,  except  twelve  years  from  1882  to  1894,  when  I  prac- 
ticed in  Burlington.  Six  students  studied  and  fitted  for  the  prac- 
tice of  law  in  my  office.  I  also  wrote  and  published  a  four  vol- 
ume history  of  Vermont  during  the  years  of  1899,  1900  and 
1902).  C.  S.  Palmer  commenced  the  practice  of  law  in  Jericho 
in  1872  and  continued  it  to  1882,  when  he  was  appointed 
by  President  Arthur  as  assistant  United  States  District  Attorney 
for  the  territory  of  South  Dakota,  and  afterwards  was  appointed 
United  States  Judge  for  that  territory.  M.  H.  Alexander  prac- 
ticed here  for  a  few  years,  and  P.  M.  Page  is  still  here.  (There 
have  been  two  other  lawyers  who  have  practiced  in  town). 

There  have  been  many  able  and  worthy  physicians  who  have 
resided  and  practiced  their  profession  in  Jericho.  The  first  the 
writer  has  any  information  of  were  Dr.  Matthew  Cole  and  Dr. 
Eleazer  Hutchins;  Dr.  Hutchins  settled  here  in  1791,  and  was 
surgeon  of  the  regiment  that  was  engaged  in  the  Battle  of  Platts- 
burgh  in  1814.  Dr.  George  Howe  who  settled  here  in  1810  and 
practiced  here  46  years;  Dr.  Rawson  commenced  his  practice 
here  in  1816 ;  Dr.  Jamin  Hamilton,  Dr.  F.  F.  Hovey,  W.  W.  B. 
Kidder;  Doctors  B.  Y.  Warner,  Denison  Bliss,  A.  F.  Burdick, 
W.  S.  Nay,  A.  B.  Sommers,  F.  H.  Cilley,  E.  P.. Howe,  George  B. 
Hulburd,  A.  S.  C.  Hill,  Lewis  D.  Rood,  H.  D.  Hopkins,  Jesse 
Thompson,  I.  M.  Bishop,.  D.  L.  Burnett,  M.  O.  Eddy,  J.  E. 
Thompson,  George  W.  Belden  and  Horace  N.  Curtis  practiced 
their  profession  here. 


Of  those  who  have  greatly  contributed  to  the  business  pros- 
perity of  the  town  as  merchants,  there  should  be  named  as  hav- 
ing carried  on  mercantile  business  at  Jericho  Village,  Frederick 
and  Thaddeus  Fletcher,  John  Bliss,  George  B.  Oakes,  L.  B.  Howe, 
Ferdinand  Beach,  O.  H.  Shaw,  Vespasian  Leach,  Azariah  B. 
Remington,  George  Hill,  L.  P.  Carleton,  H.  A.  Percival,  Henry  M. 
Field,  John  Percival,  W.  N.  Pierce,  Charles  Suiter  and  E.  B.  Wil- 
liams. And  at  the  Center  the  mercantile  business'  was  estab- 
lished about  100  years  ago  by  Pliny  Blackman  and  he  was  fol- 
lowed by  Frederick  Fletcher,  Erastus  Field,  Henry  C.  Black- 
man,  E.  H.  Lane,  said  Lane  and  Pierce,  E.  H.  Lane  and  his  son 
E.  Frank  Lane,  E.  B.  Jordan  and  Henry  Jordan  under  the  firm 
name  of  Jordan  Brothers,  all  on  the  west  side  of  the  Common, 
and  James  Morse,  W.  T.  Lee,  Cyrus  C.  Lane,  John  Stimson  and 
Osman  and  Orin  Stimson  on  the  south  side  of  the  Common. 
Horace  C.  Nash  carried  on  that  business  in  a  small  way  at  Nash- 
ville for  several  years,  just  previous  to  his  enlisting  in  the  army 
in  the  War  of  the  Rebellion.  The  tannery  business  was  success- 
fully run  at  the  Center  village  by  Silas  Ransom  for  a  long  term 
of  years  from  about  1830  to  1870,  and  by  David  Fish  at  Jericho 

There  has  never  been  but  one  hotel  kept  at  the  Center 
Village,  and  it  stood  on  the  ground  where  George  Cunningham 
now  resides  near  the  northwest  corner  of  the  Green,  and  was 
probably  built  not  later  than  1802,  though  I  have  been  unable  to 
ascertain  the  exact  date.  It  was  first  kept  by  Moses  Billings  and 
afterwards  by  Edwin  Hard  and  Charles  Hilton  and  was  destroyed 
by  fire,  and  none  since  that  time  has  been  built  in  this  village. 
For  a  good  many  years  business  in  the  grocery  line,  as  well  as 
many  other  kinds  of  business  that  go  to  make  up  flourishing  vil- 
lages, have  been  carried  on  by  many  different  persons  at  Jericho 
Village,  Riverside  and  at  Jericho  Center. 

The  first  newspaper  published  in  Jericho  was  printed  at 
Jericho  Village  in  1882,  and  for  16  years  thereafter,  by  Arthur  D. 
Bradford.  It  was  first  called  the  "Chittenden  Reporter"  and  after- 
wards the  name  was  changed  to  the  "Jericho  Reporter."  It  was 
started  as  a  four  page  paper  but  enlarged  to  an  eight  page,  six 
column  paper.  In  1888  L.  H.  Roscoe  established  and  printed  a 
rival  paper  called  The  Green  Mountain  Press.    This  paper  also 


was  published  at  Jericho  Village  for  16  years.  Both  of  those 
papers  after  each  being  published  here  for  16  years,  have  been 
published  at  Essex  Junction  and  are  now  published  by  the  Essex 
Publishing  Company. 

The  political  elections  in  Jericho  have  been  conducted  from 
the  commencement,  with  the  usual  party  spirit,  but  without  leav- 
ing any  lasting  bitter  feeling.  The  first  Representative  was 
Jedediah  Lane,  chosen  in  1786.  From  first  to  last  there  have 
been  56  different  men  chosen  to  represent  this  town  in  the  Ver- 
mont Legislature.  Thomas  D.  Rood  received  five  elections, 
James  A.  Potter  received  six  elections,  and  Martin  Chittenden 
eight  elections  for  that  office.  Here  follow  the  names  of  all  the 
Representatives  to  the  present  time  with  the  years  that  each 
served  as  Representative  respectively,  (viz. :  Jedediah  Lane,  1786 ; 
James  Farnsworth,  1787;  Lewis  Chapin,  1788;  Matthew  Cole, 
1789;  Martin  Chittenden,  (8)  1790  and  1791,  1792,  1793,  1794, 
1795,  1797  and  1802;  Noah  Chittenden,  (4)  1796,  1812,  1813  and 
1814;  Thomas  D.  Rood,  (5)  1798,  1799,  1805,  1816  and  1821; 
James  A.  Potter,  (6)  1800,  1801,  1803,  1804,  1806  and  1808; 
Solomon  Fay,  1807;  Arthur  Bostwick,  1809;  Eleazer  Hutchins, , 

(2)  1810  and  1811 ;  Herman  Lowrey,  1815;  William  P.  Richard- 
son, (3)  1817,  1818,  1823;  Thomas  Chittenden,  (son  of  Noah), 

(3)  1819,  1820,  1833;  Oliver  Lowrey,  1822;  Gideon  O.  Dixon, 
(3)  1824,  1825,  and  1826;  Truman  Galusha,  (4)  1827,  1828,  1830 
and  1832;  William  A.  Prentiss,  1829;  Erastus  Field,  (2)  1835, 
and  1836;  Lyman  Field,  1837  and  1838;  Andrew  Warner,  (2) 
1839  and  1840;  Labina  Bliss,  (2)  1841  and  1842;  Albert  Lee,  (2) 
1843  and  1844 ;  David  Fish,  1845  and  1846 ;  Hiram  Day,  1848  and 
1849;  Lucius  S.  Barney,  1850  and  1851;  John  Smith,  1853  and 
1854 ;  Leet  A.  Bishop,  1855  and  1856 ;  Elijah  B.  Reed,  1857  and 
1858;  H.  O.  Gibbs,  1859;  U.  S.  Whitcomb,  1860;  E.  H.  Lane, 
1862;  L.  L.  Lane,  1864;  L.  B.  Howe,  1868;  Adrian  S.  Lee,  1870; 
Buel  H.  Day,  1872;  Gordon  Smith,  1874;  Orlin  Rood,  1876;- 
Jesse  Gloyd,  1878;  C.  S.  Palmer,  1880;  M.  V.  Willard,  1882; 
Isaac  C.  Stone,  1884;  D.  E.  Rood,  1886;  H.  W.  Packard,  1888; 
E.  C.  Fay,  1890;  Lucian  H.  Chapin,  1892;  Martin  H.  Packard, 
1894;  Frank  B.  Howe,  1896;  E.  B.  Jordan,  1898;  W.  S.  Nay, 
1900;  John  A.  Smith,  1902;  George  M.  Willard,  1904;  Chauncey 


H.  Hayden,  1906;  Jed  T.  Vamey,  1908;  Thomas  F.  Leary,  1910; 
Frank  S.  Ransom,  1912). 

From  the  year  1860  to  the  present  time  the  elections  were 
biennial.  There  have  been  seven  years,  (1831,  1832,  1834,  1847, 
1852,  1866  and  1869,)  when  no  representative  was  chosen  for 
the  reason  that  no  one  could  get  a  majority  of  the  votes  cast. 

One  of  the  important  offices  of  the  town  is  that  of  town 
clerk.  This  office  has  been  filled  by  eleven  different  men.  (The 
number  of  years  that  each  held  the  office,  though  not  continuous, 
were  as  follows :  Lewis  Chapin,  the  first  town  clerk,  held  the  office 
eighteen  years ;  Jonathan  Castle,  one  year ;  Thomas  D.  Rood,  five 
years ;  Pliny  Blackman,  twelve  years ;  Elias  Bartlett,  three  years ; 
John  Lyman,  twenty-three  years ;  E.  H.  Lane,  eighteen  years ;  W. 
Trumbull  Lee,  four  years ;  E.  Frank  Lane,  four  years ;  and  E.  B. 
Jordan,  twenty-nine  years  to  the  present  time).  These  covered  a 
term  of  127  years. 

There  was  much  dignity  shown  in  the  social  intercourse  of 
the  early  settlers  of  Jericho,  as  was  seen  with  the  settlers  in  'all 
Vermont.  There  was  cordial  visiting  between  townsmen ;  every- 
body went  to  church  and  spent  the  day  at  it.  It  was  Puritan 
and  Pilgrim  over  again.  The  towns  in  those  days  were  much 
like  little  republics;  and  the  town  March  meeting  took  on  the 
character  of  a  sovereign  body.  The  early  settlers  of  Jericho  took 
on  the  united  traits  and  character  of  soldier,  statesman  and 
farmer.  Some  of  them  had  passed  through  the  trials  and  hard- 
ships that  were  brought  on  by  the  Revolutionary  War ;  and  when 
Great  Britain  sought  to  invade  our  country  from  the  north  by  her 
army,  in  the  War  of  1812,  forty-three  Jericho  men  entered  the 
military  service  or  volunteered  to  meet  the  enemy  at  the  Battle 
of  Plattsburg.  They  served  under  Generals  Macomb  and  Strong 
in  the  land  forces.  The  victory  won  on  land,  and  under  Com- 
modore Macdonough  on  Lake  Champlain  was  instrumental  in  a 
large  degree  in  humbling  the  pride  of  the  haughty  Britains  and 
causing  them  to  agree  to  the  terms  of  peace.  General  Macomb, 
in  his  report  of  the  battle,  said,  "The  Vermont  volunteers  have 
behaved  with  the  coolness  of  regulars  and  their  conduct  has  ful- 
filled the  expectations,  which  the  promptness  and  spirit  with 
which  they  turned  out,  had  raised." 


The  War  of  the  Rebellion  of  1861  has  tested  the  courage, 
the  heroic  bravery  of  the  Jericho  volunteers,  as  well  as  those  in 
other  localities,  and  of  their  willingness  to  endure  great  hard- 
ships and  make  untold  sacrifices,  and  give  life  itself  to  put  down 
the  greatest  rebellion  the  world  has  ever  known.  Both  men  and 
women  who  did  not  go  to  the  front  were  willing  to  furnish  the 
means  to  carry  on  the  holy  war,  and  furnish  aid  and  comfort  for 
those  in  the  field.  The  town  also  paid  large  bounties  beside  the 
seven  dollars  per  month,  state  pay,  to  induce  enlistments  and  to 
support  the  families  that  the  men  left  at  home  as  they  went  to 
the  front.  But  it  is  of  those  who  actually  participated  in  the 
conflict  that  I  wish  to  speak.  The  town  furnished  138  men  for  the 
war  under  the  different  calls  of  President  Lincoln,  16  of  whom 
re-enUsted,  23  died  of  disease  or  of  wounds,  11  were  killed  in 
action  and  12  deserted,  but  3  of  these  12  deserted  before  they 
were  assigned  to  any  organization.  Ninety-two  were  mustered 
out  or  discharged  for  disability.  One  was  discharged  by  court 
martial.  Under  the  call  of  the  President  for  300,000  men  in 
1863  a  draft  was  ordered  and  13  men  were  drafted  from  this 
town,  7  of  whom  paid  the  commutation  of  300  dollars  each, 
and  6  of  them  furnished  substitutes.  Six  residents  of  the  town, 
who  were  not  drafted  furnished  substitutes  who  were  paid  $400 
each.  The  bounties  paid  for  men  who  entered  the  service  under 
the  different  calls  of  the  President  ran  from  $50  to  $550.  The 
amount  expended  by  the  town  for  bounties  and  attending  ex- 
penses was  over  $30,000.  There  was  but  one  of  the  substitutes 
that  was  killed  in  battle  and  he  was  Thomas  Gorman,  my  sub- 
stitute, and  he  was  wounded  twice  in  1864,  and  was  killed  in  ac- 
tion at  Petersburgh,  Va.,  April  2,  1865.  One  man  deserted  and 
joined  the  Confederate  Army,  Dec.  13,  1864.  With  the  few  ex- 
ceptions mentioned  the_  men  that  went  into  the  service  to  quell 
this  gigantic  rebellion  and  to  brave  the  dangers  and  suffer  the 
hardship  incident  to  such  service,  all  made  an  honorable  and 
enduring  record.  We  can  but  faintly  realize  the  awful  scenes  at 
a  fierce  battle  between  contending  hostile  forces  tvhether  it  re- 
sulted in  a  battle  lost  or  victory  won;  a  faint  glimmer  may  be 
seen  by  letting  your  mind  fly  away  to  the  surgeon's  operating 
table  near  the  battle  ground  where  the  wounded  begin  to  come 
in,  one  nursing  a  shattered  arm,  ambulances  filled  with  the  help- 


less,  and  other  comrades  brought  in  on  stretchers,  faster  and  faster 
they  come  and  are  laid  down  to  await  their  turn  at  the  operating 
table;  feet  and  arms  that  never  turned  from  a  foe,  without  an 
owner,  strew  the  ground.  Some  of  rtie  disabled  recover  to  re- 
turn to  their  respective  regiments,  but  many  did  not  return  to 
their  regiment  or  their  home.  Those  who  lived  to  see  the  end  of 
that  war  and  were  fortunate  enough  to  return  home  to  family 
and  friends  are  entitled  to  our  gratitude  and  generous  treatment. 
While  today  we  may  look  back  with  pride  for  the  deeds  of  our 
townsmen,  it  is,  also,  a  day  for  memory  and  tears.  Those  who 
went  down  to  their  death  in  that  struggle,  some  of  whom  lay  in 
unmarked  graves  in  southern  soil,  we  would  pay  them  the  tribute 
of  love ;  their  deeds  and  lives  were  material  factors  in  preserving 
our  nation  intact  and  making  it  great  and  free. 

"They  went  where  duty  seemed  to  call. 
They  scarcely  asked  the  reason  why; 
They  only  knew  they  could  but  die. 
And  death  was  not  the  worst  of  all. 

— Whittier. 

The  following  former  residents  responded  briefly,  Joel  Bart- 
lett  of  Shelburne ;  Rev.  Carlton  Hazen,  of  Kensington,  Conn. ; 
Mr.  Arthur  D.  Bradford,  of  St.  Albans.  President  Guy  Potter 
Benton  of  the  University  of  Vermont  gave  a  masterly  address  in 
his  especially  pleasing  manner  which  is  given  in  full. 



In  these  troublous  times  it  is  well  to  have  an  occasional  "Old 
Home"  day.  Such  occasions  are  destructive  of  present  day  con- 
ceit. We  are  so  wont  to  boast  of  modern  achievements  that  we 
easily  forget  the  days  of  ancient  accomplishment.  We  are  so 
absorbed  in  our  campaigns  for  reform  that  we  ignore  the  splen- 
did heritage  that  is  ours  from  the  fathers.  Our  debt  to  the  pioneer 
can  never  be  discharged.  It  is  a  perennial — ^yea,  an  eternal  obliga- 


It  will  be  a  sad  day  for  a  neighborhood,  a  state  or  a  nation 
when  the  work  of  the  forefathers  ceases  to  be  an  inspiration  to 
lofty  endeavor.  "Honor  thy  father  and  thy  mother:  that  thy 
days  may  be  long  upon  the  land  which  the  Lord  thy  God  giveth 
thee"  is  as  much  a  command  and  consequent  promise  for  the  com- 
munity as  for  the  individual.  To  depend  altogether  upon  past 
glory  for  present  glory  is  thoroughly  reprehensible.  To  attempt 
to  live  upon  past  achievements  is  to  prove  unworthy  of  a  toil- 
honored  ancestry.  The  past  is  secure,  the  fathers  have  made  it 
so.  Our  responsibility  is  to  the  mighty  present  and  the  mightier 
future.  We  shall  prove  unworthy  of  our  splendid  patrimony  un- 
less we  rear  a  noble  superstructure  on  the  nobk  foundation  laid 
by  the  pioneers. 

The  lesson  then  is  clearly  to  find  the  golden  mean  between  the 
two  extremes.  Let  the  spirit  of  reverential  gratitude  for  our 
progenitors  be  fostered  while  we  address  ourselves  with  all  ear- 
nestness to  the  performance  of  present  duty.  Here  and  now  on 
this  occasion  for  a  few  brief  hours  the  sons  and  daughters  of  the 
town  of  Jericho  are  girding  up  the  loins  of  their  minds  for  re- 
newed strength  by  acknowledging  the  debt  of  gratitude  they  owe 
to  the  godly,  patriotic  fathers  and  mothers  of  Jericho. 

"All  thoughts  that  mould  the  Age,  begin 
"Deep  down  within  the  primitive  soul ; 

"And  from  the  many  slowly  upward  win 
"To  One  who  grasps  the  whole. 

"All  thought  begins  in  Feeling — wide, 

"In  the  great  mass  its  base  is  hid, 
"And,  narrowing  up  to  thought,  stands  glorified 

"A  moveless  pyramid. 

"Nor  is  he  far  astray  who  deems 

"That  every  hope  which  rises  and  grows  broad 
"In  the  world's  heart,  by  ordered  impulse  streams 

"From  the  great  heart  of  God." 

— J.  R.  Lowell. 

Unconsciously  it  may  be,  though  certainly,  posterity  is  in- 
fluenced in  its  ideals  by  the  ideals  transmitted  from  forebears.  - 


Heredity  is  a  force  to  be  reckoned  with.  You  men  and  women 
of  the  Jericho  today  are  what  you  are  in  conviction  and  purpose 
largely  by  reason  of  the  convictions  and  purposes  that  controlled 
the  men  and  women  of  the  Jericho  of  yesterday  and  the  day  be- 
fore. A  town  that  traces  the  origin  of  its  existence  back  to  days 
before  the  Declaration. t)f  Independence  must  have  honorable 
traditions  to  its  credit.  Vermont  was  not  in  the  forefront  of  the 
Revolutionary  struggle  as  were  the  other  colonies,  but  it  was  in 
the  close  proximity  that  gave  it  the  effect  of  contact  and  enabled 
it  to  develop  a  heroism  of  a  peculiar  type.  Though  not  in  the 
thick  of  the  battle,  it  did  its  full  duty  on  the  outskirts.  Ticon- 
deroga  and  Saratoga  were  nearby  and  it  provided  the  famous  field 
of  Bennington  within  its  own  borders.  For  the  most  part,  though, 
Vermont  was  recruiting  ground  for  the  later  and  better  civiliza- 
tion which  was  nurtured  under  the  inspiration  of  the  Revolu- 
tionary spirit  caught  from  the  distance.  In  times  of  war  the 
people  living  just  beyond  the  theatre  of  warfare  are  subjected  to 
difficulties  and  hardships  often  more  severe  than  those  endured 
by  the  actual  participants  in  battle.  They  literally  endure  as 
those  who  see  the  invisible.  They  know  of  the  conflict  from 
afar  and  suffer  all  the  privations  of  a  war-infested  country  with- 
out the  privilege  of  sharing  in  defeat  or  helping  on  to  victory. 
Theirs  is  the  anxiety  of  patriots  toiling  in  kitchen  and  field  to 
provide  subsistence  for  fighting  armies  while  themselves  waiting 
in  expectation  of  possible  invasion  and  necessary  defense. 

Who  will  dare  say,  then,  that  dwellers  on  the  borderland  of 
warfare  do  not  develop  a  ruggedness  of  character  and  a  fearless- 
ness of  soul  somewhat  different  but  no  less  worthy  than  that  pro- 
duced in  the  presences  of  smoking  guns?  Vermont  gave  many 
brave  soldiers  to  the  Revoltition  but  its  heroes  at  home,  ready  to 
go  to  the  front  at  a  moment's  call,  developed,  while  waiting,  a 
stoical  bravery  unsurpassed,  if  indeed  not  unmatched,  by  those 
who  faced  death  at  the  cannon's  mouth. 

It  goes  without  the  saying  that  he  is  a  brave  man  who 
faces  showers  of  leaden  hail  from  hostile  guns  in  defense  of 
country,  but  the  highest  type  of  courage  is  that  which  brings  no 
applause  from  the  multitude  but  holds  the  man  or  woman  true  to 
principle  without  regard  to  consequences  in  the  monotonous 
round  of  the  work-a-day  life.     This  is  the  courage  which  always 


rings  true  in  absolute  sincerity  of  purpose  and  aggressive  pursuit 
of  righteousness,  without  pomp  or  parade  and  this  is  the  type 
of  character,  the  splendid  quality  of  patriotism  bequeathed  by  the 
heroes  and  heroines  of  the  early  days  in  Vermont  to  those  of  us 
who  face  the  problems  of  a  later  generation. 

What  will  we  do  with  our  legacy?  How  shall  we  use  our 
rich  inheritance?  Certainly  not  by  forgetting  the  spirit  and  toil 
which  brought  it  forth.  Surely  not  by  merely  marking  time  and 
making  the  achievements  of  the  past  our  sole  means  of  subsist- 

The  pioneer  by  his  clearing,  his  breaking  and  his  building  be- 
queathed to  later  generations  the  types  of  manhood  and  woman- 
hood that  should  be  builded  as  the  superstructure  of  our  newer 
civilization.  On  an  anniversary  day  such  as  this  the  pioneer  type 
should  loom  big  before  us,  inspiring  us  to  strive  to  present  to 
civilization  a  race  of  strong  men,  brave  men,  good  men,  home- 
loving  men  and  patriotic  men. 

Our  forefathers  were  strong — strong  in  body  and  in  char- 
acter. There  is  virtue  in  physical  strength.  A  strong  body  un- 
der control  is  a  good  basis  for  a  towering  intellect  and  lofty  moral 
conception.  To  abuse  the  body  is  to  destroy  intellectual  possibil- 
ities and  vitiate  moral  force.  A  proper  conservation  of  the 
physical  strength  inherited  from  the  fathers  will  guarantee  to  so- 
ciety a  race  of  men  sturdy  of  body  and  stalwart  of  character. 

Our  ancestors  were  wanting  neither  in  bravery  nor  good- 
ness. The  perils  of  wilderness,  of  mountain,  of  lake,  and  of 
battlefield  are  testimony  of  the  one ;  the  Christian  Church  in  every 
town  and  hamlet  certify  to  the  other. 

Those  who  blazed  the  way  for  us  more  than  a  century  and  a 
quarter  agone  were  a  home-loving  folk.  They  reared  their  cot- 
tages and  their  cabins  not  alone  to  shelter  themselves  and  their 
families  from  the  changing  vicissitudes  of  weather.  Every  man's 
home  was  his  castle  wherein  he  reigned  supreme.  There  he  set 
up  the  family  altar  and  magnified  the  Bible  as  the  Word  of  God. 
There  he  instilled  by  precept  and  example,  in  the  sacred  privacy  of 
happy  domesticity,  those  ideals  which  he  reverently  believed 
would  guarantee  through  his  children  the  continuing  progress  of 
the  race  toward  better  things.  This  beautiful  conception  of  the 
home  life  is  still  cherished  in  New  England  and  New  England 


has  indelibly  impressed  it  upon  the  nation.  There  are  alarmists 
who  would  have  us  believe  that  apartment  houses,  the  servant 
problem  and  the  menace  of  the  suffragettes  threaten  the  utter  de- 
struction of  the  American  home.  I  beg  of  you  not  to  believe  it. 
The  home  did  not  originate  in  Vermont  nor  in  New  England  nor 
in  America.  Some  would  declare  that  it  had  its  origin  in  the 
ancient  civilization  of  the  Teutons — but  even  that  is  not  al- 
together true.  The  home,  which  is  the  ideal  institution  of  our 
later  civilization,  found  the  reason  for  its  existence  in  the  standard 
established  by  Him  who  taught  in  the  unroofed  school-rooms  of 
Galilee,  saying,  "For  this  cause  shall  a  man  leave  father  and 
mother,  and  shall  cleave  to  his  wife,  and  they  twain  shall  be  one 
flesh."  It  is  true  that  our  Teutonic  ancestors  in  Germany  and 
Great  Britain  gave  the  first  fine  concrete  expression  to  the  divine 
command.  Our  puritan  forefathers  caught  it  up  and  transplanted 
it  in  New  England  and  New  England  has  established  it  forever 
and  secure  in  the  Western  Hemisphere. 

Men  naturally  love  home  and  the  teachings  of  Jesus  have  so 
exalted  the  ideal  of  the  family  that  the  holy  institution  is  bound 
to  command  increasing  reverence  with  the  added  years.  The  halo 
of  glory  divine  has  been  thrown  about  the  precious  words  sister, 
mother,  wife,  daughter,  through  the  decades  until  today  it  out- 
shines in  dazzling  splendor  the  glory  of  the  noon-day  sun  and  it 
will  gleam  with  resplendent,  undying  lustre  when  the  night  of 
earth  has  become  the  eternal  morning  of  heaven. 

Those  who  are  childless  are  conscious  always  of  something 
lacking  to  satisfy  the  consciousness  of  earthly  completeness.  The 
entwining  arms  of  unselfish  loving  little  ones  about  the  neck  never 
fail  to  impress  those  who  are  not  blessed  with  children  of  their 
own  and  he  who  has  precious  jewels  of  his  own  finds  life  empty, 
hollow  without  their  presence.  The  most  practical  matter-of- 
fact  man  of  affairs  away  from  home  for  a  little  time  on  business 
is  overcome  by  sense  of  depressing  homesickness  and  writes  of 


"Of  course  we  know  we  love  'em  when  we're  with  'em  every  day, 
"And  we'd  know  it  in  a  minute  if  one  chanced  to  get  away ; 

"But  we  take  a  lot  for  granted  in  the  common  course  of  life ; 
"And  the  world  keeps  tugging  at  us  with  its  everlasting 

e  strife. 


"But  when  a  little  journey  of  a  hundred  miles  or  so 

"Gets  between  us  and  the  garden  where  the  olive  branches 

"There's  a  sense  of  something  lacking  when  the  quiet  hours  come ; 
"And  a  rush  of  tender  longing  for  the  little  tads  at  home. 

"We  think  they're  awful  noisy  and  we  wish  they'd  let  us  be, 

"When  there's  half  a  dozen  scrapping  for  a  place  upon  our 

"We  want  to  read  the  paper  and  we'd  like  a  chance  to  think, 
"It's  a  wonder  such  a  racket  doesn't  drive  a  man  to  drink ! 

"But  the  little  hotel  chamber  is  as  quiet  as  a  tomb, 

"Not  a  note  of  childish  laughter  comes  to  drive  away  the 
gloom ; 

"And  we'd  give  a  thousand  dollars,  as  we  glower  in  our  room — 
"For  a  jolly  evening  tussle  with  the  little  tads  at  home. 

"We  do  a  little  reading,  then  we  try  a  quiet  thought, 

"But  the  page  gets  dim  and  blurry     as  with  tears  we  are 
caught ; 
"And  we  sit  beside  the  window  in  the  twilight  chill  and  gray; 
"While  our  thoughts  go  flying  homeward  to  the  cottage  far 

"The  same  Old  moon  shines  on  us  that  has  kissed  them  with  her 
"As  we  seek  our  lonely  pillow  to  be  with  them  in  our  dreams, 
"And  the  last  coherent  murmur  ere  the  mind  begins  to  roam — 
"Is  a  whispered  'God  bless  mamma  and  the  little  tads  at 
home.' " 

The  home  is  a  Christian  institution  and  it  will  continue  so 
long  as  the  Christian  religion  continues  as  a  potent  force  in  the 
civilization  processes.  We  pause  today  for  a  moment  to  do  honor 
to  the  forefathers  who  planted  the  home  on  secure  foundations 
in  Vermont.  Shall  we  not  here  and  now,  solemnly  pledge  our- 
selves that  we  will  perpetuate  the  memory  of  the  fathers  by  dedi- 
cating our  lives  anew  to  the  perpetuation  of  the  Christian  religion 
and  the  home  which  has  grown  from  it? 


Surely  patriotism  includes  strength,  bravery,  goodness  and 
domesticity  but  all  these  traits  of  patriotic  citizenship  require 
modification  to  make  them  adaptable  to  the  needs  of  each  suc- 
ceeding age  in  our  progressive  and  ever-progressing  civilization. 
May  we  not  then  with  perfect  propriety  on  this  auspicious  anni- 
versary consider  the  meaning  and  the  demand  of  THE  NEW 

It  is  well  to  distinguish  between  patriotism  and  loyalty. 
Patriotism  finds  its  origin  in  the  Greek  word  Patriotes  which 
means  fellow-countryman.  Patriotism  is  concerned  with  the  na- 
tional rather  than  the  local  spirit.  It  has  to  do  with  devotion  to 
country  rather  than  to  neighborhood. 

Loyalty,  on  the  other  hand,  admits  of  various  applications, 
Loyalty  is  included  in  patriotism  and  yet  it  is  more  than  patriot- 
ism. One  may  be  loyal  without  being  patriotic  but  one  can  not  be 
patriotic  without  being  loyal.  Patriotism  is  fealty  to  the  father- 
land. Loyalty  is  fidelity,  faithfulness,  constancy,  devotion.  It 
may  be  limited  simply  to  an  individual  or  it  may  extend  to  a 
group.  It  may  reach  out  and  take  in  a  county  or  a  state.  During 
the  Civil  War  or  fifty  years  ago  the  people  of  the  South  were 
loyal  to  their  own  states  but  none  of  us  would  declare  that  they 
were  patriotic.  The  people  of  the  North  were  both  loyal  and 
patriotic.  Because  they  were  loyal  to  the  nation  they  were 
patriots.  Patriotism  and  loyalty  are  synonymous  only  when  loy- 
alty is  given  its  largest  application  and  means  devotion  to  coun- 

Loyalty  is  of  the  best  sort  when  it  manifests  itself  in  every 
possible  way — in  allegiance  to  individuals,  in  allegiance  to  family, 
in  allegiance  to  neighborhood,  in  allegiance  to  state  and  in  al- 
legiance to  country,  which  is  patriotism.  All  these  forms  of  loy- 
alty should  be  cultivated. 

Loyalty  to  self  is  commendable.  The  individual  who  does 
not  believe  in  himself  will  not  enjoy  the  confidence  of  others.  It 
is  related  that  some  years  ago  two  gentlemen  were  earnestly  en- 
gaged in  a  discussion  in  the  rotunda  of  the  State  Capitol  in  Bos- 
ton. General  Ben  Butler  was  passing  by  when  the  discussion  was 
hottest  and  was  halted  by  one  of  the  participants.  "General,"  said 
the  gentleman,  "we  are  in  dispute  as  to  who  is  the  greatest  lawyer 
in  Massachusetts."    "Well,"  quickly  answered  the  bluff  old  hero 


of  New  Orleans,  "I'll  settle  that  for  you,  I'm  the  greatest  lawyer 
in  this  state."  "Yes,  ah — I  know,  but — ^but  General,"  queried 
the  gentleman,  "but — ah,  but  how  are  we  to  prove  it  ?"  "Prove  it ! 
Prove  it !"  thundered  Butler,  "You  don't  have  to  prove  it !  I  ad- 
mit it."  No  doubt  that  is  self  confidence  somewhat  overdone. 
The  finest  loyalty  to  self  is  that  begotten  of  "a  conscience  void  of 
offense  toward  God  and  toward  men."  The  consciousness  of  a 
pure  heart  and  unselfish  motives,  coupled  with  a  belief  in  one's 
own  possibilities,  induces  the  self-respect  which  makes  loyalty  to 
self  attainable.  To  be  worthy  of  loyalty  to  one's  self  is  a  noble 
aspiration  to  foster. 

With  self-loyalty  as  a  necessary  prerequisite  to  all  loyalty, 
the  individual  is  ready  to  cultivate  the  spirit  of  broad  and  con- 
stantly broadening  loyalty  which  reaches  out  in  devotion  to  the 
members  of  his  own  family,  his  tribe  or  his  clan.  That  man  is 
inexcusably  narrow,  however,  who  limits  his  interest  to  those 
of  his  own  household.  The  prayer  of  the  old  deacon,  "O  Lord, 
bless  me  and  my  wife,  my  son  John  and  his  wife,  us  four  and  no 
more"  would  not  carry  a  man  very  far  along  the  way  toward 
world-wide  brotherhood  and  universal  human  betterment. 

It  seems  hardly  necessary  to  urge  the  importance  of  town 
loyalty  in  Vermont.  Local  pride  is  a  dominant  characteristic 
of  our  people.  And  why  should  it  not  be  .so?  I  always  have  a 
feeling  when  I  leave  a  town  that  it  is  not  of  quite  the  same  im- 
portance that  it  was  when  I  was  living  in  it.  Well,  now,  that 
sounds  a  -bit  egotistical,  doesn't  it?  But  it  is  no  egotism.  It 
simply  means  that  my  interest  in  the  former  dwelling-place, 
though  by  no  means  lost,  is  transferred  in  large  measure  to  the 
new  community  where  by  reason  of  my  living,  my  obligation 
properly  belongs.  It  is  inconceivable  that  one  can  develop  any 
degree  of  efficiency  in  service  to  the  larger  units  unless  he  has 
demonstrated  his  worth  in  service  to  the  smaller  unit. 

It,  of  course,  goes  without  the  saying  that  every  true  citizen 
is  loyal  to  his  own  state.  If  he  is  not  loyal  he  is  not  a  true  citizen. 
He  who  believes  in  his  own  state  is  best  fitted  to  contribute  to  its 
advancement.  There  is,  however,  need  of  discrimination  be- 
tween loyalty  that  is  fundamental  and  loyalty  that  is  purely  ad- 
ventitous.    The  one  is  real — the  other  is  unreal.     One  is  well 


foundationed.  The  other  is  foundationless,  because  it  is  founded 
on  egotism  or  self  interest. 

If  we  are  loyal  to  our  state  simply  because  we  are  Vermonters 
or  for  the  reason  that  we  happen  to  live  here,  then  our  loyalty  is, 
indeed,'  of  the  most  superficial  quality.  General  Horace  Porter 
in  his  wonderfully  illuminating  work  entitled  "Campaigning  with 
Grant"  relates  a  most  interesting  incident  in  the  life  of  the 
"silent  chieftain."  After  that  awful  carnage  of  "The  Wilder- 
ness," just  as  Grant  and  his  staff  emerged,  a  band  of  negro 
musicians  struck  up  a  familiar  tune.  The  members  of  the  staff 
smiled  audibly  but  the  great  Commander  was  grim  and  immobile 
as  usual.  He  was,  though,  sufiSciently  interested  to  inquire  the 
reason  for  the  merriment  and  when  by  way  of  reply  he  was  asked 
if  he  did  not  recognize  the  tune  "Ain't  I  Glad  to  Get  Out  ob  de 
Wilderness?"  his  answer  was  that  he  only  knew  two  tunes — 
"One,"  he  said,  "was  Yankee  Doodle  and  the  other  wasn't."  The 
superficial  loyalist  knows  even  less  of  real  loyalty  than  General 
Grant  knew  of  music.  He  knows  but  two  things,  namely,  to  love 
what  he  has  and  to  despise  what  he  has  not. 

The  true  loyalist  is  never  complacent.  He  feels  an  interest 
in  the  state  or  locality  where  his  lot  is  cast  and  looks  about  to  see 
what  he  may  find  already  existing  to  accentuate  his  interest  and 
to  stimulate  his  just  pride.  He  studies  possibilities  and  finds 
his  largest  loyalty  developed  by  cooperating  with  his  fellow  citi- 
zens to  make  his  own  town  or  village  or  state  all  that  it  may  be  on 
the  basis  of  its  possibilities. 

In  Vermont  there  is  ample  ground  for  state  loyalty  in  what 
the  state  has  been  and  is  now.  The  record  of  history  is  all  to  our 
credit.  From  1609  when  Samuel  Champlain,  the  first  white  man 
to  look  upon  Vermont,  passed  by  our  western  shores,  through 
the  War  of  the  Rebellion  and  the  Spanish  American  War  up  to 
this  year  of  Grace  nineteen  hundred  and  thirteen  the  achievements 
of  Vermont  on  the  field  of  warfare  and  in  peaceful  pursuits  have 
been  such  as  to  challenge  the  admiration  of  mankind  and  to 
arouse  feelings  of  commendable  pride  in  all  our  own  people. 

The  first  settlement  was  made  in  1665  by  the  French  who 
built  Fort  Saint  Anne  on  Isle  La  Motte.  The  first  permanent 
settlement  was  made  at  Bennington  in  1761.  The  entire  terri- 
tory now  bearing  the  name  of  Vermont  was  claimed  by  New 


Hampshire  and  the  governor  of  that  state  exercising  what  he  be- 
lieved to  be  his  rightful  authority,  between  1762  and  1768,  con- 
veyed to  settlers  in  Vermont  one  hundred  and  thirty-eight  town- 
ships of  land  called  "The  New  Hampshire  Grants."  It  was  the 
insistence  of  New  York,  however,  that  all  this  land  was  right- 
fully hers  under  a  charter  granted  by  Charles  II  to  the  Duke  of 
York  and  in  1763  Governor  Tryon  ordered  a  sheriff  to  eject  all 
settlers  holding  lands  under  titles  from  New  Hampshire.  Then 
the  hardy  settlers  of  these  mountains  and  valleys  under  the  lead 
of  Ethan  Allen  and  Seth  Baker  and  others  formed  themselves 
into  companies,  banded  together  to  protect  each  other  against  all 
efforts  to  drive  them  from  their  lands.  These  were  the  celebrated 
"Green  Mountain  Boys"  whose  opposition  to  the  New  York  of- 
ficers was  so  resolute  and  effective  that  the  latter  were  corri- 
pelled  to  return  home  without  accomplishing  their  purpose.  New 
York  appealed  to  King  George  and  obtained  a  decision  supporting 
its  title.  The  settlers,  though,  had  paid  for  their  lands  and  re- 
fused to  give  them  up  even  at  the  behest  of  a  king.  A  bloody 
contest  was  averted  only  by  the  opening  of  the  Revolutionary 
War  which  so  occupied  the  attention  of  all  true  Americans  that  ■ 
minor  disputes  seemed  insignificant  and  were  lost  in  the  larger 
questions.  The  settlers,  however,  intent  on  maintaining  their 
rights,  met  in  convention,  adopted  a  constitution,  proclaimed 
their  independence,  chose  representatives  to  Congress  and  applied 
for  admission  to  the  Confederacy. 

Through  the  persistent  opposition  of  New  York,  Congress 
refused  to  consider  the  proposition  to  make  a  new  state,  so  Ver- 
mont set  up  an  independent  government  and  renewed  her  bound- 
ary troubles  with  New  York  and  New  Hampshire.  In  October, 
1790,  it  was  agreed  that  New  York  should  cease  opposition  to 
the  admission  of  Vermont  to  the  Union  on  the  payment  of  thirty 
thousand  dollars  for  disputed  land  claims.  This  was  paid  and 
after  nearly  fifty  years  of  heroic  struggle  in  defence  of  her  rights 
Vermont,  on  the  18th  day  of  February,  1791,  was  admitted  as 
the  fourteenth  state  of  the  American  Union. 

Though  occupied  with  these  internecine  troubles  Vermonters 
never  lost  sight  of  their  larger  obligation  to  the  great  nation  which 
was  born  out  of  our  larger  conflict  with  England.  The 
sturdy  settlers  of  this  independent  state  rendered  valiant  service 


to  the  other  states  during  the  Revolutionary  War  at  Ticonderoga, 
Crown  Point  and  Bennington.  And  to  make  the  situation  yet 
more  complex  and  trying  the  British  troops  were  striving  to 
over-run  the  state  by  rushing  in  upon  Vermont  from  Canada, 
hoping  to  retain  it  as  a  British  colony.  Ethan  Allen  and  Ira  Al- 
len were  alert  and  valiant  leaders  of  the  people,  however,  and  by 
diplomacy  and  bravery  in  proper  combination  they  saved  Ver- 
mont to  the  United  States,     a 

In  the  Civil  War  Vermont  furnished  35,242  Union  soldiers, 
or  one  for  every  ten  of  its  entire  population,  and  one-half  of  all 
its  able-bodied  men.  Is  not  the  record  of  our  history  from  the 
very  beginning  up  to  the  auspicious  present,  then,  glorious  enough 
to  stir  the  loyalty  to  this  state  which  should  be  made  manifest  in 
undying  devotion? 

Then,  the  scenery  contributed  by  the  Master  Builder  of  the 
universe  to  Vermont  is  a  constant  stimulus  to  the  loyalty  of  him 
who  has  eyes  that  see.  It  was  William  H.  Lord  who  in  writing 
of  Vermont  scenery  declared  that  "A  few  regions  God  has  made 
more  beautiful  than  others.  His  hand  has  fashioned  some 
dreams  or  symbols  of  Heaven  in  certain  landscapes  of  earth; 
and  we  have  always  thought  the  Almighty  intended  when  He 
formed  the  -hills  of  Vermont  and  shook  out  the  green  drapery 
of  the  forests  over  their  sloping  shoulders,  and  made  them  in 
folds  like  the  robe  of  a  king  along  their  sides,  to  give  us  a  dim 
picture  of  the  new  creation  and  the  celestial  realm." 

Then  think  of  our  splendid  type  of  citizenship  in  this  state 
and  fail  in  loyalty  to  Vermont  if  you  can!  The  frontiersmen 
who  blazed  their  ways  through  the  trackless  forests  in  defiance  of 
wild  beasts  and  blood-thirsty  savages  to  build  homes  and  found  a 
worthy  civilization  for  posterity  were  no  ordinary  men.  They 
felled  the  trees,  tilled  the  land,  threw  up  the  highways,  bridged 
the  streams,  erected  their  school-houses  and  reared  their  churches 
in  the  face  of  difficulties  that  would  have  bafiEled  or  defeated  men 
of  the  common  type.  These  men  of  the  early  Vermont  with  the 
heroic,  God-fearing  women  who  were  their  faithful  help-mates 
were  progenitors  from  whose  loins  have  sprung  the  Vermont 
citizenship  of  the  present  day,  the  most  independent,  truth-loving 
and  industrious  in  the  sisterhood  of  states. 


It  has  become  the  fashion  in  some  quarters  to  speak  sneer- 
ingly  of  the  commercial  and  agricultural  standing  of  Vermont 
but  we  need  not  assume  a  cringing  or  apologetic  attitude  at  this 
point.  There  are  more  than  30,000  farms  in  this  state  with  a  total 
acreage  of  4,600,000  acres,  valued  at  above  $112,000,000— an 
increase  of  35  per  cent,  in  the  10  years  extending  from  1901- 
1911.  Encouraging  also  is  the  knowledge  that  the  average  farm 
consists  of  143  acres,  indicating  tljat  our  people  own  their  own 
property  and  are  not  victims  of  any  oppressive  land-lord  system. 
No  feudal  castle  or  patroon  system  has  ever  existed  in  free  Ver- 
mont.    In  this  respect,  also,  the  state  stands  unique. 

Talk  about  "abandoned  farms!"  Connect  that  thread-bare 
expression  with  the  fact  that  in  1910  our  live-stock  in  Vermont 
consisted  of  94,000  horses,  285,000  dairy  cows,  210,000  other 
cattle,  95,000  hogs  and  229,000  sheep.  Bear  in  mind  that  our 
annual  wool-clip  approximates  a  quarter  of  a  million  dollars 
annually  and  that  in  1911,  1,509,000  dollars  worth  of  wheat, 
$2,157,000  worth  of  potatoes  and  $16,926,000  worth  of  hay  should 
be  placed  to  the  credit  of  Vermont  and  then  be  cynical  if  you 
can  concerning  our  agricultural  resources. 

It  is  only  necessary  to  consult  such  authority  as  the  Report 
of  the  United  States  Geological  Survey  to  learn  that  in  1909  the 
mineral  output  of  Vermont  including  clay  products,  lime,  min- 
eral waters,  ochre,  sand  and  gravel,  slate,  stone,  marble  and 
granite,  talc,  soapstone  and  other  products  were  valued  at  the 
princely  sum  of  $8,626,929.  Is  that  a  discouragement  to  state 
loyalty  ? 

And  how  about  our  manufactured  products?  I  regret  that 
I  have  no  later  authority  on  this  subject  than  the  United  States 
Industrial  Census  of  1905  which  shows  that  the  value  of  the 
manufactured  products  in  Vermont  for  that  year  was  more  than 
$63,000,000.  It  is  fair  to  assume  that  in  these  eight  years  of 
unexampled  prosperity  we  have  made  a  normal  advance  in  the 
value  of  manufactures  and  here  once  more  we  find  a  proper 
stimulant  for  state  loyalty. 

Then  turn  your  attention  to  our  pubhc  institutions  and  our 
educational  system  and  find  justification  for  becoming  loyalty. 
Homes  for  the  poor,  institutions  for  destitute  children,  reforma- 
tories, hospitals,  industrial  schools  and  alms-houses  indicate  that 


our  people  are  alive  to  the  obligation  they  owe  to  society  and  its 
erring  and  unfortunate  children.  Church  spires  pointing  heaven- 
ward in  every  neighborhood  are  testimony  to  our  reverence  for 
God  and  our  belief  in  the  eternal  verities. 

In  common  with  other  New  England  States  we  find  Vermont 
in  the  very  beginning  of  its  existence  providing  for  the  education 
of  its  childhood  and  youth.  The  Constituton  of  1777  recognized 
the  necessity  of  a  system  of  public  education  complete  from  ele- 
mentary schools  to  University  and  the  organic  law  of  the  state 
adopted  in  1793  declared  "a  competent  number  of  schools  ought 
to  be  maintained  in  each  town  for  the  convenient  instruction  of 
youth  and  one  or  more  grammar  schools  be  incorporated  and 
properly  supported  in  each  County  of  this  State."  Even  away 
back  in  the  days  of  the  New  Hampshire  Grants  this  inchoate 
state  of  ours  was  laying  the  foundation  of  our  common  school  es- 
tabhshment.  In  1762,  the  very  next  year-  after  the  first  perma- 
nent settlers  had  housed  their  families  at  Bennington,  they  taxed 
themselves  to  build  a  school-house.  From  that  day  on  Vermont 
has  been  no  laggard  in  providing  its  childhood  and  youth  with 
facilities  for  elementary  and  secondary  schooling.  It  is  true,  no 
doubt,  that  our  school-houses  and  appliances  are  not  all  that  they 
should  be,  and  neither,  for  that  matter,  are  they  so  in  any  other 
state  in  the  union.  We  should  have  a  care  that  Vermont  is  not  by 
slander  of  her  own  people  held  up  to  the  contempt  of  the  rest  of 
the  world.  It  has  been  my  privilege  to  visit  and  gain  some  first- 
hand knowledge  of  nearly  every  one  of  the  United  States  and  I 
can  not  condemn  too  severely  the  reflections  of  discredit  upon 
Vermont  people  and  Vermont  institutions  that  have  been  circu- 
lated through  the  public  prints  and  flung  from  the  platform  to  the 
humiliation  of  every  loyal  citizen  of  our  fair  state.  I  have  no 
question  but  that  the  moral  standards  of  some  Vermonters  liv- 
ing in  our  cities  as  well  as  in  the  isolated  mountain  towns  are 
lower  than  they  should  be,  but  at  our  worst  we  have  no  record 
of  murderous  police  officers  such  as  shames  New  York ;  we  have 
no  reputation  as  a  nursery  for  unapprehended  criminals  as 
Chicago  has;  there  is  no  stench  of  graft  rising  above  any  Ver- 
mont city  like  that  of  San  Francisco ;  there  is  here  no  exploita- 
tion of  white  slavery  such  as  St.  Louis  has  known;  the  illicit 


stills  and  law-evading  moonshiners  of  Kentucky  have  no  kindred 
spirits  in  the  mountain  fastnesses  of  Vermont. 

It  is  a  sad  fact  that  many  of  our  school  surroundings  are 
unattractive  and  many  of  our  schoolrooms  bare  and  destitute 
of  necessary  apparatus,  but  we  are  not  peculiar  in  these  re- 
spects. Turn  to  an  editorial  in  the  issue  of  The  Journal  of  Edu- 
cation for  the  17th  of  July,  1913,  and  read  this  report  of  a  school 
survey  of  one  of  the  wealthiest  and  most  populous  states  to  the 
west  of  us.  "School-rooms  are  insufficient,  equipment  inade- 
quate, and  conveniences  often  lacking  in  comfort  and  sanita- 
tion !"  That  statement  could  be  duplicated  in  every  state  in  the 
Union.  We  should  have  a  care  that  we  do  not  defile  our, own 
garments  unnecessarily  to  invite  a  contempt  from  mankind  that 
Vermont  does  not  deserve.  The  "muck-raker"  perhaps  has  a 
mission  but  he  exceeds  his  mission  when,  to  get  into  the  public 
eye,  he  heaps  unmerited  obloquy  upon  those  whose  glory  and 
honor  he  should  defend. 

With  words  of  patriotic  wisdom  Doctor  Winship  declares 
that  "The  little  red  school-house  is  still  a  potent  influence  though 
it  has  in  recent  years  changed  its  color  and  increased  its  size." 
We  want  to  put  more  maps  and  charts  and  globes  and  devices  in- 
side these  country  schools.  We  want  to  make  the  out-buildings 
sanitary  and  decent.  We  hope  to  have  green  lawns  and  attrac- 
tive walks  about  our  little  school-houses.  We  shall  have  school 
gardens  and  we  will  lead  many  other  states  in  these  improve- 
ments because  it  is  theVermont  spirit  to  lead  and  not  because  we 
have  been  held  up  to  unjust  shame  and  ignominy  before  the  en- 
tire world. 

Why  may  we  not  point  with  loyal  pride  to  such  service-hon- 
ored institutions  as  St.  Johnsbury  Academy,  Montpelier  Seminary, 
Bellows  Free  Academy,  St.  Michael's  College,  Hopkins  Hall,  Troy 
Conference  Academy,  People's  Academy  and  other  similar 
schools  that  have  given  to  our  boys  and  girls  a  fitting  for  life  and 
higher  education  that  has  made  Vermont  famous  for  the  thorough- 
ness of  its  secondary  training?  Why  not  point  to  such  efficient 
high  schools  as  Rutland,  Bellows  Falls,  Brattleboro,  Barre,  Bur- 
lington, Montpelier  and  St.  Albans  and  announce  to  the  universe 
that  we  are  striving  to  bring  all  others  up  relatively  to  the  stand- 
ard set  by  these?    Why  not  call  attention  to  the  fact  that  we 


have  such  institutions  of  higher  learning  as  the  University  of 
Vermont  founded  in  1791,  Middlebury  College  established  in 
1800  and  Norwich  University  started  in  1834  and  declare  our 
loyalty  to  the  state  based  upon  the  satisfaction  of  what  our  state 
has  been  educationally  and  what  we  expect  it  to  be  with  the 
progressive  march  of  civilization? 

The  largest  ground  for  our  state  loyalty,  of  course,  lies  not 
so  much  in  what  we  have  been  as  in  what  we  expect  to  be.  Our 
past  history  is  a  splendid  inspiration  but  it  is  our  possibilities  of 
material,  intellectual  and  moral  development  that  should  consti- 
tute our  chief  incentive  to  endeavor.  The  challenge  to  realize  on 
our  wonderful  opportunities  for  growth  should  be  the  quickening 
spur  to  greater  loyalty — ^the  motive  for  the  nurture  of  that  loy- 
alty which  grows  by  helping  in  the  accomplishment  of  a  worthy 

If  all  these  things  have  been  done  in  a  green  tree,  "what 
shall  be  done  in  the  dry?"  Our  farms  have  not  yet  reached  the 
limit  of  their  productiveness.  The  law  of  diminishing  returns 
has  hot  yet  begun  to  operate  in  Vermont.  For  nearly  a  half 
century  the  fertile  prairie  lands  of  the  western  states  have  had  a 
glamour  cast  about  them  that  has  drawn  away  many  of  our 
promising  young  men  from  the  state  of  their  fathers.  They  have 
gone  where  they  thought  material  wealth  might  easier  and  more 
quickly  be  found,  not  realizing  that  they  were  leaving  "acres  of 
diamonds"  behind  them  in  their  native  hills  and  valleys.  But  the 
days  of  homesteading  are  over  and  the  lure  of  the  Dakotas  and 
Kansas  and  Nebraska  and  the  farther  West  is  not  so  strong  as 
it  once  was.  Our  young  men  and  women  in  coming  years  will 
catch  the  spirit  of  the  new  loyalty  which  will  at  once  give  them  a 
due  appreciation  of  the  priceless  heritage  bequeathed  by  their 
ancestors  and  a  proper  understanding  of  the  resources  that  lie 
latent  in  Vermont.  Under  the  spell  of  this  new  loyalty  we  shall 
no  longer  offer  our  best  young  life  to  other  states.  The  applica- 
tion of  scientific  methods  in  intensive  agriculture  will  guarantee 
returns  from  the  soil  of  Vermont  that  will  multiply  the  volume 
and  the  value  of  our  crops  and  insure  the  increasing  self-respect 
that  is  always  born  of  moderate  prosperity. 

Our  brooks  and  creeks  and  rivers  have  not  yet  begun  to  pay 
the  toll  that  may  be  secured  from  them.     Our  highways  are  not 


the  Standing  invitation  to  easy  travel  that  they  may  become.  Our 
railroads  and  trolley  lines  have  not  all  been  built.  Our  lakes 
are  not  yet  floating  all  the  commerce  they  can  carry.  The 
young  Vermonter  with  an  eye  open  to  the  opportunities  afforded 
by  the  development  of  our  unequalled  water-power  facilities  and 
the  improvement  of  transportation  may  catch  the  spirit  of  a  new 
loyalty  that  will  set  him  to  work  on  our  great  engineering  prob- 
lems and  make  him  invaluable  in  the  service  of  a  state  growing 
continually  richer  by  the  proper  utihzation  of  its  natural  re- 

Then,  when  the  new  loyalty  has  brought  Vermont  to  its  own 
in  agriculture  and  commerce,  manufacturing  industries  will  be 
multiplied,  mercantile  pursuits  will  increase,  more  doctors  and 
lawyers  will  be  needed  and  prosperity  will  smile  day  and  night 
upon  a  people  happy  in  the  consciousness  of  residence  in  a  state 
compelled  to  yield  the  best  it  has  for  the  welfare  of  its  citizen- 

But  this  new  loyalty  will  do  more  than  add  to  the  material 
advancement  of  Vermont.  Sad  indeed  is  the  condition  of  any 
people  so  surfeited  with  temporal  success  or  so  drunk  with  the 
wine  of  mere  physical  satisfaction  that  they  shut  themselves  up 
within  themselves  and  forget  the  great  obligation  for  social  ser- 
vice. The  new  loyalty  should  beget  a  larger  interest  in  human- 

For  centuries  men  have  been  repeating  the  command  of  the 
Master  "Thou  shalt  love  thy  neighbor  as  thyself"  but  it  is  to  be 
feared  that  many  times  these  words  are  "as  sounding  brass  and 
tinkling  cymbal."  Who  is  your  neighbor  of  the  divine  conception? 
He  lives  in  the  next  dooryard,  to  be  sure.  He  lives  down  the 
street ;  he  lives  in  the  next  town,  in  the  next  county,  in  the  next 
state.  Your  neighbor  sails  the  seas  and  scales  the  mountains.  He 
pastures  his  flocks  on  the  hillsides  and  waters  them  in  the  brooks 
of  the  valley.  Your  neighbor  is  the  judge  on  the  bench,  the  sewer 
digger  of  the  streets.  Your  neighbor  dwells  on  the  bleak  mount 
and  plains,  he  toils  in  the  cane-brakes  hard  by  the  bayous  of  Louis- 
iana. Your  neighbor  is  the  child-kiUing  mother  of  Hindoostan, 
the  almond-eyed  Celestial,  the  flat-nosed  negro,  the  Australian 
bushman,  the  European  gentleman.  Your  neighbor  is  the  raving, 
wild-eyed  maniac  of  the  asylum,  the  striped  clothed  convict  be- 


hind  prison  bars.  Your  neighborhood  is  not  circumscribed  by 
the  narrow  limits  of  your  own  community.  It  reaches  out  to  the 
islands  of  the  seas  and  the  ends  of  the  earth — it  is  as  broad  as 
creation,  as  inclusive  as  the  universal  man.  Then  "love  thy 
neighbor  as  thyself." 


"There  are  hermit  souls  that  live  withdrawn 

In  the  place  of  their  self-content: 
There  are  souls,  like  stars,  that  dwell  apart, 

In  a  fellowless  firmament: 
There  are  pioneer  souls  that  blaze  their  paths 

Where  highways  never  ran — 
But  let  me  live  by  the  side  of  the  road 

And  be  a  friend  to  man. 

"Let  me  live  in  a  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

Where  the  race  of  men  go  by — 
The  men  who  are  good  and  the  men  who  are  bad, 

As  good  and  as  bad  as  I. 
I  would  not  sit  in  the  scomer's  seat, 

Or  hurl  the  cynic's  ban — 
Let  me  live  in  a  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

And  be  a  friend  to  man. 

"I  see  from  my  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

By  the  side  of  the  highway  of  life, 
The  men  who  press  with  the  ardor  of  hope. 

The  men  who  are  faint  with  the  strife. 
But  I  turn  not  away  from  their  smiles  nor  their  tears — 

Both  parts  of  an  infinite  plan — 
Let  me  live  in  a  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

And  be  a  friend  to  man. 

"I  know  there  are  brook-gladdened  meadows  ahead, 

And  mountains  of  wearisome  height : 
That  the  road  passes  on  through  the  long  afternoon 

And  stretches  away  to  the  night. 


But  still  I  rejoice  when  the  travelers  rejoice 

And  weep  with  the  strangers  that  moan 
Nor  live  in  my  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

Like  a  man  who  dwells  alone. 

"Let  me  live  in  my  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

Where  the  race  of  men  go  by — 
They  are  good,  they  are  bad,  they  are  weak,  they  are  strong. 

Wise,  foolish— so  am  I. 
Then  why  should  I  sit  in  the  scorner's  seat 

Or  hurl  the  cynic's  ban  ? 
Let  me  live  in  my  house  by  the  side  of  the  road 

And  be  a  friend  to  man." 

Loyalty,  like  charity,  begins  at  home.  To  grow  this  spirit 
of  universal  neighborhood  we  must  cultivate  a  love  for  the  men 
and  women  of  our  own  town  and  state.  There  must  be  a  tender 
heart  for  our  poor  and  needy.  When  we  realize  our  obligations 
to  all  mankind  aright  we  will  realize  our  special  obligation  to  those 
who  live  nearer  to  us.  This  new  loyalty  finds  its  expression  in 
public  libraries  and  reading  rooms,  in  the  encouragement  of  en- 
tertainments of  a  refining  character,  in  clean  door-yards,  streets 
and  highways,  in  improved  sanitation  and  conditions  that  pro- 
mote the  general  health. 

The  new  loyalty  will  create  a  living  church  to  rise  upon  the 
empty  forms  and  ceremonies.  It  will  insist  upon  constantly  im- 
proving educational  facilities  all  the  way  from  the  kindergarten 
to  the  college  and  through  the  University. 

I  have  been  much  interested  in  reading  an  article  from  the 
pen  of  Professor  Carl  Holliday  of  Southwestern  University  en- 
titled "A  Brief  Account  of  Ancient  Schools  Written  A.  D.  2300." 
Placing  himself  forward  at  that  date  he  says :  "Recently  while  I 
was  looking  over  some  ancient  books  dealing  with  education  it  oc- 
curred to  me  that  it  might  be  pleasing  to  the  readers  of  this  good 
year  2300  to  be  told  something  about  the  schools  of  the  early 
days — say  about  the  year  1913.  With  this  idea  in  mind  I  set 
myself  to  the  pleasant  task  of  investigating  the  old  records  in  the 
volumes  of  the  government  library  in  our  city  and  hoping  to  sur- 
prise the  enlightened  folk  of  my  own  time  I  myself  became  amaz- 


ed  at  the  crudeness,  the  barbarity  and  absolute  cruelty  of  the 
former  methods  of  training  children. 

I  found  that  the  school  buildings  were  indeed  strange  con- 
trivances. They  were  frequently  built  three,  four  or  even  five 
stories  high  and  even  in  that  unobservant  age,  the  dangers  of 
fire  were  so  evident  that  each  teacher  was  required  to  put  the 
pupil  through  what  was  known  as  firedrills.  My  readers  may 
wonder  why  in  the  face  of  such  perils  the  structures  were  erected 
in  that  fashion.  So  far  as  I  have  been  able  to  discover  the  rea- 
son lay  in  the  stinginess  of  the  public.  They  could  not  spare 
the  land.  Space  in  the  cities  was  indeed  rather  high  even  in  that 
day,  but  the  price  was  nothing  compared  with  the  values  now  set 
on  the  same  areas  by  the  Government  Commissioners  of 
valuation,  and  yet  the  public  of  the  twentieth  century  cooped 
up  children  in  tall  'fire-traps'  lest  the  city  tax  be  increased 
a  few  cents  per  individual.  Indeed  it  was  not  until  near 
the  close  of  the  century  that  various  states  began  to  make  one- 
storied  school  houses  obligatory.  Think  of  it !  Instead  of  enter- 
ing the  low  broad  structures  of  today  and  looking  out  upon  shady 
lawns  and  play  grounds,  the  poor  little  rascals  of  those  ancient 
times  climbed  up  above  where  the  tree  tops  should  have  been 
and  regularly  practiced  saving  their  lives  from  dangers  brought 
on  by  the  close-fisted  citizens. 

It  was  not  until  about  the  year  two  thousand  that  it  was  made 
unlawful  to  place  another  structure  within  three  hundred  feet  of 
a  school-house  and  even  then  some  of  the  old-fashioned  people 
complained  that  the  world  was  being  given  up  to  the  children. 

And  can  I  describe  to  you  the  interiors  of  one  of  these  an- 
cient schools — the  barrenness,  the  soul-killing  regularity  and  the 
utter  desolation  of  it  all  ?  The  boys  and  girls  were  required  to  sit 
in  what  were  called  desks,  (A  desk  was  a  wooden  seat  with  a  wri- 
ting board  attached  to  the  seat  in  front)  and  these  desks  were 
screwed  to  the  floor !  I  found  in  the  record  of.  the  proceedings 
of  the  Boston  School  Board  that  in  the  year  1940  a  gentleman 
asked  the  members  if  their  chairs  and  dining-tables  and  pianos 
were  screwed  to  the  floor  in  their  homes  and  they  informed  him 
that  regularity  in  the  seating  had  to  be  preserved  or  else  there 
could  be  no  discipline.  Ah !  discipHne  was  a  great  matter  in  those 
days.     The  Pedagogs  of  the  twentieth  century  forgot  that  soul 


growth  and  not  discipline  was  the  aim  of  education.  These 
desks  were  all  built  alike,  looked  equally  ugly  and  were  apparently 
an  invention  of  his  Satanic  Majesty.  They  were  placed  in  regu- 
lar rows  so  that  every  pupil  had  to  look  squarely  to  the  front  and 
woe  to  the  youngster  who  cast  his  eyes  to  the  right  or  to  the  left. 
The  cruelty  of  the  system  was  nothing  short  of  astounding. 

How  the  little  ones  kept  from  going  stark  mad  would  be 
the  wonder  of  our  day.  The  walls  were  almost  invariably  a  glar- 
ing white  or  a  dirty  grey,  and  were  as  blank  as  a  desert.  The 
idea  had  not  occurred  to  school  boards  that  a  tint  of  green  or 
other  restful  color  might  save  many  an  eye  and  brain.  There  was 
absolutely  no  place  for  the  eye  to  rest  itself,  all  was  alike.  Doubt- 
less you  are  thinking  that  the  tired  youngsters  could  at  least  gain 
refreshment  by  gazing  now  and  then  out  of  the  windows,  but  no, 
the  windows  in  numerous  schools  were  purposely  placed  above  the 
heads  of  the  children  so  that  their  attention  might  not  be  dis- 
tracted from  their  books.  Even  if  they  could  have  looked  out 
they  would  have  seen  no  flowers,  no  trees,  no  fountains  and  no 
birds  only  tall  grim  storehouses  and  ugly,  smoky  factories.  Oh! 
It  was  pitiful.  Seldom  indeed  were  there  any  pictures  on  the  walls 
and  such  as  there  were,  were  not  in  colors,  but  simply  plain  black 
and  white  copies.  The  custom  of  painting  patriotic  scenes  and 
beautiful  views  upon  the  walls  did  not  prevail  until  about  two 
thousand  and  twenty,  and  even  then,  some  parents  angrily  declared 
the  children  were  sent  to  school  to  look  at  their  books  and  not  at 
the  walls.  They  had  not  discovered  that  an  ounce  of  inspiration 
is  worth  a  pound  of  fact.  Growing  flowers  and  potted  ferns  and 
palms  may  have  been  in  the  rooms  as  now:  but  I  could  find  no 
record  of  such  a  thing.  AH !  I  wonder  what  the  poor  little  boys 
and  girls  of  the  twentieth  century  did  with  the  eyes  God  gave 
them  to  find  beauty  with.  How  those  eyes  must  have  suffered! 
Because  of  the  custom  of  building  school-houses  several  stories 
high  each  room  did  not  have  a  glazed  skylight  as  now  but  the 
light  came  in,  day  after  day,  from  a  row  of  high  uncurtained 
windows.  The  result  of  this  was  numerous  cross-eyed,  wall- 
eyed and  weak-eyed  children  and  the  condition  became  so  pitiful 
that  about  the  year  1910  many  cities  appointed  school  inspectors 
of  eyes.  But  it  was  not  until  long  afterwards  that  the  true  reme- 
dies were  applied.    Even   after  the  children   left  the  school- 


rooms  there  was  little  eye-rest ;  for  in  those  days  it  was  custom- 
ary to  make  pavements  of  white  or  light  gray  concrete,  and  to 
walk  a  mile  on  these  on  a  bright  day  was  nothing  sort  of  torture. 
Toward  the  close  of  the  twentieth  century  the  green  and  dark 
blue  pavement  so  common  now  came  into  use.  One  of  the  comic 
papers  of  1991  stated  that  in  earlier  days  aldermen  painted  the 
town  red,  but  now  were  painting  it  green.  I  tried  to  discover  the 
meaning  of  this,  but  nowhere  could  I  find  that  aldermen  had  been 
so  lavish  with  paint,  except  white-wash,  which  was  mentioned 
by  numerous  papers. 

A  most  cruel  requirement  of  the  early  twentieth  century  was 
that  of  night  work  on  the  part  of  the  boys  and  girls.  Whereas 
now  it  is  against  the  law  for  parents  to  allow  a  child  under  fifteen 
to  read  at  all  after  nine  o'clock,  the  children  of  those  days  were 
loaded  with  studies  to  be  carried  on.  at  home  and  in  the  higher 
grades  the  young  people  often  times  boasted  of  sitting  up  until 
one  and  two  o'clock  to  prepare  for  examinations.  I  happened  to 
find  a  newspaper,  printed  in  1908,  that  a  member  of  the  Texas 
Legislature  proposed  a  bill  to  make  such  night  work  unlawful; 
but  his  colleagues  declared  that  this  was  only  a  blow  at  a  business 
concern  then  known  as  the  Standard  Oil  Company  and  his  bill 
was  laughed  .down.  Almost  a  century  later  the  wisdom  of  his 
idea  was  realized  by  all  thinkers. 

As  I  read  these  musty  old  records,  I  wondered  why  every- 
body did  not  go  blind  in  those  times.  All  the  school  books  were 
then  printed  on  white  paper  and  often  a  glossy  white  at  that. 
The  letters  were  invariably  in  black,  thus  the  little  fellows  read 
and  read  until  they  must  have  been  haunted  by  specks  of  black 
and  white.  Today  only  a  minute  per  cent,  of  our  college  boys  and 
girls  are  bothered  with  spectacles;  but  some  pictures  I  found 
among  the  records  lead  me  to  believe  that  the  student  body,  es- 
pecially the  professors  of  the  twentieth  century  were  partners  in 
a  glass  factory. 

In  those  strange  years  the  preservation  of  health  was  a  very 
unimportant  matter.  That  rare  disease  known  as  tuberculosis 
or  consumption  was  most  common  then,  and  children  afflicted 
with  it  sat  in  the  same  room  as  the  other  children.  In  1909  an 
open  air  school  for  such  unfortunates  was  established  in  Chicago 
and  the  newspapers  in  that  year  show  that  numerous  taxpayers 


looked  upon  it  as  a  down-right  waste  of  money.  The  lack  of 
playgrounds,  the  scarcity  of  trees  and  plants,  the  dust  caused 
by  unoiled  streets  and  by  the  use  in  the  schools  of  chalk  for  wri- 
ting on  blackboards,  the  defective  heating  systems,  the  germs  hid- 
den in  dirty  wooden  floors,  and  the  custom  of  sleeping  with  closed 
windows,  all  these,  at  length,  made  this  disease  such  a  scourge 
that  about  the  year  1950  the  whole  nation  spent  miUions  upon 
millions  in  destroying  the  sources  of  the  pestilence. 

It  may  seem  ridiculous  and  yet  it  is  really  true  that  in  the 
twentieth  century  laws  had  to  be  made  compelling  children  to 
go  to  school.  Part  of  the  resistance  came  from  parents,  but  most 
of  it  from  the  children  themselves.  Whereas  the  child  of  today 
loves  the  activities  of  education  and  looks  upon  the  school  as  its 
second  home,  I  find  that  the  normal  boy  of  four  centuries  ago 
dreaded  and  even  hated  the  institution. 

At  length  it  was  discovered  that  the  cramped  position  long 
maintained  in  sitting  at  a  desk  would  make  any  natural  creature 
restive  or  dull  or  vicious,  and  by  the  year  1975  all  schools  had 
adopted  a  curriculum  in  which  each  hour  of  mental  work  was 
followed  by  an  hour  of  physical  work  such  as  carving,  moulding, 
gardening,  etc.  There  was  an  astonishing  decrease,  not  only  of 
misbehavior,  but  also  of  truancy,  and  I  suppose  there  has  not  been 
a  case  of  punishment  for  unnecessary  absence  in  a  hundred  years. 

Besides  the  total  over-sight  of  animal  activities  there  were 
other  causes  to  make  school  hateful.  The  end  of  all  teaching  in 
the  twentieth  century  seems  to  have  been  facts,  facts,  facts.  In- 
spiration was  a  neglected  factor.  In  their  search  for  facts— 
which  were  of  minor  value  in  literature  and  arts — ^they  crushed 
all  the  rich  blood  out  of  the  subject,  and  the  boys  did  not  care 
for  the  dry  bones  that  remained.  About  the  middle  of  the  twen- 
tieth century  teachers  of  the  various  literatures  began  to 
call  music,  painting  and  sculpture  to  their  aid,  and  now  as  we 
know,  ev,ery  literary  course  has  its  musical  recitals  to  illustrate 
such  matters  as  the  poetry  of  Shakespeare,  Byron,  Haine  and 
Tennyson.  But  these  changes  did  not  come  without  a  struggle. 
When  in  1950  the  University  of  Chicago  appointed  a  musician 
to  assist  the  instructors  in  literature,  the  papers  of  the  city  an- 
nounced the  fact  in  sarcastic  head  lines,  while  one  presented  the 
hideous  cartoon  picturing  a  professor  of  English  singing  Omar 


Khayyam's  "Rubaiyat"  to  the  accompaniment  of  an  Italian  organ 

Music,  it  seems,  was  looked  upon  as  a  fashionable  frivolity 
for  women  and  most  men  received  theirs  through  the  now  anti- 
quated phonograph.  Not  until  about  the  year  2000  was  it  thor- 
oughly realized  that  this  branch  of  learning  had  as  important  an 
influence  upon  the  growth  of  the  perfect  man  as  Mathematics, 
Literature  or  History.  About  that  date,  however,  the  various 
states  made  the  teaching  of  music  compulsory,  and  for  the  past 
two  hundred  years  every  school  building  has  had  its  school 
musician  to  play  and  explain  the  best  quality  of  music  daily. 

As  I  read  the  strange  books  and  strange  newspapers  of  four 
centuries  ago  the  fact  dawned  upon  me  that  there  were  then  no 
school  or  church  theaters.  Could  it  be  possible  ?  Vigorous  search 
brought  to  light  the  statement  that  in  the  first  decade  of  the 
twentieth  century  a  New  York  church  made  a  feeble  effort  along 
this  line,  but  had  been  so  violently  condemned  by  the  other 
churches  that  the  effort  was  abandoned.  Many  preachers  pro- 
nounced the  histrionic  art  an  invention  of  the  devil,  but  as  time 
passed,  the  Kindergarten  pointed  out  that  children  loved  to  act ; 
dances  imitating  the  dances  of  animals  were  introduced;  and 
from  this  strange  beginning  the  little  ones  were  allowed  to  pro- 
gress until  today  I  suppose  there  is  no  city  school  in  the  world 
without  its  theater.  Strange  to  say,  in  the  ancient  days  students 
simply  read  and  commented  upon  the  dramatic  masterpieces  and 
were  not  encouraged  to  act  them. 

Is  it  any  wonder  that  boys  ran  away  and  risked  receiving 
painful  whippings?  There  was  so  little  of  genuine  human  in- 
terest. I  found  that  young  people  were  compelled  to  study 
Zoology  and  yet  no  town  was  compelled  by  law,  as  now,  to  main- 
tain a  museum  or  Zoological  garden.  Private  concerns  called 
'Circuses'  collected  large  numbers  of  wild  animals  and  gave  ex- 
hibitions under  vast  tents  and  these  seem  to  have  satisfied  the 
human  craving  in  the  pupils.  These  strange  shows  apparently 
served  a  good  purpose ;  but  I  was  startled  to  learn  that  they  were 
condemned  by  most  of  the  clergy,  and  that  some  ministers  lost 
their  positions  for  being  seen  there  by  the  church  members. 
Such  was  the  stupidity  of  the  "good  old  times.'  Ought  we  to  be 
surprised   to   discover   the   schools    were   then   open   but   nine 


months  of  the  year  ?  It  is  a  marvel  that  all  the  children  were  not 
dead  or  turned  idiots  even  in  that  space.  Not  until  2020  was  a 
public  school  kept  open  twelve  successive  months  and  that  was  at 
Manila,  Philippine  Islands  by  petition  of  the  children  themselves. 
I  found  this  petition  in  a  Manila  newspaper,  and  one  statement 
by  those  old  time  children  struck  me  as  characteristic  of  the  atti- 
tude of  our  own  little  boys  and  girls.  'We  want  to  continue  go- 
ing because  we  know  there  are  so  many  surprising  discoveries  in 
store  for  us.' 

Ah!  there  were  many  strange  facts  I  learned  among  those 
dusty  old  records.  How  ridiculous  some  of  the  Congressional 
speeches  sound,  with  their  boasts  of  education,  enlightenment  and 
culture!  Surely  we  of  the  twenty-third  century  have  reached  a 
plane  of  mentality  far  beyond  the  comprehension  of  that  dark  and 
cruel  era  four  centuries  ago.  For  in  its  mistakes,  its  miserliness, 
its  thoughtlessness,  its  savage  unkindness  that  twentieth  century 
must  be  classed  among  the  Dark  Ages  of  Education." 

Perhaps  Professor  Holliday  is  somewhat  cynical  and  his 
criticisms  of  the  present  day  educational  methods  may  not  be  al- 
together just.  Nevertheless,  I  believe  he  has  not  overdrawn,  in 
the  sUghtest  degree  the  happy  condition  of  affairs  as  our  posterity 
will  find  them  four  centuries  hence.  If  future  generations  are 
to  advance  as  we  have  advanced  beyond  the  generations  gone  be- 
fore, those  of  us  responsible  for  the  educational  leadership  of  the 
present  day  must  spare  no  effort  to  make  our  full  contribution 
to  this  splendid  forward  movement  toward  the  goal  of  perfec- 
tion. We  must  raise  high  our  standards  and  strive  by  all  pos- 
sible means  to  reach  them. 

The  sad  condition  of  many  of  the  schools  of  the  present  day 
depicted  by  Professor  Holliday  let  it  be  remembered  is  a  con- 
dition existing  in  all  the  states.  It  is  a  general  condition.  It  is 
not  peculiar  to  Vermont.  The  spirit  of  the  new  loyalty  in  Ver- 
mont, however,  may  give  to  Vermont  the  honor  of  being  a  pioneer 
in  the  educational  forward  movement  which  is  inevitable  in 

Last  of  all  the  new  loyalty  will  guarantee  the  rights  of  grow- 
ing childhood.  It  will  sound  the  death  knell  of  the  iniquity  of 
child  labor.  Up  with  the  rights  of  childhood !  Away  from  the 
black  shadows  of  the  night  of  infantile  oppression !    All  hail  to 


the  radiant  dawn  that  throws  its  gleams  of  brightness  athwart 
the  morning  of  the  twentieth  century  to  illumine 


"A    wonderful  land  is  the  land  of  boy, 

Where  the  hands  on  the  clock  mark  the  moments  of  joy. 
Where  the  hills  are  sugar,  the  mountains  are  cake. 

And  the  rivers  flow  into  an  ice-cream  lake  ; 
Where  candy  grows  on  the  forest  trees 

And  the  fairies  dwell  with  their  mysteries : 
•  The  land  of  boy — ^away,  away 

Through  the  happy  valleys  of  Golden  Day ! 

"The  land  of  boy  is  a  dear  delight, 

Where  the  sun  shines  saveetly  and  soft  and  bright ; 
Where  the  air  is  filled  with  the  robin's  song 

'And  the  heart  of  venture  beats  bold  and  strong ;' 
Where  hope's  grave  star  burns  clean  and  fair 

And  the  wine  of  the  summer  is  in  the  air : 
The  land  of  boy — ^away,  away. 

The  road  winds  down  to  the  Golden  Day ! 

"There  are  tops  and  trinkets  and  marbles  and  books,  - 

Penknives,  putty  and  fishing  hooks. 
Printing  presses  and  railroad  trains. 

Wheelbarrows,  wagons  and  driving  reins ; 
Boats  and  whistles  and  hoops  and  skates. 

Sledges  and  sponges  and  drawing  slates. 
The  land  of  boy — away,  away, 

Over  the  hills  of  the  Child-at-Play ! 

"The  land  of  boy  is  a  sunny  place. 

Where  rosy  cheeks  and  a  smiling  face, 
Where  romp  and  laughter  and  chatter  and  gleam. 

Go  round  and  round  till  the  meadows  dream 
And  the  stars  come  out  and  the  golden  West 

Is  red  where  the  sun  has  gone  to  rest ; 
The  land  of  boy — ^away,  away 

To  the  wand  of  fairy  and  elf  and  fay ! 


"Merry  games  and  the  venture  heart 

In  the  land  of  boy  are  a  living  part: 
Castle  building  and  ships  that  sail 

On  the  pirate  main  and  the  paths  of  whale ; 
Hope  and  love  and  beauty  and  gleam — 

All,  all  are  a  part  of  the  boy-land  dream, 
To  the  land  of  boy  I  long  to  stray 

Through  the  happy  valleys  of  Golden  Day  1" 

The  new  day  is  here.  Jericho  sees  it.  Chittenden  County 
sees  it.  The  State  of  Vermont  sees  it.  We  greet  its  sunrise 
now.  The  new  loyalty  which  pays  due  reverence  to  the  forefath- 
ers and  their  glorious  heritage  to  us  while  at  the  same  time  front- 
ing the  larger  responsibilities  owing  to  the  present  and  the  future 
will  send  the  sun  of  this  day  well  up  toward  its  zenith.  Men  and 
women  of  Jericho  all  hail !  You  have  not  forgotten  the  pioneers. 
You  honor  your  founders  today.  Tomorrow  in  the  spirit  of  the 
new  loyalty  you  will  address  yourselves  as  real  patriots  to  the 
duties  which  will  assure  a  new  and  a  better  Vermont. 

Chapter  VII. 


Wednesday,  Aug.  6th,  had  been  observed  by  the  citizens  in 
family  reunions  and  tours  about  the  town,  whose  important 
places  had  been  appropriately  marked  by  the  committee  on  mark- 
ers, and  at  six  P.  M.  a  large  assemblage  of  people  had  gathered 
at  Riverside  to  attend  the  exercises  in  connection  with  the  dedica- 
tion of  a  marker  which  had  been  erected  in  memory  of  the  First 
Settlement  of  the  Browns.  Their  first  cabin  had  been  built  a 
few  rods  south  of  the  Riverside  Bridge.  The  marker  had  been 
erected  upon  the  Green  in  front  of  the  old  Whitcomb  &  Day 
store,  upon  land  which  formerly  belonged  to  the  Browns.  The 
marker  stands  Sj^  feet  high  and  consists  of  two  pieces  of  gran- 
ite, and  upon  the  front  of  the  die  is  a  bronze  tablet  bearing  the 
following  inscription, 


OF    THE 







Descendants  of  the  Brown  family  had  responded  so  gen- 
erously that  their  contributions  covered  the  cost  of  the  marker 
itself.  The  town  had  graded  the  spot  and  built  the  cement 

The  order  of  exercises  was  as  follows : — 

6:00  P.  M.  Prayer,  Rev.  A.  H.  Sturges. 

Historical  Resume  of  the  Brown  family  by  a  lineal  descend- 
ant, Hon.  B.  H.  Day,  which  is  given  in  full. 


Ladies  and  Gentlemen: 

We  had  hoped  to  have  with  us  to  address  you  on  this  oc- 
casion, Mr.  Fred  Brown,  of  Boston,  a  direct  descendant  of  those 
Browns  to  the  memory  and  honor  of  whom  this  tablet  is  today 
erected,  but  this  has  proved  to  be  impossible. 

The  erection  of  this  marker  to  the  Brown  family,  the  first 
settlers  of  the  town  of  Jericho,  whose  efforts  to  make  a  home  in 
this,  then  wilderness,  so  influenced  the  growth  and  development 
of  the  town,  is  due  in  large  measure  to  Mr.  Chauncey  H.  Hayden, 
who  enlisted  the  help  of  descendants  of  the  family,  purchased 
with  the  money  thus  raised  a  suitable  marker  from  the  Jericho 
Granite  Co.,  and  himself  superintended  the  grading  and  setting 
that  it  might  be  dedicated  during  this,  our  ISOth  anniversary. 

As  many  of  you  know,  I  also,  am  a  descendant  of  the  Brown 
family,  and  because  of  this  fact  have  been  asked  to  tell  the  story 
of  some  of  their  early  hardships  and  experiences  at  this  public 
recognition  of  their  efforts  in  settling  this  town. 


This  Story  I  have  had  by  word  of  mouth  from  the  children 
and  grandchildren  of  the  first  Browns  with  the  life  of  whom  the 
early  history  of  Jericho  is  so  closely  entwined.  My  mother  and 
my  stepmother  were  daughters  of  Joseph,  the  youngest  of  the 

The  place  where  the  marker  stands  was  not  the  site  of  the 
Brown  cabin,  though  on  land  that  was  a  part  of  their  original 
holdings.  Their  cabin  stood  south  of  the  covered  bridge  on 
land  owned  for  many  years  by  Hiram  B.  Day,  who  married  a 
daughter  of  Joseph  Brown. 

It  was  thought  best  to  place  the  marker  here,  where  the  pub- 
lic may  the  better  enjoy  it. 

The  Browns  were  the  first  settlers  in  Jericho,  their  near- 
est neighbors  having  a  cabin  lower  down  on  the  Winooski,  then 
the  Onion,  where  two  or  three  families  located  about  the  same 
time  that  the  Browns  came  here. 

In  a  sense  the  Browns  came  to  Jericho  by  mistake.  They 
were  in  search  of  land  they  had  purchased  in  what  is  now  the 
town  of  Stowe,  but  failed  to  turn  north  from  the  Winooski 
River,  which  they  were  following  down  over  the  old  Indian 
trail,  quite  so  soon  as  they  should  have  done  and  consequently 
found  themselves  on  the  west  instead  of  on  the  east  side  of 
Mansfield  Mountain.  Pleased  with  the  location,  and  the  land, 
and  doubtless  good  and  tired  of  wandering  through  the  wilder- 
ness, they  pitched  their  tent  on  the  little  river  that  afterward 
bore  their  name  and  later  formally  gained  possession  of  the  land 
by  put-chase. 

Here  they  erected  their  cabin  and  cleared  enough  of  the 
land  to  enable  the  planting  of  crops.     This  was  in  1774. 

At  the  outbreak  of  the  Revolutionary  War  an  offer  was  made 
the  Indians  of  Canada  by  the  British  of  $8.00  or  £8  (authorities 
differ  as  to  the  an?ount)  for  each  living  captive  from  the  rebel- 
lious colonies  delivered  into  their  hands. 

This  offer  sent  many  a  raiding  party  south,  and  it  was  at  the 
hands  of  a  victorious  band  of  these  raiders  on  their  homeward 
way  from  the  sacking  of  Royalton,  Oct.  16,  1780,  that  our  set- 
tlers received  a  discouraging  reverse. 

The  family  at  this  time  consisted  of  Joseph  and  Hannah 
Brown,  their  young  sons,  Charles  and  Joseph,  19  and  16  years  re- 


spectively,  a  tailor  by  the  name  of  Olds  who  was  sewing  for  the 
family,  a  young  man  by  the  name  of  Gibson  convalescent  from 
typhoid  fever  through  which  the  Browns  had  nursed  him,  two 
little  girls  by  the  name  of  Blood  from  one  of  the  neighbors  who 
happened  to  be  visiting  them  at  the  time  from  one  of  the  families 
on  the  Winooski  River,  and  one  or  two  hired  hands. 

The  family  doubtless  would  have  escaped  molestation  but 
that  Gibson,  trapping  along  the  river  now  known  as  Lee,  was  sur- 
prised and  made  a  prisoner  by  a  part  of  the  Royalton  Indians. 
To  secure  his  own  release  Gibson  offered  to  conduct  his  cap- 
tors to  a  cabin  where  they  might  get  several  prisoners  instead 
of  one  and  thus  instantly  increase  their  ransom  money.  The 
savages  readily  agreed  to  his  proposal  arid  promised  to  set  him 
free  just  as  soon  as  the  others  were  taken.  Regardless  of  the 
many  kindnesses  received,  at  the  hands  of  the  Browns,  Gibson 
guided  the  Indians,  12  or  15  in  number,  to  the  high  bank  east 
of  the  covered  bridge  that  overlooked  the  cabin.  So  soon  as  the 
Indians  were  assured  that  Gibson  had  indeed  conducted  them  to 
the  promised  spot,  they  seized  and  bound  him  to  one  of  their 
strongest  braves,  laughing  in  glee  at  his  expostulations  and  de- 

Stealthily  approaching  the  cabin  the  savages  easily  secured 
its  inmates  with  the  exception  of  the  tailor  who,  seated  on  a  table 
near  the  window,  at  work  on  a  waistcoat  for  Mr.  Brown  was 
warned  of  their  approach  by  their  shadow  falling  across  his  work 
in  time  to  leap  from  the  window  and  gain  the  forest  beyond 
despite  the  arrows  and  tomahawks  that  followed  his  flight.  The 
tailor  continued  his  flight  to  the  blockhouse  on  the  Winooski 
River  which  he  reached  in  an  exhausted  condition,  so  straining 
himself  in  his  efforts  to  reach  help  quickly  that  the  muscles  of  his 
face  were  affected  and  his  eyes  bulged  out  of  their  sockets  for 
the  remainder  of  his  life.  The  tailor  made  known  his  narrow 
escape  to  the  commandant  of  the  fort  and  begged  that  he  pro- 
ceed at  once  to  the  Brown  cabin,  or  intercept  the  savages  on  their 
way  to  the  lake,  but  fearing  a  ruse  or  through  natural  coward- 
ice this  he  refused,  to  do.  The  commandant  was  later  court- 
martialed  for  his  non-action,  but  I  have  never  known  whether  he 
was  adjudged  guilty  or  guiltless. 


Knowing  from  the  man  Gibson's  statements  that  there  should 
be  two  boys,  half  of  the  Indians  with  the  captives  took  the  journey 
to  the  lake,  the  other  half  remaining  to  await  the  return  of  the 

Not  suspecting  the  fate  that  had  befallen  their  people,  the 
boys  were  easily  taken,  after  which  the  savages  proceeded  to  sack 
and  burn  the  cabin  and  barn  before  following  the  footsteps  of 
the  others. 

The  Brown  family  have  always  been  very  proud  of  the  care 
given  the  two  little  girls  by  Mrs.  Joseph  Brown  on  that  terrible 
journey  through  the  Canadian  wilderness. 

Fearing  retaliation  for  their  misdeeds  from  the  soldiers  at 
the  fort  on  the  Winooski,  the  Indians  urged  their  captives  to 
make  haste  which  soon  tired  the  little  girls,  and  hindered  the  ad- 
vance, while  the  sobs  of  the  youngest  so  annoyed  her  captors 
that  they  threatened  to  kill  her.  Foreseeing  their  intentions, 
Mrs.  Brown  stepped  between  them  and  their  intended  victim  at 
the  risk  of  her  own  safety,  raised  the  child  in  her  arms,  stilled  its 
crying,  and  prevailed  on  the  savages  to  spare  its  life.  Again 
and  again  on  the  journey  she  carried  the  children  when  they  be- 
came too  tired  to  walk,  or  held  them  in  her  arms  during  the  long 
hours  of  the  night  to  keep  them  from  crying. 

The  following  morning  the  party  reached  the  lake  where  a 
much  larger  band  awaited  them  and  in  canoes  pushed  on  toward 
Canada  where  they  were  delivered  over  into  the  hands  of  the. 
British  in  camp  near  Montreal.  At  the  first  they  were  confined 
with  a  large  number  of  other  prisoners,  scurvy  soon  broke  out, 
sickness  of  all  kinds  was  rife,  and  deaths  were  an  everyday  oc- 

Lacking  cooks  for  the  officers'  mess,  levy  was  made  on  the 
prison  camp  and  Mrs.  Brown  being  known  as  an  excellent  cook 
was  chosen.  Winning  the  good  will  of  the  officers  through  her 
cooking,  she  soon  demanded  that  her  family  be  permitted  to 
share  her  labors,  and  this  being  granted  they  were  again  re- 
united under  livable  conditions. 

The  Browns  were  held  prisoners  for  nearly  three  years. 
The  Revolution  having  ended,  the  soldiers  and  officers  withdrew 
from  the  camp,  and  the  prisoners  were  given  an  opportunity  to 
make  their  way  home  as  best  they  might.     Knowing  nothing  of 


the  fact  that  peace  had  been  declared,  these  scattered  and  fled 
south,  traveling  only  at  night  and  avoiding  all  people,  eventually 
winning  their  way  once  again  to  Jericho. 

The  first  year  of  their  return  proved  the  most  severe  they 
ever  experienced.  Their  cabin  had  been  burned,  their  stock  de- 
stroyed, their  land  had  reverted  to  waste.  Without  crops  or  the 
means  to  obtain  bread  they  were  forced  to  subsist  on  game  and 
fish  until  another  year  again  permitted  the  raising  of  vegetables 
and  grain.  That  they  stuck  to  their  land  and  did  win  through 
in  the  face  of  every  discouragement  shows  of  what  stuff  these 
people  were  made. 

This,  my  friends,  is  the  reason  for  the  erection  of  this  marker 
to  the  memory  of  the  Browns,  and  much  credit  is  due  to  Mr. 
Hayden  for  his  appreciation  of  their  character  and  efforts  in  the 
settlement  of  Jericho  and  his  labors  in  raising  the  money  neces- 
sary to  fittingly  memoralize  their  acts. 

Later,  when  the  Brown  property  came  to  be  divided,  all  lands 
north  of  Brown's  River  were  taken  by  Charles  and  all  to  the 
south  by  Joseph  Brown. 

These  members  of  the  Brown  family  lived  and  died  in  Jer- 
icho and  were  buried  in  the  cemetery  on  the  Castle  property  now 
owned  by  Irving  Irish. 

This  is  the  story  of  the  Browns.  We  hope  in  coming  years 
that  the  beautiful  granite  marker  may  recall  to  our  children's 
children  something  of  the  trials  that  beset  the  people  who  first 
settled  Jericho  and  somewhat  of  the  persistent  spirit  that  drove 
them  to  win  success  in  the  face  of  all  odds. 

Formal  presentation  of  the  marker  to  the  Selectmen  of  Jer- 
icho by  Burke  G.  Brown  as  follows. 


Ladies  and  Gentlemen : 

We  have  met  here  this  afternoon  to  dedicate  this  marker  to 
the  first  settlers  of  the  town  of  Jericho,  the  Brown  family,  who 
built  the  first  log  cabin  within  a  short  distance  of  where  this 
marker  stands ;  also  to  present  to  the  town  this  marker  in  whose 
care  it  will  be  for  protection  in  years  to  come. 


We  have  heard  the  sorrowful  side  of  the  story  of  hard- 
ships of  these  first  settlers.  I  will  relate  a  story  that  happened 
to  a  descendant  by  the  name  of  Rufus  Brown.  He  being  a  good 
ox  teamster,  was  engaged  in  skidding  logs  near  the  so  named 
Brown's  River  with  a  pair  of  four-year-old  steers.  As  it  got 
time  to  quit  work  and  was  near  dark,  Rufus  stepped  between  the 
steers  to  unhook  the  chain,  when  the  steers  quick  as  a  flash 
crowded  together  and  started  on  a  run  for  the  river  regardless  of 
bridge.  Rufus  could  not  get  out,  so  hung  to  the  yoke.  The  rest 
of  the  young  men  at  work  with  him  heard  the  tinkling  of  that 
chain,  music  so  sweet  to  woodsmen,  that  jingle  of  the  staple  and 
ring,  and  saw  Rufus,  as  they  then  thought,  riding  to  his  death. 
They  started  to  his  rescue,  supposing  he  would  be  drowned  as 
the  oxen  plunged  over  the  bank  into  the  river.  They  ran  and 
called,  "Rufus!  Rufus!"  He  answered,  "Here  on  the  shore 
waiting  for  thee."  As  the  oxen  jumped  over  the  bank  Rufus 
dropped  out  safe  and  sound. 

I  am  glad  to  be  one  of  the  descendants  of  this  sturdy  Brown 
family  and  feel  honored  to  be  called  upon  by  this  committee  to 
present  this  marker  to  the  town,  but  first,  in  behalf  of  the  Brown 
descendants,  I  wish  to  thank  all  that  have  contributed  for  this 
marker,  either  in  money  or  work,  the  selectmen,  the  road  com- 
missioner, and  Mr.  C.  H.  Hayden,  who  has  taken  so  much  in- 
terest in  its  erection.  And  to  you  Mr.  Hayden,  who  is  to  accept 
this  marker  for  the  town  of  Jericho,  in  behalf  of  the  descend- 
ants of  the  first  settlers  of  this  town,  the  Brown  family,  I  pre- 
sent this  marker.  I  charge  the  selectmen  and  their  successors 
hereinafter  elected  by  the  town,  to  care  for  and  protect  for  years 
to  come  this  marker  that  represents  the  first  home  built  in  this 
good  old  town  of  Jericho. 



Ladies  and  Gentlemen: 

Just  now  it  would  seem  to  be  a  pleasure  to  me,  if  I  could 
say,  my  name  is  Brown.  Denied  this  honor  I  have  yet  had  the 
privilege  of  service,  in  that  it  was  my  part  to  circulate  the  svCb- 
scription  paper  and  to  write  to  many  of  this  exceedingly  numer- 


ous  family  soliciting  funds.  The  generous  responses  have  en- 
abled the  Committee  on  Markers  to  build  better  than  they  had 
anticipated.  Allow  me  to  quote  from  a  letter  written  by  G.  Wil- 
lis Bass  of  Minneapolis: 

"It  is  certainly  a  praiseworthy  "act  to  honor  the  first  settlers 
of  those  staunch  old  pioneers,  whose  bravery  in  coming  was  only 
exceeded  by  their  courage  in  staying  in  a  new  country  where  the 
only  password  was  Trust  and  the  main  experience  was  Hard- 
ship. In  spite  of  these  experiences  they  built,  not  so  much  for 
themselves  as  for  their  children  and  their  children's  children. 

We  are  glad  to  add  our  mite  in  thus  honoring  them  and  beg 
you  to  accept  with  this  our  best  wishes  for  a  successful  and  joy- 
ous celebration." 

So  the  service  has  been  made  easy  by  the  hearty  gifts  of  the 
descendants  of  Mr.  Brown  from  whom  has  come  principally  the 
money  to  pay  for  this  memorial.  And  now,  Mr.  Brown,  the  town 
authorities  have  authorized  me  to  say  to  you  and  the  many  you 
represent  that  we  accept  the  custody  of  this  memorial  erected  in 
grateful  memory  of  the  first  settlers  of  Jericho.  We  treat  this 
spot  as  sacred,  because  it  immortalizes  the  hardships  endured  by 
our  forefathers  in  settling  this  portion  of  our  beautiful  state. 
No  greater  wrong  can  be  done  the  great  spirits  of  the  past  than 
a  failure  on  the  part  of  their  descendants  to  properly  memorial- 
ize their  meritorious  deeds.  We  trust  that  this  act  of  grateful  ap- 
preciation on  your  part  may  prove  as  enduring  in  the  hearts  of 
the  people  as  the  granite  which  supports  the  Bronze  Inscription. 
And  while,  by  this  marker,  we  perpetuate  an  incident  in  town 
history,  we  are  at  the  same  time  memorializing  State  and  even 
National  History. 

The  banquet  at  7 :30  P.  M.  was  served  at  the  G.  A.  R.  Hall, 
the  menu  of  which  follows : 


1763  1913 




August  6th,  1913,  Riverside,  Vt. 

"Now  we  sit  down  to  chat  as  well  as  eat, 
Nothing  to  do  but  sit  and  eat  and  eat." 



"Now  if  you  are  ready,  Cantaloupe,  Dear, 

We  can  begin  to  feed,"  Servis  Carroll 


"Spare  your  breath  to  cool  your  porridge,"  Cervantes 


Olives  Pickks 

Cold  Ham  New  Beets  New  Potatoes  New  Peas 

Chicken  Pie  Jelly 

"A  Bird  in  the  hand  is  worth  two  in  the  Bush,"  Anon 

Pumpkin  Pie  Dutch  Cheese 

"As  ye  olden  time," 


"Farewell  heat  and  welcome  Frost."    Anon 

Ice  Cream  Mints  Cake 

"Enough,"  Macbeth 


"Words  do  well  when  he  that  speaks  them  pleases  those  that  hear." 

Toastmaster — C.  H.  Hayden, 


Our  Town,  Jericho,  Picturesque  and  Beautiful,  Eugene  B.  Jordan 

Our  Business  Men — No  one  is  satisfied  with  his  lot,  unless  it  is 

a  Lot Buel  H.  Day 

The  Professional  Men — One  can  say  everything  best  over  a  Meal, 

Rev.  William  Cashmere 


Music — Mrs.  Linnie  C.  Buzzell 
Jericho's  Soldiers — Give  them  the  chaplets  they  won  in  the  strife 

Judge  C.  S.  Palmer 
Our  Schools— School-houses  are  the  Republic's  line  of  fortifica- 
tions   L.  C.  Stevens 

Our  Churches — Character  is  higher  than  intellect,  Rev.  C.  Nutting 

For  the  Ladies — "No  angel,  but  a  dream  being  all  dipt 
In  angel  instincts,  breathing  Paradise 
Interpreter  between  the  Gods  and  men," 

Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer 

Reminiscences Byron  C.  Ward 

May  we  look  forward  with  pleasure 

and  backward  without  regret. 



"I  fear  me  lest  my  turn  be  next." 

Waitresses  in  Priscilla  Costume 

Olive  L.  Hayden,  Marjory  A.  Hayden,  Hazel  Knight, 

Daisy  McGibbon,  Myrtie  McGinnis,       Madeline  Schweig, 

Dorothy  Day,  Helen  Cashmore,        Edith  Gentry, 

Pauline  Smith,  Helen  Chapin,  Grace  Fitzsimonds. 

Concerning  the  exercises  of  Wednesday  the  Jericho  Re- 
porter commented  as  follows : 

"The  principal  features  of  the  celeliration  at  Jericho  for 
Wednesday  were  the  dedication  at  6  o'clock  P.  M.,  of  the  marker 
at  Riverside  in  memory  of  the  Brown  family  and  banquet  in  the 
evening  in  the  G.  A.  R.  Hall.  The  exercises  connected  with  the 
dedication  of  the  marker  were  opened  by  prayer  by  Rev.  A.  H. 
Sturges.  Hon.  B.  H.  Day,  a  descendant  of  the  Brown  family,  told 
the  story  of  their  coming  from  Connecticut  and  locating  in  Jer- 
icho not  far  distant  from  where  the  marker  stands,  their  cap- 
ture and  the  burning  of  their  log  cabin  by  the  Indians,  their  long 
march  on  foot  to  Montreal,  the  selling  of  them  to  the  English 
officers,  their  escape  and  return  to  their  former  possessions  minus 


a  home,  cattle,  provisions  or  the  wherewith-all  to  do  with,  the 
sufferings  they  endured  while  rebuilding  a  home,  etc.  Mr.  Day's 
recital  of  the  story  was  deeply  interesting  and  dramatic.  B.  G. 
Brown  for  the  resident  descendants  formally  presented  in  a 
very  happy  manner  the  marker  to  the  town.  The  acceptance  by 
the  town  of  the  marker  was,  at  the  request  of  the  selectmen,  made 
by  C.  H.  Hayden,  who  was  the  promoter  of  the  project  and  who 
had  taken  a  lively  interest  in  its  furtherance  and  completion.  Mr. 
Hayden  spoke  with  much  earnestness  and  feeling.  The  marker 
stands  upon  a  diamond  shaped  plot  of  ground  raised  and  sur- 
rounded by  a  coping  of  cement  at  the  confluence  of  the  road 
leading  from  Jericho  to  Cambridge  and  the  one  leading  to  Under- 
bill Center. 

The  banquet  for  which  100  covers  were  laid  was  held  in  the 
evening  in  the  G.  A.  R.  Hall  and  was  a  most  delightful  incident 
of  the  celebration.  The  menu  was  excellent  and  delightfully 
served  by  young  ladies  in  Priscilla  costumes.  Postprandial  ex- 
ercises with  appropriate  music  followed.  C.  H.  Hayden  was 
toastmaster  and  in  a  very  happy  and  pleasing  manner  introduced 
the  several  speakers,  among  whom  were  E.  B.  Jordan,  who  re- 
sponded to  the  toast,  "Our  Town";  B.  H.  Day,  "Our  Business 
Men" ;  "Our  Professional  Men,"  Rev.  William  Cashmore ;  Judge 
C.  S.  Palm'er,  "Jericho's  Soldiers";  L.  C.  Stevens  and  Rev.  S.  H. 
Barnum,  "Our  Schools";  Rev.  C.  A.  Nutting,  "Our  Churches"; 
Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer,  "For  the  Ladies."  Impromptus  were 
called  for  and  responded  to  by  R.  B.  Galusha,  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick 
and  Henry  M.  Brown.  The  musical  portion  of  the  program 
was  of  a  high  order  and  was  furnished  by  Miss  Florence  Bux- 
ton on  the  piano,  and  Mrs.  Linnie  Curtis  Buzzell  and  Mrs.  Nolan 
rendered  solos.  An  interesting  feature  of  the  evening  was  an 
"Old  Grandfather's  Clock"  which  stood  in  one  corner  of  the 
hall  and  sounded  out  the  hours  in  as  good  a  tone  and  voice  as  it 
did  ISO  years  or  more  ago  and  while  striking  all  other  business 
was  hushed.  This  clock  was  the  first  clock  made  in  Barre  and 
is  still  in  good  running  order.  It  has  been  in  the  possession  of 
the  Barry  family  for  115  years  and  was  loaned  for  this  occasion. 

9:30  a. 


10:30  a. 


11:00  a. 


11:15  a. 



Chapter  VIII. 


The  culmination  of  the  five  days'  celebration  took  place  at 
Jericho  Comers,  August  7th,  with  the  following  program: 
Baseball  game  at  Athletic  Field 
Children  singing  and  Marching  with  Flags 
A  Herald  Arrives  with  News 
Address  of  Welcome,  by  Judge  C.  S.  Palmer 

Old  soldiers  and  distinguished  guests  on  plat- 
form, which  is  decorated  with  U.  S.  Flags  made  by 
the  women  of  this  village  during  the  Civil  War, 
every  stitch  by  hand 
12:00  m.         Dinner 
1 :45  p.  m.     Arrival  of  the  First  Settlers  (the  Brown  family) 

who  go  to  cabin  near  Athletic  Field 
2:00  p.  m.     Parade  of  Historical  and  Illustrative  Floats  and 

Automobile  Display 
3:30  p.  m.     Floats  and  Automobiles,  also  spectators,  assemble 

at  Athletic  Field 
4:00  p.  m.     Viewed  from  Athletic  Field — Pageant  of  the  cap- 
ture of  the  Brown  Family  by  Indians 
Vaudeville  Float 
Races  and  Sports 
6:00  p.  m.     Supper 

7:30  p.  m.     Dramatic   Entertainment  at   School   House   Hall, 
"A  Rose  O'Plymouth  Town" 
This  order  of  exercises,  previously  determined  upon  by  the 
committee  was  carried  out  in  the  main.     When  the  parade  came 
down  the  street  it  was  in  the  following  order: 

Order  of  Floats. 

America,  on  Horseback 
Uncle  Sam,  on  Horseback 
Vermont,  on  horseback 
Jericho,  on  Horseback 





Float    4. 

Pale  Face,  George  and  Martha  Washington,  and  Pocahontas,  on 

Horseback     - 
Float     1.     Father  Time  and  the  Fairies 
Pioneer  Settlers 

Showing  what   Early   Settlers    found  here:   woods, 
wild  animals,  birds,  etc. 
Indians  with  Wigwam 

Pony  Turnouts,  with  Indian  children 
Showing  industries  of  the  Settlers 
"Ye  Olden  Times" 
Going  to  Church  by  Pillion 
Going  to  Church  by  single  bull  teani 
Going  to  Church  by  double  bull  team 
Spirits  of  the  Home 
Minute  Men  with  life  and  drum 
Snow  Man  and  beauties  with  extreme  North  land 
Childhood  delights  and  Mrs.  Santa  Claus  destroying 
the  old  man's  whips  for  bad  boys 
Grangers'  Float 
Vaudeville  Float 
Indian  Riders 

—ALL  GO  TO— 
Athletic  Park  to  witness  the  Capture  of  Brown  family  by  the  In- 
dians— ^An  Indian  race  for  a  wife 

Indian  Races  and  Sports 
The  writer  is  pleased  to  quote  from  a  very  vivid  description 
of  the  day  and  its  proceedings  given  by  Mrs.  Jennie  Rawson 













Float  11. 











While  attending  the  Old  Home  Day  exercises  on  Tuesday 
at  the  Center  (that  well-nigh  perfect  day)  we  queried  many 
times,  "Will  this  beautiful  weather,  in  these  'Dog-days,'  last 
until  the  Thursday's  parade  at  the  Corners  ?"    Wednesday  found 

These  Probably  Will  Caeey  with  Them  Big  Memories  of  the 
Great  Celebration. 

Arrival  op  the  Browjvs  Preceding  the  Pageant. 

Departure  op  the  Browns  on  Their  Captivity. 

The  Cabin  Surroundeh). 

An  Intebestisg  Group  on  Athletic  B^eld. 

Thk  Primitive  American  Costume.        George  and  Mary  Washington. 

Jericho  High  School. 


the  village  all  alive  with  preparations.  The  decorating  commit- 
tee were  wreathing  most  of  the  tree-trunks  and  telephone  poles 
in  the  village's  tree-embowered  streets  with  bands  and  streamers 
of  bunting.  A  monstrous  sign  across  the  road  at  the  top  of  the 
hill  had  "Welcome"  printed  in  an  unmistakable  manner,  and  pri- 
vate dwellings  and  business  places  were  well  decorated.  On  the 
little  rocky  islet. north  of  the  covered  bridge  an  Indian  encamp- 
ment peered  forth  from  its  leafy  surroundings.  From  the  barns 
about  the  village  were  to  be  seen  wonderful  floats  and  wagons  in 
process  of  preparation. 

When  the  morning  of  the  great  day  broke,  the  towns-people 
gazed  on  a  most  beautiful  village,  and  glorious  to  say,— 
"Slowly  in  all  his  splendorous  light. 
The  great  sun  rises  to  behold  the  sight." 

The  streets  began  to  be  crowded  early  in  the  day  with 
automobiles,  teams  and  people  on  foot.  The  Westford  Cornet 
Band  came  early  and  its  music  at  intervals  through  the  day 
was  greatly  appreciated. 

Indians  in  war  paint  and  feathers,  some  stripped  to  the 
waist,  Dakota  maidens  on  foot  or  horse,  passed  swiftly  and 
silently  through  the  throng. 

The  town's  future  hope,  the  school  children,  at  10:30  as- 
sembled on  the  graded  school  steps,  with  flags  in  hand  and  a 
canopy  of  red,  white  and  blue  above  them,  and  sang  America, 
Kellar's  American  Hymn  and  other  patriotic  airs. 

Then  came  the  Herald — and  strange  to  say  he  was  a  colored 
gentleman  with  an  equally  dusky  female  companion.  His  satires 
on  "white  folks' "  faults  and  foibles  were  thoroughly  enjoyed. 

During  the  dark  days  of  the  Civil  War,  when  the  town 
was  sending  its  sons  to  defend  our  country's  flag,  the  women  of 
the  village  had  frequent  "sewing  circles,"  where  they  prepared 
hospital  supplies  and  comforts  for  those  at  the  front.  Their  pa- 
triotism prompted  them  to  make  a  large  and  beautiful  flag.  This 
had  been  hidden  for  fifty  years  in  the  closet  of  some  good  care- 
taker, and  in  its  state  of  perfect  preservation,  was  spread  across 
the  front  of  the  Congregational  Church  as  a  background  for  the 
speakers'  platform  which  was  in  front  of  the  church. 

Who  more  fitting  to  occupy  that  platform  than  the  orator, 
our   former  townsman   and   now   summer  guest.   Judge    C.    S. 


Palmer,  who  fifty  years  and  one  month  before,  had  followed  the 
flag  over  the  hills  and  dales  of  Gettysburg's  red  field?  The 
nobler  patriotism  resulting  from  the  country's  sacrifice  of  blood 
and  treasure  during  those  trying  days  was  an  important  theme 
with  him. 

At  twelve,  dinners  were  served  in  the  Methodist  and  Congre- 
gational church  dining  rooms,  with  cold  lunches  at  the  Baptist 

It  was  the  aim  of  the  parade  committee  to  have  the  day's 
doings  as  largely  historical  and  symbolical  as  possible.  The 
reproduction  of  the  capture  of  the  Brown  Family  by  the  In- 
dians in  1780  necessitated  the  building  of  a  cabin  in  surround- 
ings closely  resembling  the  original  site.  The  cabin  was  built  on 
Athletic  Field  close  against  a  rocky  ledge,  just  about  the  height 
of  the  original  bluff  which  was  back  of  the  old  cabin  home,  and 
at  no  great  distance  from  the  same  little  river.  Brown  and 
family  at  one  o'clock  moved  into  town  in  an  ox  cart  containing 
their  household  goods,  brass  kettles  hanging  to  the  axle,  a  cow 
and  calf  tied  to  the  cart  end,  and  set  up  housekeeping  in  the 
log  cabin.  The  persons  who  represented  the  settlers  were  lineal 
descendants  of  Mr.  Brown,  and  all  bore  his  name. 

The  parade  formed  in  line  at  the  Rawson  farm  continuing  on 
through  the  village.  The  "town  fathers,"  selectmen,  constables, 
etc.,  set  their  approval  on  the  affair  by  leading  it.  Of  course  the 
earliest  inhabitants  came  first.  The  Indians,  both  sexes  on  horse 
back,  were  followed  by  a  a  float  representing  the  denizens  of 
the  forests  and  birds  of  the  air.  Bears  and  cruel  looking  lynx 
crouched  beneath  the  green  trees,  while  the  birds  rested  on  the 
branches.  A  float  representing  Indian  life  and  occupations, 
women  caring  for  the  camp,  and  making  blankets  beside  the 
tall  wigwam,  was  quite  attractive. 

All  .the  joys  of  Christmas-tide  were  brought  back  to  the 
children  by  the  beautiful  Santa  Claus  float  drawn  by  four  white 
horses.  Santa,  himself,  Mrs.  Santa,  beautiful  gifts,  "Red  Rid- 
ing Hood,"  and  "Little  Boy  Blue,"  were  all  there. 

What  is  older  than  Time,  and  aren't  the  fairies  and  Cupid 
about  as  old  ?  There  they  all  were.  Father  Time  with  his  scythe, 
beautiful   fairies  with  gauzy  wings,   dressed  in  dainty  colors, 


Cupid  with  his  bow  and  arrows,  winged  for  flight,  rolling  along 
on  a  float  whose  wheels  were  clock  faces. 

Jericho  has  a  man  whose  work  adorns  the  cabinets  of 
museum,s  the  world  over.  Wilson  Bentley's  accurately  magni- 
fied photos  of  our  snow  crystals  are  rare  indeed.  A  float  covered 
with  evergreens  for  a  background  had  huge  representations 
of  snow  crystals  displayed  on  the  sides.  But  what's  that,  pole 
on  the  back  end  of  the  float  rising  out  of  a  mass  of  ice?  Why? 
the  north  pole  itself,  with  the  rival  claims  of  Cook  and  Peary 
inscribed  thereon. 

How  beautiful  the  equestrian  figures !  Of  course,  Uncle 
Sam  was  there, — and  America  so  fine!  A  beautiful  woman, 
daughter  of  one  of  our  oldest  families,  was  mounted  on  a  gray 
horse.  Her  dress  was  white,  draped  with  a  gold  fringed  silken 
flag,  with  stars  on  her  head  and  the  shield  on  her  arm.  Vermont 
followed  on  a  Morgan  horse.  Her  costume  was  very  appropri- 
ate, being  of  green  and  gold  with  a  crown  of  clover,  the  State's 
flower.  This  was  Jericho's  birthday,  the  town's  golden  day,  so 
the  fair  young  girl  who  represented  the  town  was  dressed  in 
golden  yellow,  and  mounted  on  a  black  horse. 

The  old  time  country  doctor  with  saddle-bags  before  him, 
rode  his  way',  also  the  Puritan  maid  and  the  two  couples  riding 
to  church  by  pillion.  One  of  these  was  a  bridal  couple.  The 
folds  of  the  beautiful  bride's  ample  veil  and  white  watered  silk, 
floated  out  as  she  sat  perched  up  beside  her  high-hatted  chosen 

A  murmur  of  song  floated  on  the  air ;  it  was  "Aunt  Nabby," 
sung  by  the  gentle  souls  of  "Ye  Olden  Time."  Dear  souls  who 
lived  when  clothes  and  "bunnits"  were  made  to  cover  the  human 
form  divine!  Full  skirts,  billowy  crinoline,  big  bonnets  all 
there.  Of  course  a  man  of  their  age  and  time  drove  the  horses 
of  their  float,  but  near  them  was  "the  Spirit  of  Home."  Was 
this  float  typical  of  woman's  new  freedom?  There  were  bare- 
armed,  bare-headed  girls,  clad  in  clinging,  filmy  dresses  of  white, 
one  of  them  driving  the  white-trimmed  horses  and  canopied  float, 
the  others  carrying  wands  tipped  with  white  blossoms.  Just 
as  good,  just  as  sweet  as  their  older  sisters. 

Rah !  Rah !  Rah !  Yes,  we  have  a  High  School !  See  the 
crowd  on  the  banner-decked  float. 


The  Irish  inhabitants  "did  themselves  proud."  There  was 
a  great  float  of  white  with  green  trimmings  covered  with  in- 
numerable sprigs  of  shamrock.  Erin's  fair  daughters,  a  dozen 
in  number,  sang  to  the  accompaniment  of  a  golden  harp,  that  like 
"the  Harp  that  once  through  Tara's  Halls  the  soul  of  music 
shed?"  A  green  wagon  contained  some  reliable  representatives 
of  the  Emerald  Isle,  and  there  was  also  a  jaunting  car,  true  to 

We  consider  the  prosperity  and  purity  of  the  National  life 
to  rest  largely  on  the  standing  of  the  rural  comhiunities ;  the 
grange  is  an  important  factor  in  the  betterment  of  country  life. 
Mount  Mansfield  Grange  was  represented  by  a  float  decorated 
with  fruits  and  grains,  Flora,  Ceres,  and  Pomona  were  in  at^ 
tendance,  and  the  cutest  bossie  calf,  pure  Jersey,  chewed  his  cud 
in  a  wire-enmeshed  enclosure. 

We  wondered  a  bit  at  the  inscription,  I.  C.  Club.  It  couldn't 
mean  womanly  .curiosity  surely — ^but  no,  it  was  just  a  neigh- 
borhood group  of  women  who  industriously  Irish  crocheted— r 
and  talked,  sometimes  in  megaphones. 

A  decorated  wagon  contained  an  organ  and  accompanist 
and  a  fine  tenor  singer,  who  sang, — 

"This   is   our  own  our  native  land, 

"Tho'  poor  and  rough  she  be. 
The  home  of  many  a  noble  soul. 

The  birthplace  of  the  free." 

Many  private  rigs  and  automobiles  were  charmingly  trimmed. 
Worthy  of  notice  were  the  Shetland  pony  turnouts. 

After  proceeding  to  the  railroad,  near  the  station,  the  pro- 
cession turned,  coming  back  on  the  westerly  road,  returning  to 
Athletic  Field  where  the  Browns'  capture  was  carried  out  in  a 
realistic  manner.  The  captive  traitor  led  the  Indians  to  the 
new  home,  hoping  to  secure  his  own  freedom. 

Estimates  vary  about  the  size  of  the  crowd.  Some  said 
three  thousand,  some  four,  others  five!  But  it  was  a  fine 
orderly  crowd,  and  no  unfortunate  accident  marred  the  day. 
Suppers  were  served  to  many  who  stayed  to  enjoy  the  fine 
drama,  "The  Rose  O'  Plymouth  Town,"  in  the  School  House 
Hall  that  evening. 

FLETCHiat  McGiNNis  Singing  "Old  New  England." 

The  Woods  and  Its  Denizens. 
Pony  Turnouts. 
Industries,  Automobiles,  etc.  The  Indians  with  Wigwams. 

At  Athletic  Park. 


"So  sleeps  the  pride  of  former  days, 

So  glory's  thrill  is  o'er, 
And  hearts,  that  once  beat  high   for  praise. 

Now  feel  that  pulse  no  more." 

The  following  should  be  included  in  describing  the  parade: 

In  the  long  column  of  Pageants  and  Floats  that  passed 
through  the  streets  of  Jericho  village  was  an  automobile  finely 
decorated  and  filled  with  ladies  and  gentleniien  displaying  a 
large  banner  gorgeously  trimmed,  on  one  side  of  which  was  in- 
scribed the  words  and  figures,  "1913;  Equal  Suffrage  and  Equal 
Rights.  It  Has  Come  to  Stay  in  ten  States,"  and  on  the  other 
side  were  inscribed  the  words,  "Modern  Life,  Votes  for  Wo- 
men.    Equal  Pay  for  Equal  Work  for  Men  and  Women." 

I  am'  pleased  also  to  quote  further  from  the  pen  of  Mr. 
Luther  C.  Stevens  relative  to  the  closing  day's  celebration: 

The  village  was  simply  swamped.  A  conservative  estimate 
places  the  number  of  people  in  attendance  at  4,000.  Perfect 
order  prevailed  throughout.  There  was  not  one  instance  of  dis- 
turbing nature. 

The  Westford  band  was  present  and  never  did  a  band  on 
a  like  occasion  discourse  better  music  or  more  of  it.  The  com- 
mittee on  decorations  had  done  their  work  wdl.  The  village 
presented  a  gala  appearance  the  like  of  which  had  never  been 
seen  here  before.  It  was  a  pleasing  conceit  which  prompted 
the  placing  of  a  couple  of  wigwams  and  attendant  suggestions 
of  Indian  life  on  the  island  near  the  covered  bridge  which  was 
one  of  other  like  displays  about  the  village. 

The  exercises  of  the  day  were  opened  at  Athletic  Field  with 
a  game  of  baseball  played  by  a  team  from  Essex  and  the  Jericho 
boys  which  was  won  by  the  latter  by  a  score  of  10  to  1.  The 
battery,  for  the  Essex  team  was  Sheehan  and  Cleveland,  and  for 
the  Jericho  boys  the  "two  Ralphs,"  Brigham  and  Buxton.  Then 
came  the  singing  of  patriotic  songs  by  the  school  children  in 
front  of  the  school  building,  Mrs.  Lena  Whitten  Rice  at  the 
organ,  followed  by  the  address  of  welcome  by  Hon.  C.  S.  Pal- 
mer from  the  front  platform  of  the  Congregational  Church  upon 
which  were  seated  the  veterans  of  the  Civil  War. 


The  school  children  had  marched  across  from  the  school 
building  and  formecl  a  circle  in  front  of  the  speaker.  E.  B. 
Jordan  presided  and  iery  happily  introduced  Judge  Palmer,  who 
spoke  in  his  usual  eloquent  and  impressive  manner.  At  the 
close  of  the  address  the  school  children  accompanied  by  the 
band  and  the  assembled  people  sang  America.  Dinner  followed 
which  was  served  in  the  Congregational  and  Methodist  Churches 
and  in  the  Baptist  Church  ice  cream  and  lunches  were  served. 
The,  dinner  was  an  excellent  one  consisting  of  boiled  ham,  roast 
pork  and  beef,  vegetables  and  other  accessories. 

The  special  interest  of  the  day  was  centered  upon  the 
exercises  of  the  afternoon.  The  crowd  of  the  morning  being 
largely  augmented  by  the  arrival  of  more  people,  automobiles 
and  carriages.  Just  before  the  parade  the  Brown  family  were 
seen  trooping  into  town,  riding  on  a  two-wheeled  ox  cart  with 
a  few  primitive  pieces  of  household  goods  and  leading  a  cow  and 

The  formal  parade  was  led  by  Constable  George  Costello 
followed  by  the  Westford  band,  the  selectmen  of  the  town, 
A.  C.  Johnson,  D.  E.  Bissonett,  C.  E.  Scribner,  who  with  Con- 
stable Costello  were  mounted.  The  mounted  marshals  were 
F.  G.  Pease,  J.  H.  Safiford,  O.  H.  Brown  and  Edward  Vamey. 

Following  these  were  equestrian  representations  in  costume 
of  "America,"  Mrs.  Louise  Galusha  Mower ;  "Uncle  Sam,"  Frank 
Barrow ;  "Vermont,"  Miss  Mildred  Chapin ;  "Jericho,"  Miss  Irene 
Bolger ;  "Martha  and  George  Washington,"  Misses  Dorothy  Day 
and  Mary  Wright  respectively;  "Pocahontas,"  Miss  Anna 
Marchia;  "Indian  Maiden,"  Miss  Florence  Williams;  "Squaw 
with  papoose  on  back,"  Mrs.  Fred  Foster;  "Old  Time  Doctor," 
L.  C.  Rice.  There  were  also  representations  of  "Going  to  church 
by  pillion"  and  a  "Newlywed  Couple." 

There  were  25  or  more  floats  and  decorated  equipages  in 
line.  Among  these  were  "Father  Time"  (S.  M.  Palmer)  and 
the  Fairies,  "Pioneer  Settlers,"  showing  what  early  settlers  found 
here,  woods,  wild  animals,  birds,  etc.;  "Indians  with  wigwam," 
"Pony  turn-outs  with  Indian  children,"  "Snow  Man,"  (Prof. 
W.  A.  Bentley)  and  beauties  of  the  "North  Land,"  with  the 
north  pole ;  "Childhood  delights  and  Mrs.  Santa  Claus,"  destroy- 
ing the  old  man's  whips  for  bad  boys ;  grangers,  etc. 


One  feature  that  attracted  no  end  of  attention  was  a  float 
representing  "Erin's  Daughters."  The  float  was  decorated  in 
green  and  white  and  eight  young  women  in  white  rode  in  the 
float  singing  Irish  songs  to  the  accompaniment  of  Romeo's  or- 
chestra. The  singers  included  Mrs.  John  J.  Cross,  Miss  Emma 
Mulqueen  and  Miss  Marie  V.  McLaughlin  of  Burlington,  Mrs. 
G.  A.  Mitiguy  of  Montrose,  N.  J.,  Miss  Margaret  Reddy  and 
Miss  Mayme  W.  Reddy  of  Malone  and  Miss  Mamie  Carroll  and 
Miss  Mamie  Adrien  of  Jericho. 

A  jaunting  car  contained  Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  P.  Dower  of 
Montpelier  and  Miss  Mary  Neary  of  Burlington.  Another  in- 
teresting float  named  "From  Emerald's  Isle,"  all  in  green,  con- 
tained Thomas  Adrian,  John  McLaughlin  and  Charles  Reavey. 
F.  D.  McGinnis  and  Miss  Myrtle  Alger  rode  in  a  wagon  and 
sang  "Hurrah  for  Old  New  England"  at  intervals  to  organ  ac- 
companiment of  Miss  Alger.  The  Jericho  High  School  had  a 
handsome  float,  the  pupils  being  aboard  and  giving  the  school 
yell.  Prominent  in  the  automobile  section  was  a  car  represent- 
ing the  Burlington  Daily  News. 

In  the  business  and  mercantile  line  representations  were 
made  by  the  Jericho  Granite  Co.  and  E.  B.  Williams  &  Co. 

The  parade  marched  down  Church  street  past  the  park  and 
around  the  "flatiron"  and  back  through  Church  street  to  Athletic 
Field  where  they  were  lined  up  upon  one  side  of  the  field  to 
witness  the  pageant  of  the  capture  of  the  Brown  family.  This 
scene  as  enacted  was  most  spectacular  and  realistic.  There 
could  not  have  been  a  better  setting  for  it.  A  log  cabin  had 
been  erected  at  the  foot  of  a  high  rocky  ledge  which  bounds  the 
eastern  side  of  the  field  and  from  which  the  traitor  Gibson 
points  out  to  the  Indians  the  cabin  of  the  Brown  family  and  over 
which  the  Indians  came  skulking  down  with  their  tomahawks 
and  guns  to  the  cabin. 

This  scene  as  enacted  was  historically  true  as  to  the  number 
of  Indians  engaged  and  the  members  of  the  Brown  family,  the 
traitor  Gibson  and  the  man  Olds,  who  escaped  by  jumping 
through  the  window  and  running  to  the  woods  pursued  by  the 
Indians  with  their  tomahawks.  After  the  faniily  had  been  cap- 
tured and  while  being  led  away  the  cabin  was  fired  surrounded 


by  the  Indians,  yelling,  dancing  and  brandishing  their  toma- 

The  principal  participants  in  the  drama  included  descendants 
of  the  captured  family,  residents  of  this  town  and  were  Lynn  A. 
Brown,  who  represented  Mrs.  Joseph  Brown  and  Ray  M.  Brown 
and  two  children  representing  Joseph  Brown  and  his  children. 
The  Brown  boys,  Charles  and  Joseph,  Jr.,  who  were  out  hunting 
did  not  return  until  the  burning  of  the  cabin,  were  Francis  Mc- 
Mahon  and  Clement  Percival,  Donald  Percival  was  the  man 
Olds,  who  escaped,  and  Frank  Flynn  represented  the  traitor, 
Gibson,  who  was  bound  and  subjected  to  indignities  by  the  In- 
dians and  led  away  with  the  other  captives. 

After  the  pageant  came  a  few  sports.  The  60-yard  dash 
was  won  by  Raymtond  Ouimette  of  Burlington,  who  also  won 
the  sack  race.  The  three-legged  race  was  won  by  Ralph  Brig- 
ham  of  this  town  and  Matthew  Barney  of  Richmond. 

The  exercises  of  the  day  were  brought  to  a  close  in  the  eve- 
ning by  a  second  presentation  of  "A  Rose  O'  Plyrriouth  Town" 
given  in  the  hall  of  the  school  building  which  was  filled  with 
an  audience  of  300. 

To  the  untiring  effort,  the  hours  of  thought,  time  and 
travel  of  Chairman  B.  H.  Day,  Vice-Chairman  C.  H.  Hayden 
and  Secretary  E.  B.  Jordan,  of  the  conimittee  who  largely  planned 
and  formulated  the  carrying  out  of  the  celebration  is  due  and 
unanimously  conceded  .the  credit  of  making  the  event  the  grand 
success  which  it  was. 

Chapter  IX. 


The  financial  status  of  the  celebration  is  shown  in  the  fol- 
lowing report,  while  the  courtesies  of  the  General  Committee  are 
fittingly  expressed  in  the  resolutions. 

Treasurer's  Report  on  Celebration. 

The  Celebration  Committee  met  Monday  evening  at  the 
home  of  Rev.  and  Mrs.  S.  H.  Barnum.  C.  H.  Hayden,  treasurer, 
presented  his  report  to  date  as  follows : 


Treasurer's  Report: 

Aug.  25,  1913,  Total  receipts  of  Celebration,  $846.40. 

Total  money  paid  out,  $590.82. 

Balance  on  hand,  $255.5o. 

This  balance  was  set  aside  for  the  purpose  of  publishing 
a  history  of  the  town  of  Jericho. 

Every  feature  of  the  Celebration  work  showed  a  profit. 
Much  satisfaction  was  expressed  by  the  members  of  the  General 
Committee  over  the  success  of  the  celebration  and  the  excep- 
tionally fine  financial  showing. 

The  following  resolutions  were  introduced  and  adopted : 

Resolved:  That  the  thanks  of  this  committee  are  due  to  the 
citizens  of  Jericho  for  the  cordial  support  given  in  carrying  out 
the  Town  Celebration  program. 

Resolved:  That  the  thanks  of  this  committee  are  hereby 
given  the  press  of  our  county,  who  have  so  generously  aided  in 
giving  publicity  to  our  plans,  and  for  the  most  excellent  reports 
of  the  celebration  by  thein  given. 

Resolved:  That  we  fully  appreciate  the  services  of  our 
President,  B.  H.  Day,  for  the  able  manner  in  which  he  has  pre- 
sided over  our  deliberations,  also  the  untiring  and  faithful  serv- 
ices of  our  Secretary,  E.  B.  Jordan. 

Resolved:  That  we  acknowledge  with  gratitude  the  help- 
ful presence  of  the  lady  members  of  this  committee  and  attribute 
much  of  the  success  of  the  celebration  to  them,  not  forgetting 
the  dainties,  etc.,  they  and  others  furnished  us,  all  of  which 
have  seemed  to  fill  in  so  well. 

Resolved:  That  our  association  should  be  productive  of  a 
better  town  and  community  spirit,  greatly  increased  business  ac- 
tivities, better  schools,  stronger  churches  and  an  enlarged  citizen- 

Resolved:  That  the  thanks  of  the  general  committee  are 
due  and  are  hereby  tendered  to  the  dramatic  committee  and 
especially  to  Mrs.  Medora  Schweig,  as  manager,  and  to  the 
young  ladies  and  gentlemen:  C.  Harold  Hayden,  Carl  E.  Nay, 
Ralph  L.  W.  Smilie,  Harlie  F.  Ross,  Hazel  E.  Knight,  Hope 
Scribner,  Madeline  Schweig  and  Olive  L.  Hayden  and  Mrs.  H. 
H.    Higgins,    for   the    highly    successful    presentations    of    the 


beautiful  drama,  "A  Rose  O'  Plyrnouth  Town,"  during  our 
celebration  week. 

The  intention  of  the  author  of  this  write  up  has  been  to 
impartially,  completely,  and  truthfully  portray  the  different  func- 
tions of  the  great  celebration,  and,  if  he  has  omitted  anything 
which  ought  to  have  been  written,  or  if  anything  has  been 
printed  which  ought  not  to  have  been,  it  is  wholly  unintentional. 

Is  it  vain  for  the  writer  to  hope  that  the  reader  has  pursued 
this  recital  of  the  events  of  the  great  celebration  with  a  high  de- 
gree of  pleasure;  has  looked  with  some  degree  of  satisfaction 
upon  the  pictures  and  scenes  reproducing  to  the  mind  what  then 
and  there  took  place,  in  short,  that  this  book  will  always  be  a 
source  of  delight  because  of  the  happy  hours  and  memories  it 
recalls  ? 

LaFatette  "Wilbur. 

Member  of  tlie  General  Committee.  Member  of  the  Historical  Com- 
mittee. Member  of  the  Banquet  Committee.  Author  of  the  Early 
History  of  Vermont  in  four  volumes,  and  the  Morse  Genealogy. 




By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Chapter  I. 


All  who  became  inhabitants  of  Jericho  after  the  sixty-six 
Grantees  had  received  their  Charter  by  Benning  Wentworth,  Gov- 
ernor of  the  Province  of  New  Hampshire  under  King  George 
the  III,  were  subject  to  the  Charter  provisions  and  to  the  Com- 
mon Law  of  England.  The  enforcement  of  contracts  and  the 
punishment  of  crimes  were  under  this  Common  Law. 

The  township  remained  a  dense,  unbroken  wilderness  until 
1774,  in  which  year  Roderick  Messenger,  Azariah  Rood  and 
Joseph  Brown  emigrated  from  western  Massachusetts.  Mes- 
senger located  on  Onion  River  near  where  the  road  leading  from 
Jericho  village  intersects  the  Onion  River  road.  Azariah  Rood 
purchased  a  large  tract  of  land  and  built  his  house  in  the  south 
part  of  the  town  on  what  is  now  known  as  the  Edgar  Barber 
farm.  Joseph  Brown  located  and  built  his  log  house  near  Under- 
bill, a  little  south  of  the  river  bearing  his  name.  This  family 
was  twice  captured  by  Indians  and  taken  to  Canada,  where  they 
were  sold  to  British  officers  at  eight  dollars  a  head  and  held  as 
prisoners  for  more  than  three  years.  Full  particulars  of  their 
capture  and  experiences  will  be  found  in  the  historical  address 
of  L.  F.  Wilbur,  and  in  the  presentation  speech  of  Buel  H.  Day 
at  the  dedication  of  the  Brown  Marker. 

The  hardships,  difficulties  and  dangers  that  attended  the 
coming  of  these  first  families  to  fell  the  forests  and  make  for 
themselves  homes  in  the  dense  wilderness  that  Jericho  was  then, 
may  hardly  be  realized  in  this  d&y  of  plenty  and  modem  sur- 
roundings.   Difficulties    unforeseen    multiplied.    Vermont    pio- 


neers  had  purchased  their  lands  and  received  their  titles  from 
Governor  Wentworth  of  New  Hampshire.  Afterwards  New 
York  advanced  her  claim  to  all  lands  west  of  the  Connecticut 
river  and  sought  to  force  the  settlers  to  pay  for  their  lands  a 
second  time.  Both  New  Hampshire  and  New  York  claimed 
title  to  this  land  through  grants  from  the  same  source,  but  New 
Hampshire  abandoned  her  claim  and  withdrew  her  protection 
from  the  settlers,  leaving  them  to  contest  their  rights  with  New 
York  as  best  they  might. 

The  British,  invading  the  rebellious  colonies  from  the  north, 
urged  the  Indians  to  rob  and  make  captive  the  pioneers.  So 
perilous  became  the  position  of  these  settlers  that  they'  were 
forced  to  withdraw  until  peace  was  declared  between  the  States 
and  Great  Britain.  Peace  having  been  declared,  Brown,  Rood 
and  Messenger  returned  to  their  land  and  from  that  time  on  the 
increase  of  settlers  was  rapid. 

In  1786  a  move  was  made  to  organize  the  town.  Honorable 
John  Fassett,  a  judge  of  the  Supreme  Court,  legally  warned  a 
meeting  of  the  freeholders  and  other  inhabitants  of  the  com- 
munity to  be  held  on  March  22,  1786.  The  meeting  was  held 
pursuant  to  the  warning  and  chose  James  Farnsworth,  moder- 
ator; Lewis  Chapin,  town  clerk;  and  Peter  McArthur,  con- 
stable. Farnsworth  was  also  chosen  justice  of  the  peace.  The 
officers  were  sworn  to  discharge  their  duties  according  to  law, 
and  the  meeting  adjourned  to  meet  on  the  "Second  Tuesday  of 
June  next  at  ten  o'clock  in  the  morning,"  and  on  June  13th, 
1786,  they  met  according  to  adjournment  and  chose  Deacon 
Azariah  Rood,  Captain  Joseph  Hall  and  Mr.  Jedediah  Lane, 
selectmen;  Lewis  Chapin,  treasurer;  Abel  Castle,  Daniel  Stan- 
nard  and  John  Fairwell,  surveyors  of  highways. 

A  meeting  warned  by  the  constable  met  on  the  13th  day  of 
June,  A.  D.,  1786  and  chose  Daniel  Stannard  to  attend  a  conven- 
tion at  Manchester.  It  is  not  certain  what  the  nature  of  this  con- 
vention was,  but  probably  it  was  political. 

At  a  meeting  warned  by  the  selectmen  held  September  27, 
1786,  Captain  Joseph  Hall  was  chosen  moderator,  and  it  was 
voted  "that  the  selectmen  go  to  Esqr.  Savage  to  see  how  the  in- 
habitants can  be  paid  for  cutting  roads,  and  agree  with  Esqr.  Sav- 
age to  work  out  sixty  pounds  on  the  roads."  This  meeting  was  ad-' 


joumed  to  October  4,  on  which  date  Lewis  Chapin  was  chosen  as 
agent  to  go  to  the  assembly  with  a  petition  for  the  grant  of  a 
tax  on  the  land  in  Jericho  to  be  used  in  cutting  roads  and  build- 
ing bridges. 

By  a  permit  from  the  General  Assembly  in  session  at  Rut- 
land, October,  1786,  the  town  of  Jericho  was  given  the  liberty  to 
choose  a  member  to  attend  the  assembly  at  its  adjourned  ses- 
sion to  be  held  at  Bennington  in  February,  1787.  Under  said 
permission  on  tKe  29th  day  of  November,  1786,  the  town  chose 
Jedediah  Lane  their  representative.  He  was  the  first  of  a  long 
list  of  representatives  chosen  between  the  years  1786  and  1913, 
whose  names  together  with  number  of  years  each  served,  as  well 
as  a  list  of  the  town  clerks,  dates  of  their  election,  and  number 
of  years  each  served,  will  be  found  in  the  historical  address  of 
L.  F.  Wilbur  given  elsewhere  in  this  volume. 

Town  officers  were  paid  no  extravagant  salaries  in  these 
early  days  as  is  evidenced  by  a  vote  taken  in  March,  1806,  at 
which  it  was  agreed  to  allow  the  selectmen  seven  dollars  and 
fifty  cents  for  their  year's  services,  viz.:  Eleazer  Hubbell,  $2.50; 
Samuel  Day,  $3.00 ;  and  Jedediah  Field,  $2.00,  with  a  six  pence  on 
the  pound  to  the  collector  for  collecting  the  town  taxes. 

The  town  officers  for  the  years  1787  and  1788  were  mainly 
the  same,  some  of  the  men  holding  different  offices.  At  the  town 
meeting  held  March  13th,  1787,  it  was  voted  to  have  five  select- 
men and  John  Lee  was  elected  the  fifth  one,  the  name  of  the 
fourth  selectman  not  being  given.  It  was  also  voted  to  have 
two  constables  and  Peter  McArthur  and  Benjamin  Farnsworth 
were  elected.  Joseph  Hall  was  chosen  grand  juror;  Jonathan 
Castle  and  Leonard  Hodges,  listers ;  Roderick  Messenger,  leather 
sealer ;  Joseph  Hall,  sealer  of  weights  and  measures ;  three  sur- 
veyors of  highwayis  were  elected ;  Ichabod  Chapin  and  John  Fair- 
well  were  chosen  tythingmen;  and  it  was  voted  to  give  Lewis 
Chapin  one  pound  and  sixteen  shillings  for  attending  the  assem- 
bly as  agent,  and  eighteen  shillings  for  a  book  of  ear-marks.  A 
tax  of  nine  pounds  in  cash  was  also  voted,  as  well  as  to  accept 
the  road  from  Essex  line  to  Bolton  line,  and  the  road  from  Essex 
Kne  to  Underbill  line  from  Jedediah  Lane's  through  by  Messrs. 
Castle's  and  Brown's. 

At  a  town  meeting  held  September  4,  1787,  it  was  voted 


"That  the  dwelling  house  of  Ben  Bartlet  be  the  place  for  holding 
town  meetings  for  the  future,  and  that  the  bridge  by  Jedediah 
Lane's  be  a  town  bridge."  "At  this  meeting  Daniel  Stannard, 
Joseph  Wilson  and  Jedediah  Lane  were  elected  the  first  pound 
keepers  and  it  was  voted  that  their  stables  be  used  for  pounds. 

At  the  annual  town  meeting  held  March  24th,  1788,  Roder- 
ick Messenger,  Abel  Castle  and  Leonard  Hodges  were  chosen 
selectmen;  Peter  McArthur  and  Benjamin  Farnsworth,  con- 
stables and  collectors  of  rates;  Lewis  Chapin,  Noah  Chittenden 
and  John  Fairwell,  list  takers ;  James  Farnsworth,  town  treasurer ; 
J.  McFarlin  and  Timothy  Brown,  leather  sealers ;  and  John  Rus- 
sel,  tythingman. 

The  duties  of  the  tythingman  were  to  keep  the  peace  and 
preserve  good  order  in  church  during  divine  service,  to  make  com- 
plaint of  any  disorderly  conduct  and  to  enforce  the  observance  of 
the  Sabbath.  Many  a  boy  and  many  a  .girl  was  reminded  during 
the  church  service  by  the  use  of  the  tything  rod  in  the  hands  of 
the  tythingman  that  better  behavior  was  demanded  from  them. 

At  this  meeting  Azariah  Rood  and  James  Farnsworth  were 
elected  a  committee  to  hire  a  candidate  for  preacher  and  it  was 
voted  that  "We  will  raise  money  to  pay  a  candidate  for  preach- 
ing two  months." 

At  an  adjourned  meeting  it  was  voted  that  the  "Selectmen 
warn  the  town  meetings  where  they  see  fit  for  the  time  being,  and 
establish  the  roads  in  the  different  places  in  the  town  as  they 
shall  deem  legal  without  further  orders." 

At  an  adjourned  annual  town  meeting  held  on  the  14th  day 
of  April,  1789,  it  was  voted  to  allow  Roderick  Messenger  twenty 
shillings,  Leonard  Hodges  twelve  shillings,  and  Abel  Castle  ten 
shillings  for  their  services  as  selectmen.  The  meeting  chose 
Deacon  Azariah  Rood,  Ebenezer  Bartlett,  Azariah  Lee  and  Lewis 
Chapin  to  join  the  selectmen  as  a  committee  "To  look  out  a  bury- 
ing place  as  near  the  middle  of  the  town  as  may  be." 

At  a  'town  meeting  held  April  24th,  1789,  it  was  voted  to 
"draw  the  money  out  of  the  town  treasury  to  pay  for  what  preach- 
ing we  had  the  year  past,  and  to  choose  a  committee  of  three  to 
provide  preaching  the  ensuing  season."  At  a  town  meeting  held 
September  1st,  1789,  it  was  voted  that  a  tax  of  two  pence  on  the 
pound  of  the  list  of  that  year  be  raised  to  defray  town  expenses, 


and  "that  it  be  raised  in  wheat  at  six  shillings,  rye  at  four  shillings 
and  nine  pence  and  corn  at  four  shillings,  per  bushel."  On  the 
same  day  a  town  meeting  was  held  "for  the  purpose  of  trying 
to  settle  Mr.  Reuben  Parmalee  in  the  Ministry  in  this  town."  On 
September  28th,  1789,  at  a  legally  warned  town  meeting  it  was 
voted  "that  the  selectmen  make  a  rate  on  the  present  list  sufficient 
to  pay  Mr.  Parmalee  for  preaching  in  this  town  the  summer  past," 
and  voted  "That  the  grounds  looked  out  by  the  committee  near 
Lewis  Chapin's  dwelling  house  for  a  burying  place  be  improved 
for  that  purpose,"  and  they  chose  "Noah  Chittenden,  Roderick 
Messenger  and  Jedediah  Lane  committee  to  agree  with  Mr. 
Chapin  for  the  land  for  that  purpose."  This  meeting  also  chose 
Roderick  Messenger,  Jonathan  Castle  and  John  Russell  tavern 

At  the  annual  town  meeting,  March  15th,  1790,  fence  viewers 
were  chosen  for  the  first  time.  It  was  voted  "to  hire  preaching 
on  probation  for  settlement"  and  Lewis  Chapin,  Noah  Chitten- 
den Esq.,  and  Deacon  Azariah  Rood  were  chosen  a  committee 
"to  hire  preaching." 

The  early  settlers  of  Jericho  were  so  intensely  religious  and 
so  desirous  of  keeping  up  divine  service  among  the  people  that 
they  met  at  private  dwellings  and  in  barns,  even  in  winter  when 
there. were  no  means  of  warming  them. 

At  a  town  meeting  July  10th,  1790,  it  was  voted  "that  two- 
thirds  of  the  time  we  meet  for  public  worship  at  William  Smith's 
and  one-third  at  Captain  J.  Russell's  and  to  hire  Mr.  Kingsbury 
nine  Sabbaths  more,  being  twelve  in  the  whole."  At  that  meet- 
ing Martin  Chittenden,  Peter  McArthur  and  Thomas  D.  Rood 
were  chosen  "to  attend  to  and  lay  out  the  Public  Rights  of  land  in 
this  town." 

September  7th,  1790,  at  an  adjourned  meeting,  it  was  voted 
to  give  Mr.  Kingsbury  a  call  to  the  work  of  the  ministry  in  this 
town  and  "a  settlement  fee  of  two  hundred  pounds  including  the 
ministry  Right"  and  "to  give  him  thirty-five  pounds  salary  the  first 
year  and  rise  with  the  list  until  it  shall  amount  to  eighty  pounds 
per  annum."  The  meeting  also  voted  "that  the  neighborhood  on 
Onion  River  in  the  south  part  of  the  town  should  have  their 
money  refunded  back  that  they  pay  towards  the  settlement  of 
Mr.  Kingsbury  over  and  aJ)ove  what  the  public  Right  amounts  to 


at  a  time  when  they  shall  be  legally  set  oflf  by  authority  to  unite 
with  another  society."  At  an  adjourned  meeting,  October  4th, 
1790,  it  was  voted  "that  if  the  salary  voted  to  Mr.  Kingsbury  does 
not  rise  to  eighty  pounds  in  seven  years  the  eighth  year  it  shall 
be  eighty  pounds  and  the  settlement  which  the  town  has  already 
agreed  to  give  Mr.  Kingsbury  be  raised  within  one  year  after  his 
ordination,  in  neat  cattle  or  grain  or  materials  for  building  at  the 
common  going  price  amongst  us,  and  that  the  first  settled  minister 
have  forty  cords  of  wood  delivered  to  his  door,  he  finding  the 

Dec.  7th,  1790,  Martin  Chittenden,  Esq.,  was  chosen  by  the 
freemen,  in  meeting  assembled,  member  to  a  State  convention 
to  be  held  on  the  first  Thursday  of  January,  1791,  at  Bennington, 
for  the  purpose  of  considering  and  adopting  the  Federal  Con- 
stitution of  the  United  States. 

At  a  town  meeting  April  4th,  1791,  it  was  voted  "that  the 
neighborhood  on  Onion  River  in  the  south  part  of  this  town  be 
immediately  set  off  to  join  the  South  Society  in  Williston."  At 
this  meeting  "objection  having  been  made  to  allowing  Mr.  Kings- 
bury forty  cords  of  wood  and  paying  him  eighty  pounds  the  eighth 
year  if  he  should  become  their  minister  as  was  proposed  and  voted 
at  a  former  meeting,  Mr.  Kingsbury  being  called  upon  agreed  to 
relinquish  the  proposal  for  the  forty  cord  of  wood  and  agreed  that 
if  the  salary  did  not  amount  to  eighty  pounds  in  ten  years,  it 
should  be  eighty  pounds  the  eleventh  year."  This  modification  of 
the  original  proposal  was  accepted  and  he  became  their  minister, 
continuing  to  serve  them  in  that  capacity  until  1808.  At  this 
same  meeting  it  was  voted  to  "meet  for  public  worship  on  the 
Sabbath  at  William  Smith's  barn  for  the  future."  At  the  town 
meeting  held  April  21st,  1791,  it  was  voted  "that  Noah  Chitten- 
den, Esq.,  be  appointed  to  provide  for  the  Ordaining  Council 
the  22nd  of  June  next."  On  the  14th  of  November,  1791,  it  was 
voted  "that  Mr.  Messenger  be  allowed  three  pounds  lawful  money 
for  providing  for  the  Ordaining  Council  last  June."  It  was  also 
voted  "to  meet  for  public  worship  at  the  dwelling  house  of  Elon 
Lee  the  ensuing  winter,  and  to  have  but  one  exercise  on  the  Sab- 
bath from  the  first  of  December  next  to  the  first  of  March  next 
and  to  begin  at  eleven  o'clock  in  the  morning." 


March  28th,  1792,  it  was  voted  "to  raise  a  tax  of  sixty  dollars 
on  the  grand  list  for  the  purpose  of  building  a  bridge  over  Brown's 
river ;  except  the  proportion  of  that  part  of  the  town  that  is  set 
off  to  Williston,  they  to  work  theirs  out  on  bridges  on  Onion 
River  road,  to  be  worked  out  by  the  first  of  October  next  at  four 
shillings  per  day  or  paid  in  wheat  at  four  shillings  and  six  pence 
per  bushel" ;  a  committee  of  four  was  chosen  to  superintend  the 
labor;  and  it  was  voted  "to  discharge  Mr.  Josim  Morgan  from 
paying  any  part  of  Ebenezer  Kingsbury's  settlement."  April  16th, 
1792,  it  was  voted  "that  we  meet  for  public  worship  at  Lewis 
Chapin's  barn  the  ensuing  summer." 

At  a  town  meeting,  September  4th,  1792,  it  was  voted  to  "run 
the  town  line  between  this  town  and  a  certain  part  of  the  town 
which  has  heretofore  been  set  off  to  the  Southeast  Society  in  Wil- 
liston," and  Joseph  Wilson,  Benjamin  Famsworth,  Noah  Chit- 
tenden and  Nathan  Moore  were  elected  a  committee  to  run  the 

January  7th,  1793,  the  records  show  a  freemen's  meeting  was 
held  "for  the  purpose  of  choosing  a  representative  to  the  Con- 
gress of  the  United  States  of  North  America."  At  the  election 
Israel  Smith  was  chosen  as  representative  to  succeed  himself. 

The  religious  spirit  entered  largely  into  the  daily  life  of  these 
early  settlers  and  the  foundations  of  the  town  as  well  as  of  the 
family  were  builded  upon  the  rock  of  the  "word  of  God."  March 
4th,  1793,  we  find  the  record  that  in  town  meeting  assembled  it 
was  voted  "to  meet  for  public  worship  this  time  at  Elon  Lee's  in 
cold  weather  and  at  William  Smith's  barn  in  warm  weather  for 
one  year." 

June  24th,  1793,  Martin  Chittenden  was  chosen  to  attend 
the  convention  called  to  decide  if  the  Constitution  should  be  es- 
tablished according  to  the  resolution. 

(Editor's  note:  The  convention  above  referred  to  was  held 
at  Windsor,  July  4,  1793,  for  the  j)urpose  of  amending  the  State 
Constitution,  and  no  further  changes  were  made  until  1828). 

March  18th,  1794,  the  freemen  assembled  chose  John  Hol- 
lenbeck  agent  to  attend  the  committee  appointed  to  set  the  stake 
for  Chittenden  county  court  house  and  inform  said  committee, 
"that  it  is  our  wish  that  the  stake  be  set  in  the  most  convenient 
place  in  the  county  as  near  the  center  as  may  be  consistent  with 


the  good  of  the  whole,"  and  it  was  further  voted  "that  it  is  our 
wish  that  the  stake  be  set  in  this  town  if  it  be  not  repugnant  to 
the  foregoing  vote."  (Which  request  seems  not  to  have  met  with 
favor  from  the  above  said  committee). 

At  a  freemen's  meeting  held  September  2nd,  1794,  to  cast 
votes  for  State  officers,  out  of  a  total  vote  of  72  for  governor 
Thomas  Chittenden  polled  45 ;  Peter  Olcott  had  42  votes  for  lieu- 
tenant governor;  and  Roswell  Hopkins  a  majority  of  13  votes 
for  state  treasurer. 

At  a  town  meeting,  October  2nd,  1794,  it  was  voted  that 
"every  man  write  his  place  for  a  meeting  house  and  put  it  into  a 
hat."  The  result  of  this  voting  showed  no  majority  for  any  one 
place,  and  accordingly  Noah  Chittenden,  John  Lyman,  Dudley 
Stone,  Jedediah  Lane  and  Thomas  Bentley  were  chosen  a  com- 
mittee of  arbitration  to  decide  on  a  site  and  set  the  stake.  The 
committee  agreed  on  Captain  Bartlett's  lot,  and  so  reported,  but 
the  voters  did  not  agree  to  adopt  the  report,  and  at  an  adjourned 
meeting,  November  13th,  1794,-  voted  "to  choose  (accept)  a  com- 
mittee to  be  appointed  by  the  County  Court  to  set  a  meeting 
house  stake."  Amos  Brownson  of  Williston,'  Samuel  Bradley 
of  Essex,  and  Phineas  Loomis  of  Burlington,  were  the  County 
Court  committee  appointed,  but  the  town  records  are  silent  as 
to  their  action.  Undoubtedly,  however,  they  "set  the  stake"  on 
the  green  in  front  of  the  present  Congregational  Church  building 
at  Jericho  Center,  for  on  June  3rd,  1795  the  town  "voted  that  the 
town  purchase  four  acres  of  land  for  a  green  around  the  meet- 
ing house  stake."  December  30th,  1794,  it  was  voted  "to  build  a 
meeting  house  of  a  sufficient  bigness  for  the  town  during  the  life 
of  the  building,"  and  January  13th,  1795,  Col.  Noah  Chittenden 
brought  forward  a  plan  to  build  a  meeting  house  "51  feet  by  60 
feet  with  a  pulpit  in  one  end,"  which  was  unanimously  adopted, 
but  at  a  subsequent  meeting,  November  18th,  the  size  of  the  build- 
ing was  changed  to  54  feet  long  and  50  feet  wide.  January  13th, 
1795,  it  was  voted  "to  have  a  subscription  paper  to  sign  our  equal 
proportion  according  to  our  list  of  the  year  1795  in  setting  up, 
covering,  enclosing  the  outside,  laying  the  under  floor  and  light- 
ing a  meeting  house  the  ensuing  summer."  Noah  Chittenden 
was  chosen  to  superintend  the  building,  and  Martin  Chittenden 
to  draft  the  subscription  paper  or  papers.  March  10th  it  was  voted 


to  build  the  meeting  house  with  a  square  roof.  The  people  de- 
cided by  vote  to  hold  public  worship  in  private  houses  and  barns 
until  the  meeting  house  was  ready  for  use,  also  that  sheep  be 
prohibited  from  running  at  large  on  the  common. 

June  3rd,  1795,  Noah  Chittenden,  Benjamin  Bartlett  and 
Thomas  D.  Rood  were  appointed  a  committee  to  lay  out  the 
land  that  had  been  purchased  for  a  meeting  house  green,  and  the 
heads  of  the  three  classes  that  had  been  employed  to  build  the 
house  "see  to  chopping  and  clearing  off  the  land  for  the  Green 
the  present  summer,  one-third  each."  Noah  Chittenden,  Ben- 
jamin Bartlett  and  Thomas  D.  Rood  were  also  instructed  to 
"find  and  agree  for  a  suitable  and  convenient  place  or  places  for 
burying  the  dead." 

November  18th  it  was  voted  to  build  the  meeting  house  with 
the  proceeds  of  the  pews  sold  at  public  vendue  at  the  next  ad- 
journed town  meeting,  and  Noah  Chittenden,  Thomas  D.  Rood 
and  Benjamin  Bartlett  were  chosen  a  committee  to  number  the 
pews  and  sell  the  same  at  public  vendue,  taking  obligations  from 
the  bidders  and  regulating  the  time  and  manner  for  paying  said 
obligations.  The  report  of  this  committee  made  at  the  town  meet- 
ing held  December  9th  was  accepted,  and  it  was  voted  that  Rev. 
Ebenezer  Kingsbury  have  liberty  to  choose  a  pew  for  his  family, 
who  accordingly  chose  the  pew  by  the  pulpit  stairs  and  proposed 
to  give  forty-five  pounds  toward  the  building  to  be  paid  out  of 
his  salary.  It  was  voted  to  sell  the  pews  "first  bid  to  be  first  pick, 
and  so  on,  and  to  pick  every  one  his  bid  on  the  plan  now  on  the 
spot."  Forty-two  pews  were  sold  at  prices  ranging  from  sixty- 
one  to  six  pounds. 

March  10th,  1796,  it  was  voted  that  "nine  dollars  be  taken 
out  of  the  town  treasury  of  the  money  that  was  raised  for  the  pur- 
pose of  getting  powder  and  lead  for  town  stock,  and  to  pay  the 
Court  Committee  who  set  the  meeting  house  stake." 

March  13th,  1797,  it  was  voted  "that  the  owners  of  any 
sheep  shall  be  accountable  for  any  damage  which  the  sheep  do." 

September  5th,  1797,  voted  "that  it  is  the  sense  of  the  free- 
men of  Jericho  that  the  act  laying  duties  on  stamped  vellum 
Parchment  and  paper,  passed  by  Congress  July  6th,  1797,  will  be 
in  its  operation  unequal  and  oppressive,  and  that  our  represent- 


ative  be  requested  to  use  every  exertion  in  his  power  that  the  same 
be  repealed." 

It  was  voted  on  March  20th,  1798,  "that  the  pole  that  is  now 
ready  to  be  raised,  be  the  town  sign  post."  (Editor's  note :  The 
pole  above  referred  to  was  undoubtedly  a  flag  pole  erected  on 
the  common  upon  which  warnings  for  town  meetings  were  to  be 

Voted  September  4th,  1798,  "that  there  be  a  town  tax  of  one 
hundred  dollars  to  be  made  up  on  the  list  of  1798  and  be  paid  into 
the  town  treasury  in  wheat  at  one  dollar  per  bushel  and  Indian 
corn  at  67  cents  per  bushel." 

At  the  annual  town  meeting  March  5th,  1799,  it  was  voted 
that  the  town  treasurer  be  directed  to  procure  at  the  expense  of 
the  town  standards  for  weights  and  measures,  and  "that  all  horses, 
kine,  swine  and  sheep  shall  not  be  free  commoners." 

March  27th,  1799,  at  a  town  meeting  warned  and  held  at 
the  meeting  house,  it  was  voted  "that  the  proprietors  and  land 
owners  proceed  to  take  the  privilege  of  the  act  authorizing  the 
proprietors  and  land  owners  to  divide  .their  lands  into  severalty," 
and  preparatory  to  the  division  "Hon.  Noah  Chittenden,  John 
Hollenbeck  and  Thomas  D.  Rood  were  chosen  a  committee  to  call 
on  Mrs.  Allen  for  the  records  of  Jericho,  and  to  draw  an  ad- 
vertisement according  to  the  act,  and  see  that  it  is  inserted  in  the 
public  print  according  to  law."  It  was  also  voted  to  divide  the 
town  into  school  districts,  and  a  committee  of  seven  was  chosen 
for  that  purpose.  It  does  not  appear  that  any  action  relative 
to  school  districts  was  taken  by  that  committee. 

At  a  town  meeting  held  October  30th,  1800,  it  was  voted 
that  "the  town  do  not  choose  to  have  inoculation  for  the  small  pox 
set  up  in  town  this  season."  This  meeting  also  chose  Eleazar 
Hubbell,  Thomas  D.  Rood,  Benj.  Bartlett,  Noah  Chittenden  and 
Jonathan  Castle  committee  to  look  out  the  most  convenient  place 
or  places  for  a  burying  ground  in  town,  to  see  on  what  terms 
these  could  be  procured,  and  to  report  at  the  next  meeting.  It 
was  again  voted  to  divide  the  town  into  school  districts  and  a  com- 
mittee of  seven  was  chosen  to  plan  the  division  and  report  at  the 
next  town  meeting.  At  the  annual  meeting  March  2nd,  1801,  the 
freemen  voted  "to  give  liberty  to  the  town  to  set  up  the  smallpox 
next  fall  under  the  directions  of  the  selectmen,"  and  again  in 


March,  1802,  the  town,  in  meeting  assembled,  decided  "to  ad- 
mit smallpox  by  inoculation  from  the  first  of  November  to  the 
last  day  of  February  next  under  proper  regulations." 

Town  records  show  that  even  in  those  early  days  there  was 
negligence  in  "paying  the  minister,"  as  on  April  7th,  1800,  a  vote 
was  taken  "to  accept  Mr.  Kingsbury's  proposal  to  settle  up  the 
arrearages  of  his  salary  and  then  alter  the  principles  of  his  sup- 
port; and  it  was  voted  to  accept  of  Mr.  Kingsbury's  proposal, 
and  to  agree  with  him  in  calling  a  council  for  the  purpose  of  dis- 
missing hiin  unless  a  Society  should  be  formed  to  support  him 
by  the  tenth  of  May  next."  This  Society  September  15th,  of  the 
following  year,  voted  to  dismiss  him,  and  a  committee  of  five 
was  appointed  to  procure  preaching  in  case  Mr.  Kingsbury  should 
"be''  dismissed.  October  2nd,  1801,  Martin  Chittenden,  Thomas 
D.  Rood  and  Benj.  Bartlett  were  made  a  committee  "in  calling  a 
council  to  dismiss  him."  Meanwhile  the  congregation  was  evi- 
dently increasing,  as  at  a  meeting  of  the  proprietors  of  the  meet- 
ing house,  October  30th,  1800,  it  had  been  voted  to  sell  the  gal- 
lery pews. 

The  settlers  of  New  England,  among  whom  those  of  Ver- 
mont and  of  Jericho  were  no  exception,  were  deeply  religious  and 
believed  it  incumbent  upon  the  town  to  support  the  church  and 
its  minister  by  means  of  a  direct  tax,  and  laws  were  created  mak- 
ing this  tax  compulsory.  The  ruling  church  was  the  Congrega- 
tional, and  every  tax  payer,  regardless  of  creed,  was  obliged  to 
contribute  to  its  support.  Gradually  among  those  of  differing 
creeds  arose  a  spirit  of  revxAt  against  this  interference  with  lib- 
erty of  conscience,  and  eventually  any  individual  whose  religious 
belief  was  not  in  accord  with  the  community  church  was  relieved 
from  its  support  upon  presentation  to  the  proper  authorities  of  a 
certificate  showing  him  to  be  a  member  of  some  other  church  or 
creed.  The  following  are  copies  of  two  such  certificates  filed  with 
the  Jericho  town  authorities  by  citizens  whose  religious  beliefs 
were  at  variance  with  the  Congregational  Church. 

"This  certifies  that  Joseph  Brown,  Timothy  Brown,  Abel 
Castle,  Jonathan  Castle,  Nathaniel  Bostwick,  Charles  Brown, 
Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  and  Lewis  Castle  are  professors  of  the  Epis- 
copal Church  and  attend  public  worship  that  way.  Certified  at 


Jericho  in  the  county  of  Chittenden,  State  of  Vermont  this  5th 
day  of  June,  1788. 

By  me  Reuben  Garlick,  Rector. 

Entered  to  record  June  5th,  1788. 

And  recorded  by  me  Jonathan  Castle,  Town  Clerk." 

"This  may  certify  Hezekiah  Clark  is  a  member  of  the  Bap- 
tist Society  in  Jericho  and  professedly  of  sentiment  similar  with 
this  society. 

Given  under  my  hand  as  Moderator, 

Edward  Fay. 

Entered  and  recorded  June  17th,  1793. 

Per  me  Jonathan  Castle,  Town  Clerk." 

At  a  town  meeting  January  27,  1836,  the  following  resolution 
was  read  and  adopted : 

"Whereas,  the  proprietors  of  the  building  heretofore  denom- 
inated the  old  meeting  house  in  Jericho  have  sold  or  transferred 
their  interest  in  the  same  and  the  said  house  is  about  being  taken 
down  whereby  the  said  town  will  be  deprived  of  the  usual  place 
of  holding  freeman's  meetings ;  therefore 

Resolved,  That  a  committee  of  three  persons  be  appointed  at 
the  present  meeting  who  are  hereby  empowered  to  receive  pro- 
posals for  building  or  furnishing  a  town  house  to  be  hereafter 
used  and  occupied  by  the  town  of  Jericho  on  all  occasions  for 
the  transaction  of  town  business." 

The  building  having  been  taken  down,  the  Selectmen  warned 
a  town  meeting  for  the  12th  day  of  August,  1836,  to  be  held 
"on  the  Common  or  Green"  (on  which  the  meeting  house  had 
stood)  and  at  the  meeting  it  was  voted  to  adjourn  "to  the  base- 
ment of  the  new  meeting  house"  Sept.  6th,  1836. 

Robert  Balch,  Oliver  Lowry  and  Truman  Galusha  were 
chosen  a  committee  at  a  meeting,  May  1st,  1837,  to  provide  a 
place  for  the  transaction  of  town  business  until  after  the  fol- 
lowing March  meeting,  and  to  confer  with  the  proprietors  of 
the  new  meeting  house  as  to  an  arrangement  with  them  for  such 
room.  The  committee  reported  September  5th,  "that  the  pro- 
prietors of  the  new  meeting  house  at  the  Center,  will  let  the 
town  occupy  the  north  room  of  the  basement  of  the  new  meeting 
house  for  a  town  room  to  be  used  for  all  political  meetings 
of  the  town  for  the  sum  of  two  hundred  dollars  with  interest  from 


the  first  day  of  March,  1837,  one-half  to  be  paid  in  the  month 
of  June,  A.  D.,  1838,  and  the  other  half  in  the  month  of  June,  A. 
D.,  1839."  The  town  voted  to  accept  the  report, of  its  committee, 
as  well  as  to  raise  the  money  "for  the  payment  of  the  basement 
to  the  meeting  house  for  town  business."  There  is  quite  a  dif- 
ference in  the  amount  of  money  required  to  defray  the  town 
expenses  in  1837  and  in  1913.  In  1837  the  tax  was  ten  cents 
on  the  dollar  of  the  list,  while  in  1913  it  was  $1.40  on  the 
dollar  of  the  grand  list.  Earlier  we  find  that  for  many  years 
town  affairs  were  so  managed  that  a  tax  on  the  grand  list 
from  three  and  one-half  to  six  cents  on  the  dollar  was  suffi- 
cient to  defray  the  ordinary  town  expenses. 

At  a  special  town  meeting  held  on  the  21st  of  July,  1812, 
Truman  Barney  was  chosen  constable  to  serve  in  the  place  of 
Oliver  Lowry,  "who  is  detached  in  the  Militia  of  this  State  and 
ordered  to  actual  service."  The  said  Oliver  Lowry  addressed 
his  resignation  as  Constable  to  the  Selectmen  in  writing  and  it 
was  accepted  by  them  and  recorded. 

In  November,  1820,  it  was  voted  "that  individuals  have  the 
privilege  of  building  sheds  on  the  public  green,  and  that  the 
owners  of  the  sheds  move,  build,  and  finish  them  where  they 
now  stand,  and  that  others  have  the  privilege  of  building  on 
the  west  end  of  same."  These  sheds  were  for  the  accommoda- 
tion of  church-goers.  (Editor's  note:  Meaning,  doubtless,  that 
permission  was  given  to  such  as  had  sheds  to  shift  about  and 
repair  the  same.  Permission  also  was  given  to  others  to  build 
new  at  the  west  end.) 

At  a  freeman's  meeting  held  on  the  last  Tuesday  of  May, 
1814,  Heman  Lowry  was  elected  as  a  "delegate  to  represent 
this  town  in  a  convention  to  be  holden  at  Montpelier  on  the 
first  Thursday  of  July  next  for  the  purpose  of  bringing  into 
consideration  certain  amendments  to  the  Constitution  of  this 
State  proposed  by  the  Council  of  Censors  November,  1813. 

There  was  an  article  in  the  warning  for  a  Town  Meeting 
to  be  held  on  the  6th  day  of  March,  1821,  "To  see  if  the  Town 
will  agree  to  request  the  Postmaster  General  to  remove  the 
Postoffice  to  the  Center  of  said  Town,"  which  was  northeast  of 
the  present  village  of  Jericho  Center.    The  meeting  did  so  vote 


and  instructed  the  Town  Clerk  to  notify  the  Washington  au- 
thorities of  the  action  of  the  Town. 

At  a  Town  Meeting  held  September  4th,  1821,  it  was 
voted  that  "it  is  the  sense  and  wish  of  the  inhabitants  of  the 
Town  of  Jericho  in  a  Town  Meeting  assembled  that  the  jail 
be  erected  at  Williston  if  the  inhabitants  of  said  Town  will 
erect  it  at  their  own  expense." 

At  a  Town  Meeting  held  March  4,  1822,  Noah  Chittenden 
was  chosen  to  represent  the  Town  "in  the  convention  of  the 
people  of  the  State  of  Vermont  to  be  holden  at  the  State  House 
in  Montpelier  on  the  third  Thursday  of  February  next  for  the 
purpose  of  taking  into  consideration  certain  amendments  of  the 
Constitution  proposed  by  the  Council  of  Censors  on  March  last." 

At  a  Town  Meeting  held  March  8,  1825,  the  Auditors  re- 
ported that  the  Town  had  obtained  a  judgment  against  the  Town 
of  Milton  of  about  three  hundred  dollars,  and  there  would  be  a 
balance  to  pay  into  the  Treasury  after  paying  the  costs  of  two 
hundred  and  fifty  dollars. 

At  a  Town  Meeting  held  March  7,  1843,  it  was  voted  that 
Constable  be  put  up  to  the  highest  bidder,  and  Horatio  B.  Barney 
bid  the  highest,  $26.00,  but  the  Meeting  chose  Dana  Bicknell 
first  Constable. 

Chapter  II. 


The  value  of  education  was  early  recognized  by  our  New 
England  forebears  and  the  means  for  its  dispensation  was  almost 
as  important  a  matter  with  them  as  was  the  establishment  of  a 
church.  The  winter  school  as  first  evolved  was  supported  by 
the  pupils  attending,  the  master  boarding  around  among  the 
familes  he  served.  Later  came  the  summer  session,  sometimes 
presided  over  by  a  "mistress,"  whose  services  in  the  winter  were 
not  desired  because  the  large  boys  who  attended   during  the 


colder  months  required  the  heavy  hand  of  a  strong  man  to  keep 
them  in  order. 

Teachers'  salaries  were  small  and  were  paid  in  grain,  the 
hardworking  pedagogue  sometimes  being  required  to  wait  a 
year  for  a  settlement. 

As  late  as  1860  town  records  show  that  the  average  paid 
a  male  teacher  per  month  was  but  $14  to  $20,  while  that  paid  the 
"schoolma'am"  was  an  average  of  only  $5  to  $10. 

The  original  division  of  the  town  into  school  districts  was 
largely  a  matter  of  convenience,  children  being  obliged  in  many 
cases  to  go  long  distances  to  school.  However  as  the  settlers 
increased,  the  need  of  more  and  better  schools  was  recognized 
and  the  matter  of  their  establishment  was  taken  under  considera- 
tion by  the  town.  The  first  move  in  this  direction  by  the  town 
of  Jericho  seems  to  have  been  shortly  previous  to  1802,  for  in 
that  year  it  was  voted  to  "accept  the  seven  school  districts  as 
brought  forward  by  the  Selectmen" ;  and  the  following  board  of 
school  trustees  was  chosen:  "1st  District,  Reuben  Lee;  2nd, 
Charles  Brown;  3d,  John  Lyman;  4th,  Noah  Chittenden;  5th, 
James  Bentley,  Jr. ;  6th,  William  Rood,  and  7th,  Wm.  Young." 

From  time  to  time  as  necessity  required  the  town  increased 
the  number  of  school  districts  from  the  seven  above  mentioned 
to  sixteen,  and  frequently  by  vote  transferred  persons  living  in 
one  district  to  another  where  it  would  be  more  convenient. 

March  5th,  1822,  by  vote  of  the  town,  School  Districts  Nos. 
9  and  10  were  created  out  of  a  part  of  the  lands  of  District  No.  1. 
A  portion  of  District  No.  5  was  set  off  to  a  School  District  in  Un- 
derbill to  be  accomplished  under  the  direction  of  a  committee 
therewith  appointed.  March  4th,  1823,  School  District  No.  12 
south  of  Jericho  Corners  was  created  out  of  a  part  of  District  No. 
3.  School  District  No.  6  was  given  leave  to  organize  with  a  part 
of  Richmond.  In  March,  1824,  the  12th  School  District  was 
annexed  to  District  No.  3,  and  the  selectmen  were  appointed  a 
committee  to  examine  the  condition  of  the  records  and  to  pro- 
cure a  suitable  bookcase  for  the  books  of  the  town. 

At  the  annual  meeting  in  March,  1832,  the  Third  School 
District  was  divided  by  the  line  of  the  road  leading  to  the  grist 
mill,  east  of  this  line  to  be  known  as  the  14th  School  District, 


but  the  following  year  these  Districts  were  again  united  under 
name  of  District  No  3. 

As  before  stated,  families  in  one  School  District  were  some- 
times transferred  to  a  District  more  convenient!  March  27, 
1827,  Billings  Strowd  was  so  transferred,  being  set  off  to  the 
4th  School  District  in  Bolton,  the  town  of  Bolton  having  voted 
to  receive  him  into  their  fold.  March  4th,  1828,  Vincent  Nash 
was  set  off  to  the  10th  School  District  in  Richmond,  he  having 
presented  the  following  certificate. 

"At  a  school  meeting  legally  warned  and  holden  in  the  Tenth 
School  District  in  Richmond  it  voted  to  receive  Mr.  Vincent 
Nash  of  Jericho  in  said  District  according  to  an  act  in  that 
case  made  and  provided.  Dated  at  Richmond,  the  3rd  day  of 
March,  1828." 

This  certificate  was  signed  by  the  District  Clerk. 

On  the  5th  day  of  March,  1822,  at  a  town  meeting  Simon 
Bicknell,  William  A.  Prentis,  Hosea  Bliss,  Lemuel  Blackman, 
William  P.  Richardson,  Truman  Galusha  and  Joseph  Porter 
were  chosen  a  superintending  committee  for  common  schools. 
This  was  a  committee  of  uncommon  ability. 

Money  for  the  support  of  the  schools  was  first  raised  by  a 
direct  tax  on  the  families  of  so  much  per  scholar,  but  this  method 
soon  gave  way  to  the  more  equitable  one  of  figuring  the  tax  upon 
the  district  grand  list.  March  3rd,  1812,  a  tax  of  one  per  cent, 
on  the  dollar  was  voted  the  support  of  schools,  to  be  paid  in 

That  the  assessors  might  have  no  difficulty  in  allotting  the 
value  of  real  estate  to  its  proper  School  district,  March  1st,  1842, 
it  was  voted  that  the  selectmen  determine  the  boundaries  of 
School  districts  in  any  doubtful  cases.  It  was  likewise  voted 
"that  the  preference  to  loan  out  the  surplus  money  be  given  those 
who  have  not  had  any  of  the  surplus  money,  and  that  Joseph 
P.  Lavigne,  Peter  Bissonnette  and  Abraham  Butler  have  their 
portion  of  the  pubUc  money." 

March  3rd,  1868,  two  central  schools  were  established  in  town 
designated  as  No.  1  and  No.  2.  No.  2  included  School  districts, 
Nos.  2,  3,  8,  and  11  and  that  part  of  No.  7  in  Underbill  which  lay 
in  the  town  of  Jericho;  while  No.  1  included  the  remainder  of 
the  town.    A  committee  of  three  for  each  Central  school  was  ap- 


pointed  to  provide  suitable  housing  and  to  locate  the  same.  This 
committee  were  given  power  to  assess  a  tax  on  the  list  of  their 
respective  districts,  to  defray  the  expense  of  these  Central  schools, 
and  to  elect  a  prudential  committee  of  three  for  each  school. 
Nothing  came  of  the  project  however. 

School  superintendents  were  faithful  to  the  duties  of  their 
office,  as  is  shown  by  the  report  of  Rufus  Smith  to  the  town  meet- 
ing of  1856.  As  superintendent  he  had  examined  and  licensed 
twenty-six  teachers ;  had  made  four  visits  to  the  dififerent  schools 
in  town;  and  had  found  the  number  of  scholars  attending  to  be 
366;  the  number  of  scholars  in  each  District  being  as  follows: 
In  District  No.  1,  38;  No.  2,  Church  Street,  37;  No.  3,  Corners, 
59;  No.  4,  Onion  River,  32;  No.  5,  Little  River,  19;  No.  6, 
south,  37;  No.  7,  Mill  Brook,  35;  No.  8,  Cyrus  Packard's,  13; 
No.  9,  Clapp,  15;  No.  11,  Lyman's,  23;  No.  13,  J.  Smith's,  30; 
No.  14,  L.  Stimson's,  28;  and  that  the  average  months  of  school- 
ing for  the  year  were  six. 

Two  years  later  the  total  number  of  scholars  attending  school 
had  dropped  to  334,  with  an  average  attendance  of  273,  accord- 
ing to  the  annual  report  of  the  town  school  superintendent.  In 
1859  the  total  number  of  scholars  attending  the  summer  schools 
was  313,  with  an  average  of  139,  due  no  doubt  to  the  demand  of 
farm  work,  in  which  each  member  of  the  family  was  allotted  a 
part.  At  the  winter  session,  the  total  of  pupils  jumped  to  339, 
with  268  an  average  attendance.  The  money  expenided  for 
schools  that  year  was  $806,  certainly  not  an  exorbitant  sum. 

The  legislature  of  1870  passed  an  act  whereby  a  town  by  a 
majority  vote  of  the  freemen  present  at  any  annual  March  meet- 
ing might  abolish  the  school  district  system.  Jericho  took  ad- 
vantage of  that  act  at  the  March  meeting  of  1871  and  abolished 
the  District  system  under  which  they  were  then  working  by 
vote  of  1 14  to  70,  and  elected  a  board  of  six  school  directors : 
E.  H.  Lane  and  L.  B.  Howe  to  serve  for  three  years ;  E.  S.  Whit- 
comb  and  E.  W.  Humphrey  for  two  years;  and  H.  S.  Wright 
and  L.  F.  Wilbur  for  one  year.  The  board  had  the  care  and 
custody  of  all  school  property,  and  the  supervision,  management 
and  control  of  the  public  schools.  The  board  had  the  power  to 
elect  a  chairman  who  should  have  the  power  and  duties  imposed 
upon  town  superintendents  of  schools. 


Not  all  were  satisfied  with  the  adoption  of  this  town  system 
of  schools,  and  these  dissatisfied  voters  caused  a  special  meet- 
ing to  be  held  March  27th,  1871,  in  an  unsuccessfiil  attempt  to 
rescind  the  vote  of  the  previous  meeting.  It  was  claimed  by 
those  adverse  to  the  town  school  system  that  the  back  districts 
would  be  deprived  of  schools,  and  their  scholars  forced  to  go 
long  distances  for  their  schooling.  This  feeling  extending  pretty 
generally  over  the  state  caused  the  legislature  of  1872  to  pass  an 
Act  that  any'  town  having  abolished  its  District  school  system, 
might  have  the  right  at  the  March  meeting  of  1873  or  at  any 
fourth  annual  March  meeting  thereafter,  to  return  to  the  District 
system  on  a  majority  vote  of  the  freemen  assembled.  Pursuant 
to  this  Act  the  town  of  Jericho  at  its  annual  March  meeting, 
1873,  voted  that  the  town  school  system  be  abolished. 

From  this  date  Jericho  made  use  of  the  District  System  un- 
til 1893,  when  the  Legislature  by  enactment  made  the  Town 
System  compulsory.  Besides  the  Primary  and  Intermediate 
grades,  comprising  the  first  6  years'  work  as  taught  in  all  Dis- 
tricts, there  was  added  at  Jericho  Corners  the  Grammar  School 
and  at  Jericho  Center  were  added  the  Grammar  School  and  later 
the  High  School  Department  from  which  students  pass  on  to 
college  work. 

At  this  same  session  of  the  Legislature,  1893,  the  Underbill 
Graded  School  District  was  incorporated  out  of  what  had  been 
District  No.  2  of  Jericho  and  No.  3  Underbill;  and  from  this 
school  also  its  graduates  have  entered  college  work. 

Chapter  III. 


The  division  of  wealth  among  the  pioneers  of  a  country 
follows  closely  the  ideas  of  our  modem  socialists.  Game  is 
plentiful,  land  may  be  had  for  the  taking,  housing,  clothes,  furni- 
ture, and  the  few  implements  required  in  the  necessarily  crude 
tiUing  of  the  soil  are  largely  the  work  of  the  family.  A  man's ' 
wealth  depending  upon  his  health  and  strength,  his  rifle,  quick- 


ness  of  eye  and  skill  of  hand.  With  the  passing  of  the  years  and 
the  growth  of  a  more  complex  life,  the  dependency  of  the  fam- 
ily upon  itself  is  less  marked.  Through  barter  or  a  closer  ap- 
plication to  work  one  family  gains  a  surplus  of  necessaries  that 
may  be  exchanged  for  labor  or  other  necessaries  with  a  neigh- 
bor not  quite  so  industrious.  So  through  the  succeeding  years 
.the  division  becomes  greater  and  greater,  giving  rise  to  that  con- 
dition of  the  very  rich  and  of  the  very  poor.  The  duty  of  the 
community  to  its  poor  and  incapacitated  was  early  recognized 
among  New  Englanders,  and  through  the  experience  gained  by  the 
application  of  various  methods  has  arisen  our  present  system 
of  alleviating  the  want  of  our  community  poor. 

Among  these  settlers  was  a  constant  struggle  between  kind- 
ness of  heart  and  that  frugality  induced  and  fostered  by  their 
battle  with  wilderness  odds.  It  was  not  surprising  that  they 
should  have  hit  upon  the  plan  that  at  once  relieved  their  con- 
sciences and  saved  their  pocketbooks,  namely  that  of  selling  the 
care  of  their  physically  incapacitated  at  public  vendue  to  the 
lowest  bidder. 

The  pioneers  of  Jericho  were  no  exception  to  the  rule, 
and  it  was  not  until  1827  that  any  marked  need  arose  for  town 
action  in  the  interest  of  commimity  poor.  In  that  year  the  care 
of  two  unfortunates  was  sold  at  auction:  John  Bartlett  to  Wil- 
liam Bartlett  for  the  sum  of  $65  to  cover  all  expenses  for  the 
year;  and  Julia  Bentley  to  Harvey  Field  for  the  sum  of  $43.50 
to  cover  board  and  nursing  for  one  year. 

In  1829  together  with  the  sale  of  the  care  of  the  town 
charges  it  was  voted  to  furnish  John  Davis  with  ten  cords  of 
wood  for  the  year,  and  John  T.  Clapp  engaged  to  furnish  the 
same  for  $1.00  per  cord.  Hosea  Bliss  (presumably  a  physi- 
cian) engaged  to  furnish  for  one  year  all  medical  aid  required 
by  those  charges  then  under  the  care  of  the  town  and  for  such 
others  as  might  come  under  town  care  during  this  period  for 
the  sum  of  $20.00. 

In  1830  it  was  voted  to  dispose  of  the  poor  to  the  lowest  bid- 
der including  board,  clothing  and  nursing,  but  in  1831  it  was 
voted  to  "set  the  medical  aid  to  Secretary  Rawson  for  the  town 
poor,  for  those  that  are  now  in  the  town  and  for  those  that 


may  come  on  the  town  during  the  year,  for  thirty-three  dollars, 
he  being  the  lowest  bidder." 

1834  our  good  people  had  made  another  advance  and  it  was 
voted  that  no  more  paupers  be  sold  for  the  present  and  the  Over- 
seer was  instructed  to  dispose  of  their  care  in  some  other  way, 
failing  which  he  might  "vendue  them"  at  an  adjourned  meet- 
ing. His  action  in  the  matter  we  do  not  know,  but  there  does 
not  appear  to  have  been  any  public  sale. 

In  1835  John  T.  Clapp  bid  off  the  care  of  town  poor  for  the 
lump  sum  of  $398.00. 

That  the  towns  generally  were  waking  up  to  the  faults  of  the 
public  sale  to  lowest  bidder  plan  is  shown  by  the  commimication 
received  from  the  town  of  Underbill  in  December,  1836,  a  copy 
of  which  is  appended: 

"Sirs,  previous  to  our  freemen's  meeting  on  the  8th  of  No- 
vember last,  we  received  a  request  from  T.  Chase,  Overseer  of 
the  poor  of  the  town  of  Westford,  to  appoint  a  committee  to 
deliberate  with  such  other  committee  as  may  be  appointed  by  3 
or  4  adjoining  towns  on  the  subject  of  providing  a  suitable  house 
and  farm  for  the  residence  of  the  paupers  of  such  towns  as  may 
unite  for  that  purpose,  and  in  compliance  with  said  request  we 
have  laid  the  matter  before  said  town  and  have  appointed  said 
Committee.  We  now  respectfully  request  you  to  unite  with  us 
in  the  same  object  and  appoint  a  committee  for  that  purpose  if 
you  shall  judge  best  on  your  meeting  on  the  15th  instant.  It  is 
requested  that  such  committee  may  deliberate  on  the  subject  in 
time  to  report  to  our  next  annual  March  meeting.  Yours  with 
due  respect. 


REUBEN  PARKER   V  Committee." 



December  15th,  1836,  the  town  appointed  Arthur  Bostwick, 
Elias  Bartlett  and  Joseph  Griffin  a  committee  in  compliance  with 
this  request.  March  6th,  1838,  the  town  voted  "that  this  town 
appoint  a  committee  to  buy  a  farm  and  erect  a  poorhouse,  and 
that  this  committee  be  authorized  to  confer  with  other  towns  and 
request  their  cooperation,  and  if  they  are  willing  let  them  come  in 
and  unite  with  us  in  this  object,  and  that  we  vote  to  raise  one 


thousand  dollars  if  the  same  shall  be  necessary  to  carry  this  ob- 
ject into  effect."  Nathaniel  Blackman,  Oliver  Lowry  and  Tru- 
man Galusha  were  appointed  this  committee,  but  nothing  further 
appears  to  have  come  of  this  effort  to  better  the  system  of  car- 
ing for  town  poor. 

In  1858,  September  7th,  the  town  voted  to  purchase  and  equip 
a  farm  for  the  support  of  the  town  poor  and  appointed  Ezra 
Elliot,  George  B.  Oakes  and  Hiram  Day  a  committee  to  carry 
this  vote  into  effect.  They  were  restricted  in  the  expense  of  this 
project  to  the  amount  of  surplus  money.  This  vote  was  never 
carried  out. 

Town  records  show  that  in  1859  the  cost  of  caring  for  town 
poor  was  $647.51. 

January  2nd,  1861,  the  question  again  arose,  and  it  was 
voted  "that  a  committee  be  appointed  to  purchase  an  interest  in 
the  Union  poor  farm  for  the  support  of  the  poor  if  in  the  judg- 
ment of  said  committee  it  shall  be  for  the  interest  of  the  town  so 
to  do." 

This  Union  poor  farm  was  one  supported  by  the  joint  as- 
sociation of  the  towns  of  Essex,  Williston  and  Shelburne,  and 
was  known  as  The  Union  Poor  Farm  Association.  It  was  lo- 
cated near  Essex  Junction  in  the  town  of  Williston  and  has  been 
in  successful  operation  ever  since. 

George  B.  Oakes,  U.  S.  Whitcomb  and  L.  A.  Bishop,  select- 
men, were  appointed  this  committee  and  reported  that  they  "have 
accomplished  the  object  for  which  they  were  appointed  by  buy- 
ing five-nineteenths  of  said  farm  estimated  at  $8,300.00,  it  being 
the  sum  of  $2,256.70,  and  we  also  purchased  five-nineteenths  of 
the  personal  property  on  said  farm  for  $414.27  amounting  in  all 
to  $2,670.97."  It  was  thereupon  voted  that  such  an  amount  of 
the  surplus  money  as  might  be  required  be  used  to  pay  for  the 
town's  interest  therein.  That  this  association  of  the  towns  in  a 
common  object  has  been  less  expensive  as  well  as  more  humane 
than  the  old  way  of  farming  the  poor  out  to  the  lowest  bidder,  is 
proved  by  the  fact  that  from  1861  to  1862  the  cost  to  the  town 
for  the  care  of  its  poor  dropped  to  $339.50,  about  one-half  what  it 
had  been  the  previous  year. 

This  Union  Poor  Farm  Association  was  organized  to  con- 
tinue for  a  period  of  ten  years,  at  the  expiration  of  which  it  was 


reorganized  by  vote  of  the  several  towns  interested.  Since  its 
reorganization  the  towns  of  Hinesburg  and  South  Burlington 
have  been  admitted,  and  with  the  towns  of  Jericho,  Essex,  Shel- 
burne  and  Williston  make  up  the  Association  as  it  is  today. 

In  1869  it  appears  from  the  report  of  the  poor  master  and 
poor  farm  directors  that,  after  paying  the  entire  cost  of  sup- 
porting the  poor  during  the  year,  Jericho's  share  in  the  surplus 
remaining  amounted  to  $69.50.  In  view  of  this  excellent  show- 
ing a  tax  of  but  ten  cents  on  the  grand  list  was  voted  for  town 
expenses,  the  smallest  tax  that  had  been  voted  for  many  years. 

Chapter  IV. 


In  the  early  history  of  Jericho  the  merchants  in  town  were 
located  either  in  the  village  at  Jericho  or  at  Jericho  Center,  and 
their  trade  was  to  a  large  extent  on  credit  with  the  understand- 
ing that  the  pay  for  the  goods  purchased  should  be  made  in 
potash,  cattle  and  grain,  the  following  fall  and  winter.  This 
mode  of  doing  business  was  quite  general  throughout  Vermont. 
It  was  a  general  practice  for  merchants  just  before  they  went  to 
market  for  the  purpose  of  purchasing  their  stock  of  goods,  to 
settle  with  their  customers  so  far  as  possible,  and  get  their  promis- 
sory notes  in  payment  of  unpaid  bills.  Times  were  hard,  and 
customers  found  it  difficult  to  pay  their  bills  and  notes  as  they 
fell  due,  and  merchants  found  it  difficult  to  collect  from  their  cus- 
tomers sufficient  money  to  take  to  market  to  buy  their  goods,  so 
merchants  to  obtain  the  necessary  funds  would  place  the  unpaid 
notes  and  accounts  for  collection  in  the  hands  of  the  local  lawyer, 
who  would  advance  to  the  merchant  the  money  necessary.  While 
the  merchants  were  gone  to  market,  suits  would  be  brought  to  en- 
force collection  of  the  unpaid  notes  and  accounts.  The  merchants 
being  absent  would  escape  much  criticism  and  abusive  talk  from 
their  customers.  But  when  the  merchant  returned  he  did  not 
fail  to  bring  with  his  new  stock  of  merchandise,  a  good  supply 
of  rum  and  molasses.     Most  people  in  those  days  drank  intoxi- 


eating  liquors.  When  he  returned  and  an  old  customer  entered 
his  store  in  an  unfriendly  state  of  mind  with  language  not  compli- 
mentary, he  was  taken  one  side,  and  after  an  explanation  and 
apologies  and  a  liberal  treat  by  the  merchant,  both  became  again 
fast  friends,  and  the  old  customer  continued  to  give  the  mer- 
chant his  trade.  When  notes  and  bills  payable  in  cattle  or  grain, 
became  due  in  October  and  January,  the  usual  months  throughout 
Vermont  for  the  maturing  of  such  notes  and  bills,  the  debtor 
would  drive  his  cattle  or  bring  his  grain  to  the  village  to  the 
creditor  to  apply  upon  the  debt,  and  if  they  did  not  agree  upon  the 
price,  they  would  select  some  person  or  persons  acquainted  with 
the  value  of  such  property  to  set  the  price  that  should  be  ap- 
plied on  the  debt. 

Under  the  law  previous  to  the  prohibitory  statute  of  1852 
town  selectmen  were  empowered  to  grant  licenses  to  maintain 
public  inns  and  for  the  sale  therein  of  certain  kinds  of  liquors. 
Under  this  law  Rufus  Brown  was  licensed  in  1851  to  keep  the 
Bostwick  House  near  Underbill  for  one  year  and  to  sell  therein 
small  beer  and  cider,  but  not  wines,  strong  beer,  or  spirituous 
liquors,  and  to  be  governed  in  all  respects  by  the  Legislative  Act 
of  November  3rd,  1846.  Mr.  Brown  maintained  this  Inn  for  a 
period  of  about  20  years.  In  1862  he  was  succeeded  by  L.  M. 
Dixon,  who  was  given  a  selectmen's  license.  In  1863  Martin 
C.  Barney  and  Luther  S.  Prouty  were  each  granted  a  license  to 
maintain  a  hotel  or  house  of  entertainment.  In  1867  Dana 
Bicknell  was  licensed  to  keep  a  hotel. 

Following  the  prohibitory  Act  of  1852  the  town  was  per- 
mitted to  appoint  an  agent  whose  business  it  should  be  to  carry 
and  dispense  for  mechanical,  chemical  and  medicinal  purposes 
the  liquors  thereby  required.  The  agent's  stock  in  trade  was 
furnished  by  the  town  and  was  sold  to  cover  the  expense  of 
handling  and  to  return  a  small  percentage  of  profit  to  the  town. 

The  following  resolutions  passed  at  a  town  meeting  held  in 
November,  1844,  show  how  the  public  mind  had  changed  re- 
garding the  use  of  intoxicants,  formerly  considered  as  a  matter 
of  course: 

1st.  "Resolved,  as  the  sense  of  this  meeting  that  the  use 
of  intoxicating  drinks  as  an  ordinary  beverage  is  injurious,  and 
that  being  so,  the  use  and  traffic  in  them  ought  to  be  discouraged ; 


2nd.  "Resolved,  that  the  civil  authority  in  this  town  are 
advised  to  take  all  proper  measures  to  restrain  the  use  and 
traffic  in  intoxicating  liquors  that  are  consistent  with  law ; 

3rd.  "Resolved,  that  the  town  of  Jericho  hereby  respectfully 
request  the  Judges  of  Chittenden  County  Court  to  discontinue 
the  licenses  to  retailers  and  to  Innkeepers  and  that  the  selectmen 
of  the  town  be  directed  to  dehver  to  each  of  the  said  judges  a  copy 
of  these  resolutions." 

(Editor's  Note:  The  Prohibitory  Law  was  a  good  law  for 
Jericho  and  kept  the  traffic  in  intoxicants  out  of  our  limits  far 
better  than  any  form  of  license  has  ever  done.  A  generation  of 
temperance  men  and  women  grew  up  in  the  half  century  that 
the  Prohibitory  Law  was  upon  our  Statutes,  whose  industry  has 
given  the  town  great  prosperity.  The  town  would  greatly  pre- 
fer some  form  of  prohibition  to  the  present  Local  Option  Law. 

As  the  following  table  seems  to  indicate,  the  Local  Option 
Law  went  into  effect  in  1903,  and  the  following  has  been  the 
vote  of  the  town  on  this  matter  at  the  March  meetings : 
Year  Yies  No 

1903    124  108 

1904   32  122 

1905    47  107 

1906   SO  110 

1907   31  104 

1908    34  117 

1909   11  85 

1910   13  97 

1911    11  66 

1912    13  90 

1913    24  97 

1914   15  86 

1915    19  99 

1916   28  131 


Chapter  V. 


For  centuries  before  the  coming  of  the  white  settlers  the 
territory  now  known  as  Vermont  had  been  traversed  by  Indians 
to  and  from  their  homes  in  the  Canadian  forests  to  the  hunting 
grounds  along  the  Connecticut.  One  of  the  main  pathways 
across  the  state  ran  along  the  southwestern  border  of  Jericho 
following  the  banks  of  Onion  River,  now  called  the  Winooski. 
These  Indian  paths,  holding  in  the  main  to  the  banks  of  water- 
courses were  mere  trails  through  the  wilderness  but  with  the 
coming  of  the  white  settler  they  began  to  take  a  more  permanent 
form.  At  first  travel  through  the  wilderness  was  limited  to  foot 
and  horseback,  following  scarcely  cleared  paths  marked  out  by 
white  blazes  in  the  bark  of  trees,  passage  of  the  streams  and 
rivers  being  achieved  where  sand  bars  and  shoals  made  fording 
possible.  Gradually  these  improved  as  the  requirements  of  the 
settlement  demanded  until  they  became  fair  thoroughfares  adapted 
to  wagon  and  cart.  From  time  to  time  new  roads  were  cut  and 
bridges  erected.  In  1805  we  find  by  town  records  the  select- 
men were  directed  to  estabhsh  such  a  new  road  from  the  meeting 
house  in  Jericho  to  the  Essex  line  by  Barney's  saw-mill.  This 
was  undoubtedly  done,  for  in  1808  we  find  that  the  selectmen 
were  appointed  a  conmiittee  to  settle  with  one  David  Oakes  for 
his  horse  lost  by  the  insufficiency  of  the  bridge  near  Mr.  Barney's 

The  roads  already  in  being  were  taken  over  by  the  town  on 
vote  of  the  freemen,  and  the  expense  of  their  upkeep  became  a 
common  charge.  As  in  the  case  of  the  School  districts  it  was 
found  that  the  matter  could  be  handled  with  greater  fairness  to 
individuals  by  dividing  the  town  into  highway  districts,  each 
district  deriving  its  revenue  for  road  work  from  a  tax  on  the 
grand  list  therein.  The  bridges  came  to  be  the  cause  of  greats- 
est  expense,  both  as  to  first  cost  and  upkeep.  That  this  was 
quite  an  item  is  attested  by  a  statement  in  the  town  records  under 
date  of  September  1st,  1835.  At  this  time  Nathaniel  Blackman, 
Jedediah  Field  and  Arthur  Bostwick  were  chosen  a  committee  to 
confer  with  a  committee  from  the  third  highway  district  relative 


to  repairing  or  rebuilding  the  bridge  across  Brown's  River  at 
Jericho  Corners  which  was  reported  to  be  in  a  dangerous  con- 
dition for  travel.  The  committee  reported  this  to  be  true  and 
advised  that  "a  new  bridge  should  be  erected  immediately,"  the 
cost  of  which  would  be  $350.00.  The  committee  recommended 
the  raising  of  $200  toward  the  work  by  means  of  a  direct  tax  on 
the  grand  list,  provided  that  the  inhabitants  of  the  third  district 
complete  the  bridge  agreeably  to  a  plan  of  the  committee.  The 
$200  was  appropriated  and  the  bridge  was  built. 

In  the  years  1836-37  petitions  were  made  for  three  new 
bridges  across  Brown's  River.  One,  a  covered  bridge,  in  the 
second  school  district  near  Underbill  Flats ;  a  second  at  the  Lyman 
Reed  crossing;  and  a  third  at  the  Buxton  Mill  privilege  (so 
called) .  These  the  town  voted  to  build  provided  that  the  districts 
interested  put  in  the  abutments  and  make  the  filling.  This  was 
accordingly  done.  At  this  time  the  town  had  no  less  than 
twenty-three  bridges  to  keep  in  order. 

About  the  year  1837  or  1838  a  committee  appointed  by  the 
Supreme  Court  laid  out  a  county  road  from  Hinesburg  through 
Richmond  and  Jericho  to  Cambridge  in  Lamoille  County.  The 
town  does  not  appear  to  have  been  satisfied  with  the  survey  as 
made  by  the  Court's  committee  over  that  portion  of  the  route 
from  Capt.  Griffin's  place  near  Lee  River  to  Harvey  Orr's,  and 
sought  to  have  it  changed,  apparently  without  success.  In  1840 
there  was  an  article  in  the  warning  for  town  meeting  "to  see 
what  measures  the  town  will  take  to  work  the  road  from  Rich- 
mond to  Underbill  laid  by  a  committee  called  the  county  road," 
and  the  town  at  that  warned  meeting  voted  that  "the  selectmen 
be  a  committee  to  expend  not  to  exceed  two  hundred  dollars  to 
make' the  county  road  through  the  town."  This  county  road,  so 
far  as  it  was  in  Jericho,  ran  from  Richmond  line  through  Jericho 
Center  direct  to  Underbill  line  at  Underbill  Flats,  passing  the 
house  formerly  owned  by  Cyrus  Packard  where  the  present  road 

March  2nd,  1841,  it  was  voted  to  divide  the  town  into  small 
highway  districts,  the  selectmen  having  such  division  in  charge, 
and  the  following  were  elected  district  highway  surveyers: 

James  Hamilton  for  the  1st  district;  Joseph  Brown  for  the 
2nd ;  John  Bliss  for  the  3rd ;  Orley  Thompson  for  the  4th ;  Simeon 


Pease  for  the  5th ;  Hiram  Rood  for  the  6th ;  Daniel  C.  Nash  for 
the  7th;  Lyman  Stimson  for  the  8th;  Elisha  Seabury  for  the 
9th;  David  Skinner  for  the  10th;  Reuben  Rockwood  for  the 
Uth;  Jackson  Cilley  for  the  12th;  and  Alvah  Martin  for  the 

At  a  town  meeting  held  on  the  4th  day  of  February,  1852, 
the  following  resolutions  were  adopted,  evidently  because  of  out 
of  town  pressure  for  the  building  of  a  new  bridge : 

"Resolved,  as  the  sense  of  this  meeting  that  the  accommo- 
dation to  the  public  of  a  bridge  across  Onion  River  at  Fay's 
Ferry  bears  no  just  proportion  to  the  expense  of  constituting  it ; 
that  as  the  town  we  feel  no  interest  in  it,  and  that  it  will  accom- 
modate but  few  of  our  citizens  and  those  are  sufficiently  well 
accommodated  elsewhere.  For  those,  among  other  reasons,  we 
are  opposed  to  being  taxed  as  is  proposed  for  building  said 
bridge  and  hereby  direct  the  proper  town  authorities  to  op- 
pose our  being  thus  taxed  by  all  lawful  means." 

In  1856,  however,  the  town  voted  to  build  a  bridge  across 
Onion  River  near,  but  not  at,  the  R.  B.  Fay  Ferry  (so  called) 
mentioned  in  the  resolution  of  '52,  and  the  selectmen  were  ap- 
pointed a  committee  to  confer  with  the  selectmen  of  Williston, 
Essex  and  Underbill  in  the  matter.  This  bridge  was  to  be  lo- 
cated near  where  the  Jericho  Comer  road  intersects  the  Onion 
River  road,  about  one  mile  up  the  river  from  the  ferry.  About 
this  time  a  petition  was  presented  to  the  County  Court  signed 
principally  by  Williston  people  praying  that  the  towns  of  Essex, 
Jericho  and  Underbill  be  forced  to  stand  with  Williston  their 
share  of  the  expense  of  a  bridge  across  Onion  River  at  Fay's 
Ferry.  A  petition  was  also  presented  praying  that  the  bridge 
might  be  built  as  planned  near  the  Jericho  Corner  road.  As  a  re- 
sult of  these  petitions,  Paul  Dillingham  of  Waterbury,  Hon.  Wm. 
Weston  of  Burlington,  and  Elijah  Root  of  Shelburne,  were  ap- 
pointed Commissioners  by  the  Court  to  hear  both  parties  and 
to  report  to  the  Court.  These  commissioners  reported  in  favor 
of  the  bridge  at  Fay's  Ferry,  and,  on  the  strength  of  this  report, 
the  Court  ordered  the  bridge  built  at  that  spot,  and  called  on 
the  interested  towns  to  bear  their  share  of  its  cost  in  the  fol- 
lowing proportions:  Williston  27-60;  Essex  14-60;  Jericho  14-60; 
and  Underbill  5-60.     The  expense  of  this  bridge  was  around 


$6,000.00.  The  second  petition  was  dismissed  on  the  ground 
that  public  necessity  and  convenience  did  not  require  a  bridge 
at  the  spot  named. 

There  are  in  all,  at  the  present  writing  about  70  miles  of 
highway  and  40  bridges  in  the  town  of  Jericho,  the  repair  and  up- 
keep of  which  is  maintained  by  a  tax  of  30  cents  on  a  dollar  and 
5  per  cent,  state  tax.  The  automobiles  have  brought  about  a 
serious  problem  in  roadbuilding  which  cannot  but  result  in  the 
bettering  of  our  already  good  roads. 


For  many  years  the  produce  of  the  beautiful  and  fertile 
Lamoille  valley  was  marketed  by  means  of  horse  and  ox  drawn 
vehicles.  In  1869,  however,  the  Legislature  passed  an  Act  in- 
corporating the  Northern  Vermont  and  Lake  Champlain  Railroad 
Company,  granting  it  the  right  to  build  a  railroad  from  some 
point  in  the  town  of  Cambridge  in  Lamoille  County,  through  the 
towns  of  Cambridge,  Underbill,  Westford,  Jericho  and  Essex  to 
■  5ssex  Junction,  there  connecting  with  other  roads. 

The  town  of  Jericho  at  a  town  meeting  held  April  11th, 
1872,  voted  "to  aid  in  the  construction  of  said  road"  by  a  vote  of 
180  to  135,  and  appointed  three  commissioners  to  subscribe  for 
two  hundred  and  thirty  shares  of  one  hundred  dollars  each  of  the 
capital  stock  of  the  company,  and  to  carry  into  efifect  the  vote 
of  the  town  to  aid  in  the  road's  construction.  This  vote  to  aid 
in  the  construction  of  the  road  was  given  with  many  conditions 
attached  thereto,  but  nothing  came  of  the  town's  action  in  the 

In  1874  a  move  was  made  to  promote  a  road  to  be  called 
the  Burlington  and  Lamoille  Railroad,  to  run  from  the  Lake  shore 
within  Burlington  city  limits,  to  a  point  in  the  town  of  Cam- 
bridge, connecting  with  the  Lamoille  Valley  Railroad,  already 
built.  There  was  a  strong  opposition  to  the  proposition  that  the 
town  aid  in  its  construction,  as,  it  having  been  planned  to  run 
the  road  through  the  northern  part  of  the  town  only,  it  was  felt 
that  but  a  portion  of  the  town  would  be  benefited  thereby.  To 
test  the  feeling  of  the  townspeople,  L.  F.  Wilbur  drew  up  the 
following  paper: 


"We,  the  undersigned,  legal  voters  in  the  town  of  Jericho, 
favor  the  bonding  of  the  town  of  Jericho  in  aid  of  the  construc- 
tion of  the  Burlington  and  Lamoille  Railroad  to  an  amount  not 
exceeding  three  times  the  grand  list,"  which  was  circulated  and 
so  readily  signed  that  it  was  believed  that,  if  a  meeting  were 
called,  the  town  would  vote  to  aid  in  the  construction  of  the 
road.  Such  a  meeting  was  called  on  the  6th  day  of  August, 
1874,  and  aid  in  the  construction  of  the  road  was  unanimously 

Commissioners  were  appointed  and  instructed  to  subscribe 
for  two  hundred  and  thirty  shares  of  the  capital  stock  of  the  com- 
pany amounting  to  twenty-three  thousand  dollars. 

Many  conditions  were  attached  to  the  action  of  the  town  in 
extending  its  aid  to  the  project,  one  of  which  was  that  the  line 
of  road  should  run  south  and  east  of  the  village  of  Jericho 
Corners  if  practicable. 

The  stock  was  subscribed  for  as  voted.  The  statutes  re- 
quired that  a  suitable  book  be  provided  in  which  the  tax  payers 
should  enter  their  names  assenting  to  the  vote,  the  grand  list 
of  each  person  signing  to  be  entered  opposite  his  name.  Not  un- 
til a  majority  of  tax  payers,  in  number  showing  a  majority  of 
the  grand  list  in  amount,  had  signed,  was  the  vote  binding  upon 
the  town.  Such  majority,  however,  was  obtained,  and  the  twenty- 
three  thousand  dollars  and  interest  paid,  the  road  being  com- 
pleted in  1876.  To  aid  the  completion  of  the  road  several  Jericho 
citizens  purchased  shares  in  the  company  from  their  private 
purse.  The  writer  of  this  sketch  purchased  one  share  of  the 
value  of  $100.00.  None  of  these  private  purchasers  expected 
to  reap  any  returns,  or  in  fact  to  even  get  their  money  back, 
and  they  were  not  disappointed  as  the  road  soon  passed  into 
other  hands  through  the  foreclosure  of  prior  claims.  The  Bur- 
lington and  Lamoille  Railroad  soon  came  under  control  of  the 
Central  Vermont,  and  is  now  operated  by  the  Grand  Trunk  Rail- 
road Co. 


Chapter  VI. 


The  men  of  Jericho  have  always  willingly  performed  their 
share  of  the  military  service  demanded  by  their  country.  This 
was  true  in  the  Revolutionary  War,  in  the  struggle  against  the 
greed  and  tyranny  of  New  York  State  when  it  threatened  to  de- 
prive Vermont  of  its  independent  existence;  in  the  War  of  1812, 
particularly  at  the  Battle  of  Plattsburg;  in  the  trouble  with 
Mexico  in  1846-48,  and  in  the  great  slaveholders'  rebellion  of 

The  following  named  forty-three  men,  residents  of  Jericho, 
enUsted  in  the  military  service  of  the  United  States  during  the 
War  of  1812-14,  and  took  part  in  the  Battle  of  Plattsburg,  one 
of  the  principal  engagements  that  decided  the  outcome  of  the  war : 

Jonas  Marsh 
John  Thompson 
Luther  Prouty 
Sylvanus  Blodgett 
William  Smith 
Edy  Humphrey 
Philander  Benham 
John  Porter,  Jr. 
Zebedee  Packard 
Nathan  Smith 
Eber  Bartlett 
Warren  Ford 
Myron  Chapin 
William  Rood 
Stephen  Lane 
Nathan  Smith 
Julius  Bliss 
John  Benham 
William  Rouse 
Stephen  Lyman 
Harvey  Field 
Harry  M.  Wilder 

Salmon  Fay 

John  Porter 

Azariah  Rouse 

John  Downing 

Surgeon  Eleazer  Hutchins 

Charles  How 

Silas  S.  Rood 

William  Richardson 

James  Rood 

Abijah  Whitton 

Thomas  Reed 

Jedediah  Lane 

OUver  Rouse 

Heman  N.  Hurlburt 

Brigham  How 

Oliver  Wilder 

Henry  Howe 

Lewis  Johnson 

William  Brown 

Serget.  Nathan  Scranton 

James  Thompson 


The  following  men,  residents  of  Jericho,  were  also  in  the 
military  service  during  the  War  of  1812 : 

Joseph  Brown,  a  teamster,  was  drafted  at  Plattsburg,  March 
12,  1813,  being  pressed  into  the  service  while  absent  from  home 
with  his  team. 

Sylvanus  Parsons,  who  was  a  private  in  Peter  L.  Allen's 
company  of  Col.  George  Tyler's  regiment,  Vermont  Militia.  He 
volunteered  Sept.  7th,  1814. 

Gilmore  Seeley,  who  was  a  private  in  Capt.  Danforth's 
company.     He  enlisted  at  Middlebury  in  the  spring  of  1813. 

A  pension  was  granted  the  following  persons :  John  Benham ; 
Polly  Brown,  widow  of  Joseph  Brown;  Harvey  Field;  Edy 
Humphrey ;  Betsy  Hutchins,  widow  of  Eleazer  Hutchins,  surgeon 
in  Col.  Tyler's  regiment;  Stephen  Lyman,  who  volunteered  at 
Jericho,  Sept.  7,  1814;  Jonas  Marsh,  who  was  a  private  in  Capt. 
Myron  Reed's  company;  Sylvanus  Parsons,  a  private  in  Capt. 
Peter  L.  Allen's  company;  Hepzebah  Prouty,  widow  of  Luther 
Prouty,  who  was  sergeant  in  the  company  commanded  by  Capt. 
Myron  Reed.  Luther  Prouty  made  application  for  a  pension,  but 
died  in  1856  or  '57  before  it  was  granted;  Hulda  Reed,  widow 
of  Thomas  Reed,  who  was  a  private  in  Capt.  Myron  Reed's  com- 
pany; and  to  Gilmore  Seeley,  who  was  a  private  and  was  dis- 
charged because  of  poor  health. 

In  the  war  with  Mexico,  Jericho  contributed  two  men, 
Harvey  Thompson  and  Daniel  W.  Morehouse,  who  served  under 
General  Winfield  Scott. 

When  the  flames  of  war  swept  across  the  north  in  1861, 
ushering  in  the  greatest  rebellion  the  world  has  ever  seen,  Jericho 
was  again  found  ready  to  do  her  part.  Of  the  men  who  en- 
listed at  the  first  call  to  arms,  sixteen  re-enlisted  when  their  term 
of  service  expired.  One  hundred  and  thirty-eight  men  in  all  en- 
listed from  Jericho,  eleven  of  whom  were  killed,  and  twenty- 
three  of  whom  died  of  wounds  or  disease,  a  total  of  34,  nearly 
25  per  cent.     Ninety-two  were  mustered  out. 

As  the  war  drew  on  to  its  second  year  the  demand  for  men 
became  ever  more  insistent.  Of  each  loyal  state  was  demanded 
a  certain  number  of  soldiers  based  on  its  population.  The  state 
of  course  was  forced  to  divide  this  number  pro  rata  among  its 
towns.     As  company  after  company  and  troop  after  troop  was 



enrolled  and  swept  away  to  join  the  army  in  the  south,  the  states 
became  drained  of  men  to  such  an  extent  that  it  was  necessary 
to  offer  some  inducement  to  supply  the  number  demanded.  Ac- 
cordingly it  was  the  custom  of  the  towns  to  offer  a  certain  sum 
of  money  as  a  bounty  to  men  who  would  enlist.  A  town  meeting 
was  held  January  8th,  1863,  to  see  if  the  town  would  vote  a  tax 
to  raise  the  money  offered  to  volunteers  from  Jericho  in  the  way 
of  bounties.  The  following  is  the  list  of  volunteers  and  the 
amount  of  the  bounty  paid  to  each : 
Three  year  men  $        Nine  months'  men  $ 

R.  G.  Munson 100    L.  H.  Bostwick   SO 

Daniel  Dixon 100 

P.  T.  Drew  60 

Erastus  Powell 60 

Morris  H.  Griffin  60 

Samuel   York    60 

Patrick   McGovern    60 

Wilson  Bentley  60 

Eli  N.  Peck 60 

Benj.  F.  Robinson   60 

Reuben  M.  Babcock 60 

Loren  P.  Bentley 60 

Benial  McGee  60 

Wilkins  Rockwood 60 

Byron  D.  Mathews 60 

Charles  M.  Carty 60 

Isaac  N.  Brooks  60 

Willis  Wells 85 

Norman  I.  Rice  85 

Henry  W.  York 135 

Caleb  P.  Nash 135 

JuHus  Bliss 135 

In  December  1863  the  town  voted  that  the  selectmen  be  au- 
thorized to  pay  a  bounty  not  exceeding  three  hundred  and  fifty 
dollars  to  each  volunteer  who  has  been  or  shall  be  mustered  into 
the  United  States  service  from  Jericho  before  January  6th,  1864, 
and  applied  toward  the  town's  quota  under  the  call  o'f  the  Presi- 
dent for  volunteers.  March  1st,  1864,  the  selectmen  reported 
they  had  enlisted  twenty  men:  Alexander  Plant,  Victor  Plant, 

Hubbell  B.  Smith 100 

Zantha  Parker 100 

Michael  Phillips   100 

Victor  Lavalle 100 

Joseph  Russin 100 

Lewis  Tatro 100 

Julius  Miller 100 

C.  C.  Richardson 110 

A.  G.  Bradley 110 

C.  L.  Church   110 

Artemas  W.  Bemis 110 

Elias  Burns  110 

J.  L.  Hurson   125 

Edgar  E.  Wright 125 

Oliver  Lucia 135 

Barney  Leddy 135 


John  Guyette,  James  H.  Van  Cor,  Patrick  McGovern,  Truman 
C.  Hatch,  W.  I.  Flowers,  Thomas  H.  Palmer,  John  H.  Hastings, 
Daniel  E.  Smith,  Edward  Fay,  James  Flinn,  Joseph  Cammel, 
Bernard  McKenna,  John  Benway,  James  Sweeney,  L.  S.  Whit- 
comb,  Bliss  A.  Atchinson,  James  Carroll  and  Alexander  Spooner 
and  that  the  sum  of  $350.00  had  been  paid  to  each. 

At  a  town  meeting  held  on  the  18th  day  of  March,  1864,  it 
was  voted  that  the  selectmen  be  authorized  to  enlist  volunteers 
in  anticipation  of  a  call  for  troops  by  the  President,  and  that  the 
bounties  offered  be  left  to  the  discretion  of  the  selectmen  but 
that  no  bounties  be  paid  until  the  volunteer  had  been  mustered  into 
the  United  States  service.  At  a  town  meeting  September  6th, 
1864,  a  tax  of  two  hundred  per  cent,  on  the  list  was  voted  to 
pay  bounties  offered  volunteers  under  the  last  call  of  the 
President  for  five  hundred  thousand  men,  the  amount  of  such 
bounties  to  be  left  to  the  discretion  of  the  selectmen.  At  the 
March  meeting  of  1865  the  selectmen  reported  the  following 
liabilities  in  filling  the  quota  assigned  to  the  town,  and  pre- 
sented the  following  list  of  men  enlisted  and  the  amount  of 
bounty  paid  to  each : 
For  three  years  $  For  one  year  $ 

Gilbert  E.  Davis 500  Lewis  Perigo 500 

William  Rice 400  Charles  Sweeney 500 

Timothy  Hathaway   .  .400  Charles  Benway   415 

Frank  Bordeau  400  Franklin  Martin   500 

William  Turner 400  Oscar  J.  Pixley 500 

Richard  Roche   400  Joel  P.  Woodworth 500 

Mortimer  W.  Brown  .500  Lewis  I.  Wells 450 

Byron  B.  Hatch 500  William  J.  Fuller 500 

William  Johnson 500  George  D.  Sherman 500 

Franklin  L  Brown  . .  .500  Clark  Reynolds  400 

Frederick  Fuller 500  Russell  Tomlinson   500 

A  Southern  Recruit   .  .428"/ioo 



Men  enlisted  under  call  for  tWee  hundred  thousand  men. 

For  three  years 

$      For  one  year 


Robert  Baxter 850 

Thomas  H.  Early 800 

Napoleon  Larose 800 

John  Van  Ornum 800 

George  D.  Drury 800 

Lewis   Richards    550 

Alfred  Hill   500 

Royce  Camp 550 

Lewis  Albert  500 

Peter  Albert 550 

Joseph  Ploof 550 

Byron  Hall   500 

The  following  is  a  list  of  the  names  of  all  the  men  enlist- 
ing in  the  Civil  War  from  Jericho,  with  the  date  of  their  en- 
listment, and  some  other  records  of  their  service.  It  is  not  our 
purpose  to  give  the  actual  time  each  soldier  served,  but  it  will 
be  understood  the  term  of  enlistment  was  for  three  years  unless 
otherwise  stated.  Where  the  name  of  any  man  appears  twice 
it  indicates  a  re-enlistment: 


Abner  S.  Richardson, 
BHnn  Atchinson, 
Henry  J.  Parker, 
Samuel  Bentley, 
Napoleon  Bissonette, 
James  Austin  Bixby, 
Edgar  Chamberlin, 
Patrick  Downs, 
Simeon  C.  Edwards, 
Joseph  W.  Ellis, 
Truman  C.  Hatch, 
Allen  Kimpton, 
Charles  Lucia, 
Patrick  Lavelle, 
John  McGovern, 
Daniel  B.  Smith, 
John  W.  Wade, 
John  P.  Ware, 
Robert  White, 
Blinn  Atchinson, 
Wm.  J.  Flowers, 

Date  of 

May  2,  1861, 
May  2,  1861, 
May  2,  1861, 
Aug.  27,  1861, 
Aug.  26,  1861, 
Sept.  19,  1861, 
Aug.  27,  1861, 
Aug.  21,  186L 
Aug.  19,  1861, 
Aug.  26,  1861, 
Aug.  26,  1861, 
Aug.  29,  1861, 
Aug.  21,  1861, 
Aug.  26,  1861, 
Aug.  23,  1861, 
Aug.  17,  1861. 
Aug.  22,  1861, 
Aug.  31,  1861, 
Sept.  6,  1861, 
Sept.  29,  1861, 
Sept.  25,  1861, 


enlisted  for  3  months, 
enlisted  for  3  months, 
enlisted  for  3  months. 


killed  May,  10,  1864. 

wounded,  reenlisted. 







lost  an  arm. 


in  cavalry. 

Edson  C.  Hilton, 


Marcus  Hoskins, 
Wareham  N.  Pierce, 
Franklin  J.  Brown, 

William  A.  Brown, 

Daniel  G.  Burns, 

Hiram  B.  Fish, 
Frederick  A.  Fuller, 
William  Johnson, 

John  H.  Johnson, 
Samuel  B.  Locklin, 
Michael  F.  Martin, 
Abner  S.  Richardson, 
Burton  C.  Richardson, 

Loren  T.  Richardson, 
James  White, 

Edward  C.  Whitney, 

Edwin  H.  Fassette, 
Nelson  Fassette, 

Timothy  Kennedy, 

Horace  C.  Nash, 

Edward  B.  Russell, 
Lewis  J.  Wills, 

The  following  men 

Lucius  A.  Bostwick, 

Reuben  M.  Babcock, 
Wilson  A.  Bentley, 

Isaac  N.  Brooks, 

Oct.^  16,  1861,  died  of  injuries,  his 
horse  shot  under 
I  him. 

Sept.  30,  1861,  reenhsted  in  Mass. 

Dec.  7,  1861, 

Jan.  4,  1862,  in  7th  Vt.  Regt.,  re- 

Jan.  13,  1862,  in  7th  Vt.  Regt.,  died 
in  service. 

Dec.  7,  1861,  in  7th  Vt.  Regt.,  died 
in  service. 

Jan.  14,  1862,    in  7th  Vt.  Regt. 

Jan.  17,  1862, 

Dec.  7,  1861,  reenlisted  Feb.  20th, 

Nov.  4,  1861,    sharp  shooter. 

Oct.  30,  1861,    sharp  shooter. 

Dec.  5,  1861, 

Nov.  21,  1861, 

Oct.  31,  1861,  sharp  shooter,  enlist- 
ed 2nd   time. 

Nov.  25,  1861, 

Dec.  12,  1861,  died  at  Cainp  William, 

Oct.  30,  1861,  sharp  shooter,  enter- 
ed service  2nd 

Feb.  26,  1862,    at  the  age  of  18  years. 

Feb.  26,  1862,  reenlisted  April  19, 

Mar.  13,  1862,  killed  in  action  June 
29,  1862. 

Mar.  11,  1862,  wounded.  Died  at 
Nashville,  Tenn. 

June  4,  1862,      deserted. 

June  27,  1862, 

who  enlisted  for  9  months : 

Sept.  10,  1862,    died   at   Washington, 

D.  C. 
Sept.  10,  1862,    died  at  Fairfax,  Va. 
Sept.  10,  1862,    died    at    Alexandria, 

Sept.  10,  1862,    aee  18  vears. 

died   at   Washington, 

D.  C. 



Erastus  Powell, 

Charles  McCarty, 

J.  T.  Drew, 
Eli  N.  Peck, 
Jacob  Drew, 

Willis  T.  Wells, 
Byron  D.  Matthews, 
Norman  J.  Rice, 
Loren  T.  Bentley, 
Julius  H.  Bliss, 
Morris  L.  Griffin, 
Neal  McGee, 
Patrick  McGovern, 
Caleb  P.  Nash, 
Benj.  F.  Robinson, 
Z.  W.  Rockwood, 
Henry  W.  York, 
Samuel  York, 

Sept.  10,  1862, 

Sept.  10,  1862, 

Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 

Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 

died     at     Occoquam, 

died  at  Washington, 


age  18  years, 
died,  July  12,  1863,  at 
Washington,  D.  C. 

finger  shot  off. 

The  following  men  who  enUsted  for  three  years  were: 

R.  J.  Thomson, 
Daniel  Dixon, 
Hubbell  B.  Smith, 
Zanthy  Parker, 
Michael  Phillips, 

Victor  Lavelle, 

Joseph  Russin, 
Lewis  Tatro, 
Julius  Miller, 
Charles  C.  Richardson, 

Albert  G.  Bradley, 
Chauncey  L.  Church, 
Artemas  W.  Bemis, 
Elias  Burns, 
James  S.  Hurson, 
Edgar  E.  Wright, 

Oliver  Lucia, 
Barney  Leddy, 
RoUin  M.  Clapp, 

Aug.  18,  1862, 
Aug.  8,  1862, 
Aug.  18,  1862, 
Aug.  18,  1862, 
Aug.  16,  1862, 

Aug.  30,  1862, 

Aug.  30,  1862, 
Sept.  6,  1862, 
Aug.  30,  1862, 
Aug.  22,  1862, 

Aug.  12,  1862, 
Aug.  20,  1862, 
Aug.  19,  1862, 
Aug.  22,  1862, 
Aug.  30,  1862, 
Sept.  10,  1862, 

Aug.  22,  1862, 
Aug.  23,  1862, 
April  21,  1863, 

age  19  years, 
wounded  in  groin. 

in   cavalry,   killed  in 
action,  age  20  years. 

age  20  years.  Sharp- 

age  19  years. 


age  18  years.    Killed 

in  action, 
age  17  years, 
killed  in  action, 
sharp  shooter. 

in  cavalry.  Killed  in 

killed  in  action, 
in  brigade  band. 

The  men  who  were  drafted  were,  viz. : 


Hawley  C.  Booth, 

Edwin  P.  Gloyd, 

Nathaniel  Johnson,  Jr. 

Henry  M.  Field, 

George  Hall, 

Sylvester  Tarbox, 

Hosea  S.  Wright, 

David  R.  Biglow, 
Buel  S.  Martin, 
Phillip  Prior, 
Joseph  B.  Kingsbury, 
Hira  A.  Percival, 
L.  F.  Wilbur, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 

July,  1863, 
July,  1863, 
July,  1863, 
July,  1863, 
July,  1863, 
July,  1863, 

paid  $3(X)  for  commu- 

paid  $300  for  commu- 

paid  $300  for  commu- 

paid  $300  for  commu- 

paid  $300  for  commu- 

paid  $300  for  commu- 

paid  $300  for  commu- 

furnished  a  substitute. 

furnished  a  substitute. 

furnished  a  substitute. 

furnished  a  substitute. 

furnished  a  substitute. 

furnished  a  substitute. 

The  following  men  were  substitutes: 
Thomas  Robinson, 
Charles  Coe, 

Thomas  Roach, 
Francis  Barry, 

Henry  H.  Lawrence, 
Thomas  Gorman, 

substitute   for   David 

R.  Bigelow. 
substitute  for  Joseph 

B.    Kingsbury   and 

discharged  by  Court 

substitute  for  Buel  S. 

substitute  for  Hira  A. 

Percival  and  desert- 
substitute  for  Phillip 

Prior.     Deserted, 
substitute    for   L.    F. 

Wilbur.    Killed    in 


Other  men  were  drafted  but  were  exempt  for  physical  dis- 
ability.   The  following  men  enlisted: 

Bliss  A.  Atchinson, 
John   Benway, 


Dec.  4,  1863, 
Dec.  22,  1863, 



Joseph  Cammel, 
James  Carroll, 
William  J.  Flower, 

James  Flynn, 
Edward  Fay, 
John  Guyotte, 
John  H.  Hastings, 

Truman  C.  Hatch, 

Patrick  McGoven, 
Bernard  McKenna, 
Thomas  H.  Palmer, 
Alexander  Plant, 
Victor  Plant, 
Daniel  E.  Smith, 
Alexander  Spooner, 
James  Sweeney, 
James  Henry  Vancor, 
Lewis  S.  Whitcomb, 
Solomon  Brigham, 

Birney  W.  Hilton, 

Eben  C.  Lemon, 

Burton  C.  Richardson, 
Edgar  Chamberlain, 
Blinn  Atchinson, 
John  Hiram  Johnson, 
Patrick  Lavelle, 
Edwin  H.  Trick, 

Gilbert  E.  Davis, 

Mortimer  W.  Brown, 
William  Johnson, 
Franklin  J.  Brown, 
Frederick  A.  Fuller, 

Dec.  26,  1863, 
Dec.  10,  1863, 
Dec.  3,  1863, 

Dec.  4,  1863, 
Dec.  14,  1863, 
Dec.  28,  1863, 
Dec.  17,  1863, 

Dec.  2,  1863, 

Dec.  4,  1863, 
Dec.  26,  1863, 
Dec.  18,  1863, 
Dec.  15,  1863, 
Dec.  17,  1863, 
Nov.  22,  1863, 
Oct.  29,  1863, 
Dec.  17,  1863, 
Dec.  18,  1863, 
Dec.  28,  1863, 
Dec.  21,  1863, 

Dec.  30,  1863, 

Dec.  2,  1863, 

Nov.  13,  1863, 
Dec.  15,  1863, 
Dec.  31,  1863, 
Dec.  21,  1863, 
Dec.  15,  1863, 
Dec.  15,  1863, 

Aug.  11,  1864, 

Aug.,  1864, 
Mar.  14,  1864, 
Mar.  14,  1864, 
Mar.  14,  1864, 

died  at  Newbern,  N. 

C.     In  cavalry, 
age  18  years, 
age  18  years, 
age  18  years.    Killed 

in  action, 
age  20  years.    Died  at 

Washington,  D.  C. 
age  18  years, 
age  20  years. 

died  of  wounds, 
killed  in  action. 

killed  by  an  unseen 

age  18  years.  Was 

age  18  years.  In  Wil- 
derness, Va. 

enlisted  in  Burlington 
and  lived  there  but 
credited  to  Jericho. 

killed  at  Cedar  Creek, 

The  following  men  were  enlisted  for  one  year: 

Charles   Ben  way, 
William  J.  Fuller, 
Franklin  Martin, 

Aug.  11,  1864,    deserted.  Joined  C.  A. 
Sept.  5,  1864, 
Aug.  17,  1864, 



Lewis  Perrigo, 
Oscar  J.  Pixley, 

George  D.  Sherman, 
Charles  Sweeney, 
Russell  Tomlinson, 
Lewis  J.  Wills, 
Joel  P.  Woodworth, 
Byron  B.  Hatch, 

Aug.  2,  1864, 
Aug.  16,  1864, 

Sept.  2,  1864, 
Aug.  28,  1864, 
Aug.  12,  1864, 
Aug.  17,  1864, 
Aug.  31,  1864, 
Feb.  2,  1864, 


died  a  prisoner  at  Sal- 
isbury, N.  C. 

age   18 

years.     Died 
29,  1864. 

The  following  men  enlisted  as  substitutes  for  three  years : 

Richard  Roach,  substitute, 

William  Rice,  substitute, 

Frank  Bordeaux,  substitute, 

William  Turner,  substitute, 

Timothy  Hathaway,  substitute, 

Harilah  N.  Reynolds,  substitute, 

for  Leet  A.  Bishop.  De- 

for  Daniel  B.  Bishop.  De- 

for  Truman  B.  Barney. 

for  Henry  M.  Brown. 

for  Buel  H.  Day. 

for  Edgar  H.  Lane.  De- 

The  following  men  enlisted  for  three  years: 

George  B.  Drury, 
Robert  Baxter, 
Thomas  H.  Early, 
Napoleon  Larose, 
John  Van  Omum, 

Dec.  14,  1864, 
Feb.  4,  1865, 
Jan.  12,  1865, 
Jan.  23,  1865, 
Jan.  10,  1865, 

The  following  men  were  enlisted  for  one  year : 

Lewis  Albert, 
Peter  Albert, 
Royce  Camp, 

Joseph  Ploof, 
Louis  Richards, 
Alfred  Hill, 
Byron  S.  Hall, 

Jan.  10,  1865, 

Jan.  10,  1865,    age  19  years. 

Jan.  10,  1865,  age  18  years.  In  cav- 

Jan.  10,  1865, 

Jan.  11,  1865, 

Jan.  9,  1865, 

Feb.  13,  1865,  age  19  years.  Died 
May  30,  1865. 

In  recognition  of  the  soldiers  from  Jericho  in  '61,  it  was 
voted  March  5th,  1867,  that  the  selectmen  secure  the  services 
of  some  person  qualified  to  prepare  a  "Soldiers'  Record"  and  that 


500  copies  of  this  work  be  printed,  the  whole  to  be  at  the  ex- 
pense of  the  town.  March  3rd,  1868,  it  was  voted  "that  one 
copy  of  the  Soldiers'  Record  to  be  prepared  be  furnished  each 
family  and  soldier  without  family  in  town,  and  to  soldiers 
or  their  families  or  parents  being  out  of  town  who  were  enlisted 
to  the  credit  of  this  town,  without  charge."  And  this  purpose 
was  carried  out  as  voted. 

In  mentioning  these  Jericho  soldiers  who  so  bravely  and  hon- 
orably served  their  country  and  their  town,  we  must  not  entirely 
lose  sight  of  the  services  of  those  who,  remaining  at  home,  took 
their  part  in  the  administration  of  government  and  helped  to 
furnish  the  sinews  of  war.  Neither  must  we  overlook  those 
noble  women  who  gave  their  husbands,  their  sweethearts,  their 
sons,  that  we  might  live  in  a  united  land.  Picture  them  if  you 
will,  bravely  bearing  the  worry  and  the  burdens  of  those  who  stay 
at  home,  cheerfully  busy  making  and  sending  to  the  front  those 
many  necessities  and  comforts  of  which  the  soldiers  in  camp  and 
the  wounded  in  field  and  hospital  would  otherwise  have  been  de- 
prived. In  conclusion  it  should  be  said  that  the  men  of  Jericho 
who  enlisted  in  the  greatest  rebellion  of  modern  times,  were 
honorable  and  brave  soldiers,  who  did  heroic  service  in  maintain- 
ing the  government,  such  service  as  the  people  of  Jericho  may  well 
be  proud  of.  To  lead  in  the  Civil  Government  Abraham  Lincoln 
was  found,  the  right  man  for  the  exalted  position  of  President 
of  the  United  States.  For  a  leader  in  the  militia  arm  of  the 
Government  the  silent,  calm  and  thoughtful  General  Grant  was 
found.  The  loyal  men  of  the  North  were  willing  to  follow  the 
leadership  of  such  men  as  these,  since  they  were  not  animated 
by  the  hope  of  plunder,  nor -the  love  of  conquest.  They  found 
themselves  rather  to  be  defenders  of  humanity  and  destroyers  of 
prejudice.  Under  their  leadership  our  soldiers  were  the  saviors 
of  this  Nation  and  the  liberators  of  men.  They  fought  on  until 
our  flag  floated  over  a  united  people  and  a  country  without  a 
master  and  without  a  slave. 


Chapter  VII. 


The  town  of  Jericho  was  orginally  six  miles  square,  but  in 
1795  five  thousand  acres  were  taken  from  its  southern  border  by 
act  of  Legislature,  with  land  from  other  towns,  to  create  the  town 
of  Richmond. 

Jericho  is  well  watered  by  four  streams :  Winooski  River  run- 
ning along  the  southern  edge  of  the  town ;  Mill  Brook,  running 
through  the  town  from  West  Bolton  to  empty  into  Winooski 
River  and  affording  three  mill  sites ;  Brown's  River,  that,  rising 
on  Mansfield  mountain,  enters  the  town  near  Underbill  village, 
crosses  the  northern  part,  and,  entering  the  town  of  Essex,  event- 
ually discharges  its  waters  into  the  Lamoille  River  in  Fairfax, 
affording  Jericho  seven  mill  sites;  and  Lee  River  that  has  its 
source  among  the  mountains  in  the  eastern  part  of  the  town  of 
Underbill  and  runs  six  miles  across  Jericho  emptying  into  Brown's 
River  at  Jericho  Village,  and  gives  the  town  two  more  mill 

The  town  is  dotted  with  many  sugar  orchards,  and  its  lands 
are  adapted  to  the  purposes  of  dairying  and  the  raising  of  grains. 
There  are  many  excellent  farms  near  and  on  the  rivers  as  well 
as  in  the  uplands  of  the  town. 

To  those  who  delight  in  the  sports  of  fishing  and  hunting  the 
locality  is  especially  attractive. 

Good,  well  worked  roads  are  a  feature  of  the  town. 


Following  the  close  of  the  Revolutionary  war  the  town  of 
Jericho  had  a  rapid  growth  in  population  and  a  corresponding  in- 
crease in  the  value  of  its  property. 

Population  of  Jericho. 
Census  of  No. 

1791    381 

1800   728 

1810  1185 


1820    1219 

1830   1654 

1840   1684 

1850    1837 

1860   1669 

1870   1757 

1880   1687 

1890   1461 

1900   1373 

1910   1307 

The  largest  number  was  in  1850. 

The  appraised  property  of  the  town  in  1791  was  small  in  com- 
parison to  that  of  succeeding  years,  but  in  1860  had  increased 
to  a  grand  list  of  $5,310.     In  1914  the  grand  list  was  $9,645.54. 

The  following  excerpts  are  from  an  article  prepared  by  L. 
F.  Wilbur,  which  appeared  in  the  Chittenden  Repvrter  recently: 

"Most  of  the  land  of  the  town  is  well  adapted  to'  agricultural 
purposes.  There  are  no  swamps  creating  miasma  to  render  the 
town  an  unhealthy  place  in  which  to  live.  Proverbially  it  has 
been  a  healthy  town  in  which  to  reside.  Like  most  rural  dis- 
tricts of  Vermont  it  has  suffered  in  consequence  of  some  of  its 
enterprising  citizens  emigrating  to  the  west.  But  it  is  in  ref- 
erence to  its  present  prosperity  and  the  advantages  that  all  new 
comers  will  reap  by  becoming  its  actual  residents,  that  I  wish  to 
speak.  The  shipping  points  are  now  first-class.  The  people  in 
the  northeasterly  part  of  the  town  are  accommodated  by  the 
Underbill  depot,  which  is  within  ten  rods  of  the  north  line  of 
the  town ;  the  south  part  of  the  town  is  accommodated  at  Rich- 
mond; the  southwesterly  part  by  the  depot  at  North  Williston, 
and  the  people  of  the  whole  town,  as  well  as  the  people  of  West 
Bolton  and  the  eastern  part  of  Essex,  are  well  accommodated  by 
the  depot  at  Jericho  village.  There  are  more  than  100  dairies  in 
town,  ranging  from  six  to  80  cows  each.  There  are  three  post 
ofEces,  one  in  each  of  the  three  villages.  The  village  of  Under- 
bill Flats,  (so  called),  the  larger  part  of  which  being  in  Jericho, 
is  a  prosperous  village.  On  the  Jericho  side  of  the  line  are  four 
stores,  a  steam  sawmill,  a  grist  mill,  a  tin  shop,  two  physicians,  an 
Episcopal  and  a  Methodist  church.  The  village  at  the  Center  has 
three  stores,  a  blacksmith  shop,  a  Congregational  Church  in  front 


of  which  is  a  handsome  park  with  shade  trees.  The  village  of 
Jericho,  sometimes  called  Jericho  Corners,  is  the  principal  vil- 
lage of  the  town  situated  on  Brown's  River  on  which  there  are 
several  good  mill  privileges,  some  of  which  are  improved,  and 
others  where  manufacturing  industries  might  be  greatly  extended. 
At  this  village  there  are  now  two  stores,  three  blacksmiths' 
shops,  one  harness  shop,  two  house  painters,  a  carriage  painter,  a 
lawyer,  a  physician,  one  of  the  best  gristmills  in  New  England, 
two  saw  mills,  and  one  for  the  manufacture  of  all  sorts  of 
wooden  ware,  a  large  tin  shop,  and  one  millinery  shop.  The  vil- 
lage has  first-class  schools  run  under  the  town  system.  The  vil- 
lage is  pleasantly  located,  the  streets  are  handsome,  the  buildings 
and  residences  are  kept  in  good  repair.  There  are  three  churches, 
Congregationalist,  Baptist  and  Methodist, — and  a  school  house 
hall  that  can  be  used  for  meetings  and  entertainments.  As  a  place 
of  residence  or  for  those  who  desire  to  engage  in  agriculture  or 
manufacturing  Jericho  is  an  inviting  place. 


The  dangers  to  which  Jericho  and  its  pioneers  were  a  long 
time  exposed;  the  invasions  by  the  British  army  on  the  north 
and  ravages  and  murderous  attacks  of  hostile  Indians  for  many 
years;  the  fact  that  Joseph  Brown  and  his  entire  family,  as 
early  as  1780,  were  captured  and  taken  to  Canada  and  sold  to 
British  officers  and  held  as  prisoners  for  three  years,  and  their 
log  house  and  their  entire  property  destroyed;  the  fact  that 
the  first  settlers  were  compelled  to  abandon  the  town  for  a  term 
of  three  years  in  order  to  save  their  lives  from  attacks  of  the 
British  and  hostile  Indians  before  they  could  return  to  their 
lands  and  homes,  and  that  the  most  northern  post-office,  the  end 
of  the  postal  route,  was  in  Jericho  for  many  years ;  the  fact 
that  the  town  is  one  of  the  best  watered  towns  in  northern  Ver- 
mont, well  adapted  for  the  raising  of  grain,  for  dairying  pur- 
poses and  the  manufacture  of  maple  sugar;  the  fact  that  in 
the  early  days  of  the  State,  the  Academy  at  Jericho  Center,  for 
many  years  was  the  only  place  in  northern  Vermont  where  the 
young  men  and  women  had  an  opportunity  to  acquire  an  edu- 
cation in  the  higher  branches  of  learning;  the  fact  that  the 



town  has  excellent  water  power  where  manufacturing  can  be 
profitably  built  up,  and  where  railroad  facilities  are  excellent,  and' 
the  fact  that  it  has  furnished  to  the  State,  Martin  Chittenden  and 
Asahel  Peck,  two  of  its  prominent  governors,  give  the  town  of 
Jericho  a  prominent  and  unique  place  among  the  towns  of  the 

Chapter  VIII. 


Names  of  early  residents  to  1806  and  since  then  of  all  who 
have  subscribed  to  the  Freeman's  Oath  since  that  date. 

Arranged  by  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Joseph  Brown, 
Roderick  Messenger, 
Alzariah  Rood, 
James  Farnsworth, 
Lewis  Chapin, 
Peter  McArther, 
Joseph  Hall, 
Jedadiah  Lane, 
Abel  Castle, 
Daniel  Stanard, 
John  Farwell, 
Esq.  Savage, 
Benjamin  Farnsworth, 
David  Stanton, 
Jonathan  Castle, 
John  Lee, 
Leonard  Hodges, 
John  Russell, 
Ichabod  Chapin, 
Benjamin  Bartlett, 
Jopena  Wilson, 
Noah  Chittenden, 
J.  McFarlin, 
Timothy  Brown, 
Ebenezer  Bartlett, 

Charles  Brown, 
Nathan  Stone, 
Reuben  Lee, 
William  Smith, 
Daniel  Hutchinson, 
Nathaniel  Bostwick, 
Alzariah  Lee, 
Deac.  Mathew  Cole, 
Ebenezer  Martin, 
Roger  Lane, 
Thomas  Rood, 
Eben  Martin, 
John  Hayward, 
John  Thompson, 
John  Lyman, 
Martin  Chittenden, 
Noah  Lyman, 
Ephraim  Hyde, 
Adoph  Butler,  Jr., 
Elon  Lee, 
John  Gloyd, 
Jonathan  Bixby, 
Daniel  Bill, 
Peter  Read, 
Nicholus  McArther, 



Abraham  Hollenbeck, 
Thomas  Make, 
Joslin  Morgan, 
Nathan  Moore, 
John  Hollenbeck, 
Edward  Fay, 
Jacob  Hafford, 
Ira  Goodrich, 
David  Stone, 
Cleagan  Hutchin, 
William  Rood, 
Thomas  Whitmarsh. 

Solmon  Fay, 
Dudley  Stone, 
Billy  Bartlet, 
Cyrus  Cleveland, 
Ira  Atkins, 
Jonathan  Jacobs, 
Doctor  Miles  Richardson, 
Thomas  Bentley, 
William  Young. 

P.  C.  Packard, 
John  Blanchard, 
John  Lane, 
Solomon  Lee, 
Timothy  Bliss, 
Issac  Benham, 
Paul  Kilbum, 
Samuel  French, 
Daniel  Bill, 
Linus  Lee, 
David  Whitmarsh, 
Moses  Billings, 
Thomas  D.  Rood, 
Corpus  Packard, 
David  Field. 
Hylekiah  Clark, 
Jonathan  Shaw, 
Aaron  Stone, 
Nehemiah  Prouty,  Jr., 
Caleb  Nash, 
Oliver  Whitmarsh, 
Stephen  Shaw, 
Paul  Babcock, 

Otis  Turner, 
George  Packard,  Jr., 
Wait  Catlin, 
Benj.  Shaw, 
James  Lowrey, 
Reuben  Rockwell, 
Nathan  Smith, 
EH  Barnard, 
Thomas  Day, 
Jesse  Gloyd, 
David  Fish, 
John  Messenger, 
Howard  Wade, 
John  Gloyd, 
John  Porter, 
Levi  Nichols, 
Elizer  Hubbel. 

John  Casey, 
David  T.  Stone, 
David  Hatch, 
Wm.  Jeffords, 
Joseph  Hatch, 
Eben  Bartlett, 
Joseph  Brown,  Jr., 
Ely  Reed, 

Timothy  S.  Norton, 
James  Orr, 
James  Pease, 
Joseph  Chipman, 
Cassius  Pease, 
Samuel  Nelson, 
J.  Field, 
Ebenezer  Reed, 
Timothy  Bliss,  Jr., 
Winthrop  Hill. 
Samuel  Bentley, 
Julius  Hot, 
John  Vane, 
F.  Missy, 

Nathaniel  Willson, 
Daniel  BiUs, 
Reuben  Boswell, 
Timothy  Bliss,  Jr., 
John  Lyman, 
Silas  Billing, 



Ebenezer  Kingsbury, 
Avery  Thacher. 

Benj.  Burt, 
John  Bridgeman, 
Ebenezer  Whitlock, 
Thomas  Langdon, 
Thomas  Hermon, 
Thomas  Harmond, 
Jonathan  Hoyt, 
Nathan  Niles, 
Ebenezer  Morris, 
Joseph  Townsworth, 
James  Hawley, 
Benajah  Tisknor, 
Oliver  Roude, 
Thomas  McFarhn, 
Timothy  Chapman, 
Peter  Burdick, 
Rufus  Grossman, 
Reuben  Butler, 
Joseph  Wilson,  Jr., 
Jeremiah  Sinclear, 
Samuel  Messenger, 
Isaac  Andrews, 
Peter  Manwell, 
Doctor  Ebenezer  Hutchins, 
Linus  Catlin, 
Samuel  Martin, 
Haden  Hall, 
Norman  Shepard, 
Andrew  Benton, 
Caleb  Nash,  Jr., 
Caleb  Nash, 

Elnathan  H.  Brunsmead, 
David  Coburn, 
Billy  Bartlet, 
Paul  Babcock, 

Timothy  Bliss,  Jr., 
Joseph  Brown,  Jr., 
Timothy  Bliss,  Jr., 
Elizer  Hubbel, 
Willard  Colton, 
Shipley  Wells, 
Uriah  How, 
Anal  Strong, 
James  Marsh, 
Thomas  Day, 
Edward  Day, 
Thomas  Lawry, 
Joseph  Staples, 
Alfred  Smalley, 
Jonathan  Evans, 
Samuel  Brown, 
James  A.  Potter, 
Charles  How, 
Peter  Wood, 
John  Ripley, 
Oliver  Wilder, 
Samuel  Day, 
Elias  Potter, 
John  Lane, 
John  Bentley, 
Waters  Mather, 
Abel  Skinner, 
Jesse  Thompson, 
Azariah  Lee,  Jr., 
Timothy  Torrey, 
Seth  Rice, 
Peter  Shaw, 
John  P.  Smith, 
Homer  Pelton, 
Peter  Gloyd, 
James  Lee, 
Peter  Manwell. 

The  following  named  persons,  residents  of  Jericho,  took  the 
freeman's  oath,  as  indicated,  viz. : — 

In  1806. 
Edward  Beals, 
Simon  Richards, 
Luther  Whitten, 

John  Simon, 
Joshua  Graves, 
Salmon  Cook, 
Erastus  D.  Hubbell, 



Stephen  Lyman, 
Seth  Messenger, 
William  P.  Richardson, 
Timothy  Tyler. 

In  1807. 
Elisha  Durham, 
Edward  Fay,  2nd., 
William  Russell, 
David  Hatch,  Jr., 
John  Bliss, 
Elmer  Benson, 
Simon  Tiifeny, 
Benjamin  Lucas, 
Elisha  Durham, 
John  Allen, 
Myron  Reed, 
Earl  Rockwell, 
James  Fay, 
William  Russell. 

In  1808. 
Anson  Bostwick, 
Berfield  E.  Howe, 
Iras  Kilburn, 
Vinson  Nash, 
Asher  Hall, 
Elmore  Hapgood, 
Anson  Curtis, 
John  Atchinson, 
Orlando  Ward, 
William  M.  Moore, 
Joel  Macomber, 
Job.  Burn, 
Daniel  Turrill, 
Salmon  Adams, 
John  Benham, 
Eben  Bartlett, 
Henry  Field. 

In  1809. 
Stephen  Lane, 
Peter  Allen, 
Timothy  Porter, 
Levy  Chapin, 
William  Rouse, 
Alexander  McArthur, 
Luther  Proiity, 
Johnson  Brown, 

Isaac  Ross, 
John  Ripley, 
Samuel  Knapp,    ' 
Isaac  Chamberlain, 
James  Steel. 

In  1810. 
Jared  Willson,    " 
Charles  Lowry, 
Ashbel  Skinner,  Jr. 

In   1811. 
Stephen  Bascomb, 
Smith  Benham, 
Olin  Rouse, 
John  Bates,  Jr., 
Samuel  Wells, 
Zebedee  Packard, 
Harvey  Field, 
Pliny  Bliss. 

In  1812. 
Daniel  Lyman, 
Joseph  Wells, 
Levy  Lane, 
James  Skinner, 
Chester  Bills, 
Jasper  Brown, 
David  Hutchinson, 
Benjamin  Gline, 
William  Church, 
Henry  Vandoir, 
Samuel  Quincy, 
Jonathan  Cross, 
Silas  Benham, 
Horace  Andrus, 
Giles  Dudley, 
Martin  Root, 
EUjah  Fish, 
Joseph  Copeland. 
William  Proctor, 
Thos.  Chittenden, 
Frederick  Hepburn. 

In  1813. 
Tillison  Hapgood, 
Warren  Ford, 
Azariah  Rood, 
Nathaniel  Joy, 
Nathan  Smith, 



Joseph  G.  Phillips, 
Amos  Hamblin, 
Parker  Thimp, 
Roswell  Bates, 
William  M.  Sterns, 
Milton  Brown, 
WiUiam  E.  Dredge, 
Benj.  Barron, 
Jabez  I.  Warner, 
Jabez  Warner, 
Orange  Butler, 
Henry  Laflin, 
Porter  Howe, 
Joel  Williams, 
Rufus  Billings, 
John  Otis, 
Samuel  Chatterton. 

In  1814. 
Philander  Benham, 
Austin  Field, 
Noah  Lyman,  Jr., 
Jacob  Jones, 
Laban  Joiner, 
John  Lowry, 
Azariah  Rouse, 
Daniel  Douglass, 
John  Baxter, 
Asa  Baxter, 
Simeon  Lyman, 
Marcus  Shaw, 
Julius  Bliss, 
Harmon  Howe, 
John  Barrett, 
Nathaniel  Clapp, 
John  May. 

In  1815. 
Miron  Chapin, 
Franklin  Spencer, 
Joseph  Joiner, 
James  Rood, 
John  Garfield, 
Luman  French, 
Milton  Ford, 
Heman  Rood, 
Hiram  Stone, 
David  Skinner, 

Nathan  Hoskins,  Jr., 
John  Moore, 
tiarry  Fassett, 
Gaites  Atkins, 
Thomas  Dudley, 
Henry  Vadakim, 
Stephen  Fish, 
Joseph  Titreau. 

In  1816. 
Lemuel  Blackman, 
Elias  Bartlet, 
Luther  Brown, 
Nathan  Fay,  Jr., 
Oliver  Wilder,  Jr., 
Ariel  Squires, 
William  Smith,  Jr., 
Ephraim  Hyde,  Jr., 
John  Scales. 

In  1817. 
Truman  Brown, 
Lyman  Field, 
Orpheus  Thomson, 
Harvey  Lyman, 
John  Oakes, 
Jonathan  Torrey,  Jr., 
Sewell  Spaulding, 
James  Daget, 
Joseph  Willet. 

In  1818. 
John  Bartlet, 
Charles  Marston, 
John  Clapp, 
Justin  Gloyd, 
Shelly  Bentley, 
Jonathan  R.  Joiner, 
HoUan  Lincoln, 
Daniel  Brown, 
Abijah  Whitton, 
Timothy  Howe, 
Benj.  F.  HoUenbeck, 
Zenas  Nash, 
Levi  Rood, 
Ezra  Church, 
William  Reed, 
Jonathan  Shaw, 
John  Orr, 



Harvey  Wilder, 
Aaron  Nichols, 
Harry  Hoskins, 
John  Smith. 

In  1819. 
Thomas  D.  Rood,  Jr., 
Edward  F.  Hutchings, 
Lucius  Barney, 
John  Delaware, 
Erastus  Field, 
Joseph  Brown,  Jr., 
Elisha  Lyman, 
Milo   Messinger, 
Sipious  L.  Hefflon. 

In  1820. 
John  Thompson,  2nd., 
John  Lyman, 
Henry  Stephens, 
Azariah  Lee, 
Zalmon  Bentley,     « 
Hosea  Spaulding, 
Horace  Pease, 
Joseph  Rutter, 
Harry  Gloyd. 

In  1821. 
Harvey  Stone, 
Alonson  Dixon, 
Edward  McGee, 
Timothy  Bliss,  Jr., 
Simeon  Pease, 
Lyman  Davis, 
Orlin  Rood, 
Daniel  Shaw,  2nd., 
William  Leet, 
John  Westover, 
Thomas  C.  Barney. 

In  1822. 
Moses  L.  Colton, 
Samuel  Day,  2nd.| 
Thomas  I.  Hutchings, 
Elon  Howe, 
George  W.  Renslow, 
Milton  Lincoln, 
Fletcher  W.  Joiner, 
James  Lowry, 
Aaron  Brownell, 

David  Glines, 
F.  A.  Shaw. 

In  1823. 
Benj.  Hatch, 
Jason  Monroe, 
Rural  Thompson, 
Harvey  Ford, 
William  C.  Grimes, 
George  Lillie, 
James  Hunt, 
Martin  C.  Barney, 
Harvey  Booth, 
Alexander  Hamilton, 
Harvey  Orr, 
Charles  Campbell, 
Horace  Bliss, 
Horatio  G.  Lane, 
A.  B.  Bentley, 
Albert  Lee, 
Orwell  Shaw, 
WilUam  W.  Cilley, 
Ariel  Blodget, 
Lyman  H.  Potter, 
Hyman  J.  Martin, 
Bela  Brown, 
Major  Lamphere. 

In  1824. 
Henry  Oakes, 
John  Chambers, 
Lyman  Bentley, 
Joseph  McNall, 
Martin  C.  Bostwick, 
Solomon  Wood, 
Isaac  Smith, 
Gordon  Blakely, 
Martin  Mead,  Jr.-, 
Lewis  Lamphier, 
Horace  Babcock, 
Elizah  M.  Morse,  Jr., 
Joel  Rood,    • 
Samuel  Clough. 

In  1825. 
Harmon  B.  Potter, 
Spencer  Cilley, 
Alva  Blodget, 
Charles  Hubbell, 



Jamin  Hamilton, 
Martin  Bartlet, 
Solomon  Packard, 
Nahum  Whitmarsh, 
William  W.  Winchel, 
Lewis  Bradford, 
James  G.  Young, 
Levi  Packard. 

In  1826. 
Nathan  P.  Spaulding, 
Roswell  Lillie, 
Samuel  Lee, 
Appleton  Blakely, 
Rufus  Parker, 
Lucian  Bliss, 
Curtis  Moss, 
Zina  Brown, 
Stephen  Hunt, 
Augustus  Dowe, 
Joseph  Packard, 
Oliver  Whitmarsh, 
Jedediah  Griffin, 
Hiram  Rood, 
Lewis  Rood, 
Hoyt  Bostwick, 
Hosea  Ballon, 
Thomas  Mills, 
Selah  Babcock, 
John  B.  Briant, 
Daniel  Hale, 
Aaron  Dowe. 

In  1827. 
Calvin  Hale, 
Benj.  Freeman, 
William  S.  Douglass, 
Eber  D.  Hatch, 
Levi  C.  Shaw, 
Alva  Pease, 
Jarvis  Colgrove, 
Andrew  Warner, 
Joseph  Butts, 
Ira  S.  Abbott, 
Orlan  Porter, 
Chauncey  Chapin, 
Hosea  Joy, 
John  Lee,  Jr., 

Nahum  Bradford, 
Richard  Cilley, 
Asa  Noice, 
Perkins  Fairfield, 
Thomas  Floid, 
George  L.  Glines, 
Augustus  Lee,  2nd., 
Levi  S.  Lane, 
Daniel  Colton,  Jr., 
Orange  B.  Reed, 
John  Ryan, 
John  Glines, 
Russell  French, 
Warren  Hall. 

In  1828. 
Henry  Marsh, 
Samuel  Bartlett, 
William  Benson, 
Truman  C.  Lane, 
Rodney  Thompson, 
George  Woodward, 
Elon  Hall, 
Smith  B.  Hatch, 
George  Oakes, 
David  Fish,  Jr., 
Hiram  Day, 
Ambrose  Bliss, 
Daniel  Nash, 
Benjamin  Glines,  Jr., 
Jasper  Griffin,  Jr., 
Jonathan  Fades, 
Reuben  Lee,  Jr., 
James  Livingston, 
Simeon  Bicknell, 
Julius  Babcock, 
Eben  Lee,  Jr., 
Isaac  C.  Bostwick, 
Marshall  Beals. 

In  1829. 
Giles  Day, 
Edward  P.  Fay, 
Albert  Butts, 
John  Hunt, 
Barney  Fairfield, 
Wills  Blodget, 
Francis  B.  Vaughn, 



Reuben  Rockwell, 
John  McAndlass, 
Oliver  Day, 
Alonzo  Lee, 
Eliphalet  Bean, 
Otis  H.  Knights. 

In  1830. 
Vinson  Nash, 
Benj.  F.  Lillie, 
William  E.  Bartlett, 
Jeremiah  G.  Lane, 
Roswell  C.  Crossett, 
Norman  Wood, 
Thomas  Goodhue,  Jr., 
Zachariah  Field, 
Lucien  S.  Blodgett, 
William  Oakes, 
Calvin  Marsh. 

In  1831. 
Albert  Lowry, 
Dewey  Pierce, 
John  Delaware, 
Albert  Cilley, 
Nathan  Richardson, 
George  W.  Hart, 
Austin  Norton, 
Solomon  Lee,  Jr., 
Eli  Douglass, 
Orange  Parker, 
Leonard  Bicknell, 
Cyrus  Packard, 
Allen  Willis, 
Mathew  Barney, 
Harvey  Hatch, 
Daniel  Martin. 

In  1832. 
William  S.  Hitchcock, 
Elijah  B.  Reed, 
Harrison  Webster, 
Joel  Stevens, 
William  Tower, 
Chittenden  Galusha, 
Charles  D.  F.  Johnson, 
Ezra  Ransom, 
Henry  Blackman, 
C.  R.  Bigsby, 

Abijah  Wheelock,  Jr., 
Watrous  Thompson, 
A.  B.  Staunton, 
Lyman  Stimson, 
Van  Rensalier  Foster, 
Alvin  Chase, 
Harris  Hoyt, 
Stephen  Dudley. 

In  1833. 
Moses  Peck, 
Maseorie  B.  Johnson, 
William  Lee, 
Ebenezer  Benson,  Jr., 
David  H.  Babcock, 
Peter  W.  Shaw, 
Marcus  Messenger. 

In  1834. 
Henry  Lane, 
Isaac  L.  Benham, 
Silas  R.  Day, 
Wilham  L.  Hall, 
Ezra  Chamberlain,  Jr., 
Robinson  S.  Blodgett, 
Thomas  Howe, 
Harry  Goodell, 
Loomis  Galusha, 
Denison  Monroe, 
Arthur  L.  Castle, 
Newton  Rood, 
James  Hunt, 
John  Turrell, 
Edward  C.  S.  Parker, 
Sumner  Rockwood, 
Chester  Caswell, 
Daniel  P.  Lee, 
Ezekiel  Bailey, 
Milo  Foster, 
Giles  Howe. 

In  1836. 
Daniel  Pomeroy, 
Edwin  Hays, 
Rufus  Brown, 
Joseph  Goodhue, 
Ansel  Nash, 
Philander  S.  Prior, 
Albert  Gleason, 



Samuel  H.  Byington, 
Solon  B.  Rawson, 
Andrew  J.  Cilley, 
Heman  Gibbs, 
Edwin  Blackman. 

In  1837. 
Osmond  Castle, 
William  H.  Kenniston, 
Lyman  C.  Cotton, 
Cassius  Douglass, 
Samuel  B.  Bostwick, 
Austin  Field, 
James  B.  Orr, 
Roswell  Tarbox. 

In  1838. 
Horace  Reed, 
Solomon  Barney, 
Henry  Whitten, 
Zanthy  Parker, 
Everet  W.  Johnson, 
David  Story, 
Moses  Edwards, 
Milo  Douglass, 
Dennis  Rood, 
Orrin  Rawson, 
James  T.  Foster. 

In  1839. 
Charles  E.  Allen, 
John  Goodhue, 
Timothy  Abbott,  Jr. 

In  1840. 
Samuel  Kingsbury, 
Truman  Stebbins, 
Wilkins  Rockwood, 
Henry  Benham, 
Jesse  Thomson,  Jr., 
George  W.  Harris, 
James  J.  Stevens, 
Robert  McLaren, 
Wells  Blackman, 
Henry  G.  Gibbs, 
William  R.  Rouss, 
James  S.  Blackman, 
John  Lane, 
John  Messenger, 
David  Benson, 

Lucius  L.  Lane, 
Albert  Smith, 
Salmon  Fay. 

In  1841. 
Selem  Blackman, 
Isaac  H.  Blodgett, 
Lewis  Marsh, 
Martin  Richardson, 
Hiram  F.  Chamberlain, 
George  Butler, 
Lyman  C.  Hall, 
George  Downing, 
John  T.  Pratt, 
Perkins  Edwards, 
Charles  H.  Lyman, 
Freeman  Martin, 
Hervey  M.  Stimson. 

In  1842. 
Haswell  Church, 
Henry  Douglass, 
Leet  A.  Bishop, 
Ezra  Elliott, 
Hiram  Dixon, 
Smiley  Thomson, 
Rollin  M.  Galusha, 
Francis  Goodhue,  Jr., 
Milton  Martin, 
Miles  Ransom. 

In  1843. 
Jared  S.  Deming, 
Daniel  Hobart, 
Daniel  U.  Johnson, 
Luther  S.  Prouty, 
Henry  W.  Butler, 
Edwin  R.  Crane, 
George  P.  Howe, 
Newell  Marsh. 

In  1844. 
Milo  H.  Chapin, 
Newell  Stone, 
John  W.  Blackman, 
Ziby  Pixley, 
Edward  Day, 
Eleazer  Martin, 
Samuel  Brown, 
Sylvester  Lee, 



Samuel  Webster, 
Orlin  Rood, 
William  Benham, 
Julius  Ransom, 
Edgar  A.  Barney, 
Francis  W.  Crane, 
Harrison  Perrigo, 
Dennison  Bliss, 
Homer  Rawson. 

In  1845. 
George  H.  Duncan, 
Joel  B.  Bartlett, 
Lyman  Reed. 

In  1846. 
Henry  Ware, 
Edwin  Pratt, 
Emerson  Field, 
Lemuel  J.  Bliss. 

In  1847. 
Kineson  S.  Ransom, 
Orson  Robbins, 
Charles  Benway, 
Albert  Chapin, 
Rollin  Townsend, 
James  Russell. 

In  1848. 
George  Wadsworth, 
James  Hoyt  Orr, 
Gains  Pease,  2nd., 
Munroe  Bates, 
Lewis  Batties, 
Horatio  E.  Hawley, 
Elon  H.  Prouty, 
John  Danvers, 
Ambrose  ,C.  Stone, 
Oscar  Gibbs. 

In  1849. 
George  Wilder, 
David  N.  Shaw, 
Rollin  M.  Clapp, 
Gordon  Smith, 
Luther  Haskin. 

In  1850. 
Abner  James  Loveland, 
Albert  O.  Humphrey, 
Herbert  Chapin, 


Asa  Piatt, 
Royal  J.  Thomson, 
William  Totten, 
Abram  B.  Stroud, 
John  L.  Johnson, 
Edward  Pease. 

In  185L 
Lewis  Rodo, 
George  F.  Chapin, 
Rollin  Lincoln, 
George  Stiles, 
Otis  B.  Church, 
Dennis  Day, 
Chesman  Johnson, 
George  F.  Martin, 
Clark  Ford, 
George  Booth, 
Newell  Blakely. 

In  1852. 
John  D.  Kingsbury, 
Edwin  Bentley, 
Nelson  Wood, 
Ira  L.  Bicknell, 
Homer  Lyman  Bartlett. 

In  1853. 
Hira  A.  Percival, 
Rodney  Barney, 
Hawley  Booth, 
Lucius  Blodgett, 
Edward  Field, 
Norman  Ford, 
Jesse  Gloyd, 
Smith  Pease, 
John  C.  Bradley, 
Chesmor  Johnson. 

In  1855. 
Orrin  Stimson, 
Thomas  G.  Richardson, 
Harvey  S.  Blakely, 
William  Trumbull  Lee, 
Wells  Lee, 
Truman  B.  Barney. 

In  1856. 
Edwin  Howe, 
Harlow  Percival, 
William  Mills, 



Adrian  S.  Lee. 

In  1857. 
George  H.  Vancor, 
John  H.  Johnson, 
John  A.  Bowman, 
Lyman  Bartlett. 

In  1858. 
Orrison  H.  Shaw, 
Asa  Church. 

In  1859. 
William  E.  Benson, 
Miron  Lyman, 
Marcus  Dunlop, 
Chauncey  Smith, 
L.  H.  Bostwick, 
Charles  C.  Cilley, 
Robert  White. 

In  1860. 
Daniel  Buxton, 
B.  S.  Smith, 
Parker  Balch, 
E.  C.  Hilton, 
N.  Bissonette, 
John  Lavelle. 

In  1861. 
Loren  Chamberlain, 
Wilson  Whitmarsh, 
Erastus  Powell. 

In  1862. 
Oscar  Loomis, 
S.  J.  Haskins, 
Lysander  Jackson, 
Samuel  York, 
Charles  M.  Crane, 
Chauncey  Church. 
In  1863. 
Asa  I.  Powell, 
Dennison  Parker, 
Wallace  B.  Fish, 
Thomas  H.  Buxton, 
Luther  M.  Howe, 
Philemon  Smith, 
Dustin  Bicknell, 
David  R.  Bigelow, 
Osgood  M.  Whipple, 
Andrew  J.  Hale,' 

Henry  M.  Brown, 
Edward  S.  Whitcomb. 

In  1865. 
Abel  Hoskins, 
Justin  B.  Willard, 
Allen  Bicknell, 
Caleb  Nash, 
Charles  Wright, 
George  H.  Bliss, 
Buel  H.  Day. 

In  1866. 
George  Sherman, 
James  H.  Safford, 
Alexander  H.  Miller, 
James  Keefe, 
Eli  N.  Peck, 
Wilson  R.  Curtis, 
Birney  W.  Hilton, 
George  Dunbar, 
Henry  W.  Thomson. 

In  1867. 
Tillman  C.  Wright, 
Henry  J.  Vancor, 
William  J.  Gibson, 
George  D.  Thomson, 
A.  G.  Barney. 

In  1868. 
E.  T.  Dusseau, 
Vinson  K.  Nash, 
Orlando  Joy, 
Seth  W.  Packard, 
H.  H.  Douglass, 
Frank  F.  Gomo. 

In  1869. 
Byron  Day, 
James  Kennedy, 
HoUis  Smith, 
Dennis  E.  Rood, 
Simeon  Bullock, 
Fayette  Balch, 
E.  A.  Bliss, 
Daniel  Fuller, 
Oliver  G.  Story, 
Hiram  E.  Allen. 

In  1870. 
RoUin  Douglass, 



John  Benham, 
'  Morton  W.  Booth, 
Michael  Carroll. 

In  1872. 
Hoyt  H.  Davis, 
Irving  R.  Gleason, 
Joseph  Steams, 
J.  H.  Douglass, 
Franklin  N.  Stearns, 
W.  Scott  Nay, 
Harmon  G.  Howe, 
Henry  Smith, 
Lewis  Gauvin, 
Dorman  Stockwell, 
J.  P.  Clary, 
Buel  White, 
Frank  Colgrove, 
Henry  Desseau. 

In  1874. 
Franklin  P.  Percival, 
Frederick  Hodges, 
George  Packard, 
George  Paradee, 
John  W.  Pierce, 
Norris  S.  Ransom, 
Robert  Field, 
Fred  Smith, 
John  Benjamin. 

In  1876. 
J.  H.  Russell, 
M.  F.  Bulger, 
Charles  E.  Blood, 
Frank  C.  Young, 
Charles  F.  Bixby, 
George  H.  White, 
Fred  E.  Chambers, 
John  A.  Smith, 
Giles  W.  Stimson, 
Eben  L.  Graham, 
L.  M.  Johnson, 
John  Carroll, 
K.  C.  Butler, 
John  Morey, 
Charles  LeCIair, 
John  Nash, 
Frank  A.  Stiles. 

In  1878. 
Andrew  C.  Berry, 
William  S.  Powell, 
Henry  Murdock, 
W.  C.  Stevens, 
Burke  Brown, 
Lucian  H.  Chapin, 
Charles  M.  Berry, 
Chauncey  H.  Hayden, 
Charles  Eastman, 
Fred  S.  Tomlinson, 
Alvin  Graham. 

In   1880. 
John  Casey, 
C.  F.  Nealy, 
H.  D.  Peters, 
E.  Frank  Lane, 
Lewis  Roscoe, 
J.  W.  Somers, 
Frank  J.  Chambers, 
Eli  Stone, 
Frank  S.  Ransom, 
E.  E.  Thompson, 
H.  H.  Howe, 
G.  L.  Curtis, 
G.  E.  Humphrey, 
James  McClaflin, 
C.  S.  Field, 
Carlos  Young, 
Charles  Barney, 
James  Nelson, 
Ebert  Lane, 
G.  W.  Bass, 
Henry  Benwore, 
FranicUn  S.  Jackson, 
Charles  Douglass. 

In  1882. 
Charles  W.  Powell, 
Louis  F.  Paradee, 
George  W.  Lucia, 
William  Morton, 
Joseph  Shiner, 
J.  D.  Farrell, 
John  Hall, 
Edward  Sweeney, 
Justin  H.  Gloyd, 



Ezra  Shiner, 
Peter  Plant, 
Edward  Hawley, 
Frank  A.  Castle, 
Nelson  Guyette, 
Clinton  C.  Abbott, 
Fred  Hatch. 

In  1883. 
Moses  Bolger. 

In  1884. 
George  Gauvin, 
Homer  Kinney, 
Henry  G.  Stiles, 
W.  C.  Field, 
Andrew  Gearin, 
Bert  S.  Booth, 
W.  A.  Tarbox, 
A.  W.  Waters, 

E.  C.  Myers, 
Will  Wood, 
C.  B.  Tyler, 
Frank  E.  Kinney, 
A.  D.  Bradford, 
Charles  Bentley, 
Lewis  Ladue, 

A.  C.  Lowry, 
J.  T.  Vamey, 

F.  Guyette, 
Fred  E.  Wilson, 
Eugene  B.  Jordan. 

In  1886. 
W.  N.  Pierce, 
H.  N.  Percival, 
Martin  Mead, 
Warren  Fellows, 
S.  S.  Thomson, 
George  Sherman, 
H.  W.  Packard, 
A.  D.  Bradford, 
George  W.  Tubbs, 
John  Ryan, 
Judson  Hodges, 
George  Costello, 
William  Woodruff, 
F.  C.  Williams, 
W.  M.  Bradford, 

E.  B.  Williams, 
William  Flynn, 
William  Boilson, 
Sanford  Glidden, 
Waldo  Smith, 
John  Costello, 
Eli  Paradee, 
James  Sweeney, 
George  Willard, 
Charles  Barney, 
Mortimer  Whitney, 
George  Johnson, 
James  Tobin, 
Willie  L.  Marsh, 
Frank  Pratt, 
Fred  Pratt, 
Luther  M.  Stevens, 
W.  A.  Bentley, 

F.  M.  Nash. 

In  1888. 
W.  M.  Buxton, 
Orvis  Rowland, 
W.  M.  McGovem, 
Peter  S.  McGibbon, 
R.  C.  Gloyd, 
Hoyt  O.  Kinney, 
Burt  J.  Sherman, 
George  H.  Booth, 
George  W.  Gearing, 
L.  E.  Taylor, 
Don  C.  Hawley, 
Judson  E.  Fleming, 
Charles  A.  Williams, 
Edward  E.  Story, 
Louis  Morrow, 
David  Parizo, 
B.  C.  Day, 
H.  T.  Barnard, 
Fred  Guyette, 
Will  E.  Prior. 

In  1890. 
A.  C.  Johnson, 
James  K.  Morse, 
Theodore  Tubbs, 
Mortimer  Whitney, 
Joshua  Hamilton, 



Charles  Jackson, 
H.  E.  Bates, 
Louis  Pratt, 
Edmund  Guyette, 
Luke  Bolger, 
David  Bissonette, 
Clement  G.  Austin. 

In  1892. 
Edward  Martin, 
Ira  Austin, 
H.  Brigham, 
Geo.  Cunningham, 
John  Cabana, 
W.  C.  Jackson, 
Arthur  Prue, 
Frank  W.  Woods. 

In  1894. 

Leander  Savoie, 
William  Flynn, 
G.  Hutchinson, 
Elbridge  Nealy, 
Wesley  Church, 
John  Tarbox, 
L.  D.  Moulton, 
E.  C.  Packard, 

B.  C.  Hawley, 
Fred  Buxton, 
Frank  Flynn, 
Clarence  Pratt, 
Leroy  Barber, 
Curtis  Nash, 
Ernest  Gauvin, 
E.  D.  Herrick, 
Arthur  J.  Bumor, 

C.  T.  Wright, 
George  Pecor, 
Valorus  Howland. 

In  1896. 

E.  T.  Scott, 
I.  F.  Bennett, 
Frank  L.  Kidder, 
Hiram  J.  Curry, 
Sidney  J.  Barber,  Jr., 

F.  A.  Wright, 
Clifton  A.  Pease, 

I.  C.  Stone, 
George  H.  Kidder, 
James  J.  Jackson, 
Albert  I.  Gleason, 
W.  W.  Buzzell, 
E.  S.  Ransom, 
G.  W.  Labardee, 
William  SchilUiammer, 
C.  T.  Barney, 
Henry  L.  Smith, 
Hiram  Tromblay, 
Chauncey  Bicknell, 
Walter  J.  Howland, 
William  J.  Nichols, 
Lewis  O.  Chapin. 

In  1897. 
Michael  Hearin. 

Henry  W.  Curry, 
Albert  Byington, 
Glenn  L.  Booth, 
James  P.  McLaughlin, 
William  Monell, 
Samuel  W.  Hoyt, 
Elmer  Harriman, 
Dennis  H.  Eldredge, 
Thomas  Adrien, 
Roma  H.  May, 
Arthur  E.  Sherman, 
John  Ammon, 
Henry  W.  Curry, 
Fred  W.  Ploof, 
Edgar  S.  Hoyt, 
Edmond  L.  Plant, 
John  B.  Hardy, 
Isadore  Panther, 
Newton  T.  Isham, 
Charles  J.  Guyette, 
Stephen  E.  Curtis, 
James  Carroll, 
George  L.  Lyon, 
Haswell  G.  Brown, 
Albert  P.  Byington, 
Patrick  H.  Flynn, 
Joseph  Larrabee, 
Ebenezer  White, 



Lawrence  Aegan, 
Henry  A.  Blood. 

In  1900. 
Ralph  M.  Church, 
Bert  Ballard, 
Augustus  J.  Mattimore, 
James  H.  Carroll, 
W.  Scott  Fuller, 
Lynn  D.  Moulton, 
Palmer  J.  Davis, 
Edward  M.  Cady, 
Lloyd  Grames, 
Clark  Streeter, 
R.  Lee  Howe, 
Charles  B.  Tierney, 
Barney  J.  Mattimore, 
Fred  J.  Foster, 
Hubert  Morom, 
William  V.  N.  Ring, 
William  D.  Chesmore, 
John  Keefe, 
Irving  Ballard, 
Frank  G.  Pease, 
Harlan  P.  Hall, 
Emery  J.  Streeter, 

E.  Harley  Barber, 
Howard  Streeter, 
Chas.  E.  Lee, 

J.  W.  Prior, 
Albert   McLaughlin. 

In  190L 
Edward  W.  Hoskins, 
George  A.  Hall, 
Archie  Perrigo. 

In  1902.   , 

F.  L.  Giddings, 
J.  A.  Clerkin, 
Orin  N.  Bean, 
Carlton  E.  Nay, 
Lynn  A.  Brown, 
Ray  M.  Brown, 
Harry  D.  Hopkins, 
J.  P.  Carroll, 

Eli  W.  Ross, 
H.  E.  Godfrey, 
Park  H.  Brown, 

Amos  N.  Warner, 
Marshall  H.  Bushey, 
Wm.  Woodruff, 
Wm.  Francis. 

In  1903. 
W.  T.  Bean, 
J.  G.  Shaw, 
Zeph.  Hapgood, 
George  Bean. 

In  1904. 
John  E.  McGinnis, 
Clarence  C.  Covey,    • 
O.  E.  Barnard, 
M.  A.  Buzzell, 
Wesley  J.  Cochran, 
Orson  Brown, 
Clement  E.  Tomlin, 
Ray  Gleason, 
Arthur  E.  Brown, 
Joseph  E.  Bleau, 
Wayne  Nealy, 
Leslie  Cook, 
H.  E.  Ayres, 
Arthur  E.  Meyette, 

F.  J.  Ladeau, 
H.  G.  Martin, 

G.  W.  Bowman, 
Kiel  Myers, 
Allen  Williams. 

In   1906. 
Alfred  P.  Cayo, 
Harry  E.  Lawrence, 
H.  T.  Chase, 
Harry  Parker, 
Arthur  H.  Packard, 
Arthur  H.   McLaughlin, 
Thomas  H.  Moran, 
Clarence  B.  Shiner, 
E.  J.   Gregory, 
Claude  E.  Blodgett, 
George  R.  Blood, 
Lewis  Ploof, 
Leonard  Mitchell, 
Edmond  H.  Harrian, 
Lynn  A.  Brown, 
Gould  J.  Wilbur, 



Alfred  P.  Gkjodell, 
James  E.  Killpeck. 

In  1908. 
Guy  C.  Murdock, 
Tuifel  Bostwick,  Sr., 
Clyde  W.  Wilder, 
Lee  Whittemore, 
H.  C.  Lombard, 
Alric  Bentley, 
George  H.  Hutchinson, 
Edward  A.  Shiner, 
Charles  F.  Moran, 
Edward  Paradee, 
George  Ring. 

In  1910. 
Theodore  B.  Williams, 
Dennis  B.  Terrill, 
Howard  N.  Haylett, 
Frank  B.  Brown, 
Harry  R.  Allen, 
Harry  McLaughlin. 

In   1911. 
Ernest  H.  Gomo, 
Hovey  Jordan, 
Homer  Brown, 
Zeb.  Deforge. 

In   1912. 
Buel  H.  Day, 
John  Spellman, 
Joseph  Laforge, 
John  R.  Story, 
Grover  C.  Fuller, 
Patrick  L.  Corvan, 

Merritt  O.  Eddy, 
Henry  H.  Dickinson, 
Henry  L.  Murdock, 
Bailey  Brown, 
John  Deforge, 
Peter  J.  Pratt, 
Carl  Schillhammer,  Jr., 
Robert  O.  Kenyon, 
John  A.  McKeefe, 
William  F.  Yantz, 
Raymond  F.  White, 
H.  L.  Terrill, 
E.  T.  Maloney, 
Frank   S.  Jackson, 
Fred  S.  Safford, 
William  V.  N.  Ring, 
Sheldon  E.  Hill. 

In  1913. 
Chester  H.  White. 

In  1914. 
Wilfred  Pratt, 
Lester  D.  Packard, 
Arthur  W.  Harris, 
Claude  T.  Gtaves, 
Arthur  T.  Bentley, 
Perley  J.  King, 
Earl  C.  Cross, 
Howard  C.  Rochelle, 
C.  Tyler, 

C.  Harold  Hayden, 
Leroy  ICimball, 
Robert  M.  Fuller. 




Edited  by  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum. 

Chapter  I. 

(Based  mainly  upon  the  Church  records.) 

Organisation  and  Earliest  History. — The  First  Baptist 
Church  of  Jericho  was  organized  at  Essex,  as  the  following 
minute  shows :  "Be  it  remembered  that  at  a  church  meeting  held 
at  the  house  of  Deacon  Nathaniel  Blood  in  Essex  on  the  21st  day 
of  April,  1817,  we  as  a  branch  of  the  Baptist  Church  in  Essex 
were  set  off  and  organized  a  church  at  Jerico."  The  date  is  not 
given  of  the  first  meeting  in  Jericho,  but  its  minutes  are  of  in- 
terest: "Agreeable  to  Appointment  we  met  at  the  schoolhouse  in 

1.  Attended  to  prayer. 

2.  Chose  Br.  Nahum  Joyner,  moderator. 

3.  Chose  Br.  Joel  Castle,  clerk. 

4.  voted  to  Attend  Covenant  meetings  the  first  Saturdays  in 
Each  month. 

5.  voted  to  Attend  Church  meetings  once  in  two  months 
on  thursday. 

6.  Adjourned  to  the  second  thursday  in  June  at  twelve 

Closed  by  prayer." 

These  meetings  were  held  for  some  years  at  the  school  house 
or  at  private  houses,  and  it  was  early  voted  that  Brethren  N.  Joy- 
ner, C.  Norton  and  J.  Castle  "stand  as  those  who  shall  take  the 
lead  of  meetings."  In  the  very  first  year  they  began  to  visit  and 
labor  with  fellow  members  who  were  in  some  way  censurable, 
and  many  a  letter  of  admonition,  followed  either  by  the  recov- 


ery  of  the  offender  or  his  exclusion,  was  referred  to  as  the  years 
went  on.  April  6,  1819,  a  committee,  treasurer,  and  collector 
for  the  ensuing  year  were  chosen,  and  a  few  weeks  later  it  was 
voted  "to  make  a  trial  to  get  subscriptions  enough  to  hire  preach- 
ing half  the  time  if  possible."  Near  the  end  of  the  year  it  was 
voted  "to  add  seventeen  dollars  to  make  up  $75.00  to  Elder  T. 
Ravlin  for  preaching  two  years  past."  It  appears  that  Thomas 
Ravlin  was  licensed  to  preach  in  1814,  by  the  Hinesburg  Church 
and  was  ordained  while  pastor  at  Essex  Center.  It  may  be  con- 
jectured that  while  at  Essex  he  supplied  more  or  less  at  Jericho. 
Apparently  from  1819  to  1823  there  was  no  regular  preaching, 
but  on  Feb.  27,  1823,  it  was  voted  to  have  preaching  the  ensumg 
year,  and  on  March  25  to  hire  Brother  Sabins  to  preach,  if  pos- 
sible, one-quarter  of  the  time. 

Elders  Culver  and  Tuttle  appear  as  supplies.  Brother  Hast- 
ings preached  about  a  year,  followed  by  Joel  P.  Hayford,  who 
was  to  have  $200.  Elder  Kimball,  who  served  from  March,  1826, 
for  a  year,  was  to  receive  $300,  each  meinber  being  taxed  ac- 
cording to  his  list.  The  names  of  Elder  Timothy  Spaulding  and 
Elder  Moses  Cheney  appear,  and  they  may  have  preached  awhile, 
but  from  1819  up  to  1829  no  one  seems  to  have  served  more  than 
a  year.  From  1823  meetings  were  held  half  the  time  at  the 
school  house  or  near  the  Corners,  and  half  the  time  in  the  south 
part  of  the  town,  and  in  Jan.,  1825,  it  was  voted  to  have  preach- 
ing half  the  time  at  the  Corners  and  the  other  half  at  the  center 
cf  the  town  at  the  new  meeting  house.  Later  meetings  were  also 
held  at  the  Joy  school  house  and  at  Bolton.  It  is  to  be  noted  that 
in  1825,  Truman  Galusha,  who  had  come  from  Shaftsbury,  and 
Joel  Castle  were  elected  deacons. 

Pastorate  of  Elder  Graves. — ^An  era  of  prosperity  came  to  the 
church  during  the  pastorate  of  Rev.  J.  M.  Graves,  who  began  in 
1829  and  stayed  four  years.  The  details  of  his  salary,  which  were 
altered  three  or  four  times,  were  at  one  time  that  he  should  re- 
ceive $250  in  grain  and  produce,  $50  in  cash,  house  rent,  fuel,  hay 
and  pasturing  for  one  horse  and  a  cow.  The  salary  was  raised  by 
assessment  upon  the  grand  list.  This  was  a  revival  period,  and 
the  record  of  baptisms  was  4  in  1830,  64  in  1831,  18  in  1832.  A 
creed  had  been  adopted  at  the  beginning  of  the  history  of  the 
Church,  but  at  this  time  a  more  elaborate  and  detailed  one  was 

Rev.  J.  K.  WiLi.iAirs. 
Rev.  Hiram  C.  Estes. 

Rev.  Austin  Hazen. 

Rev.  Simeon  Pabmalee 
OF  Riverside  Memory. 





substituted.  Another  quite  changed  superseded  this  in  1843. 
The  Brick  Meeting  House  at  the  Corners,  was  occupied  alter- 
nately from  1826  to  1858  by  the  Baptist  and  Congregationalists. 
In  the  time  of  the  masonry  excitement  in  1831,  a  resolution  was 
passed  denying  any  fellowship  with  speculative  free  masonry. 

Pastorates  from  1833  to  1859.— Rev.  Timothy  Spaulding, 
who  was  probably  here  before,  succeeded  Elder  Graves  in  1833, 
and  was  to  receive  $350,  one-third  in  cash,  and  parsonage.  He 
is  spoken  of  as  a  man  of  superior  ability  and  of  zeal.  He  re- 
mained two  years,  and  later  going  West  succumbed  to  the  hard- 
ships of  work  in  the  new  country.  He  was  followed  by  Isaiah 
Huntley,  1837-1842.  In  one  year  of  his  pastorate,  1839,  47  were 
baptized.  Elder  H.  D.  Hodge  preached  from  1842  to  1845. 
Ffeb.  16,  1843,  a  Baptist  Church  was  organized  in  West  Bolton, 
to  which  the  Jericho  Church  gave  39  members,  whose  names  are 
given  upon  the  records.  It  was  called  the  Second  Baptist  Church 
of  Jericho.  It  is  stated  that  the  utmost  harmony  and  unity 
of  feeling  prevailed  throughout  the  whole  proceeding,  and  those 
brothers  and  sisters  who  were  set  off  were  bidden  a  hearty  God- 
speed in  their  labor  of  love.  The  next  pastor  was  Myron  N. 
Steams,  1845-1847, .  followed  for  several  months  by  Peter  Chase 
of  unusual  linguistic  ability,  S.  G.  Abbott,  1850-1852  and  Rufus 
Smith,  1852-1856.  J.  H.  Drummond  supplied  in  1857,  and  N. 
P.  Foster,  though  credited  to  Burlington  Baptist  Church  in 
1858,  officiated  at  baptisms  here  in  that  year.  During  this  pe- 
riod strong  anti-slavery  resolutions  presented  by  Elder  H.  D. 
Hodge  were  spread  upon  the  records.  Although  considerable 
numbers  had  been  added  to  the  church,  it  was  often  difficult  to 
meet  the  expense  of  a  salary  of  $300  to  $400,  and  entries  similar 
to  the  following  appear:  "After  prayer  proceeded  to  examine 
the  subscription  papers  and  found  a  delinquency.  Voted  that  the 
committee  make  a  further  effort  to  fill  out  the  subscription  and 
make  report  one  week  from  next  Saturday."  And  then  they 
courageously  vote  to  have  preaching  the  ensuing  year. 

The  Baptist  Meeting  House. — Steps  were  taken  at  a  meeting 
held  Dec.  12,  1857,  to  buy  out  the  interest  of  the  Congregational 
Church  in  the  brick  meeting  house  or  to  sell  their  own,  or,  failing 
in  either,  to  build  and  to  unanimously  sustain  each  other  in  any 
course  of  measures  required  to  secure  a  house  of  worship.     The 


result  was  that  a  committee  consisting  of  Deacon  T.  Galusha,  A. 
Cilley,  T.  C.  Galusha,  L.  B.  Howe  and  O.  Rood,  were  appointed 
to  provide  for  and  superintend  the  building  of  a  Baptist  meeting 
house  and  parsonage,  to  raise  the  funds  and  find  an  eligible  site. 
Subscriptions  footing  up  $2,742.75  were  secured.  A  lot  was 
bought  of  T.  Galusha  for  $400  and  a  contract  made  with  B.  W. 
Haynes  to  build  a  meeting  house  for  $2,245,  and  a  parsonage  for 
$1',051.50,  total  $3,296.50.  This  was  paid  in  full.  After  the 
completion  of  the  church  the  pews  were  appraised  at  $2,850,  an 
equivalent  of  the  expense  of  the  whole  lot  of  land  and  the  meet- 
ing house  as  completed  and  furnished.  The  sale  of  the  slips 
brought  $2,971.75  or  $121.75  more  than  the  appraisal.  A  num- 
ber of  the  pews  were  purchased  by  Truman  Galusha,  who  had  ad- 
vanced money  to  complete  the  necessary  payments,  and  after  his 
sudden  death  a  new  subscription  was  requisite  of  $916.21  to  pay 
his  estate,  an  undertaking  which  was  successfully  accomplished. 
The  church  was  dedicated  Jan.  6,  1859,  the  sermon  being 
preached  by  Rev.  N.  P.  Foster  of  Burlington.  From  this  time 
on  regular  services  were  held  in  their  own  church  every  Sabbath. 

Pastorates  since  1859. — Rev.  James  Andem  was  pastor  1859- 
1861,  followed  by  Hiram  C.  Estes,  June,  1862-Aug.,  1872.  Mr. 
Estes'  service  was  the  longest  in  the  history  of  the  church.  He 
was  called  at  $350  and  parsonage  but  declined.  On  being  asked 
to  name  his  terms  he  requested  $400  with  the  prospect  of  an 
increase  according  as  the  church  might  be  able  to  give  it.  The 
church  agreed,  two  years  later  raised  the  salary  to  $600,  and  in 
the  years  1868  and  1869  reported  a  surplus  in  the  treasury.  Dur- 
ing this  pastorate  the  church  roll  was  revised.  One  hundred  and 
thirty-three  names  were  found  upon  the  list,  but  52  of  these 
were  of  members  dismissed,  united  with  other  churches  without 
letters,  deceased  or  of  unknown  residence,  leaving  81  who  were 
bona  fide  members.  The  names  of  all  are  given  upon  the  records. 
Another  incident  of  this  pastorate  was  that  David  F.  Estes,  a  son 
of  the  pastor,  was  licensed  to  preach  by  the  church. 

Rev.  Evan  Lewis  was  here  about  a  year ;  Rev.  Ahira  Jones, 
1874-1880,  during  whose  time  extensive  repairs  were  made  upon 
the  church  and  parsonage;  Rev.  De  Forrest  Safford,  1881-1884, 
the  church  then  being  yoked  with  the  one  at  Bolton,  and  Rev. 
Irving  W.  Coombs,  1885-1886,  the  yoking  being  made  with  Essex 


instead  of  Bolton,  an  arrangement  which  continued  for  a  number 
of  years. 

Brother  Richard  Bradshaw,  1889-1890,  was  ordained  while 
here.  Rev.  A.  N.  Woodruff,  1890-1894,  baptized  twelve  on  one 
Sabbath  following  revival  meetings.-  A  prayer  meeting  room 
and  a  baptistery  were  constructed  and  furnaces  placed  in  the  base- 
ment in  1891.  Mr.  Woodruff,  who  was  for  about  fifty  years  a 
Baptist  minister,  died  in  Burlington  in  Sept.,  1914,  at  the  age  of 
76.  During  the  pastorate  of  Rev.  J.  T.  Buzzell,  1894-1901,  all 
the  church  property  was  deeded  to  the  Vermont  Baptist 
Convention  and  then  deeded  back  with  reversionary  right. 
Twenty-three  were  baptized  in  1896.  Other  incidents  of 
this  pastorate  were  the  starting  of  a  Home  Department 
class,  the  reception  of  a  legacy  of  $500  from  the  estate  of 
Mrs.  Dodge,  the  installation  of  a  new  church  organ,  and  the  ad- 
dition of  a  veranda  to  the  parsonage.  It  was  said  of  the  Bible 
School  at  one  annual  meeting :  "We  have  as  fine  a  corps  of  teach- 
ers as  can  be  found  in  any  school  of  the  same  size."  There  were 
then  77  names  on  the  roll.  Meanwhile  eleven  members  moved 
away,  among  them  some  of  the  best  workers.  Rev.  O.  N.  Bean, 
1901-1904,  and  G.  W.  Campbell,  1904-1906,  preached  during  a 
part  of  their  engagements  also  at  West  Bolton.  Mr.  Campbell 
was  ordained  here.  Rev.  Frederic  Emerson  served  1906-1909. 
The  work  went  efficiently  and  harmoniously  during  these  years. 
It  was  then  decided  to  unite  with  Essex  on  a  basis  of  $700  and 
parsonage  from  the  two  churches,  the  Jericho  church  having  been 
obliged  since  1901  to  receive  state  aid.  Rev.  N.  W.  Wolcott  was 
pastor  of  the  two  churches  from  1910  to  1912,  and  Rev.  Charles 
A.  Nutting  came  in  April,  1912.  He  was  born  at  Fitchburg, 
Mass.,  in  1869,  graduated  from  Mt.  Hermon  school,  in  1901  from 
Hiram  College,  from  which  also  he  received  the  degree  of  M.  A., 
and  in  1904  from  Rochester  Theological  Seminary.  He  has 
held  pastorates  in  Massachusetts,  New  Hampshire  and  Vermont. 
During  his  pastorate  a  piano  was  purchased  for  the  church  and 
the  baptistery  improved.  The  church  has  no  debt  and  pays 
promptly  its  share  of  the  $750  salary.  Mr.  Nutting  closed  his 
work  here  Jan.  31,  1915.  Rev.  Irving  E.  Usher  began  work  here 
Aug.  1,  1915.  Mr.  Usher  was  b.  in  North  Uxbridge,  Mass.,  in 
1859,  graduated  from  Worcester  Academy  and  Colgate  Univer- 


sity,  and  has  been  pastor  at  Charlestown  and  McGraw,  N.  Y.; 
Hingham,  Mass.;  Newport,  N.  Y. ;  Poultney  and  Bristol,  Vt.; 
Rupert,  Idaho  and  Tekoa,  Wash. 

Conclusion. — Among  the  many  faithful  members  it  will  not 
be  invidious  to  mention  three  of  the  church  clerks :  Enoch  Howe, 
1830-1836;  E.  B.  Reed,  1836-1874;  and  W.  R.  Curtis,  1875-1912. 
Deacons  were  for  a  considerable  time  elected  for  a  term  of  years, 
but  in  1893  D.  E.  Rood  and  in  1894  W.  R.  Curtis  were  chosen 
for  life,  and  in  1909  W.  E.  Buxton  was  elected  third  deacon. 
Losses  have  been  many  and  the  present  membership  is  sixty-one 
of  whom  thirty-seven  are  resident  members.  The  church  prop- 
erty is  valued  at  $4,500.  The  benevolences  reported  in  1913  were 
$68.  The  greatest  prosperity  was  perhaps  in  the  ten  years' 
ministry  of  Rev.  Hiram  C.  Estes,  1862-1872,  but  the  most  exten- 
sive revivals  were  in  1831  and  1839  under  Elders  Graves  and 
Huntley.  There  have  been  periods  of  serious  depression  and  dur- 
ing some  years  there  has  been  no  regular  preaching,  but  the  loyal 
church  is  now  approaching  its  centennial  anniversary. 
This  sketch  of  Dr.  Estes  is  furnished  by  his  son : 
Rev.  Hiram  Cushman  Estes,  D.  D.,  was  born  in  Bethel,  Maine, 
July  27,  1823.  He  was  brought  up  on  a  farm,  but  early  developed 
a  love  of  learning  and  a  passion  for  books.  Like  many  other 
New  England  youths,  he  was  obliged  to  depend  mainly  upon  his 
own  efforts  for  the  means  necessary  to  a  course  of  study,  and  in 
his  case  as  in  many  others,  the  fact  was  demonstrated  that  a  de- 
termined will  is  quite  sure  to  open  a  way.  After  leaving  the  town 
school,  he  prepared  for  college,  working  upon  the  farm  portions 
of  each  year,  and  teaching  in  winter  to  meet  his  expenses.  He 
entered  Waterville  College,  now  Colby  University,  in  1843,  and 
was  graduated  with  honor  in  1847.  He  studied  theology  at  Har- 
vard Divinity  School,  and  was  ordained  to  the  work  of  the  min- 
istry at  Auburn,  Maine,  in  1850.  For  three  years,  from  1852  to 
1855,  he  was  agent  for  the  American  Baptist  Missionary  Union 
in  the  State  of  Maine ;  settled  over  the  church  in  Trenton,  Me., 
from  1855  to  1860;  at  Leicester,  Mass.,  from  1860  to  1862;  at 
Jericho  from  1862  to  1872 ;  over  the  Baptist  Church  in  Paris,  Me,, 
from  1873  to  1883;  at  Winchendon,  Mass.,  from  1883  to  1885; 
at  Leicester  again  from  1886  to  1894 ;  at  Newton  Junction,  N.  H., 
from  1894  to  1897.     He  died  Feb.  4,  1901,  after  a  prolonged 


illness.  While  at  Trenton,  he  was  elected  to  the  Legislature  in 
1858,  and  served  as  chairman  of  the  committee  on  Education  on 
the  part  of  the  House.  The  degree  of  D.  D.  was  conferred  upon 
him  by  his  Alma  Mater  in  1872.  Dr.  Estes  was  a  profound 
scholar,  a  forcible  and  interesting  writer,  and  whatever  he  under- 
took to  do,  he  did  well.  His  library,  which  he  knew  thoroughly, 
was  one  of  the  largest  ever  gathered  by  a  country  minister  in  New 
England.  He  wrote  and  delivered  several  lectures  which  have 
been  highly  spoken  of  by  those  best  qualified  to  judge.  His  only 
published  volume  is  an  essay  entitled,  "The  Christian  Doctrine 
of  the  Soul,"  which  appeared  in  1873. 

A  sketch  of  the  Rev.  De  Forrest  Safford,  who  was  pastor 
from  1881  to  1884  is  available.  He  was  born  in  Royalton,  March 
17,  1840,  graduated  at  Watertown,  Mass.,  high  school  and  at- 
tended Harvard  College  two  years,  when  he  enlisted  in  the 
Union  army.  After  the  war  he  taught  for  some  years,  grad- 
uated at  Newton  Theological  Seminary  and  was  ordained  at 
Kenosha,  Wis.  His  death  occurred  at  Petersboro,  N.  H.,  where 
he  was  pastor,  in  Aug.,  1914.  He  is  spoken  of  as  a  great  student, 
an  educated  and  dignified  man  with  a  large  circle  of  acquaintances. 
He  is  survived  by  his  second  wife,  three  daughters  and  four  sons. 

Chapter  H. 


Organized  March  31,  179L 

The  centennial  celebration  of  the  founding  of  this  church 
was  held  June  17,  1891.  A  committee  to  have  the  general  direc- 
tion of  preparations  had  been  elected  the  preceding  November, 
Deacon  Isaac  C.  Stone  being  chairman.  The  other  members 
were  Rev.  Leonard  B.  Tenney,  pastor ;  Deacon  M.  Hoyt  Chapin, 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  M.  Stiles,  Mrs.  Frank  H.  Cilley,  Mrs. 
Eugene  B.  Jordan.  This  committee  labored  assiduously  to  make 
the  anniversary  a  success.  On  the  day  designated  three  sessions 
were  held  filled  to  repletion  with  good  things.    Dinner  was  served 


in  the  basement  of  the  church  to  four  hundred  persons,  and  sup- 
per to  about  half  that  number.  A  valuable  pamphlet  was  after- 
ward published  containing  the  addresses  delivered,  and  to  this  we 
must  refer  readers  for  a  complete  record  of  the  proceedings  of  the 
day.  We  transfer  to  our  pages  the  paper  upon  "Church  Edifices" 
by  Hon.  Edgar  H.  Lane  of  Buriington,  and  the  "Historical  Dis- 
course" by  Rev.  Austin  Hazen  of  Richmond,  both  being  es- 
sential in  order  to  cover  the  subject. 

By  Edgar  H.  Lane. 

In  discharging  the  duty  assigned  me  by  your  committee  in  this 
Centennial  Anniversary,  of  giving  a  description  of  the  church  edi- 
fices or  places  of  worship  here  for  the  past  century,  I  have  thought 
it  might  be  of  interest  to  go  back  to  the  organization  of  the  town, 
and  give  a  brief  account  of  the  places  where  public  worship  was 
held  before  the  building  of  the  first  meeting  house,  as  it  was  al- 
ways called. 

The  providing  of  places  for  holding  public  worship  until  about 
1800  and  the  building  of  the  first  meeting  house  was  done  by  the 
town,  in  town  meeting.  I  cannot  better  give  you  an  account  of 
the  actions  and  doings  upon  the  subject,  or  bring  before  you  those 
sturdy,  resolute  pioneers  of  a  century  or  more  ago,  in  their  efforts 
to  establish  public  worship  and  to  build  a  temple  for  the  worship 
of  God  in  their  new  wilderness  home,  than  by  copying,  verbatim, 
the  language  of  the  records  made  at  the  time. 

At  a  town  meeting  held  April  14,  1789,  it  was  "voted  to 
hold  meetings  of  public  worship  at  the  usual  places  viz. :  at  Dea. 
Roods  and  Capt.  Bartletts."  This  is  the  first  public  action  of  the 
town  recorded,  of  voting  a  place  where  meetings  should  be  held, 
although  at  a  town  meeting  held  November  29,  1786,  the  year  of 
the  organization  of  the  town,  it  was  "Voted  to  appoint  a  com- 
mittee for  the  purpose  of  providing  preaching  the  ensuing  year." 

At  a  legal  town  meeting  held  July  10,  1790,  it  was  "Voted 
that  two-thirds  of  the  time  we  meet  at  William  Smith's  and  one- 
third  of  the  time  at  Capt.  J.  Russell's." 

"April  4,  1791,  Voted  to  meet  for  public  worship  on  the 
Sabbath  at  Wm.  Smith's  barn  for  the  future." 

The  Pibst  Congeegational  Church,  Jericho  Center. 
Interior  View. 


"Nov.  14,  1791,  Voted  to  meet  for  public  worship  at  Elon 
Lee's  the  ensuing  winter." 

April  16,  1792,  "Voted  that  we  meet  for  public  worship  at 
Lewis  Chapin's  bam  the  ensuing  summer." 

At  the  annual  town  meeting  held  March  4,  1793,  "Voted  to 
meet  for  public  worship  at  Elon  Lee's  in  cold  weather,  and  Wm. 
Smith's  bam  in  warm  weather  for  one  year  from  this  date." 

October  2,  1794,  "Voted  to  meet  for  public  worship  at  the 
school  house  at  the  river  one-half  of  the  time,  the  other  half  at 
the  school  house  by  Wm.  Bartlett's  the  winter  coming." 

Nov.  18,  1795,  "Voted  to  meet  for  public  worship  at  the 
dwelling  house" — (here  the  record  omits  the  name.) 

Oct.  2,  1794,  a  town  meeting  was  called  for  the  purpose  of 
providing  for  the  building  of  a  meeting  house,  at  which  it  was : 

1st.     "Voted  to  build  a  meeting  house." 

2nd.  Voted  that  every  man  write  his  place  for  a  meeting 
house  and  put  it  into  a  hat — Tryed — counted — twenty,  by  the 
burying  place,  eighteen,  the  flat  between  Lewis  Chapin's  and  Wm. 
Rood's,  one,  between  Azariah  Lee's  and  Wm.  Rood's. 

"Chose  a  committee  of  five  to  set  a  stake  for  a  meeting  house, 
viz.:  Noah  Chittenden,  John  Lyman,  Dudley  Stone,  Jedediah 
Lane,  Thos.  Bentley." 

This  meeting  was  then  adjourned  to  Dec.  10,  1794,  at  which 
time  "the  town's  committee  reported  that  they  had  agreed  on  a 
place  on  Capt.  Bartlett's  lot  to  build  a  meeting  house,  Tryed,  no 
vote,  then  the  flat  proposed,  Tryed,  no  vote — ^the  burying  place 
proposed,  Tryed,  no  vote,  place  by  Azariah  Lee's  Tryed,  no  vote." 

It  was  then  "Voted  to  choose  a  committee  and  they  to  be 
appointed  by  the  County  Court  to  set  a  meeting  house  stake. 
Amos  Brownson  of  Williston,  Samuel  Bradley  of  Essex,  Phineas 
Loomis  of  Burlington  said  committee." 

At  an  adjourned  meeting  held  Jan.  27,  1795,  it  was 

"Voted  to  choose  three  men  as  heads  of  classes  to  provide 
materials  for  building.  Benj.  Bartlett,  Roderick  Messenger  and 
Jedediah  Lane  were  chosen." 

These  classes,  as  they  were  termed,  were  a  division  of  the  men 
of  the  town  into  three  companies  or  bodies,  each  to  be  directed 
in  their  labors  by  their  respective  heads. 



In  providing  the  materials  for  this  first  meeting  house,  to 
which  this  refers,  the  men  of  the  town  went  into  the  forest  which 
was  all  around  them  and  cut  the  trees,  hewing  such  as  were  suit- 
able for  the  frame  and  getting  to  the  saw-mill  such  as  were  to  be 
used  for  finishing;  and  this  division  into  classes,  as  they  were 
called,  was  for  more  efficient  and  organized  work. 

It  is  commonly  understood  that  the  place  selected  by  the 
committee  appointed  by  the  County  Court  for  the  location  of  the 
meeting  house  was  the  center  of  the  common  or  green,  and  so  it 
proved  to  be;  but  the  meeting  house  stake  set  by  that  committee 
located  the  common,  around  which  this  little  village  is  built,  for 
in  town  meeting  June  3,  1795,  it  was  "Voted  that  the  town  pro- 
"cure  four  acres  of  land  for  a  green  around  the  meeting  house 
"stake.  Chose  Noah  Chittenden,  Benj.  Bartlett  and  Thos.  D. 
"Rood  a  committee  to  lay  out  the  land  for  a  meeting  house  green. 

"Voted  that  the  three  heads  of  classes  see  to  chopping  and 
"clearing  off  the  land  for  the  public  green  the  present  summer, 
"equally  one-third  each." 

The  fact  that  there  was  no  common  or  green  until  after  the 
setting  of  that  stake  explains  the  difference  of  opinion  as  to  the 
location  of  the  meeting  house,  as  shown  by  the  records  which  I 
have  read.     In  town  meeting  November  18,  1795 — 

"Voted  to  build  a  meeting  house  by  selling  the  pews  at  pub- 
"lic  vendue  at  the  next  adjourned  town  meeting. 

"Voted  to  build  50  X  54  feet. 

"Voted  to  choose  a  committee  to  number  the  pews  and  to 
sell  the  same  at  public  vendue." 

This  meeting  adjourned  to  December  9,  1795,  when  it  was, 
in  the  language  of  the  records, 

"Voted  to  sell  the  pews,  first  bid,  to  be  first  pick,  and  so 
"on  and  to  pick  every  one  his  bid  on  the  plan  now  on  the  spot. 

"Chose  Noah  Chittenden,  Esq.,  Superintendent  to  take  care 
"of  and  oversee  the  building  of  the  meeting  house." 

Forty-three  pews  were  then  bid  off,  the  first  and  highest  bid 
being  by  Noah  Chittenden,  Esq.,  for  £61,  the  last  and  lowest  bid 
being  for  £5,  amounting  in  all  to  £941,  or  (I  suppose)  about 
$4,000 — a  large  sum  at  that  early  day;  nor  was  this  the  whole 
cost  of  the  house. 


The  record  further  says  it  was  "Voted  that  the  Rev.  Eben- 
"ezer  Kingsbury  have  liberty  to  choose  a  pew  for  his  family. 
"He  came  forward  and  chose  the  pew  by  the  pulpit  stairs  and 
"proposed  to  give  toward  the  building  of  the  meeting  house  £45 
"to  be  paid  out  of  his  salary." 

I  have  not  been  able  to  find  a  record  of  the  exact  time  when 
this  first  meeting  house  was  built  and  completed,  but  suppose  it 
must  have  been  done  in  the  years  1796  and  1797,  as  this  sale  of 
the  pews  from  a  plan  of  the  house  and  before  it  was  built,  was 
made  December  9,  1795,  and  it  is  recorded  that  the  annual  town 
meeting  held  March  8,  1798,  was  adjourned  to  the  20th  of  the 
same  March  to  meet  at  2  o'clock  P.  M.  at  the  meeting  house. 
Still  it  may  not  have  been  completed  until  a  year  or  so  later,  as 
a  town  record  made  October  30,  1800,  reads 

"Opened  a  meeting  of  the  proprietors  of  the  meeting  house. 
"Voted  to  sell  the  gallery  pews.  Voted  to  adjourn  to  the  25th 
"of  Dec.  next" — closing  with  an  entry  made  by  the  then  Town 
Clerk,  Thos.  D.  Rood,  as  follows:  "the  remainder  of  the  pro- 
"ceedings  of  the  proprietors  of  the  meeting  house  will  be  found 
"recorded  in  their  clerk's  office." 

This  book  of  proprietors'  records  I  have  not  been  able  to  find 
and  never  saw.  Neither  have  I  been  able  to  learn  that  this  meet- 
ing house  was  ever  formally  dedicated,  as  is  the  modern  practice, 
and  presume  it  never  was,  as  it  was  always  used  both  for  church 
and  town  house,  as  long  as  it  stood. 

This  first  meeting  house  was  built,  both  frame  and  finish,  of 
the  choicest  pine.  The  frame  timbers  were  very  large  and  nu- 
merous, and  the  raising  of  it  was  a  great  event.  Most  of  the 
people  of  the  town  were  there,  and  many  from  adjoining  towns ; 
three  days  were  spent  in  the  raising.  There  was  an  additional 
interest  and  curiosity,  aside  from  that  in  the  building.  There 
were  many  who  did  not  believe  that  a  building,  framed,  much  of 
it,  in  the  woods  where  it  grew,  the  parts  of  which  had  never  been 
tried  together,  could  ever  be  raised,  as  this  was  the  first  or  among 
the  first  frames,  laid  out  and  framed  by  the  square  or  mathemat- 
ical rules  now  in  use — ^the  framing  and  building  up  to  about  that 
time  having  been  done  by  the  old  "cut  and  try,"  or  scribe  rule, 
as  it  was  called.  But  it  was  successfully  raised,  only  one  small 
mistake  being  made. 


The  framing  was  kid  out  by  John  Messenger,  a  son  of  Rod- 
erick Messenger, — ^the  work  of  the  building  being  under  the 
direction  of  Capt.  Abram  Stevens  of  Essex. 

This  meeting  house  was  built  with  a  square  or  four-sided 
roof,  coming  to  a  point  in  the  center,  without  steeple  or  spire  of 
any  kind.  There  were  two  rows  of  windows,  one  above  the  other. 
The  pews  were  square,  with  seats  on  the  four  sides  except  the 
pew  door,  or  entrance,  so  that  the  occupants  sat  facing  each  other, 
forming  a  hollow  square.  The  sides  of  the  pews  were  high,  but 
below  the  top  moulding  and  rail  was  a  row  of  turned  spindles 
about  6  to  8  inches  long;  except  for  the  open  work  framed  by 
these  spindles  the  children,  unless  pretty  well  grown,  were  out  of 
sight  when  seated  in  them. 

There  was  a  row  of  these  pews  around  the  entire  house  next 
the  wall,  except  the  space  for  a  wide  door  in  the  middle  and  for 
the  gallery  stairs  in  each  corner  of  the  south  end,  and  a  space  for 
the  pulpit  opposite  the  door,  in  the  north  end.  The  door  opened 
directly  into  the  audience  room,  there  being  no  vestibule  or  porch. 
There  was  a  wide  center  aisle  running  from  the  door  to  the  pul- 
pit, and  two  side  aisles  turning  to  the  right  and  left  from  the 
front  entrance,  running  around  inside  and  next  to  the  wall  pews 
and  meeting  at  the  center  aisle  in  front  of  the  pulpit,  and  a  double 
row  of  pews  between  the  center  aisle  and  the  side  aisles. 

There  was  a  wide  gallery  on  three  sides  with  a  seat  in  front 
on  the  two  sides,  and  two  seats  across  the  south  end  opposite  the 
pulpit;  and  between  the  aisle,  back  of  these  seats,  and  the  wall 
on  the  three  sides,  was  a  row  of  pews  like  those  below. 

The  pulpit  was  in  the  shape  of  a  mortar,  round,  or  nearly  so 
in  front,  set  up  on  a  post,  the  bottom  as  high  or  higher  than  the 
tops  of  the  pews,  with  not  much  spare  room  except  for  the  min- 
ister. Suspended  directly  over  the  pulpit,  by  a  small  iron  rod, 
was  a  sounding  board,  as  it  was  called,  made  of  thin  boards,  hol- 
low, like  a  huge  bass  viol,  but  round  or  nearly  so,  some  four  or 
five  feet  in  diameter,  the  thickness  in  the  center  being  about  one- 
half  the  diameter,  the  top  and  bottom  being  oval :  this  was  sup- 
posed by  some  principle  or  law  of  acoustics  to  aid  in  making  the 
voice  of  the  speaker  audible  at  a  greater  distance. 

This  meeting  house  was  never  painted  outside  or  inside ;  had 
no  chimney,  or  any  provisions  for  warming.    Almost  every  fam- 


ily  carried  one  or  more  small  foot-stoves,  which  I  presume  all 
present  have  seen,  getting  the  coals  for  warming  them  from  the 
surrounding  houses.  I  fancy  in  these  modern  times  it  would  tax 
a  Talmage  to  draw  a  congregation,  and  hold  them  through  two 
services,  to  a  church  without  furnace  or  fire — especially  on  some 
of  our  coldest  winter  days. 

After  stoves  came  into  use  one  was  put  into  the  center  aisle, 
the  pipe  going  out  through  the  roof.  The  difference  in  the  tem- 
perature which  this  stove  made  was  largely  one  of  imagination. 

An  important  personage  in  those  days  was  the  tithingman. 
A  tithingman,  as  Webster  defines  it,  is  "A  parish  officer  annually 
elected  to  preserve  good  order  in  the  church  during  divine  ser- 
vice, and  to  make  complaint  of  any  disorderly  conduct,  and  en- 
force the  observance  of  the  Sabbath."  They  were  elected  by  the 
town  at  their  annual  meeting,  and  in  these  early  days  discharged 
their  duties  most  faithfully.  The  principal  field  of  their  labors 
during  divine  service  was  in  those  high  backed  pews  in  the  gal- 
lery, where  the  youngsters,  who  were  allowed  to  sit  there,  could 
hide  out  of  sight.  This  officer,  varying  in  number  from  one  to 
four,  continued  to  be  elected  until  1840,  when  the  office  was 

The  last  public  action  of  the  town  that  had  any  reference  to 
this  first  church  building  was  at  a  town  meetiHg  held  Jan.  27,  1836, 
from  the  records  of  which  I  copy  as  follows : 

"Whereas  the  proprietors  of  the  building  heretofore  denomin- 
"ated  the  old  meeting  house  in  Jericho  have  sold  or  transferred 
"their  interest  in  the  same  and  the  said  house  is  about  being 
"taken  down  whereby  the  said  town  will  be  deprived  of  the  usual 
"place  of  holding  town  and  freemen's  meetings,  Therefore  Re- 
"solved,  &c."  The  old  meeting  house  was  taken  down  the  May 
following — May,  1836. 

The  result  of  this  town  meeting  was  that  at  a  meeting  held 
September  5,  1837,  the  town  completed  arrangements  with  the 
proprietors  of  the  new  meeting  house,  whereby  they  secured  the 
right  to  occupy  the  basement  room  of  the  same  for  all  political 
meetings  by  the  payment  of  two  hundred  dollars,  and  which  they 
have  occupied  ever  since. 

After  the  Academy  was  built,  about  1825,  the  lower  floor  of 
which  was  finished  for  meetings  and  public  worship,  the  Baptists 


having  the  first  right  to  the  use  and  occupancy  of  it,  this  Society 
having  the  second  right,  so  that,  from  that  time  until  a  very  re- 
cent period,  this  Society  used  it,  more  or  less,  as  a  vestry  room 
for  weekly  and  evening  meetings,  and  also  for  services  on  the 
Sabbath  for  the  few  months  between  the  taking  down  of  the  old 
meeting  house,  and  the  completion  of  the  new  one.  This  was 
always  known  and  designated  as  the  Conference  room. 

The  first  action  towards  providing  for  the  building  of  the 
new  or  second  meeting  house  was  at  a  meeting  of  citizens  called 
and  held  at  the  Conference  room  November  7,  1833,  at  which 
meeting  preliminary  steps  were  taken  to  form  an  association  for 
that  purpose,  appoint  a  committee  to  draft  a  constitution,  draw 
a  plan,  estimate  the  expense,  &c.  The  committee  appointed 
were  David  T.  Stone,  Nathaniel  Blackman,  Hosea  Spaulding, 
Anson  Field,  Lemuel  Blackman  and  Thomas  D.  Rood.  This 
meeting  was  adjourned  to  November  28,  1833,  at  which  time  the 
following  plan,  substantially,  was  adopted,  viz.:  that  shares  of 
$25  each  be  subscribed  for ;  that  said  house  shall  be  built  of  brick, 
and  shall  be  for  the  use  of  the  First  Congregational  Society  of 
Jericho,  and  shall  not  be  applied  to  any  other  purpose  or  use  ex- 
cept by  the  votes  of  two-thirds  of  all  the  proprietors,  each  share 
of  $25  having  one  vote,  which  mode  of  voting  shall  obtain  in  all 
transactions  relating  to  said  house.  Also,  that,  when  the  house 
was  finished,  the  whole  cost  should  be  apportioned  upon  the  sev- 
eral slips  or  pews  by  a  disinterested  committee,  and  sold  at  public 
auction ;  no  bid  on  any  slip  or  pew  to  be  received  under  the  ap- 
praisal of  the  same;  each  subscriber  being  obliged  to  take  the 
amount  of  his  stock  in  slips  or  pews. 

The  whole  business  of  erecting  and  finishing  said  house  to  be 
managed  by  a  Superintending  Committee  of  three  persons  ap- 
pointed by  the  subscribers  to  the  stock.  Said  committee  not  to 
proceed  to  act  until  $2,500  stock  shall  have  been  sold.  Dr.  Jamin 
Hamilton,  Nathaniel  Blackman  and  Hosea  Spaulding  were 
elect.ed  building  committee. 

The  year  1834  was  spent  in  procuring  subscriptions  for  stock, 
deciding  upon  a  location,  making  the  brick,  and  generally  getting 
ready.  The  building  was  erected  in  1835,  and  finished  in  1836. 
The  whole  cost  of  the  house  was  $4,017.75,  which  was  appor- 
tioned upon  the  slips  by  Wm.  Rhodes  of  Richmond  and  Horace 


L.  N'jchols  of  Burlington,  and  they  were  sold  October  6,  1836. 

The  house  was  finished  at  that  time  except  painting  inside. 
I  copy  the  following  from  the  church  records,  viz.:  "January 
"25,  1837,  at  10  o'clock  A.  M.  the  brick  meeting  house  was  ded- 
"icated  to  Almighty  God  for  his  worship.  Sermon  by  Rev.  Pres. 
"Wheeler  of  Vt.  University."    Signed  E.  W.  Kellogg,  Pastor. 

The  mason  work  on  this  church  building  was  done  by 
Reuben  Rockwood,  he  making  the  brick  for  the  same  in  the  old 
brick  yard  below  the  now  residence  of  George  C.  Bicknell. 

The  wood  work,  both  framing  and  finish,  was  done  by  Jona- 
than Goodhue.  The  whole  of  the  inside  wood  work  was  finished 
in  panel  and  moulding,  and  all,  as  well  as  the  sash  and  doors, 
were  made  by  hand  out  of  seasoned  boards  in  the  rough, — ^the 
planing,  even,  being  done  by  hand.  In  these  days,  when  almost 
everything  is  done  by  machinery,  this  would  seem  a  formidable 

The  change  of  this  second  meeting  house  to  the  present  one 
is  of  so  recent  date  that  I  presume  the  construction  is  generally 
remembered;  but  for  preservation,  a  brief  description,  on  this 
Centennial  occasion,  may-  not  be  amiss,  especially  of  that  part 
which  has  been  removed  or  changed.  It  was  built  of  brick, 
44x64  feet  outside,  with  solid  walls  18  inches  thick  to  the  gal- 
leries and  12  inches  above,  thus  forming  a  shoulder  on  which  one 
end  of  the  gallery  timbers  was  laid.  There  was  no  inside  frame 
or  lath,  the  side  walls  being  plastered  on  the  brick.  The  chim- 
ney was  built  inside  the  rear  wall.  There  were  two  rows  of 
square  windows,  and  a  modest  steeple  for  a  bell;  the  bell  was 
purchased  with  funds  raised  by  subscription  about  the  time  of 
the  completion  of  the  church,  the  cost  of  it  not  being  included 
in  the  sum  apportioned  on  the  slips,  and  was,  I  think,  the  first 
church  bell  in  town.  There  were  two  front  doors  opening  into 
a  lobby ;  at  the  corners  of  this  lobby,  to  the  right  and  left  of  the 
doors,  were  the  stairs  leading  to  the  gallery.  From  the  lobby 
were  two  doors  nearly  opposite  the  front  ones,  opening  into  the 
audience  room;  between  these  was  the  pulpit.  From  each  of 
the  doors  an  aisle  ran  straight  to  the  rear  wall.  The  seats  were 
slips  or  long  seats,  such  as  are  now  in  general  use,  of  which  there 
were  sixty-two— three  in  each  corner  at  the  right  and  left  of  the 
pulpit  set  parallel  with  the  aisles;  a  row  of  fourteen  each  set 


between  the  aisles  and  the  side  walls,  running  back  to  the  rear 
wall,  and  facing  the  pulpit,  and  a  double  row  of  fourteen  each 
between  the  aisles.  There  was  a  gallery  on  the  two  sides  and 
the  end  opposite  the  pulpit,  with  a  double  row  of  seats  around  it. 

The  provision  for  warming  was,  at  first,  two  large  stoves 
set  in  the  front  end  of  the  basement,  enclosed  in  brick — a  sort 
of  hot  air  furnace — ^the  best  known  in  those  days,  but  which 
proved  a  failure.  Afterwards  two  stoves  were  placed  above  in 
the  aisles  near  the  entrance  doors,  but  they  never  proved  a  suc- 
cess in  warming  the  house. 

In  the  month  of  April,  1877,  the  pew  owners  and  members 
of  this  church  and  Society  held  a  meeting  at  which  it  was  de- 
cided to  repair  the  brick  meeting  house,  and  the  result  was 
the  appointing  of  Edgar  H.  Lane,  Edwin  W.  Humphrey,  and 
Martin  V.  Willard  a  committee  to  superintend  and  direct  such 
repairs.  A  subscription  was  circulated  to  raise  funds.  By  a 
provision  of  the  Statute  the  slips,  of  all  non-resident  owners,  and 
of  resident  owners  who  did  not  favor  or  consent  to  the  re- 
pairs, were  appraised  May  29,  1877,  by  Andrew  Warner,  Stephen 
Dow  and  Gordon  Smith,  a  committee  selected  for  that  pur- 
pose, and  the  very  few  who  did  not  relinquish  their  claim  to 
or  pay  for  the  repairs  on  their  seats  were  paid  the  appraisal. 

The  repairing  was  done  between  June,  1877,  and  February 
20,  1878,  at  a  cost  of  $4,900.  The  rededication  of  it  was  Feb- 
ruary 20,  1878;  sermon  by  Rev.  George  B.  Safford,  then  pastor 
of  the  College  Street  Church  in  Burlington,  from  Psalm  73,  v. 

In  making  the  repairs  the  entire  wood  work,  including 
the  doors,  windows  and  window  frames,  between  the  timbers 
overhead  and  the  timbers  under  the  floor,  was  taken  out,  and 
the  belfry,  as  it  was  called,  and  shingles  from  the  roof.  Noth- 
ing of  the  old  church  remained  but  the  lower  floor  timbers,  the 
overhead  timbers  and  roof  and  the  side  walls,  which  were  con- 
siderably torn  out  and  filled  in,  in  changing  the  style  of  the 

After  the  discussions  and  differences  of  opinions  as  to  how 
and  what  should  be  built  within  the  old  walls  left  standing, 
usual  in  such  cases,  a  condition  of  things,  as  we  find  in  pur- 
suing this  history  that  cannot  be  claimed  as  a  modern  discovery, 


the  result  of  the  repairs,  or  rather  rebuilding,  is  before  you. 
The  further  description  of  it  I  leave  for  the  person  who  shall 
write  upon  Church  Edifices  here  in  1991. 

And  now  as  we  bring  before  us  the  beautiful,  convenient 
and  comfortable  church  edifices  of  today  all  over  the  land,  and 
in  imagination  place  them  beside  those  of  a  century  ago,  I 
fancy  the  thought  and  feeling  first  and  uppermost  in  the  minds 
of  all  present  is  the  same — not  one  of  pride  or  boasting  or 
superiority,  but  of  deep,  devout  and  sincere  gratitude  and  thank- 
fulness to  and  veneration  for  those  early  pioneers,  our  ancestors, 
who,  among  their  first  acts,  amid  all  their  privations  established 
the  public  worship  of  God,  which  made  possible  the  churches  of 

As  we  look  around  and  see  on  every  hand,  not  alone  that 
refined  taste  that  leads  us  to  make  beautiful  the  places  of  our 
worship,  but  the  numerous  Christian  Associations  that  throw 
around  the  young,  wherever  they  are,  the  restraint  and  protec- 
tion of  the  Christian  home, — ^the  Sabbath  School,  a  branch  of 
worship  training  and  fitting  the  young  for  more  intelligent  Chris- 
tian manhood  and  womanhood — the  many  and  various  organized 
charitable  efforts  to  reach,  help,  lift  up  and  save  all  of  every 
grade  and  condition  who  need  help,  inspired  by  that  unselfish 
love  taught  by  Him  who  gave  Himself  for  us — all  these,  and 
more,  the  growth  and  fruit  of  that  early  planting  of  the  pub- 
lic worship — (and,  for  want  of  a  better  place,  in  some  convenient 
house  or  barn) — of  Him  who  was  born  in  a  manger,  our  emo- 
tions find  fitting  utterance  in  that  doxology,  more  than  two 
centuries  old — 

"Praise  God,   from  whom  all  blessings  flow, 

Praise  Him,  all  creatures  here  below. 

Praise  Him  above,  ye  heavenly  host. 

Praise  Father,  Son,  and  Holy  Ghost." 

By  Rev.  Austin  Hazen,  of  Richmond. 

Deut.  32 :7.  Remember  the  days  of  old,  consider  the  years 
of  many  generations;  ask  thy  father,  and  he  will  shew  thee; 
thy  elders,  and  they  will  tell  thee. 


We  have  come  from  our  widely  scattered  homes  today  to 
obey  this  passage  of  Holy  Scripture.  As  when  the  weary 
traveler  gains  the  height  of  some  o'erlooking  hill,  he  turns  back 
and  sees  all  the  way  he  has  trod  in  climbing,  so  we  stand  today 
on  an  eminence,  and  look  over  the  way  this  church  has  traveled 
for  one  hundred  years.  We  remember  the  days  of  old,  when 
it  began  its  struggles  'in  the  wilderness.  We  consider  the  years 
of  many  generations,  and  mark  its  labors,  its  trials,  its  growth, 
its  revivals.  We  ask  the  fathers,  and  they  will  shew  us  by  what 
steps  it  advanced.  We  ask  our  elders,  and  they  shall  tell  us 
how  the  vine  of  God's  planting  has  been  blessed  with  His  care; 
what  laborers  the  church  has  had,  what  sons  and  daughters 
she  has  trained  for  service  here,  or  elsewhere — the  records  of 
the  fathers,  the  teaching  of  the  elders,  will  be  found  both  in- 
teresting and  instructive.  Such  a  history  is  full  of  valuable 

The  Town  of  Jericho  was  chartered  in  1763;  in  1774  three 
families  settled  within  its  limits — two  on  Winooski  river,  and 
one  on  Brown's  river.  The  early  settlements  were  broken  up 
by  the  Indians,  and  the  Revolutionary  war.  In  1783  they  began 
again,  and  increased  rapidly.  The  first  Christian  man  to  settle 
in  town  was  Dea.  Azariah  Rood.  He  bought  a  large  tract  of 
land  on  the  western  line  of  the  town,  and  moved  his  family 
here  from  Lanesboro,  Mass.  With  others,  he  had  great  trials 
during  the  war ;  was  driven  of?  by  Indians,  and  lost  his  property. 
He  was  at  the  battle  of  Bennington  as  a  helper,  not  a  soldier, 
and  was  taken  captive.  After  the  war,  in  1783,  he  came  back 
to  Jericho,  and  began  life  again  on  the  frontier. 

He  was  chosen  first  selectman  at  the  first  town  meeting 
in  1786.  In  November  of  the  same  year  he  and  Esq.  Farns- 
worth  were  chosen  a  committee  for  the  purpose  of  providing 
preaching  for  the  ensuing  season.  March  20th,  1788,  the  town 
chose  Dea.  A.  Rood  and  Esq.  James  Farnsworth  a  committee  to 
hire  a  candidate,  and  voted  to  raise  money  to  pay  a  candidate 
for  preaching  two  months. 

We  are  not  told  whether  they  succeeded,  but  September 
28th,  1789,  "a  town  tax  was  granted  to  pay  Rev.  Mr.  Parmelee 
for  preaching  the  past  season,  £6  5s.  10  pence."  This  was  Rev- 
erend Reuben  Parmelee,  a  graduate  of  Yale,  afterward  first 


pastor  of  the  Congregational  church  in  Hinesburgh;  probably 
he  would  have  settled  here  if  the  people  had  been  ready.  The 
first  religious  service  I  find  record  of  was  at  the  house  of  Mr. 
Lewis  Chapin,  2Sth  of  May,  1789,  a  log  house  near  the  corner 
of  the  cemetery.  "At  a  lecture  preached  by  Rev.  Nathan  Per- 
kins of  Hartford,  Conn.,  were  baptized  by  him  Delana  and 
Christiana,  daughters  of  Capt.  Benjamin  Bartlett,  and  Hitty, 
daughter  of  Lewis  Chapin."  Mr.  Perkins  labored  in  many 
places  in  the  State  as  a  missionary  from  the  Connecticut  Mis- 
sionary Society,  and  five  days  before  this  had  assisted  in  form- 
ing the  church  in  Hinesburgh.  It  may  be  he  hoped  to  form 
one  here  also,  but  did  not  find  the  people  prepared. 

March  15th,  1790,  the  town  chose  Dea.  Rood,  Noah  Chit- 
tenden and  Lewis  Chapin  a  committee  to  hire  a  candidate  to 
preach  on  probation,  for  settlement.  They  procured  in  a  short 
time  Ebenezer  Kingsbury,  who  preached  most  of  the  season. 

September  7th,  1790,  the  inhabitants  of  the  town  voted  to 
give  him  a  call  to  settle  in  the  work  of  the  ministry,  and  voted 
two  hundred  pounds  lawful  money  settlement,  including  the  first 
minister's  right  of  land,  and  thirty-five .  pounds  lawful  money 
salary  for  the  first  year,  and  to  rise  with  the  list  until  it  amounted 
to  eighty  pounds,  which  was  to  be  the  stated  salary.  March 
31st,  1791,  the  church  was  formed  by  Rev.  Reuben  Parmelee, 
of  Hinesburgh ;  the  members  were  Azariah  Rood,  Lewis  Chapin, 
Dudley  Stone,  Reuben  Lee,  Lydia  Rood,  Lucy  Lee,  Esther 
Chapin,  Rachel  Stone,  Phebe  Lee.  Where  it  was  formed  is 
not  now  known.  Vermont  was  on  the  4th  of  that  very  month 
admitted  to  tha  Union.  Thomas  Chittenden  was  Governor, 
George  Washington  was  President. 

The  church  in  Hinesburgh,  formed  nearly  two  years  be- 
fore, was  the  only  one  in  all  northern  Vermont,  of  any  kind. 
There  were  then  over  forty  Congregational  churches  in  the  State, 
and  about  thirty-five  Baptist  churches,  mostly  confined  to  the 
southern  counties.  There  was  no  Methodist  church  or  class  in 
the  Vermont  Conference  until  five  years  later,  at  Vershire,  one 
was  organized.  In  what  is  now  comprised  in  the  eight  northern 
counties  there  was  then  no  church  of  any  denomination  except 
the  solitary  one  in  Hinesburgh,  and  that  had  no  meeting  house 
till  many  years  after  this. 


June  22d,  1791,  the  church  voted  to  give  Mr.  Ebenezer 
Kingsbury  a  call  to  settle  with  us  in  the  gospel  ministry.  The 
Council  met  and  ordained  him  the  same  day.  It  was  composed 
of  Rev.  David  ColUns  of  Lanesboro,  Mass.,  whence  Dea.  Rood 
and  others  had  come,  Rev.  John  Barnet  of  Middlebury,  Rev. 
Reuben  Parmelee  of  Hinesburgh,  Rev.  Chauncey  Lee  of  Sunder- 
land, and  lay  delegates.  Mr.  Lee  preached  the  sermon,  Mr. 
Collins  made  the  consecrating  prayer  and  gave  the  charge.  No 
record  shows  where  this  ordination  took  place,  but  I  have  been 
told  it  was  in  Mr.  Messenger's  barn,  on  Winooski  river,  near 
where  Hosea  Wright  now  lives.  November  14th,  1791,  the  town 
"Voted  that  Mr.  Messenger  be  allowed  three  pounds  lawful 
money  for  providing  for  the  Ordaining  Council  last  June." 

There  were  at  this  time  381  people  in  town ;  other  towns  had 
none.  Two  years  later  Congress  estabHshed  nine  post  ofifices  in 
Vermont,  one  of  which  was  at  Burlington.  It  was  no  small  ef- 
fort for  a  new  town,  thus  isolated  and  thinly  settled,  to  settle 
and  support  a  pastor.  April  16th,  1792,  the  town  voted  to 
jneet  in  Lewis  Chapin's  barn  for  worship.  March  4th,  1793, 
voted  to  meet  for  public  worship  at  Elon  Lee's  in  cold  weather, 
and  in  William  Smith's  barn  in  warm  weather,  for  one  year 
from  this  date.  Elon  Lee's  was  where  Oliver  Brown  now  lives, 
and  William  Smith's  barn  was  one  now  owned  by  Gordon  Smith, 
and  not  long  ago  repaired  by  him.  October  2d,  1794,  in  town 
meeting  voted  to  build  a  meeting  house.  They  could  not  agree 
where  to  set  it  until  they  chose  a  committee,  who  were  to  be 
legalized  by  the  County  Court,  who  set  the  stake,  and  it  was 
agreed  to ;  got  a  plan  of  the  house,  and  sold  the  pews  at  vendue 
9th  December,  1795.  It  was  a  large,  square  structure,  of  choice 
pine  lumber,  placed  in  the  center  of  a  common  of  four  acres. 
It  was  one  of  the  first  public  buildings  in  all  the  region;  in  it 
large  congregations  worshipped  for  forty  years.  It  was  cold; 
for  a  long  time  it  had  no  fires  in  it;  when  it  was  proposed  to 
put  in  stoves  one  woman  opposing  said,  "If  their  hearts  were  only 
right  their  bodies  would  be  warm  enough."  Dea.  Rood  was  the 
first  deacon. 

September  11th,  1801,  Thomas  Rood,  son  of  Azariah,  and 
Reuben  Lee  were  chosen  deacons.  May  17th,  1808,  Mr.  Kings^ 
bury  was  dismissed  for  want  of  proper  support.     He  was  born  in 


North  Coventry,  Conn. ;  graduated  at  Yale  in  1783.  He  was  a 
man  of  influence  among  the  ministers  of  the  State  in  those  early 
days.  He  was  chosen  by  the  General  Convention  in  1805  to 
preach  the  annual  sermon  at  the  Commencement  of  Middlebury 
College.  He  built  the  house  where  G.  C.  Bicknell  now  lives,  on 
land  given  by  Mr.  Chapin;  his  lot  from  the  town  was  on  the 
opposite  side  of  the  road,  extending  to  the  road  east. 

The  church  grew  to  over  fifty  members  during  his  ministry — 
the  longest,  with  one  exception,  it  has  ever  had.  His  wife  Mary, 
died  in  1792,  and  was  buried  here.  His  second  wife,  Hannah, 
was  very  useful  in  the  parish.  August  4th,  1810,  he  was  installed 
over  a  Congregational  Church  in  Harford,  Penn.,  and  dismissed 
September  19th,  1827.  He  died  there  March  22d,  1842,  at  a 
good  old  age. 

The  first  Society  for  the  support  of  preaching  was  formed  in 
October,  1808.  December  20th  they  met  at  Moses  Billings'  Inn, 
and  "Voted  to  give  Mr.  Denison  a- call,  and  for  his  encourage- 
ment to  give  him  annually  $400,  to  be  annually  paid  by  January 
1st  in  good  merchantable  grain,  pork,  or  beef  cattle,  to  be  fully 
paid  on  or  before  the  first  of  March,  or  delinquents  to  be  holden 
to  pay  money  without  further  delay." 

February  9th,  1809,  the  church  voted  to  give  Mr.  John 
Denison  a  call  to  settle  with  us  and  take  the  pastoral  charge  of 
the  church;  he  was  ordained  March  1st;  the  Council  met  at  the 
house  of  Lewis  Chapin ;  Rev.  Lemuel  Haynes,  the  colored  pastor 
of  West  Rutland,  was  Moderator,  and  offered  the  consecrating 
prayer;  Rev.  Holland  Weeks  preached;  Rev.  Simeon  Parmelee, 
ordained  at  Westford  the  year  before,  gave  the  right  hand  of 
fellowship.  It  being  not  always  easy  to  raise  the  full  salary  they 
voted  at  one  time  "to  accept  Mr.  Denison's  proposal  to  mission- 
ate  thirteen  weeks  and  deduct  fifty  dollars  from  his  salary." 

Mr.  Denison  was  a  young  man  of  fine  talents  and  earnest 
piety,  and  the  church  grew  during  his  short  ministry;  there  was 
a  wonderful  work  of  grace  in  the  time.  He  died  March  28th, 
1812,  of  consumption:  his  grave  is  in  the  cemetery  here — the 
only  pastor  who  has  died  in  town.  He  was  born  in  Lyme,  Conn., 
May  3d,  1793;  studied  theology  with  Rev.  Holland  Weeks  of 
Pittsford.     He  left  one  son ;  Rev.  John  H.  Denison  of  Williams- 


town,  Mass.,  is  a  grandson.  Mrs.  Denison  afterward  married 
Rev.  E.  H.  Dorman  of  Swanton. 

May  6th,  1812,  Lewis  Chapin  was  chosen  church  clerk :  Mr. 
Kingsbury  kept  the  records  while  he  was  here. 

July  5th,  1814,  a  Council  again  met  at  the  house  of  Lewis 
Chapin,  and  after  due  examination  Rev.  Joseph  Labaree  was  or- 
dained pastor ;  Rev.  Thomas  A.  Merrill  of  Middlebury  preached, 
and  Father  Lyon,  the  sage  of  Grand  Isle,  gave  the  charge.  It 
was  sometimes  hard  to  raise  the  salary,  and  at  one  time  they 
voted  "that  if  there  are  not  $400  annually  raised  for  Mr.  Larabee, 
he  have  leave  to  missionate  a  part  of  the  time  each  year,  not  to 
exceed  eight  weeks  in  one  year."  They  also  organized  a  Society 
for  his  support  "to  be  governed  by  the  majority  in  all  meetings, 
except  in  this  particular,  if  one-fourth  shall  choose  that  Mr.  L. 
be  dismissed,  and  risk  getting  another  minister,  the  majority 
agree  to  comply." 

October  7th,  1818,  a  council  met  to  consider  the  matter,  and 
voted  that  the  pastoral  relation  ought  not  to  be  dissolved.  They 
gave  three  months  to  raise  his  support,  and  adjourned.  "At  the 
end  of  that  time  no  adequate  provision  being  made,  and  it  being 
impossible  that  a  minister  should  abide  with  a  people,  and  be 
useful  unsupported,"  they  advised  his  dismission. 

They  say,  "We  are  distressed  to  leave  this  people  in  such  a 
state  of  melancholy  bereavement ;  we  hope  our  fears  will  be  dis- 
appointed, and  their  sorrow  may  be  turned  into  joy."  Mr.  La- 
baree was  born  in  Charlestown,  N.  H.,  June  Uth,  1783,  grad- 
uated at  Middlebury  1811.  He  was  a  cousin  of  President  Ben- 
jamin Labaree ;  his  wife  was  Huldah,  sister  of  Daniel  and  John 
Lyman.     He  died  in  Ohio  October  18th,  1852. 

August  9th,  1819,  the  Society  gave  Rev.  L.  P.  Blodgett  a 
call,  and  voted  $500  for  his  support,  to  be  paid  in  neat  cattle  in 
October,  or  in  good  merchantable  grain  in  January  following. 
September  19th  he  was  installed.  The  first  three  pastors  began 
their  work  here;  but  Mr.  Blodgett  came  after  a  successful  pas- 
torate of  a  dozen  years  at  Rochester.  The  church  grew  largely 
during  his  ministry,  but  all  did  not  go  smoothly  in  the  parish. 
In  1824  they  debated  whether  to  meet  for  worship  part  of  the 
time  at  the  Corners.     This  made  trouble;  and  division. 


March  29th,  1826,  a  council  was  called  to  consider  matters, 
and  advise  the  church.  They  appointed  a  committee  to  confer, 
and  see  whether  measures  could  be  adopted  to  heal  their  difficul- 
ties. "We  do  hope  that  all  parties  concerned  will,  if  possible, 
lay  aside  all  unprofitable  reflections  on  what  is  past,  and  come 
into  measures  and  so  terminate  this  long  agitated  and  distressful 
transaction."  The  Council  adjourned  to  May  9th,  when  it  came 
together,  and,  finding  the  two  Societies  could  not  agree,  dismissed 
Mr.  Blodgett.     He  then  was  pastor  at  the  Corners. 

Luther  Palmer  Blodgett  was  born  in  Cornwall,  March  19th, 
1783 ;  graduated  at  Middlebury  in  1805 ;  was  ordained  at  Roches- 
ter, Vermont,  April  24th,  1807,  Rev.  Lemuel  Haynes  preaching 
the  sermon.  After  leaving  Jericho  he  preached  in  several  places 
in  New  York;  he  died  January  26th,  1862.  His  wife  was  Mary 
Jefferson,  daughter  of  Joseph  Jefferson,  a  cousin  of  Thomas 
Jefferson,  and  his  secretary  when  Minister  to  France — one  of  the 
party  famous  by  throwing  the  tea  into  Boston  harbor. 

June  16th,  1826,  the  brethren  and  sisters  living  near  the 
Corners  requested  letters  of  their  regular  standing  in  this  church 
to  form  a  church  at  the  Corners.  The  church  objected,  for  sev- 
eral reasons;  some  of  them  were  "Because  we  need  them,  and 
they  are  not  needed  there";  "because  they  can  be  better  accom- 
modated with  Christian  privileges  in  this  church  than  in  the  one 
to  which  they  wish  to  be  dismissed :  there  they  cannot  have  preach- 
ing more  than  half  the  time";  "some  are  nearer  this  church 
than  the  Corners :  they  must  go  much  out  of  the  way  or  remain  at 
home,  or  worship  with  us  half  the  time;  we  cannot  think  that 
these  brethren  ought  to  divest  themselves  of  one-half  of  their 
Christian  privileges";  "their  reasons  are  insufficient;  and  some  of 
them  manifest  improper  feelings  towards  this  church." 

A  large  Council  was  at  length  called,  for  advice.  After  con- 
sideration, they  said,  "A  visit  from  the  Holy  Comforter  would 
soon  remove  those  mountains  which  seem  to  arise  in  your  path, 
and  banish  the  clouds  which  hang  over  you.  It  would  melt  your 
hearts  into  one  mind  and  lead  you  to  the  same  course.  Then  let 
your  prayer  be  unceasing,  and  give  God  no  rest  until  He  come 
and  establish  you  and  build  you  up."  The  church  at  the  Corners 
was  finally  formed  that  year,  and  the  brick  meeting  house  built 


there,  in  which  the  Second  Church  and  the  Baptist  worshipped 
until  1858. 

September  2d,  1882,  Lewis  Chapin,  Jr.,  was  chosen  church 
clerk.  July  10th,  1828,  Rev.  Hervey  Smith  was  installed  pastor. 
He  was  one  of  the  best  of  men,  a  faithful  and  judicious  minister. 
There  are  a  few  persons  living  who  united  with  the  church  while 
he  was  pastor.  His  ministry  was  prosperous,  but  they  could  not 
raise  the  salary,  and  he  was  dismissed  October  22d,  1833.  He 
was  born  in  Granby,  Massachusetts,  January  6th,  1794,  ordained 
in  Weybridge  in  1825.  He  died  in  Sacketts  Harbor,  New  York, 
in  1850. 

In  1834  John  Lyman,  Jr.,  was  chosen  church  clerk ;  he  kept 
the  records  for  about  forty  years.  He  led  the  singing  for  twenty- 
five  years ;  was  absent  in  the  time  only  two  half  days,  from  sick- 
ness in  his  family. 

In  1834  fifteen  members  asked  "leave  to  withdraw,  and 
organize  into  a  church  according  to  the  gospel."  The  church 
declined  to  give  these  letters,  and  were  justified  in  it  by  vote  of 
the  Council,  as  the  following  extract  from  the  records  will  show. 
"The  Council  have  no  confidence  in  the  soundness  of  the  prin- 
ciples, or  the  purity  of  the  motives  of  those  whom  the  petitioners 
wish  to  follow  as  leaders.  They  do  not  come  to  the  church  in 
any  authorized  character;  they  do  not  come  to  the  church  as  a 
friend  comes  to  reform  a  friend,  but  rather  to  pluck  up  and  de- 
stroy. Their  professed  object  is  the  diffusion  of  peace,  but  it  is 
seen  that  everywhere  the  result  of  their  efforts  is  dissension. 
They  strangely  propose  to  promote  the  union  of  different  denom- 
inations of  Christians  by  adding  yet  another  party  with  a  silenced, 
deposed  and  excommunicated  man  at  their  head.  Their  whole 
scheme,  in  the  view  of  the  Council,  is  unscriptural,  chimerical, 
subversive  of  all  gospel  order,  and  fraught  with  innumerable 

The  members  withdrew  and  formed  the  Union  Church, 
without  any  creed  except  the  Bible.  It  did  not  prosper.  The 
church  labored  with  these  brethren  over  two  years;  sent  letters 
of  admonition;  suspended  them;  and  finally  voted  their  excom- 
munication because  they  "departed  from  the  faith  and  order  of 
this  church,  and  united  with  a  church  not  in  fellowship  with 
this."    Most  of  them  afterwards  came  back,  confessing  that  they 


had  done  wrong  in  forming  the  Union  Church,  and  in  having 
unkind  feelings  toward  their  brethren.  The  leader  of  this  re- 
markable movement  was  Rev.  John  Truair.  He  was  ordained 
pastor  of  the  church  in  Cambridge  November  21st,  1810,  and 
dismissed  in  1813.  He  then  settled  over  a  Presbyterian  Church  in 
Sherburne,  New  York.  He  went  to  New  York  city  and  labored 
among  seamen,  and  edited  a  paper.  While  there  he  was  deposed 
from  the  ministry  by  Presbytery.  He  preached  in  Hampshire 
County,  Massachusetts,  and  in  Cambridge,  Jericho,  and  other 
towns,  "known  as  the  head  of  a  new  sect  who  style  themselves 
the  Union  Church."  Some  churches  were  "greatly  convulsed 
and  divided  by  the  efforts  of  John  Truair  and  his  followers."  He 
is  described  as  a  large,  powerful  man,  a  good  singer,  and  impres- 
sive speaker.  Many  followers  were  devotedly  attached  to  him, 
and  enthusiastic  in  his  praise.  He  was  bitter  toward  existing 
churches  and  tried  to  draw  people  from  them,  and  was  regarded 
by  many  as  an  enemy  of  good  order  and  a  herald  of  divisions. 
One  now  venerable  brother  who  worked  with  him  says,  "He  told 
me  I  should  go  to  ruin  if  I  didn't  come  out  of  the  church  and 
join  his;  I  told  him  I  would  run  the  risk."  The  passing  years 
have  witnessed  more  growth  and  usefulness  in  the  brother  who 
stayed  in  the  church  than  in  those  who  left  it. 

Between  1830  and  1840  the  church  numbered  over  two  hun- 
dred members.  January  25th,  1837,  Rev.  Elias  Wells  Kellogg 
was  installed  pastor;  he  had  preached  some  months  previous. 
The  new  brick  meeting  house,  begun  in  1835,  was  dedicated  the 
same  day.  President  Wheeler,  of  Burlington,  preached  the  ser- 
mon. The  year  its  foundations  were  laid  two  men  were  born 
who  were  to  preach  in  it  half  of  its  first  half  century.  Mr.  Kel- 
logg was  dismissed  July  7th,  1840.  He  afterward  preached  in 
Highgate.     He  died  at  Ringwood,  Illinois. 

Rev.  Samuel  Kingsbury,  a  teacher  in  the  Academy,  preached 
for  a  while  in  1840  and  in  1841.  Rev.  Zenas  Bliss  preached  about 
two  years.  He  was  a  man  of  more  than  usual  depth  and  origin- 
ality, of  fine  character,  and  profound  scholarship;  perhaps  his 
preaching  was  sometimes  above  the  mass  of  the  people.  When 
he  preached  six  sermons  upon  one  text  the  thoughtful  feasted — 
the  many  thought  he  was  too  deep. 



Zenas  Bliss  was  bom  in  Randolph,  November  24th,  1808; 
his  mother  was  a  woman  of  marked  character  and  metaphysical 
mind.  We  need  not  wonder  to  find  the  son  a  man  of  uncommon 
powers.  He  graduated  at  the  University  of  Vermont  in  1831; 
studied  two  years  at  Andover ;  was  ordained  at  Sheridan,  N.  Y., 
October  28th,  1835 ;  preached  two  years  at  Quechee ;  after  leav- 
ing Jericho,  one  year  at  Winooski.  In  1844  he  went  to  Alabama 
and  taught  four  years.  In  1848  he  went  to  Richmond  and  preach- 
ed six  years.  The  church  and  parsonage  there  were  built  through 
his  efforts.  He  died  at  Amherst,  Mass.,  December  9th,  1865. 
Rev.  J.  Henry  Bliss  of  New  Hampshire  is  his  son;  a  daughter 
is  teacher  in  the  Huguenot  Seminary  in  South  Africa. 

Simeon  BickneU,  another  teacher  in  the  Academy,  was  the 
next  preacher  for  a  year. 

In  1844  the  church  called  Mr.  Francis  Brown  Wheeler;  he 
was  ordained  pastor  January  23d,  1845;  Rev.  O.  S.  Hoyt  of 
Hinesburgh  preached  the  sermon ;  Rev.  Simeon  Parmelee,  father 
of  Mrs.  Wheeler,  gave  the  charge. 

September  18th,  1846,  Albert  Lee  and  Ezra  Elliot  were 
chosen  deacons.  Mr.  Elliot  was  excused  at  his  request,  but  was 
twice  chosen  afterward,  and  in  1856  he  accepted.  Deacon  Lee 
died  in  1863,  much  lamented ;  he  was  a  man  of  talent  and  piety, 
and  for  some  years  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  School.  Dea. 
Elliot  was  also  a  faithful  and  beloved  officer  of  the  church  until 
his  death  in  1880,  and  left  a  legacy  for  the  support  of  preaching. 

March  31st,  1849,  the  church  celebrated  its  fifty-eighth  an- 
niversary. A  large  choir  rendered  much  of  the  ancient  music 
"in  a  manner  that  elicited  universal  admiration."  An  address 
was  delivered  by  Rev.  George  W.  Ranslow,  and  a  sermon  by  Rev. 
Simeon  Parmelee.  "With  joy  we  recounted  the  mercies  of  God 
to  us  and  our  fathers ;  with  gratitude  we  inscribed  on  our  hearts 
'Hitherto  hath  the  Lord  helped  us';  with  confidence  in  God  we 
looked  into  the  future,  feeling  that  the  same  goodness  which  had 
been  extended  to  us,  and  to  those  who  had  preceded  us,  would  not 
be  wanting  to  our  children  in  coming  time,  if  they  made  the  God 
of  their  fathers  their  God.  The  church  is  God's,  and  He  will 
care  for  it.  We  commend  its  interests  to  His  gracious  care. 
Leave  not  this  people,  neither  forsake  them,  O  God  of  our  sal- 
vation."   The  record  of  the  proceedings  asks  "When  the  year 


1891  shall  come,  if  this  church  is  in  existence  will  not  its  mem- 
bers celebrate  the  one  hundredth  anniversary,  and  set  up  another 
Ebenezer  ?" 

The  young  pastor  won  the  hearts  of  the  people,  and  they 
were  reluctant  to  give  him  up,  but  he  was  dismissed  January  2d, 
1850.  The  Council  gave  the  people  some  wholesome  advice  upon 
liberal  giving,  and  the  support  of  the  ministry,  "in  order  to  pre- 
vent a  like  sad  separation  in  the  future."  They  said  "The  salary 
paid  is  not  enough  to  command  the  best  talent  or  help  to  the  best 
work,  and  God's  blessing  cannot  be  expected." 

The  people  resented  this  advice  of  Council  as  an  imperti- 
nence, and  declared  they  would  not  settle  another  minister  and 
have  a  Council  meddling  with  their  affairs, — and  they  have  kept 
their  word.  Since  that  time  they  have  had  no  Council  and  no 
settled  pastor. 

Mr.  Wheeler  was  bom  at  North  Adams,  Mass.,  September 
9th,  1819;  graduated  at  the  University  of  Vermont  in  1842; 
studied  one  year  at  Andover,  and  afterward  privately.  He  has 
been  pastor  at  Brandon,  Saco,  in  Maine,  and  of  the  First  Presby- 
terian Church  at  Poughkeepsie,  N.  Y.,  where  he  still  continues. 
He  received  the  degree  of  D.  D.  from  his  Alma  Mater  in  1887, 
also  from  Hamilton  College  previously. 

Rev.  George  Butterfield  next  supplied  the  pulpit  one  year. 
In  1853  Rev.  John  W.  Pierce  became  acting  pastor  for  four  years. 
In  this  time  there  was  marked  religious  interest,  and  a  goodly 
number  was  added  to  the  church — among  them  some  of  its  pres- 
ent active  members.  Mr.  Pierce  was  born  in  Sutton,  Mass.,  July 
11th,  1811 ;  graduated  at  Bangor  Seminary  in  1840;  was  ordained 
at  Sutton,  Mass.,  October  20th,  1840.  He  was  a  Home  Mission- 
ary at  the  West  for  a  time,  and  then  gave  up  the  ministry  for 
some  years  on  account  of  ill  health.  In  1851  he  preached  at 
Westminster,  later  at  Highgate  and  St.  Albans  Bay;  also  in 
Maine.     He  died  at  Highgate,  of  consumption,  March  2d,  1872. 

In  1857  and  '8  Rev.  Charles  Scott  was  acting  pastor.  He 
was  earnest,  active  and  successful  in  his  work,  and  the  church 
was  much  quickened:  the  people  were  greatly  attached  to  him, 
and  wished  to  retain  him  longer.  He  was  not  strong,  and  gave 
as  a  reason  for  not  staying,  the  difficulty  of  speaking  in  the  old 
church  and  the  liability  of  taking  cold  in  it  in  winter — a  reason 


all  who  preached  in  the  old  church,  and  some  who  used  to  wor- 
ship there,  can  fully  appreciate.  Nevertheless,  that  house  con- 
tinued to  hurt  ministers  and  keep  away  worshippers  for  many 
years.  Mr.  Scott  was  born  in  Halifax,  Vermont,  and  educated 
at  Hartford  Seminary ;  has  preached  in  many  places  in  Vermont 
and  other  states,  always  with  acceptance  and  usefulness.  He 
now  resides  in  Reading,  Mass. 

After  him  Rev.  Wilson  Barlow  Parmelee,  son  of  Dr.  Simeon, 
preached  six  months;  was  much  liked,  and  wanted  longer.  He 
was  a  native  of  Westford;  graduated  at  the  University  of  Ver- 
mont in  1853,  and  at  Auburn  Seminary.  He  was  settled  over  a 
large  Presbyterian  Church  at  Little  Falls,  N.  Y.,  but  on  account 
of  impaired  health  has  not  preached  all  the  time  for  some  years ; 
he  now  lives  in  Oswego,  New  York. 

In  1860  Rev.  Caleb  Branch  Tracy  became  acting  pastor,  and 
continued  four  years.  He  was  born  in  New  Marlboro,  Mass., 
July  11th,  1799;  graduated  at  Williams  College  in  1826,  and  at 
Andover  Seminary  in  1829;  was  ordained  February  10th,  1830, 
at  Colebrook,  Conn.  In  1837  he  was  settled  in  Boscawen,  New 
Hampshire,  where  he  remained  fourteen  years.  He  supplied  two 
or  three  years  each  at  St.  Johnsbury  Center,  Northfield  and 
Rochester.  In  1866  he  went  to  Bennington,  N.  H.,  where  he 
preached  until  1868,  when  he  went  to  Wilmot  and  labored  there 
nine  years.  He  died  of  pneumonia  at  Potter  Place  in  Andover 
January  14th,  1881. 

After  Mr.  Tracy  left  Rev.  A.  D.  Barber  supplied  the  pulpit 
with  acceptance  for  some  months. 

September  1st,  1864,  Rev.  Austin  Hazen  became  acting  pas- 
tor, and  continued  twenty  years.  The  people  were  in  a  discour- 
aged state;  the  church  was  old  style  and  uncomfortable;  the 
parsonage  out  of  repair — the  parsonage  was  repaired  the  next 
year,  the  church  not  until  fourteen  years  after;  in  1878  it  was 
thoroughly  repaired,  and  made  one  of  the  best  in  the  region.  It 
was  again  dedicated  in  February,  Rev.  George  B.  Saflford  of  Bur- 
lington preaching  the  sermon.  In  1875  and  '6  there  was  a  great 
awakening  in  town ;  the  prayers  of  years  seemed  answered  in  the 
quickening  of  Christians  and  conversion  of  sinners.  Great 
changes  in  the  church  and  congregation  took  place  in  those  years 
— one  generation  passed  away,  and  another  grew  up. 


Austin  Hazen  was  born  in  Hartford,  Vermont,  February 
14th,  1835,  son  of  Rev.  Austin  Hazen,  long  pastor  at  Hartford 
and  Berlin ;  graduated  at  the  University  of  Vermont  in  1855,  and 
at  Andover  Seminary  in  1857.  In  August  of  that  year  he  began 
preaching  in  Norwich;  was  ordained  pastor  there  March  29th, 
1860,  and  dismissed  in  1864.  In  1875  he  began  to  supply  the 
church  at  Richmond,  in  addition  to  his  labors  here,  and  on  leav- 
ing this  field  removed  there.  His  wife,  Mary  Carleton,  died  in 
1880,  and  was  buried  on  the  hill-side  where  sleeps  the  dust  of  so 
many  good  men  and  women.  Mr.  Hazen  afterward  married  Mira 
F.  Elliot  of  Jericho. 

In  1866  Charles  H.  Lyman  was  chosen  deacon;  in  1874  he 
was  dismissed  to  the  church  at  the  Corners.  He  gave  fifty  dollars 
toward  the  organ,  as  a  token  of  his  continued  love  for  the  church 
of  his  youth. 

July  8th,  1876,  Isaac  C.  Stone  and  Milo  Hoyt  Chapin  were 
chosen  deacons ;  they  stiU  hold  the  office. 

After  Mr.  Hazen  left,  the  people  were  very  fortunate  in  ob- 
taining at  once  Rev.  John  Kilbourn  Williams.  He  came  in  the 
full  maturity  of  his  powers,  and  with  a  successful  experience  in 
former  pastorates.  Although  he  lived  at  Underbill  and  was  pas- 
tor also  there,  his  work  was  successful  here.  In  1887  there  was 
a  remarkable  awakening,  and  the  church  received  one  of  its 
largest  accessions  afterwards.  Mr.  Williams  was  born  at  Char- 
lotte February  21st,  1835;  graduated  at  Middlebury  College  in 
1860:  he  was  afterward  tutor  there;  he  spent  two  years  at  Au- 
burn Seminary,  but  graduated  at  Andover  in  1866. 

November  21st,  1866,  he  was  ordained  pastor  at  Bradford; 
in  1872  installed  pastor  at  West  Rutland.  He  removed  from  his 
pastorate  here  to  Peacham  in  1889. 

Mr.  Nathaniel  Kingsbury  labored  earnestly  some  months, 
and  they  gave  him  a  call,  which  he  declined. 

Rev.  Leonard  Baker  Tenney  became  acting  pastor  here  and 
at  Essex  in  the  spring  of  1890.  He  entered  upon  the  work  with 
zeal,  and  fruits  are  already  apparent.  He  was  born  at  Jaffrey, 
New  Hampshire,  September  12th,  1854,  son  of  Rev.  Leonard 
Tenney;  graduated  at  Dartmouth  1875;  studied  at  Hartford, 
Union,  and  Andover;  was  ordained  at  Barre  April  14th,  1882. 


He  has  labored  as  a  Home  Missionary  at  the  West  and  in  Ver- 

This  church  has  had  frequent  changes  in  its  ministry — too 
many  short  pastorates.  There  are  churches  organized  about  the 
same  time  which  have  had  only  a  few  pastors,  while  this  has  had 
twelve  or  fourteen.  Some  of  these  pastors  might  have  been  kept 
longer  by  suitable  effort  on  the  part  of  the  people. 

This  church  has  had  some  remarkable  manifestations  of 
divine  power;  would  that  a  full  history  of  its  revivals  could  be 
written ;  the  recoi-d  of  both  its  earlier  and  later  ones  would  be  to 
the  praise  of  its  glorious  Lord. 

The  influence  of  this  church  has  blessed  the  town,  giving  a 
higher  tone  to  society;  many  souls  have  been  saved  by  its  work 
through  divine  grace;  numbers  saved  here  have  already  joined 
the  church  above;  numbers  have  gone  forth  to  bless  other 

The  fathers  and  mothers  sacrificed,  toiled,  and  prayed  for 
this  church:  so  would  you,  the  sons  and  daughters,  do.  Per- 
petuate its  influence  and  usefulness;  it  would  be  a  crime  against 
man,  a  sin  against  God,  to  let  it  languish  and  die. 

Note. — The  records  of  the  church  in  some  periods  are  very  meagre; 
much  has  been  gathered  from  various  sources.  I  am  much  indebted  to 
Rev.  A.  W.  Wild,  the  painstaking  and  accurate  historian  of  our 

First  Congregational  Church. 

The  preceding  sketches,  so  full  and  satisfactory  as  to  preclude 
the  need  of  farther  research,  bring  the  story  of  the  church  down 
to  1891.  It  remains  for  the  editor  to  supplement  this  with  some 
details  of  the  subsequent  history. 

Rev.  Austin  Hasen,  the  historian  and  the  pastor  for  20  years 
at  Jericho  Center,  began  supplying,  as  he  states,  in  1875  at  Rich- 
mond, removed  to  that  place  in  1884  and  remained  there  till  his 
death  in  1895.  In  May  of  that  year  he  sailed  for  Europe,  but 
died  on  shipboard.  The  Hazens  are  a  remarkable  ministerial 
family.  Mr.  Hazen's  father,  whose  name  was  likewise  Austin, 
had  a  ministerial  service  of  43  years,  all  in  Vermont.  Four  out 
of  five  of  that  father's  sons  entered  the  Christian  ministry,  Allen, 
Austin,  William  S.  and  Azel  W.  Allen  was  a  missionary  in  India 
for  27  years  and  a  pastor  of  New  England  churches  for  a  con- 


siderable  time.  William  had  a  pastorate  of  42  years  at 
Northfield,.  Vt.,  and  Azel  has  preached  47  years  at  Middletown, 
Conn.  Austin,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  had  seven  sons,  of 
whom  four  went  into  the  ministry.  He  was  unassuming,  irenic, 
capable,  practical  and  efficient.  "Few  Vermont  pastors  have  been 
so  thoroughly  respected  and  loved  within  the  range  of  their  ac- 

Pastorates  since  1891. — Rev.  L.  B.  Tenney,  who  is  mentioned 
in  the  foregoing  history  as  here  at  the  time  of  the  centennial,  re- 
mained only  till  July,  1892.  During  his  pastorate  much  attention 
was  given  to  meetings  in  out  districts.  Mr.  Tenney  also  supplied 
at  Essex  Center. 

Rev.  Edwin  Rose  followed  him  for  a  period  of  five  years. 
Out  district  meetings  were  continued,  and,  he  being  particu- 
larly interested  in  temperance,  many  temperance  meetings  were 
held  and  young  people  signed  the  pledge.  Mrs.  Rose  conducted 
meetings  for  young  people.  Miss  Lydia  Hartig,  one  of  the 
state  workers,  assisted  Mr.  Rose  for  two  weeks  in  evangelistic 
meetings,  which  were  well  attended  and  awakened  unusual  in- 
terest but  resulted  in  few  conversions.  Deacons'  meetings,  after- 
ward called  Officers'  meetings,  were  established  for' consultation, 
for  action  upon  minor  church  affairs  and  for  recommendation  to 
the  church  of  action  upon  important  matters.  At  first  the  pastor, 
deacons,  clerk  and  treasurer  with  their  wives,  and  later  in  ad- 
dition to  these  the  Sunday  School  superintendent,  trustees,  presi- 
dents of  the  missionary  societies  with  their  wives  or  husbands, 
were  invited  to  participate,  and  these  gatherings  have  proved  a 
decided  benefit.  The  first  one  was  convened  at  the  parsonage 
and  Mrs.  Rose  served  supper. 

Rev.  Charles  E.  Hayward  commenced  his  labors  here  in  July, 
1897,  and  remained  five  years.  He  was  installed  Oct.  20,  1897. 
Among  material  improvements  are  the  repairing  of  the  interior  of 
the  church  and  the  transfer  of  the  choir  from  the  gallery  to  the 
corner  at  the  left  of  the  pulpit.  A  new  carpet  was  given  by  the 
Ladies'  Aid  Society.  The  church  assumed  the  financial  and 
business  care  of  the  Sunday  School  and  began  devoting  the  greater 
part  of  its  Sunday  offerings  to  current  expenses.  Mr.  Hay- 
ward  took  the  lead  in  forming  a  village  improvement  society. 
There  was  much  agitation  about  the  new  theology,  and  the  tran- 


sition  from  old  views  to  new,  which  the  future  historian  will  not 
hesitate  to  say  is  inevitable  everywhere  at  some  time,  was  attended 
here  by  an  intense  feeling  of  opposition. 

Rev.  Charles  O.  Gill,  who  began  in  Julyi  1902,  had  been  a 
missionary  in  China,  but  was  compelled  to  come  back  on  account 
of  the  health  of  his  wife.  He  was  a  wise  and  earnest  worker,  in 
sympathy  with  new  views,  but  sagacious  in  presenting  them.  The 
salary  was  increased  $100,  but  later  half  of  this  amount  was  taken 
off  and  Mr.  Gill  to  the  dismay  of  many  sought  and  obtained  an- 
other field. 

Rev.  John  W.  Gofifin  came  in  Jan.,  1905.  The  old  parsonage 
needing  many  repairs,  a  movement  was  started  to  build  a  new 
one.  One  acre  of  the  land  was  retained,  the  remainder  with  the 
house  being  sold  for  $600,  and  a  handsome  two-story  house  con- 
taining nine  rooms  with  hallways  and  equipped  with  a  furnace 
and  fire-place,  was  erected  at  an  expense  of  about  $2,650.  A 
very  strenuous  effort  to  raise  the  necessary  funds,  both  from 
within  and  without  the  parish,  met  with  success.  Mr.  Goffin  was 
an  able  preacher.  His  wife  was  an  invalid,  and  on  account  of 
her  increasing  weakness  he  sought  a  pastorate  in  California,  and 
closed  work  here  in  June,  1907. 

Rev.  Samuel  H.  Barnum,  the  writer  of  this  sketch,  Yale,  75, 
Yale  Seminary,  '79,  began  work  Oct.  20,  1907,  coming  from  a 
long  pastorate  in  Cornwall  in  this  state.  During  the  years  fol- 
lowing improvements  have  been  made  upon  the  parsonage  and 
grounds,  and  the  exterior  of  the  church  building  has  been  painted. 
In  1908  an  individual  communion  service  was  presented  to  the 
church  in  memory  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Brown.  At  the  close 
of  1909,  fifty  dollars  was  added  to  the  pastor's  salary.  The  du- 
plex envelope  and  benevolence  pledge  system  was  introduced  with 
success.  A  goodly  number  of  additions  had  brought  the  total 
church  membership  up  to  144  at  the  opening  of  1914,  38  being 
absentees.  But  the  total  was  the  highest  since  1840  or  earlier.  A 
legacy  of  $950  has  been  received  from  Mrs.  Adelia  Bartlett  Davis, 
late  of  Hooksett,  N.  H.,  whose  childhood  was  spent  here ;  also  a 
gift  of  $1,000  from  a  friend  of  the  church.  The  deacons  at  the 
present  time  are  G.  C.  Bicknell  and  F.  A.  Stiles,  and  the  Super- 
intendent of  the  Sunday  School  E.  B.  Jordan,  succeeding  Mrs.  J. 
W.  Hart  who  had  served  six  years. 











Chapter  III. 


(The  following  account  was  read  by  Mrs.  M.  J.  Wilbur  at 
the  annual  meeting  in  1905). 

The  Meeting  House. — Early  in  the  year  1824  a  goodly  num- 
ber of  townsmen  had  become  convinced  that  a  meeting  house  was 
needed  at  "Jericho  four  corners,"  and  accordingly  they  "warned 
a  meeting  to  be  held  at  John  Butler's  dwelling  house  in  Jericho,  on 
the  5th  day  of  May,  1824,  at  6  o'clock  in  the  afternoon,  to  elect 
necessary  officers,  and  transact  any  business  thought  best."  The 
following  business  was  transacted,  to  wit : 

"1.     Chose  George  Howe,  Moderator. 

"2.     Chose  Joseph  Porter,  Society  Clerk. 

"3.     Voted  to  build  a  Meeting  House. 

"4.  Chose  George  Howe,  Peter  Shaw,  and  Gideon  O.  Dixon 
a  committee  to  superintendent  the  building  of  said  Meeting  House, 
to  be  vested  with  discretionary  power  therein." 

On  Dec.  3,  1824,  at  6  o'clock  at  the  schoolhouse,  another 
meeting  was  called  "to  examine  the  claims  against  said  society,  and 
see  if  the  same  shall  be  allowed." 

It  is  interesting  to  see  how  these  sturdy  pioneers  persevered 
and  completed  this,  the  first  church  building  in  this  part  of  the 
town,  in  less  than  two  years  at  a  cost  of  $3,495.90,  and  that,  when 
all  work  was  done  by  hand  and  under  great  disadvantages  and 

In  1834  Dr.  George  Howe,  who  had  permitted  the  society  to 
build  the  meeting  house  on  his  land,  deeded  to  three  trustees. 
Oliver  Lowry,  Luther  Prouty  and  William  A.  Prentiss,  the  house 
and  green  or  common  on  which  it  stood,  in  trust,  to  be  used  for 
religious  purposes. 

In  April,  1847,  money  was  raised  by  subscription  to  purchase 
a  bell  for  the  meeting  house,  and  "for  all  the  materials  which  may 
be  necessary  to  put  the  same  into  good  order  for  service ;  also  for 
repairing  the  belfry  and  roof  of  said  meeting  house,  to  be  paid 
out  of  whatever  moneys  may  be  left  after  purchasing  the  Bell." 
Truman  Galusha,  George  B.  Oakes  and  Milton  Ford  were  ap- 


pointed  a  general  committee  for  purchasing  and  putting  into  place 
said  bell,  and  the  record  on  Dec.  25,  1847,  shows  the  committee's 
bill  of  expenditure  and  the  bell  in  the  belfry  at  a  cost  of  $297.15, 
eight  months'  accomplishment. 

The  Baptist  and  Second  Congregational  Churches  occupied 
the  meeting  house  for  public  worship,  each  on  alternate  Sabbaths 
from  1826  to  1858  when  the  Baptist  Church  built  a  house  of  its 
own  and  abandoned  the  "Old  Brick  Meeting  House."  The  Con- 
gregational Church  continued  its  occupancy  until  1865,  when  by 
reason  of  their  inability  to  maintain  proper  support,  they  voted  to 
suspend  preaching,  and  the  house  was  abandoned.  For  eleven 
years  following  the  property  was  in  litigation,  it  being  claimed  by 
the  original  heirs,  the  Brick  Meeting  House  Society,  and  the 
school  district,  which  in  the  meantime  had  bought  it  and  paid 
$350  to  the  heirs  for  a  schoolhouse. 

The  Supreme  Court  having  decided  it  had  not  reverted  to  the 
original  owners,  but  was  still  owned  by  the  Brick  Meeting  House 
Society,  the  reorganized  Second  Congregational  Church  and  So- 
ciety proceeded  in  1876  to  repair  and  refurnish  the  building.  This 
was  undertaken  under  harsh  threats  and  many  discouragements, 
but  the  building  committee:  L.  M.  Stevens,  H.  M.  Field,  Dr.  E.  P. 
Howe,  Flavel  C.  Williams  and  L.  F.  Wilbur,  moved  forward  with 
steady  purpose,  and  Dec.  19,  1877,  the  old  brick  meeting  house 
was  completed  and  furnished  at  an  expense  of  $3,266.77  and  on 
this  day  was  rededicated.  President  M.  H.  Buckham  preaching 
the  sermon  from  Acts  11 :42,  and  the  dedicatory  prayer  being  of- 
fered by  Rev.  Edwin  Wheelock  of  Cambridge. 

In  1894  the  inside  of  this  house  was  again  thoroughly  re- 
paired at  a  cost  of  $413,  and  again  in  1902  the  walls  and  ceiling 
were  freshly  painted,  and  today  we  gratefully  remember  those 
who  have  gone  before  and  made  this  beautiful  edifice  possible  for 
us  to  occupy  and  enjoy. 

This  church  home  is  closely  connected  with  the  cemetery  in 
the  rear,  and  the  first  body  placed  within  it  was  that  of  Lorenda 
Mead,  wife  of  Ezra  Church,  who  died  Jan.  24, 1826,  a  few  months 
before  the  meeting  house  was  completed.  Here  are  the  remains  of 
most  of  the  builders,  not  only  of  this  house,  but  of  the  sturdy 
principles  of  this  community,  and  those  who  have  partaken  of 
these  benefits  should  ever  hold  them  in  grateful  remembrance. 


and  hold  sacred  those  grounds  and  belongings  until  they  too  shall 
sleep  with  them  and  enter  into  their  reward. 

The  Church. — On  Aug.  31,  1826,  24  members  of  the  Con- 
gregational Church  at  Jericho  Center  took  letters  from  that 
church,  and  were  formed  into  what  has  since  been  known  as  The 
Second  Congregational  Church  of  Jericho,  by  Rev.  Luther  P. 
Blodgett  and  Rev.  George  Freeman.  Articles  of  faith  and  a 
covenant  were  subscribed  to  and  adopted,  and  are  in  a  good  state 
of  preservation  at  this  time.  The  new  church  was  fortunate  in 
having  been  provided  with  the  brick  meeting  house  for  a  place 
to  hold  services,  it  having  been  completed  the  same  year  of  the 
organization.  Members  were  added  from  time  to  time  and  some 
excommunicated  during  the  following  years,  though  the  records 
are  meagre  and  sometimes  entirely  omitted. 

In  1839  a  new  covenant  and  creed  were  adopted  and  again 
in  1848,  at  which  time,  owing  to  previous  laxity  in  church  gov- 
ernment and  other  causes,  as  the  record  says,  "The  only  proper 
course  was  for  those  who  were  willing  to  move  forward  as  a 
.church  to  recovenant  and  start  anew."  Accordingly  the  new  creed 
and  covenant  were  signed  by  twelve  of  the  then  members,  and 
they  were  declared  the  Second  Congregational  Church  of  Jericho. 
During  the  next  three  years  fourteen  more  signed  the  articles  and 
were  re-instated.  A  large  number,  however,  were  unwilling  to 
continue  their  membership. 

In  March,  1858,  thirteen  united  on  confession  and  four  oth- 
ers during  1862-1863.  One  hundred  and  thirty-seven  names  ap- 
pear in  the  records  as  having  been  connected  with  this  church  dur- 
ing the  years  1826-1863,  and  in  1865  owing  to  feebleness  and 
other  reasons  the  church  voted  to  discontinue  services. 

In  the  early  seventies,  several  Congregational  families  having 
come  to  the  village,  it  was  thought  best  to  reorganize  the  church, 
which  was  done  July  10,  1874,  by  fourteen  of  the  original  mem- 
bers accepting  a  new  creed  and  covenant,  and  fourteen  from  other 
churches  with  three  on  confession  of  faith  uniting  together,  mak- 
ing a  membership  of  31.  W.  I.  Byington  was  chosen  first  deacon 
and  Luther  M.  Stevens  second  deacon.  In  August  1899  Deacon 
Stevens  entered  into  rest  and  C.  Van  VUet  was  elected  to  fill  the 
vacancy.  His  removal  opened  the  way  for  the  choice  of  C.  L. 
Field,  and  on  his  removal  C.  E.  Percival  and  Ira  C.  Morse  were 


elected  Jan.  29,  1905,  and  Mrs.  C.  E.  Percival  and  Mrs.  Ira  C. 
Morse  were  elected  deaconesses. 

Supplementary  Notes  by  the  Editor. 

List  of  Ministers  who  have  served  the  Second  Congrega- 
tional Church. 

Luther  P.  Blodgett,  1826-1827.  He  came  from  the  First 
Church.     For  further  particulars  see  history  of  that  church. 

No  report,  1828-1837. 

Elihu  B.  Baxter,  1838-1840,  who  first  entered  the  Methodist 
ministry.  He  considered  himself  specially  called  to  itinerant 

No  report,  1841-1848. 

John  C.  Wilder,  1849-1850,  1852.  He  taught,  preached  17 
years,  mostly  in  Vermont,  and  then  became  a  farmer  in  Charlotte. 
He  died  in  1892  aged  89.  The  church  had  preaching  a  part  of 
the  time  in  the  intervals  between  pastorates,  and  among  the  sup- 
plies were  a  Mr.  Cutler,  Priest  Smith  of  Burlington  in  1835,  and 
President  Pease  of  the  college.  For  several  winters  during  the 
forties  protracted  meetings  were  held  by  Rev.  Mr.  Kellogg  of 
Montpelier,  and  the  building  was  crowded  with  people. 

Samuel  Marsh,  1852-55.     His  last  pastorate. 

Vacant  most  of  the  time,  1856-61. 

Ebenezer  C.  Birge,  1862-64,  who  was  bom  in  Underbill  in 
1810,  and  lived  there  during  his  pastorate  here  and  till  1874.  He 
died  in  Chicago,  111.,  May  28,  1882.  The  church  membership  had 
increased  to  45. 

Vacant,  1865-74.  In  1874,  as  before  stated,  the  church  was 

Prof.  John  E.  Goodrich,  1875. 

Prof.  H.  A.  P.  Torrey,  1876. 

John  D.  Emerson,  1877-82. 

Dana  B.  Bradford,  1882-88.  During  this  pastorate  the  church 
was  not  yoked  with  Underbill.  Mr.  Bradford  was  bom  in  Hills- 
boro,  N.  H.,  Oct.  29,  1817,  and  was  ordained  in  the  Christian 
denomination  in  1838,  but  preached  many  years  as  a  Congrega- 
tionalist.  This  was  his  last  parish,  and  after  the  close  of  his 
work  he  continued  his  residence  here  till  his  death,  Feb.  10,  1890. 


Henry  T.  Barnard,  1888-91.  From  1889  on  this  church  has 
joined  with  Underhill  in  supporting  a  pastor.  Mr.  Barnard  had 
been  a  Free  Will  Baptist,  having  been  ordained  in  1880.  Since 
leaving  his  pastorates  have  been  at  West  Rutland,  Bradford,  Vt., 
West  Stafford  and  Tolland,  Ct.,  and  Mclndoe  Falls,  Vt.  His 
present  address  is  Bradford. 

Clarence  Pike,  1891-95.  Subsequently  preached  at  Mans- 
field, Ct.,  12  years,  and  Ashland,  Mass.,  and  is  now  pastor  at  Roy- 
alston,  Mass. 

Ralph  H.  White,  1895-99,  who  came  from  the  Methodists. 
After  leaving  here  he  attended  Yale  Theological  Seminary,  was 
ordained  at  Cummington,  Mass.,  and  now  preaches  at  Newport, 
N.  H. 

George  M.  Rees,  1900-01.  He  has  been  for  several  years  in 

O.  F.  Thayer,  1901-02.  Here  five  months.  Now  at  Sher- 
man, Cal. 

M.  J.  B.  Fuller,  1902.  During  his  stay  of  six  months  he  was 
ordained.     Now  at  Hanover,  Ct. 

Wilbur  Rand,  1903-06.  Now  at  Westmore.  May  7,  1905 
Oliver  Brown  and  family  presented  the  church  an  individual 
communion  service  in  memory  of  Mrs.  Brown. 

Charles  B.  Atwood,  1906-09.  Since  at  Strafford  and  Cabot 
and  now  at  Guilford.  In  1909  a  vestry  was  built  adjoining  the 
church  at  a  cost  of  about  $1,000. 

Vacant,  1909-10,  supplied  a  part  of  the  time  by  Rev.  E.  J. 

Park  A.  Bradford,  1911,  over  6  months.  He  now  resides  at 
East  Dorset. 

William  Cashmore  Nov.  5,  1911.  Born  in  Scotland,  grad- 
uated at  McGill  University  and  Wesley  Theological  College,  1895, 
also  graduated  at  Collins  Veterinary  Medical  College.  He  was 
ordained  in  1898  and  has  held  Methodist  pastorates  at  Gorham 
and  Gardiner,  Me.,  Port  Henry,  N.Y.,  and  South  Shaftsbury,  Vt. 
In  June,  1914,  he  joined  the  Chittenden  County  Congregational 
Association  and  thereby  became  a  Congregationalist. 

In  1912  a  new  carpet  and  window  shades  were  placed  in  the 
church  and  other  improvements  were  made.  In  Dec,  1913,  the 
new  Congregational  creed  was  adopted  as  the  creed  of  this  church. 


Aug.  23,  1914,  the  church  received  from  the  children  of  the  late 
Deacon  L.  M.  Stevens  and  wife  a  memorial  fund  of  $5,000  to  be 
known  as  the  Stevens  Memorial  Fund.  Funds  received  previous- 
ly are  from  Mary  Emily  Blackman  $100,  from  Mary  A.  Williams 
$500,  from  Abby  G.  Spalding  $500  and  from  Mrs.  Charles  Lyman 
$100.  The  church  membership,  Jan.,  1915,  was  74,  of  whom  28 
were  absent,  and  the  value  of  the  property  was  $5,000.  Mrs.  Wm. 
L.  Roberts  is  Sunday  School  Superintendent. 

Sketches  of  two  former  pastors  are  available. 

Rev.  Samuel  Marsh. 

Mr.  Marsh  was  born  at  Danville  July  3,  1796.  His  mother 
consecrated  him  to  the  ministry,  but  his  father,  though  a  good 
man,  was  unwilling  to  aid  him.  When  19  years  of  age  he  walked 
160  miles  to  Phillips  Academy,  Andover,  Mass.,  in  order  to  at- 
tend that  school.  A  wealthy  uncle  offered  him  $75,000 
if  he  would  study  surveying  and  become  a  rich  man,  but  he  de- 
clined. He  graduated  at  Dartmouth  in  1821,  and  in  1824  at  An- 
dover Theological  Seminary.  After  several  pastorates  he  bought 
a  house  at  Underbill  Flats  in  1851  or  1852,  and  is  recorded  as 
pastor  at  the  Corners  1852-55.  He  died  at  the  home  of  his  daugh- 
ter April  1,  1874.  In  connection  with  his  pastoral  work  he  car- 
ried on  a  colportage  system.  He  combated  Universalism,  and 
was  an  ardent  advocate  of  temperance  and  of  abolitionism.  When 
he  came  to  his  death,  he  said  he  had  heard  of  the  dark  valley  but 
saw  none,  and  was  more  happy  than  tongue  could  tell. 

Rev.  John  D.  Emerson. 

Pastor  here  1877-82,  and  at  Underbill  1876-83.  The  reno- 
vated meeting  house  was  rededicated  Dec,  1877.  Mr.  Emerson 
was  born  in  Candia,  N.  H.,  May  29, 1828,  graduated  at  Dartmouth 
College  and  Andover  Seminary,  and  preached  at  Haverhill,  N.  H., 
and  Biddeford,  Maine,  before  coming  here.  Then  he  went  to 
Kennebunkport,  Me.,  and  afterward  returned  to  Biddeford,  spend- 
ing nearly  all  his  remaining  years  there.  He  died  April  12,  1897. 
A  son,  Rev.  Stephen  G.,  d.  at  Prescott,  Ariz.,  Jan.,  1916.  Mr. 
Emerson  was  Superintendent  of  Schools  in  town,  and  in  this 
work  showed  a  genuine  interest  in  the  scholars,  inspiring  several 
to  gain  a  higher  education.     The  churches  greatly  appreciated  his 


superior  ability  and  paid  an  unusually  large  salary.     He  was  an 
original  thinker  and  inspirational  preacher. 

A  notable  recent  event  occurred  on  Aug.  29,  1915,  when  a 
tablet  was  unveiled  in  memory  of  Dea.  Luther  M.  Stevens,  1812- 
89,  and  his  wife  Mary  Anna  Stevens,  1810-1893.  This  tablet  of 
bronze  was  placed  upon  the  wall  of  the  church  over  against  the 
old  Stevens  pew.  At  the  ceremony  the  church  was  well  filled  and 
the  service  impressive.  The  discourse  was  given  by  Rev.  H.  T. 
Barnard,  who  officiated  at  the  funeral  of  Dea.  Stevens,  twenty- 
six  years  ago  that  day,  and  also  at  the  funeral  of  his  wife  nearly 
four  years  later.  He  said :  "They  were  true  typical  descendants 
of  the  Puritans.  Deacon  Stevens,  dignified,  grave,  manly  in  his 
bearing  towards  his  fellow  men,  yet  humble  and  devout  before 
God,  exemplified  the  characteristics  of  a  good  deacon  laid  down 
by  St.  Paul  to  Timothy.  Mrs.  Stevens,  modest,  retiring,  gentle, 
loving,  friendly  to  all  and  a  friend  to  all,  having  a  right  to  the 
beatitude,  'Blessed  are  the  peacemakers,  for  theirs  is  the  King- 
dom of  heaven.'  With  her  eyes  full  of  laughter  and  her  heart 
as  full  of  goodness  as  a  June  day  is  full  of  sunshine,  like  her  hus- 
band, she  beautifully  rounded  out  the  character  of  the  deacon's 

Chapter  IV. 


In  the  journal  of  the  proceedings  of  the  fifty-second  annual 
convention  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  Church  in  the  diocese  of 
Vermont  held  Sept.  21  and  22,  1842,  the  following  entry  appears : 
"Milton  and  Jericho.  The  Rev.  Samuel  Breck  Bostwick,  mis- 
sionary. At  Jericho,  baptisms  (adults  1,  children  9)  10.  Cate- 
chisms (boys  3,  girls  8)  11.  As  there  is  not  an  organized  parish 
at  either  place,  and  of  course  no  record,  and,  as  the  communion 
has  not  been  administered,  the  number  of  communicants  can  not 
be  reported.  I  have  officiated  in  Jericho  and  Milton  alternately. 
I  have  met  with  as  much  encouragement  as  could  reasonably  be 
expected.     Articles  of  association  for  organizing  a  parish  in  each 


place  have  been  prepared  and  signed ;  and  I  trust  with  the  bless- 
ings of  God  the  church  will  ere  long  be  firmly  established  here 
in  its  purity  and  integrity." 

Monday,  July  10,  1843,  the  Bishop  Right  Rev.  John  Henry 
Hopkins,  D.  D.,  visited  this  church,  preaching  in  the  Congrega- 
tional house  of  worship,  and  confirmed  5  persons.  There  were 
reported  9  families  comprising  18  adults  and  14  children,  and 
the  number  of  communicants  9.  Public  services  once  in  four 
weeks  with  exceptions.  It  was  stated :  "The  congregation  is  still 
quite  small  and  will  probably  continue  so  until  a  church  edifice 
can  be  erected,  of  which,  however,  there  is  no  immediate  pros- 
pect." The  lay  delegate  at  the  convention  that  year  was  Orville 
Shaw.  The  following  year  Mr.  Bostwick  had  left  and  no  report 
was  received. 

In  1845  Arthur  Bostwick  was  serving  as  lay-reader.  The 
services  were  morning  prayer  and  reading  of  a  sermon  on  Sun- 
days, after  which  the  children  were  instructed  in  the  catechism. 
Phineas  Atwater  was  lay-delegate  to  the  convention.  Two  years 
later  the  number  of  families  had  increased  to  11  and  the  com- 
municants to  15.  The  people  met  in  a  private  room  every  Sun- 
day for  lay-reading,  a  melodeon  had  been  purchased  and  over  $50 
raised.  The  enterprise  was  "strong  in  the  zeal  of  a  few  devoted 
Christian  people." 

In  1851  efiForts  to  raise  funds  to  erect  a  church  edifice  were 
reported,  in  1853  a  lot  was  purchased,  in  1854  the  frame  had 
been  put  up  and  the  outside  neatly  finished,  but  the  building  was 
not  reported  as  completed  till  1857.  On  June  18,  1857,  it  was 
consecrated  by  the  bishop.  The  total  cost  was  $2,200,  on  which  a 
debt  of  about  $100  rested.  It  accommodated  about  100  and  seats 
were  free.  The  erection  of  the  edifice  was  due  largely  to  the 
former  labors  of  Rev.  S.  B.  Bostwick  and  his  family  connections. 
Three  years  later  it  was  free  from  debt. 

The  largest  number  of  families  reported  in  any  year  has  been 
20  in  1858,  1876  and  1877 ;  the  greatest  number  of  communicants 
24  in  1857. 

Soon  after  the  consecration  of  the  edifice.  Rev.  W.  C.  Hop- 
kins, son  of  the  bishop,  officiated  as  rector  semi-monthly  for  six 
months.  He  was  followed  by  Rev.  J.  Isham  Bliss,  who  held  two 
services  every  other  Sunday  from  Sept.,  1858,  for  three  or  four 





years,  and  in  1863  renewed  his.  ministrations  for  awhile.  In  1868 
Rev.  Josiah  Swett,  D.  D.  was  officiating  a  part  of  the  time,  and 
on  other  Sundays  lay-reading  called  the  people  together.  In 
1869  four  hundred  dollars  was  paid  toward  the  rector's  salary. 
From  1876  to  1901  Rev.  Gemont  Graves,  who  resided  in  Burling- 
ton, served  as  missionary  to  a  circuit  of  churches,  which  at  first 
included  Cambridge,  Essex  Junction,  Winooski  and  Shelburne 
as  well  as  Jericho.  The  number  of  Sundays  upon  which  services 
have  been  held  has  varied  from  one  to  three  a  month,  but  some- 
times in  the  summer  when  visitors  were  staying  at  the  hotel  they 
may  have  taken  place  every  Sunday.  The  prosperity  of  the  church 
was  quite  dependent  upon  summer  visitors,  and,  when  the  hotel 
was  burned  in  1891,  that  source  of  aid  departed.  Since  then  ser- 
vices have  not  been  frequent.  No  one  is  reported  in  charge  of 
the  church  since  1901. 

In  1860  a  complete  communion  service  was  presented  by 
ladies  of  St.  James'  Church,  Fort  Edward,  N.  Y.;  in  1882  St. 
Paul's  Church,  Burlington,  gave  a  lectern  and  two  prayer  desks, 
and  later  prayer  books  and  other  gifts  came  from  the  same  source. 
In  1877  a  small  organ  was  procured  and  funds  were  raised  for 
painting  the  church  which  was  done  again  in  1889.  Repairs  have 
been  made  at  various  times,  and  in  1889  a  memorial  window  for 
Mrs.  Dr.  Winslow  of  Staten  Island,  a  liberal  donor,  was  placed. 

The  following  names  of  officers  appear  upon  the  diocesan 
records :  Rufus  Brown,  William  Thorpe,  S.  B.  Bliss,  C.  R.  Brown, 
Mrs.  G.  B.  Bliss,  Mrs.  S.  F.  B.  Wells,  Ira  Hawley,  L.  C.  Stevens. 

Chapter  V. 


The  church  building  of  this  organization  being  located  within 
the  town  of  Jericho,  the  history  of  the  church  properly  belongs 
to  this  volume.  The  land  on  which  the  edifice  stands  was  deeded 
by  Luther  Brown  of  Jericho,  to  Franklin  Woodworth  of  Under- 
bill, Reuben  Lee,  Albert  Gleason  and  Hiram  Day  of  Jericho, 
Stewards  of  the  Essex  Circuit  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 


Feb.  14,  1856.  The  land  comprised  about  one-fourth  of  an  acre, 
and  the  consideration  was  $100. 

The  records  of  the  first  quarterly  conference  for  Underbill 
Circuit  held  at  Underbill  July  10, 1858,  Rev.  J.  C.  Wells,  Presiding 
Elder,  having  charge,  report  the  following  officers:  Rev.  Ben- 
jamin Cox,  Circuit  Preacher;  Rev.  J.  S.  Rowland,  Local 
Preacher;  A.  S.  Mears,  Exhorter;  Luther  Brown,  John  Story, 
William  H.  Whitcomb,  O.  G.  Gleason,  John  Lee,  James  Bent, 
J.  H.  Fairchild,  E.  Hatch,  Leaders;  S.  M.  Mead,  Hiram  Day, 
Reuben  Lee,  Nathaniel  Haniford,  Hiram  Martin,  Stewards.  To 
this  number  J.  C.  Goodhue  was  added  as  Steward.  A  Negotiating 
Committee  on  parsonage  property  was '  appointed.  At  the  next 
meeting  the  Stewards  were  directed  to  collect  $29  due  on  parson- 
age furniture,  and  this  was  apportioned  as  follows:  The  Flats 
$12,  Center  $6,  Bolton  and  Lee  River  $8,  Jericho  Center  $3. 

In  1859  the  preacher's  salary  was  apportioned  in  the  follow- 
ing way:  The  Flats  $225,  Center  $100,  Jericho  Corners  $60,  Lee 
River  $39,  Bolton  $40.  Total  $464.  Later  in  the  year  this  was 
revised  and  increased  so  as  to  stand:  The  Flats  $230;  Jericho 
Corners  $150,  Underbill  Center  $75,  North  Underbill  $60,  Bolton 
$50,  Lee  River  $35.    Total  $600. 

A  part  of  the  time  in  these  early  years  two  preachers  were 
employed,  the  names  of  William  A.  Hyde,  B.  F.  Livingston,  G.  A. 
Silverstein  and  N.  M.  Learned  appearing  successively  as  second 
preachers,  while  J.  S.  Howland  acted  as  local  preacher  for  a  num- 
ber of  years.  The  roll  of  preachers  in  charge  from  1858  to  the 
present  time  is  here  given  with  the  date  of  beginning  wor^ : 

Benjamin  Cox,  1858.     Born,  1817  at  Monkton. 

A.  H.  Honsinger,  1859.  Died  at  Troy,  N.  Y.,  1899  aged  78. 
An  enthusiastic  and  well  beloved  preacher. 

Albert  B.  Truax,  1861.  Died  1897,  aged  62.  Presiding 
elder  six  years.  Of  rare  social  qualities.  Preached  the  last  Sab- 
bath of  his  life. 

Elisha  B.  Hafif,  1863. 

C.  F.  Garvin,  1865. 

D.  Austin,  1867. 
John  Lawrence,  1868. 
J.  E.  Kimball,  1869. 

Methodist   Episcopal   Church,    Jekicho   Village. 

Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  Riveeside,  Vt. 


A.  S.  Cooper,  1869.  Died  1884,  aged  76.  Had  frequent  re- 

James  H.  Hale,  1870.  Died  1880.  Though  an  asthmatic, 
he  was  invariably  able  to  preach  on  the  Sabbath. 

S.  Chartier,  1871. 

J.  Halpenny,  1872. 

D.  P.  Bragg,  1874. 

Seymour  C.  Vail,  1877.  Born  1844.  Address,  Corinth, 
N.  Y. 

Joseph  W.  Guernsey,  1880.    Died  1894,  aged  73. 

C.  E.  Scott,  1883.     To  South  America  as  missionary. 
A.  B.  Riggs,  1885. 

Lucien  E.  Taylor,  1888.  . 
Charles  M.  Stebbins,  1891. 
H.  F.  Reynolds,  1893. 

Sidney  S.  Brigham,  1895.  Born  1836.  Address,  Fairfax. 
Was  a  captain  in  Civil  War. 

D.  C.  Thatcher,  1898. 

Caleb  P.  Taplin,  1900.  Died  at  Montpelier  1908,  aged  75. 
44  years  in  ministry.     Died  in  the  harness. 

O.  L.  Barnard,  1903. 

A.  H.  Sturges,  1908. 

In  1862  it  was  voted  that  Essex  be  united  with  the  Underbill 
Circuit.  Jericho  Comers  was  included  here  from  the  beginning 
of  the  organization  there  till  1871  apparently,  and  then  was  joined 
with  the  Essex  Circuit,  which  was  then  by  itself,  and  this  con- 
tinued till  1896.  From  that  time  onward  it  has  been  in  the  Un- 
derbill and  Jericho  charge. 

At  one  time  in  1869  it  was  voted  to  distribute  the  labor  of 
the  pastor  as  follows :  at  West  Bolton  once  in  two  weeks  in  the 
morning,  Jericho  Corners  once  in  two  weeks  in  the  afternoon  and 
evening  (or  five  o'clock),  the  Flats  once  in  two  weeks  in  the 
afternoon,  the  Center  once  in  four  weeks  in  the  morning.  North 
Underbill,  Jericho  Center  and  prayer  meeting  at  the  Flats  the  re- 
maining time. 

In  regard  to  the  spiritual  interests  of  the  church  there  have 
been  ups  and  downs,  but  often  a  hopeful,  courageous  attitude.  In 
1867  it  was  said  that  at  one  preaching  station  the  numbers  had 
more  than  doubled  and  the  religious  interest  had  increased.     In 


1885  the  Sunday  School  at  the  Flats  was  increasing  in  number 
and  there  was  an  excellent  interest  in  class  meetings. with  30  to 
50  in  attendance.  The  following  year  a  revival  interest  had 
spread  all  through  the  charge.  At  Underbill  Center  prayer  meet- 
ing attendance  had  risen  from  6  or  8  to  30  or  40.  During  the 
three  years,  1885-'87,  when  Rev.  A.  B.  Riggs  was  the  preacher  in 
charge,  over  50  were  added  to  the  church  on  probation.  Two 
famihes  were  engaged  in  Bishop  Taylor's  South  American  mis- 
sion, and  Rev.  C.  E.  Scott  had  been  released  from  his  pastorate 
here  to  enter  into  that  work.  The  report  of  the  Presiding  Elder 
said  of  this  period:  "Underhill  has  attained  an  altitude  spirit- 
ually which  repudiates  its.  name.  Three  years  of  labor  scarcely 
paralleled  in  our  midst  for  earnestness  have  been  expended  here, 
and  numbers  have  been  converted.  Many  have  entered  the  rest 
of  faith  and  arduous  labor,  a  debt  of  $300  on  the  parsonage  has 
been  provided  for,  and  all  the  interests  of  the  church  are  well  in 
hand."  In  regard  to  this  debt  raising  the  Presiding  Elder  preached 
a  rousing  sermon  on  bringing  all  the  tithes  into  the  storehouse, 
and  the  full  amount  was  pledged  on  the  spot.  Again  in  1893  there 
was  a  revival  period,  the  pastor  being  C.  M.  Stebbins.  Mr.  Steb- 
bins  called  to  his  aid  two  consecrated  young  women,  and  during 
the  meetings  about  160  professed  saving  faith  in  Christ.  He  was 
able  to  report  72  probationers  and  106  full  members.  At  an  ear- 
lier time,  1862,  the  membership  was  much  larger,  11  probationers 
and  190  full  members,  but  Jericho  Corners  was  then  included  in 
the  charge  and  probably  was  in  a  flourishing  state.  In  1894  there 
were  reported  175  to  180  families  that  favor  the  Methodist 
Church  in  this  charge  residing  in  Underhill,  Bolton,  Jericho, 
Westford  and  Cambridge.  At  that  time  the  average  attendance 
at  preaching  service,  aside  from  special  days  like  Children's  Day 
when  it  was  200  and  G.  A.  R.  Day  when  it  was  350,  was  90  to 
97  at  the  Flats,  and  at  the  Center  35  while  on  Children's,  Day  it 
was  120.  At  another  time  the  pastor,  who  was  in  poor  health, 
was  greatly  worried  over  conditions  and  complained  of  the  ab- 
sence of  some  of  the  stewards  from  his  meetings. 

Repairs  were  made  upon  the  property  at  various  times.  In 
1889  forty  to  fifty  dollars  was  laid  out  in  repairs  on  the  parson- 
age, and  in  1894,  $350  in  repairing  the  church  at  the  Center. 
Aug.  11,  1906,  the  meeting  house  at  the  Flats  was  burned.    The 


insurance  was  $1400.  Rev.  O.  L.  Barnard,  the  pastor,  was  ap- 
pointed a  committee  to  solicit  funds  for  a  new  church  and  served 
also  as  chairman  and  treasurer  of  the  Building  Committee.  His 
accounts  were  audited  and  found  correct.  The  cost  of  the  new 
building,  furnishings,  sheds,  etc.,  was  about  $2,750,  there  being  an 
indebtedness  of  $273,  April  1,  1907.  In  1912  a  gift  of  $1,000 
was  received  from  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick,  the  interest  to  be  used  for 
preaching.  The  salaries  of  preachers  have  ranged  from  $400  to 
$600,  the  use  of  the  parsonage  recijoned  at  $100  being  additional. 
At  the  present  time  the  value  of  the  church  at  the  Flats  is  esti- 
mated as  $3,000  and  that  of  the  parsonage  $1,500.  The  member- 
ship of  the  churches  of  the  charge  is,  Probationers  5,  Full  Mem- 
bers 106.  The  benevolences  reported  in  1913  were  $115.  Rev. 
A.  H.  Sturges,  the  present  pastor,  was  born  in  Fairfield,  April  7, 
1864,  and  entered  the  ministry  in  1901.  His  first  charge  was 
Binghamville,  from  which  he  came  to  Underbill.  Here  he  has 
proved  so  acceptable  a  pastor  that  he  has  been  retained  for  his 
eighth  year,  the  longest  pastorate  on  record  here. 

Chapter  VI. 

The  history  of  this  church  is  bound  up  with  those  at  Under- 
bill and  Essex,  it  having  been  a  part  of  the  Underbill  charge  from 
its  beginning  to  1871.  From  that  time,  though  not  continuously,  till 
1896  it  belonged  to  th?  Essex  circuit,  but  then  returned  to  its  con- 
nection with  Underbill,  the  charge  being  called  that  of  Underbill 
and  Jericho.     This  arrangement  continues  to  the  present  day. 

In  1858,  there  being  a  goodly  number  of  Methodists  in  town, 
a  movement  was  started  by  Addison  Ford  and  others  to  obtain 
subscriptions  to  build  a  Methodist  meeting  house.  These  sub- 
scriptions were  to  be  paid  to  the  Prudential  Committee  of  the 
Jericho  Corner  Meeting  House  Society,  which  committee  was  to 
be  appointed  on  the  second  Tuesday  of  March,  1858.  One 
thousand  two  hundred  and  eighty-five  dollars  subscribed  in 
amounts  running  from  $5  to  $115,  a  part  of  it  being  payable  in 


work.  The  subscribers  were  to  have  the  value  of  their  payments 
in  pews.  The  Baptist  building  project  being  on  foot  at  the  same 
time,  there  was  some  rivalry  between  the  two  organizations. 

The  Hst  of  pastors  is  the  same  as  given  for  Underbill  down 
to  1871,  when  it  was  resolved  by  this  part  of  the  charge  not  to 
accept  the  supply  sent  by  the  Presiding  Elder.  That  year  and  the 
following  it  was  supplied  by  C.  H.  Dunton,  afterward  principal 
of  Troy  Conference  Academy  at  Poultney.  At  some  time  Prof. 
Petty  of  the  University  supplied  acceptably  union  meetings  held 
by  this  church  and  the  Congregational,  and  it  was  probably  in 
1873.  In  1874  O.  S.  Basford  was  the  preacher.  From  1875  to 
1896  with  the  exception  of  one  or  two  years  Essex  and  Jericho 
constituted  a  charge  and  employed  the  same  minister.  The  list 
for  this  period  is  as  follows : 

Sylvester  Donaldson,  1875.  Died  in  1912,  aged  74.  Vigor- 
ous and  zealous,  a  preacher  for  half  a  century.  In  his  last  years 
he  daily  read  the  Scriptures  in  Hebrew  and  Greek.  Presiding 
Elder  six  years. 

Austin  Scribner,  1876.     Died  at  Lyndon  1895,  aged  59. 

O.  S.  Basford,  1879. 

Joseph  W.  Guernsey,  1881.  Died  at  Rutland  1894,  aged  73. 
Presiding  Elder  '71-'74.  Last  eleven  years  of  his  life  Chaplain 
of  the  House  of  Correction. 

Sylvester  Donaldson,  1882. 

Nathan  W.  Wilder,  1883.  Born  1835.  Address,  Water- 
town,  Ct. 

Clark  Wedgeworth,  1886.     Died  1904  at  Swanton,  aged  66. 

Martin  P.  Bell,  1888.  Died  1891  at  Craftsbury,  aged  58. 
Positive  in  convictions.  "Every  sermon  a  gospel  temperance 

Church  Tabor,  1889.  Died  1896,  aged  60.  Converted  at 
the  same  time  as  S.  Donaldson,  who  afterward  married  his  sis- 
ter. Presiding  Elder  78-'82.  The  people  of  his  last  charge  be- 
lieved they  never  were  served  so  well. 

Albert  B.  Blake,  1892.     Born  1842.    Address,  Barton. 

No  appointment  1895,  but  S.  S.  Brigham  who  began  this  year 
at  Underbill  is  recorded  as  supplying  both  churches  in  1896. 
From  this  time  they  again  constitute  one  charge,  and  for  subse- 
quent pastors  see  Underbill  Methodist  Church. 


Few  particulars  have  been  found  specifically  relating  to  the 
Jericho  Church.  At  one  time  it  was  said  that  Essex  and  Jericho 
are  good  fields  for  remunerative  labor  and  that  earnest  work  had 
been  done,  at  another  time  that  these  churches  were  loyal  to  the 
doctrine  and  economy  of  Methodism. 

December  23,  1867,  a  meeting  of  the  society  convened  and 
appointed  a  committee  consisting  of  Charles  Hilton,  C.  K.  Butler 
and  A.  M.  Ford,  to  draft  a  new  constitution  and  by-laws, 
the  original  records  having  been  destroyed  by  fire.  The  new  con- 
stitution reported  was  adopted,  and  it  was  also  voted  to  sell  the 
parsonage  property  and  pay  the  proceeds  to  the  treasurer.  Nov. 
16,  1877,  it  was  voted  to  build  a  new  chimney  and  make  other 
necessary  repairs.  Jan.  27,  1880,  it  was  voted  to  repair  the  in- 
side of  the  meeting  house  during  the  coming  season,  and  the  next 
year  it  was  voted  to  repair  the  house  to  make  it  comfortable.  In 
1893  $60  was  spent  in  repairs.  Oct.  4,  1898,  it  was  "voted  by  a 
unanimous  vote  to  deed  and  convey  the  Methodist  Episcopal  meet- 
ing house  and  grounds  for  the  consideration  of  one  dollar  to  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church  in  trust  for  the  use  and  benefit  of 
the  ministry  and  membership  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
pursuant  to  article  second  of  the  warning."  The  Prudential  Com- 
mittee, Homer  Rawson,  A.  D.  Cochran  and  John  Schillhammer 
were  authorized  and  directed  to  deed  the  property.  This  deed 
has  never  been  recorded.  The  value  of  the  edifice  is  estimated  at 

The  interests  of  this  church  have  been  so  identified  with 
those  of  Underbill  that  its  history  is  largely  included  therein. 

Chapter  VII. 


Hemenway's  Gazetteer  states  that  Universalists  were  among 
the  first  settlers,  represented  by  such  names  as  Thompson,  Gloyd 
and  Dow,  and  that  there  was  preaching  of  their  doctrine  at  an 
early  time.  Some  of  their  services  were  held  in  the  Academy 
building.     On  Feb.  18,  1843,  a  constitution  was  drawn  up  for  a 


Universalist  Society,  whose  subscribers  declared  themselves  as 
believers  in  the  universal  love  and  impartial  grace  of  God.  The 
condition  of  membership  was  thus  stated:  "Any  person  who 
is  of  a  good  moral  character  may  become  a  member  of  this  so- 
ciety, and  shall  sign  the  constitution  when  admitted  to  member- 
ship by  the  society  in  such  manner  as  they  shall  establish  by 
vote."  Rev.  Thomas  Browning  is  said  in  Child's  Gazetteer  to 
have  organized  the  society  with  31  members.  The  constitution 
has  been  signed  at  various  times  by  78  males  and  41  females,  119 
in  all.  At  the  time  of  organization  Lyman  Stimpson  was  chosen 
Pres.,  J.  G.  Goodhue,  Vice-Pres.,  J.  K.  Hunt,  Sec'y  and  Treas. 
Orley  Thompson,  Galusha  Day  and  Edwin  K.  Blodgett,  Com- 

The  following  year  a  committee  was  appointed  to  obtain 
funds  by  subscription  to  erect  a  meeting  house,  and  another  com- 
mittee was  elected  to  ascertain  the  most  expedient  way  and  most 
convenient  construction  and  size  for  building  the  house.  Sept. 
6,  1845,  it  was  resolved  to  commence  the  building  as  early  as 
possible  in  the  spring  of  1846,  and  a  building  committee  was 
chosen  consisting  of  Orley  Thompson,  J.  G.  Goodhue  and  M. 
Shaw.  The  house  was  dedicated  Aug.  31,  1847,  Rev.  Eli  Bal- 
lon, editor  of  the  Universalist  Watchman,  preaching  the  sermon. 
In  1848  an  effort  was  made  to  raise  money  to  pay  for  land  ad- 
ditional to  the  original  purchase  on  which  the  meeting  house 
stood.  In  1857  a  committee  was  chosen  to  build  sheds.  The 
records  contain  the  names  of  those  elected  to  the  office  of  the 
society  each  year,  and  the  names  of  delegates  to  the  Champlain 
Association  and  the  State  Convention,  but  do  not  give  any  re- 
ports of  things  done.  The  writer  would  gladly  give  fuller  de- 
tails, but  fhe  data  are  meager.  Inquiry  of  former  attendants 
reveals  a  few  facts. 

It  became  the  practice  to  have  preaching  services  once  in 
two  weeks,  both  forenoon  and  afternoon,  the  preacher  officiating 
alternate  Sabbaths  at  Essex  or  Williston  or  some  other  place. 
It  is  believed  that  but  two  or  three  of  the  ministers  lived  in  town. 
The  attendants  were  widely  scattered,  but  in  the  prosperous  days 
of  the  church  large  family  loads  would  come  from  several  miles 
away.  As  was  common  in  those  days,  much  stress  was  laid  upon 
the  special  tenets  of  the  denomination.    A  unique  feature  was 

Univeesalist  Cbubch,  Jericho  CENTEat. 


the  illuminations  of  the  meeting  house  at  Christmas  time,  when 
it  was  trimmed  with  evergreenSj  and  boards  holding  candles 
were  placed  along  every  other  tier  of  panes  of  the  long  high  win- 
dows. The  choir  would  sing,  and  responses  were  made  by  some 
one  chosen  for  the  purpose,  and  presents  were  given  to  the  mem- 
bers of  the  Sunday  School.  One  of  these  illuminations  in  1869 
is  particularly  remembered. 

Rev.  Silas  Wakefield  prepared  an  elaborate  celebration  one 
winter,  for  which  many  and  careful  rehearsals  were  held.  There 
was  speaking  and  singing  by  the  children,  dialogues  and  instru- 
mental music,  and  upon  a  platform  over  the  pulpit  little  girls 
dressed  in  white  appeared  as  angels.  Lyman  Stimson  was  for 
many  years  the  choir  leader  and  Hoyt  Chambers  superintendent 
of  the  Sunday  School. 

The  following  is  believed  to  be  very  nearly  the  order  in 
which  the  regular  ministers  served : 

Silas  Wakefield,  1847-48. 

Thomas  Browning  of  Richmond,  Nov.,  1848.  Born  in  Rut- 
land, Mass.,  March  21,  1787,  the  eldest  of  thirteen  children.  In 
eairly  life  a  Methodist.  Ordained  when  forty  years  of  age. 
Preached  at  Waterbury,  then  at  Richmond,  1834-46.  Said  to  be 
founder  of  the  Universalist  Church  here.  Represented  Rich- 
mond in  Legislature.  Married  Persis  Ross.  Ten  children.  Died 
in  Richmond,  March  12,  1875. 

P.  Hersey,  1849. 

Alson  Scott,  1850-56.  Born  at  Halifax,.  Vt.,  April  11,  1816. 
In  the  spring  of  .1850  moved  to  Jericho,  preaching  also  at  other 
places  and  teaching  school  in  District  No.  4. 

S.  C.  Eaton,  1856-57.  Came  from  Glover  Saturdays  for 
about  a  year. 

Lester  Warren,  who  drove  from  Montpelier  Saturdays. 

Silas  Wakefield,  1860  and  '61,  who  lived  where  H.  H.  Wilder 
does  now. 

Joseph  Sargent,  who  lived  in  Williston,  and  become  chaplain 
of  the  13th  Regiment  of  Vt.,  and  died  of  typhoid  fever  in  Va. 
April  20,  1863,  aged  about  45.  He  was  probably  not  a  regular 
preacher  here. 

C.  C.  Thornton,  1865.     Lived  in  Essex. 

Hervey  Elkins.     Lived  in  Williston. 


Lester  Warren,  1867-69.    A. second  time. 

The  Champlain  Association  met  with  this  church  in  Octo- 
ber, 1847,  for  a  two-day  conference,  and  it  is  noted  that  seven 
discourses  were  preached. 

After  1870  or  1871  no  regular  services  were  held.  In  1904  the 
property  was  deeded  to  the  Universalist  Convention  of  Vermont 
and  Province  of  Quebec.  Later  it  was  sold  to  T.  L.  Bostwick 
for  a  novelty  shop,  then  passed  into  the  hands  of  E.  H.  Smith, 
who  carried  on  the  same  business,  and  afterward  was  bought  by 
the  Ladies'  Aid  Society  of  the  Congregational  Church,  who 
plan  to  make  it  a  suitable  village  hall. 




Chapter  I. 


natives  of  jericho  who  have  entered  the  ministry. 

By  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum. 

For  convenience  of  reference  these  are  named  in  alphabetical 
order.     Possibly  there  are  others. 

*Almon  Benson.  Congregational;  b.  June  3,  1810;  son  of 
Ebenezer  and  Cynthia  (Gloyd)  Benson.  Graduated  at  Gilman- 
ton,  N.  H.,  Theological  Seminary,  1840 ;  ordained  at  Center  Har- 
bor, N.  H.,  Dec.  23,  1840;  dismissed  Nov.  10,  1863;  without 
charge,  there  till  death,  Sept.  13,  1884;  m.  May  11,  1841,  Julietta, 
dau.  of  Joseph  and  Silence  (Richards)  Kingsbury  of  Frances- 
town,  N.  H.,  who  d.  Jan.  11,  1843 ;  m.  March  13,  1845  Rhoda  A., 
dau.  of  Samuel  J.  and  Nancy  (Cowles)  Roys  of  Landaff,  N.  H. ; 
one  son  and  three  dau. 

*Samuel  Breck  Bostwick.  Episcopal;  b.  March  10,  1815; 
son  of  Arthur  Bostwick,  Esq.;  d.  March  16,  1881.  The  Bishop 
said  at  his  funeral,  "Four  churches  sprung  up  in  the  footprints  of 
his  missionary  journey."  Received  the  degree  of  S.  T.  D.  from 
Columbia  University.     (See  Bostwick  Family.) 

*Zina  H.  Brown.  Methodist;  b.  Dec.  27,  1804;  son  of 
Charles  and  grandson  of  Joseph,  one  of  the  original  settlers; 
converted  at  the  age  of  19 ;  licensed  as  an  exhorter  in  1840  and 
as  a  local  preacher  in  1843 ;  ordained  Deacon  in  1848  and  Elder 
in  1850;  labored  in  Fairfax,  Sheldon,  Bakersfield  and  Enosburgh, 
Sheldon  again,  Swanton,  Franklin,  Williston,  Ferrisburgh,  Bran- 


don,  Starksboro,  Essex,  Cambridge  and  Stowe.  In  1864  he  was 
appointed  to  the  charge  of  St.  Albans  District,  which  he  occupied 
two  years,  when  his  health  failed ;  d.  at  Underbill,  April  23,  1867. 
"His  sermons  were  perspicuous,  instructive,  dignified  and  chaste. 
He  was  a  Methodist  of  the  old  stamp,  a  lover  of  the  peculiarities 
and  institutions  of  the  Church ;  he  was  open  and  manly  in  main- 
taining what  he  believed  to  be  right  and  in  opposing  what  he  re- 
garded wrong." 

*  Calvin  Butler.  Presbyterian;  b.  May  23,  1797;  son  of 
Reuben  and  Laura  (Rood)  Butler.  Graduated  at  Middlebury 
College  1824  and  at  Andover  Seminary  1827;  ordained  by  Wa- 
bash Presbytery  in  1827,  and  was  home  missionary  at  Princeton 
and  Evansville,  Ind,  1827-1831 ;  pastor  Pres.  Churches  at  Evans- 
ville,  Washington  and  Boonville,  Ind.,  and  at  Maine,  111.,  where 
he  d.  Nov.  2,  1854 ;  m.  twice ;  nine  children  who  survived  infancy. 
"His  death  was  very  sudden.  He  retired  apparently  in  good 
health ;  awoke  about  three  o'clock,  conversed  a  few  moments, 
when  his  breathing  became  unnatural  and  he  immediately  ex- 

^Walter  Clayton  Clapp.  Episcopal ;  b.  1861 ;  son  of  Simeon 
W.  and  Lorenda  (Mead)  Clapp;  moved  to  Providence,  R.  I., 
about  1867,  and  shortly  after  to  Boston.  Graduated  at  Amherst 
'83;  studied  medicine  one  year,  taught  a  year,  and  entered  Gen. 
Theol.  Seminary  of  the  Episcopal  Church;  was  ordained  Dea- 
con in  '87  and  Priest  in  '88;  was  engaged  in  work  in  Baltimore; 
as  instructor  at  Nashotah  Seminary,  Wis.,  in  Philadelphia,  in 
Toledo ;  as  missionary  for  eleven  years  in  Philippines ;  and  since 
return  in  1912  as  Rector  of  Christ  Church,  Danville,  Pa.  D. 
Sept.  17,  1915. 

*  Hiram  Harlow  Dixon.  Congregational;  b.  June  1,  1818; 
son  of  Gideon  O.  and  Esther  (Woodruff)  Dixon.  Studied  at 
Jericho  Academy  and  at  Farmington  (Ohio)  Academy;  taught  in 
public  and  private  schools  in  Vt.,  N.  Y.,  O.,  and  III,  1832-48; 
studied  theology  privately;  preached  at  Underbill  and  at  W. 
Stockholm,  N.  Y.,  and,  after  ordination  on  Feb.  23,  1852,  at 
Johnstown,  Fox  Lake,  Alto,  W.  Rosendale  and  Metomen,  all  in 
Wis.;  gave  up  regular  preaching  on  account  of  ill  health  in  1870 


and  resided  at  Ripon,  then  at  Whitewater,  Wis.,  from  1889  till 
death  Oct.  18,  1905,  at  the  age  of  87;  m.  in  Underhill,  Sarepta 
Ann,  dau.  of  Samuel  and  Amanda  (Bicknell)  Wells,  who  d.  at 
Whitewater,  May  30,  1899;  three  children;  member  of  Vt. 
Legislature  in  1848  and  1849  and  author  of  the  first  homestead 
exemption  law  of  that  state;  was  advisory  member  of  Executive 
Committee  of  Ripon  College. 

Carleton  Hasen.  Congregational ;  b.  June  14,  1865 ;  second 
son  of  Rev.  Austin  and  Mary  Jane  (Carleton)  Hazen.  Fitted 
for  college  in  the  old  academy,  at  Essex  Classical  Institute  and 
Burlington  High  School ;  graduated  at  U.  V.  M.  at  the  head  of 
his  class  in  1888,  and  at  Hartford  Theological  Seminary  in  1891 ; 
preached  at  Rochester,  Vt.,  1891-99;  West  Rutland,  1900-04; 
Portland,  Ct.,  1904-09;  Kensington,  Ct.,  1909  to  date;  ordained  at 
Rochester,  Vt.,  1892,  his  father  preaching  the  sermon;  m.  Julia 
Trask  of  Rochester  and  has  two  sons. 

Frank  William  Hasen.  Congregational;  b.  Jan.  7,  1869; 
fourth  son  of  Rev.  Austin  and  Mary  J.  C.  Hazen.  Attended 
Jericho  Academy;  fitted  for  college  at  Essex  and  Burlington; 
graduated  U.  V.  M.  1890;  taught  in  Island  Pond  High  School 
1890-91,  in  Craftsbury  Academy  1891-94;  was  examiner  of 
teachers  for  Orleans  County,  1892-94;  graduated  at  Hartford 
Theological  Seminary  1897;  was  Pastor  at  Gaysville  and  Pitts- 
field,  Vt.,  1897-1902,  being  ordained  at  the  latter  place  in  1897 ; 
Pastor  at  Middletown  Springs,  1902-04;  Assistant  Pastor  of 
First  Church,  Meriden,  Ct.,  1904-06 ;  Pastor  at  Falmouth,  Mass., 
1906-1912,  and  at  Johnson,  Vt.,  1912  to  date ;  m.  Sept.  28,  1904, 
Mary  Crafts  Paddock  at  North  Craftsbury;  three  children. 

William  Hazen.  Congregational;  b.  Nov.  3,  1870;  fifth  son 
of  Rev.  Austin  and  Mary  J.  C.  Hazen.  Fitted  for  college  at 
Deerfield,  Mass. ;  graduated  at  U.  V.  M.  1893 ;  taught  at  Hyde 
Park,  (Vt.),  High  School,  1893-94;  graduated  at  Hartford 
Theological  Seminary  1897 ;  was  Pastor  at  Sherburne,  Vt.,  1897- 
99,  being  ordained  there  in  1897;  student  at  Yale  Divinity 
School  1899-1900,  receiving  degree  of  M.  A.;  missionary  of  A. 
B.  C.  F.  M.  in  Marathi  Mission,  India,  1900  to  date,  and  is  now 
stationed  at  Bombay;  m.  1907,  Miss  Florence  Hartt. 


*George  Hilton..  Methodist;  b.  May  29,  1879;  son  of 
Birney  and  Elizabeth  Hilton.  Educated  at  South  California 
University;  ordained  in  1911;  preached  in  California;  m.  Mrs. 
Agnes  (Sands)  Nichols;  no  children;  d.  May  13, 1912. 

Frederick  Lucas  Kingsbury.  Congregational;  b.  in  the 
"Willey  House"  March  10,  1850;  son  of  Joseph  and  Eliza  S. 
(Whitcomb)  Kingsbury;  moved  to  Norwich,  Vt.,  1868.  Grad- 
uated at  Dartmouth  College  1875;  studied  medicine  at  Dart- 
mouth and  U.  V.  M.,  graduating  from  the  latter;  practiced  at 
Waterbury,  Vt.,  till  1880,  then  at  Samokov,  Bulgaria  as  Medical 
Missionary  of  the  American  Board,  1881-99;  ordained  to  min- 
istry at  Norwich,  Vt. ;  at  Clifton  Springs  Sanitarium  1899-1905; 
supplied  Hyde  Park  Church,  St.  Louis;  was  Pastor,  Ventura, 
Cal,  1906-10;  since  then  occasional  supply;  lived  two  years  at 
Boulder,  Col. ;  m.  Feb.  27,  1878  Luella  Laughton  Olds  of  Nor- 
wich, Vt. ;  two  children,  Joseph  Lyman,  teacher  of  history  at 
State  Normal  School,  Kirksville,  Mo.;  and  Margaret  Lucy,  who 
m.  Prof.  Francis  S.  Foote,  Jr.,  of  Univ.  of  Cal.;  translated  an 
astronomy  and  physiology  into  Bulgarian;  present  address:  844 
W.  76th  St.,  Los  Angeles,  Cal. 

George  B.  Lane.  Methodist ;  b.  July  10,  1871 ;  son  of 
Lorenzo  and  Esther  Lane.  Educated  at  School  for  Christian 
Workers,  Springfield,  Mass.;  ordained  Deacon  1906,  and  Elder 
1908 ;  pastorates  at  Scotch  Bush,  West  Caton  and  East  Syracuse, 
N.  Y.,  Clarenceville,  P.  Q.,  and  since  Sept.,  1912,  at  Bolton,  N. 
Y. ;  m.  Geneva  Parmenter,  by  whom  one  child;  second  Florence 
Slater  by  whom  five  children. 

*Samuel  Augustus  Lee.  Congregational  and  Presbyterian; 
b.  July  20,  1805 ;  son  of  Linus  and  Phebe  Lee.  Graduated  U. 
V.  M.  1831,  and  Auburn  Seminary  1834;  ordained  1834; 
preached  for  short  terms  for  Congregational  Churches  at 
Cazenovia,  N.  Y.,  Medina,  O.,  and  Claridon,  O.,  and  then  for 
Presbyterian  Churches  at  Mantua  and  Streetsboro,  O. ;  d.  at 
Hudson,  O.,  Jan.  28,  1866;  m.  Susan  Hyde,  who  survived  him 
with  five  children. 

*Anson  Rood.  Congregational  and  Presbyterian ;  b.  March 
19,  1802;  son  of  Deacon  Thomas  D.  and  Sarah  (Bradley)  Rood. 


Graduated  Middlebury  College,  1825;  studied  a  year  each  in 
Princeton,  Andover  and  Yale  Seminaries;  Pastor  at  Danbury, 
Conn.,  1828-37,  being  ordained  in  1829;  removing  to  Philadel- 
phia he  was  Pastor  of  a  Presbyterian  Church  12  years,  associate 
editor  of  the  North  American  two  years,  then  was  in  teaching 
and  philanthropic  work  from  1851  till  death,  Nov.  27,  1857 ;  m. 
Alida  G.  Ogden,  March  3,  1828;  five  children. 

*Heman  Rood,  D.  D.  Congregational;  b.  Jan.  29,  1795; 
•son  of  Deacon  Thomas  D.  and  Sarah  B.  Rood,  older  brother  of 
Anson,  and  grandson  of  Deacon  Azariah  Rood,  who  was  one 
of  the  first  settlers  and  a  charter  member  of  the  First  Congrega- 
tional Church.  Preparatory  study  at  Shoreham  and  Middle- 
bury;  graduated  at  Middlebury  College  1819;  taught  three  years; 
graduated  at  Andover  Theological  Seminary  1825 ;  ordained 
1826 ;  Pastor  at  Gilmanton,  N.  H.,  and  New  Milf ord,  Ct. ;  Pro- 
fessor at  Gilmanton  Theological  Seminary ;  Teacher  at  Haverhill, 
N.  H. ;  Acting  Pastor  at  Quechee  and  Hartland,  Vt. ;  without 
charge  at  Hanover,  N.  H.  and  Westfield,  N.  Y. ;  d.  at  Westfield 
of  old  age  June  8,  1882;  Middlebury  College  conferred  the  de- 
gree of  D.  D. ;  m.  Nov.  29,  1827,  Frances  S.  Moody,  of  Gilman- 
ton, N.  H. ;  five  children. 

*Ashbel  Shipley  Wells.  Presbyterian  and  Congregational; 
b.  Dec.  3,  1798 ;  son  of  Shipley  and  Dorothea  (Randall)  Wells ; 
united  with  Congregational  Church  in  Jackson,  Me.,  July,  1816. 
Graduated  Hamilton  College  1824  and  Auburn  Seminary  1827; 
ordained  at  Utica,  N.  Y.,  1828;  preached  in  Ind.,  Mich.,  and 
Iowa,  and  for  several  years  was  agent  of  missionary  societies; 
in  U.  S.  Christian  Commission  at  St.  Louis,  1863-64;  made  his 
home  at  Fairfield,  lo.,  from  1859  till  his  death,  Oct.  30,  1882 ;  m. 
March  24,  1828  Sophia  Hastings. 

Earl  Morse  Wilbur,  D.  D.  Unitarian;  b.  1866;  son  of 
Lafayette  and  Mercy  Jane  (Morse)  Wilbur.  (See  Wilbur  fam- 

The  following  clergymen,  though  not  born  in  Jericho,  were 
here  in  childhood  or  youth,  and  hence  this  town  has  a  claim  upon 
them : 


*Lester  H.  Elliot.  Congregational;  b.  in  Croydon,  N.  H., 
Aug.  1,  1835;  son  of  Deacon  Ezra  and  Eliza  (Hall)  Elliot,  who 
moved  here  during  his  childhood;  d.  July  20,  1907,  at  Water- 
bury;  most  of  his  ministerial  life  was  given  to  Vermont,  where 
he  was  widely  known  and  influential.     (See  Elliot  family). 

^Stephen  G.  Emerson.  Congregational;  son  of  Rev.  John 
D.  and  Elizabeth  F.  Emerson;  his  father  preached  for  Second 
Congregational  Church,  1877-82.  Graduated  at  Dartmouth 
1887,  and  at  Oberlin  Seminary  1890;  ordained  at  Oakland,  Cal.," 
1890 ;  his  ministry  has  been  in  California,  and  for  6  years  Pastor 
of  Logan  Heights  Congregational  Church,  San  Diego,  Cal.  D. 
Jan.,  1916,  at  Prescott,  Ariz. 

David  Foster  Estes,  D.  D.  Baptist;  b.  in  Auburn,  Me., 
October  18,  1851 ;  son  of  Rev.  Hiram  C.  Estes,  D.  D.,  Pastor 
here  in  1862-72.  He  was  graduated  from  the  University  of  Ver- 
mont in  1871  and  from  the  Newton  Theological  Institution  in 
1874;  a  year  was  also  spent,  1878,  1879,  in  study  at  the  Uni- 
versity of  Gottingen,  Germany ;  he  was  ordained  at  Manchester, 
Vt.,  August  ■19th,  1874,  and  was  Pastor  there  from  1874  to  1876; 
at  Belfast,  Me.,  from  1876  to  1878;  and  at  Vergennes,  Vt.,  from 
1880  to  1883 ;  he  was  a  teacher  in  the  Atlanta  Baptist  Seminary, 
Atlanta,  Ga.,  from  1883  to  1886,  and  Acting  Principal  of  the 
same;  he  was  pastor  at  Holden,  Mass.,  from  1886  to  1891.  Oc- 
tober 1,  1891,  he  became  Professor  of  New  Testament  Inter- 
pretation in  the  Theological  Seminary 'in  connection  with  Col- 
gate University,  at  Hamilton,  N.  Y. ;  he  has  also  served  as  Uni- 
versity Librarian  since  1898;  he  received  the  degree  of  D.  D. 
from  the  University  of  Vermont  in  1896.  He  is  the  author  of 
"The  History  of  Holden,  Mass.,"  (1894)  and  "An  Outline  of 
New  Testament  Theology,"  (1900).  He  m.  May  12,  1880,  Ef- 
figene  Lydia,  only  dau.  of  Truman  C.  and  Angeline  O.  (Bishop) 
Galusha,  b.  Sept.  14th,  1858.  They  have  one  son,  Walter  Dal- 
ton  Estes,  b.  in  Vergennes,  July  22,  1881,  a  graduate  of  Colgate 
University  and  Massachusetts  Institute  of  Technology  and  for 
some  years  engaged  in  scientific  work  in  Chicago. 

Austin  Hasen,  Jr.  Congregational;  b.  in  Norwich,  Vt., 
Sept.  20,  1863 ;  oldest  son  of  Rev.  Austin  and  Mary  J.  C.  Hazen. 


Attended  Jericho  Academy  and  studied  in  Middletown,  Ct.; 
graduated  at  U.  V.  M.  1885 ;  taught  in  Waterbury  High  School 
1885-86;  was  in  a  drug  store  in  Barre  1887-90;  graduated  at 
Hartford  Theological  Seminary  1893 ;  held  a  fellowship  in  Ger- 
many 1893-95;  preached  in  various  places  till  he  was  ordained 
at  Thomaston,  Ct.,  where  he  preached  till  1911;  since  then  he 
has  been  Vice-President  and  Treasurer  of  Tougaloo  University, 
Miss.;  m.  and  has  two  children. 

George  Washington  Henderson,  D.  D.  Congregational;  b. 
in  Clark  Co.,  Va.,  Nov.  16,  1850;  was  brought  here  at  the  close 
of  the  Civil  War  by  an  officer  and  showed  himself  possessed  of 
unusual  ability.  Attended  Underbill  Academy;  graduated  U. 
V.  M.  1877;  taught  in  select  school  in  Jericho  Academy  and  at 
Craftsbury  Academy  1877-80  and  1886-88;  graduated  at  Yale 
Divinity  School  1883 ;  gained  Hooker  Fellowship  and  studied  at 
Berlin;  ordained  1888;  Professor  Straight  University,  New  Or- 
leans; pastor  University  Church  in  the  same  city  1890-1904; 
professor  in  Fisk  University,  Nashville,  Tenn.,  1905  to  date; 
was  assistant  Moderator  of  the  National  Council  of  Congrega- 
tional Churches  in  1895. 

*John  Denison  Kingsbury,  D.  D.  Congregational;  b.  in 
Hanover,  N.  H.,  Apr.  19,  1831 ;  son  of  Joseph  and  Eliza  S. 
(Whitcomb)  Kingsbury,  and  older  brother  of  Rev.  Fred  L. ; 
spent  boyhood  in  Jericho.  Attended  Bakersfield  Academy,  U. 
V.  M.  1852,  Andover  Theological  Seminary  1856;  ordained  at 
Brandon  1856.  Pastorates,  Brandon,  1856-60;  Winooski,  1860- 
66;  Bradford,  Mass.,  1866-1901;  pastor  emeritus  at  Bradford, 
1901  till  death.  Degree  of  D.  D.  conferred  by  U.  V.  M. ;  pub- 
lished Memorial  History  of  Bradford;  m.  Feb.  5,  1861,  at  Bran- 
don, Charlotte  M.  Field;  four  children;  d.  Nov.  11,  1908,  at 
Bradford,  of  heart  trouble,  aged  77 ;  in  1889  he  was  sent  by  the 
Congregational  H.  M.  S.  to  Cuba  on  a  tour  of  exploration.  In 
1901  at  70  years  of  age  he  took  up  a  traveling  superintendency  of 
home  missions  in  Idaho,  Utah,  New  Mexico  and  Arizona.  "It 
was  wonderfully  interesting  and  inspiring  to  see  this  old  man, 
laden  with  years,  but  young  in  enthusiasm  and  sympathy,  going 
about  over  his  'vast  realm,'  as  he  loved  to  call  it,  shepherding 
his  flock.  Everybody  loved  him,  everybody  trusted  him.  With  him 


always  went  the  serenity  of  Christian  faith  and  the  warmth  of 
Christian  love."  Another  estimate  says :  "His  work  at  Bradford 
was  eminently  succesful;  he  was  regarded  by  his  parishioners 
as  the  most  eloquent  preacher  of  that  region;  but  the  activity  of 
his  later  years,  in  his  oversight  of  home  missions  at  the  West, 
drew  the  admiring  attention  of  his  friends  and  the  friends  of 
missions.  It  was  distinctively  progressive  and  successful.  It 
was  a  glorious  seven  years'  campaign,  fittingly  crowning  a  de- 
voted life." 

*Eugene  J.  Ranslow.  Congregational;  b.  in  Georgia,  Vt., 
Oct.  21,  1842;  son  of  Rev.  George  Washington  and  Anna  M. 
(Parmalee)  Ranslow.  Educated  in  Underbill  Academy,  Mid- 
dlebury  College  1866,  and  Auburn  Seminary  1869.  His  college 
course  was  interrupted  by  a  year's  service,  1864-1865,  in  the  U. 
S.  Navy;  ordained  1869.  Pastorates,  Swanton,  1869-75;  Wells 
River,  1875-88;  Swanton  again  1888-1909;  later  he  preached 
summers  at  Underbill  and  Jericho,  Bristol  and  Danville,  and 
winters  at  Seabreeze,  Florida;  m.  Ellen  Eliza  Kingsbury,  sister 
of  Rev.  John  D.  and  Fred  L.,  May  11,  1869;  four  children  sur- 
vive; m.  2  Miss  Cynthia  Laura  Marvin.  He  d.  May  28,  1914, 
at  Seabreeze,  Fla. 

His  father.  Rev.  George,  preached  for  50  years  and  his 
maternal  grandfather.  Rev.  Simeon  Parmalee,  for  60  years,  mak- 
ing a  continuous  ministry  of  155  years  in  the  family.  "He  was 
a  versatile  man,  of  ready  address  on  platform  or  in  pulpit,  wield- 
ing a  trenchant  pen,  and  commanding  attention  on  matters  of 
public  interest  by  his  flashes  of  wit  and  keen  retort.  He  was 
skilled  in  agriculture  and  at  times  extensively  engaged  therein. 
His  army  experience  brought  him  into  intimate  relations  with  his 

Chapter  II. 


The  following  lawyers  as  far  as  has  been  learned,  were 
bom  in  town  or  lived  here  during  a  part  of  their  early  life :    ' 


Charles  T.  Barney,  b.  Jan.,  1859 ;  son  of  Truman  B.  Barney ; 
now  at  Ada,  Oklahoma.     (See  Barney  family). 

*John  D.  Bicknell,  b.  1838;  son  of  Nathaniel  and  Fanny 
(Thompson)  Bicknell,  and  older  brother  of  Dr.  Fred  T.  He 
taught  successfully  in  Wis.  and  Mo. ;  studied  law  and  practiced 
in  Mo.;  conducted  a  party  overland  to  California;  practiced  in 
Los  Angeles;  m.  Dec.  26,  1866,  E.  Maria  Hatch;  d.  1911. 

*Tliomas  Chittenden,  b.  here  1788;  grandson  of  Gov. 
Thomas  Chittenden.  Graduated  U.  V.  M.  1809;  merchant  here 
1813 ;  lawyer,  farmer,  lived  in  Granville,  O. ;  d.  at  the  home  of 
his  son  at  Benton,  Wis.,  April  20,  1868. 

Washington  Spencer  Cilley,  b.  here  June  26,  1840.  Fitted 
for  college  under  Rev.  S.  L.  Bates,  entered  U.  V.  M.  from 
Jericho  and  graduated  1867 ;  took  lawyer's  degree  at  University 
of  Mich.  1869.  Address:  1015  Sixteenth  Ave.,  S.  E.,  Min- 
neapolis, Minn. 

Alric  O.  Colton,  b.  1851 ;  son  of  Frank  and  Submit  (Has- 
kins),  Colton.     Educated  in  Cal. ;  located  in  San  Francisco. 

Hamlin  Eastman,  now  in  Nebraska. 

Andrew  J.  Hale,  son  of  Stephen  Hale;  at  Beatrice,  Neb. 
(See  Hale  family). 

James  J.  Leary,  h.  July  22,  1871 ;  son  of  Moses  and  Catherine 
(Cassidy)  Leary.  Educated  at  Johnson  Normal  and  a  law 
school  in  Boston ;  is  a  judge  at  Turner's  Falls,  Mass. ;  m.  Mar- 
garet Moran  of  Amherst,  Mass.;  no  children.  (See  Leary 
family) . 

Matthew  G.  Leary,  brother  of  James;  b.  here  May  5,  1873. 
Studied  at  Green  Mountain  Seminary,  Waterbury  Center ;  taught 
school;  studied  law  with  C.  F.  Clough  at  Waterbury  and  with 
Farrington  and  Post,  St.  Albans ;  admitted  to  bar  1899 ;  practiced 
at  Richmond  till  1902,  since  in  Burlington ;  State's  Attorney  for 
County  1902-04;  represented  Burlington  in  Legislature  1908; 
secretary  Democratic  State  Committee  1908;  a  Roman  Catholic; 
past  chancellor  and  present  grand  Knight,  Knights  of  Columbus ; 


m.  in  1905  Maude  E:  Gleason  of  Richmond;  two  children.     (See 
Leary  family). 

*Aaron  Burr  Maynard,  b.  Peru,  Oct.  22,  1816;  came  here 
when  a  boy,  fitted  for  college  at  Jericho  Academy,  entered  U. 
V.  M.  in  class  of  '40;  taught  select  school  at  Comers;  was  ad- 
mitted to  bar  in  '42;  practiced  in  Richmond  and  Detroit,  Mich; 
was  U.  S.  District  Attorney;  m.  Julia  Edmunds,  sister  of  Sen- 
ator Geo.  F.  Edmunds ;  d.  at  Romeo,  Mich.,  July  24,  1891. 

George  N.  Nay,  h.  Milton ;  son  of  T.  G.  and  Clara  M.  Nay 
(See  Nay  family). 

Cornelius  S.  Palmer-  Born  in  Underbill,  Nov.  2,  1844,  son 
of  Jonah  Ferris  and  Chloe  (Mead)  Palmer.  Educated  at  Un- 
derbill Academy.  Admitted  to  Vermont  Bar,  1870;  read  law 
with  L.  F.  Wilbur;  practiced  law  in  Jericho  previous  to  1882; 
Sioux  Falls,  S.  D.,  1888-1901 ;  1904-1912  member  of  the  law  firm 
of  Palmer  and  Foster,  Burlington.  Mr.  Foster  dying  in  the  latter 
year,  Mr.  Palmer  has  continued  his  practice  alone.  He  was 
States  Attorney  Chittenden  County,  1876-7;  represented  Jericho 
in  the  Legislature,  1880;  assistant  U.  S.  attorney  for  Dakota 
Territory,  1882-4 ;  associate  justice  of  Supreme  Court  of  Dakota, 
1884-8;  member  of  State  Senate,  South  Dakota,  1896-7;  has  been 
judge  of  the  City  Court,  Burlington  for  five  years  and  resides  in 
that  city.  Judge  Palmer  was  a  private  in  Co.  F,  13th  Vt.  In- 
fantry and  was  in  the  battles  of  Gettysburg,  Fairfax  Court  House 
and  Stuart's  Raid  in  1863.  He  m.  in  1870  Annie  R.  Fassett  of 
Jericho,  who  d.,  1901.  They  had  two  children:  Chloe  E.  (de- 
ceased) and  Louie  A.  In  1905  he  m.  Mary  K.  Marshall  of  New 
York  City.  Judge  Palmer  is  an  eloquent  speaker  and  a  highly 
respected  citizen.     (See  Palmer  Family). 

*Bradley  B.  Smalley,  b.  here  Nov.  26,  1836;  son  of  Judge 
David  A.  Smalley.  When  four  years  old  the  family  moved  to 
Burlington ;  studied  law  with  his  father  and  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  in  1863 ;  from  1861  to  1885  clerk  of  U.  S.  Courts  in  Ver- 
mont; from  1885  to  1889  and  again  in  1893  Collector  of  Cus- 
toms ;  in  1874  and  1878  representative  for  Burlington  in  the 
Legislature;  member  of  Democratic  National  Committee  from 
1873;   and   from   1876  member  of   National   Executive   Com- 


mittee;  one  of  World's  Fair  Commissioners  for  Vermont;  di- 
rector of  Central  Vt.  R.  R.  for  a  time ;  m.  June  4,  1864,  Caroline 
M.,  dau.  of  Hon.  Carlos  Baxter,  of  Burlington;  five  children; 
d.  Nov.  6,  1909. 

Ralph  Wilbur,  b.  1879;  son  of  L.  F.  and  Mercy  Jane  Wil- 
bur; resides  at  Portland,  Ore.     (See  Wilbur  family). 

Chapter  III. 


These  are  either  natives  on  residents  here  in  early  life.  De- 
tails at  hand  in  regard  to  some  of  them  are  meagre. 

*Bertrand  J.  Andrews,  b.  here  Jan.  11,  1850;  son  of  Samuel 

A.  and  Rachel  M.  (Woodruff)  Andrews.  Attended  Bellows 
Free  Academy,  Fairfax,  and  Franklin  Institute,  Franklin. ;  C.  V. 
station  agent  at  Bolton  three  years  and  at  Richmond  eleven  years ; 
graduated  U.  V.  M.  medical  '85 ;  took  post-graduate  work  in 
N.  Y.  '85-'86  and  practiced  in  Richmond  three  years ;  supt.  Mary 
Fletcher  hospital  '89-1914  or  25  years  and  7  months;  became 
blind  in  1905 ;  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  medical  college 
'93-1905 ;  m.  Angie  F.  Baker  of  Northfield,  Sept.  24,  '89 ;  one  son, 

B.  Fletcher;  d.  at  the  hospital  Apr.  12,  1915. 

*Edwin  W.  Bartlett,  b.  here  Dec.  20,  1839 ;  son  of  Elias  and 
Eliza  (Wheelock)  Bartlett  and  brother  of  Homer  and  Joel;  in 
class  of  '65  at  U.  V.  M.,  a  non-graduate ;  M.  D.  in  '66  at  U.  V. 
M.  Medical;  studied  in  Europe  '68-'69;  practiced  at  Milwaukee, 
Wis. ;  eye  specialist ;  professor  in  Milwaukee  Medical  College ;  m. 
in  74  Helen  F.  Ball;  five  children;  d.  Sept.  11,  1913. 

*Homer  L.  Bartlett,  b.  here  Oct.  17,  1830;  older  brother  of 
Edwin  W. ;  attended  academy  at  Bakersfield ;  M.  D.  from  College 
of  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  N.  Y.,  '55,  having  also  studied  medi- 
cine elsewhere ;  assistant  in  Kings  County  Hospital.  In  '56  fought 
yellow  fever  scourge  at  New  Utrecht ;  from  '57  successful  practi- 


tioner  at  Flatbush,  L.  I.,  consulting  physician  to  Kings  County 
Hospital ;  specialist  in  contagious  diseases ;  public  spirited  citizen 
initiating  enterprises;  delegate  from  American  Medical  Society 
to  Medical  Congress  in  London  1881 ;  prominent  Mason  and 
writer  and  lecturer  on  Masonry;  author  of  "Sketches  of  Long 
Island";  in  '59  m.  Margaret  L.  Scott  of  Cooperstown,  N.  Y., 
who  d.  in  1876,  leaving  four  children;  in  '88  m.  Harriette  F. 
Moore  of  Belfast,  Ireland ;  one  daughter  by  this  marriage,  EHza 
L.,  82  Lafayette  Ave.,  Brooklyn,  N.  Y. ;  he  d.  Feb.  3,  1905. 

*Fred  T.  Bicknell,  b.  1842;  son  of  Nathaniel  and  Fanny 
(Thompson)  Bicknell;  moved  with  his  parents  to  Wis.  when  a 
boy;  enlisted  in  Co.  A,  23rd  Wis.  Vols,  and  served  through  the 
war,  participating  in  a  score  of  battles,  including  Vicksburg;  en- 
tered Univ.  of  Wis.  in  1865 ;  graduated  Rush  Medical  College, 
Chicago  in  1870;  began  practice  at  Neosho,  Mo.;  post-graduate 
course  in  N.  Y. ;  practiced  at  Panamint  and  Los  Angeles,  Cal., 
where  he  was  a  leader  in  his  profession ;  was  one  of  the  founders 
of  Cal.  Hospital;  m.,  in  1872  Henrietta  Cooper  of  Lake  Mills, 
Wis.,  and  after  her  death  m.  Carrie  E.  Fargo  of  Lake  Mills ;  one 
dau.;  d.  1915. 

Rufus  W.  Bishop,  b.  Apr.  4,  1856;  son  of  Daniel  B.  Bishop; 
graduated  at  U.  V.  M.  '77 ;  studied  at  Bonn,  Vienna,  Paris,  Lon- 
don; took  degree  of  M.  D.  at  Berlin;  professor  at  Northwestern 
University;  then  at  Chicago  Post-graduate  Medical  School;  con- 
nected with  St.  Luke's  Hospital,  Chicago;  has  written  medical 

George  D.  Buxton,  b.  Dec.  5,  1873;  son  of  George  C.  and 
Martha  A.  (Conklin)  Buxton ;  attended  Burlington  Business  Col- 
lege; bookkeeper  and  stenographer  for  Dr.  W.  Seward  Webb  at 
Shelburne  nearly  ten  years ;  graduated  at  U.  V.  M.  medical,  1905 ; 
special  course  at  N.  Y.  hospital;  is  practicing  at  Proctorsville ; 
member  of  county,  state  and  American  medical  societies;  health 
officer;  m.  June  14,  1906  Veronica  Nichols  of  Burlington;  one 
child  living.  ^ 

*Loren  Chamberlain,  h.  here  about  1840;  son  of  Ezra  and 
Lavina  (Ford)  Chamberlain;  studied  at  U.  V.  M.  Medical;  prac- 


ticed  in  Richmond  and  d.  there  some  thirty  years  ago ;  m.  Mrs. 
Josie  (Rhodes)  Jones;  no  children. 

Eli  Edwin  Graves,  h.  Sept.  9,  1847;  son  of  Daniel  H.  and 
Lusetta  R.  (Nash)  Graves;  Essex  Classical  Institute;  graduated 
U.  V.  M.  Medical  '68;  practiced  since  in  Boscawen  and  Pena- 
cook,  N.  H. ;  physician  at  Merrimack  Co.  Almshouse  17  years ; 
necrologist  of  N.  H.  Medical  Society  many  years;  member  of 
American  Medical  and  other  medical  societies ;  m.  Dec.  18,  1872 
Martha  A.  Williams  of  Essex,  Vt.,  two  children  living,  one.  Dr. 
Robert  John,  b.  June  22,  1878,  a  graduate  of  Harvard  1900,  and 
Harvard  Medical  1904;  is  practicing  in  Concord,  N.  H. ;  is  m. 
and  has  three  children ;  the  other,  Katharine  L.  m.  Henry  C.  Rolf 
and  resides  in  Penacook. 

*Allen  Hazen,  b.  May  12,  1867;  son  of  Rev.  Austin  and 
Mary  (Carleton)  Hazen;  fitted  for  college  at  Jericho  Academy, 
Essex  Classical  Institute  and  Burlington  High  School ;  graduated 
U.  V.  M.  '88;  taught  in  Cheshire,  Mass.,  '88-'90;  was  with  Berk- 
shire Life  Insurance  Co.  '90-'92 ;  graduated  College  of  Physicians 
and  Surgeons,  N.  Y.  '95 ;  physician  at  N.  Y.  City  Hospital  '9S-'96; 
practiced  in  N.  Y.  '97-'03 ;  was  medical  inspector  public  schools 
'97;  medical  examiner  with  Mutual  Life  Insurance  Co.  '98-'03 ;  d. 
Nov.  17,  '03 ;  unmarried. 

Robert  Hazen,  b.  Dec.  2,  1872;  brother  of  Allen  just  men- 
tioned ;  fitted  for  college  at  Mt.  Hermon,  Mass. ;  graduated  U.  V. 
M.  '96,  U.  V.  M.  Medical  '98 ;  physician  Boston  City  Hospital  '98- 
'02;  has  practiced  at  Thomaston,  Ct.  1902  to  date;  m.  1904,  Helen 
C.  Gates;  two  children. 

*Edward  P.  Howe,  b.  1835 ;  son  of  Dr.  George  and  Mary 
P.  Howe ;  graduated  at  Albany  Medical  College ;  practiced  about 
ten  years  at  Underbill  Flats,  then  at  the  Corners;  d.  July  1;  1898. 

*Harmon  G.  Howe,  b.  Sept.  3,  1850;  son  of  Lucien  B.  and 
and  Clara  (Galusha)  Howe;  practiced  in  Hartford,  Ct.,  where 
he  attained  eminence  in  his  profession;  he  was  killed  by  a  col- 
lision of  trains  at  Stamford,  Ct.,  June  12,  1913.  (See  Howe 


Frederick  Lucas  Kingsbury.     (See  list  of  ministers). 

*Joseph  Byron  Kingsbury,  b.  in  Braintree  July  29,  1834 
came  with  his  parents,  Joseph  and  Eliza  S.  (Whitcomb)  Kings 
bury,  to  Jericho  when  six  years  old ;  engaged  in  farming  at  Ran 
dolph  four  years  1865-69,  but,  turning  from  that  to  medicine 
graduated  at  Dartmouth  Medical  in  '71 ;  post-graduate  work  a 
Harvard ;  practiced  at  Holbrook,  Mass.,  till  his  death,  March  24 
1906;  m.  in  1859  Elizabeth  Julia  Eastman,  dau.  of  Amos  East 
man  of  Jericho ;  four  children :  Mary,  who  m.  Prof.  Fred  Lined] 
of  Boston  Conservatory  of  Music ;  George  Byron,  who  graduatet 
at  Dartmouth  1889  and  has  the  care  of  the  commercial  depart 
ment  of  the  high  school  at  Hartford,  Ct. ;  Albert  Eastman,  whi 
also  graduated  at  Dartmouth  in  '89 ;  and  Nellie. 

Edward  Stephen  Lane,  b.  here  Oct.  1,  1866;  son  of  Edga 
H.  and  Ellen  (Pierce)  Lane;  educated  under  Prof.  Cilley  and  a 
Burlington  High,  Vermont  Academy  and  U.  V.M.  Medical,  wher 
he  graduated  in  '92);  has  practiced  at  Bridgewater  and  now  fol 
lows  his  profession  at  North  Ferrisburg;  m.  Sept.  11,  1894  lol 
A.  Mallory  of  North  Ferrisburg,  who  d.  April  29,  1914;  thre 
children :  Mabel  Ellen,  Edward  Harold  and  Grace  Marion. 

Patrick  F.  Leary,  b.  March  21,  1867;  son  of  Moses  ani 
Catherine  (Cassidy)  Leary ;  graduated  U.  V.  M.  Medical  in  1890 
in  practice  at  Turner's  Falls,  Mass. ;  m.  Emma  Batten  of  Tui 
ner's  Falls;  two  children  living. 

*George  Lee  Lyman,  b.  Feb.  23,  1818;  son  o-f  Daniel  Lyman 
graduated  U.  V.  M.  '41 ;  taught  in  Burlington  in  '41,  Hinesbur 
'44-'47  and  '55-'56,  Clarenceville,  P.  Q.  '48-'49;  in  business  J 
Charleston,  S.  C.  '50;  received  M.  D.  from  Pittsfield  Medica 
School;  practiced  medicine  '58  till  death,  which  was  in  Jerichc 
June  4,  1863;  gave  master's  oration;  wrote  article  on  Jericho  fc 
Hemingway's  Gazetteer.     (See  Lyman  Family).  . 

George  B.  Packard,  b.  May  9,  1852;  son  of  Cyrus  an 
Melissa  Packard  and  brother  of  Seth  M.  of  this  town ;  graduate^ 
U.  V.  M.  Medical  '74 ;  engaged  in  hospital  work ;  practiced  i 
Hartford,  Ct.,  awhile,  then  went  to  Denver,  Col.,  where  he  coi 
tinues  medical  work;  m.  June  6,  1883,  Carrie  Sanbome  of  Spring 


field,  N.  Y. ;  children :  Robert  G.  and  George  B.  Jr.,  both  physi- 
cians, and  Ruth  E.,  graduate  of  Wellesley. 

Clifford  A.  Pease,  b.  July  8,  1874;  son  of  Frank  W.  and 
Ellen  M.  Pease,  Burlington  High  School;  graduated  U.  V.  M. 
Medical  '99;  house  surgeon  at  Mary  Fletcher  Hospital  1900; 
post-graduate  work  at  Vienna ;  instructor  in  neurology  and  medi- 
cine U.  V.  M.  ten  years;  now  instructor  in  surgery;  in  practice 
in  Burlington;  attending  surgeon  to  Mary  Fletcher  and  Fanny 
Allen  Hospitals ;  division  surgeon  for  Rutland  R.  R.  Co. ;  mem- 
ber of  several  lodges;  m.  in  1911  Mary  S.  Stranahan  of  St. 

D.  J.  Sheehan,  b.  Feb.  21,  1879  on  the  Bolger  farm ;  son  of 
John  and  Nora  Sheehan ;  at  the  age  of  six  moved  with  his  parents 
to  Craftsbury,  where  he  afterward  attended  the  academy;  grad- 
uated St.  Laurant  College  1900;  received  M.  D.  from  George- 
town Medical  1904 ;  interne  at  Providence  Hospital,  Washington, 
D.  C.  18  months;  has  since  practiced  in  Lowell,  Vt. 

Bingham  H.  Stone,  b.  Feb.  21,  1875 ;  son  of  Isaac  C.  and 
Eliza  (Bingham)  Stone ;  studied  at  Oberlin  Academy ;  graduated 
U.  V.  M.  '97  and  U.  V.  M.  Medical  '99 ;  physician  in  Burlington ; 
State  bacteriologist ;  director  of  Laboratory.;  pathologist  for  Mary 
Fletcher  Hospital ;  professor  of  bacteriology  and  pathology,  U.  V. 
M. ;  m.  March  25, 1899,  Jean  E.  Nichols ;  one  daughter,  Katharine. 

Jesse  Thomson,  b.  Aug.  20,  1819;  son  of  Jesse  and  Nancy 
(Humphrey)  Thomson;  studied  at  Castleton;  gave  most  of  his 
active  life  to  farming  at  Morristown  Corners ;  since  about  1890 
has  resided  with  his  son  in  Rutland;  m.  Mary  Wheelock.  (See 
Thomson  Family). 

Jesse  E.  Thomson,  b.  here  Nov.  22,  1853 ;  son  of  Dr.  Jesse 
and  Mary  (Wheelock)  Thomson;  attended  U.  V.  M.  and  grad- 
uated from  University  of  City  of  New  York  '78 ;  practiced  in 
Cabot  and  Jericho,  and  since  '82  in  Rutland ;  address  101  Wales 


Chapter  IV. 


This  list  is  intended  to  include  Jericho  boys  and  girls  who 
have  become  teachers  and  professors  in  the  higher  institutions, 
or  who  within  recent  date  have  served  several  years  as  teachers 
in  common  schools.  Some  who  have  taught  awhile  are  spoken 
of  in  the  lists  of  other  professional  men. 

Mary  E.  Adrien,  dau.  of  Thomas  and  Ellen  (Reddy) 
Adrien.  Has  taught  18  years  in  town,  20  in  all.  (See  Reddy 

Florence  E.  Bicknell,  dau.  of  G.  Clinton  and  Adelia  (Rice) 
Bicknell.  Graduated  at  Burlington  High  School.  Teacher  in 
Chicago  Latin  School.     Student  in  University  of  Chicago. 

*George  Blackman,  h.  Nov.,  1818,  son  of  Pliny  and  Lucinda 
(Wheelock)  Blackman;  graduated  U.  V.  M.  1838;  degree  of  M. 
A.  1844;  went  south  1840;  taught  in  New  Orleans  1842-55;  later 
in  Miss.;  in  San  Francisco  in  '75  and  in  Pearlington,  Miss., 
where  he  d.  Mar.  22,  '82. 

Dessa  C.  Bolger,  dau.  of  Luke  B.  and  Kate  (Leary)  Bolger. 
Graduated  Jericho  High  School  1908  and  Johnson  Normal 
School  1909;  teacher  in  primary  room,  Jericho  Center  Graded 

Helen  Bolger,  dau.  of  Luke  B.  and  Kate  (Leary)  Bolger. 
Graduated  Johnson  Normal  School  1905 ;  teacher  in  grammar 
room,  Jericho  Center  Graded  School. 

Lynn  A.  Brown,  son  of  Oliver  and  Ellen  (Williams) 
Brown.  Graduated  Oswego  Normal  1903;  has  taught  in  town; 
is  now  teaching  in  Conn.  School  for  Boys,  Meriden,  Conn. 

*Buel  Clifton  Day,  b.  April  17,  1867 ;  son  of  Buel  H.  and 
Mary  B.  Day.  Fitted  for  college  at  St.  Johnsbury;  graduated 
U.  V.  M.  '88;  principal  Craftsbury  Academy  '88-'91;  student  at 
Columbia  Univ.  '91-'92 ;  assistant  secretary  Vt.  Senate  '92 ;  sup't. 
Easthampton,  Mass.,  schools,  '92-'96;  at  Berlin  and  Jena  '96-'97; 


sup't.   Boston   Parental   School   '98;   conducted  sanatorium  in 
Colorado;  d.  Mar.  30,  1910.     ()See  Day  family). 

Josephine  Fay,  dau.  of  Ellery  C.  and  Louise  Wright  (Fay). 
Graduated  Burlington  High  School,  also  attended  Salem,  Mass. 
Normal;  teacher  at  Essex  Junction;  m.  Archie  Rugg  1915. 

Anna  Fitzsimonds,  dau.  of  John  and  Sarah  Fitzsimonds. 
Graduated  Burlington  High  '05 ;  teacher  at  Stowe. 

Grace  Fitzsimonds,  sister  of  Anna  just  mentioned.  Grad- 
uated Randolph  Normal,  '06 ;  teacher  in  Burlington ;  m.  Thomas 
Moran  1915. 

Mrs.  Jennie  W.  Hart,  attended  Mt.  Holyoke  two  years; 
taught  Essex  Classical  Institute  four  years;  Milledgeville,  Ga., 
one  year ;  Vergennes  one  year ;  Burlington  High  two  years ;  three 
terms  at  district  school  and  two  terms  at  select  school,  Jericho ;  m. 
Hiram  S.  Hart  in  1871  and  after  his  death  in  1884  she  took  a 
course  in  nursing  and  followed  that  occupation ;  taught  in  Straight 
View  Univ.  New  Orleans  in  '91.  Has  since  resided  in  Jericho; 
librarian  of  town  library  and  a  public  spirited  citizen.  (See 
Warner  family) . 

Chauncey  H.  Hay  den.     (See  Hayden  family). 

Tracy  E.  Hazen,  b.  July  4,  1874;  son  of  Rev.  Austin  and 
Mary  J.  (Carleton)  Hazen.  Fitted  for  college  at  Mt.  Hermon, 
Mass.;  graduated  U.  V.  M.  1897;  student  at  Columbia  1897- 
1900,  receiving  A.  M.  there  in  '99  and  Ph.  D.  in  1900,  holding 
University  Fellowship  in  Botany  1898-1900;  curator  Fairbanks 
Museum,  St.  Johnsbury  1900-01,  assistant  in  Botany  Barnard 
College,  Columbia  Univ.  1902-03;  tutor  in  Botany  1903-06;  as- 
sociate professor. 

Mrs.  Maud  H.  Hoskins,  dau.  of  Henry  C.  and  Ella  (Green) 
Hurlburt.  Graduated  Johnson  Normal  1902;  taught  in  town; 
wife  of  Edward  W.  Hoskins;  is  county  sup't.  of  schools  at  Castle 
Rock,  Colorado. 

George  Byron  Kingsbury,  b.  May  29,  1863 ;  son  of  Dr. 
Joseph  Byron  and  Elizabeth  (Eastman)  Kingsbury.  Gradu- 
ated Thayer  Academy,  Braintree,  Mass.,  '85;  and  Dartmouth 


College,  '89 ;  M.  A.  in  '92 ;  taught  four  years  at  Wesleyan  Acai 
emy,  Wilbraham,  Mass.;  head  of  commercial  department  ( 
High  School,  Brockton,  Mass.,  and  principal  of  evening  scho 
there.  Since  1906  head  of  commercial  dep't.  in  High  Schoc 
Hartford,  Conn. ;  in  '96  m.  Edith  H.  Leonard  of  Brockton,  Mas 

*Jedediah  Lane,  Jr.,  h.  at  Salisbury,  Conn.,  Dec.  10,  1761 
son  of  Jedediah  Lane,  one  of  the  first  settlers  and  Phel 
(Stephens)  Lane;  first  college  graduate  from  Jericho.  Gradi 
ated  Dartmouth  1794 ;  began  to  read  law,  but  infirm  health  droi 
him  into  mercantile  pursuits;  from  this  he  turned  to  successfi 
teaching;  m.  Betsey  Post  in  1800;  d.  Feb.  2,  1849. 

Mrs.  Ellen  W.  Mann,  dau.  of  Edward  S.  and  Harrii 
(Kingsbury)  Whitcomb.  Taught  in  Jericho,  Underbill  ar 
Williston;  m.  Warren  Mann,  a  merchant  in  Randolph;  tw 
dau.;  has  been  sup't.  of  schools  here.  Resides  in  Huntingtoi 
L.  I. 

Mrs.  Mary  Leary  Maurice,  dau.  of  Moses  and  Catherir 
(Cassidy)  Leary.  Taught  in  town;  m.  Walter  Maurice.  Ri 
sides  in  White  Plains,  N.  Y. 

Mrs.  Evaline  (Ford)  Nealy,  dau.  of  Addison  M.  and  Jul 
(Mansfield)  Ford;  m.  Irvin  M.  Nealy  1906.  Has  taught  I 
terms.     (See  Ford  family). 

Mrs.  Lena  (Whitton)  Rice,  dau.  of  John  P.  and  Evalir 
(Pease)  Whitton;  m.  L.  C.  Rice  1898.  Teaches  at  the  Comer 
(See  Whitton  family). 

Emma  Luella  (Lane)  Votey,  b.  Aug.  13,  1860.  Fitted  f( 
college  at  Burlington  High;  entered  class  of  '83  U.  V.  M.,  r 
maining  two  years;  studied  music  in  N.  Y.  and  Burlington  '& 
'85.     Taught  music;  m.  Prof.  J.  W.  Votey  of  U.  V.  M. 

*Byron  Olin  White,  b.  July  17,  1848.     Fitted  for  collej 
at  Essex;  graduated  U.  V.  M.  '73;  Prof,  of  Natural  Scien( 
Dickinson  Seminary,  Pa.,  and  Western  College,  lo. ;  ass't.  chen 
ist  Vt.  Experiment  Station  15  years;  to  Whittier,  Cal.  1905; 
there  July  20,  1909. 

Pbop.  Joseph  S.  Cilley. 


By  H.  B.  Chittenden. 

Among  the  names  of  leading  citizens  of  Jericho  that  of 
Joseph  S.  Cilley  stands  out  prominently.  He  was  born  in  Hop- 
kinton,  N.  H.,  in  Dec,  1815.  When  Joseph  was  a  small  boy,  his 
father  removed  to  Jericho,  Vt.,  and  settled  on  a  small  farm  on 
Lee  River,  where  he  spent  his  boyhood  with  but  few  educational 
advantages.  He  spent  his  days  following  the  plow  and  perform- 
ing the  other  duties  incident  to  farm  life,  and  his  evenings,  often 
far  into  the  night,  in  studying  mathematics,  and  Latin  and 
Greek,  and  without  an  instructor  he  thoroughly  mastered  algebra, 
geometry,  and  all  of  the  Latin  and  Greek  required  for  admission 
to  any  of  the  New  England  Colleges,  and  the  thoroughness  of 
his  work  is  attested  by  the  high  standing  of  the  students  he  sent 
to  Yale  and  other  colleges.  His  early  ambition  was  to  become 
a  lawyer,  and,  in  order  to  obtain  means,  he  commenced  teaching 
while  quite  young.  When  he  was  24  years  of  age  he  married 
Albina  Crane,  which  step  probably  changed  the  whole  course 
of  his  life.  Not  long  after  his  marriage  he  went  to  Ohio,  where 
he  taught  for  a  short  time,  intending  to  study  law  later,  but 
finally  decided  to  return  to  Vermont  and  make  teaching  his  life 
work.  For  a  time  he  with  the  assistance  of  his  wife  taught  a 
select  school  in  a  house  formerly  occupied  by  Joseph  Kingsbury. 
Here  was  laid  the  foundation-  of  what  was  afterwards  called 
Underbill  Academy.  He  remained  in  Underbill  until  1852  when 
he  went  to  Underbill  Center,  where  he  taught  successfully  for 
five  years,  the  school  at  times  numbering  over  120  pupils.  In  1858 
he  was  called  to  Williston  as  principal  of  the  academy  there, 
which  position  he  successfully  filled  for  ten  years,  building  up  a 
large  school  and  fitting  students  for  nearly  all  of  the  New 
England  Colleges.  While  he  was  in  Williston  the  University 
of  Vermont  gave  him  the  honorary  degree  of  A.  M.,  in  recogni- 
tion of  the  valuable  work  he  was  doing  in  the  preparation  of 
students  for  college. 

In  1868  he  was  called  to  Brandon  as  the  first  principal  of 
their  graded  school.  After  thoroughly  grading  the  school  he 
remained  as  its  principal  for  some  ten  years,  there  doing  perhaps 


some  of  the  best  work  of  his  life.  After  leaving  Brandon,  h 
returned  to  Jericho,  the  home  of  his  boyhood,  and  purchased 
pleasant  home,  intending  to  retire  from  his  chosen  professior 
But  after  a  few  months  he  tired  of  his  life  of  ease,  and  cor 
ducted  a  private  school  in  his  own  house  for  several  years,  thu 
ending  his  work  where  he  had  begun,  in  a  private  school.  Her 
many  grandchildren  of  the  pupils  of  his.  earlier  days  came  t 
get  the  benefit  of  his  large  experience  and  his  vigorous  but  salv 
tary  discipline. 

Mr.  Cilley  was  a  man  of  rugged  character  and  strong  wil 
a  veritable  Puritan  in  his  characteristics,  but  under  a  somewhs 
austere  and  stern  manner  was  a  tender  and  lovable  nature,  an 
to  those  who  knew  him  best  he  was  a  most  enjoyable  companio 
and  friend.  For  several  years  he  was  president  of  the  Chittende 
County  Teachers'  Association  of  which  he  was  one  of  th 
founders.  Under  his  leadership  the  association  did  exceller 
work  in  giving  to  the  teachers  of  the  county  a  higher  conceptio 
of  the  teacher's  vocation.  His  addresses  at  the  meetings  of  th 
association  were  always  strong  and  inspiring.  As  an  educate 
Mr.  Cilley  ranked  among  the  first  in  the  State  and  in  length  c 
service  surpassed  all  of  his  associates  in  his  profession,  havin 
taught  continuously  for  over  60  years.  A  fitting  close  to  th 
brief  story  of  Mr.  Cilley's  life  are  the  closing  words  of  his  obitt 
ary,  written  by  the  Rev.  A.  D.  Barber,  a  long  time  friend,  "A 
active  brain  and  sturdy  body  kept  him  at  his  chosen  professio 
until  his  last  year,  and  a  well  spent,  honored  life  was  his  rewai 
on  earth."  "He  had  faults  as  do  we  all,  but  no  one  will  gainsa 
our  words,  when  we  say  a  strong  grand  character,  and  a  goo 
citizen  has  gone  home,  who  always  used  his  teachership  as 
sacred  trust,  a  high  commission   from  Heaven." 

Chapter  V. 


Don  L.  Galusha,  b.  Nov.  17,  1881 ;  son  of  Rufus  B.  and  Myi 
(Wilson)  Galusha.  Graduated  at  Vermont  Academy  1900  ai 
at  Mass.  Institute  of  Technology  1904.    An  electrical  engine 


connected  with  the  Stone  and  Webster  Corporation,  Boston,  since 

Hobart  Hamilton,  b.  June  26,  1831 ;  son  of  J.  H.  Hamilton, 
graduated  U.  V.  M.  1853.  Civil  engineer  with  C,  B.  and  Q. 
R.  R.  'SS-'Se;  editor  at  Peoria,  111.,  '58-'63;  first  lieut.  102d  111. 
Vols.  '63-'65;  county  clerk  '66-'69;  master  in  chancery  '67-74; 
chief  engineer  S.  and  N.  W.  R.  R.  70-73 ;  chief  engineer  drain- 
age system  Mason  Co.,  111.  '85.    Address  Petersburg,  111. 

Don  C.  Hawley,  b.  at  Cambridge,  Vt.,  Oct.  12,  1866 ;  son  of 
Ira  and  Carrie  (Wheelock  ) Hawley;  moved  to  Jericho  in  1876. 
Graduated  Goddard  Seminary  '87  and  U.  V.  M.  '91 ;  with  Vt. 
Marble  Co.  at  Proctor  and  had  charge  of  their  exhibit  at  World's 
Fair;  since  with  a  construction  company,  now  called  the  Fiske 
Carter,  whose  headquarters  are  at  Worcester,  Mass.,  as  civil 
engineer;  located  at  Charleston,  S.  C. ;  has  erected  mills  and 
houses  in  the  South ;  m.  Nov.  5,  '04,  Albertine  Soule,  of  Fairfield, 

Vinson  K.  Nash,  b.  here  Jan.  13,  1847 ;  son  of  Daniel  C.  and 
Nancy  M.  (Kennedy)  Nash.  Studied  at  Essex  Classical  In- 
stitute and  Hyde  Park ;  technical  education  at  Worcester,  Mass., 
mining  technical  education  in  Pacific  Chemical  Works,  San  Fran- 
cisco; work  as  salaried  engineer  began  in  1869;  was  four  years 
assistant  in  an  engineering  firm  in  Worcester ;  four  years  in  city 
engineer's  office  of  that  city  in  charge  of  construction  of  sewer 
system  at  first  and  tl^en  of  streets  and  parks,;  one  year  engaged 
in  construction  work  upon  Hospital  for  the  Insane  at  Quin- 
sigamond  Lake;  six  years  in  charge  of  department  of  railroad 
construction  of  a  large  firm,  building  new  lines,  double  tracking 
old  lines,  rebuilding  bridges,  etc.,  preparatory  to  the  introduction 
of  heavier  rolling  stock  on  the  N.  Y.,  N.  H.  &  H.  R.  R. ;  one 
year  locating  and  constructing  engineer  on  the  Rock  Island  sys- 
tem, building  that  road  from  main  line  in  Minn,  through  N.  W. 
Iowa  to  Sioux  Falls,  S.  D. ;  since  1886,  excepting  one  year  resi- 
dent engineer  for  the  D.  &  H.  C.  Co.  rebuilding  their  line  from 
Plattsburgh  to  Lake  Placid,  has  been  in  business  for  himself  as 
designing,  constructing  and  contracting  engineer  on  work  all  over 
the  country;  some  of  his  Vt.  works  are  Winooski  sewer,  Essex 


Junction  water  supply,  Barre  and  Montpelier  Electric  R.  I 
Springfield  Electric  R.  R.,  Bellows  Falls  and  Saxtons  River  Ele 
trie  R.  R. ;  has  been  chief  engineer  of  about  1,000  miles  of  railroj 
work,  about  15  electric  lines,  40  reservoirs,  besides  bridges,  buil( 
ings,  sewer  systems,  water  supplies,  etc. ;  was  contractor  for  tl 
largest  Boston  reservoir;  also  for  foundation  of  Providen( 
terminal  station  on  N.  Y.,  N.  H.  &  H.  R.  R. ;  during  the  contrac 
ing  period  he  had  his  own  granite  quarries  and  did  everythir 
from  start  to  finish;  as  mining  engineer  has  examined  and  r 
ported  upon  2,000  claims,  gold,  silver,  copper  and  lead  prop( 
sitions  mostly ;  m  ( 1 )  Ada  S.  Humphrey  of  Underhill,  Mar.  1 
1871,  who  d.  Mar.  30,  1872;  one  son,  Curtis  H.,  b.  Mar.  1,  187 
a  contracting  irrigating  well  developer  in  Strathmore,  Cal ;  m.  (2 
Emma  L.  Guild  of  Boston,  Nov.  10,  1877,  who  d.  Dec.  9,  188^ 
three  children :  Charles  G.,  b.  Oct.  22,  1878,  assistant  to  the  chi« 
engineer  of  S.  P.  R.  R.  Co.,  Portland,  Ore. ;  John  H.,  b.  Jul 
26,  1880,  sup't.  of  machine  shop,  Vergennes,  Vt. ;  Ruth  A.,  1 
June  26,  1882,  graduate  nurse  Visalia,  Cal. ;  m.  (3)  Annie 
Aiken,  of  Woonsocket,  R.  I.,  Apr.  13,  1887.  Present  address 
Portersville,  Cal. 


George  H.  Howe,  b.  Feb.  9,  1888;  son  of  Fred  W.  and  Clai 
(Collins)  Howe.  Graduated  High  School  Proctor,  19W 
graduated  U.  V.  M.  Agr.  Dept.,  1910;  ass't  horticulturist  at  > 
Y.  Agricultural  Experiment  Station,  Geneva,  N.  Y. 

Chapter  VI. 


The  following  list  of  such  is  intended  to  be  complete.  Fc 
particulars  of  those  who  became  clergymen,  lawyers,  physician 
teachers  or  engineers,  the  reader  is  referred  to  the  lists  of  sucl 
The  order  followed  is  that  of  class  years. 


*Thomas  Chittenden  1809;  lawyer. 
*Rev.  Samuel  Lee  1831 ;  clergyman. 

*  George  Blackburn  1838;  teacher. 
*George  L.  Lyman  1841 ;  physician. 

*  James  Smedley  Blackburn  1844;  b.  July  23,  1819;  brother 
of  George.  Taught  in  public  schools.  New  Orleans;  police  of- 
ficer N.  Y.  City ;  flour  and  grain  merchant ;  d.  East  Orange,  N.  J., 
July  24,  1891. 

Hobart  Hamilton  1853 ;  engineer. 

Washington  Spencer  Cilley  1867;  lawyer. 

*Henry  Homer  Douglass  1870;  b.  Dec.  2,  1846.  Manager 
Minneapolis  Mill  Company;  d.  Jan.  10,  1877. 

*Byron  Olin  White  1873 ;  teacher. 

Louis  Shaw  1874;  b.  Mar.  29,  1851.  Ass't.  manager  Mich. 
Central  R.  R.,  Niles,  Mich. 

Rufus  W.  Bishop  1877;  physician. 

*Jed  Samutel  Lane  1886 ;  b.  Feb.  8,  1865.  Railway  engineer 
in  Wis.  and  Tenn. ;  manager  lumber  business ;  d.  Murphy,  N.  C, 
Aug.  2,  1890. 

Earl  M.  Wilbur  1886;  clergyman. 

*Buel  C.  Day  1888 ;  teacher. 

Carleton  Hazen  1888;  clergyman. 

*Allen  Hazen  1888 ;  physician. 

Frank  W.  Hazen  1890;  clergyman. 

William  Hazen  1893;  clergyman. 

Robert  Hazen  1896;  physician. 

Tracy  E.  Hazen  1897 ;  teacher. 

Bingham  H.  Stone  1897 ;  physician. 


Theodore  B.  Williams  1909.    In  business  at  Jericho. 

Olive  L.  (Hayden)  Janes  1910;  m.  Donald  M.  Janes  of 
Richford,  Oct.  8,  1914. 

George  H.  Howe  1910;  horticulturist. 

Hovey  Jordan  1912;  post-graduate  student  at  Harvard. 




*Samuel  Augustus  Lee  1835. 

*Edwin  Blackman  1837;  b.  1814.  Merchant;  settled  early 
in  Chicago;  real  estate  business;  d.  in  Chicago. 

*  Albert  Clark  Spalding  1841 ;  b.  1823.  Merchant;  d.  at  So. 
Orange,  Mass.,  Aug.  31,  1847. 

*Henry  A.  Smalley  1853;  b.  Feb.  28,  1834;  son  of  Judge 
David  A.  At  West  Point,  '50-'53 ;  Col.  5th  Vt.  Vols. ;  captain 
2nd  artillery,  U.  S.  A. ;  d.  N.  Y.,  May  13,  1888. 

George  Parmalee  Ranslow  1856;  b.  Aug.  12,  1832.  Mer- 
chant and  farmer;  in  1st  Iqwa  Vol.  cavalry. 

*Edwin  W.  Bartlett  1865 ;  physician. 

Chauncey  Langdon  Church  1865;  b.  Feb.  28,  1841.  Private 
2d  Vt.  Vol.;  killed  in  action  at  Banks'  Ford,  May  4,  1863. 

Emma  L.  (Lane)  Votey  1883 ;  teacher. 

Charles  Edwin  Douglas  1886 ;  b.  Sept.  12,  1859.    In  Texas. 

Don  C.  Hawley  1891 ;  civil  engineer. 

Ernest  James  Spalding  1892 ;  b.  Dec.  30,  1868.  Wholesale 
grocer,  Burlington. 

Rolla  Williams  Brown  1906. 

Marjory  A.  Hayden  1916. 


AT  PRESENT  IN  U.  V.  M. : 

Helen  M.  Chapin   1917. 

Reginald  G.  Hawley  1917. 

Chauncey  Harold  Hay  den   1917. 

Coletta  Barrett   1918. 

Mildred  M.  Chapin  1918. 

Wendell  J.  Hayden   1918. 

Robert  Casey  1919. 

Lloyd  Hulburd  1919. 

Ina  Irish  1919. 

Wilhelm  Schillhammer  1919. 


Clara  P.  Barnum  1917. 

Carl  H.  Moulton  1917. 


*Jedediah  Lane,  Jr.  1794;  teacher. 
Frederick  L.  Kingsbury  1875;  clergyman. 
*Stephen  G.  Emerson  1887;  clergyman. 
George  Byron  Kingsbury  1889;  teacher. 


*Heman  Rood  1819;  clergyman. 
*Calvm  Butler  1824 ;  clergyman. 
*Anson  Rood  1825 ;  clergyman. 


*Eugene  J.  Ranslow  1866 ;  clergyman. 

Alice  W.  Barnum  1912 ;  teacher.     Resides  at  Jericho  Center 

Blanche  Bostwick  1912;  teacher;  m.  Nov.  '14,  Dr.  Clarence 
A.  Bonner.     Resides  at  Skinner,  Me. 


Don  L.  Galusha  1914 ;  civil  engineer. 


Anna  E.  Warner  1869;  clerk  Treasury  Dep't.,  Washington, 
D.  C,  71 -'82.    Resides  at  Jericho  Center. 

Maria  B.  Humphrey  1874;  m.  Lucius  R.  Hazen;  five  chil- 
dren.   Resides  at  Middletown,  Ct. 


*Mary  A.  Elliot  1854;  d.  at  Jericho,  April  3,  1870. 

*Almira  F.  Elliot  1862;  m.  Rev.  Austin  Hazen  1881;  d. 
at  Montpelier  Oct.  26,  1899. 

Jennie  G.  Warner  1862 ;  m.  *Hiram  S.  Hart  1871 ;  teacher, 
nurse,  librarian ;  one  dau.  who  died  at  three  years  of  age.  Re- 
sides at  Jericho  Center. 

Harriette  R.  Hovey  1880 ;  m.  *Charles  F.  Higgins  1892 ;  mu- 
sic teacher;  social  worker;  one  son  who  died  at  three  years  of 
age.    Resides  at  Jericho  Center. 


Ora  Wilson  Galusha  1906;  has  done  secretarial  work  with 
the  Economic  Club  of  Boston  and  the  New  England  Tel.  &  Tel. 
Co.     Resides  at  Winchester,  Mass. 



A.  F.  Burdick,  practitioner  for  forty  years  in  Underbill  and 
Jericho.     See  genealogy. 

Merritt  O.  Eddy,  b.  in  Townsbend,  Feb.  26,  1877;  son  of 
Willard  H.  and  Mary  (Lakin)  Eddy.  Graduated  Leland  and 
Gray  Seminary,  '96,  and  Tufts  Medical  1905.  Practiced  in 
Readsboro  five  years  and  in  1911  purchased  tbe  practice  of  Dr. 
H.  D.  Hopkins;  m.  in  1904  Mildred  D.  Hooper  of  Wakefield, 
Mass. ;  two  children. 

George  B.  Hulburd,  b.  in  Waterville,  Feb.  6,  1862;  son  of 
Benjamin  F.  and  Juliana  (Miller). Hulburd.  Attended  Lamoille 
Central  Academy;  graduated  U.  V.  M.  Medical  '85.  In  '90  took 
course  in  N.  Y.  Post-Graduate  Medical  School,-  practiced  in 
Waterville  and  in  18^  located  in  Jericho,  where  for  over  twenty 
years  he  has  followed  his  profession ;  m.  in  1886  Anna  L.  Patch 
of  Johnson,  who  d.  May  31,  '87;  m.  July  11,  '92,  Mary  E.  Flagg, 
dau.  of  Dr.  R.  L.  Flagg  of  Jeffersonville ;  one  son  Lloyd  F.,  b. 
Oct.  9,  1896,  and  is  now  in  U.  V.  M.;  health  officer  since  1903; 
has  served  on  board  of  Visiting  Physicians  and  on  board  of  Con- 
sulting Surgeons  at  the  Mary  Fletcher  Hospital. 

Frank  B.  Hunt,  b.  in  Fairfax,  Sept.  27,  1885;  son  of  Ira 
E.  and  Charlotte  (Ballard)  Hunt.  Studied  at  New  Hampton 
Institute  in  Fairfax,  Vermont  Academy  one  year,  and  Bellows 
Free  Academy,  Fairfax,  graduating  in  1906;. three  years  at  U. 
V.  M. ;  graduated  U.  V.  M.  Medical  1913;  course  in  a  Boston 
Hospital;  began  practice  at  the  Flats  Oct.,  1913;  m.  June  23, 
1914,  Katherine  L.  Boughton  of  Easton,  N.  Y. 

W.  Scott  Nay,  b.  in  Milton  Dec.  12,  1850.  (See  Nay  fam- 


Chapter  VII. 


The  reader  is  referred  to  Mr.  Wilbur's  historical  account 
and  also  to  his  Charter  Day  address,  both  in  this  volume,  for  the 
progress  of  education  in  town  and  for  valuable  notes  upon  the 
old  Jericho  Academy.  But  it  seems  well  to  present  by  itself 
for  the  sake  of  fuller  knowledge  and  reference  some  material  in 
regard  to  the  academy  which  has  been  published  elsewhere. 

The  academy  building  itself,  located  on  the  south  side  of 
the  park  at  the  Center  and  now  used  by  the  Congregational 
Church  undo-  the  name  of  a  parish  house,  Mr.  Wilbur  tells  us 
was  erected  m  1825.  It  was  not  till  March,  1827,  that  the  school 
was  successfully  operated.  Under  the  management  of  Simeon 
Bicknell  it  became  the  best  in  this  part  of  the  state. 

Dr.  George  Lee  Lyman  in  Hemewway's  Gazetteer  gives  the 
following  estimate  of  this  teacher: 

"Rev.  Simeon  Bicknell,  A.  M.,  educated  at  Dartmouth  Col- 
lege, was  many  years  a  teacher  of  the  old  stamp,  nearest  to  my 
idea  of  the  celebrated  masters  of  the  great  English  schools.  A 
scholar  must  obey  implicitly,  and  learn  all  it  was  reasonable  to 
ask  of  him,  or  emigrate — no  half-way  measures.  He  did  not 
think  it  reasonable  to  ask  us  little  boys  to  learn  much. 

Mr.  Bicknell  was  very  much  afflicted  with  sick  headaches, 
sometimes  so  severely  as  to  disqualify  him  for  business  for  a 
fortnight.  This  had  a  great  effect  upon  his  temper,  discourag- 
ing him  generally  and  making  him  restless  and  discontented  with 
what  he  was  doing.  He  taught  Jericho  Academy  five  years 
with  rapidly  increasing  popularity,  when,  tempted  by  more  bril- 
liant promises,  he  removed  to  Malone,  N.  Y.  The  disastrous 
consequences  of  his  headache  followed  him,  year  to  year,  from 
one  change  to  another,  till  in  1844  he  went  to  Wisconsin  to  find 
a  home  for  his  growing  family.  After  being  employed  sometime 
surveying,  again  becoming  discouraged,  he  came  to  Milwaukee 
on  his  way  to  the  East.  Hon.  William  A.  Prentiss,  who  had 
also  been  a  Jericho  man,  meeting  him  and  learning  his  discourage- 

The  Old  Academy,  Jericho  Centeb  and  the  New 
High   School  Building. 


presence  of  Him  to  whom  in  the  presence  of  his  school  he  daily 
offered  his  morning  prayer. 

"My  third  and  last  teacher  at  the  academy  was  Mr.  James 
T.  Foster,  a  kind,  pleasant  man,  and  a  good  teacher.  Under  his 
management  the  school  prospered,  though  there  seemed  to  be  less 
interest  and  enthusiasm  than  before.  After  his  retirement  there 
was  but  little  permanence  in  instruction  at  the  academy,  and  the 
interest  of  former  days  began  to  decline.  Frequent  change  of 
teachers,  and  want  of  vim  in  some  of  them,  made  the  decline  so 
positive  that  even  the  return  of  Mr.  Bicknell,  the  first  able  prin- 
cipal, failed  to  restore  the  ancient  fame  of  the  academy.  Though 
he  was  the  same  able  and  efficient  teacher,  and  in  a  measure  suc- 
cessful, the  decline  continued  after  his  short  stay,  and  continuing 
still  through  years  of  struggle  for  life,  death  followed." 

The  catalogues  of  the  time  were  printed,  poster  fashion, 
upon  a  single  sheet.  That  for  the  fall  term,  ending"  Nov.  27, 
1835,  gives  a  formidable  board  of  trustees  consisting  of  22  gentle- 
men, headed  by  Rev.  Simeon  Parmelee,  Westford.  John  Boynton, 
A.  B.,  was  principal;  Amasa  M.  Brown  and  Orville  Wiggins, 
assistant  pupils.     I  transcribe  the  names  of  the  students: 


Mary  Ann  Adams,  Jericho 

Eliza  Ann  Blackman Jericho 

Caroline  French  Belmont,  N.  Y. 

Charlotte  B.  Gibbs , Jericho 

Fidelia  U.  Graves  Jericho 

Lydia  Griffin Jericho 

Mary  E.  Hale Jericho 

Esther  Howe   Westford 

Charlotte  A.  Parmelee  Westford 

Adaline  H.  Parmelee Westford 

Martha  M.  Reed Jericho 

Mary  Reed  Jericho 

Charlotte  L.  Rockwood  Jericho 

Hannah  M.  Richardson  Jericho 

Caroline  Richardson Jericho 

Matilda  Wells   Underbill 


Mary  Ann  Stiles  Jericho 

Electa   Terrill .Underbill 

Almira  B.  Whitten  . , Jericho 


Lovatus  C.  Allen  Richmond 

Ferdinand  Beach  Westford 

*Almon   Benson    Jericho 

John  Blackman Jericho 

Chester  A.  Blake   Milton 

Wells  Blackman Jericho 

*Amasa  M.  Brown Essex 

Milo  H.   Chapin    Jericho 

♦Joseph  S.  Cilley   Underhill 

Silas  B.  Day   Jericho 

Gilvin   Earle    Westford 

♦Jonathan  W.  Earle  Westford 

Heman  R.  Gibbs  Westford 

*Sanf ord  Halbert   Essex 

George  L.  Howe Jericho 

James  Humphrey   Jericho 

♦Nelson  L.  Janes   Berkshire 

♦John  A.  Kasson Charlotte 

Robert  G.  Keniston   Jericho 

Lucius  L.  Lane  Jericho 

♦William  G.  Lacey Wheatland,  N.  Y. 

Daniel  B.  Lee Jericho 

Wallace  E.  Munson   Colchester 

Horace  W.  Parmelee Westford 

Horace  Reed Jericho 

George  Rich  Charlotte 

Sumner  Rockwood   Jericho 

Samuel  Rice Westford 

Francis  M.  Rublee Berkshire 

♦Paraclete   Sheldon Underhill 

Thomas  N.  Skinner Stockholm,  N.  Y. 

Chauncey  C.  Skinner  Jericho 

♦Albert  C.  Spaulding Jericho 


Horace  R.  Stebbins Jericho 

*  John  G.  K.  Truair,   Cambridge 

Thomas  S.  Truair  Cambridge 

♦Lester  Warren  Fletcher 

Torrey  E.  Wales  Westford 

*Orville  Wiggins Essex 

Kendal  Williams    Richmond 

John  Williams    < Richmond 

DeForest   Weed    Sheldon 

Ladies,  19. — gentlemen  42. — *In  languages  14. — ^Total  61. 

Expenses — Tuition  for  common  English  branches,  $3.00  per 

Tuition  in  the  Languages,  $3.50  per  quarter. 

"The  winter  term  of  this  academy  will  commence  December 
7. — Spring  term,  March  14,  summer  term,  June  6.  The  Trustees 
of  this  institution  feel  gratified  in  being  able  to  give  so  flattering 
an  account  of  the  situation  of  the  school,  and  would  assure  the 
jpublic  that  no  exertions  on  their  part  will  be  spared  to  maintain 
its  usefulness  and  reputation. 

"In  addition  to  the  usual  advantages  enjoyed  in  schools  of 
this  nature,  there  is  connected  with  this  institution  a  library, 
amply  sufficient  to  supply  all  students  with  text-books  at  a  trifling 

"It  is  desirable  that  those  who  intend  to  become  members  of 
the  school  the  next  term,  should  enter  at  the  commencement,  as 
classes  in  the  principal  branches  taught  will  then  be  organized, 
and  those  who  enter  afterwards  will  be  expected  to  join  classes 
already  formed. 

"Board  may  be  obtained  in  good  families,  including  room, 
washing,  lights,  etc.  from  $1.00  to  $1.25  per  week. 

"The  retirement  of  this  institution  from  scenes  of  dissipa- 
tion and  vice  render  it  a  desirable  resort  for  those  whose  object 
is  improvement." 

The  catalogue  for  the  term  beginning  Sept.  5,  1836,  names 
James  T.  Foster,  A.  B.,  principal.  The  number  of  students  was 
85,  of  whom  but  13  attended  the  year  before.  Their  names  fol- 



Betsey  M.  Bartlet Jericho 

Lucinda   Bartlet .Jericho 

Maria  Barber Jericho 

Eliza  A.  Blackman Jericho 

Mary   J.    Blackman    Jericho 

Sarah   C.   Bostwick    .Underhill 

Maria  S.  Buckley Cambridge 

Lucy  Crane    Jericho 

Laura  S.  Chapin  Jericho 

Lydia  I.  Galusha Jericho 

Charlotte  B.  Gibbs Jericho 

Lorain  GrifHn   Jericho 

Lydia  Griffin Jericho 

Frances  Hamilton Jericho 

Delana  Hard Jericho 

Sarah   Hutchinson    Jericho 

M.  W.  Hyde Waitsfield 

Hannah  M.  Jackson Westf ord 

Anna  Johnson   Jericho 

Julia  S.  Kellogg  Jericho 

Melissa   Lane    Jericho 

Lucretia  W.  Lee Jericho 

Charlotte  Lyman  Jericho 

Emily  Marsh   .Jericho 

Lydia  Nash   Jericho 

Jane   Parker Cambridge 

Fanny  Prouty Jericho 

M^ry  Reed    Jericho 

Caroline  Richardson  .Jericho 

Rosantha  Rockwood  Jericho 

Lavilla  Stiles   Jericho 

Sarah  S.  Stiles Jericho 

Aurora  S.  Tomlinson  Richmond 

Harriet  M.  Warner  Cambridge 


Lorenzo   Allis    Colchester 

♦Pliny  F.  Barnard Waitsfield 


*Orlo  Barnard   Waitsfield 

Joel  B.  Bartlet Jericho 

James  S.  Blackman Jericho 

Charles  Blackman Jericho 

John  W.  Blackman  Jericho 

Selim  F.  Blackman  Jericho 

Wells  Blackman    Jericho 

Henry   Brownell    Colchester 

*S.  Chamberlain   Underhill 

*Rufus   Childs Waitsfield 

Andrew  C.  Cummins  , Berkshire 

Thomas   Chittenden    Jericho 

Edwin  R.  Crane  Jericho 

♦Joseph  S.  Cilley Underhill 

Hosea  Douglas   Richmond 

Henry  Douglas Jericho 

Cassius   Douglas    Jericho 

Wm.   Frink    Underhill 

Elisha  Ford   Underhill 

Bradley  Fullington   Cambridge 

Rollin  M.  Galusha  Jericho 

Wm.  N.  Hodgins  Grand  Isle 

James  Humphrey    Jericho 

Wm.  Jemerson Cataraugus,  N.  Y. 

Edward   Johnson    Jericho 

Sylvanus  H.  Kellogg  Jericho 

Asa  Lane Jericho 

Lucius  L.  Lane  Jericho 

Edgar  Lane   Jericho 

D.  *B.  Lee  Jericho 

Seymour  Lyman   Jericho 

Charles  H.  Lyman   Jericho 

John   Messenger    Jericho 

Myron  Messenger .Jericho 

Ansel   Nash .Jericho 

*S.  N.  Parmelee Fairfax 

Benj.  Parker   Underhill 

James  Reed   Jericho 

Horace  Reed Jericho 


John  L.  Richardson   Jericho 

Martin  Richardson   Jericho 

Edwin  Rood  Jericho 

L.  (  ?)  W.  Rockwood Jericho 

♦Albert  C.  Spaulding Jericho 

Chauncey  C.  Skinner  Jericho 

*Earl  Smilie Jericho 

Francis  Smilie  Jericho 

John   Terrell    Jericho 

Robert   Tarbox    Jericho 

Ladies,  34. — gentlemen,  51. — *In  languages  8. — Total  85. 

Rev.  Edwin  F.  Wheelock  stated  in  his  remarks  at  the  church 
centennial  that  he  came  to  Jericho  Center  in  the  fall  of  1845  as  a 
teacher  in  the  academy,  though  Dr.  Lyman  says  it  became  ex- 
tinct in  that  year. 


Select  schools,  as  they  were  called,  were  conducted  by  var- 
ious teachers  after  the  close  of  the  academy  in  the  building  which 
it  had  occupied.  These  were  not  under  the  supervision  of  the 
town  school  superintendent  or  supported  by  the  town,  but  stu- 
dents paid  the  expenses.  The  editor  has  not  learned  when  they 
were  begim,  but  finds  that  in  1856  William  Trumbull  Lee  was 
teacher.  There  were  at  times  about  thirty  young  people  under 
instruction.  George  Kennedy  taught  about  1857,  his  sister  Betsey, 
being  assistant.  Frank  A.  Chapin  and  Chauncey  L.  Church,  who 
was  killed  in  the  war  in  1863,  have  been  mentioned  as  instructors. 
Warren  Mooney  served  in  the  fall  of  1864.  Henry  Wade,  Rev. 
Austin  Hazen,  Fred  S.  Piatt,  now  clerk  of  U.  S.  Court  at  Rut- 
land, in  1875,  Judson  Jenkins,  George  Henderson,  Mrs.  S.  N. 
Brownell,  Mrs.  Jennie  W.  Hart  two  terms  in  '80-'81,  Emma 
Lane  now  Mrs.  J.  W.  Votey,  Frank  E.  Garvin  in  '86-'87  and 
Miss  Frances  B.  Hill  in  '89-'90,  are  reported  by  diflferent  per- 
sons and  taught  approximately  in  the  order  given. 

At  the  Corners  Prof.  J.  S.  Cilley  in  '82-'83,  was  conducting 
a  flourishing  select  school  with  fifty  scholars,  and  continued  this 
work  for  several  years. 



By  Mrs.  J.  W.  Hart  and  S.  H.  Barnum. 

In  1905  a  considerable  number  of  young  people,  being  de- 
sirous of  attending  a  high  school,  were  going  out  of  town  for 
that  purpose  and  were  drawing  according  to  law  so  much  tuition 
money  from  the  town  that  the  idea  of  establishing  a  high  school 
in  Jericho  was  strongly  agitated.  It  became  warmly  advocated 
and  strenuously  opposed.  Mrs.  Ellen  H.  Mann,  a  former  super- 
intendent, had  advocated  it  in  her  school  report  of  1903.  Miss 
Alice  A.  Flagg  superintendent,  F.  G.  Pease,  F.  D.  McGinnis  and 
L.  C.  Stevens  school  directors,  were  prominent  in  behalf  of  the 
movement.  It  was  decided  that  a  school  should  be  opened,  and 
that  it  should  be  located  in  the  school  building  at  the  Center  upon 
the  second  floor,  which  had  been  used  for  a  hall.  In  September 
of  1905,  the  school  was  opened  with  Stanley  B.  Harkness  of 
Chicago,  a  graduate  of  Oberlin,  as  principal,  and  with  14  or  15 
pupils.  These  were  allowed  their  choice  among  three  college 
preparatory  courses,  viz. :  the  Classical,  Latin-Scientific  and  Eng- 

During  the  second  year,  Mrs.  Ellen  H.  Mann,  who  was  again 
superintendent,  said  in  her  report:  "As  to  the  high  school,  it  has 
proved,  under  the  thorough  and  systematic  tutorship  of  Princi- 
pal Harkness,  a  success  in  attainment  if  not  in  numbers.  .  The 
pupils  of  this  department  have  made  as  proficient  and  satisfactory 
progress  as  could  be  made  in  high  grade  schools  elsewhere." 

In  September,  1907,  the  high  school  opened  with  17  pupils 
under  Miss  Maude  M.  Tucker,  a  graduate  of  Middlebury  Col- 
lege. The  addition  of  a  course  in  book-keeping  seemed  to  meet 
the  wants  of  some  of  the  pupils,  especially  the  boys,  who  were 
not  hungering  for  a  knowledge  of  English  literature  and  the 
languages,  and  it  made  the  school  more  popular  with  such.  Mrs. 
Mann  speaks  of  Miss  Tucker's  eminent  qualifications,  pleasing 
personality  and  unbounded  enthusiasm  as  having  more  than 
realized  the  ambition  of  the  friends  of  the  school.  Mrs.  Mann 
regrets  the  lack  of  support  and  enthusiasm  from  the  town. 

The  first  class  to  graduate  was  the  class  of  1908,  which 
numbered  five:  Dessa  Bolger,  Blanche  B.  Bostwicsk,  Loraine  H. 


Ransom,  Frank  B.  Brown  and  Hovey  Jordan.  Two  of  these 
later  completed  a  Normal  School  course,  one  graduated  at  Mid- 
dlebury  College,  one  at  U.  V.  M.,  and  one  after  a  course  in  a 
Burlington  Business  College  became  a  prosperous  farmer  in 
town.  The  graduating  exercises  were  held  in  the  Congregational 
Church  in  June  and  addresses  were  made  by  Congressman  D.  J. 
Foster  and  State  Superintendent  Mason  S.  Stone. 

In  1909  the  school  increased  in  numbers  and  Miss  Mary 
Moran  was  employed  as  assistant.  As  graduation  time  ap- 
proached but  one  pupil  was  ready,  Bert  E.  Bliss,  but  by  reason 
of  his  scholarly  attainments  and  enthusiastic  spirit  he  was  a 
whole  class.  He  had  planned  to  enter  U.  V.  M.  in  the  fall,  but 
he  was  smitten  with  pneumonia  and  died  two  weeks  before  the 
day  set  for  his  graduation.  He  was  a  rare  spirit  and  his  sud- 
den death  was  a  shock  to  the  school  and  the  whole  community. 
No  public  exercises  were  held  at  the  clone  c  f  school. 

In  1910  there  was  but  one  pupil  to  graduate.  Miss  Carrie 
Rogers.  In  1911  Miss  Tucker  and  Miss  Moran  were  succeeded 
by  Miss  Harriet  Spooner  of  New  Hampshire  and  Miss  Catharine 
Henley  of  Richmond.  There  was  a  graduating  class  of  three: 
Mary  M.  Lynch,  Mae  E.  Eldridge  and  Wentworth  Bicknell. 

By  this  time  the  townspeople  had  come  to  regard  the  high 
school  as  a  success  and  as  an  institution  which  had  come  to  stay. 

In  1-912  Mr.  Edwin  T.  Maloney,  a  graduate  of  Middlebury 
College,  became  principal.  Miss  Henley  continuing  as  assistant. 
The  graduating  class  consisted  of  six:  Clara  P.  Barnum,  Irene 
Bolger,  Doris  R.  Brown,  Helen  M.  Chapin,  Lulu  R.  Pratt  and 
Pauline  Smith.  Superintendent  L.  E.  Prior  said,  "The  prosper- 
ity and  growth  of  the  high  school  continues.  During  the  year 
35  pupils  were  enrolled.  The  addition  of  the  physical  laboratory 
cabinet  to  the  equipment  of  the  high  school  has  been  of  great 

In  1913  a  class  of  four  was  graduated,  viz. :  Helen  Cash- 
more,  Carl  Moulton,  Paul  and  George  Casey. 

In  1914  the  enrollment  reached  42  and  a  class  of  eight  re- 
ceived their  diplomas :  Constance  R.  Jordan,  Mildred  M.  Chapin, 
Juna  M.  Walston,  Loretta  Barrett,  Coletta  Barrett,  Chester  Wal- 
ton, Herbert  Nattress,  Edward  Varney. 


Of  the  18  graduates  of  the  last  three  classes,  six  are  now  in 
college.  Another  member,  Constance  R.  Jordan,  would  have 
entered,  but  she  died  a  few  months  after  graduation. 

In  1915  the  graduating  class  numbered  nine,  the  largest  to 
date.  They  were:  Gretchen  E.  Allen,  Ina  V.  Irish,  Fannie  F. 
McGinnis,  Gladys  E.  Tomlinson,  Raymond  C.  Bicknell,  Robert  E. 
Casey,  Arthur  W.  Irish,  Arthur  G.  Pratt  and  Wilhelm  R. 
Schillhammer.  U.  V.  M.  awarded  scholarships  to  Ina  Irish  and 
Robert  Casey  for  excellence  at  the  final  examination.  The  en- 
rollment at  the  opening  of  the  fall  term  of  1915  was  30. 

Mr.  Maloney  remains  principal  of  the  school  and  Miss 
Katherine  Dewey  of  Royalton  is  assistant.  Principal  Maloney 
has  been  successful  in  having  the  high  school  placed  upon  the 
trial  list  of  schools  approved  by  the  New  England  College  En- 
trance Certificate  Board,  which  means  that  a  certificate  from  our 
school  admits  without  examination  to  any  New  England  college 
represented  on  this  board.  This  certificate  does  not  admit  to 
Harvard,  Yale  and  some  others,  but  does  open  to  16  colleges  and 
thus  places  the  school  upon  an  equality  with  some  larger  schools 
in  the  state. 




By  Eugene  B.  Jordan. 

As  tourists  and  visitors  drive  through  the  village  of  Jericho 
Center,  or  tarry  for  a  time  to  visit  friends,  it  is  almost  universally 
remarked  by  them,  "This  certainly  is  one  of  the  prettiest  country 
villages  I  have  ever  seen;"  and,  as  one  notes  the  beautiful  park, 
the  shaded  streets,  the  well  kept  lawns,  the  plain,  but  symmetrical 
and  trim  brick  church  with  its  white  spire,  a  landmark  for  miles 
around,  together  with  the  general  tidiness  of  the  business  and 
residential  property  of  the  village,  it  would  seem  that  the  en- 
thusiastic compliments  of  the  visitors  are  not  misplaced  or  unde- 

At  the  time  of  the  settlement  of  the  town,  its  geographical 
center  was  found  to  be  in  what  is  now  the  pasture  on  the  "Bishop 
hill  farm"  so-called,  now  owned  by  Brown  Brothers;  and  a 
settlement  of  six  families  was  made  at  that  place,  with  the  inten- 
tion of  locating  the  main  village  of  the  town  there;  but,  owing 
to  its  inaccessibility,  some  of  the  settlers  strongly  objected  to  its 
location  at  that  place,  and  Lewis  Chapin,  (the  first  town  clerk), 
who  owned  the  land  in  this  vicinity,  offered  to  give  four  acres 
for  the  village  "green"  or  "common,"  on  condition  that  the  village 
and  church  should  be  located  here.  His  offer  was  accepted,  and 
shortly  after  the  church,  the  store  and  other  buildings  were 
erected,  and  the  village  of  Jericho  Center  established  on  its 
present  site. 

In  the  ea,rly  part  of  the  town's  history,  Jericho  Center  was 
the  educational  center  for  a  large  surrounding  country;  the 
Jericho  Academy  for  many  years  being  the  principal  educational 
institution  in  this  part  of  the  county,  and  often  having  an  attend- 
ance of  over  a  hundred  students.  An  interesting  account  of  this 
old  academy  will  be  found  in  Part  5,  Chapter  7,  of  this  book. 


Thirty  years  ago,  the  present  beautiful  park  at  tljis  village 
was  a  rough,  unkept  country  "green,"  without  a  tree  or  shrub; 
many  of  the  houses  were  run  down,  unpainted  and  unattractive ; 
and  one  of  the  first  "village  improvements"  was  when  a  new 
resident  appealed  to  the  selectmen  of  the  town  to  compel  one 
of  the  tenant  farmers  living  in  the  village,  to  keep  his  pigs  at 
home,  instead  of  allowing  them  to  run  at  large  on  the  "green" 
and  in  the  neighbors'  dooryards.  The  present  beautiful  park  was 
ploughed,  seeded,  laid  out  and  trees  planted,  by  a  largely  attended 
"bee"  of  the  farmers  and  others  in  1885  under  the  direction  of 
the  following  named  committee,  appointed  for  that  purpose,  viz. : 
— Dea.  I.  C.  Stone,  Dr.  F.  H.  Cilley,  F.  S.  Ransom,  Gains  Pease 
and  H.  W.  Jordan ;  and  the  lovely  park  of  today  well  attests  the 
thoroughness  of  workers  and  committee.  As  will  be  seen  by  the 
above,  this  community  has  always  been  noted  for  its  public  spirit, 
and  its  neighborhood  co-operation. 

The  business  interests  of  Jericho  Center  have  never  been, 
and  never  could  be  very  extensive,  because  of  its  location.  Being 
situated  on  a  hill,  there  was  no  possibility  of  obtaining  water 
power  for  manufacturing ;  and  for  the  same  reason,  the  railroads 
were  built  on  each  side  of  the  village,  following  the  valleys;  and 
without  railroads  or  water  power,  there  was  little  chance  for  ex- 
tensive business. 

In  the  early  days  of  the  town's  history,  when  each  town  was 
largely  a  world  unto  itself,  producing  almost  entirely  all  the 
commodities  it  consumed,  there  were  several  small  industries 
located  in,  or  near  the  Center.         , 

Their  histories  are  interesting,  though  somewhat  obscure. 
There  follows  as  complete  an  account  of  the  same,  as  the  authors 
have  been  able  to  secure  from  the  older  residents,  and  the  town 

In  1823,  Eben  Lee  deeded  to  Edward  T.  and  Thomas  J. 
Hutchings  a  piece  of  land  on  Lee  River,  (at  that  time  called 
"Little  river"),  near  the  present  residence  of  Hiram  H.  Wilder, 
with  the  privilege  of  building  a  dam,  and  flooding  sufficient  land 
back  of  the  same  to  make  a  mill  pond;  and  shortly  after,  a 
woolen  mill  was  built  by  the  purchasers  on  this  spot.  In  1836, 
the  mill  was  owned  by  Nathaniel  T.  Stiles,  who  enlarged  it,  and 
fully  equipped  the  same  with  all  necessary  machinery  to  make 


woolen  cloth,  including  carding,  spinning,  weaving,  fulling  and 
finishing  machine's;  and  for  forty  years  or  more,  a  considerable 
business  was  done  by  successive  owners  of  this  mill ;  among  such 
owners  at  different  times  being  Truman  Galusha,  Hosea  Spauld- 
ing,  Horatio  B.  and  Edgar  A.  Barney  and  others.  In  1856  this 
property  was  sold  to  the  late  Lyman  Stimson  and  three  others ; 
and  later,  Mr.  Stimson  converted  the  mill  into  a  wagon  manu- 
factory and  wheelwright  shop  where  wagons  were  made  and  re- 
paired and  a  good  business  done  in  this  line.  This  business  also 
finally  declined  and  was  given  up.  Near  the  village,  on  the 
west  side  of  the  highway  between  the  present  residences  of  F.  M. 
Hoskins  and  S.  M.  Packard  was  located  a  tannery,  where  the 
cowhides  from  the  farms  of  the  community  were  tanned,  and 
converted  into  good  substantial  leather;  from  which  the  village 
cobbler  made  cowhide  boots  for  the  men  and  boys,  and  stout  and 
durable  shoes  for  the  women  and  girls.  And  proud  was  the 
boy,  and  happy  the  day  when  he  became  possessor  of  a  pair  of 
these  boots  with  red  tops  and  copper  toes.  This  tanyard  was 
established  by  Reuben  Rockwood  about  1830-1835,  and  was 
operated  until  the  early  '60s  under  successive  owners,  among 
whom  were  Augustus  W.  Dow,  Silas  Ransom  and  Hoyt  Cham- 
bers ;  and  by  the  way,  the  village  cobbler  above  referred  to  was, 
for  many  years,  Robert  Gibson,  whose  residence  and  shop  were 
just  west  of  the  Lee  River  bridge  near  the  residence  of  H.  H. 
Wilder.  At  a  later  date,  Marshall  Harvey,  who  lived  in  the 
house  now  occupied  by  Geo.  E.  Cunningham  at  the  "Center,"  was 
the  village  cobbler.  Mr.  Harvey  was  a  very  eccentric  character; 
one  of  his  peculiarities  being,  that,  although  he  made  boots  and 
shoes  for  others,  he  persisted  in  going  barefoot  himself  every 

South  of  the  village,  in  the  valley  near  the  present  residence 
of  John  Fitzsimonds,  on  land  now  owned  by  Edwin  S.  Ransom,  a 
brickyard  and  kiln  was  established  about  1835,  by  the  same  man 
who  founded  the  tannery  above  referred  to,  viz. : — ^Reuben  Rock- 
wood.  This  industry  continued  for  a  few  years  only;  and  it  is 
said  that  the  brick  for  the  Congregational  Church,  the  residence 
now  occupied  by  E.  B.  Jordan  and  other  buildings  in  this  vicinity 
were  made  at  this  brickyard. 


In  the  eastern  part  of  the  town,  along  Mill  Brook,  (called  in 
the  early  days  "Governor's  Brook,"  because  Governor  Chittenden 
owned  much  of  the  land  bordering  thereon),  were  several  differ- 
ent mills. 

On  the  farm  owned  by  Charles  Nealy  stood  a  small  grist 
mill,  doing  the  grinding  of  the  corn  and  other  grains  produced  in 
the  community ;  and  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  brook  was  a  small 
saw  mill  which  continued  in  operation  many  years.  These  mills 
were  probably  built  by  Jonas  Marsh,  in  1840-1850;  and  were 
later  owned  by  L.  Austin,  Wm.  Nealy  and  others. 

Nearer  the  village  on  the  same  stream  near  the  bridge  on  the 
highway  leading  to  the  present  home  of  Wm.  C.  Field,  a  shop 
was  built  by  Zanthy  Reed  in  1820,  called  a  "Clothier's  Shop," 
which  was  later  enlarged  and  owned  successively  by  John  Lyman, 
Daniel  Lyman,  H.  E.  Woodford,  R.  M.  Clapp  and  others,  and 
finally  by  Augustus  S.  Wood.  In  1845  this  factory,  then  under 
the  ownership  of  H.  E.  Woodford,  was  converted  into  a  starch 
factory,  where  the  farmers  of  the  town  used  to  sell  their  potatoes 
at  10  cents  per  bushel,  to  be  converted  into  starch.  Later,  under 
the  ownership  of  R.  M.  Clapp  and  J.  T.  Clapp,  the  plant  was 
again  changed,  and  made  into  a  "Rake  Factory"  where  wood  hay 
rakes  and  other  implements  were  made.  The  last  owner  of  this 
property  was  A.  S.  Wood,  who  for  many  years  manufactured 
small  wooden  ware  at  this  stand  until  in  1891  he  dismantled  the 
mill,  selling  the  real  estate  to  W.  C.  Field,  and  moving  the 
machinery,  &c.,  to  the  "Field  Mill"  at  the  "Corners"  village, 
where  the  business  was  continued,  and  is  now  being  operated  by 
W.  E.  Buxton  &  Co. 

In  addition  to  these  industries  there  were  two  or  three  saw 
mills  and  shingle  mills  in  the  east  part  of  the  town,  viz. : — A  saw 
mill  on  Lee  River  near  the  present  residence  of  John  Roakes, 
which  was  operated  for  many  years  by  Edgar  A.  Barney^  and 
later  by  J.  E,  Burrows  &  Son,  and  a  small  shingle  mill  at  West 
Bolton,  within  the  limits  of  this  town,  which  was  last  operated  by 
W.  C.  Guyette. 

It  will  be  a  surprise  to  most  readers  of  this  volume  to  khbw 
that  Jericho  had,  among  its  early  industries,  a  distillery ;  but  such 
is  the  fact.     This  distillery  was  situated  on  Mill  Brook,  near  the 


starch  factory  above  referred  to,  and  was  operated  for  some 
time  by  John  Porter  about  1820-'30. 

About  1874  a  Farmers'  Co-operative  Association  was  formed 
by  the  farmers  of  this  part  of  the  town,  for  the  purpose  of  manu- 
facturing cheese,  and  a  large  and  well  equipped  factory  was 
built  on  Mill  Brook  near  the  present  home  of  Mrs.  Gilbert  Para- 
dee.  For  many  years  under  the  efficient  management  of  Henry 
Borrowdale,  Nathfin  Benham,  Edwin  Humphrey,  Jesse  Gloyd 
and  others  this  association  did  a  large  and  profitable  business; 
until  the  advent  of  creameries  in  the  '90s,  for  making  butter 
seemed  to  furnish  a  more  profitable  outlet  for  the  milk,  and 
cheese  making  at  this  plant  was  abandoned. 

These  various  industries  have  all  ceased  operation.  Not  one 
of  these  buildings  is  standing.  Where  once  wheels  hummed  and 
men  worked  at  machines  to  supply  local  demands,  nothing  re- 
mains but  green  grass  and  decaying  dams. 

This  industrial  decline  was  wholly  caused  by  the  evolution 
of  the  manufacturing  industries  from  the  small,  local  mills,  em- 
ploying a  few  "hands,"  supplying  the  needs  of  a  neighborhood, 
to  the  centralized,  complicated  factories  making  goods  for  a 

In  1904  efforts  were  made  by  the  late  T.  L.  Bostwick,  to  re- 
vive the  manufacturing  industry  of  the  community;  he  having 
conceived  a  project  to  take  the  old  Universalist  Church  at  this 
village,  which  had  been  in  complete  disuse  for  many  years,  and 
convert  the  same  into  a  factory  to  make  wood  toys,  wash  boards, 
&c.  He  obtained  possession  and  ownership  of  the  property  from 
the  Universalist  State  Convention,  and  in  company  first,  with  Mr. 
James  Donnelly  of  Vergennes,  and  later,  with  Messrs.  Alfred 
Goodell  and  E.  H.  Enos  of  Salem,  Mass.,  he  bought  and  installed 
a  gasolene  engine,  machinery,  &c.,  and  began  the  manufacture  of 
the  above  mentioned  goods.  For  two  years  or  more,  they  did  a 
considerable  business,  employing  several  men,  and  selling  their 
product  to  several  large  firms  in  New  York  City. 

Later  the  partners  withdrew,  and  Mr.  Bostwick  continued 
the  business  alone  until  1910,  when  he  sold  all  his  property  to  Mr. 
E.  H.  Smith,  who  continued  the  business  two  years  longer,  and 
then  dismantled  the  factory,  sold  the  machinery  to  various  parties, 
and  sold  the  building  to  the  Ladies'  Aid  Society  of  the  Congrega- 


tional  Church  for  a  village  and  community  hall;  giving  them  a 
favorable  opportunity,  and  a  very  low  price  for  such  a  purpose. 

The  mercantile  business  at  the  Center  from  the  first  settle- 
ment of  the  town,  has  been  largely  done  by  one  store,  which  store 
has  been  doing  a  continuous  business  at  the  same  stand  for  over 
a  century.  We  refer  to  the  store  now,  and  for  the  past  thirty-one 
years  conducted  under  the  name  of  Jordan  Brothers;  by  H.  W. 
Jordan  and  E.  B.  Jordan  until  the  death  of  the  senior  partner  in 
1911,  and  since  then,  by  the  junior  partner. 

This  business  was  established  by  Pliny  Blackman  over  one 
hundred  years  ago;  and  was  afterwards  conducted  by  Frederick 
Fletcher,  Erastus  Field,  Henry  C.  Blackman,  Blackman  &  Lane, 
E.  H.  Lane,  Lane  &  Pierce,  E.  H.  Lane  &  Son  and  Joi-dan  Bros, 
in  the  order  named;  Judge  Lane  conducting  the  business  either 
alone,  or  with  others,  the  longest  period  (about  thirty-five  years) 
and  Jordan  Brothers  being  next  in  length  of  consecutive  business. 

The  first  business  done  was  largely  in  the  few  staple  groceries 
of  the  time:  tea,  molasses,  spices,  etc.,  and  "rum;"  Jamaica  rum, 
Holland  gin  and  other  like  products  being  a  large  part  of  the 
stock  in  trade. 

Mr.  Pliny  Blackman  used  to  "go  to  market"  once  a  year,  and 
made  several  trips  to  Montreal,  hauling  his  "barter,"  (wool,  grain, 
etc.),  to  Winooski  Falls.  Building  a  raft  below  the  falls  and  load- 
ing his  "barter"  thereon,  he  would  make  the  journey  by  raft  and 
sail  down  the  river  to  the  lake,  down  the  lake  and  the  St.  John's 
River  to  Montreal;  there  exchanging  his  "barter"  for  currency, 
and  buying  what  little  merchandise  he  needed,  he  would  return 
by  trail  and  road  to  his  home.  The  business  of  those  days  was 
almost  entirely  "barter";  the  farmers  exchanging  at  "the  store" 
their  wool,  grain,  eggs,  dairy  products,  etc.,  for  what  few  articles 
they  needed  and  did  not  themselves  produce.  For  many  years 
Judge  Lane  was  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  men 
iii  town ;  and  several  other  proprietors  of  this  store  have  been 
closely  identified  with  the  business  and  public  interests  of  the 

Because  of  the  lack  of  industries  and  public  utilities,  the  vil- 
lage has  always  been  small,  and  the  demand  for  mercantile  estab- 
lishments limited,  and  only  one  store  doing  business  much  of  the 


time.     At  times,  however,  there  have  been  two  stores,  and  even 
three,  doing  business  at  the  same  time. 

About  1850,  a  branch  of  the  New  England  Protection  Union, 
a  co-operative  organization  of  farmers  and  others,  for  co-oper- 
ative mercantile  business,  etc.,  was  organized  in  town,  known  as 
"Division  No.  116,  N.  E.  P.  U.,"  and  a  small  store  was  started  in 
the  shop  building  now  standing  on  the  farm  owned  by  L.  W. 
Eldredge.  In  1853,  the  Union,  with  John  T.  Clapp,  John  Cham- 
bers and  Orley  Thompson  as  directors,  bought  a  house  on  the 
south  side  of  the  common  at  the  Center,  then  owned  by  Horace 
A.  Dixon,  and  converted  it  into  a  store  building,  and  moved  the 
business  to  that  stand.  In  1857,  James  Bent,  W.  R.  Macomber 
and  Nathan  Benham  as  directors,  sold  the  property  to  John  Smith, 
and  a  new  organization,  known  as  the  "Jericho  Stock  Company," 
an  entirely  local  organization,  was  formed  to  take  over  the  busi- 
ness with  John  Smith  as  President. 

Later,  the  business  became  a  private  venture,  and  was  run 
successively  by  James  Morse,  Osman  Stimson,  Cyrus  C.  Lane, 
and  finally  by  W.  T.  Lee  and  T.  J.  Haskins,  under  whose  owner- 
ship the  goods  were  sold  out,  and  the  building  sold  to  Edmund 
Martin  in  1875. 

In  1890  Barton  W.  York,  who  had  been  for  a  year  previous 
clerk  for  Jordan  Bros.,  started  a  small  grocery  store  and  order 
route,  occupying  first  the  little  shop  building  on  the  Mary  Lyman 
premises,  and  later,  moving  into  the  little  building  just  back  of 
the  old  academy  building,  at  that  time  owned  by  T.  L.  Bostwick. 
On  the  death  of  Mr.  York  in  1894,  the  goods  and  business  were 
sold  to  M.  C.  Whitney,  who  conducted  the  business  until  1895, 
when  Messrs.  F.  A.  Fuller  and  E.  T.  Scott  purchased  the  same, 
continuing  until  1898,  when  Mr.  Scott  withdrew  from  the  part- 
nership and  Mr.  Fuller  went  on  with  the  business  individually 
until  1899,  when  he  also  retired,  closing  out  the  goods  to  Jordan 
Bros.  The  following  year,  Messrs.  A.  K.  Morse  and  F.  G. 
Pease  started  a  similar  store  at  the  same  stand  and  have  con- 
tinued the  business  until  the  present  time. 

In  1902  T.  L.  Bostwick  established  a  grocery  and  shoe  store 
in  the  front  part  of  the  large  building  he  had  erected  in  1898; 
operating  the  same  in  connection  with  his  painting  and  cabinet 
making  business  until  1905,  when,  desiring  to  enter  the  manu- 


facturing  business  heretofore  referred  to,  he  closed  out  the  goods 
to  Jordan  Bros. 

In  1914  F.  D.  McGinnis  bought  the  Bostwick  building  above 
referred  to,  put  in  a  stock  of  goods,  opened  up  for  business  and 
is  now  conducting  the  same.  In  addition  to  the  mercantile  in- 
terests at  the  Center,  there  are  other  industries  common  to  our 
country  villages,  viz. : — The  Borden  Condensed  Milk  Co.  of  New 
York  have  a  milk  receiving  and  cooling  station  at  this  village, 
where  the  milk  from  the  dairies  of  the  community  is  received, 
cooled  and  then  transported  to  the  central  plant  at  Richmond. 
They  also  have  a  small  feed  store  house  in  connection  with  the 
station,  from  which  they  supply  dairy  feeds,  etc.,  to  their  patrons 
and  others. 

F.  M.  Hoskins  is  the  present  "village  blacksmith,"  having 
had  a  long  line  of  predecessors  at  the  same  stand.  Dr.  M.  O. 
Eddy  is  the  present  village  physician,  having  located  here  in 
1911 ;  succeeding  Dr.  H.  D.  Hopkins,  Dr.  A.  S.  C.  Hill,  Dr.  F.  H. 
Cilley,  Dr.  A.  B.  Somers,  Dr.  F.  F.  Hovey  and  Dr.  Jamin  Hamil- 
ton, and  others  who  were  here  for  short  periods  of  time.  Two 
of  the  above  named  physicians.  Dr.  Hamilton  and  Dr.  Hovey, 
were  located  here  for  long  terms  of  service ;  Dr.  Hamilton  prac- 
ticing for  about  25  years,  and  Dr.  Hovey  for  over  twenty  years. 
Dr.  Somers  became  later  a  noted  physician  of  Lincoln,  Neb.,  and 
is  still  practicing  in  that  city. 

Mr.  F.  G.  Pease  has  been  the  undertaker  at  this  part  of  the 
town  for  some  years ;  doing  service  not  only  in  this  town,  but  the 
surrounding  towns  as  well. 

Mr.  F.  S.  Ransom  has  been,  for  fifteen  years  or  more,  the 
contractor  and  builder  for  this  vicinity,  employing  a  considerable 
force  of  carpenters  and  laborers  in  his  extensive  building  and  re- 
pairing operations  throughout  this  section. 

Mr.  I.  R.  Ballard  is  now,  and  has  been  for  several  years,  the 
painter  and  paper  hanger  for  the  community,  employing  part  of 
the  time  one  or  two  men. 

It  will  thus  be  seen  that  the  varied  wants  of  the  community 
are  well  provided  for. 

In  addition  to  the  business  interests  of  the  community,  it 
always  had,  and  still  maintains  those  religious,  educational  and 
social  interests  that  mean  so  much  to  any  village. 


The  Congregational  Church  at  the  Center  is  one  of  the  oldest 
church  organizations  in  Chittenden  County,  having  celebrated  its 
centennial  anniversary  in  1891 ;  and  maintaining  a  continuous 
work  for  nearly  125  years.  We  would  refer  you  to  the  chapter 
on  churches,  elsewhere  in  this  volume,  for  a  record  of  the  history 
and  work  of  this  church. 

The  schools  at  the  Center  include  all  grades  from  primary, 
to  college  preparatory ;  the  town  high  school  being  located  at  this 
village.  These  schools  have,  for  the  past  twenty  years  especially, 
been  doing  good  work,  and  have  maintained  a  high  record  of 
efficiency  and  scholarship.  We  refer  you  to  a  sketch  of  the  high 
school,  and  of  the  other  town  schools  elsewhere  in  this  volume, 
for  interesting  facts  concerning  them. 

A  Grange  was  organized  in  1909,  with  its  meetings  held  in 
this  village,  and  has  kept  up  its  work  to  the  present  time,  with 
success  and  growth. 

During  the  past  thirty  years,  the  following  new  buildings 
have  been  erected  in  this  village,  viz. : — The  schoolhouse,  parson- 
age, Jordan  Brothers'  store,  the  T.  L.  Bostwick  block,  and  the 
residences  of  A.  B.  Puffer,  A.  C.  Hoskins,  F.  S.  Ransom,  and  Dr. 
Eddy.  And  the  following  residences  have  been  so  completely  re- 
paired and  improved,  as  to  almost  pass  for  new  buildings,  viz. : 
residences  of  G.  C.  and  C.  C.  Bicknell,  Geo.  E.  Cunningham, 
Jordan  Bros.,  Mrs.  J.  W.  Hart  and  Miss  Warner;  besides  very 
considerable  repairs  and  improvements  on  almost  every  other 
building  in  the  village. 

It  will  thus  be  seen  that,  though  the  village  is  small  and  some- 
what isolated,  it  affords  many  attractions  for  residence,  and  has  a 
stimulating  history ;  and  that  it  has  performed,  and  no  doubt  will 
continue  to  perform  well  its  functions  as  a  benefit  to  the  material 
and  higher  interests  of  the  town. 


By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Jericho  Village  is  pleasantly  situated  on  Brown's  River, 
which  winds  its  way  nearly  westward  at  this  place,  and  is  on  the 
western  side  of  the  town  near  the  line  between  Jericho  and  Essex. 


Being  on  the  thoroughfare  from  Burlington  to  Lamoille  County 
and  the  northeastern  part  of  the  state,  and  •  possessing  excellent 
water  power,  the  village  grew  rapidly  in  its  early  days.  Saw 
mills,  grist  mills,  carding  works  and  woolen  mills  were  erected, 
utilizing  this  water  power.  Stores,  shops,  a  tavern  and  a  distillery 
were  erected.  Merchants,  mechanics,  millers,  lawyers  and  physi- 
cians found  a  place  for  their  activities. 

Merchants. — Old  inhabitants  say  that  one  John  Fassette 
was  at  an  early  day  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  in  the 
village,  but  the  writer  has  been  unable  to  ascertain  how  long  he 
carried  it  on.  A  short  time  previous  to  1824  William  A.  Prentiss 
and  Thomas  M.  Taylor  had  a  store  on  the  north  side  of  Main 
Street  just  below  the  Barney  Tavern.  This  firm,  and  later 
Prentiss  alone,  continued  the  business  till  1832,  when  it  was  sold 
to  Frederick  Fletcher,  who  became  the  owner  of  the  store 
building  now  occupied  by  E.  B.  Williams.  Till  1843  Fletcher  did 
a  thriving  business,  and  largely  on  credit.  The  credit  method 
was  a  matter  of  necessity,  as  the  farmers  had  Uttle  money  to 
pay  down  for  goods  and  made  a  practice  of  settling  twice  a  year, 
in  October  with  cattle  and  in  January  with  grain.  These  were 
times  when  merchants  kept  on  hand  rum  and  molasses  to  please 
their  customers  and  make  large  profits. 

George  B.  Oakes  before  1845  was  keeping  a  store  in  a  part 
of  his  house  now  occupied  by  Mrs.  W.  W.  Ring.  Bliss  and  Oakes 
carried  on  the  same  line  of  business  awhile  on  the  east  side  of 
the  highway  east  of  the  Barney  Tavern  in  a  house  burned  in 
1906.  In  1845  George  B.  Oakes  bought  the  Fletcher  store. 
Oakes  and  George  H.  Peck  formed  a  partnership,  and  were  suc- 
ceeded by  Oakes  alone,  in  1852  by  L.  J.  Bliss  and  Co.,  in  1855  by 
a  union  store  carried  on  by  Spaulding  and  Blodgett  till  1857,  and 
two  years  more  by  George  B.  Oakes  and  James  Morse.  Then 
the  union  business  was  closed  out,  and  there  followed  Orson  H. 
Shaw  till  about  1864,  A.  B.  Remington  till  1869,  George  H. 
Hill  till  1871,  L.  P.  Carleton  till  1874,  Vespasian  Leach  till  1882, 
Frederick  Simonds  till  about  1890.  Since  then  E.  B.  Williams 
has  dealt  in  general  merchandise  in  this  so-called  Fletcher  store. 

On  the  south  side  of  Main  Street  opposite  the  Barney  Tavern 
several  dififerent  parties  have  successfully  carried  on  business. 
A  large  storehouse  standing  there  was  in  1848  fitted  up  as  a  store 


by  Erastus  Field  and  Ferdinand  Beach.  The  successive  firms  at 
this  place  after  Field  and  Beach  were  Beach  and  (L.  B.)  Howe 
from  about  1852  till  about  1866,  Henry  M.  Field  and  Hira  A. 
Percival  till  about  1872,  John  A.  Percival  and  Edwin  E.  Oakes 
till  about  1874,  when  the  store  and  goods  were  destroyed  by  fire. 
About  1881  Wareham  N.  Pierce,  who  had  been  in  trade  at  the 
Center,  built  a  large  store  on  the  same  ground  and  carried  it  on 
till  about  1891.  Then  it  was  sold  to  The  Home  Market,  an  in- 
corporated company,  who  rented  to  Suter  and  Lamphire,  then 
to  Charles  S.  Suter,  who  carried  on  a  dry  goods  business  on  one 
side,  and  to  B.  A.  Donaldson  who  dealt  in  groceries  on  the  other 
side,  then  to  Donaldson  alone  for  his  grocery  business.  In  1903 
the  store,  D.  E.  Rood's  harness  shop  adjoining  on  the  east  and 
the  tin  shop  and  dwelling  house  of  Joseph  Bissonette  on  the  west, 
were  burned,  and  they  have  not  since  been  rebuilt.  When  Pierce 
built  the  store  he  finished  off  in  the  upper  story  several  rooms 
for  offices  and  a  Masonic  Hall,  the  latter  being  occupied  by 
Macdonough  Lodge  several  years. 

Other  Industries. — One  of  the  industries  of  the  village 
was  the  distilling  of  rum  and  the  manufacture  of  whiskey.  The 
distillery  was  erected  previous  to  1824  by  Thomas  M.  Taylor 
at  the  south  end  of  the  village  near  the  present  railroad  trestle. 
For  many  years  a  large  amount  of  rum  was  distilled  here.  Fred- 
erick Fletcher  became  a  part  owner  with  Taylor. 

From  first  to  last  blacksmithing  has  called  for  the  labor  of 
many  strong  men.  Subsequent  to  1856  Jesse  Door  and  Henry 
Parker  had  a  shop  across  the  street  from  the  present  store  of  E. 
B.  Williams.  E.  H.  Prouty  and  Hubert  Hebert  and  several 
others  have  followed  the  trade  in  the  brick  building  on  the  hill- 
side. John  Gerard  carried  on  that  business  for  H.  M.  and  Anson 
Field  in  connection  with  their  manufacture  of  pumps  and  tubing. 
In  the  shop  below  the  covered  bridge  I.  S.  Dubuc,  L.  P.  Carpen- 
ter, and  since  1906  Jed  T.  Vamey  have  worked  in  the  black- 
smith and  wheelwright  industry,  and  in  very  recent  days  the 
repairing  of  automobiles  has  been  added.  Carriage  painting  is 
done  here  by  Willis  Marsh.  Michael  F.  Martin  for  many  years 
maintained  a  wheelwright  and  repair  shop,  as  also  did  S.  A. 
Wright  at  this  village.  Louis  F.  Paradee  has  been  in  that  busi- 


Anson  Field,  Sr.,  for  many  years  before  1870  carried  on  the 
manufacture  of.  furniture  and  the  building  of  bridges.  B.  S. 
Martin  has  for  forty  years  served  the  community  as  a  jeweler, 
as  did  Albert  C.  Lowry  for  a  short  time.  Among  those  who 
have  followed  the  millinery  business  are  Thankful  Butts,  Mrs. 
Susie  Fassette,  Mrs.  Beulah  Barney,  Mrs.  Lucia  A.  Smith,  Mrs. 
S.  B.  Wells  and  Mrs,  Lucy  Martin.  Mrs.  Martin  has  been  thus 
engaged  for  more  than  thirty  years.  E.  H.  Carter  located  here 
as  dentist  about  1860,  but  after  three  or  four  years  removed  to 
Burlington.  Milton  Ford  about  1840  established  an  iron  foundry 
east  of  the  village  on  the  Lee  River  road  where  he  made  iron 
castings  and  did  all  kinds  of  work  usually  done  in  a  foundry,  and 
he  was  succeeded  by  his  son,  Addison  M.  Ford,  who  continued 
the  business  till  about  1890. 

Harness  making  and  repairing  was  done  for  many  years  by 
Orlin  Rood  in  his  shop  located  across  the  street  from  the  Barney 
Tavern.  The  shop  was  burned  in  1874  but  rebuilt  in  1875,  and 
Mr.  Rood  continued  in  the  business  till  his  death  in  1881.  His 
son,  D.  E.  Rood,  who  had  been  his  partner,  then  became  sole 
proprietor.  In  1903  he  was  burned  out  and  now  occupies  a  shop 
adjoining  his  dwelling  house  near  the  railroad  station.  Peter 
Gomo,  who  had  worked  for  the  Roods,  set  up  business  for  him- 
self in  the  building  formerly  the  law  office  of  L.  F.  Wilbur,  and 
his  son,  Ernest,  has  continued  it  since  the  father's  death  in  1909, 
but  has  removed  to  a  house  near  the  depot. 

A  creamery  has  been  maintained  opposite  the  station  since 
1898.  Y.  G.  Nay  erected  it  at  that  time  and  operated  it  seven 
years.  After  changing  hands -several  times,  in  1915  it  was  pur- 
chased by  the  Jericho  Cooperative  Creamery  Company.  The 
dairymen  in  this  vicinity  have  found  it  a  convenient  place  to  dis- 
pose of  their  milk. 

A  tin  shop  has  been  maintained  here  by  Joseph  Bissonette 
for  nearly  50  years.  His  shop  for  many  years, stood  just  west 
of  the  old  Beach  and  Howe  store.  All  kinds  of  tin  ware  and 
sugar  utensils  were  manufactured  and  a  hardware  trade  con- 
ducted. Shoemaking  for  more  than  20  years  previous  to  1903 
was  carried  on  by  William  J.  Gibson.  S.  H.  Clark  followed  the 
business  here  about  1886. 


The  grocery  trade  as  a  separate  business  has  been  conducted 
for  the  past  35  years  at  dififerent  places  by  Harlow  N.  Percival, 
B.  A.  Donaldson,  Chesmore  Bros.,  E.  W.  Curtis,  H.  T.  Chase, 
and  now  by  Prank  E.  Hanley. 

Hotels. — The  hotel  of  the  village,  usually  called  "Barney's 
Tavern,"  burned  in  1904,  was  built  by  Truman  Barney  before 
1817  and  was  kept  by  him  for  a  few  years,  but  the  landlords  have 
been  numerous.  Among  the  first  were  John  Delaware  and 
Erastus  D.  Hubbel.  James  McNasser  for  several  years  before 
1852  was  its  genial  and  enterprising  host.  Soon  after  1852  the 
property  came  into  the  hands  of  Martin  C.  Barney,  and  it  was 
kept  by  him  and  his  wife,  Maria,  who  served  as  landlady  with 
great  tact  and  ability,  till  about  1870.  A  part  of  the  time  Julius  ' 
H.  Ransom,  their  son-in-law,  was  associated  with  them  in  the 
business.  After  1870  the  hotel  was  rented  to  other  parties,  then 
sold  to  Solomon  M.  Barney,  who  ran  it  a  year  or  two,  and  in 
1880  sold  to  Ferdinand  Beach.  He  thoroughly  repaired  it  and 
named  it  The  Beach  House.  It  was  leased  to  C.  N.  Percival, 
then  to  F.  D.  Gilson  for  about  three  years,  sold  to  J.  H.  May, 
who  conducted  the  house  till  1891,  then  leased  to  Zeph  Hapgood, 
who  ran  it  several  years,  and  then  sold  to  William  and  Olive  Fol- 
som.  Its  destruction  in  1904  removed  an  old  landmark.  In 
1905  Folsom  purchased  the  house  across  the  street  recently  owned 
by  W.  W.  Ring,  and  kept  it  as  a  hotel  till  he  died  in  1909.  Luther 
Prouty  opened  a  hotel  about  1865  in  the  brick  house  on  Church 
Street  where  Hiram  Tilley  now  lives,  and  ran  it  in  connection 
with  a  livery  stable  till  1867,  when  he  sold  the  property  to  L.  M. 
Stevens.  George  Foster  has  now  opened  a  boarding  house  on 
Mill  Street  that  accommodates  some  employed  in  village  industries 
and  also  travelers. 

Mills,  Factories  and  Water  Power. — On  Brown's  River 
are  seven  water  privileges,  six  of  which  have  been  utilized  in 
various  industries. 

Number  One  is  below  the  covered  bridge.  On  this  site. 
On  the  west  side  of  the  river,  Joseph  Sinclair  sometime  before 
1836  built  a  sawmill  which  did  a  flourishing  business  till  it  was 
carried  away  by  a  flood  in  1903.  The  successive  owners  were 
Truman  Barney,  Truman  Galusha,  L.  B.  Howe,  Henry  Parker, 
R.  M.  Galusha,  Alexander  McLane  and  Rodney  Barney,  George 


Wright,  Rodney  Barney,  Walter  Debuc,  E.  W.  Curtis  and  R.  M. 
Galusha,  and  E.  W.  Curtis.  While  Curtis  was  the  owner,  it  was 
swept  away,  and  the  site  was  sold  to  Joseph  H.  Williams  and  Co. 
On  the  opposite  side  of  the  river  were  three  buildings  below  the 
bridge.  The  upper  one  was  a  factory  for  the  manufacture  of 
woolen  cloth,  the  next  one  was  used  for  carding  wool  and  the 
third  one  for  cloth  dressing.  The  first  one  was  built  by  Mat- 
thew Barney,  the  others  by  Truman  Barney,  his  father,  all  of 
them  about  1820.  The  first  and  third  ceased  to  be  used  for  the 
purposes  intended  before  1856,  but  the  third  was  altered  for  card- 
ing wool  and  making  cider  and  was  so  used  till  about  1900.  The 
two  lower  buildings  have  been  taken  down.  The  factory  has 
been  used  as  a  store  and  tin  shop.  The  water  power  to  run 
the  factory  has  been  taken  from  the  dam  above  the  bridge  and 
that  used  in  the  lower  buildings  and  the  saw  mill  from  the  lower 
dam.  Since  the  saw  mill  was  washed  away,  its  site  has  been 
used  by  Joseph  H.  Williams  and  Charles  Laughlin  for  their 
granite  works.  Williams  died  in  1915.  The  firm  has  been  doing 
a  thriving  business. 

Number  Two. — Above  the  covered  bridge  is  the  excellent 
water  power  Number  Two.  At  an  early  period  a  cabinet  shop 
and  a  starch  factory  were  built  and  successfully  run  for  many 
years  by  Anson  Field,  Sr.  At  this  place  George  B.  Oakes  about 
1848  and  for  several  years  manufactured  starch  from  potatoes 
purchased  at  ten  to  fifteen  cents  a  bushel.  On  this  site  the  pres- 
ent grist  mill  known  as  the  Chittenden  Grist-  Mill  was  built  by 
James  H.  Hutchinson  about  1854.  (See  Chapter  on  Historical 
Jericho,  also  L.  F.  Wilbur's  address).  Hutchinson  sold  to  Clark 
Wilbur  and  H.  A.  Percival,  they  to  Beach  and  Howe,  and  later  it 
was  owned  by  L.  B.  Howe  alone.  Howe  installed  machinery  for 
making  flour  by  the  roller  process  and  it  was  one  of  the  first  mills 
in  New  England  to  adopt  that  process.  He  did  a  large  business 
in  making  flour  besides  custom  grinding.  Frank  B.  Howe,  son 
of  L.  B.,  about  1886  became  a  partner  and  upon  his  father's  death 
in  1899  succeeded  the  firm.  About  1904  he  sold  out  to  M.  S. 
Whitcomb  of  Richmond,  who  ran  the  business  till  1906,  when  the 
present  owner,  Charles  F.  Reavy,  purchased  the  property.  Mr. 
Reavy  is  doing  a  prosperous  business. 


Site  Number  Four  was  occupied  at  an  early  date  by  John 
Bliss,  who  built  a  stone  grist  mill  there.  This  was  the  second 
grist  mill  in  this  vicinity,  the  first  having  been  built  on  water 
privilege  No.  7.  It  was  run  as  a  custom  grist  mill  successively  by 
John  Bliss ;  Bliss,  Geo.  B.  Oakes  and  Truman  Galusha  in  com- 
pany; Geo.  B.  and  Wm.  E.  Oakes;  Wm.  E.  Oakes  and  O.  H. 
Shaw  until  about  1866.  Then  it  was  conveyed  to  Ferdinand 
Beach  and  L.  B.  Howe  and  then  to  Beach  alone,  and  fitted  up 
and  run  for  a  short  time  as  a  pulp  mill.  Later  it  was  leased  to 
Louis  P.  Carleton,  who  manufactured  wood  combs.  In  1877  Beach 
sold  out  to  Henry  M.  Field,  who  did  a  flourishing  business  in 
manufacturing  chairs  till  about  1883.  About  1891  A.  S.  Wood 
purchased  the  factory  and  began  the  manufacture  of  small  wood 
articles.  Three  years  later  he  was  succeeded  by  Warren  E.  and 
H.  W.  Buxton.  This  firm  manufactures  curtain  rods,  spindles, 
chair  dowels,  hubs  and  spokes  for  toy  wagons,  mallet  heads  and 
a  large  variety  of  other  articles  for  which  they  use  annually  150 
cords  of  white  birch. 

On  Site  Number  Five  in  the  early  history  of  the  village 
Simon  Davis  built  a  saw  mill  and  a  factory  for  the  making  of 
pumps  and  tubing.  This  business  was  greatly  enlarged  by  him 
and  his  son-in-law,  Henry  M.  Field,  about  1856,  and  was  still 
more  extended  by  Henry  M.  and  Anson  Field.  For  many  years 
and  till  about  1900  it  supplied  a  wide  territory  in  New  England 
and  Eastern  New  York  with  wooden  pumps  and  water  tubing. 
They  are  not  now  made,  as  iron  pumps  have  taken  their  place. 

On  Site  Number  Six  John  Oakes  before  1840  built  a  saw 
mill  that  has  been  operated  for  the  manufacture  of  large  quantities 
of  lumber  by  John  Oakes,  Wm.  E.  Oakes,  Hiram  B.  Fish,  H.  M. 
Field,  Anson  Field,  E.  W.  Curtis  and  Stephen  Curtis  successively 
to  the  present  writing.  On  the  south  side  of  the  river  H.  M. 
Field  about  1872  established  a  plant  to  supply  the  village  with 
water,  by  erecting  a  tower  and  using  the  water  power  at  this 
place  to  pump  water  from  Brown's  River  into  a  large  tank  placed 
in  the  upper  part  of  the  tower.  Prom  this  the  water  is  conveyed 
through  pipes  to  the  houses  of  the  village.  This  plant  was  soon 
after  transferred  to  Anson  Field  and  operated  by  him  till  his 
death  in  1913,  and  is  now  operated  by  R.  B.  Field. 


Site  Number  Seven,  known  as  the  Buxton  Mill  Privilege, 
has  an  interesting  history.  But  for  this  see  Buxton  family,  Wil- 
bur's Address  and  Historical  Jericho  in  this  volume. 

On  the  north  side  of  the  river  E.  B.  Williams  in  1910  built 
a  two  story  lumber  mill.  He  annually  manufactures  about  800,- 
000  feet  of  lumber. 

Schools,  Churches,  Etc. — The  learned  professions  and 
schools  are  treated  elsewhere  in  this  book.  In  the  center  of  the 
village  on  Church  Street  stands  a  large  two  story  Graded  School 
building  where  three  teachers  are  employed  to  instruct  the  chil- 
dren who  gather  there.  The  village  is  well  supplied  with  churches 
that  are  located  on  Church  Street.  The  Baptist  and  Methodist 
societies  have  each  a  fine  church  building  erected  in  1858.  The 
Congregational  Church  building  is  a  handsome  brick  edifice  on  a 
large  green  and  was  erected  in  1825  and  1826.  The  Congrega- 
tional and  Baptist  buildings  are  each  equipped  with  an  excellent 
church  bell.  Each  of  these  two  societies  has  a  resident  minister, 
and  the  Methodist  is  supplied  from  Underbill.  George  B.  Hul- 
burd,  who  came  here  in  1894,  is  the  resident  physician  and  a  prac- 
titioner of  recognized  ability.  Dr.  William  Cashmore  has  a  wide 
reputation  as  a  skilful  veterinarian.  L.  F.  Wilbur  is  the  only 
lawyer  here,  and  has  been  in  the  active  practice  of  his  profession 
since  1857. 

^  The  village  in  addition  to  its  public  buildings  and  places  of 
business  has  seventy-five  dwelling  houses  with  well  kept  lawns 
and  the  streets  are  lined  with  elms  and  maples.  The  cemetery 
at  the  rear  of  the  brick  church  has  many  fine  monuments  and  is 
admirably  cared  for  by  the  incorporated  Jericho  Cemetery  Associ- 
ation which  has  funds  for  that  purpose.  The  views  from  this 
spot  anfl  from  many  places  in  the  village  are  superb.  They  cover 
a  wide  range  of  territory  including  Mt.  Mansfield  and  Camel's 
Hump  on  one  side,  Mt.  Marcy  and  Whiteface  on  the  other,  vari- 
ous peaks  of  the  Green  and  Adirondack  mountains,  and  hills  and 
woods  and  farms  in  every  direction. 

The  Burlington  and  Lamoille  R.  R.,  owned  by  the  Central 
Vermont  and  operated  by  the  Grand  Trunk  R.  R.,  strikes  the  vil- 
lage near  the  east  and  west  ends.  The  station  accommodates 
not  only  the  people  in  the  immediate  vicinity,  but  those  at  Jericho 
Center,  the  east  part  of  the  town.  West  Bolton,  and  eastern  part 


of  Essex.  The  convenient  railroad  accommodations,  the  excel- 
lent churches,  the  good  school  and  the  abundant  water  power, 
which  might  be  utilized  to  a  much  larger  extent,  combine  with 
other  attractions  which  have  been  mentioned  to  make  a  strong 
inducement  for  people  to  come  hither  for  residence  and  for  busi- 
ness purposes. 


By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Whitcomb  &  Day  Store. 

The  most  important  business  stand,  in  the  past  at  least,  has 
been  the  old  white  store  commonly  called  the  Whitcomb  &  Day 
Store.  This  building  originally  was  a  tin  shop.  Then  it  was 
fitted  up  for  a  Union  Store,  with  Edward  S.  Whitcomb,  Sr.,  as 
agent.  Later,  however,  Mr.  Whitcomb  had  a  stock  of  merchan- 
dise of  his  own.  May  1,  1865  his  son  Edward  S.  Whitcomb,  Jr., 
formed  a  partnership  with  Buel  H.  Day  under  the  firm  title  of 
Whitcomb  &  Day,  who  continued  a  flourishing  business  for  many 
years,  their  annual  sales  often  exceeding  $60,000.  This  enter- 
prising firm  interested  themselves  in  other  lines  of  business  such 
as  manufacturing  cheese  and  later  operating  the  steam  mill  and 
kindred  activities. 

These  varied  interests  proved  to  be  the  means  of  support  for 
many  families  and  brought  to  this  community  much  other  busi- 
ness. For  a  further  description  of  the  cheese  factory  and  the 
steam  mill,  see  Day  genealogy. 

In  about  1880  Whitcomb  &  Day  sold  their  stock  of  merchan- 
dise to  L.  H.  Chapin,  who  continued  an  excellent  business  for 
10  years.  His  successor  was  Barney  Ell  Mead,  who  did  business 
only  a  few  years.  In  1894  C.  H.  Hayden  moved  a  stock  of  mer- 
chandise from  Essex  to  this  store,  where  he  continued  to  do 
business  until  1911,  when  he  moved  across  the  green  to  a  newly 
fitted  store  of  his  own,  where  he  still  continues  in  general  mer- 


chandise  business.  The  Whitcomb  &  Day  store  was  soon  oc- 
cupied again  by  John  A.  McKeefe,  who  at  the  present  time  is  en- 
gaged in  meat  and  grocery  business.  Few  business  stands  have 
been  so  widely  and  favorably  known  as  the  Whitcomb  &  Day 

The  Drug  Store. 

Early  in  his  practice  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick  fitted  up  a  Drug 
Store  opposite  his  residence,  which  for  several  years  was  con- 
ducted in  his  own  name.  Later,  however,  Dr.  W.  S.  Nay  be- 
came associated  with  him.  For  many  years  now  Dr.  Nay  has 
continued  the  drug  business,  at  one  time  having  had  as  a  partner 
Mr.  Leonidas  Hanaford,  and  later  H.  W.  Rockwood,  but  at  the 
present  time  Dr.  Nay  is  the  sole  owner.  About  eight  years  ago 
the  drug  store  and  contents  burned  to  the  ground.  Dr.  W.  S. 
Nay  in  his  usual  energetic  and  business  like  way  has  built  a  fine 
block  upon  the  original  site  and  is  continuing  the  drug  business 
at  the  present  writing. 

The  Thompson  Store. 

About  1886,  Mr.  Homer  Thompson  began  the  erection  of  a 
store  near  the  Underbill  line  and  the  railroad.  This  store  Mr. 
Thompson  stocked  at  once,  doing  a  considerable  business  in 
groceries  and  farmers'  supplies  of  a  very  general  variety,  includ- 
ing wagons  and  machinery.  Mr.  Thompson  soon  fitted  up  a 
building  for  tinware  and  hardware,  and  later  erected  a  com- 
modious grist  mill  just  across  the  railroad  track  and  yet  within 
Jericho  limits. 

Mr.  Thompson  thus  did  a  very  extensive  business  until 
his  decease  in  1895.  This  business  in  all  the  different  branches 
was  continued  by  his  administrator,  Thos.  W.  Thorp,  until  his 
decease  in  1899.  Mr.  Ira  W.  Thorp,  administrator  of  both  estates, 
gradually  closed  out  the  stock  of  merchandise,  tinware  and  hard- 
ware. Hulette  and  Grace  next  stocked  the  store  with  groceries 
and  a  general  line  and  continued  to  do  business  a  few  years. 
After  their  removal,  Mr.  Joseph  Bissonette  occupied  the  store 
a  few  years  with  a  stock  of  tinware  and  hardware.  C.  N.  Stygles 
then  purchased  the  store  property,  stocked  very  heavily  in  general 
merchandise  and  did  a  very  extensive  business  for  around  10 


years,  and  in  turn  sold  his  interests  to  Brown  &  Nay,  which  en- 
terprising firm  is  now  carrying  on  the  business. 

Mr.  Ira  W.  Thorp  as  administrator  continued  the  feed  busi- 
ness in  the  grist  mill  for  several  years,  selling  out  his  interests  to 
L.  H.  Pendleton,  who  greatly  improved  the  property  and  built  up 
an  extensive  trade.  Mr.  Pendleton  sold  to  J.  E.  Foster  who  is 
the  present  proprietor. 

E.  J.  Gallup  &  Son  succeeded  to  the  tin  and  hardware  busi- 
ness, building  up  a  fine  trade,  and  at  the  present  time  are  erecting 
a  new  block  to  care  for  their  growing  business. 

Thus  it  will  be  seen  that  various  business  enterprises  have 
been  gathered  around  the  Thompson  store,  which  has  proven 
central  in  fact,  and  almost  ideal  as  a  business  stand. 


Nehemiah  Prouty  was,  so  far  as  the  writer  knows,  Jericho's 
first  undertaker,  who  lived  and  did  business  on  Lee  River.  Tru- 
man Whitcomb,  however,  was  the  first  to  locate  at  Riverside, 
doing  business  only  a  few  years.  He  sold  to  James  Hayden  in 
1882,  who  continued  the  business  until  his  decease  in  1890.  Mrs. 
Jas.  Hayden  &  Co.,  represented  by  Edmund  L.  Martin,  continued 
the  business  until  1895,  when  it  was  purchased  by  C.  H.  Hayden 
the  present  owner  and  proprietor.  Mr.  S.  S.  Thompson  also  did 
undertaking  for  several  years  from  his  residence  on  Lee  River. 
This  business  was  purchased  by  Wesley  A.  Church,  who  soon 
sold  the  stock  and  equipment  to  C.  H.  Hayden,  but  who  for 
several  years  continued  to  do  business  for  Mr.  Hayden.  And  upon 
his  removal  to  Jonesville  Frank  G.  Pease  became  Mr.  Hayden's 
representative,  in  which  capacity  Mr.  Pease  continues  at  the 
present  time. 

Mr.  George  Planck  for  several  years  did  undertaking  at 
Jericho  Comers  in  connection  with  furniture  business. 

Business  Men. 

Of  course  it  would  be  impossible  to  speak  of  all  the  men 
who  have  done  business  at  Riverside.  The  two  who  stand  out 
as  especially  capable  are  Mr.  Whitcomb  and  Mr.  Day.  Of  Mr. 
Day's  activities  there  is  quite  an  account  in  the  Day  genealogy 


and  in  other  places  in  this  volume.  It  ought  to  be  said  that  these 
two  men,  of  fine  ability  individually,  when  associated  together 
became  an  especially  strong  firm.  When  Mr.  Day  removed  to 
New  York  City;  it  became  Mr.  Whitcomb's  part  to  dispose  of 
the  company  effects  and  collect  in  the  unpaid  accounts.  Succeed- 
ing remarkably  well  in  this,  he  continued  the  cheese  factory  busi- 
ness until  cheese  making  gaVe  place  to  the  separator  and  butter 
making.  Then  he  built  up  a  very  fine  insurance  business,  all  of 
which  yielded  him  good  returns  putting  him  in  very  comfortable 

His  activities,  as  was  true  of  his  partner  Mr.  Day,  extended 
to  church,  school  and  town  interests.  Mr.  Whitcomb's  25  years 
of  service  as  superintendent  of  the  Congregational  Sunday  School 
was  of  great  moment  to  the  youth  of  our  community.  As  a 
school  director  and  town  superintendent  of  the  public  schools  his 
judgment  was  of  great  value,  as  lister  and  selectman  he  rendered 
fine  service  to  his  town. 

When  Mr.  D.  W.  Knight  came  in  possession  of  the  steam 
mill,  matters  had  been  going  rather  badly,  and  not  so  many  of  the 
recent  proprietors  had  made  so  much  of  a  success  as  they  could 
have  wished  perhaps.  Mr.  Knight,  however,  because  of  his 
knowledge  of  the  business  proved  to  be  the  right  man  for  the 
place  and  did  a  large  and  lucrative  business  for  several  years. 

Of  the  men  who  have  moved  from  town  and  became  es- 
pecially successful,  we  refer  to  D.  G.  French,  who  is  at  present 
president  of  the  Arnold  Print  Works  of  North  Adams,  Mass,  a 
very  responsible  position.  Mr.  French  is  rated  as  a  millionaire. 
Mr.  Eugene  Bliss,  son  of  Samuel  Bliss,  went  to  the  great  city  of 
Chicago  and  his  rise  in  the  business  and  financial  world  has  been 
phenomenal.  He  is  easily  a  millionaire,  is  president  of  the 
Metropolitan  Trust  and  Savings  Bank  of  Chicago,  and  is  also 
president  of  the  S.  E.  Bliss  Shafting  Co.  Several  young  men 
from  this  section  of  Jericho  are  doing  especially  well,  among 
them  Mr.  Carl  E.  Day,  son  of  Buel  H.  Day,  at  present  a  member 
of  one  of  Chicago's  largest  coat  and  suit  manufacturing  firms. 

Mr.  Hiram  B.  Day,  son  of  Byron  Day,  has  been  a  notable 
success  in  the  business  world,  being  now  a  member  of  the  firm 
of  Pray,  Small  &  Day,  cotton  goods  brokers,  New  York  City. 

Edward  S.  Whitcomb,  Jb. 


The  four  Knight  brothers  all,  though  young,  are  attaining 
excellent  positions  in  the  business  world.  Frank  W.  Knight  is 
the  eastern  sales  manager  for  the  Empire  Separator  Co.,  Bloom- 
field,  N.  J.  Arthur  L.  Knight  and  Fred  A.  Knight  are  with  the 
Sharpies  Separator  Co.,  West  Chester,  Pa.  Merton  R.  Knight  is 
with  the  Gen.  Electric  Co.,  Schenectady.  Doubtless  there  are 
many  others  whose  names  might  be  referred  to  with  equal  pro- 
priety of  whose  circumstances  thp  writer  knows  nothing. 












































Edited  by  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Probably  there  is  no  feature  of  the  early  history  of  Jericho 
that  is  more  interesting  than  the  episodes  connected  with  the 
Brown  settlement;  possibly  no  family  exhibited  greater  courage 
and  real  strength  of  character  than  did  the  Browns.  It  is  not 
the  purpose  of  the  writer  to  extol  unduly,  merely  to  discharge 
the  debt  of  gratitude  that  I,  in  common  with  others,  owe  these 
first  settlers. 

It  was  true  nobility  of  purpose  that  induced  this  family  to 
leave  what  we  have  every  reason  to  believe  were  comfortable 
surroundings  in  Connecticut  to  make  for  themselves  a  home  in 
the  forests  of  Vermont.  Only  by  persistency  and  perseverance 
could  they  make  progress  in  their  journey  northward.  Their  very 
needs  taught  them  to  invent  the  means  to  supply  those  needs,  and 
a  brave  spirit  enabled  them  to  meet  privations  and  want,  face  the 
rigors  of  climate,  the  dangers  of  the  forest,  and  hostile  savages. 

In  grateful  memory  of  these  settlers,  the  Brown  Marker  was 
erected  by  their  descendants,  a  photograph  of  which  accompanies 
this  article.  The  reader  will  find  in  Part  II  a  full  account  of 
the  exercises  at  the  dedication  of  this  marker ;  which  may  be  read 
with  profit  in  this  connection.  I  am  glad  also  at  this  point  to 
quote  quite  extensively  from  a  letter  written  by  Deacon  Truman 
B.  Barney  as  follows  : 

In  1774  quite  a  large  number  of  new  settlers  came  up  from 
Connecticut  and  Massachusetts  to  make  themselves  new  homes  in 
the  great  wilderness  of  the  "New  Hampshire  Grants."  Joseph 
Brown,  Sr.  and  his  wife  Hannah  Brown  with  their  two  sons, 
Charles  Brown  and  Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  were  of  this  number. 
Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  was  b.  at  Watertown,  Conn.,  Nov.  10th, 
1763,  and  Charles  was  some  three  or  four  years  older.  Wh^n  they 


arrived  at  Manchester,  they  found  Thomas  Chittenden  and  his 
family  and  Capt.  Thomas  Barney  ready  to  start  for  Vergennes 
and  north  to  Williston  where  Chittenden  had  bought  a  large  tract 
of  nice  land  and  proposed  to  make  his  future  home.  The  Browns 
had  sold  a  small  farm  in  Watertown,  Conn.,  and  Mrs.  Brown 
had  received  some  three  hundred  dollars  from  her  father's  estate 
and  invested  it  in  three  hundred  acres  of  land  in  the  town  of 
Stowe.  In  order  to  reach  the  land  they  had  purchased,  they  would 
have  to  go  to  Vergennes  and  Williston,  and  then  follow  a  line  of 
marked  trees  to  the  south  end  of  "Old  Mansfield  Mountain"  and 
cross  the  Green  Mountain  Range  at  what  is  now  known  a; 
Nebraska  Notch.  There  was  a  rough  road  cut  out  to  Vergennes 
and  the  Aliens  had  cut  a  path  through  from  there  to  their  lands 
on  the  borders  of  Lake  Champlain  where  Burlington  now  is,  and 
built  a  block  house  at  "Winooski  Falls."  From  this  place  there 
was  a  line  of  marked  trees  to  Williston  and  from  Williston 
through  to  the  Notch  and  then  down  the  little  river  from  what  is 
now  "Lake  Mansfield,"  that  beautiful  trout  lake  in  the  Notch, 
which  was  then  only  a  large  Beaver  meadow,  to  the  Stowe  and 
Waterbury  River.  This  was  the  course  the  Browns  must  take 
to  reach  their  lands.  So  they  joined  the  Chittenden  party.  They 
had  two  cows  which  they  yoked  up  and  hitched  to  a  long  light 
sled  on  which  they  packed  a  little  flour  and  corn-meal,  salt,  and  a 
few  necessary  things,  and  each  one,  taking  what  things  they  could 
carry,  started  on  their  long  tiresome  tramp.  They  could  go  but 
a  short  distance  each  day,  but  there  were  plenty  of  fat  deer,  fat 
bears,  and  fine  trout  to  be  had  so  they  had  enough  to  eat  and  made 
a  good  camp  wherever  night  overtook  them  near  some  nice  brook 
or  cold  spring.  Chittenden  and  his  family  and  Capt.  Barney  ^ 
found  their  lands  at  Williston  on  the  beautiful  Winooski  River, 
and  the  Browns  crossed  the  river  and  went  on  Itowards  old  Mans- 
field following  the  line  of  marked  trees.  After  two  days  they 
came  to  the  bank  of  a  nice  clear  river  which  came  down  from  near 
the  center  of  the  west  side  of  Old  Mansfield  and  being  quite  tired 
from  their  long  rough  journey  they  decided  they  would  make  a 
good  camp  and  rest  a  day  or  two  before  they  should  attempt  to 
cross  the  Notch.  '  So  they  made  a  good  pole,  brush  and  bark  tent 
after  the  Indian  fashion.  The  boys  soon  had  all  the  fine  large 
trout  needed  for  several  meals,  which  they  took  from  the  river 








which  has  ever  since  been  known  as  "Brown's  River."  The 
father  shot  a  nice;  fat  deer  which  was  peeping  through  the  bushes 
to  satisfy  his  curiosity  in  regard  to  the  new  settlers  and  they  were 
thus  well  provided  for.  While  they  were  cooking  their  supper, 
they  were  very  much  surprised  to  see  a  man  coming  along  from 
the  mountain  following  the  line  of  marked  trees  and  leading  a 
horse  which  had  a  ,bridle  on,  and  a  saddle  with  a  few  small 
bundles  tied  to  it.  The  man  was  much  surprised  to  see  them 
camped  there  in  the  wilderness  and  was  very  glad  to  accept  their 
hearty  invitation  to  take  supper  with  them  and  rest  over  night. 
He  proved  to  be  a  wdl  known  land  speculator  from  Albany,  New 
York,  who  had  purchased  a  large  quantity  of  land  in  Stowe  and 
had  been  over  there  for  some  time  looking  it  over  and  also  owned 
quite  a  quantity  of  land  in  Jericho  where  they  then  were.  He  had 
a  plan  of  all  the  lots  in  Stowe  with  a  short  description  of  each  lot 
which  he  had  secured  from  the  original  surveyor  of  the  town. 
So  when  Mr.  Brown  told  him  the  number  and  grade  of  the  lots 
they  had  purchased,  they  found  they  were  joining  some  of  his 
lots.  He  did  not  give  a  very  encouraging  description  of  these 
lands,  said  much  of  it  was  rough,  rocky  and  thin  soiled  and  not 
as  good  as  the  lands  they  were  then  camping  on.  He  finally 
offered  to  give  them  two  hundred  and  fifty  acres  of  his  land  which 
they  could  see  right  there  on  the  river  for  the  three  hundred  of 
theirs  in  Stowe.  They  were  so  tired  with  their  long  journey  and 
discouraged  by  the  rough  look  of  the  mountain  range  before  them 
and  also  by  the  description  given  of  the  Stowe  lands,  that  they 
offered  to  give  him  their  land  there  for  two  hundred  and  fifty 
acres  in  Jericho  and  fifty  dollars  in  money,  but  he  said  he  would 
not  put  any  more  money  into  the  wild  lands.  But  as  he  was  about 
starting  off  in  the  morning  he  said  he  would  give  them  the  horse, 
saddle,  and  bridle,  instead  of  the  fifty  dollars  in  money,  and  thus 
they  closed  a  trade.  So  the  Browns  became  the  first  settlers  in 
Jericho,  Vermont.  They  very  soon  made  a  comfortable  small  log 
house  and  bam,  cleared  up  several  acres  of  the  best  land,  made  a 
garden,  planted  some  corn,  sowed  some  wheat  and  oats  and  were 
quite  contented  in  their  wilderness  home.  They  continued  to 
clear  up  the  land  as  fast  as  possible,  gofin  an  acre  of  winter  wheat 
in  the  fall,  and,  when  the  first  little  snow  came,  the  boys  put  the 
yoke  of  cows  on  the  sled  and  the  horse  on  a  light  sled  they  had 


made  for  him  and  went  down  to  Williston  and  procured  some  few 
things  they  must  have  for  winter.  They  bought, two  s)ieep  and  a 
few  hens  of  Gapt.  Barney  and  three  five  pailed  iron  kettles  of  a 
man  who  had  come  up  to  Williston  from  Bennington.  They 
worked  hard  all  winter  clearing  up  the  land  and  in  the  spring 
tapped  one  hundred  and  fifty  maple  trees,  caught  the  sap  in  little 
troughs  they  had  dug  out  during  the  winter,,  and  boiled  it  in  the 
little  five  pailed  kettles.  '  The  second  year  they  had  made  such 
good  progress  that  they  felt  quite  independent.  They  had  become 
good  huntsmen  and  kept  the  family  well  supplied  with  all  kinds  of 
choice  game  and  secured  quite  a  number  of  dollars'  worth  of  nice 
furs  which  they  sold  to  a  merchant  from  Vergennes.  But  during 
the  latter  part  of  the  summer  the  Indians  became  quite  trouble- 
some, coming  in  their  canoes  on  the  lake  from  Canada,  and  fol- 
lowing up  the  rivers  to  the  Vermont  settlers  and  taking  them 
prisoners  to  get  a  bounty  from  the  British  at  Montreal. 

Chittenden  and  Capt;  Barney  considered  it  dangerous  to  stay 
at  Williston  and  so  went  to  the  south  part  of  the  state  remaining 
there  until  the  end  of  the  Revolutionary  War.  Brown  thought 
he  was  back  so  far  in  the  forest  that  the  Indians  would  not  be  apt 
to  find  him,  but  in  this  he  was  mistaken,  for  one  day  a  party  of 
them  dropped  in  upon  him  and  took  him  and  the  boys  captives 
to  Montreal.  They  could  not  get  any  bounty  for  Mrs.  Brown 
and  so  left  her  to  care  for  herself.  She  was  a  strong  resolute 
woman  and  determined  to  do  the  best  she  could  by  sticking  to  her 
home  and  taking  good  care  of  the  wheat  they  had,  having  strong 
faith  that  Mr.  Brown  and  the  boys  would  find  some  way  of  es- 
cape. For  two  months  she  stayed  there  alone,  took  care  of  the 
garden  and  corn  patch,  milked  the  cows  and  saw  that  the  stock 
was  all  fastened  up  securely  in  the  barn  every  night,  so  that  the 
bears,  wolves,  foxes  and  other  wild  animals  could  not  get  them, 
and  after  a  long  time  of  hard  work  and  dreary  waiting  had  the 
glad  privilege  of  welcoming  her  husband  and  sons  home  again. 
They  had  been  kept  in  prison  in  Montreal  until  the  British  officers 
decided  they  would  not  give  a  bounty  for  an  old  man  and  two 
boys,  as  they  wanted  men  able  bodied,  young  men,  able  to  do 
military  duty  and  as  they  did  not  answer  the  requirements  of  the 
service  they  were  finally  told  to  go,  which  they  were  very  glad  to 
do.     They  immediately  commenced  clearing  up  more  land  and 


1^  "^ 

By  ^c^^a^    C^7^  -1^     Esqwre,  Colonel  Commmdanf  of 

the  3  ^Segment,  in  tic     2       Brigade  and     ^      Dtvisian  oj  the  MilUia  of 

the  State  oJ  Vermmt. 

TO    i^y-^^ 

YOU  being  elected 

sergeant  in  thej^*^=^Compai)y  in  said 

Ecpiment,  by  virtue  of  the  authority  to  me  given,  reposing  speci  il  trust  in  yr-ur  pat- 
riotism, valor  and  good  conduct,  I  do  by  virtue  of  these  presents,  authorise  and 
ewpower  you  the  said  «s5w«*''^^**  t^mrrf^  to  act  as>^^»Sc  sergeant  ia 
said  company. 

You  will,  therefore,  carefully  and  diligently  discharge  the   duty  olf^"^^^ 
sergeant  in  said  coirpaiiv,  according  to  military  discipline  and   the  laws   of  this 
stjte    hn^  you  are  hereby  required  to  pay. due  obedience  to  your  superior  officerSf 
and  all  ofEcers  and  s  Jdicrs  under  your  command  are  hereby  directed  to  ob(  y  you 
as  their  ^/^.<5%r    sergeant,  fur  which  this  shall  be  your  sufiicicnt  warrant. 

Given  under  my  handy  this 
eight  hundred  and.  /^ 

Jay  of 

one  thousand 


Received  fir  record,  this  ^ ^'^         d.i"y  of  (fU^^^        A.  D.  181^ 
itnd  made  entry,  of  the  same  in  the  Regimental  Book,  page  as  the  law  directs. 


Adjutant  of  said  Regiment. 

Joseph  Brown's  Commission. 


securing  the  crops.  They  enlarged  their  house  and  barn  and  the 
third  year  were  quite  comfortably  situated,  except  that  they  were 
in  continual  fear  of  the  Indians.  After  working  quite  hard  for  a 
long  time,  the  boys  decided  to  take  a  day  or  two  off  and  go  hunt- 
ing and  fishing  for  a  change.  Accordingly  one  fine  morning  they 
started  for  the  woods.  A  few  days  before  a  tailor  by  the  name 
of  Olds  came  to  their  house  to  make  up  some  clothes  and  was  at 
work  by  one  of  the  windows  where  he  could  see  out  over 
the  cleared  land  and  looking  up  from  his  work  he  saw  a  party  of 
twelve  Indians  coming  from  the  woods  towards  the  house.  He 
immediately  opened  a  window  on  the  other  side  of  the  room 
and  jumped  out  into  the  garden  where  Mr.  Brown  was  at  work 
and  said,  "Indians,  Indians,  run  for  your  life,"  and,  taking  a 
course  that  would  keep  the  house  between  him  and  the  Indians, 
Olds  succeeded  in  reaching  the  forest  and  escaped  without  the 
Indians  seeing  him.  Mr.  Brown  used  to  say  he  never  was  more 
pleased  in  his  life  then  he  was  to  see  Olds  run.  He  said,  "he  was 
a  little  fat  short  legged  man  and  being  very  scared  every  step  he 
took  his  heels  flew  up  against  his  coat  tails  so  that  .they  stuck  out 
like  streamers.  But  Brown  did  not  propose  to  run  and  leave  his 
wife.  She  was  up  stairs  and  when  she  heard  a  great  noise,  came 
down  and  found  a  dozen  great  Indians  dancing  around  the  room. 
When  they  saw  her  they  all  gave  one  of  their  dreadful  war 
whoops,  and  the  leader  of  the  party  came  up  to  her  with  a  long 
sharp  knife  in  his  hand  to  cut  her  throat  as  she  supposed,  but  in- 
stead of  doing  that  he  gave  a  loud  laugh  and  cutting  a  string  of 
gold  beads  she  had  around  her  neck  he  went  dancing  around  the 
room  and  was  greatly  pleased  that  he  had  found  such  a  rich 

Mr.  Brown  had  two  fine  hunting  dogs,  one  of  them  was  very 
large  and  fierce,  as  he  expected  he  might  have  to  fight  for  his  life 
he  called  the  dogs  to  him  and  started  to  get  his  gun  which  was 
hanging  up  under  the  stoop  at  the  backside  of  the  house,  but 
several  of  the  Indians  came  rushing  out  of  the  back  door  and  took 
him  prisoner.  They  formed  a  ring  around  him,  gave  several  war- 
whoops,  brandished  their  knives,  and  tomahawks,  and  seemed  to 
be  enjoying  themselves  very  much,  but  did  not  show  any  desire  to 
injure  him.  So  he  thought  from  their  actions  and  by  the  experi- 
ence he  had  had  with  the  first  party  that  very  likely  they  hoped  to 


get  more  money  by  taking  them  prisoners  then  by  taking  their 
lives,  so  he  offered  no  resistance.  They  then  began  looking 
around  to  see  what  they  could  find.  They  killed  both  his  cows, 
his  hog,  and  all  the  hens.  They  saved  the  best  of  the  meat  to 
take  with  them.  They  then  cut  open  the  straw  and  feather  beds 
and  took  the  ticks  and  blankets  to  tie  up  the  things  they  wanted  to 
carry  with  them.  Mrs.  Brown  had  been  doing  up  a  week's  bak- 
ing in  the  great  stone  oven  and  had  set  out  the  loaves  of  bread, 
pies,  and  cakes,  on  shelves  in  the  back  stoop  to  cool.  The  Indians 
ate  what  they  wanted  and  then  cut  up  the  rest  of  the  bread  and 
spread  butter  on  it  and  fed  it  to  the  dogs.  After  they  had  eaten 
all  they  wanted,  one  old  Indian  suddenly  jumped  at  the  smallest 
dog  and  knocked  him  over  with  his  tomahawk,  this  enraged  the 
large  dog  very  much  and  he  sprang  at  the  Indian,  bit  him  through 
his  throat  and  threw  him  on  his  back.  Then  all  the  other  Indians 
sprang  for  the  large  dog,  and  seeing  they  were  too  much  for  him 
he  ran  for  the  woods,  and  that  was  the  last  they  ever  saw  of  the 
old  dog.  After  taking  every  thing  they  could  carry,  they  set  the 
house  and  barns  on  fire  and  buined  everything  up.  They  then 
started  with  their  prisoners  for  Malletts  Bay  where  they  had  left 
their  canoes.  These  Indians  were  only  a  few  of  a  large  party 
who  had  come  up  the  lake  from  Canada.  The  test  went  on  up 
the  Winooski  River,  down  the  White  River  to  the  Connecticut 
River  and  then  down  to  the  east  part  of  the  state;  Between 
Winooski  and  Williston  they  captured  an  old  hunter  who  had  been 
up  to  Mr.  Brown's  a  few  weeks  before.  He  was  taken  sick  and 
kindly  cared  for  at  Mr.  Brown's  for  some  time.  When  he  became 
strong  enough  to  go  on  he  did  so,  leaving  without  even  thanking 
them  for  their  kindness. 

When  the  Indians  had  captured  him,  and  he  saw  he  would 
most  likely  be  taken  into  Montreal  he  told  them  if  they  would 
let  him  go  he  would  tell  them  where  there  was  a  man,  his  wife, 
and  two  boys.  This  they  agreed  to  and  he  showed  them  the  line 
of  marked  trees  which  led  from  Williston  up  to  Brown's  clearing. 
They  then  let  him  go,  but  very  shrewdly  sent  three  of  their  num- 
ber over  the  other  side  of  a  hill,  and  when  he  came  over  in  that 
vicinity  they  captured  him  again.  So  he  did  riot  gain  anything  by 
his  act  of  treachery. 

The  Indians  concluded  the  boys  riiust  be  out  in  the  woods 
and  so  left  three  of  their  number  to  secure  them  when  they  re- 


turned.  The  boys  did  not  get  back  to  the  clearing  until  dark  and 
were  of  course  very  much  frightened  when  they  found  every 
thing  burned  up.  The  Indians  hid  behind  a  log  in  the  fence,  and 
when  the  boys  came  up  they  jumped  up  and  gave  a  loud  war- 
whoop.  The  boys  immediately  ran  for  the  woods  and  as  they 
were  well  acquainted  with  the  place  they  succeeded  in  avoiding 
the  Indians  for  some  time.  There  was  a  piece  of  low  brushy 
swamp  land  down  near  the  river,  and  the  boys  hid  under  some 
trees  that  were  turned  up  by  the  roots  there,  but  after  hunting 
for  some  time  the  Indians  found  them  and  immediately  started 
with  them  for  Malletts  Bay.  After  an  all  night's  tramp  they 
came  up  with  the  rest  of  the  party  where  they  were  camping  on 
the  lake  shore.  The  party  with  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown  had  reached 
the  bay  soon  after  dark  and  immediately  made  up  a  large  fire  on 
the  shore. 

The  Indians  ate  quite  freely  of  their  raw  pork,  and  one  of 
them  cut  out  two,  large  pieces  and  brought  them  to  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Brown  with  the  grease  running  down  between  his  fingers,  they 
could  not  eat  the  raw  meat  but  did  not  dare  to  refuse  it,  and 
so  held  it  for  some  time  until  another  old  Indian  came  up  and 
took  it,  saying  "good,  good  me  eat."  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown  had 
managed  to  hide  some  bread  and  cakes  in  their  clothing  and  ate 
it  after  the  Indians  were  asleep.  In  the  morning  the  Indians 
caught  some  nice  fish  and  roasted  them  with  some  of  the  meat 
and  gave  it  to  the  prisoners ;  this  was  very  good  and  they  enjoyed 
it  very  much.  They  then  packed  all  their  things  in  their  canoes 
and  the  whole  party  started  for  Montreal,  which  place  they 
reached  in  a  few  days,  where  the  Indians  turned  their  prisoners 
over  to  the  British  officers,  who  paid  them  eight  dollars  bounty  for 
each  of  their  prisoners.  The  Browns  were  confined  in  a  prison 
near  the  officers'  quarters  and  had  to  wait  on  them  most  of  the 
time  for  about  three  years.  They  had  very  little  to  eat  except 
the  waste  from  the  officers'  tables.  At  the  close  of  the;  war  of 
the  Revolution,  they  were  set  free  and  told  to  go  home.  But 
they  were  all  very  nearly  starved  and  their  clothes  all  worn  out 
and  they  had  no  home  to  go  to.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown  were  too 
feeble  to  start  off  on  the  long  tramp  to  Jericho.  So  the  boys 
found  a  place  where  they  could  stay  and  do  some  light  work  to 
pay  for  their  board,  while  they  found  some  work  for  themselves 


and  earned  enough  to  get  some  good  stout  clothes,  some  boots, 
a  couple  of  good  guns,  and  a  good  stock  of  ammunition,  some  fish 
hooks  and  lines,  a  couple  of  good  axes,  and  a  few  light  necessary 
things  which  they  could  carry  in  a  bundle  on  their  backs.  They 
then  told  their  father  and  mother  to  keep  up  good  courage  and 
they  would  return  for  them  as  soon  as  they  could  get  a  log  house 
built  and  things  in  such  shape  that  they  could  live  at  their  old 
home.  They  then  procured  each  of  them  a  good  heavy  woolen 
blanket  to  sleep  in  and  packing  up  their  things  in  as  small  com- 
pass as  possible  started  on  their  tramp  through  the  woods  to  their 
desolate  old  home  in  Jericho. 

After  two  weeks  of  hard  tramping  and  living  on  the  game 
they  could  secure,  getting  what  rest  they  could  at  night  on  soft 
boughs,  they  at  last  came  to  the  old  clearing.  They  at  once 
went  to  work  building  a  small  log  house,  planted  a  httle  corn, 
made  a  good  garden,  and  then  went  down  to  Williston  and  found 
Chittenden  and  Barney  had  returned  to  their  farms  with  quite  a 
little  stock,  and  many  things  for  the  comfort  of  their  families. 
They  let  the  boys  have  a  couple  of  cows,  two  sheep,  a  pig,  a  few 
hens,  a  little  flour,  some  corU-meal,  and  salt. 

They  made  a  light  sled  and  yoke  for  the  cows,  packed  what 
they  could  on  the  sled  and  went  back  home  feeling  quite  rich 
once  more. 

The  next  week  they  made  another  trip  to  Williston  for  some 
seed  corn,  some  wheat,  and  oats,  etc.  They  then  sowed  an  acre 
of  wheat,  a  couple  of  acres  of  oats,  and  planted  an  acre  of  com 
and  more  garden  seed.  After  building  a  log  bam  so  thSt  they 
could  have  a  place  to  keep  their  stock  safely,  Charles  weiit  to 
Montreal  for  their  father  and  mother  while  Joseph,  Jr.,  stayed 
and  took  care  of  the  things  at  home.  He  worked  hard  every  day 
cutting  brush  and  scrubbing  up  the  land  and  preparing  another 
piece  for  a  fall  crop  of  wheat  so  as  to  be  in  as  good  shape  as  pos- 
sible for  the  long  Vermont  winter  which  he  knew  would  try  their 
resources  severely. 

At  the  end  of  nearly  a  month  he  was  rejoiced  to  welcome  the 
family  home  once  more.  They  did  not  have  any  more  trouble 
with  the  Indians,  and  as  peace  was  declared  with  England  they 
were  relieved  of  the  dreadful  fear  of  capture  and  the  destruction 
of  their  home. 


They  all  worked  very  hard  in  clearing  up  the  rest  of  their 
land  and  every  year  saw  many  new  improvements  on  the  farm. 
They  built  many  rods  of  stonewall,  and  rail  fence,  and  bought 
one  hundred  acres  more  land,  part  of  which  they  cleared  for 
pasture.  In  the  meantime  quite  a  number  of  new  settlers  came  in 
to  town,  and  soon  the  great  forests  were  being  rapidly  cleared  up 
and  new  houses  built.  Charles  and  Joseph,  Jr.,  soon  married 
and  divided  the  farm,  Charles  took  the  northeast  part  from  the 
town  line  to  the  Brown's  River  bridge  and  Joseph,  Jr.,  the  south 
part.  The  father  and  mother  lived  with  Charles,  and  Joseph,  Jr., 
built  him  a  house  on  the  hill  where  the  roads  intersect  from  Rich- 
mond and  Jericho  Comers  with  the  old  county  road  from 
Winooski  River  to  Underbill. 

Joseph  Brown,  Jr.  and  Elizabeth  Daily  m.  March  18,  1788. 
Their  first  child,  David  Brown,  b.  May  4,  1792 ;  Truman  Brown, 
b.  Oct.  11,  1795;  Joseph  3rd,  b.  Oct.  9,  1797;  Tryphena,  b.  Oct. 
15,  1799;  Bela,  b.  Nov.  16,  1801. 

After  about  14  years  of  a  hard  working  but  happy  life  the 
mother  was  taken  away,  and  about  a  year  after  the  father  mar- 
ried Polly  Cady  of  Cambridge.  She  was  a  nice  young  lady  who 
had  worked  in  the  family  and  made  a  most  excellent  mother  for 
the  children  and  also  raised  five  children  of  her  own :  Elizabeth, 
Lovica,  Rufus,  Polly  and  Lucius  B.  She  lived  to  see  all  these 
children  grow  up  to  manhood  and  womanhood  and  all  were  m. 
except  Lovica  whose  health  was  not  very  good.  This  woman 
Polly  Cady  Brown  was  a  most  excellent  specimen  of  a  Vermont 
mother  of  the  early  days,  strong  and  resolute,  but  lov- 
ing and  kind.  She  kept  all  the  children  in  their  happy  home  un- 
til they  were  of  age  and  ready  to  go  out  for  themselves,  and  was 
always  ready  to  give  them  a  hearty  welcome  to  the  old  home 
whenever  they  could  return.  She  also  took  a  little  son  of  Truman 
Brown  whose  name  was  Eleazer  and  kept  him  until  he  was  of 
age.  She  was  an  earnest  working  member  of  the  Methodist 
Church,  and  she  and  Mr.  Brown  who  was  a  member  of  the 
Episcopal  Church  were  careful  to  bring  up  the  children  in  the 
nurture  and  admonition  of  the  Lord,  and  had  the  satisfaction  to 
see  tliem  all  become  pien  and  women  who  could  always  be  relied 
upon  in  every  good  work,  and  highly  respected  wherever  they 
went.    The  Brown  family  were  industrious,  and  learned  to  do 


all  kinds  of  work  in  the  house  and  outdoors.  Joseph  Brown,  Jr., 
always  raised  a  nice  piece  of  flax  and  prepared  it  in  the  best 
manner  for  making  up  into  household  garments,  and  the  mother 
and  girls  were  skilled  in  the  manufacture  of  fine  linen  and  woolen 
cloths.  This  work  all  had  to  be  done  by  hand '  in  those  days 
and  they  all  took  much  pride  in  seeing  how  nicely  they  could 
do  it. 

Mr.  Brown  learned  to  tan  hides  of  all  kinds  and  to  make 
shoes  and  boots  for  the  family.  He  also  had  a  blacksmith 
shop,  and  could  shoe  his  horses  and  oxen,  and  do  many  jobs 
of  work  needed  on  the  farm.  Thus  much  which  others  paid 
out  was  saved  and  helped  to  make  the  family  independent  and 
comfortable.  The  boys  and  girls  were  not  idle,  and  running 
about  the  streets,  but  were  always  engaged  in  doing  something 
for  the  comfort  and  enjoyment  of  the  family.  The  boys  were 
good  carpenters  and  could  put  up  a  good  house  or  bam,  shingle 
and  clapboard  a  building  or  mend  any  kind  of  wood  utensils,  etc., 
and  spent  many  rainy  days  and  winter  evenings  in  the  little 
carpenter's  shop  in  making  things  for  use  and  comfort  in  the 
home.  Mrs.  Brown  always  took  great  pride  and  comfort  in 
having  the  largest  and  best  flocks  of  hens,  geese,  turkeys,  ducks, 
and  fowls  of  all  kinds,  for  which  she  received  many  dollars  and 
also  supplied  her  own  family  with  much  of  the  choicest  eating. 
She  had  a  full  supply  of  the  very  best  feather  beds  for  her  own 
home  and  some  for  each  of  her  children  when  they  commenced 
house-keeping.  When  there  were  children  enough  in  the  vicinity 
of  the  Brown's  settlement  to  need  a  school,  they  put  up  at  first 
a  good  log  schoolhouse,  and,  as  quite  a  number  of  the  people  were 
members  of  the  church,  they  called  it  "Church  Street  School- 
house"  and  held  meetings  there  quite  often.  Old  Elder  Fay 
lived  where  the  Gleason  farm  now  is,  and  being  a  minister  of  the 
Freewill  Baptist  denomination  he  often  preached  at  this  school- 
house.  One  of  the  ministers  of  the  Methodist  denomination 
generally  had  a  preaching  service  there  once  a  month,  and  Rev. 
Breek  Bostwick,  an  Episcopal  minister,  whose  father  and  brothers 
and  sister  lived  there,  often  held  service  in  this  same  Church  Schoolhouse,  and  these  meetings  were  always  well  attended 
by  people  from  all  parts  of  Jericho  and  Underbill. 


At  one  time  during  the  War  of  1812,  it  was  necessary  to 
convey  a  large  number  of  troops  from  Burlington  to  Sacketts 
Harbor  and  it  became  necessary  to  press  all  those  who  had  good 
teams  into  the  service.  Mr.  Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  had  a  good 
span  of  horses  and  a  large  double  sleigh,  and  was  therefore  among 
the  number  who  were  obliged  to  go.  It  was  very  cold  winter 
weather,  the  snow  was  deep,  and  there  were  so  many  teams  on 
the  road  that  it  was  very  difficult  to  find  comfortable  places  to 
stop,  and  therefore  it  was  very  uncomfortable  for  all  who  had  to 
go,  but  there  was  no  other  way  to  do,  as  the  government  must 
have  the  teams,  and  no  one  wanted  to  let  his  team  go  without  be- 
ing with  them  to  see  that  they  were  fed  and  cared  for  as  well  as 
possible.  Mr.  Brown  went  and  had  a  very  long  cold  journey,  dur- 
ing which  he  was  often  very  hungry  and  could  with  great  diffi- 
culty get  enough  to  keep  his  horses  from  suffering. 

Referring  to  himself  Mr.  Barney  says,  "I  think  perhaps  I 
may  be  now  the  oldest  of  the  Brown  and  Barney  families  who 
has  spent  most  of  his  life  in  Jericho,  and  I  think  Henry  M. 
Brown  is  the  oldest  bearing  the  Brown  name  who  has  spent  all 
his  life  there." 

In  looking  over  the  list  of  the  Brown  and  Barney  families 
and  their  descendants,  I  find  that  about  70  of  the  Browns  and 
their  descendants  and  over  60  of  the  Barneys  have  lived  in 
Jericho  at  sometime." 

Concerning  the  Browns,  Wallace  B.  Fish  writes  as  follows : 

"In  my  opinion  from  researches  made  in  the  past,  I  believe 
that  the  Brown  family,  which  located  in  Jericho,  were  direct 
descendants  of  the  Browns  that  settled  in  Maine  in  1617.  They 
had  a  Joseph  and  Charles;  I  traced  a  Nathaniel  to  this  family. 
Later  a  colony  settled  on  the  coast  of  Maine  in  1617,  coming 
from  the  same  section  of  England  as  the  first,  three  years  before 
the  Pilgrims  landed,  and  assisted  them  in  many  ways  especially 
in  the  way  of  food.  They  had  a  trading  post  with  the  Indians. 
The  colony  came  from  England  with  a  fishing  and  trading  outfit 
and  Joseph  Brown  was  their  leader. 

About  1647  a  part  of  the  Brown  family  started  out  on  an 
exploring  trip,  they  first  landed  in  Portsmouth,  N.  H.,  from  there 
went  to  Boston  and  in  time  drifted  to  Rjiode  Island.  Here  one 
of  them  Charles  remained,  the  others  went  to  Stonington  and 


New  London,  Conn.  After  a  while  a  part  of  them  started 
north,  and  in  this  party  was  a  Joseph.  This  was  a  number  of  years 
after  they  reached  Boston.  No  dates  to  go  by  until  in  1740  or 
about  that  time  a  Joseph  died  in  New  Haven,  Conn.,  and  left  a 
Charles,  Joseph,  and  Nathaniel,  also  two  daughters.  Joseph  and 
Nathaniel  left  for  the  North  following  the  Connecticut  River. 
Nathaniel  was  married  at  the  time  they  located  in  Middletown, 
Conn.,  about  1741.  Here  I  lost  them  as  a  jcombination,  unless 
a  John  Brown  that  located  near  Meriden,  Conn.,  was  of  this 
family.  Some  eighteen  years  ago  I  made  the  acquaintance  of 
an  old  gentleman  by  the  name  of  Charles  J.  Brown,  on  a  Newport 
boat,  who  was  very  interesting  and  liberally  educated.  He  was 
88  years  old  and  had  the  Browns  down  to  a  fineness.  I  gave 
him  my  card,  W.  B.  Fish,  he  at  once  wanted  to  know  what  the 
B.  was  for.  I  told  him  for  Brown,  and  that  my  grandmother, 
on  my  father's  side,  was  a  daughter  of  Joseph  Brown  one  of  the 
early  settlers  of  my  native  town  in  Vermont.  He  at  once  replied 
that  I  must  have  been  born  in  Jericho,  and  asked  me  if  I  ever 
knew  Zina  Brown.  I  said  I  did  very  w.ell.  He  then  told  me  that 
Zina  was  a  distant  relative  of  his,  and  that  my  grandmother 
must  have  been  Zina's  aunt  and  that  he  and  I  were  of  the  same 
blood,  and  then  he  gave  me  much  of  the  foregoing  information 
and  said  that  the  Providence  Browns  were  a  direct  line  of  the 
Browns  that  settled  in  Maine,  in  1617,  and  that  the  Brown  Uni- 
versity of  Providence  was  founded  by  the  same  strain  of  Browns. 

I  had  much  of  their  history  before  I  met  him,  but  his 
knowledge  helped  to  corroborate  it." 

The  diflferences  of  opinion  among  the  descendants  regard- 
ing the  origin  of  the  family,  the  route  pursued  to  get  to  the 
settlement,  and  other  matters,  are  in  the  mind  of  the  editor,  more 
in  appearance  than  in  reality.  Then,  knowledge  was  disseminated 
from  father  to  son,  by  word  of  mouth  rarely  by  record,  and 
traditions  through  different  families  might  easily  become  diversi- 
fied. The  essentials,  however,  seem  to  be  confirmed  in  the  minds 
of  all.  Only  matters  of  minor  importance  vary.  Mr.  B.  H.  Day 
and  Mr.  Truman  Barney  trace  the  family  ancestry  to  Connecticut. 
Mr.  Wallace  B.  Fish  attempts  to  go  back  still  farther  to  Browns 
that  came  to  Maine  in -1617,  and  his  assumption  seems  reason- 
able.   Again,  Mr.  Day  pictures  their  coming  up  the  Connecticut 


and  White  Rivers  and  to  the  middle  waters  of  the  Winooski,  then 
down  that  river  while  Mr.  Barney  says  they  came  by  Rutland, 
Vergennes,  Williston,  etc.  The  editor  is  unable  to  explain  this 
difference  of  opinion  unless  possibly  there  might  have  been  two 
'migrations.  The  other  differences,  principally  in  dates  occur  in 
the  genealogy  of  all  families  unless  care  is  exercised  to  write  or 
print  the  record.  So  it  has  seemed  best  to  print  these  differences 
and  to  leave  the  matter  to  the  reader  to  draw  his  own  conclusions. 
Hannah  Brown's  will  is  also  given  below : 

HANNAH  brown's  WILL. 

August  the  20  1787  Jericho  on  onion  River  in  the  Name  of  god 

As  we  are  all  mortal  and  my  Self  far  gon  in  years  i  think  it  my 
duty  to  settle  my  affaires  my  ReSon  firm  my  Body  in  good  health 
my  mind  calm  and  quiet  To  prevent  truble  after  my  Death  first 
i  bequeath  my  soul  to  god  that  gave  it  my  Body  to  be  buired  in  a 
christian  manner  then  to  Settle  worldly  affaires  to  my  well  beloved 
Son  and  Daughter  Nathanael  Brown  philanice  calevan  as  they 
have  had  their  portion  and  are  gon  and  i  expect  nothing  i  give 
each  of  them  five  shilling  and  to  my  well  beloved  Sons  Timothy 
Brown  Charles  Johnson  Brown  and  Joseph  Brown  i  do  give  one 
hundred  and  fifty  acres  of  Land  to  them  and  their  heirs  forever 
in  consideration  they  provide  all  things  needful  in  sickness  and 
health  and  take  care  of  us  Joseph  and  Hannah  Brown  During 
our  naturul  Life  with  a  Decent  burial  after  our  Death  the  fifty 
to  timothy  is  apart  of  fifty  eight  the  Last  to  be  Divided, betwixt 
Charles  and  Joseph  is  the  Last  Sixty  two  which  we  now  Live  on 
this  is  my  Last  will  and  testament  as  witness  my  hand 

Hannah  Brown 
Sarah  Castle 
Darius  Post 
Darius  Post  Jiur  , 

The  following  incidents  have  been  related  to  me  by  the 
descendants  of  the  Browns.  It  appears  that  Joseph  Brown,  Jr., 
in  the  War  of  1812  was  in  the  vicinity  of  Plattsburg,  when  he 
was  commandeered  to  haul  military  supplies  for  the  army  and 
probably  went  as  far  as  Sacketts  Harbor.     In  obedience  to  these 


commands  he  was  absent  from  home  for  over  two  months, 
being  unable  to  inform  his  family  of  the  reason  of  his  enforced 
absence.  For  these  services,  however,  Mrs.  Brown  drew  a  small 
pension  from  the  government. 

Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  it  is  said  with  equally  good  authority  was " 
accustomed  to  team  to  Troy,  N.  Y.,  taking  down  produce  and  re- 
turning empty.    Upon  one  of  the  return  trips  he  drew  back  a 
bell  which  was  placed  in  the  Unitarian  Church  in  Burlington,  Vt., 
presumably  the  bell  now  in  use. 

Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  was  very  fond  of  hunting  and  once  pur- 
sued a  bear  which  took  to  flight  by  way  of  the  creek.  Mr.  Brown's 
dogs  led  in  the  chase  and  encountered  the  bear  in  the  thick  under- 
brush where  a  lively  fight  ensued.  The  bear  almost  killed  one 
dog,  but  was  himself  killed  by  Mr.  Brown  after  a  severe  struggle. 
Mr.  Brown  at  another  time  was  hunting  on  Mt.  Mansfield  and 
had  secured  a  fine  deer  when  night  came  on  and  he  was  compelled 
to  break  thru  the  crust  and  scoop  out  the  snow  with  his  snow 
shoe,  thus  making  a  temporary  shelter.  He  placed  the  venison 
in  the  hole  and  together  with  the  dogs,  himself  covered  with  a 
blanket  only,  he  spent  the  night, — his  sleep,  however,  was  fre- 
quently disturbed  by  the  yawls  of  a  panther,  who  was  attracted 
to  the  spot  by  the  dogs  and  venison,  but  did  them  no  harm. 

During  the  Battle  of  Plattsburg,  Sept.  11,  1814,  a  quarterly 
meeting  was  being  held  in  what  is  now  a  barn  owned  by  Mr.  A. 
Bishop.  The  children  remembered  this  meeting  and  how  the 
cannon  could  be  heard  distinctly.  The  women  were  weeping, 
for  many  of  the  men  of  the  settlement  and  Underbill  had  gone 
as  soldiers.  Some  of  the  children  took  a  small  stone  and  put  in 
a  pile  for  each  boom  of  the  cannon  they  heard,  and  when  the 
battle  was  over  they  counted  the  stones  to  determine  the  number 
of  shots  fired. 

Other  stories  of  their  exploits  in  hunting  might  be  given, — 
for  instance,  Mr.  Joseph  Brown  and  his  two  dogs  had  chased 
a  deer  far  upon  the  side  of  Mt.  Mansfield,  and  when  secured  it 
had  to  be  carefully  watched  thru  the  night  against  the  attacks 
of  wolves  and  catamounts  and  the  next  day  drawn  home  on  a 
large  sled.  On  another  trip  when  they  were  arranging  their  camp 
for  the  night  one  of  the  dogs  appeared  with  his  mouth  filled  with 
hedgehog  quills.  These,  of  course,  Mr.  Brown  had  to  stop  and 


extract,  a  not  unusual  procedure,  and  he  had  hardly  finished 
when  the  other  dog  came  in  a  similar  predicament. 

Our  own  grandfathers  were  the  little  children  of  those  far 
off  days.  How  interested  they  must  have  been  as  they  gathered 
about  their  aged  grandsire,  while  the  huge  logs  in  the  old  fire- 
place glowed  out  heat  and  comfort  to  the  household,  to  listen  to 
his  thrilling  narratives  of  the  hardships  and  adventures  of  these 
early  settlers.  And  so  for  the  moment,  the  writer  has  turned 
aside  from  the  fact  and  theory  to  the  incidental,  in  the  hope 
that  a  little  touch  of  the  human  might  thus  be  given  to  the 
matter  in  hand, — i.  e.  the  preservation  in  permanent  record  of  the 
deeds  of  our  ancestors. 



Treating  of  Miscellaneous  Subjects. 
Collected  and  Edited  by  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Chapter  I. 


By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

The  eastern  side  of  Jericho  reaches  back  upon  Mt.  Mansfield 
and  the  mountains  adjacent.  These,  because  of  the  height,  often- 
times seem  to  delay  the  clouds  and  storms  until  their  moisture 
has  been  precipitated  or  a  current  of  air  has  swept  them  else- 
where; and  it  happens  not  infrequently  that  two  or  even  three 
storm  clouds  from  different  directions  become  merged  around 
the  mountain  peaks  whose  cooling  atmosphere  greatly  hastens 
precipitation,  thus  producing  what  is  familiarly  known  as  cloud- 
burst. These  are  the  forerunners  of  floods  always  resulting 
in  damage. 

The  worst  within  the  memory  of  our  oldest  inhabitants,  and 
probably  in  the  history  of  the  town,  occurred  July  8,  1914,  be- 
tween 6  and  7  o'clock  P.  M.,  when  three  clouds,  one  from  the 
south,  another  from  the  west,  and  still  another  from  the  north- 
west came  together  over  the  eastern  portion  of  the  town,  where- 
upon the  downfall  of  rain  was  exceedingly  copious.  In  one  place 
8  inches  fell  in  an  hour  and  a  half,  in  another  place  12  inches 
in  the  same  length  of  time,  and  concerning  the  accuracy  of  these 
measurements  there  can  be  no  question. 

The  resulting  flood  was  most  disastrous  as  will  be  seen  from 
the  following  excerpts  taken  from  the  Jericho  Reporter : 

"A  violent  storm  accompanied  by  the  most  terrific  thunder 
and  lightning  known  here  for  many  years,  passed  oyer  the  town 


of  Jericho  on  the  afternoon  of  Wednesday,  July  8th,  between 
four  and  six  o'clock. 

"All  the  farm  lands  near  the  banks  of  the  river  have  suffered 
damage,  not  only  crops  of  hay,  corn  and  potatoes,  so  washed 
and  filled  with  sand  and  debris  as  to  be  worthless,  but  acres  of 
soil  carried  downstream,  and  the  surface  covered  with  rocks, 
gravel,  fallen  trees  torn  up  by  the  roots,  and  other  debris.  Of 
nine  bridges  across  the  stream  seven  were  washed  away. 

"The  roadway  .approaching  the  bridges  was  cleaned  out  to 
the  depth  of  the  river  bottom  and  in  several  instances  for  several 
hundred  feet  in  length.  Over  two  miles  of  the  road-bed  of  the 
highway  which  runs  alongside  of  the  river  were  washed  away, 
in  some  instances  to  a  depth  of  five  or  more  feet. 

"The  resulting  damage  to  the  town  in  the  loss  of  bridges 
and  highways  is  variously  estimated  at  from  eight  to  ten  thousand 

"The  destruction  of  the  crops  and  damage  to  the  lands  of  the 
farmers  will  also  run  well  into  the  thousands  of  dollars.  Acres 
of  grass  just  ready  for  cutting  now  lie  flattened  to  the  earth 
and  covered  with  a  deposit  of  gravel,  sand  and  mud.  Fields  of 
grain,  com,  and  potatoes  were  either  washed  away  or  lie  buried 
with  the  silt. 

"The  sorry  and  pathetic  sight  of  it  all  is  the  condition  in 
which  the  meadow  of  the  Prouty  place  now  owned  by  N.  P. 
Gravell  is  left.  This  is  a  small  farm  of  twelve  acres  lying 
alongside  the  river  upon  which  was  a  nice  apple  orchard  and 
fine' growing  crops.  Practically  nothing  is  left  of  the  place  ex- 
cepting the  land  upon  which  the  house  and  barn  are  standing 
and  about  a  half  acre  of  land  at  the  upper  corner,  and  now  where 
there  was  a  fine  garden  and  crops  is  a  broad  expanse  of  river 
bottom  of  stones  and  boulders.  Everything  including  the  soil 
to  a  depth  of  from  three  to  five  or  more  feet  having  been  carried 
down  the  stream.  When  the  water  had  risen  so  as  to  cover  the 
doorstep  of  the  house  the  family  decided  it  were  better  to  leave, 
and  narrowly  made  their  escape  by  crossing  the  road  to  the  top 
of  the  stone  wall  along  which  they  walked  for  some  distance  to 
a  place  of  safety.  Mr.  Gravell,  a  hard  working  man,  and  well 
along  in  years,  purchased  the  place  for  a  home  about  two  years 

The  Pcood,  July  8th,  1914.     Ruins  of  Road  and  Meadow. 

The  Gravell  Place. 

W.  J.  CoTEY  Meadow  on  Lee  Rivee,  Ruined  by  Flood. 

Home  of  N.  P.  Gbavell.     Neaely  a  Complete  Ruin  from  This  Flood. 


ago  and  had  done  much  in  improving  surrounding  conditions. 
His  plight  is  a  sorry  one. 

"Two  bridges  on  Mill  Brook  in  the  southern  part  of  the 
town  were  carried  away  by  the  high  water.  One  near  the 
Hanley  farm  in  Nashville  and  one  near  the  home  of  H.  E.  Bates 
in  the  Winooski  Valley.  Mr.  Bates'  dam  and  a  shop  also  went 
out  and  were  carried  under  the  iron  bridge  below  and  into  the 
Winooski  River.  The  bridge  near  the  farm  of  W.  C.  Field  was 
loosened  from  the  foundation  and  partly  turned  over.  No  other 
special  damage  was  done  by  this  river. 

"It  is  believed  that  not  since  the  great  flood  which  was 
about  sixty-five  years  ago,  on  or  about  the  year  1849,  has  there 
been  so  much  damage  done  to  the  town.  It  is  remembered  by 
Geo.  Cunningham  that  on  that  occasion  the  rain  poured  for 
three  hours,  or  from  six  to  nine  P.  M.  and  the  lightning  seemed 
like  one  almost  continuous  blinding  flash.  The  damage  at  that 
time  was  mostly  on  Mill  Brook,  the  bridges  were  all  taken  off, 
the  channel  widened  so  that  in  West  Bolton,  and  on  the  Leary 
farm  in  Jericho,  large  tracts  of  fertile  meadow  and  pasture  were 
so  covered  with  stones  and  gravel,  that  they  have  never  been 
fully  recovered  to  fertility." 

The  accompanying  cuts  will  indicate  to  the  reader  the 
havoc  wrought  about  Mr.  Gravell's  place  and  represent  fairly  the 
damage  done  by  the  flood  in  the  six  mile  sweep  to  the  Brown's 

Chapter  II. 


By  Mrs.  Jennie  W.  Hart. 

In  the  year  1899,  according  to  a  statute  law  of  the  State,  any 
town  not  having  a  free  public  library,  might  receive  one  hundred 
dollars'  worth  of  books  from  the  State,  providing  it  complied  with 
certain  conditions,  viz.:  Elect  in  town  meeting  a  board  of  five 
library  trustees,  who  should  make  application  to  the  State  Free 


Library  Commission  for  the  books,  the  town  binding  itself  to 
appropriate  annually  a  specified  sum,  according  to  its  grand  list 
towards  the  maintenance  of  the  library,  also  provide  a  suitable 
place  for  keeping  the  books,  and  appoint  a  librarian.  A  few 
people  of  the  town-  being  eager  that  the  town  should  avail  itself 
of  this  provision  of  the  State,  caused  the  following  article  to  be 
inserted  in  the  warning  for  the  March  meeting  of  1899,  viz.: 
"To  see  if  the  town  will  elect  a  board  of  library  trustees  and  in- 
struct them  to  make  application  to  the  State  Board  of  Library 
Commissioners  as  provided  by  statute."  The  matter  was  presented 
in  the  meeting  by  L.  F.  Wilbur,  who  for  the  further  encourage- 
ment of  the  town  to  act  in  the  matter,  ofiFered  to  add  twenty  five 
dollars,  to  the  twenty  five  which  would  be  the  annual  appropria- 
tion required  from  the  town,  thus  starting  the  library  witli  one 
hundred  and  fifty  dollars'  worth  of  books.  The  town  accepted 
the  gift  from  Mr.  Wilbur,  voted  the  appropriation  required,  and 
elected  the  following  board  of  trustees,  viz. :  Rev.  Chas.  E.  Hay- 
ward,  Mrs.  Mary  C.  McGibbon,  Anson  Field,  Mrs.  Jennie  W. 
Hart,  and  L.  F.  Wilbur.  Mrs.  Hart  was  appointed  librarian. 
The  term  of  office  for  the  first  trustee  named  on  the  board  was 
one  year,  and  of  the  last,  five  years,  one  going  out  of  office  each 
year,  and  another  being  elected  in  his  place,  or  he  might  be 
elected  as  his  own  successor.  Mr.  \Mlbur,  Mrs.  McGibbon  now 
Mrs.  Hale,  and  Mrs.  Hart  have  been  in  office  continuously,  until 
the  present  year,  when  Mr.  Wilbur  declined  reappointment,  and 
Mrs.  Hart  has  acted  continuously  as  librarian. 

The  following  is  a  clipping  from  the  Burlington  Free  Press 
dated  Sept.  9,  1899 :  "In  spite  of  the  rain,  quite  a  goodly  num- 
ber of  our  townspeople  were  assembled  in  the  school  building 
hall,  at  Jericho,  the  evening  of  Sept.  1st,  the  occasion  of  the 
formal  announcement,  that  the  new  Free  Public  Library  is  now 
open  for  the  benefit  of  all  the  citizens  of  the  town  who  wish  to 
avail  themselves  of  it." 

The  occasion  was  marked  by  appropriate  exercises,  the  main 
address  of  the  evening  given  by  Rev.  Earl  Wilbur. 

At  the  opening  of  the  library,  and  each  time  purchases  were 
made,  the  books  were  divided  into  three  equal  divisions,  each 
village  in  town  receiving  a  third  of  the  whole  number  of  books, 
and  in  each  village,  some  benevolentiy  disposed  lady  was  found 

lim'I'dliv  nii<  ,1111111(111(1,  VlilliMON'l' 


wild   Wilt)   Wlllllitt  III  iiMniiiiic  llif  i'tiu<  III    llir  iIIhIiIIiiiIIiiii  (iI    llir 

In  Nlll,  iilli'i  I  iiiitiiilllii|{  iiiiil  u<i(<lvlii|j  llid  M|i|iiiivnl  III  llir 
liiinU'pn,  llii»  liiMilm  wi'i»<  nil  wllliilinvvii  limii  ( In  iiliilloii,  liivr>M 
IihUmI,  n<|iiilinl  mill  i  nlnlnijiii'il  liy  lli»<  lllirinlnii  iiiiil  hhhIkIhiiIn, 
\\n\\\\n  lh»i  I'lilil  Mv^li'iii  (il  I  iiliiliiijiiliiu  mill  llii>  Dowi'V  ini'llinil  nl 
I  limillli-iilliiii  .Mill  •>  lliiil  v^'iii'i  IIk' iiiiiliijiiiil  III  llii>  llliiiii  V.  iiiiiii 
lifMlllU  IhlW  iiliiilll  l,,1IK)  viillinu^H,  (lliil  lIlP  I'lililiii'l  I  nnliiliilii(J  llii> 
iril-ll    IlllnltlltllP    IkIA    IiPCII    ll<n     III     lllC    (  IMlIlM,    llu>    lltlllM     vlll(lK(*N 

H»>li>i  liii|j  riiiiii  lliiii^  III  lliiiii  iiM  iiimiv  viiliniiri^  lU  llirv  iIi'mIitiI  mihI 
itMiiinliit]' IhiMii  III  llii'lr  ruiiviMiliMiu',      Tliln  wmli  liim  lutrii  iiwilnlv 
iliinc  liy   Ml     Wlllilll'i  wliii  liiin  NPlvi'il  lli(<  llliiiMV  InltMi'Nl   Inllli 
liillv  III  IIiIm  niiilliM 

Mm  i>  llii>  yi'iii  I'^IW,  iM  liii  llic  Idnl  llvo  vi'iiib,  jiin  lui(Jt'B  nl 
liiiiiltK  liiivi>  |iiH>ii  ni<iil  mil  liv  llii'  llliimliiii  III  nil  llu>  niliiml  illciliii  U 
III  liiwii,  iml>«lili<  llip  vlllrtltPM,  III  llir>  lii>(jliiiilii(j  nf  null  Irnii  iif 
mliiiiil,  wliiiti  iiii>  III  llit>  iiiii<  mill  iiiiiliM  llip  Hll|ii'i  viniiiii  III'  llir 
li'iulii'iq,  mill  iiMiiiiiPil  Id  llip  llliimv  nl  llio  cml  of  llit<  U'liii 

(Jiiinl    iiiH'   liiifl   lii'i'ii    CHon  IbciI    In    llio   Hi'lnllim   nl    IiiiiiKb 
jiiiii  linsi'il   liii   llii'  llliiniy.  wlili  li  liirliiili'w,  Iii'sIiIcr  IIic  lifsl   lii 
Hull  (ililnlnnlilo,  lilnuin|iliv,  liltiliii  v,  ilcm  il|iliuii  mul  linvrl,  m  Iriui', 
liuiiU  (111  lilnJFi,  milinnlfi,  llnwois,  mul  ullici   nnliiir  mul  mil  nl' 
iliiiiin  liuiilt><,  luil    [iii|julHii^  nlmlt'q  nlimil   tii<mn  mul   iiullmin,  nl 
wlilili  Ilii'  liiiVN  nil'  111  Imiil,  I  lillil  nliiilVi  |iiii'liv.  n   Irw  (joiul  it 
lluliiim  linnl<t  mul  I  liiili  i<  ivm^nvn  mi  vni  Imm  niiliioi  In. 

||  \'lilt'iu  CB  riu'  iiiil  liii  Miin  llinl  till'  liniiks  ni-p  nupiiH  Inlnl  liv 
Itiu  ln\vii'»|H'ii|ili\  mul  iiu  hhihIii^Iv  nn,  mul  iIiiiiIiIIi'nh  IIumc  mo 
mil  n  ft'w  wliii  wmilil  siilmiillio  In  llip  wriilliiioiil  I'spu'sfli'il  liv 
Ui'V  I'm  I  W'llliiii,  III  \\\o  nilillPRS  nl  llu'  0|iriiiMK  i'mmiIrch  nl  llir 
llliiniv,  vli-il  llinl  III'  iiiiifliiltMcil  "llu'  n|iriiliiH  nf  n  fu'c  lilirmv, 
nlli'i  llu'  niijiiiiUnllnii  nl  |lu>  llml  i  linn  li,  mul  llio  luiiMliiH  ul  llic 
llml   Bi  luiiilliniim\  llu'  iliiitl   liiipnilnill  cvnil  nl  llio  Inwn  " 

Tlu>  luiii>>lll><  nl  tilt'  Ilium  V  lin«  lii'cii  n  im'illi'i  wlili  li  linn  Insfil 
Bniiu'wlinl  llii'  rpmuiiM'B  nf  ll«  IiIi'iiiIm,  wlm  me  InnMiifj  linpt'liillv 
Iniyviiiil  III  llu>  |iii«im'flslni(  nf  n  siiilnlili'  liiilli!liin  nl  smiu'  Imlt'liiilln 
lliilp  in  till'  fnlnitv 

In  I'JOri  llio  llliiniv  rciolvi'il  n  hITI  nf  ;|;HH)(H)  fimn  llu'  oslnh' 
nf  M,  (*i  !il.lniu'i  nf  Nnilliliclil.  MiniU'inln,  wlm  vinlli'd  Iho  Inwn 


the  summer  before,  and  thus  testified  his  interest  in  his  father's 
native  place. 

Other  lesser  gifts  have  been  received,  both  of  money  and 
books,  including  three  or  four  hundred  books  from  a  private 
library  association  in  town,  at  the  start,  twenty-five  dollars  from 
the  Ladies'  Aid  Society  of  the  First  Congregational  Church,  some 
money  from  sales  and  entertainments,  and  for  the  last  three  years, 
the  town  has  doubled  the  annual  appropriation,  making  it  $50.00. 

The  library  could  use  to  excellent  advantage  more  money 
with  which  to  buy  books,  as,  during  the  school  year,  there  are  as 
many  distributing  centres  as  there  are  school  districts,  also  a 
building,  if  the  library  continues  to  grow  as  it  has,  will  soon  be 
a  prime  necessity. 

Chapter  III. 


The  accompanying  cut  shows  the  G.  A.  R.  Hall  situated  in 
Jericho,  but  near  the  Underbill  line,  together  with  a  group  of 
Grand  Army  men.  The  cost  of  this  building  and  its  fittings  has 
exceeded  $3,000.00,  yet  it  was  paid  in  full  and  quite  promptly, 
due  to  the  energy  and  enterprise  manifested  by  members  of  the 
Post  and  the  Corps.  The  building  also  affords  the  community 
a  hall  for  various'  public  gatherings,  entertainments,  etc.,  a  neces- 
sity in  village  life.  Decoration  Day  exercises  have  been  a  yearly 
occurrence  since  its  dedication  and  even  before.  The  attendance 
upon  these  occasions  has  always  been  large  and  enthusiastic, 
often  phenomenal,  exceeding  all  other  days  and  occasions  of  the 
entire  year.  The  following  write-ups  of  the  Post  and  the  Corps 
are  given  in  full : 


Written  by  Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer. 

L.  H.  Bostwick  Post,  No.  69,  was  organized  in  Underbill, 
December  12th,  1883,  with  43  charter  members,  who  were  re- 
cruited from  Underbill,  Jericho,  and  adjoining  towns.    Three 


of  this  number  were  transferred  from  Post  10  in  Cambridge. 
The  Post  was  named  for  Captain  Lucius  H.  Bostwick,  who  was 
b.  in  Jericho,  Sept.  24,  1837,  the  only  son  of  Julius  Hoyt  Bost- 
wick, and  Christia  Chadwick  Bostwick.  He  enlisted  as  Lieu- 
tenant in  Co.  F,  13th  Regiment  Vt.  Volunteers,  Sept.  10th,  1862, 
and  was  promoted  to  Captain  in  March  following.  After  a  few 
months  of  faithful  service  he  was  stricken  with  disease,  and  died 
in  Washington.  His  body  was  brought  to  Vermont,  and  laid 
to  rest  among  the  green  hills  which  he  loved.  A  fine  picture  of 
him  was  presented  to  the  Post  by  his  sister,  Mrs.  Mary  C.  Walton, 
who  also  gave  a  generous  sum  towards  the  hall  building.  The 
Post  is  honored  in  bearing  and  thus  keeping  in  remembrance  the 
name  of  such  a  true  man,  and  honored  soldier.  The  first  meet- 
ing of  the  Post  was  held  in  the  upper  room  of  the  Old  Academy 
where  they  organized  with  the  following  officers:  L.  F.  Terrill, 
Commander;  J.  J.  Monahan,  Senior- Vice;  W.  W.  Wheeler, 
Junior- Vice;  A.  C.  Humphrey,  Adjutant;  A.  W.  Terrill,  Quar- 
termaster; A.  F.  Burdick,  Surgeon;  F.  D.  Gilson,  Chaplain;  W. 
H.  Hilton,  Officer  of  the  Day ;  William  Burroughs,  Officer  of  the 

Memorial  Day  and  Memorial  Sunday  services  were  estab- 
lished, and  so  much  interest  was  manifested  in  their  observance 
that  the  towns  of  Underbill  and  Jericho  each  appropriated  twenty- 
five  dollars  yearly  to  assist  the  Post  in  thus  honoring  the  memory 
of  their  comrades  who  have  fallen. 

Post  meetings  were  held  in  the  Academy  nearly  six  years, 
but  the  desire  for  a  hall  of  their  own  was  growing,  and  at  a  meet- 
ing in  March,  1889,  the  advisability  of  building  was  discussed  and 
a  committee  appointed  to  devise  ways  and  means.  This  com- 
mittee consisted  of  J.  J.  Monahan,  A.  C.  Humphrey,  Victor 
Lovely,  S.  A.  Hale,  and  T.  S.  Whipple.  In  April  this  committee 
called  on  citizens  of  that  town  to  ascertain  how  much  outside 
help  could  be  obtained,  and  met  with  a  generous  response  in  addi- 
tion to  the  amount  subscribed  by  the  comrades.  The  funds  were 
entirely  inadequate  to  the  work  planned,  but  the  comrades  had 
faith,  and  were  willing  to  work,  and  these  qualities  helped  them 
to  win  out.  In  May,  1889,  an  association  was  formed  having 
for  its  object,  "To  acquire,  hold,  manage  and  dispose  of  property 
in  the  towns  of  Jericho  and  Underbill  for  the  benefit  of  L.  H. 


Bostwick  Post,  No.  69,  and  also  in  their  discretion  for  the  benefit 
of  L.  H.  Bostwick  Corps,  No  19,  and  the  association  known  as 
George  A.  Custer  Camp,  No.  7,  Sons  of  Veterans ;  also  to  make 
and  carry  into  efifect  such  by-laws,  rules  and  regulations  as 
thought  proper  for  the  management  of  the  association." 

At  the  May  meeting  a  building  committee  was  appointed 
consisting  of  Comrades  Morehouse,  Burroughs,  and  Woodruff. 
Comrade  Morehouse  was  made  treasurer  and  he  presented  to  the 
Post  the  land  on  which  the  hall  was  erected,  an  addition  to  the 
land  being  purchased  later.  The  comrades  worked  with  great 
energy  furnishing  both  labor  and  money,  and  soon  the  foundation 
was  laid.  The  building  was  ready  for  dedication,  Sept.  11th. 
There  were  suitable  addresses  and  music,  and  a  fine  dinner  was 
served  to  a  large  and  enthusiastic  crowd.  There  have  been 
many  and  expensive  alterations  in  the  hall  in  the  years  since  its 
erection,  but  to  the  comrades  it  has  been  a  home  all  these  years. 
There  have  been  over  one  hundred  names  on  the  Post  records 
since  its  organization  and  the  following  comrades  have  served  as 
Commander  for  one  or  more  terms :  L.  F.  Terrill,  A.  C.  Humph- 
rey, George  Laselle,  S.  A.  Hale,  H.  H.  Paine,  Cyrus  Prior,  T.  S. 
Whipple,  J.  J.  Monahan,  W.  M.  Burroughs,  S.  M.  Palmer, 
Robert  White,  D.  L.  Terrill  and  A.  F.  Burdick. 

A  beautiful  book  for  personal  war  sketches  was  presented 
to  the  Post  and  the  Relief  Corps,  by  Thomas  W.  Thorp  and  T.  S. 
Whipple,  and  was  accepted  for  the  Post  by  Comrade  A.  C. 
Humphrey  at  a  largely  attended  camp-fire  in  the  hall. 

Comrade  Humphrey  paid  an  eloquent  tribute  to  the  bravery 
of  the  members  of  the  Post,  as  well  as  all  soldiers  who  had  bortle 
an  honorable  part  in  the  service,  which  made  our  country  once 
more  a  united  nation,  with  the  Old  Flag  triumphant.  The  Post 
believed  that  it  was  not  good  for  man  to  be  alone,  and  they  early 
took  to  themselves  a  helpmeet  in  the  organization  of  the  Wo- 
man's Relief  Corps,  and  these  two  organizations  have  worked  in 
harmony  to  promote  fraternity,  charity,  and  loyalty  to  which 
they  are  mutually  pledged. 

Twelve  of  the  charter  members  are  living  but  only  six  of 
the  number  are  left  here  to  sustain  meetings.  The  faithful  few 
who  have  borne  the  burden  for  so  many  years,  are:  Amos  C. 
Humphrey,  Commander;  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick,  Wm.  Burroughs, 


George  Laselle,  S.  M.  Palmer,  and  Robert  White.  With  in- 
creasing feebleness  and  decreasing  numbers  it  was  thought  best 
to  place  fheir  hall  property  in  the  hands  of  the  Relief  Corps.  For 
report  of  this  transfer  see  Relief  Corps  history. 

Number  of  comrades  in  the  Post  1915  is  17. 

State  Officers — J.  J.  Monahan  served  one  year  as  Judge 

L.  F.  Terrill  represented  the  State  at  the  National  Encamp- 
ment at  San  Francisco. 

Names  of  the  soldiers  in  the  picture  on  another  page. 

The  first  row,  seated  upon  the  ground  or  first  step,  beginning 
at  the  left  of  the  picture. 

Robert  White,  M.  D.  Mead,  T.  S.  Whipple,  Robert  Bixby, 
Thomas  Preston,  William  Woodrufif,  Samuel  A.  Hale,  Simeon  M. 
Palmer,  James  Carroll,  Loyal  Remington,  P.  S.  Bullock. 

Second  row  seated  upon  steps :  Mathew  Tierney,  A.  C. 
Humphrey,  Rev.  Edwin  Wheelock,  Rev.  S.  S.  Brigham,  also 
Captain ;  Lewis  Tatro,  George  W.  Tubbs,  Horace  Ellsworth,  An- 
drew McGee,  Henry  Chase,  Calvin  Putnam,  Visiting  Comrade, 
Barney  Mattimore,  Newell  Clark,  John  Cummings. 

Third  row  standing:  L.  F.  Terrill,  A.  W.  Edwards,  Visit- 
ing Comrade,  Marcus  Hoskins,  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick,  J.  M.  Car- 
penter, John  Jackson,  Bliss  Atchinson,  Victor  Plant,  George  W. 
Batchelder,  G.  C.  Bicknell,  Fred  A.  Fuller,  George  Laselle,  Ho- 
bart  Goodwin,  Eugene  Wells,  H.  H.  Paine,  J.  J.  Monahan. 


By  Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer. 

L.  H.  Bostwick  Relief  Corps,  No.  19,  was  organized  as  an 
auxiliary  to  the  Post  March  ISth,  1886,  with  twenty-one  charter 
members.  Its  first  officers  were  Susie  A.  Terrill,  President; 
Mary  C.  Burdick,  Senior  Vice-President;  Helen  S.  Humphrey, 
Junior- Vice;  Hattie  L.  Palmer,  Secretary;  Maria  C.  Laselle, 
Treasurer;  Helen  Wright,  Chaplain;  Lucy  J.  Prior,  Conductor; 
Amanda  McDaniels,  Guard. 

The  Corps  began  their  work  with  energy  and  enthusiasm 
and  by  way  of  entertainments  and  suppers  rendered  much  assist- 


ance  to  the  Post.  The  Post  was  presented  with  a  beautiful  silk 
flag,  costing  sixty-five  dollars;  the  presentation  being  made  by 
Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer,  in  the  park  on  Memorial  Day. 

In  the  Autumn  of  1889,  the  Corps  held  a  Fair  which  was  a 
wonderful  success.  After  the  payment  of  all  bills,  the  sum  of 
three  hundred  dollars  was  paid  on  the  hall.  Within  two  years 
after  this  payment,  the  sum  of  one  hundred  dollars  was  paid  at 
one  time  and  later  eighty  dollars.  The  Corps  have  turned  over 
to  the  Post  seven  hundred  and  forty  dollars  besides  purchasing 
an  organ  at  eighty  dollars,  and  a  piano  at  three  hundred  dollars 
and  paying  for  same  for  use  of  the  hall.  They  have  furnished 
their  rooms  with  dining  tables,  table  linen,  crockery  and  silver- 
ware sufficient  to  seat  seventy-five  people  at  once.  They  also 
paid  for  blinds  for  the  entire  hall.  During  all  these  years  of 
service  they  have  responded  to  many  outside  calls  for  aid. 
Several  boxes  have  been  sent  to  the  Soldiers'  Home,  and  the  calls 
from  Department  and  National  Officers  have  met  with  as  gener- 
ous response  as  finances  and  home  needs  would  allow. 

The  Corps  invested  sixty  dollars  in  the  book  for  Personal 
Sketches  of  Post  Members.  The  Corps  which  at  first  was  made 
up  entirely  of  soldiers'  relatives,  admitted  to  its  membership  later, 
loyal  women  who  desired  to  aid  in  our  work,  and  we  acknowledge 
hereby  our  great  indebtedness  to  them. 

When  the  older  members  have  grown  weary,  they  have  taken 
much  of  the  burden  and  responsibility  and  greatly  aided  in  the 
work  accomplished.  On  December  12th,  1908,  the  Post  observed 
its  25th  anniversary  at  the  hall.  An  excellent  program  consisting 
of  readings,  recitations  and  music  was  prepared  and  carried  out 
by  the  Corps  who  got  up  the  entertainment,  and  a  fine  silk  flag 
was  presented  by  Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer.  Commander  Humphrey 
accepted  the  flag  for  the  Post  and  expressed  their  appreciation 
of  the  many'  kind  deeds  of  their  auxiliary,  which  had  given  them 
so  many  happy  days  and  memories.  A  fine  dinner  was  served 
to  Post,  Corps  and  invited  guests.  Of  the  charter  members,  seven 
are  living,  five  o-f  the  number  being  still  members  of  the  Corps, 
only  three  of  these  are  in  the  active  work  of  the  Corps.  They 
are  Mrs.  Maria  C.  Laselle,  Mrs.  Helen  S.  Humphrey,  Mrs.  Hattie 
L.  Palmer.  Following  are  the  members  who  have  served  one  or 
more  terms  as  president :  Mrs.  Susie  A.  Terrill,  Maria  C.  Laselle, 


Adelia  A.  Whipple,  Helen  S.  Humphrey,  Mary  C.  Burdick,  Hattie 
L.  Palmer,  Ella  E.  Tillison,  Mary  C.  Hale,  Medora  Schweig, 
Ruth  Sinclair,  and  Mrs.  Dora  A.  Knight  who  is  the  present  in- 
cumbent. In  the  Autumn  of  1914  a  meeting  of  Post  and  Corps 
was  held,  and  it  was  proposed  to  place  the  hall  property  in  the 
hands  of  the  Corps.  By  advice  of  their  attorney,  articles  of 
association  were  drawn  up  for  this  purpose:  "To  acquire,  hold, 
manage  and  dispose  of  property  for  the  benefit  of  L.  H.  Bostwick 
Corps,  No.  19.  By-laws,  rules  and  regulations  for  the  governing 
of  said  association  were  also  drawn  up  and  we  were  duly  incor- 
porated under  the  laws  of  the  State.  The  property  was  deeded 
to  the  Corps  November  24th,  1914."  A  complimentary  reception 
and  dinner  was  given  the  Post  January  1st,  which  was  largely 
attended.  Exercises  suitable  for  the  occasion  were  well  carried 
out  including  a  testimonial  of  thanks  to  the  Grand  Army  for 
their  confidence  in  the  Corps  in  giving  to  their  care  the  Grand 
Army  Hall. 

Number  of  members  in  good  standing,  forty-eight. 


Hattie  L.  Palmer  served  as  senior  vice-president  one  year. 
Was  elected  State  President  and  served  one  term;  Mrs.  Dora  A. 
Knight  served  as  State  Secretary ;  Mrs.  Edith  C.  Colgrove  served 
as  State  Treasurer. 


Mrs.  Dora  A.  Knight,  President;  Mrs.  Medora  Schweig, 
Senior  Vice;  Mrs.  Sarah  Ellsworth,  Junior  Vice;  Mrs.  Elnor 
Clark,  Secretary;  Mrs.  Edith  Colgrove,  Treasurer;  Mrs.  Rennie 
Chase,  Conductor;  Mrs.  Lois  Rogers,  Assistant  Conductor;  Mrs. 
M.  C.  Hale,  Press  Correspondent;  Mrs.  Hattie  L.  Palmer, 
Patriotic  Instructor;  Mrs.  Helen  S.  Humphrey,  Chaplain;  Mrs. 
Clara  Bartlett,  Guard ;  Mrs.  Annie  Gallup,  Assistant ;  Mrs.  Clara 
Bennett,  Mrs.  Ella  E.  Tillison,  Mrs.  Lena  Gaines,  Mrs.  Ursula 
Scribner,  Color  Bearers. 



Chapter  IV. 


Among  the  fraternal  organizations  of  our  town  possibly  that 
of  the  Masons  is  the  oldest. 

I  am  personally  indebted  to  Dr.  W.  S.  Nay  for  the  follow- 
ing sketch  of  Masonry  and  of  McDonough  Lodge,  No.  26. 


Many  of  the  old-time  residents  of  Jericho  and  those  now  liv- 
ing in  town  have  identified  themselves  with  the  Masonic  fra- 

Formerly  their  membership  was  divided  among  lodges  most 
convenient  of  access.  Those  from  Jericho  Center  and  vicinity, 
being  nearer  the  Richmond  line,  became  members  of  North  Star 
Lodge,  No.  12  of  Richmond,  while  those  at  the  Corners  and 
nearer  Underbill  sought  membership  with  McDonough  Lodge, 
No.  26,  located  at  Essex  Center.  Among  those  belonging  to 
North  Star  Lodge  were  Lyman  Stimson,  Nehemiah  Prouty,  Rol- 
lin  Lincoln,  and  Wareham  Pierce,  who  were  loyal  to  their  lodge 
and  the  fraternity. 

Charles  Hilton,  Addison  Ford,  Cyrus  Spaulding,  L.  B.  Howe, 
James  Hutchinson,  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick,  L.  F.  Wilbur,  Esq.,  C.  S. 
Palmer,  Esq.,  Martin  Packard,  John  Pratt,  M.  V.  Willard,  A.  C. 
Spaulding,  John  Percival,  and  some  others  were  members  of  Mc- 
Donough Lodge.  Of  those  mentioned,  Charles  Hilton  and  C.  S. 
Palmer  have  been  Worshipful  Masters  of  their  lodge  and  all  of 
these  have  proved  their  interest  by  attendance  at  lodge  meetings 
and  adherence  to  the  principles  of  the  craft.  A  large  percentage 
of  the  membership  of  McDonough  Lodge  were  residents  of  Jeri- 
cho and  Underbill,  and  in  1880  and  1881  the  idea  of  removing  the 
lodge  from  Essex  to  Jericho  was  conceived  and  finally  prevailed. 
For  a  time  subsequently,  it  was  felt  by  many  members  that  it 
was  not  a  wise  act,  although  the  membership  of  the  Lodge  rapidly 
increased  and  so  did  the'  expenses  attending  its  maintenance 
proportionally.  At  Essex,  a  hall  was  owned  by  the  Lodge  while 
at  Jericho  we  were  obliged  to  pay  large  rental.     However,  a  good 


interest  was  evidenced  among  its  members,  who  were  mostly  resi- 
dents of  the  towns  mentioned,  as  nearly  all  of  the  Essex  residents 
severed  their  affiliations  after  the  removal  and  became  members 
of  other  lodges  more  convenient  of  access.  Among  the  resident 
members  who  held  the  Worshipful  Master's  chair  were  Dr.  W. 
Scott  Nay,  Thomas  W.  Thorp,  Frank  A.  Castle,  Lucian  H.  Cha- 
pin,  Dennis  E.  Rood,  Fred  A.  Percival,  and  George  Clerkin.     In 

the  building  burned  in  which  the  Lodge  hall  was  located  and 

for  a  time  a  dispensation  was  obtained  allowing  meetings  to  be 
held  in  a  convenient  hall  in  the  -pillage  of  Underbill  Flats.  In 
1906,  fire  again  deprived  them  of  a  meeting  place  but  for  a  short 
time  only. 

A  hall  was  provided  by  Dr.  Nay  in  the  building  erected  by 
him  the  same  year,  in  which  the  Lodge  is  now  pleasantly  and 
Comfortably  located. 

The  writer  notes  a  sad  but  interesting  fact,  that  since  the 
removal  from  Essex  the  local  personnel  of  the  Lodge  has  almost 
wholly  changed. 

More  than  fifty  of  its  members  are  deceased  and  a  few  have 
affiliated  with  organizations  nearer  their  present  homes.  It  is 
gratifying  that  some  who  are  now  non-residents  still  retain  their 
membership  with  their  home  Lodge.  Among  such  are  the  brothers 
John  and  Edwin  Oakes  and  recently  Bro.  C.  S.  Palmer,  who 
demitted  to  join  elsewhere,  has  re-affiliated.  The  present  flourish- 
ing condition  of  the  Lodge  is  due  to  the  earnest,  painstaking  ef- 
forts of  its  younger  membership,  which  comprises  some  of  the 
most  respected  and  estimable  men  of  the  towns  of  Jericho,  Under- 
bill, and  Bolton.  Among  such  to  whom  its  success  is  attributed  are 
Past  Master  William  T.  Mead,  the  faithful  and  efficient  Secretary, 
Dennis  E.  Rood,  the  devoted  Chaplain,  Fred  A.  Percival,  and 
the  present  capable  W.  M.,  Chauncey  H.  Hayden. 

It  is  felt  that  this  institution  has  been  a  power  for  good  in 
the  community  and  town.  The  tenets  of  Brotherly  Love,  Relief, 
and  Truth  are  faithfully  taught  and  the  adherence  to  the  principles 
of  Masonry  are  conducive  to  better  manhood,  better  citizenship, 
and  better  moulding  of  Christian  character. 

The  editor  wishes  to  add  that  McDonough  has  the  dis- 
tinguished honor  of  having  had  three  Grand  Masters,  Bro.  N.  P. 
Bowman  in  1874-1875,  Dr.  L.  C.  Butler  in  1881-1882,  and  Dr.  W. 


S.  Nay  in  1899-1900.  To  the  latter  Dr.  Nay,  being  also  a  citizen 
of  Jericho,  has  thus  come  an  honor  highly  appreciated  by  mem- 
bers of  McDonough  Lodge.  The  present  membership  is  83  and 
its  officers  are:  C.  H.  Hayden,  W.  M.;  C.  E.  Nay,  S.  W.;  G.  H. 
Hutchinson,  J.  W. ;  John  Schillhammer,  Treasurer ;  D.  E.  Rood, 
Secretary;  H.  L.  Murdock,  S.  D.;  G.  R.  Gile,  J.  D.;  F.  P.  Tilli- 
son,  S.  S. ;  L.  C.  Rogers,  J.  S. ;  F.  A.  Percival,  Chaplain ;  D.  A. 
Gallup,  Marshal ;  A.  B.  Joy,  Tyler. 



Was  organized  in  1913,  and  has  a  membership  of  46. 

Its  officers  are :  Worthy  Matron,  Mrs.  Ella  TiUison ;  Worthy 
Patron,  G.  Herbert  Hutchinson;  Assistant  Matron,  Mrs.  Martha 
Nay ;  Conductress,  Mrs.  Medora  Schweig ;  Assistant  Conductress, 
Mrs.  Clara  Nay ;  Secretary,  Mrs.  Carrie  Percival ;  Treasurer,  Mrs. 
Edith  Colegrove ;  Chaplain,  Mrs.  Ursula  Scribner ;  Marshal,  Mrs. 
Edith  Lee;  Organist,  Mrs.  Mamie  Percival;  Adah,  Mrs.  M.  Alice 
Hayden ;  Ruth,  Mrs.  Rennie  Chase ;  Esther,  Mrs.  Alma  Scribner ; 
Martha,  Mrs.  Fanny  Gomo;  Electa,  Mrs.  Lottie  Hutchinson; 
Warder,  Mrs.  Alice  Tatro ;  Sentinel,  P.  S.  Scribner. 



Was  organized  in  1898,  has  held  meetings  in  Jericho  much  of 
the  time  since  its  organization,  but  for  the  future  will  be  perma- 
nently located  in  Underhill,  having  recently  built  a  new  hall  there. 
The  membership  is  quite  largely  of  Jericho,  however.  At  the 
present  time  the  Lodge  numbers  62,  and  its  officers  are :  Chancellor 
Commander,  Harley  F.  Ross;  Vice-Chancellor,  Dr.  Frank  B. 
Hunt ;  Prelate,  C.  H.  Hayden ;  Master  of  Work,  P.  S.  Coleman ; 
Keeper  of  Records  &  Seal,  R.  H.  Metcalf ;  Master  of  Finance, 
David  A.  Gallup ;  Master  of  Exchequer,  E.  J.  Corse ;  Master  of 
Arms,  Howard  M.  Haylette;  Inside  Guard,  Guy  I.  Bicknell; 


Outside  Guard,  F.  A.  Thompson ;  Trustees,  John  A.  McKeef  e,  E. 
W.  Henry  and  F.  S.  Jackson. 

The  basic  principles  of  this  Fraternity  are  Friendship,  Char- 
ity, and  Benevolence  as  exemplified  in  the  Ancient  Grecian 
Episode  of  Damon  and  Pythias.  An  example  of  friendship  as 
refreshing  as  it  was  strange  and  unheard  of  in  those  cruel  times. 



Was  organized  in  1907  and  has  a  membership  of  55,  includ- 
ing honorary  members,  and  its  officers  are :  Most  Excellent  Chief, 
Mrs.  Emma  McKeef e;  Most  Excellent  Senior,  Mrs.  Emma  Dick- 
inson; Most  Excellent  Junior,  Mrs.  Anna  Gallup;  Mistress  of 
Records  and  Correspondence,  Mrs.  Lillian  M.  Cross ;  Mistress  of 
Finance,  Mrs.  Clara  Bartlett;  Manager,  Irene  Bruce;  Protector, 
Mrs.  Carrie  Bruce ;  Guard,  Mrs.  Mae  Moulton ;  Past  Chief,  Mrs. 
Martha  Irish;  Trustees,  Mrs.  Lou  Ayer,  Mrs.  Leora  Kirby,  and 
Mrs.  Laura  Rockwood. 


Mr.  Frank  G.  Pease  has  furnished  the  following  information 
respecting  Mt.  Mansfield  Grange,  Number  441,  Patrons  of 
Husbandry,  located  at  Jericho  Center.  This  Grange  was  organ- 
ized Nov.  13,  1909,  and  has  at  present  a  membership  of  55  in 
good  standing.  The  good  work  of  this  Grange  is  very  manifest. 
In  1912  they  conducted  a  lecture  course  given  by  the  professors 
of  the  Agricultural  College.  Later  an  Agricultural  School  was 
conducted  by  the  college  extension,  which  was  of  special  interest 
to  the  student  farmer.  The  present  officers  are :  Master,  Charles 
Moran;  Overseer,  Fred  Bliss;  Lecturer,  Mrs.  Kate  B.  Isham; 
Steward,  W.  V.  N.  Ring ;  Assistant  Steward,  Earl  Kinney ;  Lady 
Assistant  Steward,  Barbara  Stiles;  Chaplain,  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum; 
Treasurer,  A.  P.  Byington;  Secretary,  Mrs.  Fred  Bliss;  Gate 
Keeper,  Max  Stiles ;  Ceres,  Mae  Eldridge ;  Pomona,  Mrs.  Sadie 
Packard;  Flora,  Bernice  Bullock. 

Past  Masters,  Dr.  H.  D.  Hopkins,  Frank  G.  Pease,  W.  J. 


Mr.  Oliver  J.  Lowrey,  now  deceased,  was  very  prominently 
connected  with  the  fearly  grange  movements  and  was  Grand 
Lecturer  of  the  State  Grange  for  many  years.  Other  granges 
have  at  different  times  been  located  in  town. 



Was  organized  January  9,  1901  with  21  Charter  members. 

The  Camp  has  always  been  an  excellent  one  and  has  at 
present  43  members.  The  officers  are :  Consul,  George  Costello ; 
Adviser,  T.  H.  Bruce;  Banker,  John  Schillhammer ;  Clerk,  Jed 
T.  Varney;  Escort,  E.  H.  Gomo;  Watchman,  Fred  Foster; 
Sentry,  E.  G.  Nealy;  Managers,  C.  F.  Reavy,  E.  G.  Irish,  H. 
W.  Sinclair.  The  first  Consul  was  G.  L.  Clerkin.  This  Camp 
hold  their  meetings  at  Jericho  Corners. 


From  the  early  days  at  various  times  the  citizens  of  Jericho 
have  had  a  band  at  the  Corners  or  at  the  Center.  These  bands 
have  always  been  well  led,  and  have  been  composed  of  excellent 
musicians.  One  of  the  early  leaders  was  George  Sherman,  whose 
reputation  became  statewide  later  as  the  leader  of  Burlington's 
famous  cornet  band.  Willie  Buxton  was  a  capable  leader  for 
several  years.  Mr.  P.  S.  Thompson  was  at  another  and  earlier 
period  a  prominent  member,  as  was  also  Mr.  RoUin  M.  Clapp  and 
many  others.  Lucius  Howe  was  for  years  a  member  of  this  band 
who  had  marked  ability  as  a  musician.  Few  organizations  have 
contributed  more  to  the  pleasure  of  our  people  than  these  Cornet 
Bands,  and  much  more  doubtless  ought  to  be  written  in  this  con- 
nection only  for  the  lack  of  opportunity  to  get  the  facts. 


Among  the  Temperance  Organizations,  the  first  probably 
was  that  of  the  Sons  of  Temperance.  The  older  people  readily 
recall  the  interest  that  this  organization  awakened  in  temperance 


matters.  "Reform  Men's  Clubs,"  later  were  organized  in  town, 
which  also  aroused  great  interest. 

Lodges  of  the  Independent  Order.of  Good  Templars  existed 
in  each  of  the  villages  at  different  times  for  many  years.  There 
were  especially  large  and  influential  Lodges  at  Jericho  Center  and 
at  Jericho  Corners.  In  those  days  everybody  seemed  to  be  en- 
gaged in  temperance  work,  with  the  general  result  that  the  use 
of  intoxicants  for  purpose  of  beverage  was  at  a  mininum.  No 
organization  of  a  temperance  nature  has  left  a  deeper  impress 
upon  the  character  of  our  people  than  the  Good  Templars,  and, 
while  it  is  a  matter  of  regret  that  that  order  is  decreasing  with 
us,  it  is  a  source  of  inspiration  to  know  that  the  order  is  increas- 
ing mightily  in  other  countries,  and  that  this  order  is  world  wide 
in  its  activity  and  influence. 

Pledge  taking,  and  pledge  keeping  is  the  unique  work  of  this 
magnificent  order. 

Mr.  Chauncey  H.  Hayden  served  as  Grand  Chief  Templar  of 
the  State  Grand  Lodge  for  20  years. 

Several  times  have  the  Woman's  Christian  Temperance 
Union  organized  in  the  various  villages,  always  with  good  results, 
but  this  most  excellent  organization  likewise  seems  to  be  on  the 
wane.  Mrs.  M.  J.  Wilbur,  and  Mrs.  Ella  Lee  Parker  were 
among  those  who  were  especially  active  and  prominent  in  W.  C. 
T.  U.  work  in  town  and  in  the  State. 

Note — I  am  indebted  to  Rev.  S.  H.  Barnum  for  the  follow- 
ing including  the  Female  Cent  Society. 

The  Jericho  Temperance  Society  was  organized  Oct.  13, 
1829,  and  its  articles  required  total  abstinence  from  the  use  of 
ardent  spirits,  wine  and  ale,  except  for  sacred  and  medicinal 
purposes.  Simeon  Bicknell  was  the  first  president  and  Thomas 
Rood  secretary.  One  hundred  and  sixty-six  signers  to  the  con- 
stitution are  named  in  the  records.  Frequent  meetings  were 
held,  addresses  given  and  temperance  in  various  bearings  dis- 
cussed. It  appears  that  a  youth's  society  was  also  in  existence 
and  the  propriety  of  uniting  the  two  was  coftsidered.  Whether 
this  was  done  or  not,  in  1836  a  new  constitution  was  adopted. 
Among  its  provisions  was  one  for  a  committee  of  vigilance  to 
notice  and  report  transgressions  of  the  pledges  of  which  there 


were  two.  One  was  against  the  use  of  ardent  spirits  or  furnish-- 
ing  it  to  laborers  or  friends,  except  in  good  faith  as  a  medicine. 
For  this  117  signers  were  secured.  The  other  pledge  was  of 
total  abstinence  and  meant  abstaining  from  all  intoxicating 
drinks  in  any  form,  wine  or  ale  not  excepted  unless  for  sacred  or 
medicinal  purposes.  This  received  158  signatures.  Rev.  E.  W. 
Kellogg  became  president  and  Lucius  L.  Lane  secretary.  At  one 
meeting  a  resolution  was  adopted  asking  all  the  churches  in  town 
to  require  a  verbal  pledge  of  total  abstinence  from  all  who  de- 
sired admission.  The  last  record  of  its  meetings  bears  date  of 
Jan.  7,  1840. 

Temperance  was  still  a  live  subject,  for  in  1842  the  Jericho 
Center  Temperance  Society  was  formed  with  a  total  abstinence 
pledge  and  a  purpose  of  helping  those  who  wished  to  reform. 
Abram  Jackson,  A.  Warner  and  John  Benham  were  successive 
presidents.  A  systematic  canvass  for  signatures  resulted  in  se- 
curing 348.  How  long  the  society  continued  is  not  certain,  but 
the  last  meeting  recorded  was  in  Jan.,  1849. 


This  was  a  society  formed  July  18,  1809,  for  the  establish- 
ment and  circulation  among  its  members  of  a  library.  Each 
original  member  paid  one  dollar  and  became  possessor  of  a  right 
which  could  be  sold.  The  records  run  to  1817,  and  the  names  of 
66  members  are  on  the  book. 


The  first  Union  Bible  Society  of  Jericho,  having  collectors 
for  each  district,  was  in  existence  from  Jan.  18,  1828,  to  Oct.  20, 
1832,  when  officers  were  elected,  but  nothing  further  is  set  down. 


An  auxiliary  Tract  Society  was  formed  Oct.  23,  1831,  and  a 
canvass  for  donations  secured  $31.49. 



This  has  been  the  most  permanent  institution  in  town,  ex- 
cept the  church.  In  the  summer  of  1805,  tradition  says,  a  few 
women  met  in  Jericho  to  devise  some  plan  to  do  good.  They 
hardly  knew  what  to  do.  "Not  a  Female  Society  was  known  in 
all  this  northern  region."  They  continued  their  meetings  for 
some  months,  and  were  at  length  regularly  formed  into  a  Society 
under  the  guidance  of  Rev.  Ebenezer  Kingsbury,  their  pastor. 
His  wife  and  six  others  were  the  first  members.  Their  earliest 
written  document  bears  the  date  July  31st,  1806;  its  title  is  "Arti- 
cles of  the  Female  Religious  Society  in  Jericho."  There  is  also 
a  pledge  signed  by  the  first  members,  four  of  them  promising  to 
give  fifty  cents  yearly  for  missions,  and  three  twenty-five.  They 
met  and  prayed  and  talked  and  gave  their  money  for  years. 

In  1812  Rev.  John  Denison,  their  pastor,  assisted  in  forming 
a  Young  Ladies  Society,  with  twelve  members ;  in  four  years  the 
number  increased  to  forty-one. 

In  1816  the  two  societies  were  united,  and  called  "The  Fe- 
male Cent  Society  of  Jericho."  About  seventy  members  united, 
each  was  to  pay  fifty  cents  yearly  into  the  treasury. 

In  1877,  under  the  lead  of  Mrs.  Hazen,  it  became  auxiliary 
to  the  Woman's  Board  of  Missions.  The  whole  number  of  mem- 
bers from  the  beginning  is  some  two  hundred  and  seventy,  and 
the  whole  amount  of  money  given  seventeen  hundred  dollars:  it 
has  been  given  to  Home  and  Foreign  Missions,  the  Bible  Society, 
American  Tract  Society,  American  Education  Society,  American 
Missionary  Association. 

In  1832  the  Ecclesiastical  Society  being  unable  to  raise  the 
salary  of  Rev.  H.  Smith,  the  Cent  Society  gave  nineteen  dollars 
towards  it.  Again  in  1835  the  Society  renewed  their  request  for 
aid  and  received  it  as  a  loan,  because  "some  objection  was  made 
to  giving  the  money  thus  all  at  home,"  but  it  does  not  appear 
that  the  loan  was  ever  repaid. 

None  can  tell  us  all  the  good  the  money  given  in  these  more 
than  four  score  years  has  done  in  this  and  other  lands ;  noae  can 
estimate  what  the  prayers  and  labors  of  the  givers  have  done  for 
this  town  and  the  world.     The  great  day  will  disclose  it. 

The  life  and  soul  of  the  Society  for  many  years  was  Mrs. 


John  Lyman,  long  Secretary,  Treasurer  and  leader.  One  mem- 
ber of  this  Society,  Andelucia  Lee,  went  as  a  missionary — ^first  a 
teacher  of  the  Indians  in  New  York.  In  1836  she  married  Rev. 
Daniel  T.  Conde,  and  went  to  the  Hawaiian  Islands ;  after  twenty 
years  of  labor  she  died  there.  Thus  not  only  by  its  prayers  and 
gifts  of  money,  but  by  one  of  its  own  members,  this  Society  had 
a  part  in  transforming  those  pagan  islanders  into  a  christian 

It  may  be  added  that  in  1906  the  centennial  of  this  society 
was  celebrated  in  an  afternoon  and  evening  gathering  which  was 
fully  attended  by  its  members  and  by  representatives  of  neigh- 
boring societies.  It  was  then  stated  that  the  society  had  given  to 
missionary  causes  during  one  hundred  years  about  $2,500.  For 
the  first  few  years,  but  four  or  five  dollars  were  contributed  an- 
nually. This  amount  gradually  increased  till  from  1817  to  1843 
the  yearly  gifts  were  from  $20  to  $30.  From  1843  to  1865  the 
range  was  from  $10  to  $20.  Then  for  a  number  of  years  the 
amount  was  larger,  but  in  the  80's  it  dwindled  till  it  had  fallen 
to  $7.  Then  an  improvement  began  till  in  the  early  years  of  this 
century  it  reached  from  $42  to  $58.  It  has  been  touchingly  said : 
"In  not  a  few  cases  husbands,  whose  wives  were  members  while 
living  have  after  their  death  considered  their  love  and  interest  in 
the  society  a  sacred  trust,  and  have  continued  to  give  their  weekly 
mite  long  after  the  hand  that  first  directed  it  into  the  Lord's 
treasury  has  struck  the  harp  above."  The  earliest  records  were 
carefully  written  out  by  Mrs.  Marcia  Gibbs  and  are  of  great 
value.  The  original  constitution  with  the  names  of  its  earliest 
signers  is  also  preserved.  Since  the  centennial  meeting  the  work 
has  continued  to  prosper. 

(From  Centennial  Celebration  1st  Church). 


This  chapter  will  be  brought  to  a  close  with  a  short  account 
of  the  Maternal  Association  of  Jericho,  the  facts  of  which  have 
been  handed  me  by  a  friend. 

The  editor  ventures  the  assertion  that  very  few  in  town 
of  the  present  generation  knew  of  the  existence  of  such  an  organ- 
ization and  its  wonderful  interest. 


In  1833  some  of  the  good  mothers  of  the  town  formed  a 
society  with  the  above  name  for  the  purpose  of  praying  and  labor- 
ing together  for  the  conversion  of  their  children.  They  met  at 
private  houses  the  last  Wednesday  in  each  month,  and  at  the 
quarterly  meetings  in  January,  April,  July  and  October,  the  exer- 
cises were  adapted  to  the  children  from  the  age  of  four  to  twelve 
or,  in  the  case  of  girls,  to  fourteen.  A  small  library  of  the  most 
suitable  books  of  the  time  was  obtained  and  their  counsel  dis- 
cussed. Records  for  two  years  in  the  possession  of  R.  B.  Field, 
show  that  during  that  time  28  mothers  and  81  children  were  mem- 
bers. Marked  devotion  and  earnestness  were  manifest.  Mrs. 
Almira  R.  Field  was  secretary. 

Chapter  V. 

It  is  with  much  satisfaction  that  we  devote  one  chapter 
to  the  discussion  of  snow  crystals.  As  townsmen  we  take  just 
pride  in  the  fact  that  one  of  our  citizens.  Prof.  Wilson  A.  Bentley, 
has  attained  the  top-most  round  in  the  ladder  of  fame  among 
the  scientists  of  the  world,  as  a  specialist  in  the  study  of  the 
snowflake.  He  has  made  a  study  of  these  snow  beauties  for 
more  than  thirty  years,  commencing  at  the  early  age  of  17,  aided 
in  the  beginning  by  his  mother,  from  whom  he  derived  much 
encouragement.  His  chief  inspiration,  however,  seems  to  have 
been  in  the  exquisite  beauty  and  infinite  variety  of  formation.  He 
has  secured  2,240  photo-micrographs  of  snow  and  thousands  of 
photos  of  other  water  forms,  frost,  ice,  dew,  clouds,  hail,  etc. 
An  article  from  his  pen  appeared  in  Popular  Science  Monthly  in 
1898  which  attracted  much  favorable  comment.  For  a  list  of  his 
articles,  see  Bentley  Genealogy.  His  services  are  much  sought 
as  a  lecturer  on  these  and  kindred  topics.  We  quote  in  full  from 
his  article  "Marvel  of  the  Snow  Gems,"  printed  by  the  Technical 

"What  magic  is  there  in  the  rule  of  six  that  compels  the 
snowflake  to  conform  so  rigidly  to  its  laws?     Here  is  a  gem- 


bestrewn  realm  of  nature  possessing  the  charm  of  mystery,  of  the 
unknown,  sure  richly  to  reward  the  investigator. 

"For  something  over  a  quarter  of  a  century  I  have  been 
studying  it  and  the  work  has  proved  to  be  wonderfully  fascinat- 
ing, for  each  favorable  snowfall,  during  all  these  years  has 
brought  things  that  were  new  and  beautiful  to  my  hand.  I  have 
never  yet  found  a  time  when  I  could  entertain  an  idea  of  re- 
linquishing it.  During  the  time  that  I  have  carried  on  the  work, 
I  have  secured  sixteen  hundred  photo-micrographs  of  snow 
crystals  alone,  and  no  two  are  alike.  Is  there  room  for  enthusi- 
asm here  ?  Doubtless  these  pictures  serve  to  represent  with  some 
fairness  almost  every  type  and  variety  of  snow  that  occurs  in 
nature,  but  they  show  scarcely  an  infinitesimal  fraction  of  the  in- 
dividual variation  of  form  and  interior  design  among  the  count- 
less myriads  of  crystals  comprising  each  type. 

"The  clouds,  and  the  tiny  liquid  particles — water  dust — of 
which  they  consist,  play  no  part  in  true  snow  crystal  formation. 
They  coalesce  only  to  form  the  amorphous — agranular — ^varieties 
of  the  snow,  or  to  coat  true,  mature  crystals  with  granular  ma- 
terial. The  true  crystals,  .forming  the  bulk  of  the  snowfall,  are 
formed  directly  from  the  almost  infinitely  small  and  invisible 
molecules  of  water  in  solution  within  the  air,  and  floating  between 
the  vastly  larger  cloud  particles. 

"Most  of  the  crystals  are,  of  course,  imperfect,  made  so 
especially  during  thick  and  heavy  snowfalls,  largely  as  a  result 
of  crowding  and  bunching  during  development,  or  to  fracturing 
due  to  violent  winds.  In  general,  the  western  quadrants  of  wide- 
spread storms  furnish  the  majority  of  the  more  perfect  tabular 
shapes.  As  a  rule  low  clouds,  if  relatively  warm,  tend  to  produce 
the  more  rapidly  growing  open  branching  forms,  and  the  inter- 
mediate and  upper  clouds,  if  relatively  much  colder,  the  more 
solid,  close  columnar  and  tabular  forms.  Sometimes,  however, 
crystals  differing  but  slightly  or  not  at  all  from  those  falling 
from  storm  clouds,  drop  out  of  apparently  cloud-free  skies. 

"Much  wonder  has  been  excited,  because  the  snow  crystals 
exhibit  such  a  bewildering  diversity  and  beauty.  They  form  with- 
in a  very  thin  gaseous  solvent,  the  air,  and  this  allows  the  mole- 
cules of  water  an  unexampled  freedom  of  motion  and  adjust- 
ment while  arranging  themselves  in  crystal  form.       The  fact 

Peof.  Bentlet's  Snow  Beauties. 


doubtless  largely  explains  why  the  crystals  of  snow  far  exceed 
other  crystals  in  complexity  and  symmetry.  Snow  crystals,  like 
all  crystals  of  water,  develop  under  the  hexagonal  system  and 
invariably  divide  into  six.  Nothing  absolutely  certain  is  known 
as  to  why  they  grow  thus,  except  as  it  is  assumed  that  the  num- 
ber and  arrangement  of  the  attractive  and  repellent  poles  possess- 
ed by  the  molecules  of  water,  impose  this  habit  of  growth  upon 
them.  This  dividing  into  six  is  necessarily  discussed  and  best 
explained  in  somewhat  technical  sounding  terms.  We  may  assume 
each  water  particle  or  molecule  possesses  two  opposite  pri- 
mary poles,  positive  and  negative,  corresponding  in  direction  with 
the  main  tabular  axis  of  the  crystals,  and  in  addition  three  of  six 
equidistant  secondary  poles  arranged  around  what  may  be  called 
the  equatorial  diameter  of  the  molecules.  Water,  being  a  dia- 
magnetic  substance,  and  susceptible  to  polar  repulsion,  presumably 
has  a  tendency  to  arrange  itself  thbs,  in  a  position  between  and 
at  right  angles  to  the  primary  electro-magnetic  poles.  This  align- 
ment of  the  lines  of  growth,  opposite  to  the  lines  of  greater  mag- 
netic force,  would  compel  the  crystals  of  snow  to  grow  mainly 
outward  in  the  directions  of  their  equatorial  diameters  and  sec- 
ondary poles.  This  theory  would  perhaps  best  explain  why  the 
crystals  grow  upon  thin  tabular  or  in  the  hollow  columnar  form, 
and  increase  so  little  in  the  direction  of  their  main  axes,  that  is, 
in  the  direction  in  which,  it  is  assumed  their  main  positive  and 
negative  poles  lie. 

"Each  of  the  six  parts  or  segments  of  the  crystals,  while  in 
process  of  growth,  increases  simultaneously  outward,  yet  each 
one  usually  grows  independently  and  by  itself.  So  each  of  the 
six  parts  may,  for  all  practical  purposes,  be  considered  as  being 
a  separate  crystal  by  itself,  and  the  whole  as  being  an  aggregate 
of  growing  crystals.  And  the  law  under  which  they  form  not  only 
gives  them  a  general  hexagonal  plan  of  growth,  but  in  addition 
gives  them  two  specific  secondary  habits  of  growth  under  the 
same  plan. 

"We  may  best  distinguish  these  as  the  outward  or  ray  habit, 
and  the  concentric  or  layer  habits  of  growth  respectively.  The 
ray  habit  causes  growth  to  occur  always  outward  and  away 
from  the  nucleus.  This  tends  to  produce  open  branching  forms. 
Crystals  that  grow  rapidly,  or  within  relatively  warm  low  clouds, 


usually  build  upon  this  plan.  In  the  case  of  the  concentric  or 
layer  habit,  growth  tends  to  arrange  itself  in  massive  form, 
around  the  nucleus.  This  tends  to  produce  the  close,  solid  flakes. 
Slowly  growing  crystals,  as  the  columnar,  form  solid  tabular 
hexagons,  and  all  such  as  crystallize  in  a  very  cold  atmosphere, 
or  at  great  altitudes,  usually  grow  according  to  this  latter  habit. 
Snow  producing  clouds,  if  single,  are  perhaps  as  a  rule  of  some 
depth,  or  if  double,  or  multiple,  vary  one  with  another  in  tem- 
perature. The  growth,  habits  and  conditions  under  which  the 
crystals  form  therefore  are  commonly  unstable,  with  a  mul- 
tiplicity of  diverse  conditions,  tending  to  hasten  or  to  retard  their 
rates  of  development,  and  momentarily,  at  least,  to  change  or 
modify  their  forms.  This  state  of  things  may  cause  them  to  grow 
after  solid  plans  at  one  moment  and  altitude,  after  branching 
plans  at  another,  after  composite  plans  at  yet  others,  and  tends 
to  cause  them  to  become  increasingly  complex  in  outline  and 
structure  as  growth  progresses. 

"In  those  especial  cases  where  the  crystals  form  and  grow 
wholly  within  a  single  relatively  thin  and  uniform  cloud,  as  with- 
in low  detached  clouds,  for  instance,  they  are  likely  to  follow 
from  start  to  finish  after  one  single,  uniform  plan,  and  all  be 
very  much  like  each  other.  The  frail  branching  snow  crystals, 
falling  during  snow  flurries,  are  oftentimes  of  this  character. 
In  some  cases,  the  crystals  will  form  composite  fashion,  after  but 
two  specific  plans.  A  solid,  mosaic  centerpiece  portion  will  form 
within  a  cold  upper  air  stratum  and,  falling  earthward,  acquire 
branching  additions  at  some  lower,  warmer  level.  Composite  crys- 
tals of  this  character  perhaps  exceed  all  others  in  beauty  of 
design,  combining  into  one,  as  they  do,  the  two  most  beautiful 
types  of  snow. 

"It  is  all  most  marvelous  and  mysterious,  these  changing 
habits  of  growth,  and  this  momentary  shifting  about  of  the  points 
of  maximum  development.  Growth  ofttimes  occurs  in  alter- 
nate order,  first  at  the  comers  of  the  hexagon,  and  then  at  the 
sides.  In  some  cases,  this  pendulum-like  swing  of  outgrowth 
may  continue  from  beginning  to  end. 

"But  perhaps  the  most  wonderful  fact  of  all  is  the  marvelous- 
ly  symmetrical  way  in  which  all  this  is  accomplished.  If  a  set  of 
spangles  or  branches,  or  tiny  hexagons  or  other  adornments,  form 


and  grow  at  certain  points  upon  any  one  of  the  six,  or  alternate, 
rays,  or  segments,  similar  or  identical  ones  are  almost  sure  to 
form  at  the  same  places  and  moments  on  all  of  the  others,  so 
that  the  balance  of  form  is  always  kept  unimpaired. 

"It  appears  as  if  the  magic  that  does  this  might  be,  in  part 
at  least,  of  an  electric  nature,  and  due  to  the  presence  of  tiny 
electric  charges  around  their  peripheries.  Would  not  the  presence 
at  certain  points,  and  the  absence  at  others,  of  tiny  electric 
charges,  shifting  momentarily  about,  as  fresh  charges  collected, 
and  causing  momentary  realignments  in  the  locations  of  the  sev- 
eral charges,  stimulate  growth  at  certain  points  and  retard  it  at 
others?  It  seems  worth  while  tentatively  to  advance  this  theory, 
as  a  possible  explanation  of  these  perplexing  mysteries.  But  it  is 
a  fascinating  mystery  this,  that  the  crystals  assume  such  a  mar- 
velous diversity  of  form,  though  forced  by  the  crystallographic 
law  under  which  they  come  into  being  to  assume  always  the 
hexagonal  form.  Six  rays  or  parts,  there  always  are,  yet  what 
an  amazing  variety  these  parts  exhibit  among  themselves.  In- 
dividual crystals  of  the  open,  branching  variety,  differ  one  from 
another,  in  the  shape,  size  or  thickness  of  their  primary  rays  and 
these  rays  in  turn,  in  the  number,  size  or  shape,  of  the  secondary 
branches  that  they  possess.  Those  of  solid  tabular  form  differ 
as  to  their  layers,  or  segments,  and  in  the  number  and  arrange- 
ment of  the  air  tubes  and  shadings  within  them.  Similarly  those 
of  a  quasi-open  formation  vary  in  individual  cases.  In  their 
spangles,  the  tiny  hexagons  composing  them,  as  well  as  in  the 
way  in  which  these  are  combined  with  each  other,  or  with  rays, 
and  arranged  around  the  central  nucleus.  Yet  in  innumerable 
cases  the  crystals  assume,  at  some  one  or  more  stages  of  growth, 
identical  forms  and  outlines.  It  often  happens  that  their  nuclei, 
or  ultimate  outlines  are  alike,  yet  it  seems  to  be  rarely  the  case 
that  any  two  pass  through  a  long  series  of  such  changes  of 
form.  Hence  the  astonishing  variety. 

"Snow  crystals  are  noted  among  crystals,  because  they  bridge 
over  and  include  within  themselves  so  much  of  the  solvent,  air, 
wherein  they  form.  This  remarkable  habit,  in  connection  with 
the  multitudinous  changes  of  form,  gives  great  richness  and  com- 
plexity to  their  interior  designs,  and  lends  endless  interest  to  their 
study.  The  air  tubes  and  shadings  have  a  biographical  value,  for 


they  outline  more  or  less  perfectly,  transitionary  forms.  The  air 
tubes  are  largely  formed  while  the  crystals  or  parts  of  such,  are 
in  process  of  solidification,  as  at  the  moment  when  branch  unites 
to  branch,  layer  to  layer,  or  segment  to  segment,  and  so  growth 
may  be  traced  through  its  successive  stages. 

"The  snow  crystals  being,  in  the  truest  sense,  exquisite  works 
of  art  in  themselves,  charmingly  adapt  themselves  to  a  great 
variety  of  uses  in  the  industrial  arts,  and  in  various  other  ways. 
These  uses  are  steadily  broadening,  though  they  and  their  artistic 
possibilities  have  been  as  yet  hardly  discovered  or  realized  by 
artisans  in  general.  Metal  workers  and  wall  paper  manufacturers 
are,  however,  beginning  to  realize  their  value,  and  there  should 
be  a  great  field  of  usefulness  for  them  in  these  lines.  They  also 
seem  well  adapted  for  use  in  designing  patterns  for  porcelain, 
china,  glassware  and  many  other  things.  Silk  manufacturers 
are  beginning  to  see  their  adaptability  as  patterns.  Their  value 
as  models  in  the  realm  of  pure  art  is  also  being  demonstrated. 
Their  uses  as  models  in  schools  of  art,  and  craft  shops  are 
steadily  increasing.  Only  recently  Dr.  Denman  W.  Ross,  lec- 
turer at  Harvard  on  the  theory  of  pure  design,  has  adopted  a 
large  number  for  classroom  use.  Prof.  James  Ward  Stimson 
used  them  to  illustrate  the  'beauty  of  nature's  art,'  in  his  book, 
'The  Gate  Beautiful.' 

"Perhaps  their  greatest  field  of  usefulness,  however,  is  along 
other  lines  as  objects  for  nature  study,  and  for  illustrating  the 
forms  of  water.  They  should  be  invaluable  to  the  crys- 
tallographer,  for  they  show  the  forms  and  habits  of  growth  of 
crystals  in  a  most  charming  way. 

"Certain  it  is  that  normal  and  high  schools,  universities  and 
museums  both  here  and  abroad,  are  finding  them  most  useful 
in  an  educational  way.  One  university  alone — ^Wisconsin — ^has 
over  one  thousand  lantfern  sHdes  of  snowflakes. 

"Indeed  it  seems  likely  that  these  wonderful  bits  of  pure 
beauty  from  the  skies  will  soon  come  into  their  own,  and  re- 
ceive the  full  appreciation  and  study  to  which  their  exquisite  love- 
liness and  great  scientific  interest  entitle  them." 

The  Barber  Farm  Summer  Resort. 

Bennett  Elm.     "Woodman  Spare  That  Tree." 

The  Tkuman  Galusha  Place. 



Chapter  VI. 


By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

The  reader,  guided  somewhat  by  the  illustrations  which  are 
produced  in  this  chapter,  is  invited  to  go  with  me  in  a  jaunt 
through  town  for  the  purpose  of  considering  matters,  some  of 
which  otherwise  might  possibly  be  left  out.  In  point  of  time  sup- 
pose we  start  after  the  snows  of  winter  have  disappeared,  as  the 
adder  tongues  are  just  piercing  through  the  leafy  mat  of  the 
woods,  and  as  the  sweet  scented  arbutus  first  smiles  upon  the 
eager  searcher,  when  the  gentle  zephyrs  sway  the  yet  leafless 
boughs  and  the  songs  of  returning  birds  seem  to  inspire  us  with 
new  hopes.  The  accompanying  cut  represents  the  summer  resort 
built  up  under  the  management  of  the  late  Edgar  L.  Barber  and 
family.  This  property  is  delightfully  situated  on  an  elevation 
overlooking  the  picturesque  valley  of  the  Winooski  River  and 
the  homes  of  the  Chittendens,  Martin,  Noah,  and  Thomas.  Not 
far  away  stood  the  first  settlers'  log  fort  and  near  by  the  trail  fol- 
lowed by  the  Indians.  Probably  the  Roods  were  the  first  owners 
of  this  land.  Summer  visitors  and  tourists  have  come  to  this 
famous  resort  in  great  numbers  in  recent  years,  as  its  popularity 
seems  to  be  increasing.  The  caring  for  summer  boarders  rep- 
resents an  industry,  which  might  be  greatly  developed  in  our  town, 
since  fresh  air,  pure  water,  and  scenic  beauty  have  combined  to 
make  Jericho  a  delightful  retreat  for  tired  nerves.  Going  north- 
ward we  pass  by  a  flock  of  sheep.  In  days  gone  by,  raising  of 
sheep  was  much  more  of  an  industry  than  at  the  present  time, 
as  the  number  in  the  entire  town  is  at  present  reported  to  be  only 
162.  Formerly  the  wool  was  spun  into  yarn  by  the  thrifty  house- 
wife, and  woven  into  cloth  to  the  delight  and  comfort  of  the 
children.  In  those  early  days  there  were  in  town  two  woolen 
mills,  one  at  Jericho  Corners,  Bissonette's  tin  shop,  and  the 
other  on  Lee  River,  near  Harrison  Wilder's,  each  a  large  build- 
ing doing  an  extensive  business.  The  bell  in  the  former  is  now 
in  the  Graded  School  building.  Underbill,  Vt.  And  now  we  are 
going  by  a  herd  of  cattle  "feeding  their  way  home."  The  in- 


habitants  of  our  town  own  at  the  present  time  1,924  milch  cows, 
according  to  the  report  of  the  State  Commissioner  of  Agricul- 

The  yearly  income  from  a  cow  varies  from  $60.00  to  $127.00, 
$75.00  being  possibly  a  fair  average,  which  means  a  grand  total  fdr 
the  town  of  $144,300.00  received  for  milk,  cream,  and  butter. 
Closely  associated  is  the  income  derived  from  fattening  calves 
and  swine  amounting  approximately  to  $35,000.00.  Formerly  but- 
ter was  made  at  home  by  the  farmers'  wives  and  sold  to  the 
merchants,  varying  greatly  in  price  and  quality,  cheap  in  the  flush 
of  the  season,  high  in  the  winter.  Now  butter  is  manufactured 
by  creameries,  Government  inspected,  and  is  uniformly  good. 
Nor  do  prices  fluctuate  as  of  old,  since  the  cold  storage  facilities 
enable  our  people  to  hold  butter  in  prime  condition  for  several 
months.  No  cheese  is  made  in  town  at  the  present  time,  although 
25  years  ago  more  cheese  was  manufactured  than  butter.  The 
number  of  registered  cattle  is  rapidly  increasing  and  throughout 
town  may  be  found  as  fine  specimens  of  thoroughbreds  as  the 
country  produces,  valued  as  high  as  $250.00  per  cow — Holsteins, 
Jerseys,  Guernseys,  and  Ayrshires  are  the  favorites.  At  Jericho 
Center  is  located  the  Borden  Condensed  Milk  Co.'s  plant,  where 
milk  and  cream  are  received  from  the  farmers.  The  prices  paid 
the  farmer  per  hundred  for  milk  during  1914  is  said  to  have 
ranged  from  $1.15  to  $1.85  per  hundred.  The  Cooperative 
Creamery,  Riverside,  owned  by  farmers,  received  during  1914, 
■546,414  lbs.  cream,  202,785  lbs.  of  milk,  from  which  was  manu- 
factured 167,058  lbs.  butter  and  for  which  they  paid  the  patrons 
$48,885.85  besides  the  cost  of  manufacture,  which  was  $4,319.92. 
Dairying  is  Jericho's  principal  industrial  calling. 

Next  in  our  journey  through  town  we  find  ourselves  under 
the  gracious  shade  of  a  gigantic  elm  in  full  leafage.  It  is  the 
Bennett  Elm.  Numberless  elms  about  town  adorn  our  highways 
and  beautify  the  fields.  These  majestic  trees  seem  to  say  to  the 
boys  and  girls  "Stand  erect,"  while  their  bending  limbs  suggest 
to  all,  the  graces  of  character  and  the  symmetry  of  life. 

We  next  find  ourselves  at  Jericho  Corners  gazing  up  at  the 
shady  and  retired  street  leading  to  the  Galusha  place,  now  owned 
by  Mr.  Frank  K.  Howe. 

Baenet  Hotel. 
Martin  Barney.  Mrs.  Barnet. 


Turning  we  see  ruins  about  us  that  remind  us  of  three  dis- 
astrous fires  where  five  stores  and  'a  hotel  used  to  stand.  The 
accompanying  cut  carries  us  back  fifty  years  to  the  famous 
hostelry  managed  by  Mr.  Martin  C.  Barney.  Our  oldest  citizens 
say  that  this  picture  is  a  perfect  reproduction  of  Jericho's  famous 
inn.  In  those  times  before  railroads,  people  traveled  by  stage- 
coach, and  the  arrival  and  departure  of  the  same  were  noteworthy 
events,  especially  in  times  of  war  as  the  mails  brought  the  news. 
They  tell  us  of  the  genial  and  unique  ways  of  Mr.  Barney,  from 
all  of  which  we  can  easily  imagine  the  importance  of  the  hotel 
business  at  that  time,  to  the  interests  of  the  town.  In  this  con- 
nection allow  me  to  call  the  attention  of  the  reader  to  the  Dixon 
House  at  Riverside,  represented  in  another  cut,  which  came  into 
prominence  later.  L.  M.  Dixon,  an  ideal  hotel  man,  about  40 
years  ago  built  the  larger  part  of  this  hotel  and  furnished  it 
throughout  in  splendid  manner  for  summer  boarders.  Several 
hundred  visitors  in  the  aggregate  came  to  this  resort  each  season 
attracted  thither  by  the  popularity  of  the  management  and  the 
scenic  surroundings  of  the  place.  Mt.  Mansfield  was  the  object 
of  greatest  interest  perhaps,  yet  the  saddle  horse  was  much 
sought,  while  others  took  carriage  drives  to  the  places  of  greatest 
interest,  like  Bolton  Notch,  Cilley  Hill,  etc.,  and  fishing  in  the 
numerous  mountain  streams  furnished  others  with  much  enjoyed 

Thousands  of  dollars  annually  were  taken  in  by  these  and 
other  hotels,  much  of  which  was  distributed  about  town.  The  loss 
of  these  two  hotels  by  fire,  the  Dixon  House  in  1891,  and  the 
Barney  Hotel  in  1904,  was  serious  to  the  prosperity  of  Jericho, 
as  well  as  a  matter  of  universal  regret. 

Three  streams,  having  their  sources  in  the  Green  Moun- 
tains east  of  us,  course  their  way  across  our  town  westward. 
Brown's  River  in  the  north,  Lee  River  through  the  center,  and 
Mill  Brook  to  the  south.  Twelve  mill  sites  on  these  streams  have 
been  utilized  within  the  town  limits  in  the  memory  of  the  writer. 
Six  are  in  use  now  and  much  power  is  Hot  now  used  and  awaits 
development.  The  cuts  on  another  page  represent  some  of  the 
beauties  of  these  streams  and  one  shows  a  string  of  trout  caught 
by  a  lucky  fisherman.  These  rivers  have  been  stocked  from 
the  State  Fishery  Hatchery  from  time  to  time. .  The  trout  is  well 


protected  by  law,  no  sawdust  in  the  streams,  with  open  and  closed 
season  for  fishing.  They  can  be  caught  only  with  the  hook,  and 
all  less  than  six  inches  must  be  returned  to  the  water. 

The  cut  shows  a  street  shaded  by  maples,  making  a  beautiful 
driveway,  in  which  Jericho  abounds.  Few  towns  can  boast  of 
better  gravel  roads  or  more  delightful  drives,  and  much  credit 
is  due  the  citizens  for  setting  out  and  caring  for  the  shade  trees 
so  characteristic  of  Jericho. 

The  pictures  on  another  page  will  recall  to  the  minds  of  many 
the  schoolhouses  of  District  No.  3.  In  a  way  these  are  rep- 
resentative of  the  changes  about  town  respecting  schoolhouses. 
Elsewhere  in  this  volume  Mr.  Barney  says,  "When  there  were 
children  enough  in  the  vicinity  of  the  Brown  settlement  to  need 
a  school,  they  put  up  at  first  a  good  log  schoolhouse,  and,  as 
quite  a  number  of  the  people  were  members  of  the  Church  they 
called  it  Church-Street  Schoolhouse."  This  was  called  District  2 
as  Jericho  Center  had  been  organized  for  a  short  time  and  had 
been  designated  at  District  No.  1.  This  illustrates  fairly  well  how 
the  public  school  system  in  our  town  began.  A  brief  resume  of  the 
public  school,  one  of  the  most  permanent  institutions  of  the  town, 
will  be  made  here,  and  should  convince  the  reader  that  the  schools 
of  Jericho  have  never  been  neglected.  At  the  beginning,  these 
public  schools  must  have  been  very  near  the  hearts  of  the  people ; 
for  by  them  they  were  built  and  supported,  furnished  and  su- 
pervised. There  must  have  been  a  generous  rivalry  also  between 
the  different  communities  in  the  effort  to  maintain  the  best  school. 
At  that  time  compulsory  attendance  was  not  necessary — ^to  go 
to  school  was  a  privilege.  Respecting  text-books  and  methods 
we  know  little  of  what  were  used,  but  that  pupils  were  taught 
good  behavior,  the  first  principles  of  good  citizenship,  we  have 
no  doubt.  The  stars  and  stripes  did  not  float  over  the  school- 
house  then,  as  they  do  at  the  present  time,  but  the  pupils  must 
have  received  valuable  lessons  in  patriotism  and  loyalty.  And  for 
their  day  we  can  not  doubt  the  efficiency  of  the  first  public  schools. 
We  are  told  that  the  number  of  schools  increased  to  16  and  that 
as  the  population  increased  many  schoolhouses  became  over 
crowded,  and  that  they  were  cold  in  the  winter  and  otherwise 
uncomfortable.  The  number  of  scholars  and  the  scope  of  studies 
pursued  greatly  overworked  the  teachers.  Into  some  crept  listless- 

Dixox    HdisK. 
Mr.  ami  Mils.  I..   M.  Di.xo.\. 

The  Old  and  New  District  School  House,  Jericho  Corners. 


ness  and  inattention,  and  discipline  often  became  a  serious  ques- 
tion. Then  laws  were  enacted  making  school  attendance  compul- 
sory and  authorizing  teachers  and  officers  of  the  district  to  en- 
force obedience.  First  the  town  and  then  the  state  assumed 
the  supervision  of  the  public  schools,  until  now  the  present 
state  supervision  is  considered  most  efficient.  As  respects  super- 
vision there  came  into  vogue  the  office  of  town  superintendent 
of  education  in  about  1854,  which  officers  were  elected  annually 
for  about  50  years.  These  are  superseded  now  by  union  superin- 
tendents. In  Jericho  this  office  has  been  filled  by  capable  men 
and  women  who  have  each  year  reported  to  the  town  as  the 
printed  reports  indicate.  A  file  of  these  reports  can  be  seen  in 
the  town  clerk's  office,  which  affords  a  good  history  of  the  public 
schools  of  our  town.  The  first  report  was  by  Rufus  Smith  in 
1856.  Mr.  Smith  licensed  teachers  and  made  visitation  as  at  pres- 
ent. The  expenditure  for  1858  was  $806.  For  comparison  the 
reader  will  find  a  true  copy  of  the  tabulated  statistics  for  1885 
and  1886 — ^twelve  months — appended. 















J       1 













■  r* 








1 — J 

















pun  sa3»jii 












JO  S|noi 






ni  65[83Ai 














pns  saHBj^ 


g  § 







s  g 









■siidnj  JO 


■OH  sioqM 



!^    g!i 




■sJiaaM  'ON 




C4       C^ 

1-1            T-( 










^     1 













pns  s33BAi 


s  ^ 








CO       CO 











S    g 






•ON  3I01M 



s  s^ 



•s^iasM  -ON 



(N        (N 

















.      1^ 



a  H 










pns  633BM 


a  g 











8   8 










O      O 










8   8 










O       O 










■ON  noVA 



Si  a 



■sn^M  -ON 



o     o 












1    !§ 

133   m 














•»S!a  JO  -ON 






t*   ■ 



























*— i 





















0  s 




































■w     - 
tn  (U  d 

u   u   Pi 

■v.  HQ 



O  b  ei! 

O    "    tn 

r  ^^ 

*     O  <n 
^  tn 

Red  Asikachans. 

Sparkling  down  the  hillside,  clear  and  cool  and  sweet, 
Singing  in  the  shadow  where  the  branches  meet. 
Laughing,  dancing,  whirling,  in  each  pebbly  nook. 
What  a  merry  fellow  is  the  mountain  brook. 


''■'T!  ■  1  -riM'iiii"%-    ''liiiiftriTliii' 

..-,    ,^^..^m^.,„r. 

jj.^-»«r,jt».iu>-.:.-..M^v<:..i|f.[l  jfnyHf|.-.-:--..-.-» 



has  decreased  somewhat  and  expenses  have  steadily  increased 
until  for  1915  the  schools  required  70  per  cent,  of  the  Grand 
List,  a  sum  of  over  $7,000.00. 

The  length  of  the  school  year  has  changed  from  scarcely  24 
vveeks  to  34  weeks,  while  the  range  of  studies  taught  now  prepares 
the  student  for  college.  Thus  it  will  be  seen  that,  while  the  cost  of 
maintenance  of  the  public  schools  has  greatly  increased,  the  priv- 
ileges afforded  our  children  are  immeasurably  greater.  We  do  not 
like  to  think  of  those  crude  beginnings  in  school  room  equipments 
and  text-books  so  inadequate  in  substance  and  methods  of  im- 
parting knowledge,  for  almost  any  text-book  was  welcome,  in 
contrast  with  the  sunny  schoolrooms  of  today,  the  helpful  means 
for  aiding  the  student  in  acquiring  an  education,  together  with 
the  inspiration  of  vocational  school  and  schools  for  manual  train- 
ing, etc.  At  first  it  will  be  noticed  that  the  district  was  the  educa- 
tional unit  and  center,  the  town  afterward,  and  then  the  state. 
Now  because  of  greater  uniformity  of  text-books,  teachers'  re- 
quirements, etc.,  the  nation  is  becoming  more  than  formerly  the 
unit,  so  that  the  schools  of  Vermont  fit  its  pupils  for  the  pursuit  of 
any  laudable  calling  in  any  part  of  this  great  nation.  Jericho  under 
the  leadership  of  its  educated  men  and  women  has  at  all  times 
taken  a  creditable  rank  as  regards  its  public  schools,  of  which  fact 
its  citizens  are  justly  proud. 

One  feature  of  the  "Deestrict  Scheul,"  as  it  was  sometimes 
pronounced,  was  the  spelling  school.  Spelling  was  conducted 
orally.  The  usual  practice  was  for  the  teacher  to  call  the  mem- 
bei-s  of  the  class  out  upon  the  floor  to  stand  in  position  with  their 
toes  to  a  crack  in  the  floor.  At  the  close  of  the  lesson  the  one 
at  the  head  took  his  place  at  the  foot  of  the  class,  which  fact 
was  denominated  a  headmark,  after  which  they  were  all  num- 
bered beginiiing  at  the  head  of  the  class  with  No.  1.  At  the 
next  recitation  they  were  called  by  number  and  woe  to  the  student 
who  should  forget  his  number.  The  teacher  pronounced  the  first 
word  to  number  1  whereupon  the  scholar  would  also  pronounce 
the  word,  spell,  and  repeat  the  word.  It  was  quite  usbal  to  give 
the  student  three  trials,  sometimes  only  two,  if  not  spelled  cor- 
rectly then  the  next  in  line  could  have  a  chance.    If  the  word 


was  spelled  correctly,  that  pupil  would  move  up  in  line  above  the 
one  who  first  missed  the  word.  This  method  often  developed 
great  interest,  and  produced  a  generation  of  very  accurate  spellers. 
Then,  to  vary  the  procedure,  the  teacher  would  occasionally 
choose  two  good  spellers  and  allow  them  to  choose  alternately 
the  other  members  of  the  school.  Words  would  be  pronounced 
to  the  two  sides  alternately,  if  incorrectly  spelled  it  would  then 
go  to  the  other  side.  When  a  student  misspelled  it  was  the  rule 
that  he  take  his  seat.  The  student  remaining  on  his  feet  the  long- 
est had  spelled  down  the  school,  worthy  notoriety  for  those 

A  spelling  school  was  a  contest  between  two  schools  carried 
on  upon  the  above  principles,  with  social  features  at  the  close 
of  the  spelling  match.  These  contests,  usually  very  friendly,  stim- 
ulated study  and  research  and  were  instrumental  of  an  untold 
amount  of  good.  All  had  to  spell,  and  if  a  six  foot  boy  missed 
and  a  bright-eyed  girl  of  ten  years  knew  the  word,  the  boy  had 
to  step  aside  and  allow  the  little  girl  to  go  above  him. 

Singing  schools  were  often  held  in  the  schoolhouse  during 
the  winter  evenings.  The  singing  master  conducted,  and  with 
baton  to  beat  out  the  time,  tnd  tuning  fork  to  give  the  pitch,  he 
thus  taught  the  elements  of  music  to  very  large  classes.  These 
schools  would  usually  close  the  season  with  a  grand  concert,  thus 
defraying  the  expenses  of  the  school.  Mr.  Thomas  McGinnis 
was  for  years  Jericho's  most  celebrated  singing  master,  a  service 
of  inestimable  value  to  our  people. 

Through  the  courtesy  of  the  Jericho  Reporter  I  am  allowed 
to  give  the  reader  a  very  reliable  idea  of  the  manner  of  support- 
ing schools  in  "ye  olden  days,"  and  in  this  connection  another 
paper  from  the  same  source  in  regard  to  highways. 


In  looking  over  the  papers  in  an  old  desk  which  belonged 
to  Milton  Ford,  father  of  the  late  Addison  M.  Ford,  were  found 
many  papers  relating  to  pubUc  affairs,  among  which  was  a  school 
bill.  In  those  days  the  school  tax  was  paid  on  the  number  of 
days  schooling.  If  the  scholars  did  not  attend  school  the  tax 
was  less.  Following  is  a  copy  of  the  School  Bill  for  the  win- 
ter 1843  made  by  M.  Ford  Com. : 

''■^^^MMfti^^^  • 

Speckled  Beauties  Retbeat. 

Cloud  Eitects  in  Jericho. 

The  Field  Bridge. 


Days.  Tax. 

Milton  Ford 251  $1.38 

Sylvanus  Richardson   215  1.18 

Luther  Prouty 40  .22 

James  Hunt 83  .46 

George  Howe 182  1.00 

Charles  Witherby  54  .30 

James  McLane   ....288  1.59 

Erastus  Field 125  .69 

Aaron  Brownell   119  .66 

Simon  Davis 184  1.01 

Mathew  Barney   76  .42 

Luther  Macomber 182  1.00 

Samuel  Douglas 267  1.47 

David  Fish 9  .05 

Z.  Adgerson "65  .36 

Arial  Stephens '. 89  .49 

Hiram  Martin   * . .  65  .36 

Lemuel  Bliss 61  .34 

Zebah  Pratt 101  .56 

I.  K.  Hunt 55  .31 

Luther  P.  Blodgett 52  .29 

Tillison  Hapgood   75  .42 

John  Buxton   64  .35 

John  Oaks  34  .19 

Fanny  Howe  23  .13 

Case  Buxton   41  .26 

Sylvanus  Blodgett    34  .19 

John  Bliss    34  .19 

Albert  Cilley 31  .17 

E.  Papineau 86  .47 

F.G.Hill 12  .07 

S.  Rawson  7  .04 

Milton  Martin 16  .09 

3027      $16.71 


The  financial  account  reads : 

A.   Collins $39.94 

E.  Macomber  i 16.75 

S.  Rawson   11.97 

G.  Oakes 1.13 

Philura  Ford 2.06 

Gratia   Huntley    17.50 

Repairs  on  house   2.00 

2  brooms  and  1  pail 93 

Total   $92.28 

Public  money  76.96 

Balance  on  hand  $1.39 

There  was  also  found  among  the  papers  in  the  old  desk  a  plan 
of  the  schoolhouse  at  Jericho  Corners  which  was  burned  Jan.  1, 
1835.  The  plan  indicated  a  building  "23  feet  by  26  feet."  The 
seats  were  placed  around  the  room,  leaving  a  space  in  the  center 
of  10  feet  8  inches  by  10  feet  4  inches.  Back  of  the  seats  was  a 
"writing  table."  The  entrance  to  the  schoolroom  was  made  at 
one  corner  of  the  building. 

In  an  old  pocketbook  of  Mr.  Ford's  was  found  a  slip  of  paper 
telling  the  original  "cost  of  brick  meeting-house,"  $3,472.79. 


Another  ancient  document  found  in  the  old  desk  of  Milton 
Ford  was  a  highway  tax-book  for  District  No.  3,  for  the  year 
1828.  The  book  was  directed  to  Milton  Ford  and  David  Oakes, 
the  highway  surveyors  or  collectors  for  District  No.  3  in  Jericho. 
The  tax  was  made  on  the  list  of  1827  at  six  cents  on  the  dollar 
by  the  selectmen,  Lyman  Hall  and  W.  A.  Prentiss.  The  war- 
rant for  the  collection  of  the  tax  reads  as  follows : 

"State  of  Verinont,  Chittenden  County,  To  Milton  Ford 
and  David  Oakes,  highway  surveyors  or  collectors  of  the  High- 
way Tax  for  District  No.  3,  in  Jericho  in  said  County  for  1828. 

"By  the  authority  of  the  State  of  Vermont,  you  are  hereby 
commanded  to  levy  and  collect  of  the  several  persons  named  in 


the  list  or  rate  bill  herewith  committed  to  you,  the  sum  of 
money  annexed  to  the  name  of  each  person  respectively,  and  ap- 
ply the  same  in  repairing  the  highways  within  the  limits  of  your 
district  agreeably  to  law. 

"And  if  any  person  should  refuse  or  neglect  to  pay  the  sum 
in  which  he  or  she  is  assessed  in  said  rate  bill,  you  are  hereby  com- 
manded to  distrain  the  goods,  chattels  or  estate  of  such  person  so 
refusing,  and  the  same  dispose  of  according  to  law  for  the  satis- 
fying the  said  sums  with  your  own  fees  and  for  the  want  there 
of  you  are  hereby  further  commanded  to  take  his  or  her  body, 
and  him  or  her  commit  to  the  keeper  of  the  gaol  in  Burlington, 
in  said  County  of  Chittenden,  within  said  prison,  wl^o  is  hereby 
commanded  to  receive  said  persons  and  him  or  her  safely  keep, 
until  he  or  she  pay  said  sums  so  assessed  with  legal  costs,  to- 
gether with  your  own  fees  or  be  otherwise  discharged  or  re- 
leased according  to  law. 

"Given  under  my  hand  at  Jericho  in  said  County  of  Chit- 
tenden, this  26th  day  of  April  in  the  year  of  our  Lord,  One 
Thousand  Eight  Hundred  and  Twenty-Eight.  T.  Barney,  Jus- 
tice of  Peace. 

"The  assessed  taxes  vary  in  amount^ from  14c.  to •$6.24. 
The  total  amount  of  the  taxes  being  $109.05.  The  names  of  the 
taxpayers  are:  Prentiss  Atkins,  Peter  L.  Allen,  Truman  Barney, 
Sylvanus  Blodgett,  John  Bliss,  Thomas  C.  Barney,  Aaron  Brow- 
nell,  Martin  C.  Barney,  Lucius  Barney,  Augustus  W.  Dow,  Aaron 
Drew,  John  Deleware,  Joseph  Fairfield,  Milton  Ford,  Jotham 
Glavin,  Daniel  L,  Glines,  George  Howe,  Tillison  Hapgood, 
Brigham  Howe,  Henry  Howe,  William  Johnson,  Fletcher  W. 
Joyner,  John  Johnson,  Hiram  I.  Martine,  Charles  Marston, 
David  Oakes,  Joseph  L.  Porter,  S.  Luther  Prouty,  James  Martin, 
Asa  Noyes,  John  Oakes,  William  A.  Prentiss,  Lyman  H.  Pot- 
ter, Sylvanus  Richardson,  Thomas  D.  Rood,  Lewis  Rood,  Sec- 
retary Rawson,  William  Rouse,  Ariel  Stevens,  Joseph  Sinclair, 
B.  F.  Taylor,  Thomas  M.  Taylor  and  Stoten  Willis." 

In  1872  there  was  a  movement  started  by  A.  O.  Humphrey 
to  erect  a  suitable  building  at  Riverside  in  which  to  manufacture 
cheese.  Mr.  Humphrey,  however,  changed' his  plans  and  moved 
to  Burlington. 


The  enterprise  of  building  a  cheese  factory  was  success- 
fully accomplished  in  1873  by  Whitcomb  and  Day.  This  fac- 
tory did  an  impiense  business  for  many  years  under  their  man- 
agement and  upon  Mr.  Day's  going  to  New  York,  the  manage- 
ment was  continued  by  Mr.  Edward  S.  Whitcomb,  Jr.,  until  the 
creamery  business  seemed  to  have  gained  the  ascendency.  (For 
a  further  description  of  this  cheese  factory  see  Day  genealogy 
and  Mr.  Wilbur's  Historical  Address). 

A  commendable  interest  has  ever  been  manifested  by  the 
citizens  of  Jericho  in  the  up-keep  of  its  various  cemeteries.  At 
Jericho  Center  and  at  Jericho  Corners  the  citizens  have  ideal 
organizations,  well  endowed.  In  these  the  grass  is  kept  green 
and  closely  shorn.  These  cemeteries  are  otherwise  beautified 
with  flowers  and  plants,  shubbery  and  trees.  Most  of  the  funds 
have  been  given  the  Cemetery  Associations  direct:  other  citi- 
zens have  placed  money  with  the  town  authorities  as  the  follow- 
ing clippings  from  town  reports  will  show. 


Mr.  C.  M.  Spaulding,  born  in  this  town  in  1827,  a  long  and 
time  honored  resident,  gave  to  our  town  by  will  $1,000, 
upon  condition  that  the  town  expend,  in  perpetuity,  $40  an- 
nually (4  per  cent,  interest),  upon  two  cemeteries  in  town,  viz.: 
one-half  upon  cemetery  at  the  Corners,  so-called,  and  one-half 
upon  cemetery  at  the  Center.  In  each  cemetery  his  own  fam- 
ily burial  lots  to  receive  first  attention,  the  expenditures  to  be 
under  the  direction  of  the  selectmen,  and  their  accounts  to  be 
audited  annually  by  town  auditors  as  other  accounts  are  audited. 

In  the  administration  of  the  Fund,  your  Auditors  find  that 
the  money  was  loaned  to  the  School  Directors'  Account  by  the 
Selectmen  of  1901,  and  that  of  the  income  of  the  Fund  this  year, 
amounting  to  $40,  there  has  been  expended  $35  according  to  the 
provision  of  the  gift.  The  remaining  $5  to  be  expended  in  the 
early  spring. 


Mrs.  Miranda  Hall,  for  a  long  time  a  resident  of  Jericho 
Center,  gave  the  town  the  sum  of  $100,  April  12,  1904,  with  the 


following  conditions.  That  the  interest,  $4  per  annum,  be  ex- 
pended in  care  of  her  lot  in  the  Jericho  Center  Cemetery  with 
the  understanding  that  any  balance  be  used  for  the  general  care 
of  the  cemetery,  expenditures  to  be  under  the  direction  of  the 

The  Auditors  find  at  this  date  there  have  been  no  receipts 
.  from  this  fund,  and  no  expenditure. 

L.  H.  Chapin,    1 

C.  H.  Hayden,     rAuditors. 

H.  W.  Packard,  J 

February  5,  1905. 

In  our  trip  about  town  we  have  seen  the  grass  come  to  ma- 
turity and  have  witnessed  the  wonderful  ingathering  of  the  hay- 
ing season.  Intensive  farming  is  producing  marvelous  crops  of 
hay,  which  is  the  principal  fodder  for  cattle  and  horses.  In  some 
sections  alfalfa  is  becoming  rooted,  which  yields  more  plentifully 
than  any  other  fodder.  Large  fields  of  oats  are  being  harvested, 
very  little  wheat,  rye,  or  buckwheat  is  raised  in  town.  Corn  is 
a  very  important  crop,  often  to  be  husked,  but  much  of  it  is 
raised  for  silage.  The  potato  is  a  very  important  crop,  while 
peas  and  beans  are  not  raised  in  large  quantities. 

Very  fine  apples,  pears,  cherries  and  other  fruit  are  produced 
in  town  as  well  as  the  various  berries.  No  statistics  of  the  above 
productions  of  our  town  are  obtainable. 

It  used  to  be  a  custom,  when  the  evenings  grew  longer,  for 
neighbors  to  turn  in  of  an  evening  and  help  each  other  along  in 
the  matter  of  husking  corn.  Sometimes  the  ladies  received  an 
invitation  to  accompany  the  men.  After  a  few  hours  of  busy 
work  husking  corn,  all  betook  themselves  to  the  house  where  the 
women  of  the  household  had  provided  pumpkin  pies  and  cheese. 
To  them  a  good  appetite  proved  to  be  the  relish,  and  we  of  today 
would  need  to  draw  upon  our  imagination  to  fully  realize  how 
enjoyable  were  these  old  time  "husking  bees." 

Time  is  hurrying  us  along  to  the  15  or  more  days  usually 
comprising  the  deer  season,  or  the  period  in  which  licensed  hunt- 
ers can  shoot  the  deer. 


This  season  is  usually  the  last  days  of  October  sometimes 
extending  into  November,  during  which  time  the  woods  are  full 
of  hunters,  and  the  finest  of  game  is  often  brought  home.  This  is 
a  great  day  for  the  Jericho  youngster  who  may  be  observed 
stealthily  working  his  way  along  the  deer  runs,  in  search  of  that 
much  talked  of  deer,  the  image  of  which  rises  before  his  vision 
at  each  noise  and  unusual  sound.  And  then  if  successful  how 
proud  his  return  home,  where  the  savory  venison  cheers  and 
satisfies  the  entire  household.  No  sport  quite  equals  that  of  deer 

Soon  the  long  winter  is  with  us.  But  this  season  even  is 
not  devoid  of  interest  to  the  people  of  our  town.  For  the  .young 
there  is  skating,  coasting  and  skiing  and  long  sleigh  rides,  and  for 
all  enjoyable  gatherings  for  social,  literary  and  other  purposes. 

The  mill  yard  filled  with  logs  as  represented  in  the  accom- 
panying cut  is  the  property  of  our  enterprising  Town  Treasurer, 
E.  B.  Williams,  who  has  built  a  commodious  and  up-to-date 
mill  near  the  Homer  Rawson  farm.  Possibly  too  little  importance 
is  attached  to  the  mill  property  throughout  town.  They  are,  how- 
ever, utilizing  the  timber  growth  to  good  advantage  and  giving 
employment  to  many  families,  and  they  have  been  and  are  very 
essential  to  the  development  of  the  town's  resources.  The  Steam 
Mill  at  Riverside,  first  built  by  Gilbert  and  Robinson  in  1874  has 
an  interesting  history.  Messrs.  Gilbert  and  Robinson  did  not 
operate  the  mill  very  long  and  closed  out  their  interests  to  a 
syndicate  of  citizens  who  formed  an  organization  to  continue  the 
business.  Thus  the  mill  was  operated  by  different  men  until. it 
came  into  the  hands  of  Whitcomb  &  Day.  This  enterprising  firm 
greatly  developed  the  business  as  may  be  seen  by  a  reference  to 
the  Day  genealogy.  In  1888  Ex.-Gov.  U.  A.  Woodbury  pur- 
chased the  property  as  an  accessory  to  the  E.  J.  Booth  Lumber 
Co.,  Burlington,  Vt.  It  was  managed  by  Theron  H.  Porter, 
and  D.  W.  Knight,  and  later  purchased  by  D.  W.  Knight,  who 
operated  it  very  successfully  for  several  years.  Mr.  Knight  in 
1910  sold  to  H.  B.  Howard,  the  present  owner. 

The  mill  has  been  burned  three  times,  once  with  E.  J.  Booth, 
once  with  Terrill  &  Knight,  and  once  with  H.  B.  Howard.  The 
mill  has  always  furnished  employment  to  a  large  number  of  men 
and  has  afforded  a  good  market  for  the  lumber  of  this  and  near- 

A  Pawn. 


Maple  Deive — Lee  River 

"Vn   tT-PP    in    a11    fho    P-rniro   Vint    hop    J^g   charmS. 

Dob  in  Deep  Snow. 


by  towns.  For  further  description  of  the  Steam  Mill  see  Day 

The  logging  business  also  is  a  means  of  support  for 
many  of  our  citizens.  There  have  been  times  when  the  waste  must 
have  been  great  in  connection  with  clearing  lands;  but  not  so 
much  waste  now.  Lessons  in  reforesting  the  denuded  hills  are 
being  taught  us  and  ways  of  conserving  the  woody  growth  are 
being  learned  by  our  people,  so  that  the  cut  of  lumber  some  years 
hardly  equals  the  growth,  and  thus  it  is  expected  that  home 
supply  of  many  kinds  of  lumber  can  be  made  perpetual.  Almost 
every  farmer  gets  out  some  lumber  each  winter  for  repairs  and 
to  sell.  From  three  to  four  million  feet  are  sold  annually  in 
Jericho.  Now  because  of  the  returning  sun  the  snow  begins  to 
melt,  and  the  sugar  season  is  ushered  in.  According  to  the  town 
records  Jericho  has  60,306  maple  trees,  of  which  37,557  were 
tapped  last  year  and  from  which  were  made  37,105  pounds  sugar 
and  9,755  gallons  of  syrup  at  a  value  of  $11,514.00.  Had  all  the 
trees  in  town  been  tapped,  another  $10,000.00  approximately 
would  have  been  received  by  our  people.  It  would  be  both  in- 
teresting and  instructive  to  note  in  this  connection  the  great  im- 
provement in  equipment  and  methods  of  making  sugar,  but  space 
forbids  anything  but  the  briefest  reference.  The  wooden  trough 
has  been  replaced  by  a  neat  tin  or  metal  bucket  with  cover.  Only 
one  tiny  puncture  in  the  tree  now  for  the  spout  which  also  sup- 
ports the  bucket,  instead  of  the  huge  cut  with  the  axe.  The 
methods  of  evaporation  have  been  greatly  perfected,  conserving 
fuel  and  time  and  producing  a  genuine  maple  sweet  that  is  much 
sought  after  in  the  markets  of  the  world.  There  is  no  choicer 
sweet  known  than  the  early  runs  of  maple  syrup  produced  by  the 
farmers  of  Jericho.  In  anticipation  and  realization  the  sugaring 
season  is  richly  enjoyed  by  young  and  old. 

Now,  the  object  of  our  ramble  being  accomplished,  we  con- 
clude this  chapter  with  a  brief  reference  to  Mt.  Mansfield,  which 
is  located  in  other  towns,  yet  its  picturesque  beauty  is  our  inherit- 
ance and  a  common  possession.  Upon  its  ponderous  sides  are  to 
be  found  the  sources  of  Brown's  River  and  of  Lee  River.  The 
rocky  summit  with  its  cooling  atmosphere  seems  to  attract  thither 
the  moisture  burdened  clouds  and  holds  them  oftimes  till  their 


contents  are  fully  discharged,  to  water  the  valleys  below,  a  bless- 
ing of  greatest  value  to  our  own  townspeople. 

The  largeness  of  its  proportions  seems  to  suggest  stability, 
sturdiness  and  character.  The  everchanging  shades  of  its  forest 
covered  sides,  its  glimmers,,  and  reflections  together  with  the 
shadows  of  passing  clouds  in  fair  weather  make  it  an  object  of 
beauty  rarely  surpassed;  when  covered  by  storm  clouds  streaked 
with  the  lightning's  flash  there  comes  to  us,  with  its  thunder  and 
roar,  a  feeling  of  awe  and  sublimity.  In  the  morning  its  first 
sight  seems  to  inspire  us  with  the  splendid  possibilities  of  a  new 
day,  while  the  gilded  sunset  teaches  us  gratitude. 

Just  a  brief  quotation  in  closing  from  the  pen  of  Cassius  A. 
Castle : 

"Ye  grand  old  magnificent  piles 
I  delight  on  your  summits  to  gaze, 
When  the  spruce  in  its  verdure  smiles 
O'er  the  home  of  my  boyhood's  bright  days." 

O.  L.  Bartlett's  Sugar  House  in  Process  of  Completion. 

The  Old  Man's  Pace. 

Fbom  Rivekside. 

From   Beae  Town. 


26.  James  Flynn,  L.  F.  Wilbur,  Jay  Shaw,  Charles  F.  Reavy. 

27.  A.  J.  Cilley,  James  Warner,  Solomon  Powell,  George  H. 


28.  Spencer  Cilley,  Alexander  Dennis,  G.  F.  &  F.  A.  Thomp- 

29.  George  Smith,  Henry  T.  &  Effie  A.  White. 

30.  The  old  Walter  Russell  House  Location. 

31.  L.  H.  Roscoe,  George  Pettingill. 

32.  L.  H.  Roscoe,  Stephen  Myette. 

33.  Hiram  S.  Davis,  A.  D.  Cochran. 

34.  Lovell  Bullock,  Joseph  Williams. 

35.  John  Wall. 

36.  John  Delaware,  V.  S.  Whitcomb,  John  McLaughUn. 

Z7.     Sylvanus  Richardson,  C.  M.  Spaulding,  Mary  E.  Nichols, 
Clark  R.  Varney. 

38.  Henry  Oakes,  Albert  Cilley,  Frances  Messimer. 

39.  C.  Van  Vliet,  Henry  T.  White,  Mrs.  Petty. 

40.  R.  R.  Townsend,  Nelson  Prior,  Hiram  Martin,  E.  B.  &  Ida 

M.  Wilbur. 

41.  Albert  &  Oliver  J.  Lowrey,  Arthur  Brown. 

42.  Bridge. 

43.  Location  of  Elijah  &  E.  B.  Reed — House  taken  down. 
New  house — Michael  J.  Fitzgerald. 

44.  Tillison  &  Julius  H.  Hapgood,  M.  P.  Richardson,  H.  H. 
Hale,  P.  H.  Fitzgerald. 

45.  Carlos  Young,  Andrew  Russin. 

46.  Bridge. 

47.  Geo.  P.  Howe,  Julius  H.  Hapgood,  Henry  Hapgood,  Ira 
&  Carrie  Hawley. 

48.  Lucius  S.  &  Truman  B.  Barney,  A.  Bishop. 

49.  Arthur  L.  Castle,  Irving  A.  Irish. 

50.  Selah  Babcock,  Russell  D.  Johnson. 

50 J^.  Location  of  old  Church  Street  Schoolhouse. 

51.  Joseph  Brown,  Hiram  Day,  Elmer  G.  Irish. 

52.  Rectus  Orr,  Eugene  D.  Herrick,  W.  W.  Palmer. 

53.  L.  A.  Bishop,  George  Brown,  Ira  C.  Morse,  Lynn  D.  Moul- 
ton,  Eugene  D.  Herrick. 

54.  John  C.  Goodhue,  John  P.  Whitton,  L.  C.  &  Lena  Rice. 

55.  R.  R.  Townsend,  Loren  Jackson,  H.  F.  Montague. 


56.  Harvey  Booth,  Hawley  C.  Booth,  Burt  Booth. 

57.  Hiram  Booth,  B.  C.  Buxton,  J.  E.  Burroughs,  Wm.  Schill- 

58.  Barney  McLaughlin,  Frank  Ladue. 

59.  Levi  Packard,  Newell  Marsh,  M.  H.  Packard,  Arthur  H. 

60.  Schoolhouse. 

61.  Whitmarsh  &  Stimson,  Silas  Howland,  Wm.  Roberts. 

61 J4.  Location  of  log  cabin  of  Joseph  Brown  burned  by  the 

62.  Covered  bridge. 

63.  Joseph  Brown,  Henry  M.  Brown. 

64.  Joseph  &  Hannah  Brown,  Hiram  B.  Day,  G.  A.  Haylette. 

65.  Albert  Gleason,  I.  R.  Gleason,  Albert  Gleason. 

66.  Edward  Day,  Mrs.  Elva  Gleason. 

67.  J.  Harvey  Orr,  Hoyt  Orr,  Wm.  Cady. 

68.  Benjamin  Day,  James  A.  Shedd,  C.  A.  Packard. 

69.  Cyrus  Packard,  Harrison  Packard,  W.  C.  &  F.  C.  Bliss, 
Bert  Beers. 

70.  Abijah  Whitton,  Herbert  Chapin,  Norris  Ransom. 

71.  Hiram  B.  Fish,  Edmund  Martin. 

72.  B.  S.  Martin,  Seth  M.  Packard,  Martin  Bullock. 

73.  Ezra  Church,  Asa  Church,  Newell  Story,  C.  H.  Giffin. 

74.  Robert  Balch,  Allen  Balch,  Wilbur  W.  Ring,  Wm.  V.  N. 

75.  Milton  Ford. 

76.  Addison  M.  Ford. 

77.  Stephen  Lane,  T.  C.  Galusha,  R.  B.  Galusha,  John  C.  Schill- 

78.  Mason  Manuel,  Henry  Percival,  W.  I.  &  Albert  Byington. 

79.  John  Dane,  E.  B.  Hunt,  H.  Weidenbecker,  S.  Riggs. 

80.  Lester  Whitton,  W.  R.  Macomber,  H.  Duane  Hurlburt, 
John  Tatro. 

my-i.  Bridge. 

81.  Lyman  Stimson,  Sidney  S.  Thompson,  Hiram  Wilder. 

82.  Captain  Griffin,  Ezra  &  Asa  Church. 

83.  Bridge. 
83 >^.  Bridge. 

84.  Permelia  Griffin,  Bert  Bradish. 


85.  John   Lee,   Wm.   Wheeler,   Mrs.    Sidney   Barber,   Steven 
Lane,  Lucius  Lane. 

86.  Orlando  Whitcomb,  Silas  Hoskins,  Irving  Nealy. 

87.  Augustus  Lee,  Milo  Douglass,  Lucian  H.  Chapin,  Irving 
Thompson,  W.  C.  &  F.  Bliss. 

88.    Lee,  James  Bent,  R.  C.  Lincoln,  Marlin  Bullock, 

Joel  Boyce,  J.  Downing. 

89.  Henry  &  Ella  Lee,  Elmer  Howe,  Joseph  Brassor,  J.  Laflin. 

90.  Reuben  Lee,  L.  M.  Howe,  George  Maidment,  Howard  J. 

91.  Linus  Lee,  Silas  Ransom,  Barney  Mattemore,  Wm.  Mill- 

92.  Cyrus  Lane,  Martin  Willard,  George  Willard. 

93.  Schoolhouse. 

94.  Harvey  Stone,  Antoine  Laflash,  Frank  Kinney. 

95.  Hiram  Stone,  I.  C.  Stone,  A.  Conners,  James  Morse. 

96.  Simeon  Pease,  Ezra  Brown,  Fred  McGinnis. 

97.  Benjamin  Joy,  Alpheus  Joy. 

98.  Benjamin  Joy,  Orlando  Joy. 

99.  Benjamin  Walker,  Daniel  McGovern,  Patrick  McGrath. 

100.  Isaac  &  George  Choate,  L.  F.  Wilbur,  Homer  Boyer. 
100>^.  Bridge. 

101.  Leonard  Pease,  Thomas  McGinnis,  Peter  Doyle. 

102.  Nehemiah  Prouty,  N.  P.  Gravell. 

103.  Nathan  Hale,  Stephen  Hale,  Ferris  McGinnis. 

104.  T.  S.  McGinnis,  Michael  Stokes,  Wm.  Cotey. 

105.  David  Benson,  Elbridge  Nealy,  J.  Rokes. 

106.  Edgar  Barney,  Warren  Fellows,  J.  E.  Burroughs,  L.  F. 
Wilbur,  M.  Guyette. 

107.  Schoolhouse. 

108.  Isaac  Smith,  P.  B.  Smith,  Matthew  Casey,  A.  H.  Streeter. 

109.  Stephen  Hale,  John  MeGee. 

110.  Benial  McGee,  Thomas  Spooner,  A.  H.  Streeter. 
HI.     Henry  Smith,  Daniel  Splain,  A.  H.  Streeter. 

112.    ^Agan  (burned). 

113.  Alexander  H.  McGee. 

114.  James  Martin  (burned). 

115.  George  Hall. 

116.  Fred  Fuller,  John  Tarbox. 


117.  Daniel  Fuller,  D.  W.  Doncaster  (burned). 

118.  Alva  &  Frank  W.  Pease,  E.  S.  Kingsley. 

119.  Leon  Gauvin,  Patrick  Hurson,  Lewis  Shortsleeve. 

120.  Otis  B.  Church,  Fred  W.  Fuller. 

121.  Bridge. 

122.  Perley  Spaulding,  John  Sweeney,  Henry  Proctor,  Edward 

123.  Henry  Hoskins,  A.  C.  Hoskins,  Waldo  Smith. 

124.  Jesse  Monroe,  Aaron  Taft,  Philemon  Smith. 

125.  Ebenezer  Benson,  John  Cavanaugh,  Justin  Brunelle. 

126.  Martin  Howe,  A.  Saxby,  L.  H.  Chapin,  B.  Trieb. 

127.  Caleb  Nash,  Daniel  Nash,  Amy  Nash,  Mulford  Savoy. 

128.  Ansel  Nash,  Thomas  Nash. 

129.  Hyman  Church,  Enoch  Howe,  Joseph  Pratt. 
1291^.  Bridge. 

130.  Bridge. 

131.  Patrick  Foley,  Truman  Galusha,  Stephen  Curtis,  Wilson 

132.  Eugene  Curtis,  Lorenzo  W.  Rice. 

133.  S.  M.  Barney,  W.  J.  Byington,  H.  T.  Chase. 

134.  Patrick  Ryan,  John  Early,  Thomas  Adrian. 

135.  Thomas  Costello,  Geo.  &  John  Costello. 

136.  Wm.  Johnson,  Edward  &  Peter  Flynn,  James  Casey. 

137.  Peter  Flynn. 

138.  Mary  D.  Pierce,  Lyman  Eldridge,  Loomis  Terrill. 
138J^.  John  Storrs,  Mrs.  John  Storrs. 

139.  Bryan  Reddy,  James  Carroll. 

140.  Hyman  Church,  H.  A.  &  Ellen  Percival,  Wert  Brigham. 

141.  Geo.  H.  Brown,  Bertha  King. 

142.  S.  A.  Andrews,  Alexander  Miller,  Charles  Hilton,  Mrs. 
Caroline  Yantz,  A.  Wisell. 

143.  Charles  Hilton,  Irma  Bennett. 

144.  Stephen  Lyman,  W.  R.  Macomber,  Charles  Hilton,  Carl 

145.  Charles  Hilton,  Vincent  R.  Varney,  Jed  T.  Varney. 

146.  Clark  Ford,  James  Morse,  Arthur  K.  Morse. 

147.  Wm.  Smith,  John  Smith,  Ernest  Smith. 

148.  Gordon  Smith,  John  A.  Smith. 

149.  James  Graham,  O.  H.  Brown,  C.  H.  Chittenden. 


150.  George  Chapin,  Andrew  Warner,  Frank  S.  Ransom,  Will 

151.  Lewis  Chapin,  Milo  H;  Chapin,  E.  S.  Ransom. 

152.  Miles  Ransom,  Ernest  Smith,  John  Fitzsimonds. 

153.  Sylvanus  Lee,  Charles  Lee,  Leon  Mitchell. 

154.  Dea.  Albert  Lee,  Trumbull  Lee,  Miles  Ransom,  John  Fitz- 
simonds, Andrew  Fitzsimonds. 

155.  Palmer  Richardson,  Nathan  Benham,  Henry  &  H.  P.  Hall. 

156.  Russell  French,  Warren  French,  Burke  G.  Brown. 

157.  Dana  Bicknell,  Emma  Bicknell. 

158.  Mr.  Townsend,  Geo.  Stiles,  Edson  Nealy. 

159.  Dana  Bicknell,  Burke  G.  Brown,  Frank  Brown. 

160.  Daniel  Lyman,  Charles  H.  Lyman,  Mrs.   Sargent,  John 

161.  Horace  Babcock,  Wert  Brigham.     (No  buildings). 

162.  James  McLane,  John  Early  family. 

163.  Daniel  &  David  Hutchinson,  James  H.  Hutchinson,  G.  Her- 
bert Hutchinson. 

164.  Orin  Crane,  Quincy  Thurston. 

165.  Dennis  Gearin.     (Taken  down). 

166.  Orley  Thompson,  Hosea  S.  &  Nancy  Wright,  Cornelius  & 
Carrie  Tyler. 

167.  Same  as  166. 
167^2  ■  Blockhouse  or  fort. 

168.  Harmon  Humphrey. 
168J^.  Schoolhouse. 

169.  Gov.  Martin  Chittenden,  Rufus  Bishop,  Daniel  B.  Bishop, 
Emma  Bishop. 

170.  Leet  A.  Bishop,  George  H.  Brown,  E.  C.  Fay,  E.  Wright 

170^.  Noah  Chittenden  (burned). 

171.  Bridge  across  Mill  Brook. 

172.  Daniel  B.  Bishop,  John  Casey. 

173.  Julius  Hodges,  Hiram  E.  Bates. 

174.  Cyrus  Tarbox,  Thomas  Reeves,  Hervey  Burnham. 

175.  Bridge. 

176.  Wm.  P.  Briggs,  Gov.  Asahel  Peck,  .Cicero  Peck. 

177.  Joseph  Lawrence. 

178.  Rural  Thomson,  Spencer  &  Harriet  Patrick. 


179.  Charles  Scribner  tenant  house,  Josephine  G.  Gates,  sum- 
mer cottage. 

180.  E.  L.  Barber,  tenant  house. 

181.  Summer  cottage,  Charles  Scribner. 

182.  Azariah  Rood,  E.  L.  Barber,  Charles  Scribner. 

183.  Gilbert  Paradee,  Chas.  Lee,  James  H.'Safford. 

184.  Solomon  Powell,  Charles  Bleau. 

185.  Jesse  Gloyd,  Sr.,  Jesse  Gloyd,  Martin  Powell. 

186.  Silas  Bumham,  Joseph  Stockwefl. 

187.  Ezra  Elliott,  George  Cunningham,  Andrew  Johnson. 

188.  South  district  schoolhouse. 

189.  Lewis  Marsh,  Edmund  Duso,  Tom  O'Neil. 

190.  Lyman  Hall,  Harrison  Webster,  Asa  Powell,  Harmon 
Humphrey,  John  Phillips,  P.  Lavelle,  Geo.  Cunningham, 
E.  P.  Corvin. 

190^.  Calvin  Marsh  (given  up). 

191.  Horace  Wood,  Wm.  Lewis,  Gilbert  Paradee. 

192.  Bridge  across  Mill  Brook. 

194.  Harvey  Ford,  Billings  Hatch,  Thos<  Lynch  (burned). 

195.  Shubael  Palmer,  Thos.  Lynch. 

196.  John  Benham,  Mose  Lawrence. 

197.  Jonas  Marsh,  Henry  Borrowdale,  John  Tobin. 

198.  John  T.  Clapp,  Edwin  W.  Humphrey,  Henry  Rider. 

199.  Rollin  M.  Clapp,  Augustus  S.  Wood,  Mahala  Nash,  Mrs. 

200.  Freeman  Wood,  Harvey  Field,  Lynn  D.  Moulton,  Homer 

201.  Bridge. 

202.  Harvey  Field,  Austin  Field,  William  Field. 

203.  Mr.  Harvey,  Geo.  Stiles,  Thomas  Moran. 

204.  Edy  Humphrey,  Chesman  Johnson,  Fred  Johnson. 

205.  Harrison  Webster,  Lyman  Hall,  Collins  H.  Nash,  W.  Den- 

205J4.  John  Duso,  Gordon  Smith,  C.  H.  Nash,  Mr.  Laduke. 
205^.  Eben  Lee,  John  Tobin,  James  Berry. 

206.  Wm.  Nealy,  Chas.  Nealy. 

207.  Solomon   Powell,   Silas   Ransom,   Silas   Haskins,   Nathan 
Benham,  F.  D.  McGinnis,  Clyde  Wilder,  Julian  Hoskins. 

208.  Ansel  Nash,  Albert  Parker,  F.  D.  McGinnis. 


209.  Bridge. 

210.  Horace  C.  Nash  Store  (gone). 

211.  Joel  Bartlett,  Fred  McGinnis,  Chas.  Rochelle. 

212.  Zenas  Nash,  Francis  Nash,  C.  H.  Nash,  Willie  Nash. 

213.  Schoolhouse. 

214.  Ezra  Nash.      . 

215.  Daniel  Graves,  Clarence  Shiner. 

216.  Andrew  Warner,  Thomas  E.  Bentley,  Wilson  A.  Bentley. 

217.  Chauncey  Abbott,  Patrick  Barrett. 
218."  Bridge. 

219.  Gautha  Parker,  Willie  Church  (burned). 

220.  Benjamin  Hatch,  Moses  Leary. 

221.  Location  of  old  shingle  mill. 

222.  Ed  Sweeney  &  Michael  Sweeney. 

223.  Nathan  Smith. 

224.  Bridge. 

225.  Creamery. 

226.  Bridge. 

226>^.  John  Leary,  Mrs.  Martha  M.  Allen. 

227.  Old  Chesman  Johnson  place. 

228.  John  McAndrass. 

229.  Abraham  Stroud,  Geo.  Hapgood. 

230.  Daniel  Davis. 

231.  Peter  Plant,  Clarence  Shiner. 

232.  Caleb  Nash,  Mr.  Baker.  • 

233.  Caleb  Nash,  Russell  Haskins,  Peter  Labell,  Barney  &  Al- 
bert McLaughlin. 

234.  Eber  Hatch,  John  Leary,  Martha  M.  Allen,  Wm.  Hanley. 

235.  Hubbell  B.  Smith,  Newell  Story,  Wm.  Pollard. 

236.  Schoolhouse. 

240.  H.  G.  &  R.  M.  Brown. 

241.  Wm.  Bartlett,  Luke  Bolger. 

242.  Norman  Wright  place. 


22.  A.  S.  Mears,  Mrs.  Minerva  Barney,  Mrs.  N.  H.  Goodwin. 

23.  Judge  Fish's  Shoe  Shop  and  Tannery,  Residence  J.  A.  Per- 
cival,  A.  B.  Simonds,  Mrs.  Ahtia  Tarbox. 

24.  David  Fish,  C.  S.  Palmer,  C.  E.  Percival. 

25.  Site  of  "Old  Mansion  House." 

26.  Site  Wattrous  Thompson,  Nelson  Fassett,  W.  B.  Nichols, 
George  Lyman,  Dr.  L.  P.  Howe,  Mrs.  Mary  Howe  Chase. 

27.  Chas.  Wetherby,  Erastus  Field,  F.  B.  Howe,  F.  C.  Wil- 
liams, Miss  Harriet  Kinney. 

28.  Site  Distillery  of  Frederick  Fletcher. 

29.  E.  W.  Curtis,  L.  W.  Rice. 

30.  Almon  Hill,  Stephen  Curtis,  W.  R.  Curtis  and  M.  A.  Buz- 

31.  Solomon  Barney,  W.  I.  Byington,  H.  T.  Chase,  F.  E.  Han- 

3iy2.  Site  Noah  Chittenden. 

32.  Patrick  Ryan,  Thomas  Adrien. 

33.  John  Bliss,  Anson  Field,  W.  N.  Pierce,  Mrs.  S.  B.  Wells. 

34.  Miss  Thankful  M.  Butts,  Mrs.  Fanny  Galusha,  Norman 
Fuller,  John  Pratt,  L.  C.  Stevens. 

35.  John  Bliss,  Deacon  Truman  Galusha,  R.  L.  Galusha,  H.  N. 
Percival,  F.  K.  Howe. 

36.  Sylvanus  Blodgett,  Wm.  and  Mary  Brown,  Fred  Howe, 
Lucius  Irish,  Joseph  Bissonett. 

36 J^.  Site,  house  and  blacksmith  shop,  Sylvanus  Blodgett. 

37.  Site  R.  Smiley  Blodgett,  S.  S.  Thomson,  M.  H.  Alexander. 

38.  Lumber,  Wood  and  Coal  Yards  E.  B.  Williams  &  Co. 

39.  Store  house  E.  B.  Williams  &  Co. 

40.  Site  Thomas  CoStello. 

41.  Henry  Shedd,  Dr.   H.   N.   Curtis,  Orlin  Rood,  Elhanon 
Prior,  J.  E.  Burroughs,  Willard  Blood,  Mrs.  L.  L.  Blood. 

42.  Jonathan  Goodhue,  Orlin  Rood,  D.  E.  Rood. 

43.  H.  N.  Percival,  F.  P.  Percival. 

44.  B.  &  L.  R.  R.  Station. 

45.  Queen  City  Creamery. 

■  46.     George    Shedd,    George   Wright,    Rev.    D.    B.    Bradford, 
Mathew  Tierney,  A.  A.  Parker,  E.  H.  Gomo. 

47.  Rodney  and  Ann  Barney. 

48.  D.  N.  Shaw,  Mrs.  R.  R.  Townsend. 

Chittenden  Mills. 
Property  of  Chas.  Reavey. 



49.  Tillison  Hapgood,  T.  Chittenden  Galusha,  John  T.  Clapp, 
Simeon  Clapp,  Zeph  Hapgood,  F.  W.  Pease. 

50.  Drug  Store  site  Albert  Barney,  Henry  Howe,  H.  N.  Perci- 
val,  E.  W.  Curtis,  E.  B.  Williams. 

51.  Site  L.  F.  Wilbur,  S.  A.  Wright,  Sam'l  Clark,  A.  A.  Ches- 
more.        * 

52.  Anson  Field  cabinet  maker,  L.  F.  Wilbur's  Law  Office,  A. 
D.  Bradford's  Printing  Office,  E.  H.  Gomo's  Harness 

53.  Julian  Terrien,  H.  Hebert,  Peter  Gomo. 

54.  Law  Office  L.  F.  Wilbur,  Store  H.  T.  Chase,  Frank  Hanley. 

55.  B.  S.  Martin. 

55y2.  Millinery  Shop  Mrs.  Lucia  Ann  Smith,  Drug  Store  W.  B. 
Nichols,  Millinery  Store  Mrs.  B.  S.  Martin. 

56.  Blacksmith  Shop  E.  H.  Prouty,  Levi  Gordon,  John  Girard, 
H.  Hebert. 

57.  Elon  Lee,  Phillip  Prior,  Cephas  Butler,  Elon  Prouty,  H. 

58.  Barn  George  White. 

59.    Stebbins,  Fred  Hill,  Ferdinand  Beach,  Dr.  L. 

D.  Rood,  Dr.  George  Belden,  J.  H.  May,  George  White. 

60.  L.  B.  Howe,  C.  M.  Spaulding,  J.  S.  Cilley,  F.  H.  McGinnis, 
G.  H.  Foster. 

61.  Artemas  Bemis,  John  Swan,  W.  J.  Gibson,  Hoyt  Davis, 
Walter  Blaisdell. 

62.  Mrs.  Jane  Gibson,  Mrs.  Mary  J.  Buxton. 

63.  Isadore  Roscoe,  Michael  Shanley,  W.  G.  Cook. 

64.  James  Gribben,  Clark  Wilbur,  Simon  D.  Bullock,  A.  S. 
Wood,  W.  E.  Buxton. 

65.  Grist  Mill,  John  Bliss,  G.  B.  &  W.  E.  Oakes,  F.  Beach, 
Wooden  Combs  and  Button  Molds,  L.  P.  Carleton  &  Co., 
Wood  Pulp,  Dr.  Fletcher,  Jericho  Chair  Co.,  H.  M.  Field, 
S.  D.  Bullock,  Novelty  Turning,  A.  S.  Wood,  W.  E.  Bux- 

66.  Baptist  Parsonage,  Rev.  I.  E.  Usher. 

67.  Baptist  Church. 

6?.     Mrs.  Dr.  Harmon  Howe,  William  Douglass,  L.  B.  Howe, 

Soules,  J.  H.  Hutchinson,  E.  B.  Williams. 

69.     Fred  Simonds,  M.  H.  Packard,  Y.  G.  Nay. 


70.  Luther  Prouty,  L.  S.  Prouty,  L.  M.  Stevens,  L.  C.  Stevens, 
H.  S.  Woods,  M.  H.  Packard,  H.  C.  Dessany,  H.  F.  Tilley. 

71.  Graded  School  Building. 

72.  Geo.  B.  Howe,  L.  T.  Richardson,  Dr.  H.  N.  Curtis,  Dr.  Al- 
bert Nott,  Calvin  Morse,  Ben  Norris,  Mrs.  Ellen  A.  Perci- 
val,  Fred  A.  Percival. 

73.  Methodist  Church. 

74.  Congregational  Church. 

75.  Henry  M.  Field,  Dr.  Daniel  Thompson,  R.  B.  Galusha, 
L.  F.  Terrill,  Buel  H.  Day. 

76.  Law  Office  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

77.  Anson  Field,  Jr.,  H.  M.  Field,  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

78.  Kingsley  Butler  Printer,  L.  F.  Wilbur  Law  Office,  Alex. 
Miller,  Misses  Emma  Church  and  Mollie  Meikle,  John  Mc- 
Mahon,  W.  D.  Chesmore,  Fred  Foster. 

79.  Dr.  George  Howe,  Dr.  Edward  Howe,  Dr.  A.  B.  Somers, 
Dr.  I.  M.  Bishop,  Mrs.  M.  D.  Pierce,  Chas.  A.  Jackson, 
M.  H.  Packard,  Mrs.  Emma  Cook,  A.  J.  Sweeney. 

80.  A.  B.  Simonds,  W.  S.  Fellows,  Clara  K.  Howe,  F.  K.'  Howe. 

81.  Sylvester  Pellitier,  J.  A.  Percival,  W.  N.  Pierce,  George 
Thorpe,  A.  A.  Chesmore. 

82.  Dr.  J.  Dennison  Bliss,  O.  H.  Brown,  W.  L.  Day. 

83.  C.  S.  Field,  E.  W.  Curtis,  Rev.  J.  T.  Buzzell. 

84.  Lemuel  Bliss,  William  Jackson,  H.  C.  Booth,  C.  Van  Vliet, 
Dr.  Lloyd  Flagg,  Dr.  G.  B.  Hulburd. 

85.  Misses  Mary  Field  and  Julia  Porter,  Stephen  Curtis, 
George  Ladeau. 

86.  Isadore  Roscoe,  Elhanon  Prior,  Mrs.  Sarah  V.  V.  Booth, 
Mi^s  Emily  C.  Howe,  E.  B.  Wilbur. 

87.  B.  E.  Shanley,  Mrs.  L.  L.  Rood,  W.  S.  Fellows,  C.  C.  Bux- 
ton, H.  H.  Day. 

88.  John  Girard,  P.  S.  Bullock,  F.  S.  Tomlinson. 

89.  John  Nye,  R.  B.  Field,  Mrs.  Mary  O.  Balch. 

90.  Simon  Davis,  H.  M.  Field,  Anson  Field,  R.  B.  Field. 
90>4.  Site  of  Field's"  Pump  Works. 

91.  W.  L.  Roscoe. 

91 J^.  Site  John  Buxton. 

92.  Saw  Mill  David  Oakes,  Hiram  Fish,  John  Fairchild,  An- 
son Field,  E.  W.  Curtis. 


92j^.  Site  Joseph  Jocko. 

93.  Hiram  Fish,  Solomon  Papineau,  W.  A.  Albee. 

94.  John  Fairchild,  Nathan  Porter,  Lawrence  QuiUinan,  C. 
S.  Palmer. 

95.  John  Oakes,  Jerry  Thompson,  Ozro  Slater,  M.  W.  Booth, 
Glenn  Booth,  Rev.  William  Cashmore. 

96.,  David  Oakes,  Wm.  E.  Oakes,  J.  A.  Percival  and  John 
bakes,  Joseph  Mellendy,  L.  B.  Howe,  F.  B.  Howe,  F.  P. 
Percival,  H.  H.  Tilley. 

97.  George  Buxton,  N.  A.  Prior,  Ira  C.  Morse. 

98.  David  Oakes,  Sylvanus  Richardson,  L.  F.  Wilbur,  Anson 
Atchinson,  A.  Bliss  Atchinson,  Rev.  C.  E.  Tomlin,  D.  J. 

99.  Wilkins  Rockwood,  Solomon  Powell,  Smith  Pease,  John 
Whitten,  L.  C.  Rice. 

100.  W.  L.  Roscoe,  L.  F.  Paradee. 

101.  Aaron  Brownell,  Manser,  U.   S.  Whitcomb, 

Loren  Whitcomb,  C.  Van  Vliet,  James  Hanley,  E.  W.  Cur- 
tis, H.  F.  DeLisle,  John  Derby,  Mrs.  D.  J.  Hunter,  M.  C. 

102.  Uriah  Howe,  Dr.  Secretary  Rawson,  Homer  Rawson,  Mrs. 
Hattie  Percival,  Mrs.  E.  B.  Williams,  A.  P.  Safford. 

103.  Williams'  Saw  Mill,  ^.  C.  Buxton,  Whitcomb  &  Day,  E. 
B.  Williams. 

104.  Site  B.  C.  Buxton. 

105.  Site  Buxton  Saw  Mill,  B.  C.  Buxton,  Thomas  Buxton,  E.  ■ 
W.  Curtis. 



By  LaFayette  Wilbur. 

The  figures  refer  to  dwelling  houses  unless  otherwise  stated. 
The  last  name  indicates  the  present  owner. 

1.  Martin  Bartlett,  Isaac  C.  Stone,  H.  G.  &  Ray  M.  Brown. 

2.  Martin  Bartlett,  I.  C.  Stone,  H.  G.  &  Ray  M.  Brown. 

3.  Henry  Lane,  Nathan  Lane. 

4.  Guy  Chambers,  Marcus  Hoskins. 

5.  Location  of  John  Chambers'  house.    Now  taken  down. 

6.  Borden's  Condensed  Milk  Co.'s  plant. 

7.  Hosea  Spaulding,  Wells  Lee,  L.  D.  Eldridge. 

8.  Old  Saddle  shop  of  Hosea  Spaulding. 

9.  John  T.  Pratt,  Horace  Babcock,  Seth  M.  Packard. 

10.  Hoyt  Chambers,  F.  M.  Hoskins. 

11.  Ira  Ransom,  Albert  Barney,  F.  M.  Hoskins. 

12.  Blacksmith  shop  of  F.  M.  Hoskins. 

13.  Elias  Bartlett,  E.  C.  Whitney,  Frank  A.  Stiles. 

14.  Asahel  B.  Puffer. 

15.  T.  L.  Bostwick,  Ernest  Smith,  F.  D.  McGinnis. 

16.  Mrs.  Jennie  W.  Hart  &  Anna  Warner. 

17.  Jonathan  Goodhue,  Marshall  Harvey,  Geo.  Cunningham. 

18.  Lemuel  Blackman,  E.  H.  Lane,  E.  B.  Jordan. 

19.  Store. 

20.  Joel  B.  Bartlett,  Benjamin  Hatch,  Dustin  Bicknell,  R.  O. 

21.  Congregational  Church,  Town  room. 

22.  Charles  Pierce,  Henry  Blackman,  Cora  W.  Chapin. 

23.  Parsonage. 

24.  Luke  B.  Bolger. 

25.  The  Old  Norman  Wright  house. 

26.  Albert  Fay,  D.  B.  Bishop,  Lynn  D.  Moulton,  H.  G.  &  R. 
M.  Brown. 

27.  Emma  Church  and  Mary  Meikle,  F.  S.  Ransom. 

28.  Elias  Bartlett,  E.  M.  Lane,  G.  C.  Bicknell  and  C.  C.  Bick- 

29.  John  Lyman,  Cyrus  Tarbox,  Kate  Beulah  Isham. 

30.  Eben  Lee,  Ezra  Elliot,  Thomas  Scott. 


31.  John  Stimson,  F.  F.  Hovey,  Betsey  Ballard. 

32.  Dr.  F.  F.  Hovey's  office,  Morse  &  Pease  grocery. 

33.  The  old  Jericho  Academy,  Cong,  parish  house. 

34.  Formerly  a  store  of  James  Morse,  now  house  of  Leon  Hall. 

35.  Orin  Stimson,  Albertine  Lee,  Irving  Ballard. 

36.  Old  Cong,  parsonage,  James  M.  Carpenter,  Cora  W.  Cha- 

37.  Edward  Tupper,  Walter  Kew,  Wayne  Nealy. 

38.  Dr.  F.  F.  Hovey,  Abraham  Jackson,  John  F.  Jordan. 

39.  Jericho  High  School. 

40.  Formerly  Universalist  Church,  now  Village  Hall. 

41.  Orley  Thomson,  E.  H.  Lane,  F.  A.  Fuller. 

42.  Dr.  H.  D.  Hopkins,  Dr.  M.  O.  Eddy. 

43.  Abel  C.  Hoskins. 

44.  Jacob  Latham, Ransom,  Alma  Whitmarsh. 

45.  Village  Green. 

46.  Cemetery. 

47.  Warren  French,  B.  G.  Brown. 

48.  Emma  Bicknell. 

\\J9]      UNOEnHILl. 

MAP  or 





By  LaFayette  Wilbur. 

1.  The  covered  bridge. , 

2.  Old  schoolhouse  now  residence  of  Chas.  E.  Kittell. 

3.  John  McNichols,  Mrs.  Helen  Jock. 

4.  Harriet  Hapgood,  Buel  H.  Day,  Mrs.  Martha  E.  Church. 

5.  Charles  McBride,  Howard  M.  Clark. 

6.  Edward  S.  Whitcomb,  Mrs.  Mary  B.  Day,  Carroll  S.  Bart- 

7.  E.  S.  Whitcomb's  Store,  now  John  K.  McKeefe's  grocery. 

8.  C.  H.  Hayden's  Store. 

9.  Robert  Prior,  A.  J.  Russin,  W.  C.  Cross. 

10.  Gauvin's  Studio,  Geo.  Sherman,  H.  B.  Howard. 

11.  Rufus  Brown,  Herbert  Chapin,  D.  W.  Knight. 

12.  Old  cheese  factory,  now  creamery  bld'g  owned  by  B.  H. 

13.  Bostwick  Green,  Newton  Wright. 

14.  Steam  mill  owned  by  Whitcomb  &  Day,  D.  W.  Knight,  H. 
B.  Howard. 

15.  Mill  yard  by  Whitcomb  &  Day,  D.  W.  Knight,  H.  B.  How- 

16.  Luther  Brown,  Rufus  Brown,  Frank  S.  Jackson. 

17.  Location  of  Robert  Jackson's  house  destroyed  by  fire. 

18.  Cemetery. 

19.  Depot. 

20.  W.  H.  Gaines. 

21.  Mrs.  Almira  Goodwin,  L.  H.  Pendleton,  Geo.  Farrell. 

22.  Grist  mill,  Homer  Thompson,  T.  W.  Thorp,  L.  H.  Pendle- 
ton, Jasper  E.  Foster. 

23.  Store  house,  L.  F.  Terrill,  L.  C.  Fowler. 

24.  Homer  Thompson,  Carroll  N.  Stygles,  Brown  &  Nay. 

25.  Mr.  Whitcomb,  Geo.  H.  Benedict,  E.  J.  Gallup. 

26.  Tin  shop,  E.  J.  Gallup  &  Son. 
26 J^.  Geo.  Gravlin. 

27.  G.  A.  R.  Hall. 

27 Yz.  C.  Clinton  Abbott. 

28.  Thaddeus  A.  Whipple,  Dr.  F.  B..  Hunt. 

29.  Darwin  G.  French,  Robert  Kirby,  Clifton  Kirby. 


30.  Martin  Howe,  Geo.  H.  Benedict,  H.  B.  Howard. 

31.  Village  Green. 

32.  Calvin  Marsh,  L.  C.  MacGibbon. 

33.  Herbert  Chapin,  Erwin  White,  R.  H.  Metcalf. 

34.  Location  Bostwick  House,  Dixon  Hotel,  destroyed  by  fire. 

35.  A.  F.  Burdick,  W.  H.  Gaines,  G.  W.  Batchelder. 

36.  Simeon  Parmalee,  E.  S.  Whitcomb,  Jr.,  Ella  J.  Whitcomb. 

37.  J.  H.  Bostwick,  Samuel  Hale,  Mrs.  M.  C.  Hale. 

38.  Isaac  Clark  Bostwick,  Clark  Graves. 

39.  H.  H.  Hale,  Geo.  Brooks,  Lynn  D.  Moulton. 

40.  Avery  Edwards,  Wm.  Kittell. 

41.  Avery  Edwards,  H.  H.  Dickinson. 

42.  Avery  Edwards,  Claude  Graves. 

43.  Nathaniel  Bostwick,  Joseph  Kingsbury,  Josiah  Bass,  Wal- 
ter Russell,  J.  H.  Russell. 

44.  Episcopal  Church. 

45.  S.  B.  Bliss,  Amos  Eastman,  Avery  Edwards. 

46.  Chas.   Ripley,   Levi    Nutting,   E.   L.   Martin,    Mrs.   Julia 
Powell,  P.  S.  Scribner. 

47.  Rev.  S.  S.  Brigham,  L.  H.  Pendleton,  C.  B.  Metcalf,  Park 
H.  Brown. 

48.  Truman  Whitcomb,  E.  L.  Martin. 

49.  Amelia  L.  Marsh,  Charles  E.  Scribner. 

50.  James  Hayden,  Sarah  F.  Hayden,  C.  H.  Hayden. 

51.  Samuel  B.  BHss,  Dr.  D.  L.  Burnett. 
51 5^.  Blacksmith    shop — Howard  Ayer. 

52.  Mr.  Dyche,  C.  C.  Abbott,  Sr. 

53.  Elijah  Dunton,  Mrs.  Mary  Douglass,  W.  C.  Bailey. 

54.  W.  Scott  Nay. 

55.  Drug  store.  Masonic  Hall,  Dr.  W.  S.  Nay. 

56.  Methodist  Church. 

57.  Mr.  Murdock,  Mrs.  Geo.  Claflin. 

58.  E.  S.  Sinclair. 

59.  Charles  Cadwell,  David  French,  A.  N.  Clar^,  Mrs.  E.  S. 
Sinclair,  Archie  T.  Kirby,  Henry  L.  Murdock. 

60.  Dr.  Arthur  F.  Burdick. 

61.  Henry  Oakes,  Calvin  Bates,  Methodist  Parsonage. 

62.  Calvin  Bates. 


63.  Old  Henry  Oakes  store,  now  residence  of  Homer  W.  Rock- 

64.  Old  Starch  Factory  location. 

65.  L.  P.  Carlton,  Jonathan  Nichols,  Levi  Metcalf. 

66.  Marker  erected  in  memory  of  Brown  family  "The  First 

67.  Stephen  Brown,  Cong.  Parsonage,  S.  M.  Palmer. 
67 J4.  L.  H.  Chapin,  Rueben  Dickinson. 





Part  ten,  to  many,  will  be  the  most  interesting  in  this  book, 
because  it  contains  the  history  of  the  families,  which  have  built 
up  the  town.  The  family  is  the  unit  of  greatest  importance,  and 
nowhere  does  the  family  appear  to  better  advantage  than  in 
rural  New  England  communities. 

The  citizens  of  Jericho  have  reason  to  be  proud  of  their  an- 
cestry, and  it  is  high  time  that  permanent  record  should  be  made 
of  those  preceding  generations  as  well  as  of  the  present,  ere  they 
become  altogether  lost  and  forgotten.  There  might  have  been 
one  hundred  families  occupying  this  township  130  years  ago. 
One  of  these  families  is  known  to  have  five  or  six  thousand  de- 
scendants throughout  the  United  States  and  Canada.  Now  mul- 
tiply by  one  hundred.  Possibly  this  is  more  than  an  average 
family  in  point  of  numbers,  yet  the  importance  of  the  matter  is 
beyond  comprehension. 

The  town  also  has  much  to  its  credit  in  the  achievements  of 
those  who  have  gone  forth  from  our  limits  and  have  won  fame 
and  fortune  in  other  places.  This  large  field  of  the  Jericho  in- 
fluence is  just  being  entered  into,  and  the  following  genealogies 
and  biographical  sketches  will  tell  the  reader  to  what  heights  of 
influence  the  Jericho  boys  and  girls  have  attained. 

In  this  part  Mr.''LaFayette  Wilbur  has  spent  many  months 
of  time  and  efficient  labor  and  Rev.  S.  H.  Bamum  has  performed 
service  hardly  less  valuable.  The  families  are  arranged  alpha- 
betically for  the  convenience  of  the  reader. 

C.  H.  HAYDEN,  For  the  Editors. 



By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Curtis  Abbott  m.  Betsey  Cilley  and  lived  in  Tunbridge,  Vt. 
They  had  four  children  that  grew  to  adult  age;  Carlos  C,  b.  in 
1834;  Marcia  I.,.b.  in  1838,  who  m.  Rev.  William  Nutting,  a 
Universalist  minister;  Charles  E.,  b.  in  1842,  who  m.  and  moved 
to  the  West ;  and  Agnes  A.,  b.  in  1845.  These  children  were  all 
b.  in-  Tunbridge,  and  none  ever  resided  in  Jericho  except  Carlos 
C,  who  m.  Charlotte  Woodbury  of  Bethel,  Vt.  She  was  b.  in 
1840.  They  had  one  child,  Clinton  C,  b.  in  1860.  This  family 
removed  to  Jericho  in  1869,  and  located  at  the  Flatts  (so  called). 
Carlos  C.  was  a  travelling  salesman.  He  d.  in  1908  in  Jericho. 
His  son  was  b.  in  1860  and  in  1899  m.  Clara,  the  daughter  of 
Edgar  A.  Barney.  She  d.  in  1908,  at  Jericho.  They  had  two 
children,  Edwin  B.,  b.  in  1901,  and  Melba  C,  b.  in  1902.  Clin- 
ton C.  was  the  railroad  station  agent  for  Zl  years  at  Underbill, 
Vt.    Hed.Nov.  28,  1914. 


Thomas  Adrien  was  b.  in  County  Cavan,  Ireland  in  1844, 
and  came  to  Vermont  when  four  years  of  age,  and  to  Jericho  in 
1885.  He  m.  Ellen  Reddy  in  1869  and  to  them  were  b.  2 
children :  Mary  Elizabeth  and  Bartholomew  B.,  who  was  b.  1879 
and  d.  1908.     (See  Reddy  Family,  also  Teachers). 

By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Chauncey  Bradley  Aldrich,  son  of  Horace  Reuben  and  Jane 
M.  Aldrich  was  b.  in  Cambridge,  Vt.,  June  30,  1863.  Mr.  Aldrich 
has  resided  in  town  since  1898  and  is  a  paper  hanger  and  painter 
by  trade. 


By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Anson  Atchinson  spent  his  early  life  in  Underbill,  but  lived 
for  many  years  at  Jericho,  where  he  d. 


He  was  a  farmer. 

In  religious  sentiment  he  was  a  Methodist. 

He  d.  in  1890  at  the  age  of  83  years.  His  wife,  Harriet 
M.,  d.  in  1881  at  the  age  of  68  years.  They  had  four  children : 
Eliza,  who  m.  Samuel  Bentley;  Naomi,  who  m.  Arthur  East- 
man and  m.  2  George  Alger,  having  one  daughter  by  the  second 
husband;  J.  Blinn,  who  m.  Mary  H.  Lowrey  to  whom  three 
children  were  b.  (See  the  Lowrey  family)  ;  and  Bliss,  who  m. 
Marion  Parker  to  whom  were  born  Iva  and  Eva.  Bliss  was  a 
soldier  in  the  1st  Vt.  Cavalry  for  a  period  during  the  Civil  War. 


By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Paul  Babcock,  who  d.  in  1839,  had  a  twin  brother  Silas. 
They  were  b.  in  1770.  Silas  m.  a  Hutchinson  of  Jericho,  Vt., 
and  they  had  three  sons  and  two  daughters;  the  sons  becoming 

Paul  Babcock  m.  Mabel  Hatch  of  Jericho,  b.  in  1773,  d.  in 
1842.  They  had  eight  children,  viz.:  Luman,  b.  in  1798,  d.  in 
1833;  Anna,  b.  in  1800;  Horace,  b.  in  1802;  Selah  L.,  b.  in  1804; 
Julius,  b.  in  1806;  Submit,  b.  in  1808;  David,  b.  in  1812;  and 
Rufus,  b.  in  1814.  All  of  these  children  lived  in  Jericho  till  they 
became  of  adult  age,  but  all  removed  from  town  except  Horace 
and  Selah. 

Horace  m.  Sally  Reynolds,  who  was  b.  in  1805  and  d.  in 
1876.  He  d.  in  1887.  They  had  two  children  who  d.  young. 
Horace  Babcock  lived  for  many  years  at  the  end  of  a  spur 
road  running  east  from  the  old  Charles  H.  Lyman  farm,  south 
of  Jericho  Village. 

Selah  L.,  b.  in  1804,  d.  in  1880.  In  1842  he  m.  Prudence 
Buxton,  who  was  b.  in  1815  in  Westford  and  d.  in  1891. 
Selah  L.  resided  on  the  place  adjoining  and  east  of  the  farm  of 
Irving  Irish  on  the  road  to  Underbill  from  Jericho  village.  He 
was  a  man  of  good  reputation.  Selah  and  Prudence  had  three  chil- 
dren, viz. : 

(1)  Reuben  M.,  b.  in  1844  and  d.  in  1863.  He  was  a 
patriotic  young  man.    He  enlisted  in  the  War  of  the  Rebellion 


in  1861,  at  the  age  of  19  years.  He  was  a  member  of  Co.  F.  13th 
Regiment  of  Vermont  Volunteers,  dying  of  typhoid  fever  at  Fair- 
fax, Virginia,  and  being  buried  at  Jericho.  He  was  an  only  son, 
and  his  parents  looking  to  him  for  support  in  their  old  age  were 
granted  a  pension. 

(2)  Adeha  E.,  b.  in  1845,  m.  Russell  D.  Johnson  of  Jericho 
in  1867.  She  d.  in  1909  at  the  old  home.  Their  children  were, 
viz. :  Harriet  A.,  who  was  b.  in  1868  and  d.  in  1875,  and  Emma 
M.,  b.  in  1869,  who  m.  Judson  S.  Clark  of  Underbill  in  1902,  and 
whose  children  are  Edith  Adelia,  b.  in  1903,  and  Charles  Russell, 
b.  in  1904. 

(3)  Julia  L.,  b.  in  1850,  d.  in  1892,  at  Jericho. 

By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

John  Balch  was  b.  at  Topsfield,  Mass.,  in  1779  and  m.  De- 
borah Kinstoh  of  Weare,  N.  H.  He  d.  in  1822.  They  had  eleven 
children:  John  and  Delia,  twins,  who  d.  in  infancy;  Robert,  b. 
in  1802,  who  d.  in  1869;  John  J.,  b.  in  1804;  Eliza,  b.  in  1806; 
Eliphalet,  b.  in  1807;  Julia  Ann,  b.  in  1809;  Hannah,  b.  in  1811 ; 
William  P.,  b.  in  1813;  Allen,  b.  in  1815;  Roxana,  b.  in  1818;  all 
of  them  b.  in  Weare,  N.  H. 

Eliphalet  and  Allen  were  the  only  ones  that  lived  in  Jericho, 
Vt.  Their  father  and  mother  d.  when  they  were  but  children. 
They  came  to  Vermont  while  they  were  young  and  lived  with 
their  uncle,  Robert  Balch,  at  Fair  Haven,  for  a  few  years.  This 
Robert  Balch  was  b.  in  1772,  and  d.  at  Jericho  in  1842.  He  m. 
Nabby  Cram,  of  Weare,  N.  H.  They  had  no  children.  She  d.  at 
Jericho  in  1842.  They  came  to  Jericho  from  Fair  Haven,  Vt.  and 
purchased  and  lived  on  the  farm  near  Jericho  village,  now  owned 
by  William  V.  N.  Ring. 

Allen  Balch  lived  with  him  until  his  uncle's  death.  Allen 
succeeded  to  the  ownership  of  the  farm  and  lived  thereon  till  his 
death  in  1878;  he  m.  Sarah  S.  Styles,  b.  in  1823.  She  d.  in  1855. 
They  had  one  child,  John,  who  m.  Addie, ,  the  daughter  of 
Hiram  B.  and  Ella  Fish  of  Jericho.  Allen  Balch  was  a  good 
farmer,  held  the  office  of  selectman  for  several  years,  and  was  a 
man  of  a  friendly  disposition;  he  m.  2  Julia  Case  of  Essex. 


Eliphalet  m.  Lucretia  Barker  in  1831.  They  came  to  Jericho 
about  1835  and  purchased  a  large  farm  where  he  lived  till  his 
death  in  1873.  She  was  b.  in  1812 ;  and  d.  in  1890.  They  had  nine 
children :  Henry,  b.  in  1834 ;  Helen,  b.  in  1836 ;  George,  b.  in.l838 ; 
Barker,  b.  in  1840;  Olive,  b.  in  1842;  Noah,  b.  in  1844;  Anna  E. 
b.  in  1846;  Fayette,  b.  in  1848;  Effie  J.,  b.  in  1850.  Henry, 
George,  Olive,  Noah  and  Anna  E.  d  in  1853,  of  scarlet  fever, 
within  the  space  of  ten  days. 

Helen  m.  Julius  Bliss  in  1859  and  has  four  children :  Anna 
E.,  Elmer  D.,  Ida  and  Jesse.  They  live  in  Morristown,  Vt.  The 
father  d.  in  1914  and  is  buried  at  Jericho.  Barker  m.  Jennie  A. 
Whitcomb  in  1868  and  lives  in  Burlington.  They  have  three  chil- 
dren :  Frank,  Charles  and  Mabel.  Fayette  m.  Mary  Osgood  in 
1874.  They  have  no  children.  He  purchased  his  father's  farm 
and  occupied  the  same  till  his  death  in  1886.  Efifie  J.  m.  Dennis 
E.  Rood  in  1875.  They  have  three  children :  Maud,  Madge  and 
Helen.  Maud  m.  H.  D.  Costello  in  1901.  No  children.  They 
live  in  Milton.    Madge  is  not  m. 

Helen  m.  M.  H.  Whitney  in  1904.  He  d.  in  1912.  They 
had  three  children.  Two  of  them  d.  Barbara  living,  was  b. 
in  1908. 

Dennis  E.  Rood  has  always  lived  in  Jericho  and  followed  in 
the  business  of  his  father  as  a  harness  maker.  He  has  been  an 
active  man  in  town,  held  the  office  of  Justice  of  the  Peace  for 
many  years,  and  represented  the  town  in  the  Legislature  in  the 
years  of  1886  and  1887.  He  has  been  a  long-time  member  of 
the  Baptist  Church  of  Jericho. 


By  S.  H.  Barnum. 

Orange  G.  Ballard  never  lived  in  Jericho,  but  his  widow  and 
most  of  the  children  have  been  residents.  Orange  G.  was  b.  in 
Milton  in  1845.  His  father  was  John  and  his  mother  d.  when  the 
boy  was  young.  Orange  m.  Sept.  2,  1866,  Betsey  A.  Caswell, 
dau.  of  Lucius  and  Mary  Ann  (Hewey)  Caswell,  both  of  Milton. 
Betsey  A.  was  b.  Sept.  9,  1848.    The  children  were : 


(1)  George  L.,  b.  Apr.  30,  1868,  m.  Mina  O'Connell  in 
1899.  They  live  in  Underliill  and  were  previously  at  Loon  Lake, 
N.  Y..    He  is  a  farmer. 

(2)  Charles  O.,  b.  May  22,  1872,  d.  May  5,  1910. 

(3)  John  S.,  b.  Dec.  22,  1874,  m.  Nettie  Monson  Dec.  22, 
1896.  A  dau.,  Ethel,  b.  1897.  They  live  in  Westford  and  he  is  a 
painter  by  trade. 

(4)  Bert  E.,  b.  July  1,  1876,  m.  Mabel  Myette.  Two  chil- 
dren :  George  Edward,  b.  Jan.  1,  1912,  and  Ramona,  b.  1914.  They 
live  in  Rutland  and  he  is  in  the  painting  business. 

(5)  Irving,  b.  April  16,  1878,  m.  Mrs.  Anna  Walston, 
widow  of  W.  W.  Walston,  in  1909.  Her  children  are:  Juna,  b. 
1896;  Howard,  b.  1898;  Raymond,  b.  1900  and  Abbie,  b.  1906. 
Irving  lives  at  the  Center  and  he  also  is  a  painter. 

(6)  Marvin,  b.  March  23,  1881,  d.  1889. 

(7)  Henry  R.,  b.  July  26,  1883,  m.  Alice  Leonard  in  1902. 
A  dau.,  Mabel,  b.  1903.  They  have  been  Hving  at  Block  Island, 
R.  I.,  but  for  the  winter  of  1915  are  in  Syracuse.  N.  Y. 

Orange  Ballard  served  in  the  Civil  War,  being  enrolled  in  Co. 
A,  17th  Regiment  Vermont  Volunteers,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged July  14,  1885.  He  died  in  1895  and  the  next  year  his 
widow  moved  to  Jericho  Center.  Irving  has  been  in  town  still 


By  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Edgar  Elbert  Lee  Barber  was  b.  in  East  Bolton,  Vt.,  Aug. 
28,  1847.  He  was  the  son  of  Gideon  and  Arrintha  (Pierce)  Bar- 
ber. The  said  Gideon  and  Arrintha  had  eleven  children,  viz.: 
Maryett,  Martin  Gideon,  Lucy  Ann,  Palmyra,  Elbert  Lee,  Solo- 
mon Pierce,  Cynthia,  Cornelius,  Cornelia,  Amelia  and  Edgar  El- 
bert Lee.  And  Solomon  Pierce  is  the  only  surviving  member  of 
this  large  family,  and  he  is  82  years  old  and  lives  in  Wis. 

Edgar  Elbert  Lee  is  the  only  one  of  that  family  that  ever 
lived  in  Jericho.  He  enlisted  as  a  soldier  in  the  War  of  the  Re- 
bellion of  1861  and  served  in  Co.  I  Sixth  Vt.  Vols.,  and  was 
wounded  in  his  right  wrist  in  the  Battle  of  the  Wilderness.  He 
m.  Ada  Polly  Fay  of  Richmond,  Aug.  23,  1868.     She  was  b.  at 


Fay's  Corners  in  Richmond,  Mar.  23,  1847  and  was  the  dau.  of 
Nathan  Murray  Fay  and  Beulah  (Thompson)  Fay,  descendant 
of  the  Fays  of  Revolutionary  and  Green  Mountain  fame.  Soon 
after  their  m.  they  purchased  the  farm  that  Azariah  Rood  settled 
upon  in  1774  when  he  came  to  Jericho  as  a  pioneer,  which  farm 
has  been  known  for  many  years  as  the  "Edgar  Barber  farm." 
The  said  Edgar  Elbert  Lee  and  Ada  Polly  Barber  made  this 
farm  their  home  as  long  as  they  lived.  For  more  than  25  years 
they  conducted  a  summer  boarding  house  on  this  farm  and  met 
with  great  success  in  the  entertainment  of  guests  who  were  drawn 
thither  by  the  wide  reputation  that  the  house  had  acquired  as  a 
delightful  resort. 

They  had  two  children,  viz. :  1st  Agnes  L.,  b.  May  3,  1871  in 
Jericho  on  this  farm.  She  m.  Aug.  23,  1893  Edward  Asa  Rhoades 
who  was  b.  in  Richmond,  Sept.  9,  1861  and  was  the  son  of  Cor- 
nelius P.  Rhoades,  who  was  a  direct  descendant  of  one  of  the 
first  settlers  of  Richmond. 

2nd  Adelbert  F.,  was  b.  on  said  farm  Oct.  30,  1873,  and  d. 
Feb.  18,  1908,  at  Brooklyn,  N.  Y.  Edgar  E.  L.  Barber,  d.  Dec. 
15,  1909.  Mrs.  Barber  d.  Aug.  20,  1913.  (See  chapter  on  a 
Ramble  About  Town). 


By  S.  H.  Bamum. 

Soon  after  the  Civil  War  Sidney  J.  Barber  came  from  Rich- 
mond to  Jericho.  He  was  a  son  of  Denslow  and  Ida  Pitts  Barber 
and  was  b.  in  Richmond  in  1843.  In  1868  he  m.  Ellen  Robinson 
who  was  b.  in  Jericho,  Jan.  13,  1851,  and  lived  with  her  grand- 
parents, Mr.  and  Mrs.  Isaac  Robinson.  There  were  b.  to  them 
six  children : 

1.  Lula  M.,  b.  Dec.  11,  1868,  now  at  home. 

2.  Eugene  F.,  b.  Mar.  25,  1871,  d.  July  23,  1892. 

3.  Leroy  E.,  b.  Feb.  6,  1873,  m.  Agnes  Wilder  in  1894. 
Two  children:  Eugenia,  b.  1896  and  Ethel,  b.  1901.  Agnes  d. 
Sept.  29,  1902.    Leroy  is  employed  on  the  C.  V.  R.  R.. 

4.  Sidney  J.,  Jr.,  b.  April  21,  1875,  d.  Mar.  18,  1905. 


5.  Lilla  M.,  b.  Feb.  15,  1878,  m.  Charles  R.  Bicknell,  Aug. 
31,  1895.  One  son,  Elmer  F.,  b.  in  1897.  Lilla  d.  in  1900  and 
Charles  in  1907. 

6.  E.  Harley,  b.  April  26,  1879. 

Sidney  served  in  the  Civil  War,  being  enrolled  in  Co.  K,  5th 
Reg.  Vt.  Vols.,  and  was  discharged  June  29,  1865. 

By  T.  B.  and  Chas.  T.  Barney. 

Captain  Thomas  Barney  was  b.  in  Salisbury,  Conn.,  in  1745, 
and  came  to  Manchester,  Vt.,  when  he  was  about  25  years  old. 
About  the  time  that  Joseph  Brown  and  family  settled  in  Jericho 
and  Gov.  Thomas  Chittenden  in  Williston,  he  also  came  to  Wil- 
liston.  He  married  Governor  Chittenden's  daughter,  Mabel,  and 
they  had  twelve  children:  William,  Chloe,  Mary,  Sarah,  Tru- 
man, Mabel,  Ira,  Heman,  Martin,  Abigail,  Nancy  and  Matthew, 
who  all  grew  up  and  m.,  except  Mary,  who  died  young.  Cap- 
tain Barney's  home  was  at  Williston  until  1820,  when  he  came 
to  live  with  his  son,  Truman,  at  Jericho  Corners,  where  he  d. 
Sept.  13,  1828,  and  his  wife,  Nov.  7,  1838.  The  accounts  of  his 
heroic  deeds,  related  by  his  children,  establish,  that  he  was  a  brave 
man  and  a  good  citizen.  During  the  Revolutionary  War  Cap- 
tain Barney  commanded  a  company  of  minute  men,  and  was  ac- 
tive and  aggressive  in  protecting  the  early  settlers  from  Indians, 
Tories  and  British  soldiers,  in  that  critical  period  of  the  history 
of  Vermont,  and  in  establishing  the  government  and  independence 
of  that  Commonwealth. 

Truman  Barney,  son  of  Thomas  Barney,  m.  Hannah  Bent- 
ley.  He  purchased  a  farm  at  No.  Underbill.  While  he  was  clear- 
ing his  farm  and  building  a  house,  they  lived  in  a  log  school 
house;  and  in  this  school  house  their  first  child  was  b.,  Oct. 
18,  1797.  They  had  ten  children :  Lucius  S.,  Horatio  B.,  Martin 
C,  Truman,  Harriet,  Efifigenia,  Matthew  L.,  Ira,  Albert  and 
Solomon.  All  except  Truman,  who  d.  young,  m.  and  lived  to 
a  good  old  age;  and  all  these  left  children,  except  Ira  and  Solo- 
mon. Truman  lived  in  Underbill  only  one  year;  then  returned 
to  Williston  for  six  years,  when  he  bought  the  saw  mill,  water 
privileges  and  two  hundred  acres  of  land,  at  what  is  now  Jericho 


Corners,  and  this  was  his  home  until  his  death,  January  6,  1857. 
All  who  knew  him  attest  that  he  was  a  very  active  and  capable 
business  man,  and  that  he  and  his  family  had  much  to  do  in  de- 
veloping the  town  of  Jericho.  They  built  dwelling  houses,  stores, 
a  hotel,  mills  and  factories;  and,  for  many  years,  carried  on  all 
kinds  of  business,  at  Jericho  Corners.  Horatio  Barney  and  his 
son,  Edgar,  had  a  factory  for  carding  wool  and  manufacturing 
cloth,  at  a  point  on  Lee  River,  about  half  way  between  Jericho 
Corners  and  Jericho  Center.  Lucius  S.,  Horatio  B.,  Matthew  L. 
and  Solomon  carried  on  the  same  business  at  the  Corners  for 
many  years.  Albert  had  a  starch  factory  where  the  stone  grist 
mill  now  stands,  and  also  kept  a  general  store;  and  Lucius  S., 
Martin  C,  Albert  and  Solomon  were  landlords  at  the  hotel,  for 
more  than  half  a  century.  Edgar  Barney  also  built  and  ran  a 
sawmill,  on  Lee  River ;  and  Henry  Oakes,  who  m.  Effigenia  Bar- 
ney, kept  a  general  store,  near  the  Jericho  and  Underbill  town 

Lucius  S.  Barney  twice  represented  Jericho  in  the  Legisla- 
ture. He  m.  Tryphena  Brown,  daughter  of  one  of  Jericho's 
first  settlers,  Joseph  Brown,  Jr.,  and  they  had  one  son,  Truman 
Brown  Barney.  He  finally  sold  the  various  kinds  of  business 
which  he  had  carried  on  at  the  Comers,  and  bought  a  farm  on 
Church  Street,  near  where  the  Browns  first  settled,  where  he 
lived  until  his  death,  Sept.  IS,  1889,  at  the  age  of  92  years. 

Truman  B.  Barney  was  b.  on  this  farm,  Nov.  30,  1833,  and 
lived  there  until  1900.  As  a  young  man,  he  was  a  successful 
teacher  for  six  years,  and  m.  and  took  charge  of  the  farm.  Be- 
sides the  usual  agricultural  work,  he  opened  up  two  large  sugar 
orchards,  installing  modern  appliances  for  the  manufacture  of 
maple  sugar  and  syrup,  first  upon  his  own  farm,  and  later 
throughout  many  of  the  counties  of  the  State,  as  General  Agent 
of  the  Vermont  Farm  Machine  Company;  and,  for  17  years, 
bought  large  quantities  of  sugar  and  syrup,  for  the  wholesale  and 
retail  trade ;  thereby  greatly  increasing  the  production  and  raising 
the  standard,  as  to  price  and  quality,  in  this  important  industry. 
As  a  surveyor  and  civil  engineer,  he  was  actively  engaged  in 
surveying  for  more  than  fifty  years,  and  was  called  to  all  parts 
of  the  state,  especially  in  connection  with  the  important  land 
litigation  of  recent  years.  In  1908,  upon  his  75th  birthday,  he  went 


to  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  since  lived  with  his  son.  At  the  age 
of  80  years,  he  is  as  well  and  active  as  many  men  twenty  years 
younger,  and  was  called  to  Vermont  in  1910,  and  spent  the  entire 
summer  in  making  surveys,  plans  and  in  giving  testimony  in  an 
important  land  case,  then  pending  in  Washington  County  Court. 
Truman  B.  Barney  and  Ellen  E.  Byington,  daughter  of  Hon. 
Stephen  Byington,  of  Hinesburg,  were  m.  Feb.  26,  1856.  They 
had  two  children :  Charles  Truman  and  Elizabeth  H.  Barney. 

Ellen  Byington  Barney  was  an  ideal  New  England  woman, 
wife  and  ihother.  Endowed  with  an  exceptionally  bright  mind, 
cultured,  pleasing  in  manner  and  appearance,  during  her  life  of 
more  than  "three  score  years  and  ten,"  she  developed  a  magnifi- 
cent Christian  character,  blessing  all,  but  especially  dear  to  her 
husband  and  children;  and,  having  celebrated  her  golden  wed- 
ding a  few  months  before,  she  "obtained  an  abundant  entrance" 
to  the  realm  of  eternal  rest. 

Elizabeth  H.  Barney  taught  in  the  schools  of  Chittenden 
county  seven  years,  and  d.  at  the  early  age  of  24  years  at  her 
father's  home  in  Jericho,  Nov.  30,  1886,  loved  and  mourned  by 
all  who  knew  her. 

Charles  T.  Barney  was  b.  in  Jericho,  January  12,  1859;  re- 
ceived his  early  education  in  the  public  schools ;  taught  in  them 
several  terms;  and,  while  teaching,  studied  law  in  the  office  of 
Hon.  L.  F.  Wilbur,  at  Jericho ;  then  took  the  law  course  of  Union 
University,  receiving  his  degree  of  LL.  B.  at  Albany,  N.  Y.,  in 
1883 ;  the  same  year  he  was  admitted  to  the  Vermont  Bar  and  to 
the  New  York  bar,  and  began  the  practice  of  law  at  Hoosick 
Falls,  N.  Y.,  where  he  was  City  Attorney  two  terms.  In  1886, 
he  resigned,  to  become  General  Attorney  for  the  U.  S.  Wind 
Engine  &  Pump  Co.,  a  manufacturing  corporation,  having  its 
large  plant  in  one  of  the  suburbs  of  Chicago,  Illinois,  with 
branch  houses,  agencies,  and  business  throughout  the  civilized 
world.  After  serving  five  years,  he  resigned,  to  take  a  similar 
position  with  the  McCormick  Harvesting  Machine  Company. 
Residing  at  Dallas,  Texas,  he  had  charge  of  its  extensive  business 
in  Texas,  Louisiana,  Indian  Territory,  New  Mexico  and  Okla- 
homa. While  living  in  Texas,  he  m.  Belle  McCormick,  daughter 
of  U.  S.  Circuit  Judge  A.  P.  McCormick.  They  have  two  daugh- 
ters, Louise  Elizabeth  and  Ellen  Belle  Barney.  He  returned  to 


Vermont  in  1894,  and  engaged  in  the  general  practice  of  law 
at  Burlington.  The  Reports  of  the  Decisions  of  the  Vermont 
Supreme  Court  record  many  of  the  important  civil  and  criminal 
cases  in  which  he  was  counsel.  As  soon  after  the  death  of  his 
mother  as  he  could  arrange  his  business  interests  to  leave  Ver- 
mont, he  carried  out  the  purpose,  which  he  had  cherished  for 
many  years,  to  return  to  the  activity  of  the  great  Southwest,  and 
located  in  the  city  of  Ada,  the  County  Seat  of  Pontotoc  County, 
Oklahoma,  in  the  spring  of  1908,  shortly  after  Statehood  came  to 
Oklahoma.  Since  that  date,  as  a  lawyer,  banker  and  progressive 
citizen,  he  has  been  fully  identified  with  the  rapid  development 
of  that  progressive  young  city,  county  and  state. 

Matthew  Barney,  son  of  Capt.  Thomas  Barney,  m.  Sophia 
Adams,  and  lived  and  d.  in  New  York.  His  widow  and  children 
afterwards  came  to  live  at  Jericho  Comers.  All  are  now  dead 
except  his  son  and  daughter,  Rodney  and  Ann  Barney.  For  many 
years  Rodney  Barney  was  actively  connected  with  the  mills  at 

Of  the  large  Barney  family,  b.  and  raised  in  Jericho,  and 
closely  identified  with  its  progress,  Rodney  and  Anna  Barney  are 
the  only  survivors,  who  bear  the  Barney  name  and  now  live  at 

Martin  C.  Barney,  above  mentioned,  d.  in  1886  at  the  age 
of  84  years  and  is  buried  in  the  cemetery  at  Jericho.  He  was  a 
genial  landlord  and  kept  the  hotel  at  Jericho  for  many  years,  whose 
burning  in  1904  removed  a  prominent  landmark  from  Jericho 
village.  He  m.  Anna  Maria  Young.  She  was  a  woman  of  great 
executive  ability  that  made  it  possible  to  run  their  hotel  with 
success.  She  d.  in  1873  at  the  age  of  67  years.  They  had 
two  children:  (1)  Cornelia  B.,  who  m.  Julius  Ransom,  and  had 
two  children,  Albert  and  Charles;  and  (2)  Beulah  S.,  who  m. 
Henry  J.  Parker  and  had  one  son,  Ned. 

Matthew  Barney  was  b.  in  1789  and  d.  in  1837,  and  his  wife, 
Sophia  Adams,  b.  1796,  d.  1866. 

Matthew  L.  Barney,  the  son  of  Truman,  was  b.  in  1810  and  d. 
in  1864,  and  his  wife,  Lucia  Severance,  b.  in  1810,  d.  in  1882. 

Lucia  Ann,  their  daughter  m. Smith  and  they  had  one  soij. 

Matt.  B.,  b.  1863,  and  d.  1901. 


Albert  Barney,  the  son  of  Truman,  was  b.  in  1815  and  d. 
in  1886.  He  m.  Ellen,  daughter  of  David  Hutchinson  of  Jericho. 
They  had  one  child,  Lucia,  who  m. Downing. 

Martin  T.  Barney,  the  son  of  Matthew  Barney  and  brother 
of  Rodney  Barney,  was  b.  in  1824  and  d.  in  1865.  He  m. 
Minerva  Butler,  who  d.  in  1889  at  the  age  of  63  years.  They  had 
no  children. 

The  said  Rodney  was  b.  in  1833  and  his  sister,  Jane  Ann, 
was  b.  in  1836.  They  had  a  sister,  Mabel  Barney,  who  m.  Smith 
B.  Hatch.  She  was  b.  1820,  and  d.  1867 ;  he  was  b.  1804  and  d. 

Truman  B.,  d.  at  Ada,  Okl.,  June  21,  1915,  and  was  buried 
at  Jericho. 

By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Samuel  Horace  Barnum,  was  b.  April  7, 1852  at  West  Spring- 
field, Mass.,  being  a  son  of  Rev.  Samuel  W.  and  Charlotte  (Betts) 
Barnum.  His  father  was  a  Congregational  minister  and  author, 
and  a  graduate  of  Yale,  in  the  class  of  1841. 

Samuel  Horace  Barnum  was  educated  in  New  Haven,  Conn., 
graduating  at  Yale  in  1875  and  from  Yale  Theological  Seminary 
in  1879.  He  was  ordained  to  the  Christian  (Congregational) 
Ministry,  April  25,  1883.  He  has  been  pastor  at  Salisbury  and 
Durham,  N.  H.,  and  at  Cornwall  and  Jericho  Center,  Vt. 

Mr.  Barnum  hi.  July  13,  1882,  Miss  S.  Pauline  Little,  dau. 
of  Dea.  Thos.  D.  and  Susan  Smith  Little  of  Salisbury,  N.  H.,  a 
graduate  of  New  Hampton  Institute  in  1877. 

To  them  have  been  b.  six  children :  Charles  G.,  b.  at  Durham, 
N.  H.,  Aug.  2,  1883,  graduated  at  Middlebury  College  1905  and 
Yale  Medical  1911,  and  is  now  practicing  medicine  in  Groton, 

Walter  L.,  b.  Durham,  N.  H.,  Oct.  1,  1885,  graduated  at 
Middlebury  College  in  1907.  Has  taught  in  Randolph,  Vt.,  Con- 
cord, N,  H.,  Chicago  and  Evanston,  111.,  where  he  is  holding  a 
position  in  the  high  school.  He  m.  June  30,  1914,  Miss  Florence 
D.  Webster  of  Waltham,  Mass.,  a  teacher  in  Chicago.  They  have 
a  dau.,  Marion. 


Alice  W.,  b.  in  Durham,  N.  H.,  Nov.  24,  1888,  graduated  at 
Middlebury  College  in  1912.  She  has  taught  in  the  high  school 
in  Stowe,  Vt.,  and  is  now  for  the  third  year  the  principal  of  Shel- 
don High  School. 

Gertrude  E.,  b.  at  Cornwall,  Vt.,  Dec.  23,  1890,  studied  at 
Mount  Holyoke  College  two  years,  and  was  in  her  second  year 
at  Teachers'  College,  N.  Y.,  when  she  d.,  Feb.  17,  1914. 

Clara  P.,  b.  at  Cornwall,  Vt.,  Nov.  13,  1894,  and  is  taking  a 
course  in  Middlebury  College. 

Horace  L.,  b.  at  Cornwall,  Vt.,  Sept.  2,  1903,  and  is  attending 
grammar  school  at  Jericho  Center. 


By  S.  H.  Barnum. 

Michael  and  Elizabeth  (Breen)  Barrett  came  from  Ireland; 
m.  and  lived  in  Underbill.    Their  children  were : 

(1)  John,  who  lived  in  Underbill  and  d.  a  few  years  ago. 

(2)  Lizzie,  who  m.  Moses  Leary.  They  lived  in  town  four 
or  five  years  after  their  marriage.  Moses  has  d.  and  she  has  re- 
sided here  the  last  three  years.    Their  children  were : 

(a)  Michael,  b.  in  Underbill,  m.  Mary  O'Grady  of  Willis- 
ton.  They  now  live  in  Jericho  and  have 'two  children:  James  and 

(b)  Moses,  b.  in  Jericho  1886  and  lives  in  Burlington. 

(c)  Bessie,  b.  in  Jericho  1888  and  lives  with  Michael. 

(3)  Luke,  lives  in  Shelburne. 

(4)  Michael,  d.  1915  in  Burlington. 

(5)  Mary,  wife  of  James  Fitzsimonds  of  Underbill. 

(6)  Patrick  L.,  b.  1867  in  Underbill,  m.  1894  Mary  Matti- 
more,  dau.  of  Barney  B.  and  Mary  (Eagan)  Mattimore.  She 
was  b.  1873.    The  children  of  Patrick  and  Mary  have  been : 

(a)  Loretta,  b.  1895. 

(b)  Coletta,  b.  1896.     Is  in  U.  V.  M. 

(c)  Marcelline,  b.  1898  and  d.  the  same  year. 

(d)  Izetta,  b.  1900. 

(e)  Euretta,  b.  1903. 

Patrick  L.  came  to  town     in  1894  and  has  been  a  school 
teacher  and  farmer. 


Barney  B.  Mattimore's  father,  Patrick,  came  from  Ireland 
to  Vermont.  Barney  B.  was  b.  in  Grand  Isle  1835,  and  in  1865 
m.  Mary  Eagan,  who  came  from  Ireland  in  1845  at  four  years 
of  age.  They  came  to  Jericho  in  1881  and  lived  here  27  years, 
moving  to  Underbill  in  1908  and  thence  to  Essex.  Their  chil- 
dren have  been: 

(a)  Charles,  b.  1866,  d.  1875. 

(b)  Mary,  b.  1873,  m.  Patrick  L.  Barrett.    (See  above). 

(c)  Nora,  b.  1875  and  d.  in  infancy. 

(d)  Augustine  and  Augusta,  twins,  b.  1878,  the  former  now 
in  N.  Y.,  the  latter  in  Essex. 

(e)  Bernadette,  b.  1884  and  lives  in  Essex. 

Barney  B.  Mattimore  had  a  brother  James,  who  m.  Ellen 
Howley  and  their  son,  Barney,  b.  1878  at  Milton,  has  lived  in 
town  most  of  his  life. 

By  Sophia  B.  Harmon  and  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Billy  Bartlett  was  b.  1769  and  d.  1809.  About  1794  he,  his 
wife  Salina  Blatchley,  Capt.  Ben  Bartlett,  Eben  Bartlett,  Mind- 
well  Bartlett,  wife  of  Moses  Billings,  and  the  latter  came  from 
Guilford,  Conn.,  or  thereabouts,  and  took  up  land  in  Jericho. 

Billy  Bartlett  and  his  wife  Salina  Blatchley  were  m.  in  that, 
same  year  in  Connecticut,  and  to  them  were  b.  the  following 
children,  viz. :  Elias,  b.  Feb.  5,  1795,  d.  July  27,  1865 ;  Joel  B., 
b.  Oct.  13,  1796;  d.  1819;  Maria,  b.  June  10,  1799,  d.  Oct.  26, 

1853;  Martin,  b.  August  19,  1801,  d.  ;  Ann,  b.  Feb.  28, 

1804,  d.  1807;  Mindwell,  b.  April  6, 1805,  d.  1807;  Mindwell  Ann, 
b.  Dec.  26,  1808,  d.  . 

Elias  Bartlett  m.  March  14,  1822,  Eliza  Wheelock,  who  was 
b.  in  Williamstown,  Mass.,  April  22,  1801,  and  d.  Nov.  9,  1860. 
To  them  were  b.  five  children,  viz. :  Lucinda,  b.  Dec.  3,  1822, 
d.  Nov.  12,  1884;  Joel  Blatchley,  b.  June  15,  1824,  d.  1914  at 
Shelburne ;  Betsy  Maria,  b.  Jaii.  12,  1826,  d.  Jan.  30,  1847 ;  Homer 
Lyman,  b.  Oct.  17,  1830,  d.  1905;  Edwin  Wilcox,  b.  Dec.  10, 
1839,  d.  Sept.  11,  1913.     (See  Physicians). 

Elias  Bartlett  was  a  man  who  took  a  watchful  interest 
in  the  Congregational  Church  at  the  Center  and  his  religious 


views  were  strictly  orthodox.  Rev.  Edwin  Wheelock  preached 
there  one  Sabbath  in  exchange  and  Bartlett  thought  the  sermon 
was  tinctured  with  too  Hberal  ideas.  He  met  Mr.  Wheelock 
the  next  day  and  said  to  him,  "You  have  come  down  here 
and  preached  a  Universalist  sermon,  and  I  want  you  to  come 
down  again  and  preach  an  antidote  to  it."  He  was  a  man  well 
read  and  of  a  strong  mind  and  an  excellent  citizen.  He  was 
town  clerk  of  the  town  of  Jericho  three  years. 

Martin  Bartlett,  the  brother  of  Elias  Bartlett,  m.  Nancy 
Lee.  They  had  no  children  and  after  her  death  he  m.  2  Mrs. 
Lucy  (Barber)  Bingham.  He  was  a  man  of  good  ability  and 
did  quite  an  extensive  business  in  surveying  land  in  Jericho 
and  the  neighboring  towns.  He  was  an  able  farmer  and  lived 
in  the  northern  part  of  the  village  at  Jericho  Center. 

Lucinda  Bartlett  m.  Edgar  A.  Barney  in  1843  and  they 
had  seven  children,  viz. :  Albert,  George,  Bessie,  Homer,  Annis, 
Clara,  and  Charles. 

Joel  Blatchley  Bartlett  m.  Asenath  Taylor  in  1854,  and 
they  had  a  daughter,  Sophia  Asenath,  b.  in  1855  who  m.  Frank 
Harmon  of  Shelbume  in  June,  1882. 

Betsey  Maria  Bartlett  m.  Jesse  Thompson  in  1844  and  to 
them  was  b.  Annie  Eliza  in  1845. 

Homer  Lyman  Bartlett  m.  Maggie  S.  Scott  in  1859  and 
to  them  were  b.  five  children,  viz. :  Harry,  Eliza,  James,  Fred- 
erick and  Kate. 

Edwin  Wilcox  Bartlett  m.  Helen  F.  Ball  in  1874  and  to 
them  were  b.  five  children,  viz. :  Eliza,  Mabel,  Edwin,  Ferdinand 
and  Walter. 

Captain  Ben  Bartlett  m.  and  his  children  were  Eben, 
Amanda,  who  m.  Eli  Peck,  Delana,  who  m.  John  Chambers, 
Chloe,  who  m.  Joseph  Hatch,  and  Christiana,  who  m.  William 
Rouse.     (See  Hatch  Family). 

Eben  m.  Polly  Woodworth  and  they  had  several  children, 
William,  Samuel  and  a  daughter,  who  m.  Zenas  Nash,  are 

remembered.   William  m.  Mahala ,  and  their  oldest 

daughter,  Catherine  m.  Charles  Leclair,  their  2nd  daughter, 

Delia  m. ,  and  their  3rd  daughter  m. 

Edwin  Tracy. 



By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Carroll  Lynn  Bartlett,  son  of  Earl  and  Brush  Bartlett,  was 
b.  in  Cambridge,  Vt.,  Jan.  3,  1876.  He  was  m.  Nov.  6,  1901  to 
Clara  Ann  Burns,  dau.  of  Royce  D.  and  Edna  L.  Burns.  She 
was  b.  in  Westford,  Vt.,  Sept.  12,  1883.  Their  children  are  Edna 
Maria  b.  Sept.  16,  1905,  and  Earl  Royce,  b.  April  6,  1909.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Bartlett  purchased  the  Edward  Whitcomb  farm  Nov.  3, 
1910,  which  they  still  own. 

By  Mary  B.  W.  Day. 

Josiah  Bass  and  Harriet  Newell  Bass  Whitcomb  came  to 
Jericho  in  1842.  They  trace  their  ancestry  to  Samuel  Bass,  who 
emigrated  from  England  and  settled  in  Roxbury,  Mass.,  about 
1630,  being  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Massachusetts  Colony; 
about  1640  he  moved  to  Braintree,  (now  Quincy)  Mass.,  was 
there  chosen  the  first  deacon  of  the  church,  which  office  he  held 
for  about  50  years.  In  1641  and  subsequently,  he  represented  the 
town  in  the  state  legislature  twelve  years.  Dea.  Bass  had  a 
strong  and  vigorous  mind,  and  was  one  of  the  leading  men  in 
town  for  many  years.  He  d.  Jan.  10,  1695,  aged  94;  his  wife, 
Anna,  d.  Sept.  16,  1693,  aged  93. 

John,  son  of  Samuel,  b.  about  1632,  m.  Dec.  14,  1657, 
Ruth,  dau.  of  John  Alden  of  Duxbury,  Mass.,  who  came  over 
in  the  Mayflower,  d.  Sept.  23,  1716.  From  his  two  eldest 
sons,  John  and  Samuel,  sprang  the  different  families  of  Bass 
that  have  lived  in  Vermont.  From  the  time  of  the  first  Samuel 
Bass,  1640,  until  nearly  the  present,  there  has  been  a  Samuel  in 
direct  line  of  descent. 

Note.— John  and  Ruth  (Alden)  Bass  had  seven  children 
whose  posterity  in  part  it  may  be  interesting  to  trace:  1,  John, 
Jr.,  is  the  ancestor  of  Samuel  and  Edward  Bass;  2,  Samuel,  of 
Jonathan  Bass;  3,  Ruth;  4,  Joseph  of  the  Right  Rev.  Edward 
Bass,  D.  D.,  who  d.  Sept.  10,  1803 ;  5,  Hannah,  of  John  Adams 
and  John  Quincy  Adams,  two  Presidents  of  the  U.  S. ;  6,  Mary, 


of  Zion  and  Willard  Copeland;  7,  Sarah,  of  Dr.  Samuel  Thayer 
(of  Burlington)  and  Samuel  Belcher. 

The  above  note  and  all  the  earlier  dates  are  taken  from 
the  History  of  the  Town  of  Braintree,  Vt.,  to  which  so  many  of 
the  early  Vermont  settlers  came  from  Massachusetts,  compiled 
34  years  ago  at  their  one  hundredth  anniversary  of  the  town. 

Samuel  Bass,  Jr.,  was  b.  in  Braintree,  Mass.,  Jan.  2,  1777, 
m.  Apr.  29,  1802,  Polly  Belcher,  b.  in  Randolph,  Mass.,  Apr. 
29,  1785,  and  d.  Jan.  2,  1864 ;  he  d.  Nov.  24,  1850.  They  spent 
their  winters  in  Jericho  with  their  children  as  long  as  they 
lived,  and  were  devout  Christians,  not  only  by  precept,  but  by 
example  in  the  old  Puritan  ideas  of  right  living.  Sunday  after- 
noons they  gathered  about  the  grandmother  to  hear  her  tell  in 
her  interesting  way  Bible  stories. 

Their  children  were  Samuel  3d,  b.  Dec.  15,  1805,  m.  Mar- 
garet Parker  Oct.  17,  1862 ;  children  of  this  marriage,  Samuel  4th 
and  Joseph  Parker.  When  their  mother  d.  she  left  the  two  little 
boys.  Joseph  P.  spent  much  time  with  his  relatives  in  Jericho 
until  he  went  into  business  in  Lowell,  Mass.,  and  after  that 
his  vacations  were  generally  spent  in  sight  of  old  Mansfield.  Since 
his  marriage  to  Mary  March  of  Bangor,  Maine,  his  home  has 
been  in  that  city.  He  has  for  many  years  been  the  owner  of 
the  Bangor  Whig,  and  more  than  once  mayor  of  the  city.  Once 
when  he  was  mayor,  he  being  a  staunch  Democrat,  turned  a  polit- 
ical trick  upon  the  Republican  party,  which  was  told  all  over 
the  country.  It  was  a  turn  you  would  hardly  expect  from  a 
Jericho  boy,  but  it  shows  that  a  Jericho  boy,  if  he  has  sufficient 
self-respect,  need  not  be  ignored.  The  Republican  Club  had  in- 
vited President  Grant  to  come  to  Bangor,  visit  their  club,  and 
make  a  speech,  and  a  great  feast  was  prepared,  but  a  mistake 
was  made  in  ignoring  the  mayor,  since  he  was  a  Democrat,  but 
which  the  mayor  did  not  consider  a  respectful  way  for  a  city 
to  treat  their  chosen  official.  The  great  day  dawned  beautiful 
and  bright,  and  a  row  of  carriages  was  waiting  at  the  sta- 
tion to  escort  the  great  hero  of  the  Civil  War  and  now  Presi- 
dent. At  the  order  of  the  mayor  a  cordon  of  police  was  drawn 
up  at  the  station  which  no  one  but  the  mayor  was  allowed  to 
brecik  through.  When  the  train  stopped  Grant  was  seen  to 
step  out  and  great  cheering  went  up,  but  instead  of  escorting 


the  General  and  President  into  the  waiting  arms  of  the  Repub- 
lican party,  he  was  escorted  to  the  waiting  barouche  of  the 
Mayor  and  immediately  driven  off  with  Mr.  Bass's  personal 
friends  following  in  carriages.  They  drove  until  time  for  din- 
ner, when  instead  of  going  to  the  Republican  Club,  a  sumptu- 
ous feast  was  in  readiness  at  the  home  of  the  Jericho  boy, 
and  speech  making  and  jollity  were  the  order  of  the  day  until 
train  time.  The  great  man  was  then  hurried  just  in  time  into  the 
station  to  take  his  train.  That  is  how  J.  P.  Bass,  a  once  Jericho 
boy,  stole  the  President.  But  Bangor  long  since  forgave  him, 
and  he  has  lately  given  a  beautiful  park  to  the  city,  considered 
worth  over  twenty-five  thousand  dollars.  This  story  is  told  to 
inspire  Jericho  boys  to  avoid  a  too  prominent  back  seat. 

Jonathan,  the  2nd  son  of  Samuel,  Jr.,  b.  Dec.  26,  1807, 
spent  the  greater  part  of  his  life  in  Buffalo.  His  two  sons,  Saville 
and  Lyman,  graduated  at  the  head  of  their  class  at  Harvard, 
the  former  1st  and  the  latter  2nd.  The  former  lived  but  a  year 
or  two  after  graduation,  a  victim  of  tuberculosis.  Lyman  K., 
twice  represented  his  district  in  Congress,  and  was  the  senior 
partner  of  the  law  firm  of  Bass  &  Cleveland,  from  which  Presi- 
dent Cleveland  was  chosen. 

Josiah,  b.  in  Brookfield,  Dec.  15,  1818,  m.  Jan.  8,  1841, 
Mary  A.  Whitcomb  and  resided  in  Jericho  from  1842  until 
about  28  years  ago,  when  he  moved  with  his  family  to  Minne- 
apolis, Minn.  They  owned  and  resided  for  about  20  years  on 
what  is  known  as  the  Kingsbury  farm.  Josiah  Bass  was  for 
many  years  deacon  of  the  Congregational  Church.  Their  eldest 
son,  Henry  J.,  left  school  when  only  seventeen  years  of  age, 
and  enlisted  in  the  2d  Vt.  Regiment.  He  was  large  of  his  age 
and  strong,  and  was  a  brave  soldier,  who  in  the  heat  of  battle 
forgot  self  and  caution,  and  recklessly  stood  and  fired  for  two 
or  three  other  soldiers  to  reload  who  were  lying  on  the  ground. 
He  was  warned  about  taking  such  a  terrible  risk,  but  could  not 
be  dissuaded.  He  died  a  victim  of  a  Confederate  sharp  shooter's 
bullet  at  the  Battle  of  the  Wilderness,  and  his  burial  was  with 
the  many  others  who  gave  their  all  as  he  did  in  the  great  Civil 

Hamlet,  the  2nd  son  of  Josiah,  m.  the  daughter  of  one  of 
our  U.  S.  Ambassadors  to  Germany  and  lives  in  Bangor,  Me. 


Clarence,  a  3d  son,  died  of  brain  fever,  a  victim  of  a  bully 
at  school,  when  only  eight  years  of  age.  The  big  boy  thought 
it  smart  and  manly  to  repeatedly  lift  the  little  boy  by  his  hair 
high  into  the  air.  He  lived  only  a  few  days,  and  his  untimely 
death  was  a  terrible  blow  to  his  parents,  and  all  who  knew  the 
amiable  child. 

Osmond,  the  4th  son,  is  an  accomplished  musician  and 
leader  of  boy  choirs  in  Minneapolis.  He  has  studied  abroad  to 
perfect  himself  in  his  profession. 

The  5th  son,  Dr.  Willis  G.,  m.  Nellie,  dau.  of  Arthur  Castle 
of  Jericho.  They  still  live  in  Minneapolis  where  Dr.  Bass  is  a 
practicing  physician. 

Harriet  N.  Bass,  dau.  of  Samuel,  Jr.,  b.  in  Brookfield,  Vt., 
June  8,  1820,  m.  Edward  S.  Whitcomb  of  Jericho.  They  lived 
on  the  farm  bought  in  1844  until  the  time  of  their  death.  They' 
spent  a  few  years  in  California  and  New  York  when  business 
called  them,  but  were  always  glad  to  come  back  to  the  old 
farm,  especially  in  summer  time. 

Harriet  Bass  Whitcomb  was  a  genial  woman  and  loved  to 
repeat  the  stories  her  grandfather  used  to  tell  her  while  sitting 
on  his  knee.  He  was  a  fine  singer  and  told  her  how  Pres.  John 
Adams  used  to  attend  his  classes  at  the  time  he  was  courting  the 
woman  he  afterward  m.  She  was  the  dau.  of  a  minister,  who 
did  not  fully  approve  of  the  young  man,  fearing  he  would  not 
make  a  suitable  living  for  his  dau.,  and  when  he  used  to  come 
courting  his  horse  wasn't  stabled  or  John  feasted  as  the  sister's 
lover  had  been,  and  the  brothers  cut  up  all  manner  of  pranks 
to  dissuade  the  young  lover,  such  as  turning  the  saddle  and 
cutting  the  lines,  etc.  But  the  young  people  were  not  to  be 
thus  discouraged,  and  the  young  barrister  finally  won  out,  and 
the  minister  told  his  Abigail  that  she  could  choose  her  own  text 
for  the  sermon  to  be  pleached  the  Sunday  the  bans  were  pro- 
claimed, and  she  chose  the  following :  Luke  7,  34  and  33 : 
"The  Son  of  man  is  come  eating  and  drinking;  and  ye  say  be- 
hold a  gluttonous  man,  and  a  wine  bibber."  33d:  "John  came 
neither  eating  bread,  or  drinking  wine;  and  ye  say.  He  hath  a 

Abigail  when  she  went  to  Washington  as  the  wife  of  the 
President.  John  Adams,  it  is  said  made  and  took  with  her  her  own 


cider  apple  sauce  and  soft  soap  in  making  which  she  was  very 
proficient.  Let  it  be  borne  in  mind  that  such  things  as  perfumed 
toilet  soaps  and  canned  fruits  and  confections  were  not  for  the 
use  of  even  the  President  of  the  U.  S.  A.  in  those  days. 

She  remembered  her  mother  telling,  that  when  she  was  a 
little  girl,  her  mother  came  home  from  visiting  at  her  Aunt 
Hitty's  and  saying,  "Aunt  Hitty  had  some  potatoes  for  tea, 
roasted  in  the  ashes,  and  they  tasted  very  good."  That  was 
the  first  that  they  had  been  used  for  the  table  according  to  her 
grandmother's  knowledge.  She  remembered  her  mother  telling 
of  picking  barberries  with  other  children  to  be  made  into  candles 
for  the  officers'  camps  in  the  War  of  1812.  Her  practical 
stories  were  many,  which  perhaps  will  interest  the  young  ladies 
of  the  present  day.  A  rich  nobleman  was  looking  for  a  wife,  and 
one  with  a  large  store  of  patience  was  what  he  required  in  who- 
ever he  should  marry,  so  in  order  to  make  sure  of  the  quantity 
and  quality  he  snarled  a  skein  of  silk  into  an  almost  inextricable 
tangle,  and  first  of  all,  asked  the  ladies  he  most  admired  one  after 
another,  as  it  was  given  up  as  hopeless.  Finally  a  modest  un- 
assuming girl  was  found  who  patiently  worked  at  the  tangle  until 
it  was  straightened.  Of  course  since  this  was  a  test  she  was  the 
chosen  bride.  For  Harriet  Bass  Whitcomb's  descendants,  see 
record  of  Whitcomb  family. 

By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

George  William  Batchelder,  son  of  George  Washington  and 
Lucretia  Mack  Batchelder,  was  b.  in  Plainfield,  Vt.,  Sept.  16, 
1841,  m.  1  Laura  Hull  in  1865.     Two  children  were  b.  to  them: 

John  Travis,  b.  Dec.  1868,  and  d.  at  the  age  of  eight  years. 

Lucia,  b.  Feb.,  1871,  who  m.  Prof.  JuHus  S.  Sturtevant,  to 
whom  were  b.  two  children,  Ralph  and  Ruth.  Mrs.  Sturtevant 
d.  Sept.  1,  1910.     Mrs.  Laura  Batchelder  is  also  dead. 

George  William  Batchelder  m.  2  Flora  Davis,  dau.  of  Myron 
Davis  of  Johnson,  Vt. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Batchelder  moved  from  Underbill  to  Jericho 
in  1904.  Mr.  Batchelder  did  excellent  service  as  a  soldier  in  the 
War  of  the  Rebellion,  being  in  the  fierce  battle  of  Gettysburg. 
Mr.  Batchelder's  great-grandfather  came  from  England. 


By  Mr.  and  Mrs.  H.  E.  Bates  and  L.  F.  Wilbur. 

Hiram  Elbert  Bates,  the  son  of  Elihu  and  Nancy  (Pierce) 
Bates,  was  b.  in  1849  at  Richmond,  Vt.  He  m.  Lillian  Mary 
Hodges  Nov.  21,  1876.  She  was  b.  in  1854  at  Richmond,  Vt. 
They  have  one  child,  Blanche  Hodges,  b.  in  1880,  at  Essex  Junc- 
tion, Vt.    She  m.  Charles  Bell  and  they  have  one  child,  Russell. 

The  father  of  Lillian  Mary  Hodges  was  Julius  Clark 
Hodges,  the  son  of  George  Hodges.  Julius  Clark  was  b.  in 
1824,  and  m.  Almira  Susannah,  the  daughter  of  Pelatiah  and 
Sally  (Proctor)  Russell,  b.  in  1825  at  Richmond.  Julius  Clark 
and  Almira  Hodges  had  ten  children,  viz. : 

(1)  Alice  Johannah,  b.  in  1844. 

(2)  Sarah  Frances,  b.  in  1848,  who  m.  Edward  Barnum. 

(3)  Fred  Russell,  b.  in  1850. 

(4)  Lillian  Mary,  b.  in  1854,  who  m.  Hiram  E.  Bates  in 

(5)  George  Leonard,  b.  in  1858. 

(6)  Addie  Julia,  b.  in  1860. 

(7)  Jennie  Louisa,  b.  in  1862,  who  m.  Howard  Willey. 

(8)  Henry  Clay,  b.  in  1864. 

(9)  Laura  Blanche,  b.  in  1865. 

(10)  A  baby,  b.  in  1871,  who  d.  in  1873. 

Hiram  E.  Bates  is  a  farmer  and  a  lumber  dealer  and  has 
operated  a  saw  mill  in  the  south  part  of  the  town  for  many  years. 
He  is  an  active  business  man.  These  families  were  Universalists 
in  their  religious  belief. 


By  C.  H.  Hayden. 

Moses  Benedict  and  his  wife,  Lois  Pratt  with  five  children 
came  from  Bridgeport,  Conn,  about  1780,  and  settled  at  Underbill 
Flats,  probably  on  the  land  just  west  of  Dr.  A.  F.  Burdick's 
residence,  now  owned  by  H.  L.  Murdock.  The  oldest  inhabitants 
think  that  Moses  Benedict  built  a  portion  of  this  house  after  his 
arrival.  Here  was  b.  the  subject  of  our  sketch,  Dr.  H.  G.  Bene- 
dict, Mar.  29,  1808,  the  sixth  child  of  Moses  and  Lois  Benedict. 


The  Benedicts  moved  later  to  the  present  residence  of  George 
H.  Benedict.  Dr.  Benedict  studied  medicine  with  Dr.  Burroughs 
and  in  1840  graduated  at  Castleton  Medical  College.  He  m. 
Delana  Hurlburt,  oldest  child  of  Weight  Hurlburt,  a  soldier  of 
the  War  of  1812.     To  them  were  b.  five  children : 

(1)  Addison,  a  lawyer  who  was  b.  Sept.  20,  1840,  and  d. 
Nov.  28,  1912.  He  m.  Frank  Sherman.  Their  oldest  child,  Guy 
W.,  b.  June  10,  1870,  m.  Clara  Mason  and  they  have  had  four 
girls,  Bessie,  Mary,  Marjory  and  Marion.  The  second  child  of 
Addison  and  Frank  Benedict  was  Bessie,  who  lived  only  about 
two  years. 

(2)  Maria  was  b.  Feb.  25,  1842,  and  m.  George  La  Sell, 
Mar.  16,  1877. 

(3)  Marion  S.,  who  was  b.  Aug.  10,  1844,  and  d.  Nov.  27, 
1908.    She  m.  William  Burroughs. 

(4)  Wait  M.  was  b.  June  3,,  1846,  m.  Isabel  Stevens.  They 
have  two  children,  Mabel,  who  m.  Samuel  Tilden  and  they  have 
two  children,  Marion  and  Samuel,  Jr.  Berton  S.  is  the  second 
child  of  Wait  and  Isabel  Benedict. 

(5)  George  H.,  who  at  times  has  been  a  resident  of  Jer- 
icho, was  b.  Sept.  17,  1849,  and  m.  Alice  Humphrey.  They  have 
had  two  children,  Amia,  b.  Mar.  19,  1888,  and  d.  June  10,  1914, 
and  Ada,  who  was  b.  Sept.  20,  1900. 

By  Minnie  (Benham)  Walton. 

John  Benham  and  his  sons,  John  and  Joseph,  came  from 
Plymouth,  Eng.,  in  the  ship  "Mary  and  John"  and  landed  at  Nan- 
tasket  near  Boston,  Mass.,  on  May  30,  1630. 

They  settled  at  Dorchester,  now  South  Boston,  and  were 
allotted  land  among  the  original  proprietors.  John,  Jr.,  was  a 
brick  maker  and  town  crier,  and  belonged  to  the  Old  South 
Church  of  Boston.  In  1638  he  joined  the  Eaton  and  Davenport 
Colony  and  was  mentioned  among  the  seventy  original  families 
who  colonized  New  Haven,  Conn.  John,  Sr.,  d.  in  1661.  From 
Connecticut  the  Benhams  scattered  in  every  direction,  many 
of  them  soon  achieving  distinction  in  civil  and  military  affairs. 
Some  have  been  prominent  in  the  army  and  navy,  some  in  literary 


circles,  while  some  have  been  ministers  of  the  gospel.  David 
Benham  was  a  bishop  in  England  as  early  as  1246  A.  D.,  while 
many  of  the  names  are  enrolled  in  the  British  navy  and  figured  in 
civil  life  in  London  and  surrounding  counties. 

Isaac  Benham  was  of  the  7th  generation  from  John,  Sr. ; 
(Isaac  of  the  6th,  Ebenezer  of  the  5th,  Ebenezer  of  the  4th,  John 
of  the  3rd,  John  of  the  2nd,  and  John  of  the  1st  generation). 

Isaac  of  the  7th  generation  was  b.  Oct.  21,  1760,  and  m.  June 
3rd,  1784,  at  Salisbury,  Conn.,  Thankful,  daughter  of  Peter  and 
Thankful  Reid.  She  was  b.  in  Salisbury,  Conn.,  June  17,  1763. 
They  removed  to  Genesee  Co.,  N.  Y.,  and  afterwards  to  Jericho, 
Vt.,  about  1796.  She  came  on  horseback.  The  country  was 
primeval  forest  at  that  time  with  no  roads.  People  nearly  always 
travelled  on  horseback.  The  way  was  known  by  trees.  Isaac 
came  a  year  before  his  family  and  made  ready  for  them.  I  have 
heard  my  grandfather  tell  how  his  father  built  his  chimney  of 
clay  and  sticks,  and  when  it  got  on  fire  he  used  a  squirt  gun  to 
put  it  out.  They  used  to  draw  logs  into  the  house,  with  a  horse, 
for  use  in  the  big  fireplace.  There  was  always  a  large  log  called 
a  "back  log,"  then  smaller  ones  on  the  andirons.  There  were  no 
matches  in  those  days,  and  when  the  fire  went  out,  as  it  some- 
times did,  the  children  had  to  take  a  covered  dish  with  a  handle 
on  it  and  go  to  the  neighbors  for  coals.  They  also  went  to  the 
neighbors  for  yeast  made  from  potatoes,  with  which  to  make 
bread  whenever  they  neglected  to  save  enough  to  start  new.  Their 
lights  were  tallow  dips  which  they  made  themselves.  The  boys 
used  to  go  barefooted  much  of  the  time.  I  have  heard  them  tell 
how  they  used  to  warm  pieces  of  wood  before  the  fire  to  stand 
on  while  chopping  wood. 

The  town  records  show  that  Isaac  Benham  sold  land  in  town 
Oct.  29,  1801,  and  on  Sept.  25,  1801  he  bought  of  a  Mr.  Rood 
Lot  72,  comprising  fifty-six  acres  of  land  right  of  Benjamin 
Miggins.  He  sold  lot  60  to  Jubilee  A.  Hulburt  and  Thankful 
Benham.  He  was  a  mechanic  and  could  turn  his  hand  to  almost 
anything,  as  is  shown  by  the  varied  trades  in  which  he  was  pro- 
ficient. He  was  tailor,  surveyor  and  blacksmith.  People  came 
from  far  and  near  for  help  and  advice.  He  was  a  large,  portly 
man  and  dressed  in  blue  broadcloth,  knee  breeches,  low  shoes 
with  buckles,  long  stockings  and  carried  a  fine  gold  fob  chain.   He 


was  vigorous,  honest  and  upright,  a  staunch  supporter  of  the 
Congregational  Church  at  Jericho  Center.  He  built  the  house  in 
the  south  district  in  the  southern  part  of  the  town  formerly  owned 
by  a  Mr.  Stockwell.  He  was  a  Revolutionary  soldier  of  Water- 
bury,  Conn.,  and  was  lieutenant  in  1776  in  Col.  Baldwin's  10th 
Regiment  of  militia.  He  was  in  the  5th  Connecticut  Regiment 
from  July  1st  to  Dec.  8th,  1780. 

Thankful  Benham  was  a  great  worker  in  spinning,  weaving 
and  knitting.  Some  of  her  work  has  been  preserved  to  this  day. 
Many  stories  have  been  told  of  her  skill  in  culinary  matters  and 
of  her  shrewdness  and  sense  of  humor.  She  was  kindhearted  and 
very  domestic.  In  later  years  she  wore  a  silk  handkerchief  crossed 
over  her  breast  and  always  carried  knitting  sheath.  Her  mother 
spent  the  last  years  of  her  life  with  her  and  d.  at  the  ripe  age  of 
90  years.  Isaac  and  Thankful  lived  together  seventy  years,  and 
both  died  of  old  age.  He  d.  Dec.  7,  1853  and  she  d.  Nov.  27, 
1853.    Their  children  were,  viz. : 

(1)  Clarissa,  b.  Mar.  10,  1785 ;  d.  Feb.  14,  1868. 

(2)  John,  b.  Dec.  25,  1786;  m.  Sarah  Hoskins  and  d.  Mar. 
18,  1875. 

(3)  Smith,  b,  Sept.  25,  1789;  m.  ;  d. . 

about  1876,  and  is  buried  at  Williston,  Vt. 

(4)  Silas,  b.  May  10,  1791 ;  d.  April  29,  1867. 

(5)  Philander,  b.  Mar.  28,  1793 ;  d.  Oct.  14,  1836. 

(6)  Hannah,  b.  Feb.  21,  1807. 

Deacon  John  (8)  son  of  Isaac  and  Thankful  (Reid)  Benham, 
was  b.  Dec.  26,  1786,  in  New  York  or  Connecticut.  He  came  to 
Jericho  when  he  was  nine  years  old.  He  m.  Sarah,  daughter  of 
Nathan  and  Sarah  (Oakes)  Hoskins,  b.  Mar.  13,  1790  and  who  d. 
Mar.  2,  1865.  They  lived  with  his  father  one  year  after  they  were 
m.,  then  bought  the  place  since  owned  by  Collins  H.  Nash,  and 
then  traded  with  a  Mr.  Richardson  for  the  place  later  owned 
by  his  son,  Nathan,  and  now  owned  by  the  great  grandson,  Har- 
lan Hall.  The  original  house  on  the  last  mentioned  farm  was  built 
by  a  Mr.  Skinner  when  the  farm  was  owned  by  Palmer  Richard- 
son. The  house  was  remodelled  by  Nathan  Benham  to  its  present 
condition.  For  a  few  years  they  lived  on  a  farm  adjoining,  but 
in  the  last  years  of  their  life  made  their  home  with  their  son, 
Nathan.    Deacon  John  was  a  member  of  the  Baptist  Church  at 


Jericho  Corners.  He  had  a  most  amiable  disposition  which  made 
him  loved  by  all  who  came  in  contact  with  him.  He  was  called  "a 
faultless  man"  by  those  who  knew  him  best.  He  was  a  soldier  of 
1812.  He  had  a  soldier's  grant  of  land  in  the  Elkhorn  Valley,  Neb. 
His  wife  was  "Aunt  Sally"  to  every  one.  She  had  the  ability  to 
overcome  all  obstacles  when  she  undertook  to  do  anything. 

Their  children  were :  Isaac  L.,  b.  Jan.  12,  1813 ;  m.  Valencia 
Lane  Mar.  23,  1837,  who  was  b.  Mar.  21,  1813,  at  Jericho,  Vt.. 
She  d.  at  Morley,  Mo.,  Nov.  14,  1871,  and  is  buried  in  Grant  Co., 
Wis.  He  d.  near  Morley  Jan.  27,  1874.  They  had  one  child, 
Laura,  who  m.  a  Mr.  Watson  and  had  three  children,  William, 
George  and  a  son  who  d.  unm. 

Nathan,  son  of  Deacon  John  and  Sarah  (Hoskins)  Benham, 
was  b.  Oct.  14,  1816.  He  was  m.  Aug.  26,  1840  and  d.  April  7, 
1890.  He  m.  Catherine  Augusta,  daughter  of  J.  Stephen  and 
Dulcena  (Vincent)  Manwell  of  Richmond,  but  lived  near  the 
Jericho  line.  She  was  b.  Nov.  13,  1818.  Nathan  was  selectman 
during  the  War  of  the  Rebellion  of  1861  and  did  much  of  the 
work  in  enlisting  soldiers  for  the  service  in  that  war.  He  held 
many  of  the  town  offices.  He  owned  the  farm  (where  he  lived 
till  his  death)  that  was  purchased  by  his  father,  Deacon  John.  He 
and  his  good  wife  were  supporters  of  the  Congregational  Church 
at  Jericho  Center.  He  was  part  owner  of  the  Millbrook  Cheese 
Factory,  and  later  was  interested  in  the  creamery  in  that  locality. 
Mrs.  Benham  was  a  beautiful  character,  gentle,  kind  and  true. 
Every  one  who  knew  her  respected  and  loved  her.  Their  children 
were,  viz.:  (1)  Stephen,  b.  April  8,  1842;  d.  June  2,  1849;  (2) 
Edward  Eugene,  b.  Aug.  4,  1843 ;  m.  Carrie  A.  Mason,  who  was 
b.  July  12,  1847;  lived  a  few  years  in  Jericho,  and  then  moved 
to  Brookfield,  Vt.,  where  he  bought  a  farm  and  raised  a  family 
of  four  daughters  and  one  son.  (3)  Sarah  Jane,  b.  Nov.  4,  1847; 
m.  Dec.  29,  1868  Heman  W.  Rice,  and  lived  in  Westford,  Vt.,  on 
a^  large  farm.  R,etiring  they  moved  to  Essex  Junction  where  she 
d.  in  1907.  Heman  m.  (2)  Mrs.  Herrick.  (4)  John  Stephen,  b. 
July  26,  1849;  m.  Ellen  M.  Chase.  She  was  b.  in  1853.  They  live 
in  Milton,  Vt.  He  was  a  druggist,  but  his  health  failed  and  he  be- 
came a  travelling  salesman.  They  have  two  children  and  both  are 
living  in  Milton,  Vt.  (5)  Catherine  Dulcena,  b.  July  8,  1853 ;  m. 
Aug.  12,  1887,  Henry  Burr  Hall,  who  was  b.  Feb.  22,  1856.    He 


bought  the  Benham  farm  and  lived  there  until  they  sold  it  to  their 
son,  Harlan  Page  Hall,  who  now  lives  there.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry 
Burr  Hall  now  live  in  Burlington,  where  he  has  been  employed 
as  superintendent  of  the  State  Forestry  Bureau.  (6)  Minnie  Belle, 
b.  July  11, 1863 ;  m.  April  28, 1885,  George  Bostwick,  son  of  Sam- 
uel M.  and  Mary  C.  (Bostwick)  Walton  of  Montpelier,  Vt.,  b. 
Mar.  12, 1861.  They  reside  at  Montpelier.  They  have  two  sons : 
Benham  and  Harold  Frederick. 


By  L.  F.  Wilbur  and  Wilson  A.  Bentley. 

Shelly  Bentley  came  to  this  state  from  Wells,  Conn.,  and  to 
the  town  of  Jericho  before  the  year  1800,  and  settled  on  Millbrook 
in  the  southeast  part  of  the  town,  on  the  place  now  known  as  the 
Hubbel  B.  Smith  farm.  At  first  he  built  and  lived  in  a  log  house 
on  said  farm  when  that  part  of  the  town  was  almost  an  entire 
wilderness.  He  was  b.  in  1795  and  m.  Abigail  Stevens.  She 
was  b.  in  1804  in  Jericho.  Her  father  was  Roger  Stevens  who 
served  three  years  as  a  soldier  in  the  Revolutionary  War.  Their 
children  were,  viz.:  Reuben,  b.  1826;  Julia,  b.  1828;  Thomas  E., 
b.  1830;  Emma,  b.  1833;  Mary,  b.  1836,  and  Amos  Wilson,  b. 

(1)  Reuben  d.  1840. 

(2)  Julia  m.  Kingsbury  Hatch  and  they  had  one  child, 
Valora,  who  m.  John  Jones  of  Bolton.     Both,  are  dead. 

(3)  Thomas  E.  d.  1887.  He  m.  Fanny  Colton,  and  they 
had  two  children,  Charles  F.  and  Wilson  Alwyn.  Charles  F.  b.  in 
1863 ;  m.  Mary  Blood  in  1884.  She  was  b.  in  1870.  They  have  eight 
children :  Alric,  b.  in  1886;  Agnes,  b.  in  1888;  Arthur,  b.  in  1891 ; 
Alice,  b.  in  1893 ;  Archie,  b.  in  1896;  Amy,  b.  in  1899;  Anna,  b.  in 
1901 ;  Alwyn,  b.  in  1905.  Wilson  Alwyn  Bentley,  b.  in  1865,  has 
always  lived  in  Jericho  and  now  owns  and  lives  on  the  old  Andrew 
Warner  farm. 

Jericho,  Vt.,  has  one  industry,  if  such  it  may  be  called,  that 
gives  it  a  unique  place  and  that  has  carried  the  name  of  the  town 


all  over  the  world.  The  snow  crystals  photographed  in  Jericho  by 
Wilson  A.  Bentley  have  become  world  famous.  There  is  perhaps 
no  university  of  note  in  the  world  which  has  not  photographs  of 
these  crystals,  or  reproductions  of  them  in  text-books  or  in  some 
form.  The  marvelous  beauty  and  symmetry  of  these  snow  forms, 
and  the  many  articles  Mr.  Bentley  and  others  have  written  about 
them  in  the  magazines,  newspapers,  books,  etc.,  have  brought  this 
about.  Mr.  Bentley  began  the  study  and  drawing  of  snow  crys- 
tals while  yet  in  his  "teens,"  and  first  began  taking  photomicro- 
graphs of  them  in  his  20th  year,  (1885).  These  studies,  photo- 
graphic and  otherwise,  of  snow  crystals,  frost  and  ice  crystals, 
dew,  clouds  and  other  water  forms,  have  been  enthusiastically 
carried  on  ever  since,  over  a  period  of  now  nearly  30  years. 
Over  2,000  photomicrographs  of  snow  alone,  and  nearly  as  many 
of  other  water  forms  have  been  secured,  making  a  collection  of 
marvelous  and  unrivalled  beauty  and  interest.  Mr.  Bentley  has 
both  written  and  lectured  about  them.  Among  his  more  important 
articles  are  these :  "Snow"  and  "Frost"  in  Encyclopaedia  Ameri- 
cana; articles  in  Popular  Science  Monthly,  May,  1898;  Harper's 
Magazine,  Dec,  1901;  Technical  World  Magazine,  Mar.,  1910; 
"Knowledge"  Magazine,  Jan.,  1912,  London,  England;  article 
in  Christian  Herald  and  two  papers  published  by  the  Weather 
Bureau,  entitled  "Studies  of  Snow  Crystals,  Winter  1901-1902," 
250  illustrations;  "Studies  of  Fiost  and  Ice  Crystals,"  275  illus- 

Each  number  of  the  "American  Annual  of  Photography," 
1904-1913  inclusive,  also  contains  an  illustrated  article  by  Mr. 
Bentley.  The  uses  of  these  snow  forms  in  the  realms  of  art,  and 
in  industry  are  continually  broadening.  Jewelers,  metal  workers, 
silk  manufacturers,  art-craft  shops,  etc.,  find  these  beautiful 
designs  useful  in  their  work. 

Mr.  Bentley  has  had  many  invitations  to  join  learned  so- 
cieties, both  at  home  and  abroad,  but  he  has  denied  himself  these 
pleasures  that  he  might  have  more  funds  to  carry  on  his  beautiful 
studies.  Biographical  sketches  of  Wilson  A.  Bentley  may  be 
found  in  "Who's  Who  In  America";  "The  International  Who's 
Who,"  "American  Blue  Book  of  Biography,"  a  German  "Who's 
Who"  and  other  biographical  works. 



By  S.  H.  Barnum. 

Samuel  Bentley,  distantly  related  to  Shelly  Bentley,  lived 
a  part  of  his  life  and  d.  in  Cambridge,  but  lived  a  number  of 
years  where  William  Millham  recently  resided.  He  had  six 
children:  Lyman,  Elisha,  Erastus,  Mabel,  Aura  and  Almira,  of 
whom  Lyman,  Erastus  and  Aura  lived  in  this  town,  and  all  are 
now  d. 

(1)  Lyman,  b.  about  1803,  m.  Huldah  Woodruff.  He  d. 
1873.  They  had  two  children  both  b.  in  Jericho:  (a)  Eliza,  b. 
1836,  m.  Trumbull  Lee  in  1856.  They  had  four  children :  (aa) 
Idella,  b.  1857  in  Jericho,  m.  James  Burgess  and  they  have  three 
children :  James,  Idella  and  Edna.  They  live  in  Bad  Axe,  Mich, 
(bb)  Albert,  b.  1865  in  Jericho,  m.  Elizabeth  Davis  of  Mo.   They 

have  three  children:  Edna,  John  and .     (cc)  WilUs,  b.  in 

Mich.,  is  m.,  and  (dd)  Homer  who  d.  when  three  years  old.  (See 
Addition  to  the  Lee  family). 

(b)  Alma,  b.  1839,  m.  in  1870,  David  Miles  Ransom  who_ 
d.  in  1895.  One  child  Mary,  m.  Lewis  B.  Howard.  Alma  m. 
in  1896  Wilson  Whitmarsh,  who  d.  1908.  (See  Ransom  and 
Whitmarsh  families). 

(2)  Erastus,  m.  Jane  GriiBn,  and  lived  where  S.  M.  Pack- 
ard now  lives.  They  had  seven  children :  Loren,  Zalmon  who 
lives' in  Grand  Isle  Co.,  Mary,  Samuel,  Emma,  Lottie  and  Lillie. 
Emma  and  Lottie  are  d.,  and  four  others  live  in  New  Bedford, 
Mass.,  where  Erastus  d. 

(3)  Aura,  m.  Harry  Wilder.     (See  Wilder  f